Whispered Legends: Tales of Middleport
Exclusive

Whispered Legends: Tales of Middleport

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(391.65 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A darkness has fallen over the once-sleepy seaside town of Middleport, and townspeople are mysteriously disappearing at an alarming rate! Reports of monster sightings, ghastly galleons and possessed artifacts have made their way to London; newspapers claim the town is haunted by an ancient curse! You've been summoned from London as an Inspector from the Royal Society of Skeptics to dispel the rumors that dark magic is afoot in Middleport. Uncover the true cause of the disturbances and track down the disappeared townspeople before darkness falls on Middleport forever!

  • Beautiful HD scenes and art
  • Challenging Hidden Object Puzzles and mini-games
  • Variable difficulty for all skill levels
  • Discover the truth behind the legendary treasure!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 571 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Whispered Legends: Tales of Middleport

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(391.65 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Whispered Legends: Tales of Middleport is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Mystery This game is great. Some HO, puzzles and more. Side challenges to find and a great story line and ending, to boot. Not overly long but not too short also. Good challenge and fun to play.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value Game As other reviewers have mentioned, it's rare to see a lot of features in a standard game, but Whispered Legends delivered. You play an inspector brought into a town to deduce where its missing people have gone, and are immediately opposed by a shadowy masked villain with secrets of their own. There's plenty to like here. Hidden object scenes are just right in terms of amount and well done, the game looks and sound good if unspectacular, and areas of the game notify you when they are clear to prevent further fruitless searching. There's a little too much going on: tarot cards, pirates, etc. It all gets a little muddled, but it's a darn good if short game. Collectibles are a nice touch but deliberately placed. Hard to imagine you won't find them all on your first play through. Minigames are also fun but very easy. I think this is a great game especially for new fans of the genre. It does everything well and the story is good enough to keep you guessing.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Middleport has been attacked! By Ghostie Pirates! Based on both the beta and released demo Middleport had a history of being a safe haven for pirates and there secret treasures. Legend has it that a hex was put on the secret treasure to keep people away from it. Now, there are disappearances throughout the town and a black smoky figure has taken over the town. The Mayor has called on you for help. The graphics are very much 'old-school' in that they are all sharp lines and corners, dull paint, unrealistic figures (almost stick figures they are so skinny - lol), Music was quite lovely considering the story line and the sound fx were done well. I did have a problem with the voice overs because there was no mouth movement or anything - grrrr - this is a pet peeve of mine! Casual, Expert, Nightmare and Custom difficulties. "Custom' does not give you a lot of leeway in which to set your various items. You have a 'journal' of sorts that contains EVERYTHING! And when I say 'everything' .... I mean EVERYTHING! There are tabs for 'journal', 'map', 'statues', 'animals' and 'missing pictures'. Like I said ..... everything - lol. For not being released as a CE, you actually get a LOT of 'CE bling'. For instance: * Collect 43 statues * Collect 11 animals * Collect 43 'missing' posters WOW! You usually don't get THAT much in a CE these days!!!!! While there really isn't a lot to rave about with this game, it certainly has a quiet way of sneaking up on you. At least that's how it happened for me. No big 'POW' moment .... you just realize that you are enjoying it .... in a pleasant easy-going way. I would definitely recommend it for all levels of expertise. This is a definite purchase for me and I hope you join me in Middleport for what appears to be a great adventure! ENJOY!
Date published: 2015-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Above average I will give it 4 stars. Though this game had the feel of an average game, it also had traits of a 5 star game, such as there were animals and statues to collect, an interactive map, and I didn't need a strategy guide with it, as it had an excellect hint system. This was an enjoyable game.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds & Voice Bits ... And Enjoyable Adventure With Many Of The Extras Found In CE Versions In A SE Package ... Great Value For Money, And A Good Bit Of Entertainment ...
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game I have only played the demo but within that time frame I enjoyed the game and I will probably buy it later. The voice acting, for the most part, was very good. Music pleasant and unobtrusive. Graphics were good, nice art style. Storyline was a little slow, but that's alright with me. I didn't find any of the puzzles soul crushingly difficult, nor were they ridiculously easy. You get a map, which you can use to fast travel, and there are collectible items throughout. Some of the negative reviews of this game stated the hint button took too long to charge. As with many recent games there is the option at the beginning to choose a custom mode, where you can set the difficulty level for each individual aspect. The hint recharge is one of those scalable options, as low as 30 seconds.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shiver Me Timbers an OK Game! I actually found this game engaging enough to like it! Rehashed story about evil entities trying to keep people from getting their treasure but done nicely. Graphics are colorful but the characters could use some updating. They are one dimensional without lip sync or movement. HOG'S are the usual messy junk pile with some interaction & the min games are nice but nothing special. Hint Button/Skip Button each take 60 seconds which is WAY TOO LONG too recharge. The collectibles are easy to find & if you click on the Hint button before you leave the scene and have missed any, it actually shows you where they are. Nice feature to have. I didn't use the map so can't comment. I liked the gypsy & her helpful?? tarot cards & as always LOVED the cat that snarls, hisses & shows teeth when touched. Ah, play nice kitty as I am getting you some milk!! All in all a nice but NOT great little game to while away some hours. Give the demo a try.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game, nothing really new but plenty to entertain There is nothing to really dislike about this game. It is fun to play, has all the tools you need (jump map, directional hint) for game play support and many collectibles that are enjoyable to look out for: * Statues * Animals * Missing person posters The graphics are a bit grainy at times, but in the zoom-ins they are good enough. The music is background and soothing most of the time. The 'gongs' when something was found/completed became a bit annoying. HOSs are all lists with 2 interactive items. Very simple in the main, but some items a bit tricky to find. Puzzles so far are pretty straightforward. But hey, today's sale means it only costs me £2:69 so is now added to my collection to play when we have a bit of a dearth or I have no connection to download. Give it a try, especially if you want a nice intro to HOGs.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great casual game The only reason I did not give this game five stars was because I know that most people expect elaborate cut scenes and lip syncing with the conversation. Things like that don't bother me. This game has clear graphics, the music was not annoying, The HOS and games are integrated into the story. I did not feel I was doing unrelated tasks. The games were moderately easy. The collectibles were abundant and easy to find. A truly relaxing casual game.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun SE to play I enjoyed playing this SE. It kept me busy and I had to think at times, which I like. I do not care for a lot of hand holding while I play a game. No pets, not a lot of bling and has an adult theme, which what I prefer in a game. I wish somebody would make a great updated Agatha Christie HOPA!!!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappearances into darkness Somehow I expected more of this game. Dark forces are in action and this detective [me] has been called to investigate. The storyline is good, scary moments are in multitudes and once I finished the game I will know why Middleport has been set under such curse. But, the smallness of pictures/items is disappointing and I don't particular like that I have to prompt a person to continue conversation with my mouse. Still , worth for quiet evening enjoyment.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Great HO Game Some of the graphics weren't as great as some of the others, but still good quality.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short Demo Just knew I would like this one and I did. Fifteen minute play and I was done with demo. Nice storyline. Fairly well fed and easy family game. Entertaining enough to go on the two buy list. This game had nice graphics fairly good characters and entertain plot. Lots of collectables.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent voices, interesting story I am enjoying the Game but although it says 90 minutes demo ended at 60 minutes. I am impressed with the high quality of voices. The Graphics are nicely done but characters have no animation, no lip sync. The Hidden object screens are gratefully not back to back. The hint refills quickly if needed. There are two interactive items in hidden object screens but otherwise standard list. I appreciate option to brighten screen. The mini Games are not hard and were fun. I just purchased Game at the sale price.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from interesting hog Played the full demo. Has Map, ciollectibles and very good storyline
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tales for Beginners Played the trial version of this game. Honestly got bored after 20 minutes. This doesn't say it's not a great game. You have the option to choose the from 4 level of challenges , the graphics are well done and I actually loved the storyline. However I think this game is more suitable for beginners or intermediate players; they get for sure a lot of fun out of it.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Game for Beginner or Free Credit I got this game on a Free Credit from when i purchased some CE games.. it was worth it for a Free Credit. Most of the mini games are easy.. some are intermediate... it would be a good game to play with a child or grandchild Simple yet Interesting... This is not a game i will replay..
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was just O.K. The game was short and the HOS were at times poorly drawn. Some items were so small or dark they were invisible regardless of display settings. The game did have some very interesting characters which I enjoyed.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AHOY ME HEARTIES - LETS PLUNDER SOME TREASURE An okay game and will fill in an afternoon. There is: * Casual, Experienced, Nightmare and Custom play modes; * Journal. You also have to find: * 11 Animals; * 18 Statues; and * 44 posters. You can choose how hard you want the HOS and mini-games. You can also decide how long you want the Hint and Skip to recharge. I chose Custom mode and made the HOS and mini games skips the longest possible - don't use them anyway. The graphics are good and easy to see everything. There is one piece of music which is quite nice but sounds a bit sad. There were quite a lot of hidden object games, which took me a while cause some items were well hidden. In one game I had to find a piece of noodle - that took me ages. But overall I quite enjoyed them. The mini-games I have seen all before - nothing new. They didn't take long to do as there was nothing really challenging there. All up the game took me about 5 hours to play. Happy playing.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Middleport = Middling - townspeople disappearing - check - a masked, hooded baddie - check - evil black smoke - check - tarot cards - check - pirate treasure - check Finally, a game that has it all - with the exception of even a whiff of originality. Nothing really wrong with the game; drawings are fine, music is fine, voices are fine, puzzles and hidden object scenes are fine. Except that you've played this game before - dozens of times. No wonder there's always a sale, they just change the title and one or two other things and re-sell the same game over and over. Well, here's a little Whispered secret: even on sale, count me out
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Stand-alone SE BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS The game is low key and classy from the start, with minimalist but extremely nice graphics and a simply told start to the story. The music is wonderful. Just interesting enough, with a lot of style and a soothing melody. Not at all the spectacular high jinks of the “mega” HOPA games. And nice because of that. I would have wished for greater and better animations, they brought the tone down a little. But the voiceovers (nice to see in a lesser production) are fabulous, and very amusing if you take them to be stereotypes of the characters portrayed. The HOPs are clear, if a little ordinary. With images of the objects pasted in. I dislike that, but it is a low budget game after all. WHAT’S HAPPENING? You are an Inspector (from the Society of Sceptics), sent to Middleport to investigate a series of disappearances and tales of supernatural shenanigans and creatures. You are met by the Mayor, who welcomes you but seems a little distracted. Then you are on your own, trying to get your bearings. One of the first people you meet is a famous magician, upset that there is no audience for his grand performance tonight, and gypsy psychic type who offers to help you with spiritual guidance. GAMEPLAY It is for the most part standard HOPA gameplay. Not all that many HOPs I thought. Plus familiar puzzles. Nothing exciting or new here, but comfortably within the right territory. HOPs are world lists with some interactivity. From the first, the word lists include multiple numbers of some items. As far as I saw, there is no returning to these scenes. Adventure gameplay makes logical sense without being linear. And the gypsy’s insights are fun. The game also sections off some parts from the others in order to force you to work in the areas required for progress. It was nicely done. The journal is more than usually useful. The map (interactive and it jumps. It also gives cleared locations.) is inside it, which is a pity. So are the notes of the story. There is specific additional and helpful information about some of the items you pick up, so it is worth keeping up with it. There is also a guide to the 11 collectible animals you can find around. These unfortunately look like cardboard cut outs, added after completion and are very obvious. Less obvious but still fairly easy to find are the 18 collectible statues. And finally, there are also 44 Missing posters to collect. There are 3 levels of difficulty plus a custom option. Hint is fast for the easy levels, skip not so much. COMBINED IMPACT I’m not going to dance a jig over this game. It is nice, though, and a quiet afternoon spent with it would, I believe, be a pleasure.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Awful BASED ON FINISHING THE DEMO (45 minutes out of 90) Everything here is standard and same-old-same-old. There is a map, which is transportable, and hints are directional arrows instead of the dreaded "nothing to do here," so kudos to the devs for that, at least. There are voice-overs, but if you don't want to wait for the speakers to finish, you can read the text and continue. Even with the customizable hint and skip times, you still have to wait a full 60 seconds for the refills. There is a gimmick with a gypsy fortune teller -- take her the Tarot cards you find, and she'll interpret them for you. This might have been a fun addition to the game if her interpretations gave any real insight into the game, but they don't. I don't get excited about finding collectibles. If you could get a partial refund on the price of the game for finding all of them, then I might muster more interest in the search! And wouldn't it be nice to have HOS where you were looking for something besides canes, lanterns, anchors, hooks, cigars, fans, leaves, bows, arrows, rulers, mugs, tea kettles, brooms, pistols, crawfish, balls and dice? I've decided developers have lists of easy-to-hide items that they share with each other. I am tempted to buy this game with the sale that's going on. It isn't a great game, and like JustTheFacts said, I'm not dancing a jig over it, but it's been a long dry spell between SEs that weren't awful. This one isn't awful.
Date published: 2014-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to get past the "hint time" This game has a good deal going for it. However, if you a novice, this may not be the game for you. It takes a full two minutes for the hint to recharge. Loved by the experts, no, no by newbies. Diane
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another one...again Yet another game that starts off good then quits trying to entertain you after the trial is over. Once you buy the game you don't see any other characters (besides the gypsy) or drama till the last 5 minutes. If you want something to do on a nothing day or long trip then this game would be fine but only if you buy it on super sale. Anything under $4.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm not sorry I missed the sale. This is based on completion of the demo which took me 65 minutes of the 90 minutes available. This was on sale only yesterday (for game club members) for $2.99 but I didn't play it until today. I'm not sorry I missed the sale because this is a no buy for me. There are 4 modes of play. I chose the 4th mode which was custom where I was able to reduce the hint and skip button to 60 minutes -- way longer than I expect from a custom choice. This was especially annoying when wanting to skip a puzzle I didn't want to play. I guess the developers wanted to make the game as long as possible. I didn't see any new puzzles and the HOS are regular lists for a pile of junk. The items are mostly easy to find with a couple items needing an extra step, like putting together a pair of dice. Although I liked the story -- detective goes to a coastal community called Middleport to find people who are missing and a scary guy, using black smoke, is suspected, but no one is able to catch him. This has been done many times before, but I still liked the story. The sound was nice and appropriate and the main graphics are beautiful. However, the collectibles, statues. missing posters, and especially the animals, look like an afterthought. These are very easy to spot. The animals look like very childlike drawings. I really wish there had been a walk through, but alas no. There is however a very good map, showing areas with something to do whether or not you have the inventory item to accomplish it and it does transport you to the location. Play the demo and read some reviews. You may want to look at the forum for other comments about this game.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So pleased when it was over So pleased I only bought it on the weekly deal. Started okay but I soon found that the things that were supposed to help players did nothing of the sort. The map would highlight areas where there was nothing to be done; the actions didn't flow in any way and as a result I spent lots of time searching every screen trying to find an action that would take me forward. I gave up several times but came back to justify my (admittedly reduced) expenditure. No logic at all. I would never have finished it if I had not read the forum which pointedly out a tiny area which I (and apparently others) would never have found without the help of one brave soul who must have searched big time to find the last clue. More pain than pleasure.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why bother? I agree with all of the negative comments made by other reviewers. I'm glad I purchased this at the Daily Deal special price, but for me, even that was a waste of money. This game is at best "ho hum," but I kept playing, thinking it had to get better to have rated the 4 and 5 star reviews. It didn't. If anything, it got worse. Although I'm an expert gamer, I often play games at easy or normal levels, for relaxation. I replay good games when there are no new games I want to buy. I've already deleted this game from my iMac because I would never want to replay it. Its only redeeming feature -- if you're a beginner to this type of game or want an easy game to play and like collecting objects, it's worth the sale price (which is why I rated it as a "2" rather than a "1"). Otherwise, forget it.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Same Story.**** Could be better with a little more effort. Hint button take to long to charge. Hidden object takes to much staining. If you want to get a headache go for it. Just draw better and you have my attention.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not much fun disappointing, graphics not good, story boring.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Childs play. Too easy, finished it in less than 2 hours. Don't buy if you like the challenge and interesting storyline.
Date published: 2014-06-14
  • y_2020, m_1, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_21246, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Whispered Legends: Tales of Middleport

Uncover the true cause of the disturbances and track down the disappeared townspeople before darkness falls on Middleport forever!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.