Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(377.31 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Orneon Limited, creators of the Secrets of the Dark and Echoes of the Past series, comes a thrilling new secret to uncover!

A father’s frantic plea sends you in search of his daughter, Maria, who seems to have vanished into thin air. A mysterious and supernatural force has kidnapped her on her 16th birthday, sealing her room with a magical glow. Your investigation leads you from an odd, flower-shaped lamp through a portal - an ordinary room becomes a nightmarish forest! Can you find Maria in time? Or will she be trapped forever in a shadowy realm by a creature bent on revenge? Find out in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Destroy the seeds of evil forever in the bonus game!
  • Collect flowers and morphing objects
  • Win points and prizes as achievements
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 846 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(377.31 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow Collector's Edition is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound & Game Play ... I'm Not Sure How I Missed This One ... The SE Version Has Just Been Released So I Went Looking For This CE Version As There Were Some Special Deals Around ... An Enjoyable Game, Despite A Generally Low Rating From Other Gamers ... So Give It A Try For Yourself ...
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALMOST DIDN'T PURCHASE THIS BUT AM SO GLAD I DID Hi gamers, When this game was released the reviews were not good at all. I played the free one hour and then purchased the game. I am glad I did because I really liked this on. This has happened more than once too. I thought this was a good game. The story line was a bit "out there". and the visuals were ok. As far as level of challenge, I played on the "hardcore" setting and it took quite a while to finish, which in my book is always a bonus. With all that said, I still liked it. My suggestion is to play the one hour to see if you like it or not. I am definately going to do that more often now. Happy Gaming :)
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different, had to buy it! Hi all. Well another addition to the Secrets series, this being the 4th. Yes, I have the other 3 and thoroughly enjoyed them. I guess I'm going to be one of the few on this one, but I sort of liked it. It was different all the way around. Graphics were very nice, as was the animation. Very bright colors, and some very dark areas that you needed to find a form of light to get into (this was a little challenging at times). Music was very soothing, until something was about to happen...well done. Voice overs were well done as well, but not too many so far. HOPs were fairly clear and items not difficult to find, but you needed to work at it a little, e.g. where does this go and then use that item to find something else. I didn't find very many HOPs during the demo, and you do repeat the same one multiple times, but find different items. Puzzles so far aren't difficult at all and nothing different. Hint system is very helpful and fills fairly quickly. I found the SG to be either blurry or the print is just too small, but I didn't care for it and didn't have to use it either. Didn't even open the jump map, so can't comment on that one. The only collectibles I found are the flowers, which are not hard to see at all. Also, there are morphing objects that can be a little difficult to see, as they blend in to some areas very well. As I said, I liked this game...not sure why, but I do and I will purchase it. I think this will appeal to most all levels of players. Not very challenging, but I found it fun and a little different. Don't get frustrated by the first few items you need to find, as you will do quite a lot of running around. Once you get the hang of it, you got it made. In case you are wondering, the other 3 in the series are: Secrets of the Dark: Eclipse Mountain; Mystery of the Ancestral Estate and Temple of Night. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy 16th Birthday Maria A strange glowing flower began to bloom, revealing it's creation for the world to see. This was the rise of an evil Goddess who threw the world into total darkness until she was defeated. The Goddess left behind a loyal servant, desperate to revive his flowering master. He began searching for three innocent souls to revive his beloved withering flower Goddess and restore her powers. Maria Kolak had just received a beautifully wrapped present for her sweet 16th birthday, but the lamp inside would forever seal her fate as the first innocent soul victim. Can this supernatural anomaly be stopped before another innocent soul is taken, can Maria be saved before it's too late? I was a wee bit disappointed in this game, in my opinion the story was too vague, perhaps it's explained in more detail as you progress. How did this strange flower come to be? Where was this flower, here or another world? How did the Goddess leave behind a servant, in the form of seeds? How did she transform the world into darkness and who defeated her, how did they defeat her? This game has the usual Collectors Edition extras, concept art, replayable mini games, achievements, a bonus game and a built in strategy guide. There are 30 collectible hidden flowers to earn with an icon to view the collected flowers. There are also 16 morphing objects, they aren't hidden or blended very well, they are in plain sight usually on a large blue monster so I wasn't very impressed with the morphs even though I'm a huge fan of morphs. As with the other Secrets of the Dark games, you need to transform dark areas into normal lighted areas, in this case you will use the lamp in Maria's room. Some of the things you do in the transformed areas will affect what happens within the other realm and visa versa. You have some type of device that enables you to scan doorways that have been locked with a supernatural force field. Maybe I wasn't paying attention, but I don't think the device gadget has a name. To use the device you click on the icon located to the right of the screen and scan the desired area to receive the code. Each time you use the device, the code becomes larger, but the process is the same. The left knob has a negative number such as -3 and the right knob has a positive number such as +5. You adjust the knobs either three numbers down or five numbers up until your device numbers match the code, one digit at a time. I actually found this mini game kind of fun. Most of the other mini games are fairly easy such as using arrows to slide four different rows with various open slots so that two colored balls at the top of the board drop to the matching colored slots at the bottom. The Hidden Object Scenes were mostly progressive interactions where you find the first item that matches the picture shown such as a battery. You then pick up the battery and place that battery in the camera which will take a picture and reveal a ring which goes onto a ring holder to reveal the next item and so forth. Although I was slightly disappointed with this game because it didn't seem as exciting as the other games in this series, I do think it's a decent game, with some fun and entertaining aspects, and hopefully you'll like it as well, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm one of the few who actually LIKED this game....it was fun! I see there are a lot of negative reviews for this game, but I liked it. The graphics aren't bad like some said....although I didn't really get the story line a lot, but it's clear you're supposed to find the girl. It kept my interest and I think it's worth buying. I'll buy it when BF has a good sale....that's how I buy all of my games. But I think this game had a LOT of good and interesting qualities to it....give it a shot....you might just like it too.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the usual Shadows of the Dark game, and I like it anyway! Not your usual Shadows of the Dark This is completely unlike any of the previous games in the Shadows of the Dark series. Some will be very disappointed at the dramatic departure, but I, for one, enjoyed this game on its own merits. The light vs dark, good vs evil theme, is still present, & we still use a lamp to transport between the real world and the evil, darker one. The most dramatic difference in this game is in the use of almost fairytale-like settings in the evil world, like a fantasy world gone mad with darkness. It's a different presentation from former games, although we still are battling evil. There is a lot of to-ing and fro-ing, only some of which comes from intuitive gameplay and reasonable deductions about necessary actions. We still encounter keys to random cupboards buried in random flowerpots in far-flung random locales *sigh* but many of the actions are completed in a near enough location to be considered "fair", IMHO. The map is quite good, being jumpable and showing objectives plus available actions, if one chooses. There are 3 levels of difficulty, plus a custom setting. I love the custom setting, as I do *not* want sparklers all over my game play, but if I desire to skip a puzzle I want that option as well. I cannot speak to the music, as I always turn that off. There was no lip synch, which I personally prefer over BAD lip synch. ;-) We had a magic device which removed evil spells, although we really should search for a new distributor of magic devices, since ours had mechanical failure at every critical juncture. ;-) There was also a cutesy animal helper, but he stayed very inoffensively out of sight in the inventory tray till the 3-4 times he was needed. HOS were interactive, being both list types and silhouette. They were clearly presented and cleverly done. Puzzles were more plentiful than the HOS, and ranged from ridiculously easy to hair-pulling, although the hard ones might be quite doable for others. My brain freezes in the face of "math" type puzzles, such as figuring how much voltage needs to go to multiple terminals in order to reach XXX at each post. EEK!! Collector's edition content includes 16 easy-to-spot morphing objects, 40 collectible evil flowers, bonus game, and the usual wallpapers, concept art, etc. Achievements are those earned in basic game play (finished tutorial, finished game, etc). The main game ended quite satisfactorily, although the bonus did take the story "ending" one step further to yet another conclusion. I beta tested this game, and for some odd reason I loved it so bought the CE as soon as it came out. I rarely do this. I'm not unhappy that I did (sale on, ya'll!!), but would actually recommend waiting for the SE on this game. The CE content just did not grab me as being enough to merit the CE here. The morphing objects are impossible to overlook, as are the flowers. The story ends well in the main game, which took me just under 4 hours. The bonus took another 45 minutes. There is no map in the bonus game, which forced me to use the hint button to transport as I don't care much for wearing out my shoe leather. ;-) As a collector's edition, this falls well short of being a 5, but I enjoyed the game enough to rate it a solid 4.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fantasy mystery I found this game fun and exciting. The storyline I thought was going to be boring, but was pleasantly surprised. As I moved through the story the characters unfolded in a nice way and led me to find my challenges and articles in new ways. The interactive animals were a nice touch. I enjoy nature and using animals is always good. Traveling from one plane to another if fun and I liked that. All in all I enjoyed this game. This is a game I would purchase.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from July 4th special buy! 2 for 1 It is not the greatest, but it kept my interest up with the variety of different things to do. Have so far enjoyed all the games. The Gadget may be annoying to some, but I found it challenging and fun. At least it is not dreary and filthy as Fright, I am getting tire of run down falling apart locations and stories. The one thing I find fault with is no lip movement when someone talks. Even after reading what everyone writes; fishies, you should try the game and make your own mind up. I truly recommend the game. And with special sale this one is a buy for me!!!
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i enjoyed it based on the whole game including the bonus ... the graphic quality wasn't up to the best standard, but the storyline was good ... not too many HOs that was good ... the mini games were challenging but doable ... i plan to go back and do some of the mini games again later ... the only problem i found was that the animation everywhere slowed down the progression of the game ... just took too much time to animate; needed to move faster ... but since i didn't have another new game to play, this was ok with me ... still looking for the 5 star games, but they wouldn't be special without the lesser games i guess !
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it. From the sample I really enjoyed and will purchase in the future.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice storyline and difficultly for a beginner I don't like to use hints, but I had to a few times because I didn't make the connection as to what was next. I've played this one through a few times and you can do it in a few hours if you play consistently. I'd like the game to last a little longer, but overall I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the earlier Secrets of the Dark games Although I have now played this game at least twice, it didn't have the same qualities as the earlier games. It felt to me as though it had been written by a different team. I couldn't play it as intuitively as I could the other SotD games, and I didn't find the graphics were of the same standard. So, having loved Temple of Night, Eclipse Mountain and Mystery of the Ancestral Estate, I was disappointed with this game. I feel it should have been one of a different series, not SotD.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Not The Same BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS I have liked this series from the first, with its nifty idea of revealing a wholly different view of the same world when the lights go out. So I am deeply disappointed that this game doesn’t really do that. I even checked it was the same developer, I was so convinced this game did not belong. But it is the same, so I am left wondering “why?”. Why mess with a winning formula? SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game is a dark fantasy, and so there is a lot of dark graphics, most of which are not too difficult to see, but I think it’s on the border in some parts. In the light, real world, the colours are so bright and bold they scream at you, and I don’t like them. The quality of the art is lovely, again, mostly. And the cut scenes are very well done. Sounds, especially the effects, but also what passes for music, are very ominous and does take off a bit of the brashness of the colours and reinforces the story’s creepiness. The storm, as seen and heard from the living room window is excellent. Voiceovers are good, and no attempt has been made to lip synch, the faces are still. WHAT’S HAPPENING? As with each of the games in this series, we discover a world that exists only in the dark. We are investigating the disappearance of a young girl, who was given an unusual lamp for her birthday. When she switched it on, a beast of darkness grabbed her and blocked the door with a magical seal. You are the right person for the job, because you have a gizmo that can remove such evil magic, and so you are soon able to follow Maria into the ‘dark world’ inside her bedroom. It is a fantastical place with much scary-looking weirdness, and the creature who stole Maria is clearly determined to stop you, and doesn’t much care how. You gain all the information you can here and are ready to move on when the demo ends. GAMEPLAY The HOPs in this game are exciting because none of them are standard lists. The two in the demo are, first, pictures of misplaced items displayed, that must be found in the scene and then used correctly. And the second is a bunch of photo pieces that have been cut out of the ones you have. Both types require a bit of thinking, as well as searching, and are logical enough for you to deduce the correct moves. Many of the puzzles are hard, even this early in the game. They are mainly familiar, but with one more degree of difficulty than usual. Some I hated. For example, there is one where you must ‘herd’ fireflies into a jar. This sort of manual dexterity is totally beyond me, and the skip function is slow to fill, even on the lowest of the 3 plus custom difficulty levels. When I play the game again, I hope I remember to reduce the skip time! The gadget that removes magic comes with its own mini-game, which after using it three times, I am already loathing. It is an adaptation of aligning the reflections, and by the second one, I was out of my depth. There is also a pet (not ours, but) which has useful skills, although not the usual. Other features include a hint which teleports you to the place you need to be, and the journal which includes goals as well as story. The interactive jump map gives you current objectives rather than available tasks, and I find it a bit confusing to read, in any case. I prefer the hint. CE BLING! In keeping with this developer’s history, there are no wallpapers, sound tracks etc. There are 9 Concept Art sketches and 30 replayable mini-games. Plus, there are 30 flowers (they look like creepy glowing lilies to me) and 15 morphing objects to collect. The morphing objects are actually the left over ejecta of cataclysmic transformations that you will be unable to miss. Still, it is a different and interesting use of them. COMBINED IMPACT I am disappointed with this game, but I confess it is quite good, with some interesting features. I might just be me who will find it hard to appreciate this game. If you came upon this game in isolation from it's prequels, I think it would seem a lot better. Still, I don’t think it’s on a par with either its predecessors or some of the games we have had released lately.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Orneon games are a treat but this one is too easy. I don't like games that lead you by the nose from one component to the next to solve a boring puzzle. Get any Echoes of the Past instead
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flower of Shadow, Will It Bloom or Wilt? I have only played Eclipse Mountain of the earlier games in this series. This time, sixteen year old Marie is captured via a flower she receives from an unknown source for her 16th birthday. The flower generates a portal to another world. In this world, an evil being was spawned from a certain flower. Some time later, the being was defeated but her servant is trying to revive her. He needs three pure souls to feed to the flower in order to regenerate the evil being. Marie's father, Joseph Kolak, is a former military pilot who has called you in to investigate and get his daughter back. Something occurred during his military service that made him and Marie a target of the the being. Village fortune-teller Stephanie is available to help guide you. Despite the explosion of pink and purple to open the game, the artwork and cut scenes are fairly well done - except for a small plane which is quite out of scale. You'll transport between the two worlds several times as you progress. The world inside the portal is quite dark, and relies more on greens, grays and browns. Game play is not heavy on hidden objects The ones there are are not simple lists, but require interaction. Puzzles are fairly standard, a little more difficult than the easy ones we've seen recently, but not hard. You have a device to dispel the barriers the spirit puts in your way, it's very simple to use. Music, sound effects and voices are good, but the character's lips do not move. There are collectible flowers and morphing objects, but these are so large and obvious that they practically say "HERE I AM." In my opinion, while there is nothing distinctive about the story or play, it seems to be made well and at least has some degree of difficulty. However, I would wait for the standard edition before picking this flower.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Secrets of the Dark IV First impression is a great game for teens. Cannot see the usual magic in The Flower of Shadow as compared to previous Eclipse Mountain, Temple of Night and Mystery of the Ancestral Estate of which I own all three. The quality of all games seems to be cloned into a certain format with lots of running around picking up items and trying to figure out where they go, collectibles, morphing objects, lots of colors, weird mythical beings, dark powers invading human bodies and the like. Does seem to be picking up some momentum as the storyline develops and for those players who have the patience and this game wows them. My respect and admiration for Orneon Developers and their previous sequels. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened??? I own the others in this series and loved them. I did buy this one as was two for one this weekend, but it really does not compare to the previous games. The graphics were grainy until I switched off widescreen, which I did in order to solve one of the HOs. The HOs were actually quite good, the puzzles however were either really easy or so dull I skipped them. I did like the storyline but it was missing the 'grip factor' of the other games in fact the bonus chapter was better than the main game imo. Very disappointed overall...what happened Devs?
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another No-Buy I have to say, lately the offerings here have left me very disappointed, and this game is another one! The graphics are nothing to write home about, games aren't a huge challenge, and the story line is ho-hum at best. I won't be buying this, it simply isn't worth the price.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Super Easy This game was very easy with lots to do. Story line was a bit tired. Characters were ok. Nice graphics good music. I like the HO where I have to find the kittens. Fun. I like the mix up on HO's. Has a jump map and a few collectables. This game could be a rainy day special.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me I only played about 30 minutes of 90 minute demo. The colors were nice, with some dark, but art was blurry. You have four levels of challenge of regular, advanced, hardcore and custom. The extras include bonus adventure, 2 chapters of the strategy guide, concept art, mii games, 14 achievements, collect 30 lilies, morphing objects. The storyline had promise and I did want to find out what would happen, but I just couldn't get past the rest of the issues. The magnifying glass (where to check to see if something needs to be done) seemed out of proportion and it was very difficult to figure out what needed to be done where. I have played this series before and must say this is their worst.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seriously OK this is the 4th one that I know of, the first three were so so but this one was bad, just didn't cut it for me, try before you buy
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What happened to my beloved series?? I usually don't do reviews on games I don't finish but I can't finish this game because its so bad. I am a huge fan of this series. The 2nd one in the series is one of my all time favorite games and Orneon in general make fantastic games that are always original so I don't know how this game got so far off mark. I assume this is the pink and purple graphic thing most people talk about in their reviews. There is a lot of it in this game. Usually this series takes us places that are really interesting and creepy. I love the shade effect and how its something not done in other games. It gives this series an edge. However, its not utilized in this game like other games. It doesn't quite even make sense to what you are doing. Flower of the Shadow? Doesn't make any sense and is not a compelling story line at all. The characters have not drawn me in at all and Im like 3/4 of the way done. Despite a terrible plot line, my main beef with this game is lack of being fun. I decided in the beginning that although I disliked the plot Id give this game a good go because Orneon games are fun in my opinion. This game isn't fun. The puzzles started out fun but have gotten less so as time has gone on. The achievements are mostly game related so you'll get them no matter what. The best part of this game are the hidden object scenes and Orneon is the first dev who gave us put back the misplaced objects so I love that part of the game. But a few hidden object scenes can't save this game. I am doing repetitive tasks with the gadget you get. The game you play each time makes you need a certain code and to get it you have to push buttons on either side that either go up a few or down a few. So far I have just pushed them randomly and gotten the answers. Usually orneon puzzles get harder as you go on but not this game. There are flowers you collect and morphing objects but they are too easy and you can only get the morph when you see it so if you click the place it was and its not there, you have to wait til it morphs again and its a slow morph. The flowers are in plain view. I really think I am about to finish the game but I don't want to play anymore. I am bored. Its been awhile since I've been bored by a game. Usually if I don't like a game its because its too easy or the plot line is wack or helpers which you have one in this game for people who don't like helpers. But my main issue for this game is boredom. I can't finish it. I don't want to finish it. I couldn't care less about the bonus game. I don't even care what I am doing in the main game. Even if I dock some games for the easiness of it, sometimes those are still fun games but not this one. I see by the reviews that I am not the only one disillusioned by this game. This game saddens me. A good developer can have a bad game once in a while but when you take what was once a great series and totally muck it up like this, its hard to have faith that the next one will be up to par. Please devs take note and fix this for next time. I look forward to enjoying my favorite series again. For the first time in a long time, I would have liked more hidden object scenes in this game because they were the only fun part. Had there been more, I might have finished it because the only time I had fun was during those scenes. I do not recommend.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring, confused, and not fun The art style used didn't appeal to me. The edges of objects seemed soft and lacking in definition making the appearance of things blend together. The soundtrack was ok and fit the theme. The storyline is another of those "missing relative/detective called in to help" stories but with the addition of completely implausible scenarios that occur so frequently I lost track of what was going on almost immediately. Maybe people familiar with the series would have a better understanding of the plot but this was the first I've played and it left me clueless. Your character has a magic machine that allows you to dispel evil barriers. Unfortunately, in order to use this you must perform a puzzle to match numbers it reveals. You do this by clicking a button on the left that adds some amount to the number your machine display shows, then clicking a button on the right to subtract some amount, and repeating this over and over until you match the number on the machine to the number it has revealed on the barrier. This rapidly became so tedious that when the machine's batteries went dead I felt a leap of joy. What I don't understand is why, if this machine is so important to the character, he doesn't bring some extra batteries with him seeing as it loses battery charge after almost every use necessitating the theft of batteries from whatever location he's in at the time. The puzzles were easy and nothing that isn't present in the last twenty such games I've played. The HOS were not real HOS in that not a single one required you to actually look for items in a scene. One type, which I particularly abhor, figured prominently. This is the kind where everything on the list is completely obscured by something else that must be shooed out of the way in order to see the, otherwise not visible, item of interest. For a HOPA game it had very few HOS. There are morphing objects to find which all appeared laid over the top of some gigantic "mystical" monster face or similar identifying thing. This made them so easy to see that I can't even use the word "find" to describe the means you need to employ to click them. You identify them rather than find them. The same could be said of the collectible flowers which were so large they were immediately noticeable when you entered an area. Overall this is a game based on an extremely overused plot with the addition of a relentless barrage of implausible situations, boring and non-intuitive tasks, and an annoying gadget you must use to progress through the game. The HOS and puzzles were not enjoyable or challenging and could not rescue this game from descending into poor fun factor territory for me.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugh! Fourth game in the Secrets of the Dark series by Orneon ----------------------------------------------------------------------- I was surprised to see the rating this game gets, I own the first three and although they are not outstanding, they are pretty decent games, and I like the characteristic of this game of moving from ancient to modern times. Surely it's not that bad? So I decided to give this one a try (demo). After playing for 15 minutes I can understand the frustrations most players have.. the game is slow moving, no interaction, the VO is boring, and the loading is a slow, and transition of scenes are weird, in a way they are not natural but rather slow-moving. There is not much moving in between rooms, and to 'unblock' the 'evil doors', we need a robot kind of machinery which needs battery. I have no idea why the dev. even needs to put that machine, why not the regular lever or something simple? every time we have to unblock a door, we need to play a puzzle. Again, more time consuming. The bonus contents, cannot really say they're bonus, because except for concept art, wallpaper and bonus chapter, others are just achievements, collectibles, which I thought weren't even bonus. The story doesn't make much sense to me, the graphic seems distorted and it's slow paced game, so nothing really attracts me here, which is a pity since their first three games are pretty nice. I can fully understand now why it has such bad reviews and sadly I have to join in the force.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from day early full demo-way too much going on Daughter taken(yet again?). Gizmo to clear magic doors, 30 flowers/16 morphs, 4 modes of play, Lamp transports to another dimension, get Maria's pet to light things up, gypsy has answers, whew. Issues: no logic/continuity, I used jump map and still had to use Hint button to figure out what I was supposed to do. I'm sure the usual reviewers will give this a 5 BUT please try it yourself before you purchase. Way too complicated for my old brain.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HOPs - Happens Only Painfully slowly Secrets of the Dark has been an interesting series, until now. I don't begin to understand why they thought this fell into the same place as the previous games in the series. So let's pretend it is a stand alone effort. The same old "rescue my child from evil" storyline meets standard CE fare, featuring collectibles, SG, and the usual stuff. Game content is OK. Artwork is OK. Animation is pretty. Sound is OK. There are four levels of play including the new custom setting. But game play is like slogging through quicksand. After awhile you just get tired of making the effort - I fell asleep over the game! This game needs to have more - more story, more connection to the previous games in the series, more effort on the developers part to engage the player. Better yet Developers, please just start a new series next time. This is not my cup of tea. Please be sure to try it for yourself.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Orneon.....what have you done ??? When I started the game and saw Orneon was the creator I was pleased as most of their games are successes, particularly the fantastic Echoes of the Past series. Unfortunately the Flower of Shadow comes no where near Orneon' past accomplishments. The story line is so fantastic ( in a bad way ) as to make it totally implausible. Another run of the mill daughter kidnapped for some nefarious reason by the bad guy rehash. I would like it very much for devs to put thinking caps on and CREATE. I would like that Orneon allow its characters to move lips when they speak. Is that such a stretch? The puzzles and HO scenes are mundane and offer nothing we haven't seen over and over again. I sometimes think a little animal helper is OK and kind of cute. But a guinea pig that doubles as a flashlight it too far over the top. There are flowers to collect, who cares!!. I do not recall previous Secrets of the Dark games and if the prior ones are as disastrous as Flower is, that's probably the reason . I would not want to recall such drivel. It is unfortunate that IMO not too many solid new games have been offered of late. This is giving me the chance to revisit older games in my repertoire such as the excellent Lonely Hearts Killer that I recently replayed. I think the folks at Orneon were on some mind bending hallucinogen in putting this bomb together. Avoid it at any cost.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Secrets of the dark The Flower of Shadow should have stayed in the shadows Oh dear so disappointed with this game, the title held such promise and I bought in haste my regret, the game is just so poor, yes there are lots of collectables , but the game movement is iffy , so boring and has any one tried to read the strategy guide , it is almost unreadable so blurred , really sad , good title bad game needs more work on it .maybe we will get an update for this game ?????
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good Story, Horrid Graphics Was it my eyes or was everything really blurry? The story was interesting and I really wanted this one to be at least good, but alas, another disappointment. Biggest complaint was that everything, including writings, seemed out of focus, which was terribly annoying and gave me a headache. Seemed there were tons of puzzles, everywhere you turned, but few HOs. Strategy Guide was not well done and of little help. Interactive map was also lacking and not so interactive. If they take this one and redo all the visuals, cut out some of the many puzzles, I'll give it another chance. I need a new one to play, but this is not it, so guess I'll be replaying some of my favorites. CE is a waste of money because of the lack of guidance, and SE will be a waste unless you like headaches.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lasted exactly 12 mins in the demo I have LOVED other Secrets of the Dark games. However, this game is so disjointed, you have no idea what you're supposed to be doing at any given time. Every area to explore is missing pieces before you can even get to the mini game. There is no logic to the story line, to the point I felt like I was going in circles. A definite NO for me. Oh, also the graphics are so bad, you have to take it out of widescreen mode or you'll think you're going blind.
Date published: 2014-07-08
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_21287, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow Collector's Edition

Can you bring Maria back from a shadowy realm?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.