Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane
Exclusive

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.43 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Brought to you by Elephant Games, creators of Haunted Hotel: Eclipse and the best-selling Mystery Trackers series!

Abraham Shadowy bought an abandoned hotel, planning to turn it into a haunted attraction for his guests. But when his guests start actually disappearing, people begin to gossip. Is it all just a publicity stunt for the hotel, or is there something more sinister going on? Join your detective friend James as you search for the truth among Shadowy's mechanical contraptions. It's dark in there, so watch your step in Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane, a chilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1102 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.43 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun for a non collector's edition This is a long game with lots of fun puzzles and interesting characters.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! This game was fun. It was not the most complex but it offered many different scenes. I enjoyed the visuals, HOS and puzzles. It even seemed as if our friend James took a back seat in this game and became less annoying.
Date published: 2014-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Is Haunted Buyer beware, if it's haunted, leave it be, problem solved. Abraham Shadowy is a mechanical engineer who has reopened a Haunted hotel using all his skills as a mechanical engineer to give his guests a truly good nights fright! However, when guests check in and disappear, the possibility that the hotel may indeed be haunted becomes a reality and James has asked for your help once again to investigate this paranormal site but so far the only thing paranormal is Abraham's behavior and a few mechanical parlor tricks you discover. This is a really entertaining game filled with all kinds of mechanical gadgets to tinker with, including a flying scarab that will assist you with those out of reach items. There are plus sign indicators which means that some of the inventory items require further action or repair. There is a map for teleporting, and you will probably want to use it because there is a lot of back and forthing required as you find an item in one location but need to use that item in the previous location. The Hidden Object scenes are slightly interactive list finds where you may have to click on a hat to move it, exposing an item or using a knife to cut stitching revealing an item. The mini games are very easy such as memorizing the sequence of several colored balls after the lid closes. Another mini game requires you to adjust mirrors to reflect a beam of light from one end to the other. I will admit that I wasn't as excited with this Haunted Hotel as with the first edition, but there are a lot of mechanical gadgets in this game due to the fact that Abraham is a mechanical engineer. The Collectors Edition has achievements to earn as well as Egyptian jars containing the ashes of the dearly departed. Personally I think this Standard Edition is the better value, I don't think there were enough bells and whistles in the CE, and because this is a fairly logical game, you probably won't need the built in strategy guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great game! I loved this game! Great scenery, great storyline, music was not intrusive and fitted the game quite well I thought. I don't always play the full game straightaway but play it for about an hour each time. Having said that though I did find this game fairly long which was how I liked it. In short this game ticked all the boxes for me!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Entry With Egyptian Flair I enjoyed this entry in the very good Haunted Hotel series. Once again you and your beleaguered but helpful partner James are called upon to crack a case at a hotel. This time it's run by a guy called Shadowy, nothing to worry about there, who invites guests and tries to scare them with effective technological thrills that have become a bit too real. It's an interesting hook to breathe some new life into this series while keeping it somewhat connected to what came before. Like Eclipse before it, the game looks great. Scenes are well done, the character animations are solid, and the movement and special effects are some of the better ones I've seen in a casual game. My only negative there is the voice of your partner, who has the same tone whether it's in fear for his life or handing you some item. Minor flaw, though. Overall very good in this department. This game is really more a series of minigames than a standard hidden object, though there are plenty of those scenes. As with most of the other entries, the HO scenes are great to look at but very easy with minimal interaction. Also repeated from Eclipse are the variety of minigames, ranging from quite easy to rather difficult. Nothing super challenging but a good mix. The Egyptian theme is very good and gives the game a different look and feel. I quite enjoyed that element and thought it made the plot a bit more fun, if not quite realistic. Honestly the only thing that kept me from rating it higher is the incessant backtracking, which is particularly bad in the second half of the game. It takes twelve screens to get from one place in the hotel to the other and then you have to go right back to use the item you collected. You can teleport but to me that's a weak excuse to lengthen the game artificially. The other characters you meet including the owner of the hotel aren't that fleshed out, but everything wraps up decently enough. Overall it's a fun little adventure that shows this series still has quite a bit of steam. No need to check out just yet.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Long Game I was amazed at how long this game was! I really enjoyed everything about it. Really cool rooms, the scenery, the puzzles, voice-overs, puzzles, mini games, this is deff a great game to buy!
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Suspect Love the story line. I like the way the graphic appear. I was simply and adventure. Love a good suspect game and I play it to relax. Thanks for all work you guys done.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game Fun game ,lots of things to figure out..... haven't finished yet. There is one problem though. During the hos a pin was spelled "pen", causing me to have to use the hint.... Another where you had to put wings on an angel.... but there isn't an angel... but a bird. Hem...... So far,everything else is good
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappearing Guests This is a long SE game with good mini-puzzles and inter-active hidden objects. You have a notebook, map, and hint key that fills quickly. You can also teleport to a new place. Several of the inventory items have several parts to find and complete.
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HH #6 Ancient Bane: BASED ON ENTIRE GAME & BONUS This is my CE version review in case you liked this game well enough for the CE extras. To reiterate: THIS IS BASED ON FULL GAME PLAYED AND BONUS. And I've played all the other Haunted Hotels except for #5. SCREENSAVER in CE content: This ss deserves its own category because it is so way cool. If ONLY it would have stayed with the computer after the game was removed such as the Fear for Sale CE's! STORY: Abraham Shadowy buys a hotel to use as a haunted attraction but people that visit there have disappeared. (NOTE: You do not save these people in segmented chapter stories, which actually would have made this game a million times better.... but rather you save them all at once at the end as a finale#. Weirdly, there is an Egyptian Goolie that runs throughout and haunts this house. So you are at odds when the house has "haunted contraptions" A. Shadowy has built for entertainment....I just wish they'd chosen a theme and gone with it. This HH is mostly based inside the hotel itself, in its basement or surrounding gardens. I wish they'd taken us more into the hotel's surrounding outside areas. Graphics & voice overs well done. I actually liked HH Charles Dexter Ward better. -because Charles Dexter has a lot more outdoor gorgeous scenery-. This HH is mostly based inside the hotel itself, in its basement or surrounding gardens. CE specialties: 1 SCREENSAVER....that removes with the game, Wallpapers, --- who cares for, Concept art, music. but its there- Achiev. / collect 12 Egyptian obj. BONUS PLAY: I was bummed. The gameplay for bonus is mostly played off the area in the basement, I wasn't a huge fan, it could have used more newly drawn areas. Making this Haunted Hotel GOOD Not Great. SIMILAR GAMES: If you liked this game try these: I really liked all of them- 1. House on Haunted Hill - story almost exactly the same- 2. Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor 3. Shiver: Poltergeist 4. Lake house: Children of Silence DEVELOPERS: STICK TO HH 4 Charles Dexter Ward, with outside scenery to break the monotony, Add more Screensavers that stick with the computer after game removal. It will only remind Bigfishers they loved your game and buy the next one. And drop Concept art and savable music-most of us turn the music off, it isn't a LURE!- Its a detriment! Instead add content on WHO YOU ARE, AND HOW THE GAME WAS MADE, See how the game Fright CE did this to perfection. We are fascinated by YOU people behind the scenes, and love seeing who is making these awesome games for us!! Thanks! A SUPER, MAJOR, Big fish fan
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Stayed There One Night This is posted after playing the entire game. I just wish I had written this yesterday after I finished playing, because there is so much to tell you and I know I'm going to forget most of it. I really enjoyed this game. I wasn't sure I would, but all in all it was entertaining and I can't wait to play it again. It's a long game and there are a few discrepancies, but not enough to worry about. The sound quality is excellent and the graphics are worthy of the this designer. I have most all of these games and I found this one right up to par. I liked it, because it was one I could do without racking my brain. I even did the mini games. The hidden object scenes weren't a push over by any means, but they were clear and fun to do. Mini games weren't new. We've seen them before, but they chose the ones that didn't take a lot of time to do and were simple enough that I enjoyed them. You have an interactive map which is quite a necessity, because you will accumulate quite a bit of things in your inventory and this will help you get back and forth to where you need to be to use them. You have a helper who will assist you in quite a few tight spots. The story is one we have heard before, but I enjoy it. It kept me entertained and in the game. It had a beginning and an end so that makes it good. So many just leave you hanging. There is a lot more to tell you, but you can be the judge. Play the demo, which honestly doesn't do the game justice, and make up your own mind. I highly recommend this game if you want something to entertain you and not have to work the grey matter to the bone.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game nice game. plenty of game time. give it a shot and I suggest playing in expert mode. 2014
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from O.K., I'm Hooked I like haunted hotel/house games so thought I would try this with no intention of buying since I have so many "haunted" games, well guess what, I am hooked and must have this game. There are voice overs but no mouth movements, which is fine, the voices are well done. There are quite a few puzzles, not too hard, and the h.o. scenes are interactive. No morphing objects or collectables. There are 4 sound selections for; music,effects, environment, and voice. 3 play modes; casual, advanced, and hard. There is a wonderful jump map, which you will need as there is plenty of back and forth and has colored pins that show you where you are and where there is a task to be done and where there is no current task, also a task button to tell you what the current goal is. Sounds and colors are good, not too dark and you can change the gamma before or during play. There is a journal/diary to record your achievements. A couple of misleading items in h.o.'s; on the second floor h.o. the pen is actually a pin and in the hotel room h.o. the comb is actually a brush and the interactive is finding an angel, (you put the wings on) looks more like a bird of some kind. Music is good, of the mysterious type, goes well with the story which is you are there to find missing people and prove or disprove if the hotel is really haunted or not. There are some great spooky sound effects, moans and eerie thumps and such. This is a ghost story, I did not come across any demonic things, if you are very sensitive to sudden noises or things moving when you're not looking, it could be scary. For example, no matter what, a jack in the box always scares me when the thing jumps up! If you like ghost stories, you will like this one. Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Little Disappointed i really enjoyed this game, the puzzles were challenging...but at the end of the day, there were 2 tasks I never actually did, and yet the game is complete. Woulda got 5 stars otherwise. :(
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun and some real brain teasers! I really liked this game. It had lots of puzzle and HOS. Some were fairly easy, but there were a few that I really had to work at. I liked working with the scarab. That was a nice touch. I am looking forward to playing more of the games in this line.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it! Mysterious hotel. Real ghosts? Money-making hoax? Nice graphics, puzzles, HOPS.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great graphics, lousy story Much as I liked the artwork and voiceovers, the story doesn't make sense and as a result, the actions needed to progress also didn't make sense and made for a lot of aimless wandering through a haunted hotel that houses an Egyptian city????? I also had issues with some of the mini games, in which the instructions weren't that clear as to the objective to clear the game. However, most mini games were not that difficult. A few puzzles look easy on the surface but harder to solve than at 1st glance. Do I recommend this game? Yes, with caveats. It's a long game with great artwork, good mini games, more puzzles than HO junk scenes, but the story doesn't make much sense. This is a game where a map is very helpful in navigating your way among the many doors to hidden rooms. There is a lot of back and forth among rooms encountered many moons ago. Playing without helpful messages would be extremely confusing. You will collect items along the way that will not be used for a long time, so keep at it. And some of the doors have a long view shot instead of a close up shot to clue you in that an object in inventory can be used to open it--that was strange (compared to most games). If you're big on artwork and length of game, this game fits the bill. If you like a gripping tale and enjoy a good detective story (that makes sense), try the demo before buying.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They're just cranking these out like parts on a assembly line. Nothing new to see here, just another generic HOG with a few mediocre puzzles, nice drawings, decent atmosphere and music, and a storyline we've seen dozens of times before. You can tell very little care went into this one, so many incorrectly identified items in the HOS - a brush is not a comb. A handkerchief is not a shawl. Makes it hard to care enough to buy this stuff when the developers just seem to be phoning it in at this point.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ready to Scream, and Not Because I'm Scared! There are so many things wrong with this game. Items you're looking for in the HOS's aren't what the description says. For instance, a brooch is called a "pen", a brush is called a "comb", etc. In one scene there's a barrel with a cork. We're told "I need to remove the cork so I can slide the lid off". Really? Removing a cork enables the entire lid to come off? One puzzle's instructions say to position items so none of the lines cross. I worked & worked on this and finally gave up after getting extremely frustrated. When I hit the skip button it showed the solution with some of the lines CROSSING! I play on the hardest mode for a reason, yet I still continued to get hints like "if I find a hammer I can use it here". Honestly, expert players can figure this out for ourselves. We don't want OR need all that help. The graphics were excellent, as usual. The music was barely noticeable except where it was very dramatic and intense. That didn't happen very often. One thing I find exasperating with these games is the lack of imagination by the developers. There were several instances where an item in my inventory would have worked just fine to retrieve something. But no, you had to have a different item that really wasn't needed. For example, why do you need a valve for a water pump if you have a wrench that can be used instead to turn the water on? A lot of developers don't improvise enough. EIPIX is an exception to this. I really enjoy their games. Just an okay game, in my opinion. I've played much better. I'm still recommending it for those who aren't as picky as I am.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "By the way, I found this!" I was underwhelmed by the CE when it came out, but kept it lurking on my GM to remind me to look at the SE when it came out. I only managed 48 minutes of the demo before exiting. It is so dull and tries hard to be scary but falls well short. The SE has retained the jump map and transporting hint and thank goodness as you are going backwards and forwards all the time. For more detail, see the CE reviews. I was in the minority and many people really enjoyed it. Definitely one to try before you buy. For me, no. It is just too frustrating!
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad game, just so so. This is based on completion of the SE in casual mode. The story is of a haunted hotel where guests have disappeared. You have been invited by a fellow detective to investigate. The owner of the hotel, Mr. Shadowy isn't happy you've been invited along, as the invitation was for your friend. Nothing new about this game -- the HOS and puzzles are the same as we've played in other games by this developer, Elephant. Just the characters have different names and the story is a little different, but nothing fascinating. I really became bored and used the hint button to take me from scene to scene. I didn't use the map because the hint button also transports you to where you need to be. I turned down the music but it wasn't too bad on low. Other than being a bit boring, nothing wrong with this game. The subject manner maybe too mature for the very young, but this game is suitable for every one else. Its's an easy game in the casual mode so beginners should enjoy it very much. Always play the demo and read some reviews to make up your mind.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Elephant is Missing in Haunted Hotel Our detective friend James from the last Haunted Hotel is back and this time we are off to help a hotel owner solve the mystery of his vanishing guests. The game starts in the same way as almost every other Elephant game with the proverbial suitcase that is missing a key, which when opened leads to a hidden object scene. Once we are in the hotel we meet Mr. Shadowy (an ominous sounding name) who is acting rather strange and we are left on our own to investigate. Hmmm, what strange and mysterious things are going on and what will we find within the hidden rooms of Haunted Hotel? The graphics are excellent and I would expect nothing less from this developer. It is interesting that the beginning cutscene had lip-synced voiceovers but then they disappeared as we got into the game itself. The thing is (and this is the bad news) that good graphics are just about the only thing this game has going for it. The gameplay in Haunted Hotel Ancient Bane is very much the same as it is in all games by this developer, so much so that it is quite predictable. The HOS are the same old, same old slightly interactive list type that we find in virtually EVERY game this development team presents and there is nothing new to be found here. I am beginning to think that the well of creative thought has truly dried up at Elephant games. In Haunted Hotel Ancient Bane, we come across HOS scene after scene that I won’t necessarily call junkpiles only because the items are quite nice to look at, but nevertheless the scenes are stuffed with far too many items. Not only are the HOS cluttered, many of them are quite dark as well making it much more difficult to distinguish some items. Then we come to the puzzles or mini games, and again there is nothing new to be found with puzzles that seem very simplistic and easy. There was nothing to challenge my brain and I found the puzzles to be quite ho-hum if not downright boring. Not only were the puzzles quite ho-hum, the developer missed some great opportunities early in the game to integrate puzzles into several areas. Lately, it seems that there must be some simple formula that the Elephant team uses when developing its games, which includes nothing new or creative - only the basics. I might sound a bit harsh but when I see a game from Elephant, who is one of the top developers in casual gaming, I expect more and lately it has been missing. There is no wow factor present in more recent games from a team who in the past brought us a stunning game like The Nutcracker. I purchased the CE version of the game and it had very little in the way of collectibles or anything else that I thought made it CE worthy – only the inclusion of the strategy guide. As I made my way through the game I found it tedious and slow, in fact the game was so forgettable, I am not sure I finished the original story. The gameplay was just rather mundane and with no challenge in the puzzles, it turned out to be a big disappointment. When one plays as many HOPA games as I do, I like to find something in the way of a storyline or some unique factor that stands out to “ring my bell” but it was not to be found among the crowded rooms of topsy-turvy chairs and floating knives. This Haunted Hotel was lacking in the things that could have made it a great game. The game is not horrible and for many it will be what they are looking for, and if you happen to have a free game credit hanging around, it might be worth using it on this game. Overall I will give the game three stars and those only because of the graphics which are superb. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo because the game might just be right for you.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Puzzels were messed up Almost all of the puzzles were extremely difficult. I had to skip through most of them.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game Everything was fine but it takes way too long to complete this game.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Typical Elephant game Good graphics, nice balance of HOS and puzzles, familiar story line. Nothing special, but worth downloading as a free game.
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too predictable. Demo only. Not a bad game. Just not good enough. Lockable inventory. Graphics were good. No pauses from scene to scene. No glitches. Not challenging. Can't comment on audio. Best news ever...NO HELPER!!!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I don't know what to say. I really wanted to like this game, but I was bored long before the 90 minute demo was up, and frustrated. It starts out okay, but by the time you get inside the hotel, things start going downhill fast... doing and finding things without understanding what or why, and in some cases, comments from the characters about things you haven't come across yet. Example: "I hope this won't be like the flying knives." There were a couple of new twists on the same old puzzles, but nothing to get excited about, except that the skip button refills quickly enough that you don't have to sit and tap your fingers on the desk waiting for it. The HOS are the same old same old, and as usual with this dev, there are several mistranslations in the lists. Sadly, not a buy for me.
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was I playing the same game everyone else was? Did not like this game... I just wanted it to be over! A lot of 5's were given to this (which is why I bought it), but not in my opinion. Easy puzzles & hog's. Map tells you where you're "current task" is at, but you still have to look in random rooms for needed objects. Sorry, but for me there are sooooo many better games!!!
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A waste of time! The first 5 minutes makes you think it will be something worthwhile.Then it's nothing but boring back and forth meaningless nonsense.I am still wondering why others gave this game good reviews.I guess I expect higher standards for the money I spend.This isn't even worth a freebie coupon! Very disappointed!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very slow game This is game is very slow, tedious trying to get hints.
Date published: 2017-02-15
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_21325, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane

Guests keep disappearing from a gimmicky haunted hotel. Is there someone pulling the strings, or are these ghosts actually real?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.