Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies
Exclusive

Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.30 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From Eipix, the makers of the successful series Final Cut, Off the Record, and Sea of Lies, comes more Myths of the World.

The rat catcher's after more than rats this time. He's kidnapping fairy folk! Where did these pixies come from, and what do they have to do with your grandfather's fairy tales?

Play both traditional and silhouette hidden-object puzzles in this dark fairy tale game. A unique new Q&A puzzle helps you discover your grandfather's tie to the fairy realm.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 863 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(463.30 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great addition to the series The Myths of the World series from Eipix is one of the better collections available to gamers. Fiends and Fairies is no exception. Once again we are tasked to defeat an evildoer and save the fairy world. The player is aided by Orna the fairy and as the game progresses many fairy folk are encountered, some helpful, others not so. One of the things I enjoyed was the Irish accent given to the fairies. As is usually the case, Eipix graphics are well done. The hidden object scenes are a bit different than the norm and most are quite easy to complete. The puzzles are all doable with some taking a bit more effort than others. I bought the CE version and if it is within your means, the CE is the way to go. Not only are the collectibles fun to acquire but the bonus chapter is fairly long and adds to the overall story . However, for those of you on a tighter budget, the SE version is sure to appeal. This game is FUN and very whimsical. It will keep a smile on your face. I recommend it highly. Enjoy !!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filling Grandpa's Shoes Grandpa Solomon O'Neil led a secret life as a master thief, and savior to the fairy folk of another realm, who knew! Now that your Grandpa has passed away, the fairies are relying on you to protect them from the evil witch, Ruth and her familiar, a sarcastic owl. One of the first fairies you meet is Orna who gives you a magic monocle, the Monocle of True Vision, that your Grandfather had given her as a gift. With this monocle you will be able to see where magicians have cast spells, and each time you use the monocle, there will be a mini game or puzzle to complete. Some of the games require you to match identical pairs of symbols, or figure out how many times to knock on a door by finding clues. The fairy realm was ruled by a tyrant King who waged war after war in pursuit of the Heart of Nature, which caused the decline and ruin of the fairy realm. Anyone who spoke out in protest was treated as a traitor, until Solomon found a way to enter the portal between their realm and ours, and allowed them to live in peace. The King became furious, and has ordered Ruth to open the portal so that he can conquer and rule both realms! The Collectors Edition has the usual extras such as a bonus chapter and built in strategy guide, it also has trophies awarded for achievements, and 36 hidden fairy shoes that make the game really entertaining in my opinion, but either edition is a winner. Most of the characters you come across in this game will have an interactive conversation dialog which allows you to choose the answers you give in the form of categories. Some of the answers you choose are humorous, compassionate, intimidating, bluffing or even charming , none of the answers are wrong, but the conversation will take longer unless you get right down to business. Some of the inventory items you find will have plus indicators that require you to interact with that item or combine that item with another inventory item, and you can customize the difficulty mode and choose whether or not you want the + indicator shown on available items. The Hidden Object scenes are presented in three or four stages. The first stage may have slightly interactive list finds followed by a description of a specific item and then pictures or silhouetted shapes to match. Even though the HOS were fun, I thought the alternate bubble shoot game was much more fun, I could have played that game all day! The mini games are almost too simple, such as using a lockpick to tap all of the rungs up, or swapping different shaped tokens along the paths of 4 separate rings. The game I liked the best was switching cash register buttons until all three horizontal and vertical rows of buttons equalled the sum 15. This is an extremely entertaining game with sharp graphics, and a very interesting fairy tale story. It is clear that the devs paid attention to even the smallest details to make this game superior, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything from EiPix! Beautiful graphics, great storyline, decent challenges!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC GAME! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GRAPHICS, HOS ARE INNOVATIVE, STORYLINE IS IMAGINATIVE AND WELL-EXECUTED, SOUND AND MUSIC QUALITY WAS WONDERFUL, AND THE CUT SCENES ARE SPECTACULAR. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE PRODUCTION AND DESIGN TEAM... THIS IS INCREDIBLE WORK!
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best One in the Series So Far This was by far the best in the series so far. Way better than the last two. Kept you on the edge of your seat the whole time. Great story-line and unique HO scenes made this refreshing to play.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riddles in the HOS!! I REALLY enjoyed the HOS in this game. They were varied with not all the same list type and they had my all-time favorite: the riddles to figure out what hidden object you are looking for. Some of the riddles were in sentence form and some were in picture form. A few were really easy but most made me think, which I LOVE! I like the puzzles in a game more than the HOS usually but when they add the riddles it makes the HOS seem more like a puzzle. I also loved the conversations that you have with the various characters. Especially the 2 guards towards the beginning of the game, very funny! IMO I would have loved to have numerous conversations with them. I also enjoyed the barkeeper and the little green guy. (Fairy?) The characters got less fun as the game continued but were ok. The graphics were outstanding. The travel through the game was logical so I never felt "lost". I was not impressed with the storyline but these other parts of the game made up for that, to me anyway. And I just skip through the story so it doesn't get in the way of the fun. Bottom line: I had fun playing the game and that's always the goal!
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Magic is REAL! I love a good story. I felt like I was a character in a fairy tale come to life with beautiful fairies and cute creatures. I like the interactions with the magical beings. I'm looking forward to replaying it many times in the future.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cute fairy tale! This was one of the best games I've played in a while. I love the eipix games. They always have such imagination to them. The music was just as enjoyable as the layout of the game. I would buy this game again! Myths of the World are really some of my favorite games.
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mythically Hard This story is not terribly unique, grandfather died and granddaughter carries out his work. There is no map so if you become stuck on where to go next you must use a hint. There are silhouette puzzles, traditional HO objects, and some puzzles where you have to figure out what the objects fit with the clue shown. I found the game to be fairly hard, not so much the tasks but making things fit together. Some of the objects need to be built or combined to make them workable. If you don't click in the right place, the game tells you that it is wrong. It may actually be right but you don't know that. The explanations for the mini games are sometimes a bit vague and a couple of them caused me to skip simply because I never did figure out what was needed to win. I am an experienced player so it is not like I don't know most of the tricks. If you can deal with these annoying glitches this is a well structured game. The art work is very good but I can't comment on the sound as I never listen. This is a long game and should keep you busy for quite a while.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from could be a three star I'm on the fence about the 4 star rating.... the puzzles were super easy. I played in custom mode and had nothing but the map to show areas of interest. Not much back and forth, once you are done with a room you move on. Some of the games were different but easy. 2014
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid 4 stars Now this is what gaming is about. Lovely graphics, soft soothing music, jump map, lockable inventory, different iHOS where you have think about the clue to find the HO example 1-12 is a clock, or woman + fish = mermaid. The objects are not cluttered, HO are nicely hidden but not to the point your eyes have to squint. Puzzles on the easy side yet enjoyable and some are new. What an intro it was like watching a movie! I agree this could win one of the best yearly awards. Well done Eipix. I enjoyed the game so much I actually read the credits to the end -which is a first for me. DO take time to read the credits its very funny. It's not just names in there. They describe each other in a way that's related to the game....kudos! Shame the credits went by so fast I could not keep up nor could it be paused. Why not five stars? Some VOs were irritating to listen to, one was pretending to have a child's voice; the other was the forced Irish accents which was so painful to listen to. But problem can be solved - next time I will turn off the sound and just read the lines. Almost five hours gaming time for me - I enjoy the cut scenes and the graphics and not go rushing to the finish line. I really enjoyed this well worth the money. I should've bought the CE.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different, and Kind of Strange Not a bad game, but not 5 stars for me. I do think EIPIX is coming out with great games and I think I've purchased most of them. A couple of things I liked: 1) the music was very nice, and it changed with each scene. I've been waiting for more developers to do this. 2) The voice overs are the best I've heard. Excellent work on the part of the actors! A couple of things I didn't care for: 1) Some of the uses for inventory items were very strange. I like imagination and improvising but some actions just didn't make sense at all. 2) A little too much dialogue for me. It added to the story but I felt the game was a little short, and I think the developers used the extra dialogue to make the game longer. I like EIPIX games very much and will continue to buy them. I just hope they do a little better on the next game.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely game! I fell in love with this game instantly, yet was not *quite* so in love by the end of the game. We are the granddaughter of The King of Thieves, with whom the Queen of the Faries was in love. The Queen was forced to marry the elven King, yet her loyalties lay with the Thief, our grandfather. There is a witch, who has opened portals between the fae world and ours, endangering both worlds in the process. Since we seemed to have inherited the mantle of greatness, we must save both worlds! Graphics in this game are crisp and clear. Characters lip synch well in cameo windows, while their background characters are static. A novel twist is that we can choose our responses in dialog, which is a bit of fun if we want to deliberately choose wrong responses in order to have a longer convo with the characters. The characters have believable, unique personalities and generally fun to engage with; they are definitely not 'wooden'. It was lovely to have a game world in which we were not trekking along completely alone, as we went about our quest to save the world! The stand-alone puzzles were generally ridiculously easy. The hidden object scenes were delightfully refreshing and different, using a combo of interactive word lists, silhouettes, and interesting picture type clues (which were hard to grasp!) Differences from the CE: Extras included in bonus game, replayable HOS and puzzles, plus an extra game involving finding jewels for the fairy Queen's crown in the starry skies. No morphing objects, but fairy shoes to collect. The main game ended satisfactorily, with the bonus game providing a further bit of story from the perspective of another character. Now, why was I not in love by the end of the game? At the beginning, I was able to progress very nicely by thinking about what reasonable step to take next. The adventure and interaction with characters dominated, but at some point I realized I was no longer able to puzzle out my next steps through intuitive play. The HOP began to pop up with frustrating frequency. And, speaking of HOP, they were beastly difficult! The picture types clues, which I mentioned above, are stylized artists images, and it was frequently impossible to tell what the drawn clues represented. The HOP are *not* represented in the strategy guide/walkthrough, which is terribly frustrating. I had to use hints several times, simply because I had no idea what the hand-drawn clues were, and that rather ruined the fun of the HOS for me. I ultimately found myself running to and fro with no clear idea of what I was looking for, or why. By the end, I simply was bored Overall, I will give this game four stars, as it has so much going for it as regards excellent crisp graphics, delightful characters, relatively interesting storyline, and interesting fashion of story progression. I can't rate it five stars because of the way it all seemed to fall apart in about the last third of the game. Towards the end, I began to forget my mission, as I was doing so much random searching for obtuse things. The bonus game was a nice long extra chapter, although it was packed with HOPs and play was not at all intuitive. I personally would have been quite happy with the SE on this game.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Myths of the world: of Fiends and fairies the rat catcher' s after more than rats this time. he' s kidnapping fairy folk?
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game That is one nice game. I like quality of art and funfactor of this game.
Date published: 2014-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Much of a Good Thing is Bad I love the Myths of the World series. I've played every one and was looking forward to the Irish one. Sadly, the game was so full of things that worked in other games - it's excessive, heavy, confusing and dull. Pros: The art is beautiful. Screens pop off the page with color and shape. Game play is smooth and intuitive - you know what object to use where. Mini-mes are Easy to Medium. Good ending (although it takes too long to get there). Cons: Too many story lines that are hard to keep track of - the nutty professor, the fairy, the witch, the other fairy, the rat catcher - left me halfway through the game going "who is who and who did what now?" Voice-over accents are horrid. The mini-games don't make much sense. Each HO puzzle having 3 stages to go through just makes it seem long. Worst Part: When you come to a new character you have to answer questions with one of three answers. It S-L-O-W-S the game down, distracts and doesn't make sense. It's a game that decided to throw so much in there's no ease, sense or fun. Just slogging from one character to another trying to end. Still love Myths - but this one - needs an editor.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fairly tedious Just found it difficult to stay motivated in this one, so I put it down to the story and just ok graphics. I ended up playing it intermittently over many weeks because I kept finding better games to play! Eventually I deleted it, knowing I wasn't going to finish it. I liked the talking pig-head after his nose-ring! Also the puzzles were enjoyable. There were hardly any HOS in this game. But I found the lady- fairy helper PARTICULARLY annoying. Personally, I thought the Myths of the World, Stolen Spring (the Viking one) much more enjoyable than this one.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Such a Witch, She Is! This is posted after playing the whole game. I played the demo and could not understand all the high ratings, but figured it was going to get better as time went along. It really didn't. Maybe I needed some more fairy dust to get into the game. It wasn't the worse game I've bought, but it sure wasn't the best. I'm in hopes my granddaughter will enjoy it when she comes to visit. Over all, it was not a fun game for me. It's a long game. I played probably 5 hours over two days, but it really didn't get me involved in what was going on. It acted like a child's game yet it was very challenging at the same time. The graphics were really nice and the music and voice overs were well done. It's the pop up voice overs so you have to click continue to see what was being said next. The characters were well drawn and the actions was decent. There are several different hidden object scenes in one. You have some that ask riddles, then you will have to find shapes, use them in the scene and the like. That was a unique touch to this type of game. Mini games, ha, who plays them anyway. Some were pretty tough and I did hit the skip button on a regular basis, but many were interesting. You have an interactive map and a notebook that kept track of your tasks. Didn't use it much. The riddles were really fun and funny. That was probably the most interesting part of the game. The story was okay, a bit hard to follow at times, but it had a beginning and an end, so that's a good thing. Just because I'm not a fairy kind of guy, doesn't mean this isn't a good game. It just didn't get me involved as usual. Play the demo and read the other reviews so you can get a full idea of what others thought.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Beautiful Hodgepodge of Too Much Stuff I started out thinking, "What a cute game," but became very bored and frustrated with it after a while. The game is very slow-moving and complicated due to all the endlessly tedious STUFF going on. It was all just too clever by half. Exhausting! Once it became clear that all that STUFF would continue ad nauseum through the entire game, I quit.
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Do NOT buy this hokum Oh dear - it was a mistake to buy this without a trial, assuming it might be as good as previous games in this series. It wasn't. As soon as I heard the fake-irish accents, I suspected that as little attention was given to the game play as to accuracy. Mixed in with the supposed-irish accents were regional-english ones (guards) and celtic symbols on buildings which seem created by people who had not travelled out of the far east. Good, I suppose, if it were deliberate and there was some narrative tieing in the different cultures, but it just felt shoddy and negligent. The game was short, the hidden-object scenes so boring that I swapped to shoot-the-bubbles instead.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A FOR EFFORT, D FOR FUN This is a gorgeous looking game with great graphics but I started to hate it before very long. The mini-games were poorly thought out and although not easy, they seemed pointless because they weren't fun. The point in playing games is to have FUN, people. Who are these developers? The story was fair although trite and the HOS were painful since you often had to figure out what you were looking for in the form of riddles, and some of these were hopeless (what do a man and a fish have in common?). I did like the little fairies flying around. I hate to be so negative because I think the developers tried to produce a really rewarding game; it's just that I couldn't stand it. Please keep trying.
Date published: 2014-07-11
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_21362, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Myths of the World: Of Fiends and Fairies

The rat catcher's after more than rats this time. He's kidnapping fairy folk!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.