Lost Legends: The Weeping Woman Collector's Edition

Lost Legends: The Weeping Woman Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(243.84 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Gunnar Games, creators of the Small Town Terrors series, comes a new mystery from south of the border!

As an investigative reporter, you travel around the globe to uncover the truth behind local legends. Next stop: Mexico!

Every year, the town of San Cristobal holds a huge festival to soften the heart of the Weeping Woman – a bitter spirit who kidnapped children long ago. For many years, the children of San Cristobal slept peacefully. However, three years ago, a child went missing during the festival for real, with another child vanishing each year since! Now another child has been taken – right before your eyes! Has the Weeping Woman truly returned to take revenge? Find out in this thrilling mystery adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • The 'Tale of El Sombrerón' bonus chapter
  • Achievements and morphing collectibles
  • Wallpapers and concept art
  • Integrated strategy guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 739 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Lost Legends: The Weeping Woman Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(243.84 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Lost Legends: The Weeping Woman Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 67.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Parade of the Dead Mexican style This game has a heavy Mexican 'parade of the dead' feel to it. If you are not 'offended' by this type of thing then this is a good game, with a strong storyline. As is standard with there was a VO which was the standard affair in that there was not much synching but in this instance it didn't really matter as the storyline was strong. The graphics were very much in keeping with the theme and seemed to evoke a bygone era (though couldn't quite place when the era was, possibly the 1930's but I could be way out with that one. The mini-games, were varied and strong and some nice twists on old and a smattering of new (for me anyway). There were collectables and the usual 'morph' finds to be had, I am not usually bothered about these as I usually find all but one and can't be bothered to go back all through the game to find one object, that may get me an extra wallpaper, or part of a bonus chapter. The theme is probably best for older players. perhaps 14 upwards (IMHO) as the festival is for the 'dead' and the themes of skulls etc probably is unsuitable for younger players. With the storyline being so realistic as well and not 'fantasy death' like some of the games on BF then this is also another reason why I would suggest the above age range. I highly recommend this game, especially if you can get it on offer, I would normally recommend the SE as I don't normally as I say care for the extras, but as this is on offer today, thus bringing the price right down, I would 'stretch' to buy it straight away. The free trial was once again 90 minutes, usually I can complete the trial version in this time, but in this case I couldn't thus I think this must be a longish game and probably well worth the money. If the themes of the game do not upset you and you lik a strong 'fairly realistic' storyline then I would highly recommend purchasing, certainly trialing the game, as this is one of the better games of recent times. Highly recommended due to storyline, visuals and quality of mini games and HO scenes.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Promising game A game by Gunnar Games --------------------------------- There are 4 levels of difficulties. The story is not difficult to understand. I love Latin American setting and this is one of the best Latin American setting game out there. The graphic is pretty nice, lots of colors. The HO and mini games are pretty easy, which I like. The map is quite useful, it tells you which place needs action, but there are some areas not mentioned in the map, so it can be rather confusing. The VO is okay, but at times it looks.. fake and forced. I don't think the bonus content is worth the extra price. There's basically nothing special there. You can try the demo to see what is available. I think I will wait until the SE comes out, as the main game is all that matters.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Play I enjoyed the game. The visuals were appealing but the storyline was way too transparent. Like knowing the ending of a book before you get to it. That was disappointing but it was not a fatal flaw.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but too short I played the demo version of this game and really enjoyed it. The storyline is interesting, the graphics and voice acting were great. I was surprised however how short it was. Not worth the collector's edition price, I wish I waited for the standard edition.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lively & Fun BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Very “Calavera” & “Mexicana”, this game is Mexican in flavour, so lots of bold bright colours, Latino accents, mixed legends and religions, and don’t forget the painted skulls. This one is set 2 weeks before Halloween and the Day of the Dead, but has the same carnivale atmosphere. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Loud! (The graphics that is, lol). The background noises and music are much less obtrusive. Accents vary from what feels to me like a parody of Mexican accent (but I honestly wouldn’t have a clue so don’t take my word for it), to almost Accentless to this Australian pair of ears. Lip synced. Music nicely varied. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Legend has it the Weeping Woman in the river steals a child every year on 17th Oct. It is a revenge thing for her children were stolen from her by a cheating husband. The town tries to appease the Woman by holding a festival that looks suspiciously like the Day of the Dead to me, but again, what do I know? You are a reporter, and you are here to investigate the true facts of the very real children who are disappearing each year. But you are not into any of that silly legend stuff. The people in the town fall into two categories, those who believe in the festival and those who don’t. GAMEPLAY Mostly easy, but fun. And a couple of unique ways of presenting familiar ones. Well integrated into the story. HOPs are interactive list, with more interaction than I normally see. More of them than is usual in these days, too. Adventure gameplay is easy, very logical, but not linear. There is an interactive jump map (that gets you to the general location – these are locations that include 2 or 3 others), and a directional hint. Journal with basic information. 4 levels of difficulty, including custom. Inventory lock. CE BLING! I like the collectibles. There are morphing flowers (25), which are lovely, and hidden golden skulls (25), where you actually have to move something in the location to see them. One each in each location. There is a separate achievements area in the Main Menu, also available from the journal. Achievements are painted skulls, and have both performance and story. Morphing flowers have own area too. Concept art (9) looks like the finished product to me, and there are also 6 wallpapers. COMBINED IMPACT I really enjoyed it. I was just going to glance in at it to see what it was like, and I got caught up in it. It may be a bit on the short side, that was my feeling, but I am hoping someone will correct me on that. I think it borders on being less than adequate as a CE, but it does have that fun feeling and I can see getting to the end of it and wanting more. So,
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Festival Should Help Just About Everything Including Kidnapping Maria and Domingo fell in love, married and had two children and lived happily ever after, the end! Nope, that's not how this legend goes, because Domingo left Maria for a younger woman, he took the children as well, driving Maria insane, until she drowned herself, gone, gone forever. Today is October 17th and the festival begins, Flores de Los Muertos, flowers will surely warm the heart of Maria and spare the children, a child has been abducted on this very day for the past three years! I'm not going to lie, I was not over the top excited about the quality of this game, a bit subpar in my opinion. With that being said, the game is still likeable, the graphics are okay, the game mechanics a bit clunky. This is a bit unusual for a BF exclusive. There are 25 golden skulls to find which are hidden under rocks or behind cabinet doors, just search each scene until a hand shows up and bingo, that's where the skulls are. There are also 25 morphing flowers to collect. The Hidden Object scenes are interactive list finds and most have a small mini game within such as connecting dots to make a star or finding keys of various colors and then turning those keys one at a time in a specific order. The mini games are fairly easy, such as rearranging skeletons until they are touching each other, or placing figurines on a board according to the clues given one at a time. This isn't a bad game, the story is fantastic to be honest, but this game seems low budget and not at all what I have come to expect in a Collector's Edition.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very nice game! I recommend this game because I really enjoyed it, The plot is interesting as well as the graphics of the game.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Colorful Game. Really enjoyed playing this game. The scenes were interesting, pretty and colorful. The HO games were very easy and that was ok with me. The story line and bonus chapter were interesting and the game played quickly. I bought this CC game on sale so I feel it was a fair price. While the game was not fantastic, it was a solid game and fun to play.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great storyline, easy gameplay This game has a fascinating storyline that kept me going. It wasn't challenging enough and it had way too many hidden object scenes for my liking. But I might play it again just for the story.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short But Detailed Mystery This charming and exciting little hidden object game reminded me of a Scooby-Doo mystery, where you meet a few principal characters and pretty much know who did what with a few twists along the way. I liked that the game layered on a "local legend" scenario to make things more interesting, and it progresses logically as you investigate a small town and its residents to find out where their children are disappearing to. By the time everything works out, it's a surprisingly intelligent storyline, which is lacking in many other games. Graphics and sound are good but relatively unobtrusive, and the voice acting I found better than average. Hidden object scenes are plentiful and generally easy, with objects clearly standing out against the background. There are some minor manipulations needed to find them, like opening cabinets and such, but you'll likely have very little trouble. Puzzles are variations on ones we've seen before, but the level of challenge is up and down. Some are done almost immediately, others can take a bit longer. I personally didn't need to skip any, which is a good thing. Bonus content includes collecting morphing flowers and golden skulls. The skulls are hidden in various scenes so you'll have to pixel hunt. You also get a bonus chapter, which is a related but separate story that I also quite liked. Good work on this game which is a very enjoyable way to spend an evening or an afternoon.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad but... ... but a few things to complain :) 1. I am not a native english speaker, so I had difficulties in reading the papers found in the game, because they disappeared before I had finished to read them, and never returned! The same with the dialogues, they ran too fast! 2. The faces of the women were so identical that I couldn't understand who of them was shown in the end :P 3. Not-found skulls and flowers aren't searchable after the end of the game :( 4. A statue of an elephant in old mexican ruins, LOL ^_________^ But ultimately I enjoyed the game ;)
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WAIT FOR THE SE For a CE this was appalling. The story was pretty stupid, very easy HOS and the entire game (including the Bonus) was too short. Though, for me, that was a bonus in itself. As for the Bonus Game....oh man....that was REALLY short and such an unbelievably pathetic, unimaginative story! My advice.....WAIT FOR THE SE!! This is NOT worth the cost of a CE....in no way, shape or form!! So, I DO recommend this game but NOT as a CE, only in the SE.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware! VERY short game!! Very easy game. But surprisingly SHORT! Not worth the money of a CE game,
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from All over the map Game locations seemed to be all over the place and it was easy to get lost as to where the next activity was to take place and location map was interactive, but did not offer areas within that location. I did like the story and that's about the only thing that was good about this one, as every other aspect was just OK. Seems as though they are putting out games as quickly as possible without taking the time to make a quality product; not too many excellent new games being offered lately. I'm on the fence with this one, but feel because of the continuous jumping around, the strategy guide is needed for this one but not sure it's worth the extra price. I'm also concerned about the game length as the demo took less than 45 minutes and seems you've gotten pretty far into the game just thru the demo.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware the Flores de los Mertos festival! You are a reporter who arrives in San Cristobal to find the missing children. It seems Maria and Domingo were happily married with 2 children, when Domingo decides to leave her for another woman, and took the children as well. So Maria drowned herself in Rio Cristobal, and now steals children near the river to make up for her own lost ones. The best thing about this game is the voice acting. The character's lips move to match what they are saying. Otherwise, it is a bit boring. The HOS are lists, and the mini-games quite easy. You ramble around the town looking for clues, using a map that doesn't actually represent all the areas in the town. Activities are marked, but you may not be able to carry out the activity at the time. You can collect 25 golden skulls and 25 floweres, plus 14 achievements. I quit playing the demo after about 15 minutes or so, because I was using the hint button too much. It is not intuitive where to go or what to do next. I am afraid I'll have to pass on this one.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from another promising game down the tubes From the outset I thought Lost Legends could be a fine game. Alas, I was wrong. The story line holds promise in that the Weeping Woman stealing children has a bit of originality due to her losing hers to a philandering husband. The detective is tasked to rescue the kids and find out why the abductions. Unfortunately then the game starts. Are a lot of us getting tired and bored with the same game design. In this case it's another door with the handle missing. Why cannot the door just open for once. Why is it that with a Mexican setting all the characters speak English and very well to boot. Would it not be great if we were given a game with subtitles ? I also thought it was silly that after the player completes a puzzle, said player is given a peso to access a newspaper kiosk. However the newspaper is in English in the same Mexican town. Give me a break!! Technically the game is quite grainy and has a bit too cartoonish a look for a subject matter that is so serious. The hidden object scenes are done well with some interactivity involved. The puzzles in the demo were either too easy or somewhat confusing such as aligning a bunch of skulls in a set pattern. The directions could have been clearer. We get to find morphing flowers and finding concealed golden skulls. I do not know if doing so adds to solving the game. I am also concerned as to the length of the game given that I completed the demo in 39 minutes. It is only my thought but there has not been a truly fine or original game in at least a couple months. This one might have been a keeper but the developer cuts too many corners and just rehashes what we have seen countless times within game play itself. Other than the story line, I have nothing to recommend as favorable.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very vivid colors. !!!!! Waiting for an awesome game still not sure. Game looks kind of short. Its very bright not sure I like it. Story is kind of different but not really. HO'S much to my liking not sure if it's a game for me. I will see keep working on that game you hate when it ends.
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing special in this game usual game only. Nothing special hidden object or puzzle game available
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sheer Boredom! I really enjoyed the demo of this game because it was a different concept even though it was basically about child abductions. I liked the weeping woman story line as I have heard the myth before and thought it would make for a good storyline...But boy was the story line dumb and boring!! This is one of the easiest games I have ever played! Sometimes I like easy games but this one was so easy it was boring. The mini games were simplistic and the hidden object scenes were mildly interactive but everything was sooo easy to spot. Just clicking around gave you all the items...a total no brainer. There are collectibles. Morphing flowers & skulls to find. I found most of them but they are extremely easy to spot, I just got bored and stopped clicking on them. There are achievements, the usual fare of no hints on hidden objects and no skips on mini games as well as game related ones and some others. On first glance I thought this game was going to be great! Usually games based on myths are really really good. In fact I wish developers would make more games about urban legends and/or myths, greek mythology. However this game is not up to par in terms of game play and what I consider a fun game. I prefer games with more thinking but if I like an easy game, its usually because of the plot and although this game started out strong, the plot became sooo awful! And the ending is so bad! You get a complete ending but I wish they had left a cliffhanger because that way your imagination would be better than the ending you get! Just a dumb ending to a dumb game. (btw I am not saying anyone is dumb if they found this game hard or liked it, I just happen to think the game itself is...) I finished the main game in 2.5 hours doing all the puzzles and not skipping any dialogue! I attempted the bonus chapter which has a plot line completely unrelated to the main game and when I heard what the main character was asking me to do, I almost wished that the main game had been about this instead of the plot we get. The bonus game is about some random person's daughter who gets romanced by the devil himself or just a vile handsome man as they put it who seduces women with his powers and makes them lovesick and then comes back to kidnap them later. That sounded a whole lot better than the main storyline! However the bonus chapter was sooo easy too and I couldn't take anymore and quit playing the game. So it took me 2.5 hours for the main game and I did not play the bonus chapter all the way through so maybe its a 3-3.5 hour game if you are lucky. I was going to rate this game 2 stars but there are other games out there that are worse. This game has nice graphics, nice voice overs and ones that are better than 5 star games!), not too many hogs but not too few either. I never felt like it wasn't made well. So I rate it 3 because some people will probably love this game BUT it was run of the mill for me. The level of challenge made it boring and the story line didn't keep my interest either. Hard to believe this is by the same developers who did the Small Town Terrors Series! The second one in that series is one of the best games I have ever played! Better Luck Next Time devs!
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Grab Me My review is based on the demo. This just didn't grab me. It was one of the few times I was glad the demo was over. I can't think of anything I didn't like, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I recommend you try the demo before buying.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looked promising but ......... Tried the trial for this game but only for about 20 minutes. As I liked the mini games I encountered in that time I thought that I would probably like main game once I got into it. Well, I didn't really! Graphics are good as are the mini games but the main event just didn't seem to have any real appeal about it ..... maybe it's just me but I felt quite glad when it was finished!!
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from super easy I thought I would like this game, but then I played the first "puzzle." Super lame, hunt and peck. It was so simple, I quit playing. I liked the fact that it was set in Mexico and the visuals were entertaining. I'll give it another try later, maybe after updates. I don't recommend it right now.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Weeping Woman left me in tears - of boredom Just finished the sample and have to say that the game just didn’t hold my interest. The La Llorona legend I have heard is that Maria is very conceited but manages to get a wealthy rancher to marry her after playing coy. She then gets jealous of her children when their father still gives them attention after leaving her for another woman closer to his social status. She becomes so angry that she tosses the children in the river then she dies on the riverbank and is buried there. Wearing her funeral dress Maria walks the riverbank on dark nights, crying for the children she murdered. Parents use the legend to terrify their children into being afraid of the dark. This rendition of the story is a bit different, at least in the sample part of the game. But that difference didn’t do anything to make the game more appealing to me than the legend. The color scheme is bright and the graphics are, while nothing to cheer about, clear and fit in with the story being set Mexico. Some of the characters use Latino accents, which is a nice touch, but other than that this is pretty much the same old same old of reporter trying to find out if it really is a ghost stealing children once a year and how to stop the culprit whether they be dead or alive. I really like morphing objects and this game has morphing flowers. I felt they were every easy to find. There are also “hidden” gold skulls. To find these all you need to do is move your mouse over a scene and wait for the cursor to turn into a hand. While playing I got distracted by one of my cats and the place where the skull was hidden started to kind of flash so if you can’t find a skull by looking for the change in the cursor just wait a minute and it will reveal itself. I turned the music off as I found it annoying after about two minutes. The mini-games were OK and I had no tech issues in the sample. This is a no buy for me, but I hope that everyone that does purchase it enjoys it from start to finish. Keep your dorsal fin up, Tauret
Date published: 2014-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Major disappointment This game took longer to download than the demo took for me to play. I play with music very low, voices a whisper, ambient low-mid. I actually lowered everything again a few minutes into the 11 minute demo. I actually started to find the voices offensive. Really offensive. Something was off-putting about the phony-ness of the accents, maybe its because I grew up with Latinos... The colors were great! The mini games were confusing and actually very cool- I still don't know how they know what colors I decided to paint my sugar skull when lining them up. The mini games were logic based. Sortof. In theory they were based on logic, but I think when it came down to it the games were all chance. I did appreciate them. I play with as little help as possible. I used the skip button more than I want to admit and it was not necessarily because the games were difficult- more so just to get through it all. There were a lot of back and forth locations. I did not use a map- not even sure if there was one. The characters did nothing to make me care. I feel that they just kind of ended the demo- not at a memorable place like normally- just kind of ... stopped ... recommend? no. oh I always deselect the custom cursor. Generally they are so big and bulky that it is distracting. But I noticed the non-custom cursor- was akward. whether it was because it did not turn into direction arrow or into grabbing hand- I don't know- it was just clumsy to use. I switched back to game cursor for a millisecond but it was so big I couldn't deal. just not worth it for me.
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from King solomon mine started great but too many chat on the screen I would not recommend it
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO WAY, JOSE' !!! While I get it that the theme is based on an old tale told to youngsters, for whatever reason other than to scare them senseless; this was not the most glaring reason for disliking the game. And although pleased to see a refreshing new backdrop, that was the end of any positive expectations. Game was choppy and all over the place. Storyline was unpleasant at best and presented without much thought to flow smoothly and fit all the pieces together. Almost afraid to read the reviews, I was sure the game would be a bomb. However, true to form, five star reviews led the way. Thankfully, demos are available and gamers won't need 90 minutes or 90 seconds to feel the pain. Why so harsh? Because, the usual bright, colorful scenes with all the bells and whistles of a Collector Edition, one important factor was forgotten--the game. Rather than a good game, we are handed pretty colors on a silver platter with psychological shock treatments in exchange for quality gaming. I've never developed a game and very much appreciate all the hard work, dedication and sacrifice. With that said as well as all the great artwork, music, planning and producing, maybe devs can set a new standard to create a more positive and effective gaming experience. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lost Legends - The Weeping Woman One of the shortest CE games I have ever played!!! Took me less than an hour to play the entire game AND the bonus game! This was such a WASTE of money. DON'T BOTHER!!!
Date published: 2014-07-30
  • y_2020, m_1, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_21380, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Lost Legends: The Weeping Woman Collector's Edition

Your investigative report on the Weeping Woman of San Cristobal turns personal after you witness a kidnapping. Is the legend true?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.