Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow
Exclusive

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(377.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From Orneon Limited, creators of the Secrets of the Dark and Echoes of the Past series, comes a thrilling new secret to uncover!

A father’s frantic plea sends you in search of his daughter, Maria, who seems to have vanished into thin air. A mysterious and supernatural force has kidnapped her on her 16th birthday, sealing her room with a magical glow. Your investigation leads you from an odd, flower-shaped lamp through a portal - an ordinary room becomes a nightmarish forest! Can you find Maria in time? Or will she be trapped forever in a shadowy realm by a creature bent on revenge? Find out in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 750 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
  • Use of Tobacco
Reviews at a Glance

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(377.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining Gameplay! Very different from earlier Secrets of the Dark, however, was fun and entertaining all the same. Prefer the more dark and somber such as Eclipse Mountain. Objects were picked up easily and quickly used. Interactive map was a great help especially with inter-dimensional travel. Hidden object scenes at first were tedious for this gamer in using one object to interact with another. Thankfully, the scenes were not as integrated as game progressed. A great relaxing game for veterans and would recommend more for beginner and casual gamers. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i didn't like this as well as some of the devs games it does have a "custom" level and i like this feature. an interactive map and also a journal. you are looking for your daughter that has been taken by a mysterious being after opening a gift with no tag. you need to go back and forth between light and dark places with the light. it gets broken quite a bit and you have to fix it. there is a lot of fixing. good length on the game and some of the scenes are crowded and it is also a puzzle game.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finding Maria Good game with many mini-puzzles (that you can skip); not too many hidden objects. The game makes you think of where you need to go next.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid fun game Not sure why the haters. If it were not for the cat character leading you around, I would have given it five stars. Cut idea, has a sense of humor. NOT a kids game-there are some mild curse words, and a scary evil doctor. I liked it well enough that i am gonna play it thru again on the harder mode and try the alternate ending, and I rarely do that. Don't expect incredible challenge-its just a fun little fantasy game for amusement!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game Nice game based on the demo only, I will buy this one.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will This Flower Bloom or Wilt? In this installment of the Secrets series, of which I have only played Eclipse Mountain, sixteen year old Marie Kolak is captured via a portal generated from a flower she receives from an unknown source for her 16th birthday. In the portal world, an evil being was spawned from a certain flower. Some time later, the being was defeated but her servant is trying to revive her. He needs three pure souls to feed to the flower in order to regenerate the evil being. Marie's father, Joseph, is a former military pilot who has called you in to investigate and get his daughter back. An event occurred during his military service that made him and Marie a target of the the being. Village fortune-teller Stephanie is available to help guide you. Overlooking the explosion of pink and purple which opens the game, the artwork and cut scenes are fairly well done - except for a small plane which is quite out of scale and far too small. You'll transport between the two worlds several times as you progress. The world inside the portal is quite dark, and relies more on a palette of greens, grays and browns. Game play is not heavy on hidden objects The ones there are are not simple lists, but require interaction. Puzzles are fairly standard, a little more difficult than the easy ones we've seen recently, but not hard. You have a device to dispel the barriers the spirit puts in your way, it's very simple to use. Music, sound effects and voices are good, but the character's lips do not move. The CE has collectible flowers "HERE I AM." and morphing objects "HERE I AM.", but these are large and obvious, "HEY YOU!" In my opinion, while there is nothing wildly distinctive about the story or play, it seems to be well made and at least has some moderate degree of difficulty. Of the two editions, the flower I would pick is the standard.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good sequel to the first game Secrets of the Dark. This is the first review I have done and is based on the demo only. This is a game with the usual find my daughter quest who has been kidnapped by a servant of the shadow flower. I will not give anything away. The hint is good and gives a teleport scene to go to or shows you what is needed to do in the usual way. There is a bit of to-ing and fro-ing but not extreme. the graphics are good not fuzzy, I always play without sound so cannot comment on that. The puzzles were easy so far and I have not needed to skip. The HOPs were clear and were the type where you find one to interact with the next and so on. This is a good game for a SE and I will get it with my free game coupon. Whilst I play a lot of these games I am not an experienced hard gamer. If you are you would probably find this game too easy. Saying that I always play on casual mode.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quit the glaring flashing lights please!!!!!!! I had to stop in the middle of the demo because of the constant flashes of lights and the screen going white which hurts my sight. I always play my games in a dimmed light room so as to be able to see the screen better. Game developers should know that those flashing lights can trigger seizures in some people, even in those who do not have epilepsy. There is not need for all the stupid flashing lights to make something look good. This goes to this developer and all the others who make way too much use of blinding lights. As to the game itself, the graphics are cute, but the game itself is like many others, not bad, but not great either...
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well, maybe . . . Others have already described the story line, so I won't reinvent that wheel. The graphics are beautiful —stunning, in fact— in this very 'old school' game. The map and hints are very good. Once again, though, we have a daughter taken by an evil spirit; a magical device that allows the player to travel between reality and the other place; a helpful (glowing) creature. Although I marked this game as recommended, I would add the caveat that if you're an experienced gamer, not a young person, or prefer challenging games, this one is not for you.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring and glitchy I had to restart this game due to a map glitch. It was boring and uneventful. Just meh.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What happened to this series?? Wow, this will teach me for not trying before I buy - bought this one straight out based on my love of all the others in the series, but this one is totally different and totally bor-ing!!!! There doesn't seem any point, really - I've given up, I don't really care if she gets rescued...
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Secrets of the Dark Flower.... The game indicates a hint area by circling it HOWEVER impossible to click pointed area. VERY FRUSTRATING GAME
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in This One I love the Secrets of the Dark series and was definitely watching for the next game but I really didn't enjoy it. The reason I found it disappointing will actually be a positive for some people. The issue is too many puzzles. I don't mind one now and then, but it seems like there is a new puzzle every twenty seconds or so. I prefer HOS and generally find puzzles, even easy ones, annoying. They interrupted the story line and made me feel impatient and bored, couldn't wait to get it finished. If you are like me and don't care for the puzzles, I would give this one a pass. If, on the other hand, you really like puzzles, this game was made for you.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse BFG I've ever played I bought this game in a store as part of a two disc set. I played the first one, Secrets of the Dark, Mystery of the Ancestral Estate with no issues. This game, SOTD, The Flower of Shadow is so full of glitches and problems I cannot believe it got thru BETA testing. You have to switch from full screen to half screen CONSTANTLY to get things to work. Half the time, you can't get the games to work, like the monster; fed him about 200 red bugs and he still wouldn't let go. The disc game, same thing, just froze up. Rope game worked ok. Teleport map flickers and will not let you move between screens. Horrible quality. VERY disappointed. Never had a BIG FISH Game this bad. Have read help and checked player forums. Others have same issues. Poor quality for a BFG. After being unable to complete the HOS because you cannot get the map into the bottle, nor the skeletons hand to stick on at the ships hold, have given up and deleted game.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Wonder How Anyone Liked This Game I don't review often. But this game stuck out so far as being poor that I felt the need to post to possibly save one person from wasting their money. I play 98% HO Games and have seen all kinds. This one is a complete mess. It starts out when you arrive to help a father find his daughter who has disappeared as a result of opening some black magic birthday present. The stupidity starts here and does not stop. The player is not told who they are or why they are helping. Law enforcement, detective, friend? Then you see a game where the writers took dozens of the most overused "Lock and Key" cliches in the genre. They then created situations just to stick these "puzzles" in. Like the girl having an airplane sitting in a suburban back yard with no runway or hanger for her plane, so some clues could be put in there. Casino style slot machines sitting out in the street exposed to the weather and vandals just to give you somewhere to put that coin you have to find. You visit some fortune teller to hear some story about the girl disappearing and in the end the fortune teller gives you the key to the girl's house. Why did the father not give you the key when you met? This smelled so bad, I barely got through 15 minutes. It seemed that the design group got together, made a list of dozens of well worn seek and solve routines and then submitted it to the artists who created an non matching landscape of different styles, eras in time and universes to stick the necessary doors and keys, coins and machines, boxes and levers, etc. in to complete the list. This game does not even reach mediocre. There are many better games to buy. Make the designers catch a clue and put in some work.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One of the worst games I have ever played from Big Fish. You need to play the whole game in a window instead of full screen. Bought this game because the others were so good, will never do that again. Getting Tech help is a LAUGH too.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too many glitches Cannot move forward because of glitches. On the picture mini game I had all of the pictures in the right frame, but nothing happened. I had to skip it. Then on two other parts where I had to grab an object (on the lamppost and the bike) the objects disappeared. I had to restart the game, and those glitches cleared up. Now I'm stuck on the aquarium hidden object scene because the knife won't come out with the magnet. I tried restarting, then uninstalling it then reloading it, but that didn't work. So I cannot continue the game. I had no trouble with the three other games in this series, but this one has way too may problems. I would give it a much higher rating if it actually worked. From reading the other reviews it seems I'm not the only one.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from too many bugs can't go over the first hidden game. Bug make me restart many times. Get bored and frustrated as no skip buton exist. if i could be reimbursed.........
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Bother Graphics are blurry, no skip button on scenes... overall boring
Date published: 2014-08-04
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_21518, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Secrets of the Dark: The Flower of Shadow

Can you bring Maria back from a shadowy realm?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.