Melissa K. and the Heart of Gold

Melissa K. and the Heart of Gold

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(665.30 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Enjoy this beautiful adventure set in a unique interactive 3D Thailand! Complete mysterious puzzles and find hidden objects. Prepare for an unforgettable experience!

The story unfolds in 1947 Thailand, in a world filled with characters, myths and legends from ancient Buddhist tales. When Melissa is invited by the Queen of England in person, she has no idea that her life is about to take a dramatic turn and a simple mission will lead her to question her very existence.

Thanks to our brand new "Immersion Tech" we're able to combine cutting-edge 3D with beautiful hand-painted graphics. Explore these wonderful environments and live an adventure like no other!

  • Replay over 30 puzzles and beat your best scores
  • Over 30 detailed locations to search
  • Over six hours of immersive game play
  • Three difficulty levels: Novice, Adventurer or Expert

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1733 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Melissa K. and the Heart of Gold

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(665.30 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Melissa K. and the Heart of Gold is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventurer's Delight This is an SE game doing a credible imitation of a CE with collectibles, achievements, and (IMHO accurately termed) cinematic replays. What sets it apart from other CEs (which it is not) is that it offers a unique HO scene and puzzle replay option. Although the game is not timed, it times and computes accuracy for HO and puzzles in the background. Thus, at some other time without interrupting their progress in the game, the player can elect to replay them to increase their accuracy or time by selecting them from the extras box. Visually, I found the game impressive. It looks good in wide-screen and is what I would call minimalist in presentation. Scenes are uncluttered, clear, and the components well drawn. The Eastern setting enhances the game through contrast. Whereas, structures within scenes present clean lines of enormous proportions, clothing and other items are intricately detailed using bright colors. The game also uses panning to increase scope of the set thereby immersing me more fully into the scene – that is, once I became accustomed to using it and it does take some getting used to. Speaking of setting, the action, as far as I've gotten in the game, is at night. Usually that means the lighting is dim and objects are vague, an effect caused by using a palette of muddying shades of grays and browns. In this game, scenes are brightly illuminated with torchlight sharply contrasting the deep blackness of a moon and star-speckled sky undiminished by artificial lighting from the Earth below. The 3D rendering is done well enough to create smooth life-like movement. You'll not likely to mistake it for real. Yet, for me, it very soon became a non-issue. The ambient sounds and music in the game are unobtrusive, varied, and appropriately dramatic. If lip synch is important to you though, get ready to be annoyed. In its defense, this game offers a subtitle option which might be the justification for the out-of-synch lip synching. Bottom line: For all those who complain about “hand holding” or who, like me, have become a little ho-hum about the whole “need this, find that, use that somewhere-or-when” pattern of HOPAs, this is a refreshing change! It is intriguing not only challenging your gaming skills, but also, assumptions on mastering HOPAs. In many significant ways this game is very different from most HOPAs. I advise trying it to see if it suits you and/or your purposes for gaming before buying it.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gripping adventure great game Don't be put off by the 3 D aspect of the game as you can adjust the camera movement. Once you get used to it the game is fab there are collectibles and achievements plus extra game play at the end DO try and persevere it is worth it
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melissa and the heart of Gold once again your a Lady Detective this time you wake up in a strange land where a man take you on adventure.when he hand you a photo of a boy your job s to find him. This is a good 3D game with lots of things to do mostly trying to beat your best time they are 4 different levels to choice from. there is H.O the kind you have to find to continue though the game. you get 90 minutes to try it out after 10 minute i paid for it it that good i don't do that all the time. The sound is great if you have a 5.1 sound system when it comes to the Graphics there fine the could of made them better but that just me all in all in would give this game a 9/10. when you get into it you just have to try it again it that good. As i all ways say don't take my word for it go try it out for your self it says it takes 6 hours to play it all well that depends on 2 factors 1 what setting you play it on and 2. how fast your are at mental tasks.and of course if you hit the hint button then that will give you more of a chance of betting what the makers of the game say it would take you 6 hours to finish the game.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally different I love it! Voice acting is superb and the story very interesting. Kind of on the spooky side. I love the main character Melissa. What a pistol! Graphics: Gorgeous! Game Play: H0GS I came across were FR0GS. Mini Games: Fun and different. Hint System: Works in and out of H0GS. Map: Jumps you to areas. Click on compass shows areas. Kudos to the team for an awesome game.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventure Lover's Paradise!!! Wow, This game is quite a unique gem in the sea of fantasy HOPA's. I was immediately drawn to it from the opening scenes. We play a teacher/explorer with a lovely British accent. How much more charming can it get? We arrive in Thailand to start an exciting adventure and meet some extremely amusing characters. Based on the number of chapters it appears to be quite a long game which will please many. This game is mostly adventure based; there are some very unique and intriguing puzzles (which can be completed in 3 levels of difficulty) and a few HOS's. I am a huge fan of puzzles, and the harder the better. I love how they give us (hard core puzzlers) the ability to challenge ourselves, while allowing others to chose the easy settings if preferred. All devs should do this as this will please a wider range of players. The only thing that took away some of the fun factor for me were the controls. This game is very much touch based and was originally released on mobile devices like iPads. The player must drag each and every item on the screen and this is can be quite painful for those of us with any pain problems, or weakness in our hands. Also when you hover over the inventory bar, you have to click on each item to get the name of it. That is way too much clicking and dragging for some of us. It would be easier if the items were stuck to the mouse cursor. Fixing this aspect would make it more enjoyable for me personally. I absolutely love this game but am on the fence whether I will purchase it for PC or my iPad instead. I am sure that most players will love this game so I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best for Adventure lovers who like a real story! If a game has a good story, I will stay with it no matter what. This game has a good story, AND the characters are good actors. I'm not just talking the voice-overs, which are good (although... at times... a bit... halting...) but the facial expressions, hand gestures, and body language conveyed a lot. Yes, there were some gaps in the story, but nothing so significant that you lost the thread of the tale. And I would have liked a cursor that changes to show what you can interact with and where you can go, but it wasn't a big deal. The hint is very helpful, so if you get lost, you always have that, and it recharges quickly. The game ran fine for me on a PC with no flickers (others had mentioned this) or other glitches. The mini-games and FROG's were fun and posed a reasonable challenge. It might not be for the die-hard hidden object fan, or for those who like a lot of hand-holding, but I really enjoyed it and think other fans of the true Adventure genre would also like it.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs a “Custom” setting, and though beautiful, it’s slow and clunky. Based on playing the demo as I have not bought it and may not for a while. I really wanted to love this game. The art is gorgeous, and I will probably buy it with a coupon or as a two-for-one for that reason alone. But it is really hard to figure out what to do, so I am constantly hitting the hint button. Fortunately, on the easiest setting, the hint button resets immediately, which is nice. The sound is OK. At least it did not bug me and I noticed it occasionally in a good way. The lip synching on the one character at the house was perfect. Usually it’s not, so kudos to the animators. The story really doesn’t make any sense. I don’t know why I am in Asia or why I am so concerned about this boy I've never met when he probably just went to the library that he likes. But that’s OK, I am just ignoring it. It’s very talky at times without really helping you fulfill and goals of the story. But you don’t dare skip because you don’t know what’s going on, really. There are three difficulty settings, which is good, but there needs to be a custom setting because the difficulty of the mini games is affected. I would love to skip HOS sometimes and I want sparkles, but I want my mini-games to be difficult. They’re my favorite part. Here, if you play the easiest setting, the mini-games are easier, too. Some reasons for my constant use of the hint button: 1) The cursor is a big, ugly white hand which does not change. There’s no change when you are hovering over an object you can use. There’s no direction arrow when the door to leave is in the middle of the picture somewhere (if you are supposed to go down, there’s a place to click). 2. Constant hints are also needed because objects are not clearly seen, or it’s not clear what to do with them, or once you have figured out what to do with them, it's not clear what to do next. Here’s an example. Two parts of a statute were invisible without using the hint button. Once you finish fixing up the statute, you are given something that obviously fits nearby, and you play a little game there. But that whole sequence did not seem to advance the story of the game at all. So then, I still had to use the hint button because I still didn’t have any idea of what to do next, or why. Though the little games WERE fun. All in all, I guess, because I am having fun, I have to rate this game a 4. But if the hint didn’t immediately reset, I wouldn’t be having fun. I do suggest you at least play the demo, though. It's worth it just to look at the pretty pictures. P.S. Finally, the mandatory English grammar note for the developers (all you BFG gamers can skip this): The line in the game dialogue was: “The young monk loves it’s library.” (Imagine a large buzzer sounding right now and me shouting . . . “Hey developers! Thanks for playing!) Here are the grammar rules: --The word “it’s” is a contraction that means "it is.” It's not correct as it’s used in the game dialogue above. --“Its” is a possessive pronoun. The line of dialogue is discussing the library that belongs to the temple, so “its,” no apostrophe, should have been used. Example: "Every dog has its fleas.” A way to test for this mistake: Just ask yourself when you use “it’s”—does "it is" make sense in the sentence? You’ll never make that mistake again. It’s really not that hard, but, yes, English grammar sure has its quirks. Sorry, I usually don’t bother with grammar mistakes, I make them too . . . but this is one of my pet peeves, along with “your" versus “you’re.” And why should you care, developers? Because for those of us who know English grammar, mistakes like this reduce the immersive quality of a game, thus making it less fun to play and us less likely to buy it.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oddly a 3D adventure that I quite enjoyed playing. The story line was great, really liked the old monk...he was a hoot. I normally dislike 3D games intensely but this one was much, much easier to navigate than most. The graphics were too much red and gold, so it made it very hard to find things. Truly grateful that the hint button was quite useful and recharged quickly, which made the game far more fun and easier to play. Without it I would have become very frustrated as there was no logical next step. I think I would have given up quickly were it not for the guide of that hint button. I do not like having to use the mouse constantly, ie: pick up, hold and place items, I find it very painful and my hand gets stiff quickly from having to hold the mouse for constant movement of items. Really could have used some instruction regarding the movement around the screen, and overall view as well as tips on the hidden statues.....which I had no idea about until I accidentally clicked on a few. I would not recommend this for new gamers because of the lack of direction, which is unfortunate because I think it would be a great first time 3D adventure for novice players. The map was also very useful but had to use the hint button to know where to go to next. Overall tho it was a good game and I enjoyed playing it.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different, but liked the story This was a purchase because the story line was good. The game play is different than most games we are used to. Usually 3D movement makes me a bit woozy, but not so in this game. Was interesting to play. There were a couple things that weren't so great, like the cursor being too big and not changing to anything but the hand. After playing for a while, it didn't matter. The graphics were very good and the music was nice. Dialog was ok, but a bit silly at times. All in all, is a good game and has some extras such as collectibles and achievements not usually in a single edition game. Give it a chance, you may like it!
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Melissa K's (Mostly) Excellent Adventure You are Melissa K., a famous archaeologist who refuses to be called "Dr." You are sent to Thailand by royal request to teach a young monk about archaeology. Soon after your arrival, you discover the young boy is missing. First I noticed some minor problems. - Melissa lies down on a bed with no bedding, fully clothed - The guide addresses you as "Doctor" anyway - The guide says of the boy, "he's not THAT kind of boy," and ....well never mind. - You collect a "sash curtain" - which is actually a sash cord. - The dialog is painfully slow at times, enough to be distracting - there was no English queen in 1947 - an online search states from 1945-49 Thailand was known as Siam again. Game play is old school adventure-ish with hidden object FROGS and mostly simple puzzles thrown in. As with most adventure games, most of your time will be spent figuring out where to go / what to do next. Fortunately there is a hint that recharges quickly. To help you there is a pet gecko you must name and other tool you rteain in the lower right. Navigation can be done by clicking on a door, etc. or the bottom of the screen. In the upper left there is an icon that will show all the areas you can navigate to directly. There is also a jump map you gain as you play, but the map is used for going from one location to another, not from scene to scene. As you might expect in an Asian-themed game, the palette consists of a lot of red and gold. Everything is well drawn and fairly detailed, a little dated looking in style and not real easy on the eyes. There are three difficulty levels. If you are not a huge adventure fan, I recommend playing on the easiest setting. Music is the light, string plucking type that does not intrude. There are also collectible Buddhas and letters. This has a good story line and decent play, but the artwork, minor problems and old feel of the game causes me to give it only three 1/2 Buddha's.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NO! NO! NO! My Time CAN'T BE UP!!!!! Okay, There may be a heart of gold but, in my opinion, it's the DEVS who have a heart of gold, gold, gold. We have been given a CE quality game at an SE price. There's a LOT of CE bling attached to this SE game. Why am I starting with that? Because it's only frigging AMAZING! 32 Achievements - you heard me right - ACHIEVEMENTS! Collectibles? 11 Secret Letters (to find???) 16 Buddha Statuettes (where? how?) One showed up in the "Statuette" page but how did it get there? WHERE did I find it? The story line goes on and on. Kate, an Archeologist, heads to Thailand to meet a young "student". A monk? I know a bit of history about the Dalai Lama (is that Thailand?). When the Dalai Lama dies, a search (that can go on for years) is started to find a baby born when the Lama died. We are currently, in real life, on the 14th Dalai Lama. If that child is found and can recognize personal items belonging to the previous Dalai Lama, he is considered the new Dalai Lama and enters into training. Is that what this is about? The boy/monk has gone missing. But, mysteriously, your "guide" seems to know a LOT more than he actually lets on. And why are you teaching a monk/boy anyway? And what are you teaching him? First, he has to be found. What I Liked: The graphics are amazing. The legend, told in pieces, is so mesmerizing. I just want to go on and on and on and learn more. The voices were amazing. All accents were spot on! Even the guide's, which other games would have had difficulty achieving. The hint button, recharges so quickly, and it needs to because I needed a lot of help. The journal. Contains pages for notes (please read, very important to the story and what you have to do), objectives (also important to keep you on track), Buddha Statuettes (see above), Secret Letters (also, see above). HOGs. While they were FROGs, which I dislike, it didn't seem to bother me. And were there other types of HOGs or was that part of a mini game? Mini Games: New, refreshing ideas and definitely need patience and thought. DON'T give up. Didn't see a skip or reset button. These DEVS! Where did they come from? I know where they're going - up, up and up the ladder of success if their games keep coming out like this one. What I Disliked: Ok, I'm a bit of an idiot and like my sparkles or magnifying glass or whatever to let me know where to "look" for things. Not so here, and I played on the easiest of 3 settings. There is, however, a BIG, white-gloved, hand that points in you various directions. Like a clown's hand but I think you can change to the system cursor in "Options". 60 minutes of demo time was NOT ENOUGH! This is a demo that definitely needed a full 90 minutes, unless the game is short. The map. Which has to be found and put together. Like a mini game. No legends to direct you where to go, why, is there something to do. Transportable - yes. Helpful? Not too sure. Not for me anyway. The way the screen moved. Not comfortable with this but I could probably get used to it. When video games upgraded from 2D many years ago, I had to stop playing them - I get dizzy. Click and Drag EVERYTHING. My right hand is damaged from an accident and it's difficult for me to do that well. In addition, surrounding the hint button, located on the bottom - right side of the screen, there are 5 round circles. Items you find that will be helpful throughout the game will be located here (a flashlight - which comes as a gift, a gecko you can name - sorry, you people who hate that but I like the gecko, and 3 others I didn't find yet). There's also a "star" shaped thingy at the top left of the screen which, when you click on it, shows you different direction you can go in, but not necessarily that you should go there. There's a little box at the right of "inventory" that will say "entrance", "chedi" and other words. Click on it and you will be transported there. Generally, I found, when you see that, that's where you need to go. Although I got my personal "wow" factor (as indicated in my title), I am truly on the fence about this game. The reasons being in my "Dislike" explanations. One of two of those could be real deal-breakers. But, this is such an amazing story - the legend just grabbed me and I want to know more. I want to know why the guide is sending Kate on a wild goose chase to find the monk/boy when I think he knows exactly where he is. And, I want to meet this incredibly important young man. I get goose bumps and wish this were a real life scenario and I COULD meet him. I hope this encourages everyone to at least try the demo and form your own Likes and Dislikes. Mine are mine. Purchasing a game is always a personal choice. I just wish I knew more clearly what MY choice was going to be. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Definitely different Pros of the game: - long game - original story - CE value: has collectibles, achievements, replayable puzzles & HOPs, artwork, cinematics - exotic setting ( Thailand) - rotating the objects in 3d mode is a frequent occurrence, which is unique to the game, but also a con, see below Cons of the game: - actions to progress more often than not, not obvious, requiring frequent use of Hint - collectibles are small, dark & well hidden - characters look robotic -voiceovers of the ghosts are unintelligible, which is deliberate, since the ghosts are Thai and speaking in Thai language - many of the scenes require moving in 3d motion to fully explore extent of game, which got to be tiresome. - as you play the game, you acquire helpers (gecko, flashlight, telescope, etc) that need to be used, but often not obvious, which got tiresome. Overall, this game was developed with high hopes and is rich in value, but it suffers from being too cryptic, which makes a challenge of otherwise enjoyable HO adventure game. I will probably enjoy the 2nd time around, now that I've gone through the ropes, but I found the journey tedious and aggravating more than I would have liked. This is a game you should try before buying, as each person's tolerance level is individual.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Concept But Way Too Slow I really liked the 3D concept of this adventure which allows the player to click and drag the screen to get a 3D perspective of the entire scene from left to right and even up and down. Although the click, drag and zoom feature has failed in the past, this concept really gives you a 3 dimensional view not just a larger view and allows for more realistic interactions within the game. Some of the inventory items require further action before using them such as rotating and pushing buttons to open a lid that exposes a useful item inside and this is where you will really notice the 3D effect. This is an adventure that takes place in Asia from Melissa's point of view, about a young Monk that has disappeared the evening before he would become her student. The story is interesting but the mechanics of the game was so frustrating that I quickly became bored and didn't even finish the demo. I tried both the Adventurer and Expert modes of difficulty but neither mode allowed for cursor changes, I had no clue what items or areas to click on because the cursor remained a hand the entire time. Perhaps the cursor changed to a magnifying glass on active areas in Novice mode but I just gave up at this point. The graphics are actually not bad for a stand alone edition, and there is a back button icon above the inventory bar. Because you are playing in a dimensional game, you will need to guide where Melissa goes, if you want to walk towards a door you will need to click on the door to activate her to walk forward first, you may even need to turn around before the door comes into sight! If you fear change you don't want to play this game! The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive where you may have to click on an object to remove the lid which will expose an inventory item, and they are Fragment finds that will become a single item once all fragments of the item have been found. The mini games weren't bad either, such as moving a purple water lily from the top to a matching slot on the bottom. You could move any of the yellow lilies around the basin, but if they get too close to the edge they will spill over and you will have to start over. This game also has Achievements available to earn and there are several animal helpers to find such as a Gecko, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average game of an older style I found this game to be rather average and more of an older style game. No bells or whistles here. There wasn't even much movement from place to place. There is a map that can be used to jump from one area to the next, but it doesn't show objectives on it. I found myself using the hints more and more to find out what to do next. At least I didn't need a strategy guide. But it kept seeming longer and longer and more and more tedious, and I found myself waiting for it to end. Sorry. It is an ok game if you have nothing else to play, and that is all.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice SE for a change... Hi all. Well, I don't automatically give 5 stars to games unless they are exceptional and this one is no exception. The graphics are very old school...haven't seen anything like this for a few years, but it works for this game. Game play was pretty good. I don't care for the scrolling you need to do and the constant bouncing up and down when a character is walking. Colors are bright. Music was very soothing and nice. Inventory bar locks, but you have to actually click on an item to see what it is and then click, hold and drag to wherever you need to use it (again, old school). You collect items that will be used throughout the game and are quite helpful, e.g., flashlight, net and yes, a lizard. The voice overs are not too bad, although the female dialog is rather silly sometimes...walk into a room and say "oh, I think I'll go to bed." Um, okay. You can't click through dialog if you read faster than they speak and you don't want to skip it either, or you miss some of the story and reason why you are doing certain things and going certain places. HOPs are all find the parts to make an item type, which I do like, but some parts area extremely small and hard on the eyes to find. At least the HOPs are not junk piles. Puzzles are a little different and take some time to complete, so there is a little challenge here. There are not a lot of HOPs or puzzles in this game, but enough to break the monotony of a straight adventure game. There is a jump map, but it does not show locations that have something to do and they are not identified by name. Fortunately, the hint system is quite helpful and fills very quickly. There are 11 letters to collect and 16 Buddha statues. I only found 2 of each during the demo. Not sure where or how I managed to get these items, but they showed up in the journal as being found. I did not see a flow to the story until I was about 20 minutes into the game and I finally got a little insight into the story line. Then it began to make some sense. All that being said...I do like the extras this SE gives us and I think I need to keep playing to see how it goes. This is not a difficult or especially challenging game, but I like it well enough to us a punch coupon. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusing story, poor navigation and vague instructions I enjoy learning about other cultures so I thought this game would be really interesting. Unfortunately, although some of the graphics were interesting and some of the minigames a challenge, I ended up feeling slightly nauseous from the 3D aspects of this game and frustrated by the fact that the cursor never changed to help indicate an area that needed to be explored for an inventory object or other interactive content. Most of the time I was totally reliant on the Help button to see where to go next. The story was so vague that I soon forgot any kind of coherent objective and just wandered around with no goal in mind at all. The character graphics were little better than slow moving Poser models from the 1990s and the rambling dialogue was almost nonsensical, especially the musings of the old monk as well as the painfully drawn out moanings of the ghost figures. You could skip these over-long cut scenes but if you did you would miss a clue that the characters finally gave you at the end of their droning dialogue. Dragging objects from your inventory to the point on the screen where they were needed was irritating, too, especially since the designated point was so small sometimes you could miss it entirely. Several times the hint button would point to a location but if you clicked on it nothing would happen. It might tell you Mr. Wiggles would be helpful but when you clicked on Mr. Wiggles and tried to drag him to the right spot he would just fall back to his original location. If you then clicked on the Help button it would just direct you somewhere else. I did enjoy some of the minigames, particularly the game with the gecko where he was gobbling up first caterpillars and then crickets in a maze. I also liked deciphering the music score with the bells although the advanced music score was very misleading with its redirecting arrows and note groupings. It finally degrades into an exercise in trial and error before you complete it. I only skipped one minigame where you had to click on interlocking stones to remove them from a closing temple doorway. After a number of tries it became obvious to me that with my eye-hand coordination diminished by age I could never click on all the stones fast enough to clear the doorway and enter the temple chamber. Sadly, I must say I do not recommend this game in its current state if you want to keep some shred of your sanity! Although I toughed it out and played this game all the way to the end, this is the first game I have ever played on Big Fish that I finally reached such a level of frustration I shouted out "Finally!!" when the end credits started to roll.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating and tedious The graphics are sharp and clear but many scenes are dimly lit to the point where they seem murky. The palette is vivid but contains such a limited color range that the game is visually monotonous. The music is unobtrusive and fit the theme. The voice over actors have decent voices that fit their parts but they deliver their lines so slowly that it is quite annoying. The story has your character, an archeologist, traveling to 1947 Thailand to teach a young boy about archeology. She arrives only to find he has gone missing and it's up to her to track him down. There is a lot of back story delivered in dialogue with a male character, lengthy cut scenes, and little collectible tickets. The story develops at a glacial pace and is painfully dull. It seems to have very little to do with anything else going on in the game so I stopped reading the tickets and started skipping the cut-scenes. The adventure component involves a lot of back and forth running around. You examine a scene, find nothing of interest, move on, cannot figure out what to do, the hint button directs you back, and all the sudden something of interest has appeared there. Having just examined this scene 2 minutes previously it is really annoying to be directed back only to find the developer chose to place an item of interest there only after making me move forward from a seemingly empty area. This kind of "gotcha" style set-up makes the whole game feel like an exercise in random clicking. I found only two HOS during the demo period which, for me, is reason enough to not want to purchase this game. I play HOPA games to do HOS and this game has an insufficient number. They were both too easy. There were more puzzles and even more mini-games. These mini-games all involved an exercise of eye-hand coordination that I am simply not looking for in a HOPA game. I found them severely annoying, in part, because the user-interface is so clunky and the cursor so unresponsive to subtle mouse movement. If a developer is going to include tests of eye-hand coordination in a game they could at least make sure the cursor responds well to a player's hand movements. The "3D" effect was also somewhat poorly done so that when you try to scan around your view keeps popping back to the middle making it difficult to examine the sides. This is unfortunate because things you need to find, including the direction to other areas, is often present at the sides. It became a frustrating chore just trying to examine an area fully. Between the tedious harping on a back story that was apparently unconnected to the action going on in the game, the excessive use of eye-hand coordination mini-games, the profound lack of HOS, the "gotcha" style adventure component, and the terrible user-interface it's difficult to say which element made me dislike this game more. All I can really say is it had almost zero fun factor for me. 2 stars because I only give 1 if a game is outright offensive.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from weird Got bored with, too much talking, HOS weird. Did not finish demo. I like different but this has too much story line.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 3D Gimick You really have to try this for yourself to see what everyone is talking/complaining about. You are sent to a far eastern country to teach a young (roughly nine to twelve years old) monk about archeology - Oh, yah, that happens. He disappears before you meet him. You go on the hunt. Problem one: this is not a story, just a hint of one. The other problem is a lack of any kind of instructions. There is no tutorial, which I could normally take or leave. But this is click and drag, with lots of roaming around each scene trying to figure out how the cursor is supposed to get you where you need to go. Part of the problem is that you don't get a lot of cooperation from that cursor, which is a glaring white hand. Movement is not smooth and free-flowing. You may be able to look in a corner one time and not get back into it again. Things appear behind you that should have been visible when you were somewhere the first time. You find two dark places you wish to investigate in the first few minutes. But the lantern you repair stays in the second one of them and you can't use it in the first place you found even when you try there first. Frustration! (Luckily you have a secret admirer who romantically sends you a flashlight.) The first HOS was a fragmented one, with the pieces not only very small but sometimes of different colors, and the last object that was interactive, was only that if you figured it out or took a hint. I'll be the first to say I was totally frustrated VERY quickly. But this may be the wave of the future, assuming the Dev's figure out a way to add a tutorial, a real storyline, and smooth things out. I can see where some one might like it. Give it a try for yourself and make your choice. I chose to delete.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Whole Lotta Waitin' Goin' On This game has beautiful graphics, true. However, it takes a v-e-r-y long time to load each scene, you can do only one thing in a scene, then have to revisit it again and again to do an additional one thing each time, so it really tested my patience. So much so that I quit before playing the whole demo. If you have a book to read in between scene loading, fine, but if you want to play a fast moving game, forget it.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth the time Navigation was confusing & the map was no help whatsoever. The mini games were not challenging either. This game was so confusing I ended up clicking "hint" constatntly The graphics made the objects to pick up almost impossible to see. not worth the time
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Who is this developer? This white hand is always waiting for you to place it somewhere. You can barely think looking at this dumb hand. Plus the hand jumps around a bit, further annoying me. I have literally hundreds of games and this is a first. Just stick to the point and click we all know and love.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All the CE bling didn't save it for me... Yes, it has collectibles (I didn't find any myself, but if others say they're there, I believe them). Yes, it has achievements (some meaningless, such as using the hint, or getting to a point in the game anyone will have to reach). Yes, it's "different." But, unfortunately, none of that made it an interesting game, for me. Maybe you'll like it. It seems to be one of those games you really have to try for yourself. Originally a game for iPads, iPhones, and iTouch, I wonder if it is better suited for those formats. The infrequent 3-D movement did not nauseate me, which usually happens. The puzzles are much too simple. If you make an error in the concentration game it shows all the images before you try again, so no memory or note-taking is needed. That is not a good thing! It's a memory game after all! I ran across one FROG. The items were clear, if teeny. We do indeed get a "helper," in the form of a gecko. The hint fills almost immediately after use, even on the hardest play mode. Too much running around, and very slow to play. Not the mechanics of the game, just the game and how it plays out. I wanted to just be done it was so tedious.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seriously? This game was so confusing I ended up clicking "hint" repeatedly. The graphics made the objects to pick up almost impossible to see. I had no idea what those objects were, & where to use them. Navigation was confusing also, & the map was no help whatsoever. The mini games were not challenging either. Sorry, thumbs down from me.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zero stars - was impossible to play This game has nice graphics and might have been a good game, but I will never know. I played for 12 minutes and accomplished exactly nothing. After the first cut scene, you find yourself in the yard of a big house. Looking around the yard for things to look at, pick up etc., the text says something about certain things being interesting and coming back later. According to the text you are tired and need to sleep. Once inside the mansion, there is nothing to do. Doors are locked, clicking on everything does nothing. I could pan up and down (limited) but no side to side. I looked up the walkthrough and it didn't match the game I was trying to play in that the walkthrough starts with the character waking up and meeting their guide. I couldn't even get to the room to go to sleep. I had taken the advice of other reviewers here and tried to play the game before buying. Good thing I did. One reviewer said their first accomplishment was using the hint button 50 X. What hint button? There were some black circles in the area where the hints usually are, but nothing happened when i clicked on it. Others have mentioned this game was designed for a touch screen and it was annoying to have to drag things. I couldn't even find anything to drag. Usually tutorials irritate me and I click the no tutorial button. This game sorely needs a tutorial, which in this case I would have welcomed, but there is none.
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really not worth the money 1. Puzzles are childish, no real challenge to think, just an annoying amount of clicks to make 2. Sound is horrible, high volume then low volume 3. Story line makes no sense to me, why you go from A to B is completely random, no logic in it, objects hard to see and even if you've been somewhere when you return new objects may have appeared out of the blue: logic?? 4. The people in it are silly and talk even sillier
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WARNING: TRY BEFORE YOU BUY I love Big Fish Games and have always had a great experience with them. That is why I rarely play a demo. If I like the sound of a game, I buy it and play it. I particularly get sucked into a game that has zero reviews, which this one did when I purchased it. You would think a brand new game, newly released on Big Fish, would not be a big risk. Well, I've gotten bitten a few times, and this is one of them. I also don't write a review until I've completely finished the game, but this game is so bad, I'm making an exception. I have played several hours of this game so I have a lot more experience to base my review on than just the demo. I have also read all the reviews and I can tell you that all the bad reviews are completely accurate. The requirement to drag and drop is particularly onerous. You can't even rest on an inventory item to see what it is; you have to click it to get a description. There is absolutely no logic in the movement between locations or within a location. The map is basically useless. I must say the hint button works great, which is a good thing, as I was clicking it every few seconds to try to figure out what to do next. That was one of the first achievements I won; using the hint button 50 times. Now what kind of game would have that as an achievement? The developers must have known how bad the game is right off the bat. At one point, the Chinese helper is hurt and dying and your next objective is to go to the jungle to find water in Buddha's footprint to heal him. I was scratching my head on that one, as I never saw when or how he got hurt. I even went back and replayed the cut scenes to try to solve this mystery, but was unsuccessful. So, something happens to a major character in the game that sends you off to a brand new location but you don't have a clue how he got hurt; I almost gave up at that point. But, I'm a glutton for punishment, so I continued. I got to the place where you need to use the fishing line to get the motorcycle key out of the hole under the grate. I clicked everywhere and could not figure out how to get the fish hook down to the key. The fish hook was swaying, so I thought I had to "catch" it by clicking on it and then drag it to the key. But no matter how many times I clicked on it, I could never "catch" it. I finally gave up and had to go to the forums to find the answer. I was half right; I did need to drag the hook, but somehow I had to click and hold on it to drag it. Given, again, that the hook is swaying, I figured I wouldn't have any better luck clicking and holding than I did just clicking, so at that point I gave up and here I am writing my review. As with everything in life, different people have different opinions. You may be one of the ones who like this game. But I still want to impress upon you the need to try before you buy. Would I like my money back? You bet. But it's my fault for not playing the demo. Buyer always beware.
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from confused I was so bored in the first few minutes.....I do not like games that do not follow any pattern...For a hidden object game there was little to find but one thing here or there and then when they finally had something to find the objects were small and hard to locate. After 10 minutes deleted game.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I want my money back This is my worst purchase ever. The navigation is horrid, the screen jumps and makes me dizzy. 99% of the time you don't have a clue what to do. Just endless clicking - the hand never changes and areas of concern good luck finding them. The whole game makes no sense at all! Do the demo first whatever you do. Do NOT buy without trying the demo.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst game ever HATED IT! - confusing, clunky, - the curser doesn't change when you hover over an inventory item and it's way too big - disable dialogue, but the talk goes on - camera pivots around the room, badly - you have to drag inventory items precisely to the proper x, y coordinates to activate - sub-standard to most other games on the market Can you tell that I don't recommend the game?
Date published: 2014-09-16
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_21757, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Melissa K. and the Heart of Gold

Enjoy this beautiful adventure set in a unique interactive 3D Thailand! Complete mysterious puzzles and find hidden objects. Prepare for an unforgettable experience!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.