Ancient Rome 2

Ancient Rome 2

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(63.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Construct entire residential districts for people and improve their well-being by building markets, schools, theaters and other places, and connect them with roads for ease of access. Create warehouses and farms, plant wheat and bake bread, mine clay and manufacture all kinds of crockery. Once you have your manufacturing in place and running, provide your population with food, improving the status of households. Sell the excess of products and make more money. The richer households become with time, the more taxes they pay, thus helping you improve the city. Once you have successfully completed all the missions, you will be able to build your own villa!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 154 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ancient Rome 2

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(63.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Ancient Rome 2 is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I haven't enjoyed a game like this since Caesar IV. The game could improve by allowing views of objects from different angles. Overall I loved it and can't wait for the next edition.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Constantly replaying! It may just be me, but I love this game! I replay it over and over. I enjoy building the cities and the freedom to build as you prefer is great. I like that each level has a variety of quests and you can chose when to complete them. I also like that the game adds new buildings, production items and decorations along the way.The graphics are not fancy but they work and the little people are cute. I've never had this game glitch and I really enjoy it!
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fun! I really enjoyed this games, the only real problem was that the text was a bit hard to read.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Civilization-type game This is a Civilization-type simulation game, but more simple in scale.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good strategy game I'm writing this review not only to say that I enjoyed this game, and that it was a nice change from the usual games I find here in the last months which are basically all the same (be them HOGS or resource management games). But also because I find it funny that people seemed to have such a hard time putting up with the fires in their city. This is a STRATEGY game, so whenever you see a problem you have to use strategy! It's not one of those game where it's all a matter of clicking super fast so, if you don't succeed or find it frustrating, you just quit and decide it's not your type of game. I suppose none of those people have ever played Caesar or Pharaoh games. That's the same principle: usually, when you build a building, in order to work and affect the other buildings, it has to be near them. So if you don't want all the fires to start and automatically expand to all your buildings, to the point where it's impossible to put out all of them before they destroy everything, you have to build roads and buildings in an efficient way: I always create a single long road, with the fire station as the first top building of each road and then all the others. The fire man will then walk the only road there is and pass by every building without making many deviations, and it will prevent them to catch fire and burn down (or he will put out existent fires automatically). If your roads have a lot of intersections, your fire men will never visit all of your buildings, and with time, they will constantly catch fire. Doing this I never got a single fire in a whole level anymore (except when there are brigands, but if you have enough soldiers, like 10-15, you should be fine with that either). So it wasn't really a bug or error, it was manageable if you use the right strategy. Just create a single road for every type of buildings: a road for the production buildings, one for houses and all the buildings they need, and preferably don't connect them to the MAIN road, or the fire man might still get lost and walk where it's not necessary. On the main road you can build other types of buildings like the trade posts and the barracks for soldiers. I found this game original (although very similar to the 2 games that I previously mentioned) for a casual game, it was challenging but it was a great satisfaction to have finally everything under control as you find the good strategies for everything. With every level done you even gain points to use and build your estate, which is a nice bonus instead of just going from a level to the other. The graphic and sound was good. Not much of a storyline but all in all, a good game. Too bad there aren't more developers who think about different types of game anymore, these days. :(
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really Liked it This one is way better than the 1st one. Once you figured out some tips to avoid fires and make money faster it wasn't as challenging. I would have liked it more if there was a time limt to complete the goals so maybe you would have a gold, silver ect.. level. I did like it and hope they make another one.
Date published: 2013-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Civilization Building Game I tried the trial first and though the graphics aren't spectacular, I wanted to purchase to continue. I was thrilled after playing for a few hours that a new version was already out. Those new features that tone down fires, and fix some problems within the game were just what I was looking for when looking for a patch!! Thank you!! It is truily a great strategy game. The secret is not to build up your houses or have too many too fast when doing the challenges. Build all the things you will need as you get money build advanced farms/pig farms/flax etc. in advance. That way you will have plenty of the needed comodity 'before' you ever improve your houses. And will have excess to sell. Stopping production on some items causes other items to be produced more. This is tricky but works. It took me a few levels to figure this out. Hope this doesn't spoil it for others that like a learning curve. Consider the more people living in those improved houses uses more resources so it is important not to upgrade them too fast. But to build up your resources before hand. In the new Sandbox mode, though it is very challenging you can build near the river and not play near the main road. This will not affect your game in the least. That way you can have a port, which is faster if you need money fast. I was able to build to level 10 houses and have a bustling world but not without it's woes. Fires, there is a secret to this one. Make sure to have the right building near by all your areas of production and houses etc. The more the merrier, and a large army. The less you will have to deal with fires yourself. Loads of fun! Figuring out which resources bring more money isn't too hard and or which ones you can sell without regretting it later. I love this game! The only draw back and I wish it would be added in a patch, is the ability to turn the the map with the mouse. I need to sometimes see 'behind' buildings to make improvements of the streets. But when finished you wind up with a huge world, looking much like ancient Rome, and it was fun gettting there!! I wanted to give the game five stars but I would have liked a little more indepth idea of how much water is needed, how many houses the wells actually help, though with improved roads all houses seem to have access to them, unless the game tells you they need a well, etc. I would have also liked the ablity to know if those people leaving my town were actually stealing my goods. Sometimes the haulers look like they just walked away with my stuff and didn't take it to the warehouses. I would have liked a little more in the grahics area, but when zooming in it is quite pretty but bump mapping or something might have improved the people or the buildings a little. But I can see how better graphics with all that is going on, would have increased the specs. too much. Great way to pass several hours!!!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Played it - started it over and played it again. Part of the fun is figuring our how to work around fires. Prefectures stroll around putting them out. The more you have, the faster the fires go out. Soldiers kill briggands who start fires. The more you have, the faster they're gone. Once you get into the higher levels, start out each map with armory production and wine production. Nothing but. Then do nothing but sell arms and wine and when you have paid off Rome and made enough cash, start producing everything else. I create blocks of 10 buildings, each block containing 2 warehouses and 1 prefecture. I place one army for each 2 blocks. I sell all surplus as I go. When I have enough money I build the city - without placing any houses. Once I have plenty of necessary products for houses I place houses and they immediately go to the highest level and boom - next map.
Date published: 2013-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improvements needed I seriously like this game, no timer or heavy clicking, if you build enough prefectures. There area couple of things that would make it 5* First, and most important, a save factor so that I don't tie my computer up for around 3 hours. A map, to make navigation easier, and a better explanation of the game elements
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted It's a resource management game where you build Roman cities to meet various production goals. The 30 levels get increasingly complex (and lengthy). Basically, it's a stripped down Caesar III. Game play: The levels are not timed (though it does take time for some actions - like selling goods) to take effect. Instead, the challenge is in working out how to prioritize goals and where to allocate your money or other resources. How you lay out your roads and where you put some buildings also have subtle but important effects. Most of the game is planning and a bit of waiting for your little people to move goods around or notice the exciting new infrastructure you've built them. Fires break out rather frequently, and, authentically for a densely populated town, they can spread very quickly. The good news is that you can build prefectures. The prefects wander around and put out any fires that they notice. The bad news is that if the fires spread, or if you don't have any prefects handy, you'll need to step in and put them out yourself. This involves clicking very rapidly on the affected buildings, and the frantic button mashing was pretty hard on my hands. Interface: Nothing surprising here - just the usual menu of building types, a status pane and clicking on objects for more information about what they need to be upgraded/produce stuff. It was all pretty straight forward, at least if you've played other sim or building games. The one gripe is that, on the larger maps, you can't zoom all the way out, and there isn't a navigator map, so you have to scroll around to check on your town. Not a big deal but a noticeable irritant after a while. Aesthetics: The graphics are very detailed and quite attractive. I mostly played the game zoomed out to keep track of what was going on, but close-in animations are nice and I have a fondness for the well researched backgrounds in the cut scenes. The music is cinematic choral/orchestral. It's nice enough, though on longer levels I might have preferred a bit less drama. Value for money: There are only 30 levels, but the later levels can take a good long time to play. I'd say is in the longer/more replay range for the BFG games I've tried. In sum: I'd been looking for a good resource management game, and I've been enjoying this one a lot. Well worth buying if you like simulation games (and don't already have working versions of the Caesar games).
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good city planner game with a few strangely omitted features I like this kind of game, placing roads, houses, and other buildings to support a city. I thought the game was a small on the graphics until I realized that I could change than by turning the mouse wheel. Music is standard classical type. I only played the demo so I don't know exactly how challenging it gets. But I did think that was missing a few features that I thought were standard in these kinds of games: (1) when placing buildings I couldn't tell how far their area of influence went, especially in the case of the prefectures. They fight fires and I only could tell if existing prefectures would fight the fire if a new fire broke out. (2) It was hard to tell how much production I needed to support the dwellings I had built. (3) I found that even though I seemed to be producing enough supplies, because of how they were placed, resources weren't reaching certain dwellings, and I wasn't sure where I should place them to remedy that fact. (4) I don't know if you can demolish buildings (tutorial seems to cut off before you learn everything). Still, if you're starved for this kind of game, it's worth a chance, if you've got money or game credits to spare.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun and a little different I enjoyed the game. I like other strategy games like My kingdom, and Road to Rome, this is slightly different, but well worth it!
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice relaxing building game I bought this game after the demo. I really liked this game. I like having the option to place buildings anywhere that you want to. I am not very far into the game, but it seems to get a bit more chalenging as you go along. I rarely listen to the music on games. I usually keep the sound on low. The sound on this game is so awful and annoying that I had to keep it off. Doesn't matter to me much anyway so did not ruin the game for me. If you like building games I would say give it a try. I am usually willing to try and game BF puts up that isn't a HOG!
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from small icons but still entertaining This is not a real TMG because there is no time restrictions on the levels I played. Icons are small but it is duable. Music is nice and if you like building this one is for you. You build rods and houses and in almost every level ther is another building like baths or gardens added. Time did go by really fast.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost a 5 star! I enjoyed this game thoroughly once I got the hang of it, though there was one quirk that kept frustrating me. Perhaps I wasn't paying enough attention to the tutorial; I eventually figured it out and was disappointed when my time was up on the trial for having took so long to resolve that one issue that was entirely user error (not the game). Sometimes those challenges make a game even more enjoyable, overall, though, since it can be a bit redundant to master all games within 20 minutes of starting out; especially when your preferences are maybe a shade narrow.
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from supply and demand hey I was wondering if they will come out with ancient rome # 3 I liked playing it just wondering I hope they do.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game, kind of different I really like this game. I'm puzzled by some of the other reviews, I don't mind the music, but then I tend to use these games as a stress-reducer at times, so the music is sort of calming, plus you can always mute it. I have developed a strategy that starts with creating the trade building or better yet, the one on the water, which is so much faster when it transports goods. Then I produce the items that sell for the most first, and build up a good amount of cash before I even start building the city. I also put a firehouse in the middle of each diamond or grid shape just so I am not having to put out fires so much. One nice addition might be to add a small map in the corner so you could jump to areas faster and not be scrolling to them when things really get filled out. Lots of fun, I wish there were more levels or a version 3. I went backwards and tried Ancient Rome 1 and it was not nearly as fun.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the good old Roman empire This game is really good and you need to think and plan well what you build. If you don't have enough health or water or else, your settlement will suffer from the plague, fire etc. It starts very slowly and I agree there are no good instruction how to play, but once you into it, you'll have many hours of fun. Buying it on the sale is a good bargain.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Steep learning curve Good once u get used to it and work out the strategy. I build the production units first for every 10 i build at least 1 prefecture to fight fires and always do the barracks and trade houses or harbours on levels with water access. Building the barracks helps keep the fires down and trade always needed to get money and buy unobtainable resources. Levels take me about an hour as i like to improve all the roads and build the gardens to make it look pretty and sometimes i demolish stuff and move it for aesthetics.
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from fun but infuriating I love everything about this game, having to plan where you put all your production buildings in order to level up the houses, BUT the number of fires is more than enough to put anyone off this game, it doesn't matter how many water plots you have the fires keep coming and coming, i am now on a level where i can only build one thing at a time and then have to put out 2 or 3 fires, it spoils the whole game for me. a massive thumbs down to what should have been a fantastic game. I dont recommend this game, i am sorry
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money. Game becomes tedious after a while. Goals basically the same for each level...produce item A,B or C and then upgrade houses. The stupid continuous onslaught of fires and troublemakers got very annoying. I got to the last level and my computer kept lagging once my city became larger and busier. I didn't finish the last level out of pure annoyance. Not really worth the money.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ancient Rome 2 With the exception of way too many fires, I found this game to be fun. For those of us that have trouble with their hands though, this is not a good game and I do not suggest purchasing it. There definitely needs to be more time in-between fire outbreaks in order to help prevent hand fatigue.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FIRE,FIRE,Fire I like the 1st game and was hopping this would be as fun and it would be if it wasn't for all the fires all the time. You can't even get started let alone do what you need to do to get done cause you spend 90% of your time fighting fire after fire and most times it is the same place you just put out. Come on no lets get real. I recomend an update for the game and limet the fires let me know if they do and I'll finish the game.
Date published: 2013-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FIRES I was within a second of clicking on "buy this game" , then the fires started. While you are learning the game, it's ridiculous to lose 6 parcels of property in a millisecond. Turned me off instantly!! And they were not connected together....
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Time Management Game I am a time management game hound. This type of game is what I play almost exclusively. What attracts me to these games is a combination of goal setting, task completion, and to a lesser degree, story line pitted against a deadline. Ancillary to these is the visual attractiveness of the game and the music and sound effects. So this is what I have to say about this game. The sound effects, which are usually a secondary consideration, are annoying enough that I mention them first. In fact I attempted to turn off the sounds so that I could concentrate on the game, but seemingly random sounds were still heard; very distracting. I found the music overly dramatic and turned this off before I began playing the game. So for the secondary considerations to be that irritating was a weak start for me. The challenge in this game is to build a city with the services that the people need within appropriate proximity. I played the demo for almost an hour, and overall I found the premise to be predictable (not necessarily a bad thing), but the screens hard to see and the increasing difficulty somewhat lame. With time management games the increasing difficulty is typically dependent on faster actions to accomplish the goal while dealing with increasing problems. Part of the challenge with this game has to do with how quickly you could hit certain keys when dealing with a crisis, which I didn't like at all. I prefer to address a crisis by assigning the game characters the task of defeating it, and not by having to hit the space bar or some other key quickly enough to prevent being overcome. Couple this with having to build quickly, squinting to see the rather small icons, and being startled by the random sound, and the game quickly becomes tedious; a trait I don't much care for in game playing. I didn't find this game particularly fun, and don't recommend it.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Someone dust off the time machine... Back in the 90s, there was a ton of really excellent city builder games. There was Pharaoh set in Ancient Egypt, one set in China and a whole series based on Ancient Rome called Caesar. I grew up playing these games and utterly adored watching the little walkers roam my roads bringing all kinds of goods to my city populace. I coaxed my little city people to build pyramids and the Great Wall of China. I marched my legions of soldiers against hordes of barbarians who invaded my city map occasionally. The levels were often really hard too, some taking hours of playtime to beat. Ancient Rome 2 somehow stripped all the fun, the LIFE out of this strategy game concept. The levels are horribly easy, take 5 minutes tops and each level is a carbon copy of the last one with perhaps one more production building thrown in. You can't even bulldoze the trees on the map. Instead of advancing your player dynasty through history, your reward for playing is slowly building a Roman villa. Snore.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating Ok I downloaded the patch and it does slow down the fires...but only for a while. As each level reaches the end the fires become NONSTOP. I just dont get their purpose other then as mindless busywork...and the firehouses dont seem to do anything to stop them either. And they are even in the Sandbox mode? Come on thats not fair. Sandbox is suppose to be a free building thing..but I had 6 fires in the first minute and I just gave up. This game had great potential..its just falls short.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interface & game mechanics need improvement... *sigh* I was so looking forward to this one...the rare resource management game with no timer. Sadly, there were too many interface and game mechanics issues to overlook. 1. The inability to move/rotate buildings caused repetitive "there are no roads to this building" messages. You had to delete and rebuild rather than simply move or rotate. Annoying. 2. Even though I always built a tax collector, that meter was always at zero. Apparently, no one wanted to pay taxes in my cities, or my tax collector was inept. 3. An "undo" button would have been great, especially when building roads. 4. The tutorial and instructions were sketchy, leaving you to figure out an awful lot on your own. 5. I had the sound volume all the way up, yet still always missed the sound meaning something was on fire. As a result, things often burned to the ground before I realized it. Also, at times I was unable to put the fire out myself by just clicking on it. When I tried, I was instructed to build another prefecture. Overall, there were poor decisions made regarding which aspects were controlled by the game and which by the player. I can't recommend it unless improvements are made.
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need more focus on these games I was excited to see this title. Seems like each month we get 29 days of Hidden Object stuff and two days of something else. This could have been great had they focused more on it. More details, better graphics, and harder challenges. People would buy more of this type of game if BF would ask for more developers to focus on them. Most sales go to HO games because most of the games are these. Would be nice to see some good time management games come out.. This is not one of them. :(
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Identical to Caesar, but not as pretty This game is perilously close to being a complete ripoff of the beloved game I used to play, "Caesar." But the artwork and sprites look more like they were designed by an emoticon artist than anyone with genuine artistic skills. That said, it's oddly compelling. Probably worth $6, but not much more. It doesn't have near the complexity of Caesar, with advisors and charts and graphs—and one of the first things lacking is temples for the gods. Oh, well. It's cheaper than Caesar, but that's about it.
Date published: 2013-01-07
  • y_2020, m_8, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_16983, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ancient Rome 2

Get land to build cities with houses, schools, markets, farms and a network of roads to improve the quality of life and the economy of the Roman Empire.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.