Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(282.01 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You travel to the remote island town of Black Water, investigating the mysterious disappearance of two archaeologists when you encounter a mythical monster straight from the ancient myths of Poseidon! What cursed secrets have these archaeologists unearthed beneath the town? Now it's up to you to save the world from falling into a curse of eternal darkness! Play Mystery of the Ancients: The Curse of Black Water to uncover the truth lurking deep below the island's darkening waters.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 733 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(282.01 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Better than Expected!!! Wow, I wish I had gotten the Collector’s Edition. This was so much better than I expected. I used a free game coupon and now I actually regret not paying full price for it. The screenshots and walkthrough kind of looked interesting, but I couldn’t tell where the game was going based on the description. It’s so much better than it appears on the surface. It just looked like a vacant and desolate landscape, but there was so much more to it. I hadn’t played anything by this developer before so I was a bit hesitant. This might be one of the most underrated games from last year. The story is what really drew me in from the beginning of the game. You have these archeologists that have stumbled upon the mythological Kraken which has been tasked with guarding the spirit of the treacherous Dagon. And his spirit has been hidden in one of the Temples of Poseidon. The archeologists mistakenly release Dagon’s curse and you have to defeat it before he regains full strength. Combining the Kraken with some sort of Poseidon tale was a bit of genius. The Kraken has become somewhat of an undersea icon since “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.” The story of this game had such a refreshing point of view. It was a winning escape from the benign haunted houses and ghost towns. The graphics were superb and the hidden object scenes were very clear and sharp. The puzzles were good. I loved the map that marked where the tasks were. And you could jump to the different locations using the map. That was a huge help. You didn’t really need a strategy guide too much. It wasn’t that bad. However, I did get stuck on a couple of occasions where the map didn’t indicate a task and I had to go look at the walkthrough. Sometimes the hidden object scenes were a little sticky in that you had to click right outside the object instead of on it. Other than that, I didn't run into any other major problems. Overall, the atmosphere was great. It felt like I was really going through this seaside town. We could use a few more games like this. It was such a pleasant surprise. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it so much. I truly didn’t want it to end. It will be interesting to see what this developer does in the future. They’ve set the bar pretty high for themselves. Not a bad thing. But I would definitely recommend this.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! This is a wonderful game with stunning graphics! I enjoyed playing this game slowly to take in all the detail because the graphics were so well done. This game is more weighted toward puzzle and adventure, but it's not that hard. If you paid attention to the game it was almost always clear what needed to be done and where to go next. There are not many HO scenes in this game, but when they do come up they are beautifully illustrated and the objects are not too difficult to find. I'm a fairly experienced gamer and was able to play this game on hardcore mode with no sparkles, hints or skips. Normally on hardcore mode I have to switch difficulty levels or else consult a walk through a few times, but not once with this game. What I really loved about this game was that it played out like being in a great story. A lot of times towards the end of a game things can get a bit tedious with me feeling glad that it's finally over. I stayed riveted to this game right up to the very end. The ending was a bit abrupt, but I guess that's what I get for playing the SE. Very highly recommended and one of the better games I've played in a long time!!!
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great mystery game! From the Lockwood manor peeps comes this excellent almost cthulu-esqe mystery game. Thank goodness for the instant travel map.....which makes life much simpler.........you wont get too stuck as the map also gives you an idea of where you need to go to do something. Beautiful graphics and good storyline keep gameplay interesting. Puzzles are varied and good and there are just about the right amount of HO scenes. Another enjoyably good solid effort. Keep it up!!
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, fun, fun! This game is so much fun! The puzzles are different, fun to solve, and not extremely difficult (which is a plus, because I was ready to move on to the next part of the story). This game has great scenery and artwork, perfectly matched spooky music, and an innovative "villain". It also features a map, so you can jump from place to place, and you use objects you find fairly close to where you find them (I like this because I can never remember which room had the chest with the tiny key or had the door with the amulet slot). I also enjoyed the "charging" of the crystals. It you're looking for a game that is fun and beautiful, interesting and charming, but not exceedingly difficult, and a story that is a little different from the usual ghost/demon/stolen soul fare, you should definitely give this one a chance.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic for a Rainy Weekend Loved this game. Wet & horrible weather and it gave me so much pleasure. Couldn't stop. Great games/puzzles and HO not over done. Would recommend.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery of the Ancients haven't had to skip or hint yet! I have not completed The game yet, I just hit Chap 4. So far very beautiful artwork and the game has humor i.e." I have not had a tetanus shot when you come across a rusty nail." I am sure the EXPERT gamers may say this is too easy because you do not have to wander for miles and most objects found can be used fairly quickly and you can teleport using the map if needed . I love that feature but since this game is so beautiful, I actually prefer to walk instead and enjoy the scenery and the locations are close enough to enjoy doing that. Rare in most of these games. I just sit and look at the HO scenes in awe of the detail. clear, not too many too find to keep the game flowing. So I rate 5 for challenege because for me I prefer not to pull out my hair or have to stop the story for every single mini game or puzzle and sit in frustration I dont like to skip but most always do because I don't want to stop my mission to hurt my brain. I prefer simple quick fun puzzles that can be done in 5 minutes. I cannot comment on the length but to me even if a game is only 3-4 hours it is worth full price if it is re-playable and it is the highest quality. I tend to get bored of games that are too long I forget what was going on if I don't get back to them for a week. This developer did not look familiar to me I clicked on the games tab and only see 2 others Mystery of the Ancients Lockwood Manor and Kate Arrow Desserted Wood. I pulled up the reviews and bought them straight away just now without even trying the demo. I hope they are as great as this! Happy Gaming people! Now back to this great game to save someone who doesn't deserve it. # you have to play to know what that means LOL#!I have only done 1 other review I hope you find this helpful. Loved it so muchI had to do one!
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Of The Ancients: Curse of the Black Water CE It's one of the best I have played in a long while. Loved the interactive or transporter map. Wish more games had it. It was easily a 6 hour game.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from alot of fun! I really enjoy underwater games. This was in the water and out of the water, but I enjoyed it as well. The puzzles were challenging but workable. I thought the length was long enough for me. I wish the developers did not make the scenes so darkly lit.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP-NOTCH ADVENTURE HOS A challenging and unique adventure game with an interesting story. You see a huge tentacled creature is not only pursuing one of the missing archaeologists in an abandoned town, but it is everywhere and putting up obstacles to block your way every chance it gets. Lots of places to visit, things to do, and challenging puzzles. Interactive map and a journal Mini-games are unique, fun and moderately challenging. Interactive HOS are large, clearly defined and not too cluttered (always important). Great graphics; you can adjust the ambient sound. Dialogue is written; nice sounding narrator; music apropos. I would have liked a little more of a challenge in figuring out what to do next. It seemed pretty clearcut on where you had to go and what you had to do next. Still, it is a funtastic game. A must-buy.
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some flaws but I loved it Great artwork, HOS that I didn't need to squint for. And there aren't too many of them to impede the flow of the game. Superb interactive maps. The story was all over the place but somehow manages to work despite itself. Transitions between chapters could be smoother. Everything you find to help you progress is called a tool ... whether it is or not. But, bottom line for me is that, no matter how many nits I could pick, this is still one of my favorite games of the year. I'll seek out other titles from this developer. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great game! I liked just about everything about this game. I thought the storyline was interesting and the games were mostly easy and entertaining. I loved the graphics! It's also long enough that I didn't mind not getting the collector's edition. I had a free game token that I needed to use, otherwise, I would have splurged.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money Not hard I played part of the demo and bought it. The graphics are really good and has voice over. Music not bad. Has good flow and has a map showing you where you are and what is needed next. The hint button only tells you that nothing to do here. Looks like a good game and story line. HOS you need to look hard at times puzzles can be challenging but ok. Give it a try.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story with great graphics! I love this game! The storyline is great, a real HOPA game! There are 3 game modes; I played in Advanced mode, which has no sparkes. - The graphics are gorgeous, clear! - There is just the good amount of HOS. They are interactive and not cluttered. - The puzzles are quite easy, but really interesting. - You have a journal, which is useful, and also an interactive map: no need to walk... just jump to the location! - The objectives are so clear, that I didn't have to use the hint system. Ok... the game is not long, about 2 1/2 hours without skipping anything, but there are many things to do and I enjoyed every minute!
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Adventure!!! I completed the demo and found it to be great!! The story is about finding missing archeologists and also dealing with a mythical sea creature. The HOS were clear and not so hard to find that you get annoyed. The grafics and sound was great with an interesting storyline. If you like stories of Poseidon and mythology then this is the game for you. The mini games were ok and not so difficult that you throw in the towel. Very exciting game. Try it... you will not be disappointed. Have to purchase now. Happy gaming fishies!!!!!
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wowwow Wow, just wow. I'm not finished the game, but I can tell you that this game is AMAZING! The game is visually good and the puzzles are different.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really great game This is a great game to play,it has lovely graphics and is logical to play.It has a map if you need it that will take you to a location if you need it.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game. This was a really good game. HO games good. Visual and sound good. Story was really good and had a good ending without feeling incomplete.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIX CHAPTERS OF GREAT FUN! Only by consensus (pro or con) can players get the games we want as we want them. This particular game is fun from start to finish. The Legend of Dagon is read to us and the play begins. Not terribly sophistocated, but when the wind blows on the cliff, rocks fall in the mine or the water drips from the cave's ceiling, this game fills the bill. A scary adventure filled with full-screen imaginative scenes , attractive HOs, and attention-catching music. A map, the crystal, and hint button are handy navigation tools. Puzzles range from simple to head-scratchers (for me, at least). Worth the money spent.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great lasted as long as collector games..loved the map..was very helpful
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent well done fish before i bought this game i read all the reviews i did n,t expect if it will be excellent , take long hours to play and well made but it,s a shame i hasn,t purchased theCE still i enjoy SE
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i like it i played the trial of the collector's edition and enjoyed it very much. i was sorry when the trial ended. it was challenging enough to keep me interested
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game! Good story line and not overdone with HO'S! Has all the attributes of a collectors edition! Interactive map, precise hints! Game is very precise and very well thought out by it's creators! Just a joy to play! Was sorry to see it end!
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun and a good variety of puzzles The level of challenge was good for me. I get involved in the story and want puzzles that can be solved in a few minutes, without interrupting the flow of the story. However, if you are puzzle fiend, this game might not be challenging enough for you. There were no puzzles where you just randomly click buttons until something happens, which are a pet peeve of mine. Artwork is very good and each HOS is used only once. I seldom notice the music and voiceover work unless they are really annoying. They were not in this case. This game reminded me of Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden, which I also enjoyed very much. It is a pleasant way to spend a rainy afternoon.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very engaging game Well I thought this game was very good, graphics , music were all extremely good, as was the storyline, although the twist came a little early for me. Not too many HO scenes, and interesting although not very difficult puzzles. Overall this is a very enjoyable game and kept me happy for a while. I would recommend this game to anyone with an average skill for adventure games and puzzles. I only am wishing I had bought the CE Version of this game, as I would liked it to have lasted longer.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! I like it. Nothing annoyed, only good playing.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it Nice graphics, interesting puzzles, backtracking and no sparkles (neither HOS) in advanced mode. Complaint: it's quite a short game.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, a fun game with not too many hogs, Loved this game. First, It had not too many hogs, and they were clear and easy to find. Second, what I like is finding for exemple first a hammer , a little farther a coin, then a rope, and AFTER that, a locked door. Not just missing contraption or padlocks without keys at every corner, and THEN finding the missing items to get them to work or to open. It gets frustrating after a while. Third, the story/ visual/sound was very nice. Fourth, puzzles were nice also, and the game lenght was fine.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, Great Game Hard to elaborate on my title, Great Game.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner! Five starts all the way on this one, and no hesitation about giving this one a real stamp of approval! Worth every dime for the SE since you really don't need the CE at all. Interactive map that helps you move around, shows you where you should be gaming, a great story with 6 full chapters, puzzles to keep you interested, and all the other stuff that makes a great game.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Fun! Loved this game from the beginning. Especially the whole mythology aspect of it! Just the right amount of challenge to the puzzles, wish there would have been a few more HOS's but other than that, I would definitely recommend this game to fellow gamers out there!! ENJOY
Date published: 2013-02-05
  • y_2020, m_1, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_16372, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water

Uncover Poseidon's ancient secrets hidden under the town of Black Water!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.