Hero of the Kingdom

Hero of the Kingdom

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(44.67 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You were living a calm, happy life together with your father on a small farm, when one sunny day your life completely changed. Malicious bandits raided your home, burnt it to ashes and your father went missing. A darkness has now fallen over the whole country, and it is up to you to set off on a dangerous journey to places you've yet to explore, overcome your fears and search for your father in the greatest adventure of your life to become the Hero of the Kingdom!

  • Fulfill quests
  • Gather herbs, hunt and fish
  • Collect sacred artifacts

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 121 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hero of the Kingdom

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(44.67 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Hero of the Kingdom is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 230.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More of the same, please. I loved this game and HotK2. I've played them both a couple of times.The first time I played I relied rather a lot on 'help' and was taken to the finish before all the 'blank' places were open, but the second time I opened them all up. More Lonely Troops games like this, please. Highly recommended for all standards.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different and Awesome This is so different from any other game I have played from BigFish. I found it because the second game was released and I went back to see the reviews. I am so very very glad that I did. I love HOG/strategy games, and I love adventure style time management, but this is a whole different style of resource gathering and finding. There is a lot less hand holding (although there is a map with teleporting, which I appreciated by the end of the game) although hints are available, mostly I didn't need any. The final quest was less interesting to me than some of the side quests, but this is a winner!
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instantly Addicting Hidden Gem - Try It! Wonderfully engaging, instantly addictive, non-linear, quest based game which is highly unique among the general Big Fish fare. It's a perfect combination of a text-based Role Playing Game (RPG), an Interactive Hidden Object Game (IHOG), (sometimes referred to as Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure HOPA) and a financial management game, (e.g. buying, selling, earning). Those used to hand-holding IHOGs may find it difficult at first, but if you give it enough time, you will soon be in your element. The graphics in this game, (the first of its series), are indeed much smaller than most people may be used to. It offers a much greater challenge than a typical IHOG or HOPA where things are just piled everywhere. Hidden items are literally just a few pixels, yet once you get the hang of it, they are surprisingly easy to spot. This is the primary reason I highly recommend people play this game first, before playing the subsequent edition(s). As the graphics become larger as the series progresses, it stands a high chance of being somewhat off-putting. What is particularly unique and fun about this game is its simultaneous non-linear and quest-based nature; a difficult achievement when done correctly. Most games go one way or the other, and the few that have previously tried this method are muddied at best. Here you have the perfect combination of being urged to continue while also being allowed to take your time to look around, revisit areas in a non-repetitive manner, and move forward when you are ready. I highly urge everyone to give this game a chance, as well as its successor(s), if for no other reason than to encourage editions.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Like another reviewer said, it's non linear, no pressure or time limits - lots of fun to play. I bought the game and finished it in a few hours, but will play it again from the start.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hero Of The Kingdom I confess I can't wait for the next game in this series which I know is under construction. A totally brilliant game which I have played endless times. It is well thought out and although the boy - main character is a bit frustrating with the amount of sleep he needs it is such a challenge to find all the resources to complete the tasks. Initially. the help pages on BF were welcome and thanks to those who contributed by solving all the mysteries of how to do certain things. The help at the bottom right was also a great innovation if you got stuck. The map was also a great help as I did initially get confused with all the different areas and learning where all the commodities were to be found. Excellent game.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable game I was confused at first and it took a couple of attempts to find out what to do. But once I understood the mechanics of the game and how things worked, I found it to be highly enjoyable. I haven't finished the game yet, but judging by the map you are given earlier on in the game, there are quite a lot of things to do and people to help. And as I brought this game in a recent sale, it's proved to be good value for money. So I recommend that you give it a try and stick with it for awhile before making any judgement of your own.
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Game! The first time I saw this game, "Meh, another so-called great graphic medieval-based game.." was the first thing that plopped out of my mind. But, when I tried it, I realized that this is not that kind of game. I love the graphics, pretty fun, and the game itself is not complicated. The storyline was kind of a combination of fictional and non fictional. I, personally, never thought about this kind of game (finding little things like mushrooms, eggs, etc), and I just simply love it.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice to see something a little different This game is kind of like a hidden object adventure that doesn't simply constrain you to one screen at a time, looking for random things that have no point in the plot. Instead, you look for resources that help you along in the story. In that way, it's a tiny bit reminiscent of Settlement: Colossus, which I also liked. The graphics are pretty but the objects are really small. If you're prone to eyestrain, that might bother you after awhile. All in all, I found this game to be an enjoyable departure from the usual HOGs. Plus, the developers are an indie software company and it's nice to support the little guy once in awhile. :) PS: There's a sequel in the works, not sure when it's due out, though.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great strategy game!! The story is very well defined, and we need to do several tasks to get skills, money and objects , some of then defined by the story and some others at our choise based in basic needs (feeding, rest, and be helpfull to others..). I apreciate a lot the fact there isn´t an only way to proceed the game, but several at our choise althought the end will be the same. Congrats to developers.I will wait for the next story of our hero... if possible also in portuguese!! :)
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful point and click that lasts for hours I was amazed at how long this game lasted. It's a rare thing for a BigFish game. Another rare thing was how it kept my very limited concentration. The scenery was pretty, I loved all of the dialog, and the fact that you could do all sorts of things like fishing, hunting, berry picking, and scavenging for treasure. I did not like, at the very beginning, the limited free will you have. You were lead specifically where to click. This is good for a tutorial, but lasted about five minutes too long. It got dull. The music was nice, but there could have been more variation. The graphics were good, but treasure hunting was next to impossible, as the object searched for were way too small, and blended into the scenery, while the resource spots were brightly highlighted. Resources themselves were scares, and there was too much traveling involved. The further you go, the more you should be able to simply purchase, of what you used to have to search for. The thing I liked the best, was the thing I liked the least. You could hunt, fish, etc., but once that spot was gathered, it was usually gone for good, eventually making that skill pointless. Recurring resources would have worked better. Also, once you've beaten the game, there is very little pomp and circumstance. I would have liked to continue playing, as it seemed you might be able to in the beginning of the game's dialogs, once you'd beaten the game. It would have been a good casual end game to be a fisherman, or gatherer, just to rank up gold, or buy a house, or something. All in all, I'd recommend it, and I am looking forward to a sequel. I did enjoy it, very much.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Adventure Game! Just like the title of my review says, this is the best adventure game! I had a lot of fun and I wish there was a sequel. So far I haven't found a game quite like this. The game play is like a classic RPG, characters will give you quests that will help you go further into the storyline. But it this game has a hint of hidden object game play into it too as there are tons of gold and various other treasures hidden in different parts of the kingdom! If you should be lucky enough to play it, good luck stopping because it is addicting!
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Surprise When I started this one, I wasn't too sure about it. It isn't the usual TM type game - there isn't a time component to it at all. It's more of a RPG. You decide where to go. As new scenes open up, you can use the map to jump quickly back and forth. People everywhere have tasks for you to do. The more you do, the higher your fame. They pay you in gold and food. You have to constantly find somewhere to sleep (hearts needed for tasks), which is a small drawback to playing this one. The hardest part is finding all the little things: eggs, mushrooms, boxes - they are tiny and quite a challenge. The storyline is that you are looking for the robbers who have kidnapped your dad; then you find out the robbers are working for a dark wizard who is the final boss. The fights really aren't fights - you just have to have all the supplies needed (food, hearts, men, weapons) for that particular fight. Once I got started, and figured out how this game worked, I had a blast.
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caution: This game can be addictive Okay, I'm not that good at strategy games, but I love this game! This is not the run-of-the-mill game; it ends the same way each time it is played, but getting there is always different and that makes it more fun. Words of warning: the items that must be found (or not) are very tiny and easy to miss. I ended up with my face about 12 inches from my large monitor in order to find some of them. I bought the game five days ago (for $2.99!!!), and I have restricted myself to playing it only three times...so far. The only problem I have with it is that I don't really like killing the animals, but that's just part of the life in this game. I really think everyone who likes this type of game should try it.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something a little bit different! This game has both hidden object and adventure elements, but no puzzles. It is also somewhat reminiscent of resource management games, but without the frantic pace and constant clicking. The storyline progresses by collecting resources and completing quests which cost resources (and then provide resources upon completion). It's a fun and relaxing game that is a real breath of fresh air. It doesn't play like any other BFG game I've experienced and the story is pretty cute (if predictable at the very end).
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a wonderful game. I was so surprised. I downloaded the trial version when I read up on some of the reviews. I was sorry it was over, stayed up late @ nite couldn't get enough of it. Lots of things to do. Finding treasures and many more. Read up on the reviews if this is your kind of game u won't be disappointed. A long, long game. Trading & finding more treasures when u back track to other locations u have already been through. Like the other gamers stated (look very closely to find treasures, eggs & so forth.) Not a game to rush through. Can't wait 4 a sequel 2 come. PLEASE, BIG FISH have a SEQUEL.
Date published: 2013-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Buy! Lots of quests, gathering and selling and buying. I was note taking and loving it. We need more games like this. Lots of fun. I didnt like that the game ended and I was not done with all my achievements I would like to have the option to keep playing and finish my them. But it was a great story line and lots of fun.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good very fun hidden object game only thing i found hard was to see objects too small
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than I Expected At first look I did not think I was going to enjoy this game because the characters and such are small, so visually it is not the most stunning of games and some objects are very tiny. However, I loved the game. I rank it as one of my favorite point and click adventures. Not as long or complex as Westward or Wandering Willows, but with some of the qualities that make those so enjoyable. It was a nice 5-6 hours of game play. I would have loved to have it be longer because I was really enjoyed the game.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing Change Within the first five minutes of playing the trial I was ready to purchase this little gem. This game isn't overly challenging nor full of spectacular graphics but it is unique and very fun, at least it was for me. :) It combines a little bit of rpg's like "Aveyond," point and click adventure, and time management along the lines of "The Island Castaways." The basic storyline follows a young son in search of his father and all the people he meets along the way and although this isn't a brand new theme it kept my interest alive through the 60 minute trial. Wish there were more out there like this!
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from clever and interesting I wouldn't call it a H.O.G (I really hate those) It is an adventure with easy and challenging tasks requiring skils and objects to achieve your quest
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The treasure is all mine... What I love about this game is the treasure-finding. You can also return to previously visited areas after unlocking certain acheivements and new treasure will become available. At first it was a little unclear what to do, but the help is very straightforward and lets you progress through the game quickly. This doesn't really play like a time-management game, more like adventure; though one of my favs so far.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable RPG Quest Gem I just finished the game and immediately checked around for a sequel or other similar offering by these developers, that's how much fun I had playing this. Sure, the graphics aren't what people might be used to from HOPAs, but pretty isn't the goal in this game. I always knew that the type of ANNO 1707, Dreamfall, Longest Journey, etc games couldn't be casual games because they are way tooooo big and ergo way tooooo expensive, either one of those two things making them not usable in a casual gaming environment like BFG. Little time/quest management games like My Kingdom for the Princess or Roads to Rome (both series I loved, though they are more time management/building, which Hero is not# and regular adventure types #though nowadays they are littered with HOs and Minipuzzles, cut scenes and so much audio & visual stuff that it's nearly not playing anymore but going to the movies) are the closest we ever get to a casual RPG. Then came Hero of the Kingdom, which is really a standard RPG with a great story line, lots to do and find, a good length and well thought out interactions that fitted the story superbly. The mushrooms, eggs, crayfish and lost treasures hidden in each location were a great idea, so where the achievements honoured with extra hunting or other skills. Again, voice overs and prettier graphics are sure to come in time in the genre on the casual scene also, but this is a very good start and I'd like to encourage the developers to keep going. I for one will buy their next offering if it's anything remotely close to this great little gem. Thanks for hours worth of fun to sweeten the dark and rainy Winter days in Cape Town.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hero of the Kingdom fun quest game, lots to do, good storyline
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. This game was fun. I loved that it was not linear. You could spend time advancing the main story or one of the side quests. Yes, it could have been a bit longer and the world could have been a bit bigger. On the other hand, even at this size it was hard enough keeping all the vendors straight - who buys mushrooms and who sells pickaxes, etc. Can't wait for the next installment.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very complete game except for.... Great game, very complete everything was thought of and it was fun :) It did take me a good 2 days to beat, which I didn't mind.. most people that have this game took around a week. Only thing I can find that was overlooked that i was not able to do, hence I didn't like: A place to sell the the dry flies, the wood and the stone. The rest of the game perfect!!! Cheers
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unusual game play for Bigfish games There are few games on Bigfish that I have played more than once - this is one of them. I enjoyed the story and working though the tasks. It is a strategy game that doesn't have time pressures. It could be improved by not being quite so linear, but I suspect that may take it into big (expensive) game territory. Please can we have more like it?
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, fun, entertaining strategy game Nothing too complicated that you can't solve... no need for strategy guides or walkthroughs. The only problem is that it's kind of short. I would've love a bit more storyline. I finished it all in less than 4 hours, so I fell like I I overpaid. Fun anyways
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NextGen TM game! I think here it is, the future of TM games! Very like it!
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relaxing, Engaging, perfect for an 8 hour car trip :) This game leads you on a journey through a Kingdom filled with danger and mystery. Human armies are preparing forts and arming themselves in anticipation of the evil that lurks around every hill. There are so many maps and so much to do. It really is a perfect strategy game. The music and the visuals are incredible and I loved the story-line. You have to at least TRY IT!
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY DIFFERENT GAME If you're looking for something different, this is definitely it. It really is an RPG, with quests to solve, people to meet, gold to be gained and enemies to be fought. I absolutely loved it. I couldn't go to bed and was up all night to finish it. The story is of a lad whose father goes away from the farm for a week. Bandits damage the farm and he follows his father to save him. There is so much to do, so much to buy and trade for, so many items to find and people to help. Once in a while, a game like this comes along and it makes it all worth while trawling through the others just to find it. A real gem.
Date published: 2013-02-25
  • y_2020, m_5, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_230
  • loc_en_US, sid_16880, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hero of the Kingdom

Your home has been raided. Your father is missing. Set off on a dangerous journey to save him, and become the Hero of the Kingdom!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.