Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.65 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

How far will you go to save your only daughter's life? Is there a limit? Help Owen Wright rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Lonely Hearts Killer, the mysterious figure who kidnaps and murders people who have suffered a love gone wrong. Unravel the intrigue, put a stop to the whirlwind of crime that has paralyzed this late 19th century British city. Olivia must live! The killer must be brought to justice! Only you can do it!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 852 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.65 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 82.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink Of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders SE I purchased Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders in the Collectors Edition when it was first released, but I really believe the Standard Edition is the better value because there isn't enough substance in the CE. The Lonely Hearts Murders and Dorian Gray Syndrome are fantastic games! I will admit that I like Dorian Gray better for the story and creepiness of the game but Lonely Hearts is hands down a better quality game with extremely well done voiceovers and the characters move so fluently that they are realistic. To give this game a touch of the past, you can opt for film grain in the options box (Dorian Gray has this feature as well) You play Olivia Wright's father, Owen Wright and pair up with Logan Green the detective you mentored many years ago. Olivia has gone missing after a painful relationship leaves her heart broken, this is the type of victim the Lonely Heart killer preys upon, broken hearted! Owen and Logan know they must find Olivia within 30 days, after 30 days the murderer leaves the victims body displayed in the streets, he removes their heart and replaces it with a single yellow lotus, time is of the essence, what are you waiting for? As I said before this game is a first class kind of game, professional and quite well done on every facet of the game. Most games don't have you actually following a character because the character looks, sounds and moves so fake, not so with this game, characters as very well done and very realistic. The hidden object scenes are interactive, some items require you to click and drag that item where it belongs such as dragging patches to pants to cover up holes. My favorite mini game was placing shoes with stockings of multiple colors and patterns onto shelves that lit up when correctly placed. Each pair had to have something in common with the adjacent pairs, such as green stripes could be placed next to red stripes and the red stripes next to red plaid etc. The only extras you get with the Collectors Edition is Wallpaper, Concept Art, Soundtracks and an Interview with the developers, accessible after completing the game, either way, it's a great game enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is about as good as it gets. Fabulous! I liked the first Brink of Consciousness (Dorian Gray), but this one is even better. Visuals, sound, voiceovers, character movement--it's all top notch. The puzzles aren't very hard, but there were a couple that were new to me, so they were still interesting. For me, the story is the driving force behind a game. Without a good one, no matter how pretty, it just doesn't get it. This one has an excellent story, complete with plot twists and a satisfying ending. I can't wait for the next one! The hidden object scenes were unique and entertaining in themselves--and this from a die-hard adventure gamer! The squeaky mouse cracked me right up. They are interactive, and done with a twist here and there that was very fun. This developer is extremely talented. My hat's off to you! More, more!
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An absolute gem! (based on demo) This game has gone straight to the top of my wishlist. I was absolutely blown away by the level of detail in the graphics and the voice over - during the intro the ink actually follows the quill, and the vox artists are actually acting rather than just reading lines. There's humour and drama. It's almost like an interactive movie - and there is an intriguing storyline to follow too which really kept my interest. I was surprised to note some anachronisms though - the setting appears to be similar to late Victorian England - quill pens, gas lanterns etc. - yet an early puzzle has you obtaining a canned drink from a period-setting vending machine! The demo finishes before the full hour (if you play it quickly or skip puzzles), but it promises much more. I usually go for CE versions where they are available and I will with this one as I want the fullest experience of this most impressive game.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Game Nice game i always play as expert but its not much difficult but i still like it
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Victorian masterpiece! I am in love with both of the Brink of Consciousness games...but this game had particularly stunning visuals that made this a 5 star game for me. One of the highlights of this series is that fact that you, playing Owen Wright, talk with your detective friend and any other person you meet in the game through automatic voiceover responses. When you are moving through scenes and an anonymous voice begins to shout threats at you, you yell back at him to show himself, scoundrel! I absolutely fell in love with my character talking because I find myself thinking "What?" or "Really?" when a character is talking to me in games, so having my actual character say "What?" and giving input was just awesome. Owen Wright, you are a fearless and fun Englishman to play! The graphics were gorgeous, one ill-fated woman in particular was so well drawn I took a screen shot of the image to save. There were quite a handful of standard HOs but the game made up for that in great dialog, a wealth of people to meet and interact with, good length, lots of area to explore, and a well done spooky Victorian era atmosphere. I highly recommend this game for people who want a good Sherlock Holmes-esque murder mystery to solve, for people who want a clear crisp game with a well-balanced mixture of HO/adventure, and for anyone who is tired of playing the overwhelmed heroine and wants to be a well respected, stubborn Victorian gentleman for a change!
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's like being in a film! Very good Hidden Object game, with many chapters and many different characters that have a story to tell. Games have a good grade of difficulty, which makes it more fun and not too easy. Good graphics and pleasent music. Controls are easy...overall excellent game, I definetely recommend it!
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A turn of the century detective story Review Outline Ratings - 5 out of 5 - must buy - you are better off have experienced this game The Story - 5 Standard Edition A turn of the century detective chasing a serial killer with Adventure and Hidden Objects. The graphics and music are outstanding. The game has multiple players and cutaway scenes. Likes - 4.5 - adventure with puzzles and hidden objects - music - challenge of story is average - mystery - many cutaway movies - the story Do not likes - none Graphic and Art work - 5 - turn of the century environment Length - 5 Did I replay it more than once - Yes
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!!! Truly an incredible game. Loved the graphics, music and the voice overs were done very well. The story was captivating and held your interest. You really don't know what is going to happen! There was plenty of movement and I really liked that areas were closed once you moved on in the game. You knew what areas you were to investigate. No complaints on this one. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent. Every second almost perfect. REVIEW BASED ON GAME COMPLETED IN EXPERT MODE First of all, the story line is amazingly new and exciting. That to me is the most important part of any game. The characters are constantly interacting with you and relaying the story via voice conversations. The graphics were gorgeous with many different scenes and locations giving you the feeling that you really were chasing a tricky, elusive killer. The music changes mood and often adds exclamatory chords during significant events and finds. I had no trouble figuring out where to go when suddenly I'd be out of objects. Sometimes a few of the hidden objects made me scratch my head, but in a good way that made me say "got ya!" when I figured it out. Very satisfying. I'm a huge mystery book fan and this game let me feel as if I had stepped into one of my favorite ones. Although in Expert mode there are no hints or maps (I don't know if there are in the casual modes,) I did not have to go back and forth too much because I always found a new IHOS. Although moving back and forth is usually a pet peeve of mine, this game moves forward a few chapters and then "locks"....you can't go backward once into a new scene. That's good because it lets you know that if you're going backward to look for an object, you don't have to run around aimlessly back to the very beginning. It restricts you to the area in which you need to search. My ONLY complaint, if I were to complain --- and I'm not, would be that the police detective who is helping you always says he'll meet you somewhere and leaves you to solve the crime. BUT if he didn't, you'd have no game to play. It just made me giggle and at times utter, "sure I'll do your job for you." This game is massively fun. Loved it.
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT!! One of my favorite games! All is very good: graphic, music, voice over (excellent!) and storyline (unusual, thrilling and logic). A pleasure to play!
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very English game Being Engish, i do not often find a very British game to play, so i love this one. It's very quaint, which is refreshing, and not a technical master peice, but this adds to it's allure, lol. i wont go into the games details, others have covered this, suffice to say, its a lovely game, and as ive just finnished the trial mode i'll get it and finish this game. recommend this game 100% for its quaintness, and i must check out the others of like kind, as theres a special offer of buy one get one free, yippee
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME!!!! EXCELLENT GAME!!!! One of the few games that within 20 minutes of playing the game....I wanted to go and buy it. This game has excitement, fun & interresting story line. I would not steer you wrong...I play A LOT of HOG & this is one of the best I played from BF. It has inventory that you will use pretty quickly (NOT ONE OF THOSE GAMES YOU HAVE TO TRAVEL BACK 15 ROOM/AREAS B4 YOU CAN USE AN ITEM FROM YOUR INVENTORY-HATE THAT) But as you can tell, this is one of the better Hidden Object/Detective games I have played....At least try it, download the free hours play and see if w/in 15-20 minutes if you don't want to know who the killer is....I HOPE YOU LIKE IT AS MUCH AS I DO. ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent in all aspects I played several games from Magicindie, this one is the best. An excellent storyline (english detective), superb HD graphics, an optimal level of challenge, resulting in an exceptional overall fun factor effect.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Unprecedented Sophistication GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES Story: A serial killer is on the loose and has your daughter! Known as the Lonely Hearts Killer, the madman kills his victims, all of whom have suffered recent romantic loss, 30 days after they first disappear. The police of your 19th century town are without clues and time is running out. Developer: Magicindie Softworks Release Date: Dec 2012 Extras: Interactive Map, Film Grain Option The first game in this series was well worth its five star rating, but this sequel makes it look like a trial run. What makes this game so special? Let’s start with its story – no magic or ghosts – just a genuinely scary human monster. Although beautifully presented, there is nothing ‘cute’ about this game. The atmosphere is unrelentingly grown up, the characters, and the tension, feel real. Our interaction with the detective is superbly presented, with cutscenes as good as any I’ve seen. And what a treat to ‘give voice’ with professionally acted voiceovers – including our own middle-aged pompous self! Needless to say, all the visuals are extremely well done and thoroughly professional, the HO scenes are beautiful, interactive and imaginative. The balance between HOs and puzzles ‘felt’ right, although I was far too involved in the gameplay to be counting. Gets my vote for the ‘Oscar’.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice to play a game with an actual plot line and fun characters! Perhaps not the best game visually or most difficult challenge out there, but the story line is incredibly easy to get into and hard to walk away from. Great characters make the cutscenes interesting so that I want to watch them rather than get irritated at the same old thing and hit "skip." A few of the characters are quite amusing and realistic, helping to weave a tapestry of murder-mystery fun. This game is easily in my top five! I would buy 10 more like it...
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stop and enjoy the graphics I stop at each new scene and just take in the wonderful graphics. I also like the hint button that guides you to where you need to go. When you leave a game and come back in a day or two you need a little help. A lot of games hint buttons just tell you nothing to do here. This one tells you where to go. When I try a game this feature is a big factor for me to buy the game. Anyway this game is good and worth the purchase.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this Victorian murder mystery !!!! Encore Encore What a breath of fresh air and a lucky find on this one. LOVE all the dialogue as I love Victorian murder mysteries. All the excellent reviews have described how you go along to solve the mystery.. with you doing all the work, of course. The map isn't transportable but with each new "chapter" come a new map which isn't that large to back track. Love puzzles that aren't too difficult and so I can get on with the investigation and these fit my needs perfectly. IMO it's better than the first Brink ! Loved every minute and want to see MORE of this detective who needs my help to solve other murders! BRAVO
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable Fun! Much different than other HOA's I've played in that I felt as though I was actually helping find the murderer and watching a stage play that I was a part of.........Sherlock/British type of investigation, very good VO's, almost as if you're watching a movie/play. The puzzles were fun. innovatative and a good mix of fairly easy to more complicated. Pure enjoyment for me!
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A second Review I own the collector version of this game and just finished playing the game and the game was absolutely fantastic. The players at the end were so comical I laughed and laughed. It really made you feel you were in a movie or play and you were participating in your own parts. This game is not for kids with a slight use of curse words from their era. The story is so good you do not mind the long commentary's. I love the after thoughts by clicking on the characters.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game with a solid story One of the best games I have played in a long time. Good HO scenes, a good and solid story line and nice graphics and sounds. The puzzles could have been a little more challenging, but overall great game.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good mystery! I have only played the demo, but I am going to purchase it now. The graphics are great, its fun and the detail and mystery makes it seem as if you are in a mystery movie. I think its a great game and would suggest you try it!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely Game of the Year By FAR the best game on this site. The voice acting was superb! A lot of dialogue but it made the story so much more interesting.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've ever played What can I say, I love this game. The sounds were wonderful, from the rainy day background noises to the accents on the characters. The visuals were gorgeous, if you like British weather. The cut scenes were very interesting, although sometimes took too long. The downside to this game is that it is very easy. It's for beginners in HOS, but I liked the plot and the general gameplay. If you're looking for difficulty, this probably isn't for you, but if you like rain, good music, good plotline, and are generally playing to relax, this game is for you! My favorite game on Big Fish.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow what a great story! I really enjoyed this one! The story was terrific with its twists and turns, and I just love a good story that stays true to itself. This one has you as a helper to the main detective, and your own daughter is missing, so it is very involving. I mean, you are really part of what is happening, and I even had a few heart pounding moments, as I really was within the story. Caught me up! The puzzles are fairly easy, but fun, and the HOS are very clear and not too difficult. It is not super long, but I feel it was a good length because it took long enough to get to my kid. A truly breath-taking game, very nice voice overs and cut scenes. This game grabs you like no other I have played, and the ending was satisfying. Absolutely recommended!
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sets a new standard! I’ve played over 100 games this year, and this gets my vote for the best of 2012. I loved Dorian Gray Syndrome, so I was really excited to play this one. Dorian Gray was fantastic, but Lonely Hearts takes the HOPA genre to a whole new level. I’ve been feeling a bit dismayed lately and turned off by the current crop of HOPAs. So often, I feel like developers rush through a game to get it out on the market – that they don’t really care much about how a game turns out so long as it works. I’ve played so many in a row this way that I’d almost given up. But it’s clear with Lonely Hearts that the developers actually cared about making this game something special. For one, nothing is out of place in this game, which gives it such good flow. The story is engrossing, the adventure is logical, the hint button is useful if you need it, and the HOS scenes are charming and perfectly timed (you run across them when you’d be moving through an area anyway.) But what sets this game apart isn’t just how well the game plays (although that alone would have made me happy): the animation, the story, the music, the voice acting, and especially the characters are all a testament to how much time and effort the developers put into this game… I felt like I was watching a movie and became lost in it. I didn’t even skip any dialogue, which is unusual for me. I wanted to hear the characters speak, not only because the voice acting was superb, but also because I cared about the story. Fortunately, too, the ending for the standard edition is solid and doesn't feel too abrupt. It's a wonderful thing for a standard edition to have a good ending.. even though I'm planning on purchasing the collector's edition for the bonus chapter. A sincere thank you to the developers for making a game that surpasses the rest. I’m looking forward to more games from these guys, and hope that other HOPA creators are taking notes.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Wow, I decided to play this game in the most difficult mode and it turned out to be a challenge. Not sorry for that chose. I swear I wanted to shoot Logan. My hat is off to the development team. Great artwork, cut scenes, dialogue and programming and testing. I wore out shoe leather and I loved the HOG scenes.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Much better than the average hidden object. Great story too.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good story line for girl gamers Fantastic play! Good story line for girl gamers. The hidden objects could be a little harder to find. The games are easy to decipher.
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice enjoyable game I usally don't write reviews but this one is different. The music was different and it was a combo of 2 games in 1. Ended up buying before the demo was finished.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game I was hesitant at first but once I started to get into the story I was hooked. Yes there is a lot of talking, but that is needed to understand the story. It kind of pulls you in and is funny at times. The graphics are crisp and the Hogs are a lot of fun to play, since some sections are interactive. Minigames are all new to me and also a lot of fun to play. Not too hard but you need your logic for most of them. It is a pretty long game, which I always appreciate. It is made up in sections and you never have to hold on to your objects for long. Try it, I absolutely loved this game. Need more of this kind.
Date published: 2012-12-16
  • y_2019, m_9, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_16791, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders

Olivia has been kidnapped by the mysterious Lonely Hearts Killer who murders those suffering from a shattered love. Save her!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.