The Curse of the Werewolves

The Curse of the Werewolves

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(303.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel to a family manor and lift the mysterious Curse of the Werewolves in this blood-chilling and enthralling Hidden Object Adventure! Delve into the dark story of Ashley, after she receives a mysterious postcard from her grandma. Your journey will take you through the dusty rooms of an old mansion, misty moonlit forests, the rocky cliffs of the ocean shore and the echoing depths of the ancient passageways. Can you help unravel this dark mystery?

  • Blood-chilling locations
  • Brain-twisting puzzles
  • Intriguing story

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 682 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Curse of the Werewolves

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(303.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Curse of the Werewolves is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game to play. The game is short. When it ended, I felt as if there were more story to tell. Maybe the developer wants to do a sequel? I used a free game credit, so I got my moneys worth.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really not that bad I was worried about the mediocre rating this game received, but gave it a try. I found the atmosphere and challenge of the game to be just right. Some have complained about the dark scenes, but, here, they fit and they play fair with the HOS; meaning that, rather than hiding a black object in the darkest corner they can, the objects are just well hidden. There were two places that I needed forum help, but they ended up that I was in the right place; just not observant enough. There is an excellent map, but it won't teleport you, so prepare to walk a lot. My only real complaint is that a couple of the HOS were reused enough that, though the objects to find were different, there was little challenge in the search.
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game I liked it. The game was fun to play. I didn't have much trouble getting through the hidden objects scenes. I seemed to have a lot in my inventory at one time but with the help of the compass, I was able to figure out most.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Game kept my interest throughout. I played the whole game without pause because it really kept my interest throughout - which is phenomenal since I have about 200 unfinished/unplayed games I've bought on BFG. The map was key to my enjoyment in the game due to never having to wonder if I'd missed anything along the way. I played a bit out of order and had no technical issues due to that. Even though I have a very large monitor the items in the dark HOS were hard to see - quite often. By the end of the game I would have happily scorched the dev team that signed off on the eye-mutilating artwork. I got stumped more than a few times and had to resort to the walk-thru available elsewhere on the web. Even with the eye-blasting artwork and getting dumb-stumped, I really enjoyed myself with this game. Thanks dev and BFG.!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Short but worth it Really enjoyed this one. Yes, as some reviewers have pointed out, some of the HO are small, BUT that is the point - they are hidden! :) It is a bit dark, but that made it challenging. I enjoyed being able to gather so many inventory items, and loved the fast pace. Only negative for me was that it ended too quickly. I think this is a great game.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gullible granddaughter! Just finished The Curse of the Werewolves, after getting it as a BOGO game, and it was pretty good. Grandma is missing, there is a werewolf statue in the yard, and the house is a terrible mess. Grandma apparently gave up housekeeping long ago. Oh yes, there are a few bodies strewn around, but not to worry. Granddaughter finally finds Grandma, who gives a simplistic explanation and the two walk off into the sunset. The game is fairly easy, although not everything you must do is obvious. HO scenes are pretty dark and items are small; if this is not your first HO game, you will know what to do. And the bodies in the house and yard? Well, let the dead bury the dead, I guess.
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looking for Adventure? You’ve already read about the storyline, so here’s other info: *Hint button ONLY works in hog (which is why this is more for adventure fans). *HOS are messy, not junky but they are on the gray/dark side and rather small. *Map shows areas with available HOS and areas of interest but does not transport you. *Some backtracking, not excessive. *Two modes of play, 2nd does NOT have sparkles. *VO well done. *Puzzles are not difficult, and are variations of standards (pipes, make buttons all one color) *Sound effects good, music fits story and not irritating. *Length of game approx. 5 hours +/- I purchased undemo’d (BIG gamble), but I am happy with my purchase. I did get very frustrated early on when I’d done everything and could not advance…well obviously I did not do everything! Not having a hint button makes for a more thought provoking game. If your spoiled with the hint button, this may not be for you, which is why I recommend for adventure fans (we like to explore, investigate and figure out the next step ourselves) and not so much HO fans. Overall, I think this is a gem in the rough. It could have been much better (bigger budget perhaps). I’ve seen a lot worse!
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, but hard on "old" eyes. At last, a car traveling down a road, without crashing! HOS: somewhat on the dark side which makes it hard to distinguish some objects, the HO list is in very small print and doesn't distinguish between objects in plain sight and those hidden in or under other objects. Playing in regular mode the hint refills quickly. Mini-games: the ones so far have been simple enough that even I could solve them, although there is a skip button available if needed. There is a map which shows you areas where you have been, HO & mini-game action areas. However, as the map is not interactive, there is a lot of back and forth travel between areas. So far, playing in regular mode, the game hasn't been overly challenging, but it's good for a laid back day. I suggest playing the demo prior to purchase and forming your own opinion.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where Did This Wolfy Gem Come From? Sometimes an obscure SE game comes along where people often are split into two camps, those who absolutely hate it and those who love it. I belong to the latter camp; I loved this game. It came as a total surprise but after having played the demo, I found myself needing an immediate walkthrough and lost as to what to do next. I always enjoy the challenge offered in these tpes of games. Our story begins in New York where Ashly recieves an anonymous postcard sent from Maine where she grew up. D?sturbed at the fact that her Grandmother does not answer her recent phone calls, she decides to drive to her Granny's house only to discover her missing and her Manor is empty. Can anyone say Red Riding Hood? By the title of this game, we know that the storyline is about werewolves and we soon find ourselves playing a creepy Hidden Object Adventure game where we have to collect clues and unravel the mystery behind Ashley's dark past. The graphics are relatively good, sharp and obviously due to subject matter, dark and creepy. There are voice-overs and Ashley does have the tendency to talk a bit too much. There are two play modes to choose from and unfortunately, the hint only works inside the HO scenes. There is alot of adventure in this game and puzzles to solve and inventory items to collect. The mini-games are not that original nor were they challenging and the HO scenes were slightly interactive and at times, slightly blurry. As I said, the hint button only works within HO scenes and after 40 minutes of gameplay, to my great frustration and delight, I got stuck as to where to go and what to do. There is an interactive map that does give you progress indicators and a journal, but that is about it. No hand-holding whatsoever. This part will probably be a problem for many gamers who don't enjoy the constant clicking around and bumbing into things, backtracking alot and finding yoruself playing the same HO scenes several times to pick up the odd inventory tool. I myself dont mind and actually enjoy unraveling a mystery on my own. ALthough I will be keeping my eyes open for that walkthrough, this game is an absolute buy for me and recommended to adventure lovers like myself.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Simple and Light Hidden Object Game And so it is: a very simple *and* light game. The storyline is pretty straightforward, as described in Big Fish's synopsis of the game. The Hidden Object Scenes (HOS's) are pretty simple too, although some objects can be a little too small to see. But then, you can just use the Hint to find them. Finally, the puzzles are hardly challenging at all! I should also note that I did not check the Map until I was very close to the end of the game. The reason I didn't was that I played the game in Expert mode, as I do whenever such a mode is available, and the Map in most games usually doesn't offer any help in that difficulty mode. But then, I started to get rather tired of running back and forth, checking all the locations to see whether and where a HOS might have popped up that I needed to solve before I could proceed further in the game. So I checked the Map to see whether it would at least "transport" me to the different locations I needed to check if I clicked on them, one by one, in the Map. Well, as it turned out, the Map doesn't take you anywhere. But, much to my surprise, I found that it does offer the Expert players apparently all the help it is supposed to provide a Regular player. Thus, it uses red dots to show you "points of interest," indicating you need to do something at that location. In fact, as I recall, it (a) shows exactly where in the given location you have to do something, and (b) will give you more than one red point-of-interest dot if you need to do more than one thing at the same location! More importantly (for my above-stated purposes anyway), the Map also shows you where a HOS *has* popped up. [Note: You have to look carefully, however, as the Map indicates the HOS with a rather fine-print, yellow *outline* of a magnifying glass.] Thus, the Map shows you exactly where you need to go, even though it doesn't actually take you there I should note that the Map may well show the Expert players an active puzzle, just as it is supposed to do for the Regular players. But I didn't get a chance to check this possible feature because, as I mentioned, the puzzles in this game were really *so* easy, I solved them all right on the spot, i.e., just as they did become "active." In short, if you are in the mood for some light fun, but not really looking for a complicated story or challenging puzzles and HOS's, you should really enjoy this game.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stop the whining. Ok game, too much running back to old locations (no clue why), but the worst part is the character's continuous whining and moaning about things. I just wanted to reach in and slap the girl. It opens with movie cut about granny and her mansion. Granny looks like she came from the 1800's but grandaughter so young she could be only a great great granddaughter. No hints other than the HO games. Map not much help, other than showing point of interest on locations and where exactly they are at the location. That was cool. No jumping via the map, so much time spent on running from one location to an other. Still better game than some I had to endure.
Date published: 2015-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been better... You'll probably need a walkthrough with this game as, despite an inovative mapping system, it's not always obvious what to do (especially given all the inventory collected and not immediately used and the lack of sparklies for inventory use). The setting is awesome, the talent is lame, and the music is strange...seems like it would be scary music instead of pirate music. The end is pretty lame. Some of the puzzles are cool, the Hiddens are pretty decent and realistic. Overall, I'd recommend it when compared to other IF games available simply for the puzzles and settings. An Alternative Name: Werewolves do NOT want to turn into Zombies....-or-...You take your pills!!
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Curse of the Werewolves Well, I was slightly disappointed. I should have gotten this game when it was $2.99. Instead I bought it at the $6.99 price. Some of the objects were hard to find, especially the tools to do some tasks. And I understand that there is a Bonus Chapter, only I didn't get to play it. I didn't see anything in the game that told me that, I saw it in the walkthrough. The end of the game was predictable. Grandma, what big ears you have! But, if you want something to do, this game is it.
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Strange game This is not your average HO game even though there are a ton of HOS in the game. As others have written, this is more like an old adventure game. Production: The presentation is good, I thought, though it is dark as others have mentioned. (Not so dark that you can't manage.) There aren't any VOs. There is a journal that follows the story well. Audio is very good - I liked the music. Story: An interesting story along the lines of old horror movies. The game has an end that isn't abrupt like some games. In fact, the story is completed very well via the hero telling it. Game play: Here's where all the good of the game goes to pot. There is LOTS of back and forth, and there is no jumping. The map is very good showing where action is needed and where the HOS are. The HOS are pretty bad with lots of tiny objects to find. The HINT button does not work during game play, and, in many cases, the use of objects is not intuitive. So, there is a lot of wandering around required. The puzzles are average. I recommend this game but not to the faint of heart. I got stuck, and I had to find a walkthrough. I recommend that you do the same - see the Forums. Unless, of course you like being frustrated. The game is fairly short, too short really. I did enjoy playing it though, but I guess maybe part of the reason I did is that it is a welcome relief from the typical fairy tale game that is prevalent on BF.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden Objects too dark I don't like HO's when they are dark on dark background. The game itself is a bit mundane as you just trawl around. Some puzzles were good as that is what I like to do as there is more of a challenge there. The ending explains what happened in a summary, so if you have got that far, don't skip it.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME - 9 CHAPTERS SE Animation/VOS - Good but not much of either. Rather disappointing. HOS - More of these than puzzles/mini-games. Scenes are murkey, gray and foggy inside and outdoors. Objects are small. Misclick Penalty - None Map/Compass - Tutorial states interactive but it did not transport for me. Perhaps I did something wrong. Journal - Records photos, Ashley's thoughts and discoveries, grandmother's notes, etc. Hint - For HOS only. Fairly fast recharge. Inventory - Lots of items and no place to use them. This game was a letdown for me and it wasn't what I expected. I started out well enough then got bogged down and needed help. Went into the forum and found a player's walkthrough (with a sense of humor) which I had to read and make notes to finish the game. It was tedious. If there is a sequel to this, I certainly hope the devs make much needed improvements.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been a good game Review based on the demo which I did finish. I liked the storyline and it did grip me in that I was interested in finding granny..lol. What let the game down was the very dark graphics and constant tooing and froing to find the HOS which would give you the item you needed to move forward. There were a lot of HOs which I don't like but they were quite challenging because of the dark, grainy graphics. Puzzles, what very few I remember were very easy. The map was useful in that it showed you where the HOs were and unfinished objectives, but not transporting which wasn't actually a problem because very few locations. The game is worth a bonus credit if nothing else you want to play.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best game Very frustrating game. Only worth a free game credit. A lot of the tasks made no sense at all. Had to go to another site for a walkthrough. The ending was very lame. Game wasn't very long compared to a lot of other HO games. Wouldn't waste any real money on this one. I only got it thinking it would get better.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden object plus a few puzzles This was a little challenging .... one of those games where you aren't really enjoying it but still want to see it through. Some of the actions required made little sense. The art work for the hidden object scenes left a lot to be desired plus they were too dark. The hint button was only good for the HO. The map was the only way to figure out your next move at some points but it wouldn't jump you to another spot. It is one of those annoying games that sends you 3, 4 or more scenes back for a HO. Story line did not have a surprise ending. It became very lame in the epilogue which made the whole thing a waste because the story line is important to me. This was just barely a OK game.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from too slow Easy game, flowed well because there wasn't much to it, but it was very repetitive with the hidden object games in going back to the same place all the time. I just couldn't get a handle on the storyline. Didn't work for me.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I need new glasses! I agree, some items were extremely small and the areas were way too dark. Graphics seemed good, music okay (I like sound FX, but not necessarily music), HOGs were pretty much junk piles. Some movements were a bit choppy. This could have been a very nice little game without much help. I couldn't finish the demo, because I got a headache trying to find some items. Not worth it to me..guess my eyes are too old. Too bad. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find it quite enjoyable. I have recommended this game because people with better eyes might like it. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok Ok HOG did not like the fact there was no hint button outside of the HOG's I spent the last 10 min of my free play trying to figure out what to do next. Not a game I will buy but I might use one of my free game coupons.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was OK I liked the game, but I do not know if i like it well enough to buy it, It was challenging in some areas and easy in other areas. HOS was to dark, so if you wear glasses that may be a problem. Map was ok but left you hanging at times, not showing any activities to do. So one had to search around a lot. The hint button I detested, it only gave a general area of the object and was only available in the HOS scenes. Some will like it. some will not. This is one game that is an individual choice.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure about this one. I had high hopes when I started playing this game, but halfway through the demo I began to lose interest. By the time I made it to the forest path I was done. The hint button wasn't very helpful, at least not in my mind. Or maybe I'm just spoiled. Anyway, by the tome I reached the forest path I had a ton of objects in my inventory, but none of them seemed to work. I ended up going back and forth from place to place without any success. Not for me, but some of HOG lovers might like it.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Werewolf and missing grandmother Played 45 minutes, regular - 2 modes, regular, expert - Note book - Map that shows area of interest, locations of H0 and mini games, you can't jump from one place to another with it - No hint outside H0 - Skip button - H0, you interact but the objects you have to find by interaction have no different color in the list, you just find out by yourself. Some objects are really tiny, pretty hard to find - Mini games not over difficult - Good graphics Your grandmother is missing. Statues of werewolves in the park...what happened !! Can't make up my mind about this one, I would like to know how it ends but I'm a bit put off by the game play........Might spend a punch card credit.
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I RAN OUT OF PATIENCE - SORRY GRANDMA REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME This game is most definitely not for everyone's taste and I lost my patience many times with it. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Regular and Expert modes of play; * Map (but not an interactive map); * Diary. The graphics are okay, but mostly it is very dark in most places and hard to know what to do next. Sound is good and the music is orchestral but doesn't really fit with the game. I expected more spooky darker music. There are a phenomenal amount of hidden object games to play - up to 3 in each scene. Now, the game can be very picky where you click on an object - you have to be very precise, especially in long skinny items like pens, arrows, etc. I found this to be quite frustrating at times because I knew it was the right item, but it took a good 3-4 clicks on different parts of the item to get it. I also noticed that some of the items are very small to see, so this would not be great for some fishies who would struggle with this. There are not a lot of mini-games to play, however I did play them all without any problem and enjoyed them. I didn't see any that were too hard or boring. I noticed from the beginning that areas of interest where you find items do not close after you have found them, which is weird. They stay open, even though there is nothing to do or collect in that particular area. I think that needs to be addressed in any future games. The map is not interactive but does show you where HOPs, mini-games or items of interest are if you get stuck. All up the game took me about 4 hours or so. I won't be playing it again. Definitely trial before you buy.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry!! Hard on the eyes. Don't know how the game progressed I stop at the first HO'S. What happened who ever did this game.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Muddy! I guess I cannot get past the muddy graphics. Everything is so small and dark. It does not challenge as much as annoy. I got through most of the free demo and realized I would rather let a free game coupon expire than play this.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WAS THIS LONG!! Yeah Walkthrough! I have been playing HOG for years and this was the darkest and hardest to pick out objects. They did one thing right in having a map which showed you where you had a HOG and a Red Spot for something you needed to do. BUT the map could have transported you back and forth because you were running around!! Last words: glad it is over! Reading in some forums some finally gave up...not fun.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Big Snooze! don't waste your time or money! this game was so boring! after you read the plot, it goes downhill from there. you do a few gray hos' and look around the scene picking up various objects. it really didn't hold my interest.
Date published: 2013-01-05
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_16856, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Curse of the Werewolves

Travel to a family manor and lift the mysterious Curse of the Werewolves in this blood-chilling and enthralling Hidden Object Adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.