Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems

Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(335.05 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Once upon a midnight dreary, as Lorenzo slept, weak and weary, the carnival master's star performers, Harold and Eliza, went missing! It’s up to you, an expert in the arcane and supernatural, to track them down. From the lair of a powerful alchemist to the mythological creatures of the Zephyr carnival, embark on an adventure through a world of magic and mystery. Will you save Harry and his wife, or will they be Nevermore? Find out in Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 538 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(335.05 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent graphics! And a puzzle version of a hidden object game. For a standard adventure, this is worth it.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PUZZLES!!! I confine my review to the puzzles aspect; all other features are well covered by existing reviews. Puzzles: finally, a game with creative graphics that's full of them and has a variety of levels of difficulty; some even requiring repeated attempts and a considerable number of moves to accomplish. Highly recommend on this point.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Kind of Game This is a game I would highly recommend to anyone who plays HO games for the puzzles, not the HO scenes. I played the demo and saw no HOs at all, but lots of creative, innovative puzzles hard enough for a good challenge, but not so hard you give up and skip them. I like to try to figure out the objective of the puzzle without clicking on the directions if I can, and because of the creativity of these puzzles, that's a welcome additional challenge. I am definitely buying this one. More like this, Big Fish, please!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of puzzles Very different from the standard Big Fish game, lots of various puzzles, some can be quite a challenge. Nice change if your looking for something a little different.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH WOW: a puzzler adventure More please! Really like thinky games: definitely a winner. Just give it a try and see if you do too. So wonderful to get away from hunting for objects in a list. Played this on the upper level and actually did some thinking! Graphics are excellent, perhaps a bit small on my little screen. In the hunt for the water valves, I couldn't find them without help. Puzzles without hand-holding are a puzzle just to figure out how they work. A great two-fer! The birds are beautiful without being sappy and sentimental (I'm a bit tired of the beautiful woman needs help routine). Game leads nicely from scene to scene, with some scenes shut off when the work is done to prevent to much wandering. Help button is useful - YAY. No "you can't accomplish anything more here" messages. This is great because you can still forget where you are going to use something you have found. Haven't finished yet, but couldn't keep going without saying how much I was enjoying it. Wish I had more like this to look forward to.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over the Rainbow! A Visual Banquet of Colors and Puzzles Galore! "We're not in Kansas anymore, Toto!" Witches and Magic and Creatures, oh my! Gi Games have poured their hearts and souls into this game! Audio, video, sound effects and artwork are all stunning and immediately captivate the senses. Not the usual hidden object scenes, player had to find ten or so objects in a scene, but, it is the puzzles and more puzzles that require gamers to put on their thinking caps. Humbly, this so-called "expert" had to skip a few puzzles and refer to the Walkthrough! Am I an expert gamer? Nevermore! Not the game for you if you want to breeze through and simply "follow the yellow-brick road". Enjoy! -Mama Mia- P.S. I cannot agree with MCF "Shadow Lake" winning BFG Game of the YEAR especially since it didn't come out until the end of the Year and BFG offers a free gift item with purchase. Rather--Mystery Trackers--Four Aces-Yes!!
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game is a Gem Loved this game. It's all puzzles and fun. I get very tired of too many HOS in many games. Graphics were great. A definite buy.
Date published: 2012-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it I loved the game with the various puzzles. Something different and very nice graphics. I had a lot of fun.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars because it is NOT a Hidden Object Game I love adventure games but when I see the "sparkly" areas, I know there is the dreaded hidden object part. It is so hard to find games that are not Hidden Object - adventure. I really wish that the website people here would create a separate category for adventure games that are NON Hidden Object games. Is there a place to ask for this service? Or someone here pass the request to separate NON Hidden Object games.into their own category. Please?
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Love this game. I couldn't believe it when my hour was up. It is definitely not a HOG - so far only a couple of scenes where it was "find 6 of this or 10 of that". Lots of puzzles which are not too difficult to figure out but take some time and patience to finish. Haven't had to skip one yet. The music and sound are very well done as is the scenery. The storyline is pretty basic and so far has not had much impact on the game. The only criticism is that some scene changes are slow to load but this is not really a big deal. So far it is a rather slow paced game and for my brain power on the day after Christmas it is perfect. I highly recommend this game if you like lots of puzzles. Be sure to give it a try.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puzzles Galore!!! No HOG's Here. Review based on Purchase and 3/4 completion of game. I can't believe the bad/low reviews! I had to stop playing and write a review. LOVE LOVE LOVE this game. If you're a fan of Hog you will probably not like this game.....there are ZERO. If you love puzzles you will be thrilled (I am!#. •There is one puzzle after another #like heavy HOG games#. •The storyline is good, not dark or gloomy, based upon unrequited love. •The graphics are painted and take some getting used to. •Hints tell you exactly what needs to be done. •Flow of game is very good; you stay in areas and can't advance until you complete tasks. You are given a task list. •Map: none, not needed •Journal •Very limited backtracking. Voice over for Lorenzo #circus owner# is excellent. Don't care much for the bird. •Puzzles: there are your usual pipes, dials that need colors to match, found one match 3 so far #again 3/4 into game#...some that are new and new twist on old standards. I have often wished for a game with just puzzles #much like hog fans get with games such as Clutter etc.). This is that game. Replay value? YES...the puzzles are literally one after the other, with just moments between. I'm off to continue playing....haven't had this much PC game fun in years!
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Adventure-Puzzle Game! I agree with Sheerija, BTW, thanks for your thorough reviews. I'm only about have way through, but want to give my opinion. I am thrilled with the puzzles, I've only played a couple run of the mill ones. I found most to be unique.This is the most challenging game I have played in a very long time. Definitely gives your brain a work out. Try the demo and see if you like it as much as I do!
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Puzzle Game This game has lots of puzzles for those of you who enjoy them. I am having so much fun with the puzzles that I look forward to the next one as the game progresses. In fact, I restarted the game just to play some of the puzzles a second time. The graphics are very colorful and well done, which is something I love in a game. The voice-overs are excellent. The developer has put so much into this game I am surprised that it wasn't released as a CE. All in all, a very nice game that I will enjoy playing many times.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME This is a must have for addicted puzzle fans and a no-no for HOG lovers, there aren't any, just puzzles. At first I wondered how to categorize it, as there are some things to find, but they appear in small boxes about 3x3" and are all the same object. They were rare, though. So, I have decided it is a Puzzle Adventure Game only. But what a cracker. BF says the graphics are hand painted. I do not know how that works in a computer game, but whoever did them is a gifted artist. They are gorgeous, surreal and sumptuous, a veritable visual banquet. The majority of the puzzles are extremely complex and intricately designed and they take some doing. I could not do them justice and regrettably spend much time waiting for the skip to fill. But I still would not have missed out on this. At first the story was just the usual make-believe supernatural fare that we see all the time. But there came a point when I was jolted out of that by a particularly disturbing turn of events and it became apparent that the villain of the piece was one of the most unpleasant I have ever encountered in a game. Not just in her deed, but moreso in her motives. It took on a very dark and sinister aspect, one that is prevalent in this world and one of the most dangerous and destructive. This game is not one I would want my underagers anywhere near. There is no visual explicitness, but it is obvious from what the main character writes, exactly what kind of thing he has been subjected to, and I found it very nasty indeed. Definitely adults only. The voice overs are good, as is the music. The navigation leaves a little to be desired, but I do stress the word little. Also some of the cut scenes are little sticky. It took me 5.5 hrs and I skipped about 25% of the puzzles, so for those dedicated "must and will solve it" players, look at about 6 hrs. Lovely piece of work, devs. A real delight to navigate through. Just brush up a little on the mechanics next time. But, thank you and thank you, BF too.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puzzles galore! True, there are no traditional HOS and true, the story line is weak as reported by other reviewers but this game has many interesting puzzles with varying degrees of difficulty that make it well worth the price.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puzzles, Puzzles & More Puzzles! :-) I like puzzles much better than HOS's. This game is chock full of them and I'll admit I skipped three. (I pride myself on never skipping puzzles but some of these would have taken me more than an hour to solve.) If YOU like puzzles, some quite challenging, you'll like this game. Won't even comment on the storyline because I pay no attention to that. It's not why I play these games. I like the challenge. A good game for me. Kept me playing for several hours. Music was good, graphics good, and no HOS's.
Date published: 2014-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Terrific PUZZLE game!!!! If you are not a fan of puzzles then this is NOT the game for you but it IS the game for ME!!! The only hidden object lists were ones you find multiples of like find 6 valves or find 5 wrenches and the rest of the time instead of list hidden object scenes, you were solving puzzles!! I absolutely adore the concept of this game. So refreshing to have a pure puzzle game instead of lists!! The puzzles were some of the same ones we know but with a twist and also some newbies. The puzzles do repeat because you have to go back to the same places to do tasks sometimes. I only skipped a few puzzles as I cannot stand the ones where you have a board with one tile missing and you must slide the tiles around until they are in the proper spaces. There was also a few tricky math ones I just could not work out but the skip button refills and on expert, it took about 2 minutes but that was enough for me to try a puzzle and either do it in that time or give up and just in the right amount of time before Id get frustrated! The story of this game is a lost loved one but an evil witch turned the hero into a phoenix parrot like bird that talks to you and leads you. The hint button is helpful because when pushed, it gives you a synopsis above the inventory of where to go. Only thing about this game is that there is no map but I never felt like I really needed one as there isn't a lot of backtracking. The crimson gems did break the curse but there really that many of them. I thought Id be collecting them for awhile but that part is quite short lived and the rest of the game is doing puzzles either to open doors, do spells, make things, take things apart, help out others. I just love that this is a PURE puzzle game and so well done!!! It is so refreshing to play a game that gives you puzzles to open things instead of finding keys, bas reliefs, animals, helpers to do it. If you want in, you have to use your brains! The developers are GI. I think I have heard of them before but can't think of another game they do and can't find a website that would tell me. Anyways, this is a job well done! The story was interesting and the puzzles were unique and I felt so accomplished solving them. On expert there are no sparkles even on puzzle scenes! So nice when developers actually make it hard for people who want it hard. I really enjoyed playing this game and I can only hope other developers realize that although a lot of people love hidden object games (me me!!) that its nice to have an adventure game too especially a pure puzzle game for us puzzle fanatics! Kudos. It ends satisfactory and I definitely recommend this to puzzle fans!!!
Date published: 2013-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Nice Graphics, Sounds & General Game Play ... Nothing Flash, Just An Enjoyable Game ... Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2013-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Forgot Why I Bought It... I didn't get the chance to play this game until about 2 weeks or so after purchase because I had some issues. But once I began to play it again, I wasn't sure why I chose to buy this one. But the more I got into it, I remembered. The storyline was an interesting one and a cohesive one. The "happy ending" was bittersweet. It was fun to play because some of the mini hidden object scenes were ones in which you had to find maybe 10-15 of one item. The mini games were somewhat challenging for me. So that was good. The visuals were sharp, as I like it. Overall, I think it was a good purchase. I see that this game has mixed reviews. So make sure you take advantage of the 1 hour trial on this one. However, I still recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Gem Yup... hidden "gem"... I know. It was a fun little game though. The HOs were all items relevant to the story.. find this many pipes, find that many twigs, etc. I enjoy adventure more than HO so that was a nice change. The puzzles were hit or miss, some were fun, but most were the old-school frustratingly tedious type. The skip worked pretty quickly on whichever difficulty I played on (I don't remember) so I skipped about half of them. The storyline was different! There's a twist that you won't expect out of these types of games... nicely done!
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enchanting puzzle adventure! Not a HO in sight... TITLE—Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems VERSION—Standard Edition (full game) DEVELOPER—GameInvest GENRE—Puzzle Adventure (dark fantasy) STORYLINE—Your reputation as an extraordinary investigator of the arcane and supernatural has preceded you! Lorenzo, ringmaster of the traveling Carnivale Zephyr, has hired you to discover the whereabouts of his star performers, Harold and Eliza, who've gone missing. He suspects Abigale Usherton, because she's been harassing Harold. Plus, the locals say she's a witch. So, off you go to Usherton Manor to save the day! OVERVIEW—This is not a HOG, although there are places where you're asked to find 10 pieces of a painting within a small pop-up window. This is a pure puzzle adventure game. And there are lots and lots of puzzles of all types. The length of your game largely depends on how long it takes you to solve the puzzles…and how many you skip. GAMEPLAY—Standard point 'n' click travel, collect items, and investigate areas of interest. This game doesn't lead you by the nose, so be prepared to fire some neurons and utilize some memory cells. You'll collect items for use here and there, solve a myriad of puzzles from simple to complex, but you won't be trolling through junkpiles. INTERFACE—The black bar is at the bottom, just above your inventory, which takes a bit of getting used to. You have a journal and a hint meter, and there are two levels of difficulty. There's no map, but you don't really need one. Each puzzle comes with directions, accessed by mousing over the question mark icon. There were a couple of puzzles where the directions weren't entirely clear, but I did manage to figure out what needed to be done. TECHNICAL—No issues. GRAPHICS—Enchanting hand-painted backgrounds help to immerse you into the game's universe. The use of color is stunning. In the find objects scenes, there are a few that are difficult to see, but not enough to warrant subtracting from my rating. Suffice it to say that the contrast could have been a bit better. Slight warning: there is a rather gruesome depiction at one point. You might want to keep the young ones away from this game. CUTSCENES—Jittery animation and no lip synching, but they are well-detailed. MUSIC—Honestly, other than during the titles, I didn't notice it, and I did have it turned up. SOUND—Appropriate and not annoying. VOICEOVER—Fairly well done on the part of Abigale. Harold was a bit melodramatic, and Lorenzo's accent seemed a bizarre combination of Inigo Montoya and Arnold Schwarzeneggar. There are subtitles and you can click through. SUMMARY—This is my first experience with this developer's products, so I don't know if they have other games, but I give this one a hearty "well done." It made a nice change from HOGs and FROGs and really stretched my brain by offering some difficult puzzles. I did find it a tad short, but I did skip a couple of the really challenging puzzles. Since there was a lot of substance to this game—instead of repetitive HOs and backtracking—I won't downgrade for length. I thought the graphics were beautifully done and I'm interesting to see more from this dev. I recommend this game if you like puzzles.
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the crimson gems The Crimson gems game is a fun game to play. I liked it a lot.
Date published: 2013-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining but not for HOG players I read some really critical reviews but they seemed way off base. Linear game play was smooth with excellent puzzle challenges. Game has a couple match 3 style puzzles that gave a bit of change of pace. The story line was easy to follow with the occasional help of the colorful bird character. Graphics were pretty good and objects needed for game play were easy to spot. It is a bright and colorful game. I did have a technical issue with the bird room not displaying backdrop of the screen but all the important objects were clearly visible to complete task. Help function did not give exact details of what needed to be done but gave enough information to get me going back in the right direction. Voice-overs were clear and were not at all amateurish. The overall game play was a little shorter than most games I've played but I did not lose interest by having to spend time doing none essential task like running all over the place. Location changes were smooth and quick. In the end I am glad I purchased the game instead of going by some of the bad reviews.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puzzles galore I think I've seen this game before, I demoed it at least a year ago and have been looking for it. this is not a HOG A very good puzzle adventure beautiful artwork with loads of color puzzles [tons of them] range from easy to hard. I'm a puzzle lover and I had to finally skip a few. The game had several find 10 of this or that no map but no to much backtracking helpful hint button so if your a puzzle fan and tired of all gray games, give it a try I think you'll enjoy.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun puzzle game Just finished this game, have to say I really enjoyed it. Not much of a HOG however there are a handful of scenes that requre you to find some certain items such as 10 coins etc..these are presented in smaller windows in the middle of the screen so those with smaller moniters may want to check out the demo first. The puzzles in the game range from somewhat simple to head scratchers that you may want to skip here and there, I myself skipped maybe 10% of the puzzles and this only after fiddling with those few for sometime as some were just a bit too frustrating and there aren't any achievments for not skipping etc... Puzzles feature pipe navigation, color wheel manipulation,sliding tile puzzles,fitting pieces into boxes correctly,manipulating tiles allowing the piece to slide out the center, some math rotating dial puzzles and a few other ones. I thought the story was pretty cool and a bit darker from the norm I think playing so many HOG and puzzle games you tend to expect stories to be similar and even though this is..it still was a bit darker with a small twist. Graphics are decent for what they are very nice hand drawn and the voiceovers aren't too bad. The game is a stretched widescreen like so many games, I wish more companies would just make all games widescreen considering most of us have widescreen moniters. All in all it took me about 3-4 hours finish the game wasn't really keeping track but had I not have skipped puzzles I would give it a solid 4 hours so not too bad. Check it out.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fun - creative, imaginative, interesting! I have just finished the demo and will be purchasing. The storyline is interesting, just a bit "spooky" (If you can deal with "Hansel and Gretel", this is just fine.) There are two difficulty levels. (I played on the Casual level.) The graphics are very good, with lovely, bright colors, There are good voice overs for dialogue and a very good hint system. In places where you are "checking" to see what something might reveal to help you, there will be a written comment in a banner above your inventory. There is a really good journal that stays open to where you last read an entry. The mini-games are unusually creative, imaginative and intriguing. If you want to skip a mini-game, you can. The music is both beautiful and relaxing. I believe the length will be quite good; based on the number of entries to be made in the journal, and how many I had gotten through in the 60 minute trial. (I was just a "smidge" past one-quarter.) I did skip one mini-game and took my time admiring the beautiful scenes. If we could give half-stars, I would give this four and one-half. Lots to enjoy - have fun!
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure Game Two circus performers are missing and feared kidnapped by an evil witch. Review based on 45 minutes of demo time. No junk pile HOs. Find 10 jewels; 10 pieces of a ripped up painting; find an occasional tool; that sort of hidden object scenes. Lots of puzzles; many are more difficult that the average hidden-object-puzzle adventure games. I skipped some of the puzzles because I wanted to get as far as I could during the demo time and some of them were going to take quite a while to solve.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had Me Backwards The music is relaxing. The story was okay. Good game for kids and adults. It took me a few minutes to realize the info when clicking on something was in a band below instead up at the top of the screen. The hint button told me exactly what to do next. The puzzles were fairly good. On the easy side. The graphics were very good. The flow of the game was okay. I would probably make this one one of my free ones on a rainy day. I founding the game some what relaxing. Some Hos and some interaction with atmosphere or animals would have been nice. Maybe on the collectors??
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a Fan of Puzzles. Based on completion of the demo in the easiest of the 2 options. This has no hidden object scenes -- it's strictly puzzles. There is a story line with inventory objects to find and use. The skip and hint seem to recharge quickly. The music is sort of dreamy and I'm sure at some point I would get tired of it and silence it. The visual is very pretty, which is the thing I liked best about this game. Since I skipped about half the puzzles I will not buy, even though it's $2.99. Why buy a game where I will skip most of the major focus? Please play the demo and read some reviews to make an informed choice.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i didn't really like this game too well. i didn't care for this game. i played casual and low sound. the hints and skip buttons took about 60 seconds or more to charge. wasted time because i needed hints a good bit. no map. journal but i didn't see that it helped much. not giving a very good review but i really didn't like it. the mini games seemed very hard for me so all told not for me. i will recommend it because to each their own, but i would recommend the demo first just to be sure you like it.
Date published: 2014-02-18
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_16921, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems

Save a loving couple from the clutches of a powerful alchemist in Break the Curse: The Crimson Gems!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.