The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Long-forgotten memories bubble to the surface when the past invades the present in Lake House: Children of Silence! Located at the edge of a gloomy lake and shrouded in fog, the house at the center of this story has stood empty for 15 years. Beckoned by what appears to be a ghost, a woman who lived there as a child returns to the house to solve a mystery that begins with an old photograph and ends in a secret room. Find hidden objects, solve puzzles and prepare yourself for an ending that will take you to a place darker than you can imagine!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Gameplay
  • Ten high resolution wallpapers
  • Strategy guide
  • Media Gallery

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1045 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sad story but great game structure Well this isn't a fairy tale at all but it has a good backtracking game structure, few but well done HOS, easy puzzles and good lenght. Complaints : the graphics are a bit blurry and the main color is grey, there are no collections or achievements.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL GROWN UP AND DRAWN BACK TO CHILDHOOD SUMMARY: Took 3 ¾ hours to play this somewhat spooky adventure-HOG. Hand-drawn artwork lends itself perfectly with the moody and mysterious atmosphere. Plenty of HOS with cleverly-drawn objects and a wide variety of puzzles. If you have the CE, the bonus chapters are about ¼ of the length of the main game. Very well-thought out and put together game. Surprise ending. DETAILS: • Gripping story holds your interest to the end. • Watch portions of the characters’ childhood through film reels found throughout the game. • Incredible animation at times, when completely unexpected. • Good ratio of HOS to puzzles. Fun puzzles sometimes have a little adventure attached to them for added interest. HOS are crowded but you can find everything – note that occasionally an object will be at the very edge of the screen. They seemed to get more crowded the deeper into the game you went. Some imaginative puzzles are more challenging, but they are small enough to be solvable (ex: you need to place objects in the pathway of only 3 steeplechasers so that all finish at the same time). • Very helpful and very fast-recharging hint system in casual mode. • Map – didn’t seem to be interactive, so I only used it once near the end when I forgot where some place was. It’s not really needed as there are a limited number of environments to explore at any one time.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it, worth the money. Great game. Never played a game that had so many different types of mini games. I hope this is a wonderful trend.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I really enjoyed playing this game. The game revolves around a childhood trauma experienced by one of the main characters. You play as her fiance and you accompany her to the house where she grew up. The graphics are excellent, the voice overs and cut scenes are well done and the music is acceptable. The iHOS are crisp and mini games are fun. There is a journal and map. The map is not interactive, but does show you where the "to do" items are located. You go to several locations as you work through the game and each of them are nicely done. There is a built in SG, but I never opened it. You collect film strips during the game and they "play" in a projector. You can replay them during the game. Each clip gives you a piece of the story. While I think the developers gave away the twist a bit early, it was still nicely handled. The ending of the main game was very satisfying. The bonus chapter was a great addition and had it's own twist. I thoroughly enjoyed the bonus chapter and felt it was a great addition to the game. The other bonus material is pretty standard for a CE except for the trivia portion which is unlocked once you complete the bonus chapter. The trivia was quite amusing. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic game This is an amazing story and alot of work has gone into it. Absolutely brilliant and absorbing, challenging, and they slowly reveal the story by little film clips. Excellent length, tho am only half way through - cant wait to continue. Definite buy - came out last year but only just released for Mac. Wonder how many others us Mac users have missed!!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game to play This is a good game to play. The music goes along with the game. The graphics are good and has voice over. Great story line. The game is not hard to play but if worth playing because it is good. Nothing to find in collectables. The HOS are different and a nice change of just finding HO, these are interactive. The puzzles are good. Nothing hard here just a good game. Wish these games would come out on MAC. I will get the SE because the bonus is not all really needed for this one.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best of its kind The story kept me hooked. The game play was very intuitive so it was logical when you determined what your next move should be. Took some thought, but not so difficult or confusing as to be completely frustrating. Great game. Would buy another by these developers.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Lake House Children of silence Was great and kept me interested. Wasn't to difficult to actually find clues.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope I get to visit Lake House Again!!! I truly enjoyed this game. It was stunningly visual and the level of difficulty was just enough to keep me challenged all the way through. Bonus Content was exceptional as well. I would play the series again!
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A game I enjoyed & was able to easily complete Some games are not too logical in finding items but I enjoyed this game and on the easiest mode, I found the game play smooth and the puzzles interesting and it was not difficult to work out what to do
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, and wish there were more like it! The game ran very smoothly, no glitches, the graphics were nice and the music wasn’t annoying at all. The hint button on the relaxed play was as I wish all of them were, very fast to charge. As was the skip button on the games. This game had the map, had things labeled correctly and was a refreshingly designed game. So many of these styles of game can be frustrating to play because of lack of maps, lack of things being mislabeled etc… That was not the case with this game at all. LOVED IT!
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best game I've ever played This game is perfect for a rainy day. If you like gripping ghost stories you will certainly enjoy the storyline. It has an unusual story, but I liked it. Discovering abandoned houses and towns is always very interesting. The games is a real gem, I never got bored while playing it. The puzzles are exciting to solve and the bonus chapter is great!
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting game I really enjoyed this game. Not boring and pretty good storyline. Pros: -Good graphics; could have been a little better in some parts. -HOS were pretty easy for the most part. -Puzzles were good; not too easy but not too difficult. -Bonus play added a good twist to the main game. -Length of game was pretty good; took me approx 5 hours. -Length of bonus chapter was also pretty good; took me approx 1-2 hours. -Hint was useful in directing me where to go; hint fills up at a good speed. -Skip fills up at a good speed; did not use the skip though. Cons: -No map; you had to keep going back and forth most of the time. -A little too many HOS; each one was done at least twice, (a couple were done 3 times). -Very beginning of game did seem boring; beginning was too long in my opinion. -Journal was not very useful; hardly used it.
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutley love this game! I love the storyline,the characters and especially the game art.Its a very beautiful and haunting game.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game This was a nice well rounded game, with non-intrusive music, beautiful graphics, multiple locations, intriguing storyline and different puzzles. The bonus game was thoroughly enjoyable and added to the experience. A top notch game. Looking forward to the sequel.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and exciting Top game with a thrilling story
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful experience in the derelict town of Riverdale This game was simply amazing! I just loved to explore the abandoned town of Riverdale and I felt completely enthralled in the story. This game has no bad or annoying things about it at all. The graphics were wonderful, the music was really soothing, the characters were interesting, I felt everything that the characters were supposed to fell for themselves. My favorite character was Tommy's manifestation to Henry. It was an amazing character and the voice work was impecable. By the end of the game, everytime I saw the mask, I was really creeped out and just wanted it destroyed once and for all. There weren't too many hidden objects scenes and the items were easy to spot. I loved the bonus chapter, I felt that it was a perfect epilogue for the story and the rain effects were supreme. Other thing that I really liked was the "Trivia" section, it was really interesting and fun to read those informations regarding "Children of Silence". Overall, "The Lake House: Children of Silence" has not only a utterly touching and wonderfully told story (as well as a magnificent presentation), but it also has a great adventure to offer you and I think you will definitely remember this game for quite a long time.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy for Me This game was a bit creepy. Even made me jump a little which is hard to do. Graphics were great. Love all of strange things that move as well as cute things that react when you put a cursor on them during game and in the HO's. I really liked the HO's. The game had me completely absorbed. But after reading some disappointing things on the bonus I will settle for the SE. To bad because a great bonus chapter would had me buying the CE. I also like to see games left open for Sequels and this would had made a great Sequel. Characters were good, the story was great. I had a great time. The music was relaxing but wish there always was a bigger bouquet of different music with each game.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this game! I purchased the CE and glad that I did. Nice music, lovely graphics, good characters. From beginning to end I really, truly enjoyed this game. The story flows nicely, games are varied with just the right degree of difficulty (for me) and there are just enough HOS to keep you going but not so many that it goes overboard. Definitely a good way to spend a few hours. The ONLY improvement I would have liked for this game is that the map be interactive in that you could click a location and arrive there. There isn't an inordinate amount of running back and forth, what running there is is not excessive.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Lake House - children of silence - is tops This is the best HOG of the year -- and of 2012, too. The coolest thing is: once in awhile, I actually had an object in inventory when I needed it, which is a big "hurray." And it's rare that I want to watch the skip scenes but this one captivates. Fun from beginning to end. And the ending gave me chills.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth reccomending! Time for my first review ever and this is absolutely worth it! I was hooked after just ten minutes of playing. Lucky this was a game that challenged me and it felt like I was playing for a long time. Fun, unexpecting and enjoying!
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun! Fun game. Fairly easy with a good storyline and nice animation.
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game This is one of the most satisfying games I have played. The graphics are clean, the characters are well drawn, the voice overs are good. The puzzles are a nice mixture of HOG and interesting and different puzzles. The hint button is very helpful and refreshes quickly, so the Strategy Guide is not needed. However, the CE is worth it because the bonus adventure moves the game along nicely and provides a quite satisfying ending.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing Story with Great Atmosphere ALWR, should be proud of themselves once again for being able to communicate both an inspired and dramatic story with such extraordinary skill. This game was done by ALWR’s team that did “Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father.” And it’s painfully obviously that they have a high aptitude for excellence. The atmosphere was somber and murky, but they were able to make it colorful without damaging the tone of the game. I wish more developers realized that you can to sad and eerie without overblown darkness. The colors and tones were more subtle and washed out, but it made for a landscape that was very compelling and striking. And when you add in the music that was very moving and emotional along with elements like the rain, it just all worked the way it should. Thankfully, the game just wasn’t a treasure hunt for collectables and trophies. I like that stuff, too. But I would hate to think that the title of Collector’s Edition would only be bestowed upon games that rely heavily on side gimmicks because they can’t illustrate a thought or tell a real story. At times it felt like you were traveling through a very good illustrated book, and on other occasions you could sense the “Friday the 13th” Camp Crystal Lake/Jason Voorhees undertones. Their games always force you to be attentive. You can never sleep on them or you’ll miss something important. It’s a long and rigorous exercise. This is the type of game that’s easy to overlook or dismiss because it’s not like, “Wow! Look at me! I’m jumping through fire!!!” But it’s a journey worth taking. The strategy guide is 353 pages long with the first 1-258 pages, 14 chapters, being the main game. And pages 259-353 are dedicated to the 4 bonus chapters. Now the strategy guide was somewhat controversial for me because it was done like a photo album. It was a pure visual walkthrough without any text. It fit in with the theme of the game, but it was odd. It worked. But a bit of a risk. If you haven’t played “Lake House: The Children of Silence” or ALWR’S other game “Eternal Journey: New Atlantis,” then I think you’re missing out. The craftsmanship is just so artful and intelligent that I would recommend both of them. Overall, if I could describe ALWR in a few words: thorough, thoughtful, complete, exhaustive, and deliberate. All compliments. But as another reviewer said, an “A for ‘The A-Team.’”
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quietly Excellent Game Lovely mystery game! Pros: Wonderful atmosphere, beautiful graphics, smooth game play, gentle, moody music. Voice acting well done. Some fairly original puzzles. Cons: A couple of pretty major plot holes due to a plot edit after Beta. Why would there be a ghost? Extras: Great bonus play, worth the money. One particularly charming bit of "trivia" - the staff had no fewer than three marriages during development. Congratulations! Overall: A winner despite a potentially disastrous change in POV from heroine to hero. Nice balance in the bonus.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game This is one of the better games I have played...the Graphics were good, I liked the storyline, and there were Hidden Objects that were reasonable to find, not impossible, and were not weird renditions of whatever the developer felt like maing in HO...I realized after playing the 1st hour, I wanted to buy the Collector's Edition...Also that Bonus content (i.e. additional hidden object play) made it well worthwhile....My high reviews were consistent with th other high reviews I read....This was worth the CE price....for me.!!!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game worth the money Overall I really enjoyed the game, a little different spin on the usual. Nice effects, good puzzles and help if needed. It lasted quite a while which was nice and I enjoyed the story line. Creepy atmosphere, so worth the money.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story line Excellent artwork. Storyline would make a good horror movie, albeit not too scary. Did not need strategy guide, as the hint button was a good guide. Game length was excellent as it took me on and off about three days to play. Last scene gave away the country of origin (good ending, too).
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creeptastic! After reading all of the earlier reviews and noticing that this was listed as the #1 game, I decided to give it a try. I was thoroughly creeped out by this game. It actually gave me the chills. The graphics are stunning. The music was appropriately unnerving and the storyline had me hooked. There is a sense of urgency and also a feeling of having to look over your shoulder. I was convinced that things were going to spring out at me during the HOS. Definitely not for the younger age group. The evil toys are enough to give mine nightmares. This is at the top of my Wish List now.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alawar did it again! Currently my favorite developer, Alawar keeps on giving us best games with best storyline there is. After finishing Forbidden Secrets: Alien Town, I was once again spoilt with this one. Leave it to Alawar for giving us best games and best storyline with great graphics, music and games to top it all. There are backtracking but they're manageable. Skip button very fast and map, although not interactive, you dont really need it because it's quite clear on what you have to do next. Love the concept, the creepiness and of course, the storyline, I couldn't guess who it is until the last minute. Definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2013-01-07
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_16910, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

Long-forgotten memories bubble to the surface when the past invades the present in the Collector's Edition of Lake House: Children of Silence!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.