The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Long-forgotten memories bubble to the surface when the past invades the present in Lake House: Children of Silence! Located at the edge of a gloomy lake and shrouded in fog, the house at the center of this story has stood empty for 15 years. Beckoned by what appears to be a ghost, a woman who lived there as a child returns to the house to solve a mystery that begins with an old photograph and ends in a secret room. Find hidden objects, solve puzzles and prepare yourself for an ending that will take you to a place darker than you can imagine!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Gameplay
  • Ten high resolution wallpapers
  • Strategy guide
  • Media Gallery

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1045 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 132.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sad story but great game structure Well this isn't a fairy tale at all but it has a good backtracking game structure, few but well done HOS, easy puzzles and good lenght. Complaints : the graphics are a bit blurry and the main color is grey, there are no collections or achievements.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL GROWN UP AND DRAWN BACK TO CHILDHOOD SUMMARY: Took 3 ¾ hours to play this somewhat spooky adventure-HOG. Hand-drawn artwork lends itself perfectly with the moody and mysterious atmosphere. Plenty of HOS with cleverly-drawn objects and a wide variety of puzzles. If you have the CE, the bonus chapters are about ¼ of the length of the main game. Very well-thought out and put together game. Surprise ending. DETAILS: • Gripping story holds your interest to the end. • Watch portions of the characters’ childhood through film reels found throughout the game. • Incredible animation at times, when completely unexpected. • Good ratio of HOS to puzzles. Fun puzzles sometimes have a little adventure attached to them for added interest. HOS are crowded but you can find everything – note that occasionally an object will be at the very edge of the screen. They seemed to get more crowded the deeper into the game you went. Some imaginative puzzles are more challenging, but they are small enough to be solvable (ex: you need to place objects in the pathway of only 3 steeplechasers so that all finish at the same time). • Very helpful and very fast-recharging hint system in casual mode. • Map – didn’t seem to be interactive, so I only used it once near the end when I forgot where some place was. It’s not really needed as there are a limited number of environments to explore at any one time.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it, worth the money. Great game. Never played a game that had so many different types of mini games. I hope this is a wonderful trend.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I really enjoyed playing this game. The game revolves around a childhood trauma experienced by one of the main characters. You play as her fiance and you accompany her to the house where she grew up. The graphics are excellent, the voice overs and cut scenes are well done and the music is acceptable. The iHOS are crisp and mini games are fun. There is a journal and map. The map is not interactive, but does show you where the "to do" items are located. You go to several locations as you work through the game and each of them are nicely done. There is a built in SG, but I never opened it. You collect film strips during the game and they "play" in a projector. You can replay them during the game. Each clip gives you a piece of the story. While I think the developers gave away the twist a bit early, it was still nicely handled. The ending of the main game was very satisfying. The bonus chapter was a great addition and had it's own twist. I thoroughly enjoyed the bonus chapter and felt it was a great addition to the game. The other bonus material is pretty standard for a CE except for the trivia portion which is unlocked once you complete the bonus chapter. The trivia was quite amusing. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic game This is an amazing story and alot of work has gone into it. Absolutely brilliant and absorbing, challenging, and they slowly reveal the story by little film clips. Excellent length, tho am only half way through - cant wait to continue. Definite buy - came out last year but only just released for Mac. Wonder how many others us Mac users have missed!!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful experience in the derelict town of Riverdale This game was simply amazing! I just loved to explore the abandoned town of Riverdale and I felt completely enthralled in the story. This game has no bad or annoying things about it at all. The graphics were wonderful, the music was really soothing, the characters were interesting, I felt everything that the characters were supposed to fell for themselves. My favorite character was Tommy's manifestation to Henry. It was an amazing character and the voice work was impecable. By the end of the game, everytime I saw the mask, I was really creeped out and just wanted it destroyed once and for all. There weren't too many hidden objects scenes and the items were easy to spot. I loved the bonus chapter, I felt that it was a perfect epilogue for the story and the rain effects were supreme. Other thing that I really liked was the "Trivia" section, it was really interesting and fun to read those informations regarding "Children of Silence". Overall, "The Lake House: Children of Silence" has not only a utterly touching and wonderfully told story (as well as a magnificent presentation), but it also has a great adventure to offer you and I think you will definitely remember this game for quite a long time.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy for Me This game was a bit creepy. Even made me jump a little which is hard to do. Graphics were great. Love all of strange things that move as well as cute things that react when you put a cursor on them during game and in the HO's. I really liked the HO's. The game had me completely absorbed. But after reading some disappointing things on the bonus I will settle for the SE. To bad because a great bonus chapter would had me buying the CE. I also like to see games left open for Sequels and this would had made a great Sequel. Characters were good, the story was great. I had a great time. The music was relaxing but wish there always was a bigger bouquet of different music with each game.
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Lake House - children of silence - is tops This is the best HOG of the year -- and of 2012, too. The coolest thing is: once in awhile, I actually had an object in inventory when I needed it, which is a big "hurray." And it's rare that I want to watch the skip scenes but this one captivates. Fun from beginning to end. And the ending gave me chills.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game This is one of the most satisfying games I have played. The graphics are clean, the characters are well drawn, the voice overs are good. The puzzles are a nice mixture of HOG and interesting and different puzzles. The hint button is very helpful and refreshes quickly, so the Strategy Guide is not needed. However, the CE is worth it because the bonus adventure moves the game along nicely and provides a quite satisfying ending.
Date published: 2013-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing Story with Great Atmosphere ALWR, should be proud of themselves once again for being able to communicate both an inspired and dramatic story with such extraordinary skill. This game was done by ALWR’s team that did “Dark Strokes: Sins of the Father.” And it’s painfully obviously that they have a high aptitude for excellence. The atmosphere was somber and murky, but they were able to make it colorful without damaging the tone of the game. I wish more developers realized that you can to sad and eerie without overblown darkness. The colors and tones were more subtle and washed out, but it made for a landscape that was very compelling and striking. And when you add in the music that was very moving and emotional along with elements like the rain, it just all worked the way it should. Thankfully, the game just wasn’t a treasure hunt for collectables and trophies. I like that stuff, too. But I would hate to think that the title of Collector’s Edition would only be bestowed upon games that rely heavily on side gimmicks because they can’t illustrate a thought or tell a real story. At times it felt like you were traveling through a very good illustrated book, and on other occasions you could sense the “Friday the 13th” Camp Crystal Lake/Jason Voorhees undertones. Their games always force you to be attentive. You can never sleep on them or you’ll miss something important. It’s a long and rigorous exercise. This is the type of game that’s easy to overlook or dismiss because it’s not like, “Wow! Look at me! I’m jumping through fire!!!” But it’s a journey worth taking. The strategy guide is 353 pages long with the first 1-258 pages, 14 chapters, being the main game. And pages 259-353 are dedicated to the 4 bonus chapters. Now the strategy guide was somewhat controversial for me because it was done like a photo album. It was a pure visual walkthrough without any text. It fit in with the theme of the game, but it was odd. It worked. But a bit of a risk. If you haven’t played “Lake House: The Children of Silence” or ALWR’S other game “Eternal Journey: New Atlantis,” then I think you’re missing out. The craftsmanship is just so artful and intelligent that I would recommend both of them. Overall, if I could describe ALWR in a few words: thorough, thoughtful, complete, exhaustive, and deliberate. All compliments. But as another reviewer said, an “A for ‘The A-Team.’”
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quietly Excellent Game Lovely mystery game! Pros: Wonderful atmosphere, beautiful graphics, smooth game play, gentle, moody music. Voice acting well done. Some fairly original puzzles. Cons: A couple of pretty major plot holes due to a plot edit after Beta. Why would there be a ghost? Extras: Great bonus play, worth the money. One particularly charming bit of "trivia" - the staff had no fewer than three marriages during development. Congratulations! Overall: A winner despite a potentially disastrous change in POV from heroine to hero. Nice balance in the bonus.
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game This is one of the better games I have played...the Graphics were good, I liked the storyline, and there were Hidden Objects that were reasonable to find, not impossible, and were not weird renditions of whatever the developer felt like maing in HO...I realized after playing the 1st hour, I wanted to buy the Collector's Edition...Also that Bonus content (i.e. additional hidden object play) made it well worthwhile....My high reviews were consistent with th other high reviews I read....This was worth the CE price....for me.!!!
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creeptastic! After reading all of the earlier reviews and noticing that this was listed as the #1 game, I decided to give it a try. I was thoroughly creeped out by this game. It actually gave me the chills. The graphics are stunning. The music was appropriately unnerving and the storyline had me hooked. There is a sense of urgency and also a feeling of having to look over your shoulder. I was convinced that things were going to spring out at me during the HOS. Definitely not for the younger age group. The evil toys are enough to give mine nightmares. This is at the top of my Wish List now.
Date published: 2013-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alawar did it again! Currently my favorite developer, Alawar keeps on giving us best games with best storyline there is. After finishing Forbidden Secrets: Alien Town, I was once again spoilt with this one. Leave it to Alawar for giving us best games and best storyline with great graphics, music and games to top it all. There are backtracking but they're manageable. Skip button very fast and map, although not interactive, you dont really need it because it's quite clear on what you have to do next. Love the concept, the creepiness and of course, the storyline, I couldn't guess who it is until the last minute. Definitely worth buying.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAGNIFICENT GAME!! SEQUEL PERHAPS?? Now this is the way a game should be designed!!! Review based on completed game (CE) including bonus chapter. Animation/VOS - Excellent!! Characters were beautifully drawn and very realistic. Music - Soft for the most part, not intrusive. IHOS - Animated, repeated, some junk piles, usual small to larger objects, clear, one showed shapes and the others were lists, get at least 2 items in most of the scenes. Misclick Penalty - Screen becomes foggy for a second. Inventory - Objects used fairly quickly in other locations. Hint - Recharges quickly and acts as a guide. Map - Does not transport. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Usual fare of easy to difficult. Can be skipped. More IHOS. Loved the film strips that showed to give you more info. Journal - Lists info, photos, etc. collected. Great deal of back tracking so keep a good pair of running shoes handy. The end was a surprise so do play the bonus chapter. Kudos to BFG and the devs for this gem!!! Loved it!!!
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME Wow! What an attention grabber. The graphics are FANTASTIC. It took me a while to finish the game because every time I entered a new scene I was mesmerized with the color, the animals and their movements, and just the overall picture. The music was very relaxing which, I think for me, prompted me to really look at the scenes. Excellent game. I recommend it.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Not much more we could ask for. Great game, good length on its own and good ending. Long bonus chapter, with better more conclusive ending. Hint button points you in the right direction so you do not even need the SG ever. Music was good, HOS were artfully drawn and not frustratingly small nor hazy. Although a sad story, it was interesting and somewhat satisfying. Worth the money especially because I wanted to play it more when it ended and the bonus chapter just cured that itch.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to stop playing! I absolutely loved this game. Not to much back tracking like some games. Graphics are excellent. This one keeps you on the edge of your seat! It was hard for me stop playing. The need to see were the journey continues is exciting. Puzzles are pretty straight forward. The bonus game was well made. Bonus game had similar scenes, but different objectives to complete.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!!! This by far has been the best game I have played in a long time. It was long enough that I had to take breaks--I dont like buying one and being down in 2hours-- The storyline was great. I loved everything about it--nothing I would chg--maybe they will come out with a part two.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of completed game + bonus chapter I've never posted a game review before, but this game just blew me away. Everything -- story line, graphics, voice-overs, music tracks -- comes together to form a seamless whole that I literally could not stop playing until I'd finished the main game. The story line is melancholy but not depressing. I started out playing the demo because frankly I'm not all that enthralled by the gloomy supernatural games that seem to be so popular. This became a must-have for me within the first 20 minutes. I normally buy CEs for the extra game play, without paying a lot of attention to the wallpapers, concept art, and soundtracks. This is the first game in which I went through *all* of the bonus content. The music is particularly lovely, and fits the game perfectly. Playing in casual mode, I took a leisurely six hours to play the main game; the bonus chapter added another 1.5 hours. Definitely worth the money for the CE, and I'll be actively searching for more games from this developer.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite of 2012! I enjoyed this game SO much. I just the main game today and will be starting on the bonus chapter. I enjoyed the story and was glad to find a map to keep track of where I had things to do...and I did use it quite a few times. I enjoyed the HO parts and found only one where I had to use a hint. I appreciate when the reviews have alot to tell me, but I am not one of those to write one of those LONG reviews...I just want to say I REALLY ENJOYED THIS GAME! You will NOT be disappointed in purchasing this one! I would buy it today if I were you for the 50% off! HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a 4.5 for me but more a 5 than a 4 This is a good HOPA, even though the plot is not totally original, it seems fresh. There are wonderful creepy touches throughout the game. HOS are good, not too hard but nicely in the theme. Only things lacking are a way to turn off the voices, and the leading black box comments. You have to ignore them if you want any challenge at all. Game is a decent length,Bonus game fits the plot too.
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game!! Best HOA game I have played in awhile. Really enjoyed it!!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! I really like the fact that the strategy guide is provided. Many times, I could progress without it, but sure appreciated it when I needed it.
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Truly Fantastic Game This is the first game that has grabbed me and would not let me go in a long while! It is purely mesmerizing. - Great Story Line - Map, although not interactive it is very helpful - Hint button very useful -Voice overs really good -Characters are very real and well done -Beautiful graphics - Just the right amount of HOS I have nothing negative to say about this game. It was a great ride!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Loved it, looking forward to the sequal
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of best hidden object games in a while Fantastic! Loved every minute of it, sad when it ended. More like this please!!!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Enjoyable Game Lake House is nicely planned out. For beginners it is a must. I recommend that those with HOG experience play in the expert level to have some fun challenges. Puzzles are easy and hos are clear and well done. Best part of this game for me was the VOs were played great. Have fun!
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lake House is a must get CE As a average player, the game is good for my skill level and above. A lot of thinking, on the HO, some are very well hidden, great story line. I'd recommend this game to everyone.
Date published: 2012-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lake House: Chrildren of Sience Collectors Edition This game captured my attention..from the get-go...wonderful story...was not happy that i completed the game...just wanted it to go on. never did i get so involved in a game like this one...nice story and help along the way was very helpful for me..hints very quickly if you need it.....really enjoyed...graphics were great.....
Date published: 2012-12-27
  • y_2020, m_10, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_132
  • loc_en_US, sid_16910, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Lake House: Children of Silence Collector's Edition

Long-forgotten memories bubble to the surface when the past invades the present in the Collector's Edition of Lake House: Children of Silence!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.