Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman

Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(160.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In the northern part of the state, near the upper reaches of the Hudson River, there is a town named Sleepy Hollow. As is often the case, small towns hide big mysteries. A chain of bloody events commenced one ordinary night. A secret marriage and a new will have inflicted a dreadful curse upon this town. A terrible legend has become reality. The legend of a terrifying creature returned from hell.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 779 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(160.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Wonderful! From the moment it began I was captivated. The voiceovers were superb. I especially liked The Tune of Revenge with Poe's Once Upon a midnight Dreary. I listened to that multiple times and will listen to it again. I wish the voiceover was included with the music in the bonus section. I did have occasional glitches with the mac version crashing during cut scenes but I was not deterred.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent HO Adventure game Loved, loved, loved this game, it is now my new favorite. You are Constable Crane, detective sent to investigate murders in the town of Sleepy Hollow. Like someone stated earlier, this is so close to the Johnny Depp movie 'Sleepy Hollow' that it`s not funny. The characters even look like the ones in the movie, and plot is same, just which this game was longer. It has 5 Chapters, each has a murdered person killed by the headless horseman, so because of that you may not want young children to play this game. You of course will have back tracking, but each chapter will be confined to that chapter, and there is about 3-5 scenes in each chapter. The hint system feels rapidly, and works in both HO scenes and out. No map, but don`t need one. Hint is very helpful and shows where to go and where it needs to be done. HO scenes: sometimes have interactive items. Some of the HO scenes you will find the items both from a word list and from a picture list. After you find them you will then have to find one more special item which will go in your inventory list. You will find special 'horseshoes' trophies which you can then buy 'special items' which does nothing for the game, but just adds time, and allows you to 'buy', such as a finger print kit, camera, uniform, etc. and you never use these. Has a diary, but not useful, but good reading, tells history of the horseman. Each murdered person wants you to find something for them and in return gives you something useful, which is used quite rapidly, so you won`t have a lot of stuff in your inventory. Puzzles: some of the same and some different, I only skipped a couple, some puzzles I just don`t like to do, that`s just me. I played in the easy mode, and game still longer than 5 hrs. Normally, I won`t give good reviews if game doesn`t have a stragety guide with it, I can`t see paying more for the guide when a lot of games come with it, but this was ok. I did download the guide as I had a problem in chapter 5 with the fireplace, but that was only time I needed it and could have kicked myself when I found out what I needed to do. Other than the murdered people(which you never see them killed) a very entertaining game, again wish it was longer as I could have played all day and not be the least bit bored. Thank you Fenemen games. I need to see if they have any more Cursed Fates games.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Hidden Horseshoes I bought this game in CE version and loved it. The atmosphere, music and graphics are spooky and set the tone and the mood. It's a good long game and took me several hours of play over days to complete it. It's got a good mix of HOs and fragHOs and minis that aren't too difficult. Agree with the others. Crane looks like Johnny Depp, which made it even more fun. Loved searching for the horseshoes and getting ready to play it again. I didn't find all of them the first time, not even close. Will have to look harder. Thanks for a great and highly enjoyable game.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun - Moves fast I just finished doing the try me of this game and had a blast. I will purchase it today. The game follows the storyline of Sleepy Hollow and all that entails. It moves along very nicely and at a comfortable pace. The games are fun and not all that easy to do. You move around the game some but you don't get confused as to where you are supposed to go and what you are doing. The help button is nice when needed. In all I found this game one I want to play again and again. Hope you do too!!
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play It If You Love Sleepy Hollow Stories! I was skeptical when I tried the trial version of the standard game. Since I had played "Sleepy Hollow' by EGames a few years ago, I was doubtful I would enjoy another Sleepy Hollow HO. But I was surprised. This game is a little on the easy side and only has two modes and I must admit I did have to use a hint or two to figure out what it was I needed to combine in inventory in a few places. The puzzles are fun and I played this game twice so far. They aren't hard and very easy to figure out what you need to do without asking the 'help' button. There are a good dose of HOS in this game and I really loved the depth of those scenes and sometimes just lingered in them to take in the view. I played through twice because the first time around though I collected about 56 of those little horseshoe rewards I didn't have enough to 'buy' everything in the end. A fun challenge to try to find them all. This game is more intune with the movie Sleepy Hollow as far as the characters and look alikes #sort of# actors that stared in Tim Burden's Sleepy Hollow. I thought the judge certaintly did favor Christopher Lee from that movie. Or at least the character type in the mind of Tim Burden. There isn't a map, but you won't need one, since you will have to back track to previous scenes to finish up some scenes or to find a new object that wasn't there before. Great Fun! You won't get lost! I don't always use maps and since this game blocks off most areas once you are really finished with them then it's not necessary. I was pleasantly surprised by this game and all the HOS and many are interactive. Really liked it! Buy it, it's worth the standard version price, I wish I had gotten the CE if it had more gameplay, as I didn't want it to end. Great game!
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HO excellence First review I've written, just wanted to say how much I enjoyed this game. Can't put my finger on it, but I must own dozens of hidden object games, and this is one of my favorites. Good voice acting, effective music and graphics, just the right level of difficulty, and though I tend to play for the gameplay and puzzles and don't generally pay too much attention to the storyline, this one really had me interested in the outcome. Game is divided into chapters, which I really appreciated because it gave me a convenient stopping point, and the chapters take place in one general vicinity, which means you're never wandering aimlessly. Length is just right -- I occasionally encounter games that go on too long and grow tiresome, but here I found myself looking forward to each new chapter. HO scenes alternated between standard "list" HO and "picture of the item" HO, the puzzles were difficult enough to make me think, but not too difficult to make me skip out of frustration, and the game itself flowed nicely, with an occasional stumper (for me) now and then. A very well-crafted game made by a developer who seems to know exactly what game-players enjoy.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun What I really liked about this game was that the items you needed to go on with the game are found in one area and when that area is complete,you can go to the next chapter...no running to and fro and having to remember where to go and what is is that you need.This made it more enjoyable to play..The background music was relaxing and soothing..voice overs are good and the graphics were nicely done.The only thing I did have a problem with was the HO scenes were a bit dark which made the objects hard to distinguish.Other than that,I found this game to be a real fun time and you can complete it in one sitting.
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crazy little game What a romp that was. This game is perfect for beginners who will enjoy the crisp and detailed graphics (LOVE elephant graphics for this reason), the linear sequence of events and the lack of too much challenge in the puzzles - although a few stumped me! I usually enjoy games with more challenging puzzles and fewer HOS, but the little PING that happened every time you find something never seemed to get tiresome. The range of adventure is nice however I got very tired of the illogical sequence behind collecting objects - I like to realise that I need to solve a challenge, then go and find the object required rather than just fill my inventory with a whole stack of weird stuff.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER GAME Tried the trial and got very absorbed in it,so i decided to buy it. It had a lot of spooooky scenes. Graphics were beautiful.I like a mixture of normal hos and frag objects.The hos weren't too hard to find but hard enough. I class this one with my favorite game Return to Ravenhearst.I didn't have to strain my brain for the puzzles.Well that's my thoughts on the game.Happy fishing to all you fisherman.Ronald
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Really good story about the headless horseman, and Inspector Crane has come to investigate. VOS Great characters Very crisp and beautiful graphics Lovely music HOS, interactive, standard and silhouettes (very clear) You can combine inventory objects Diary No map, but not necessary as each chapter closes out the old locations Great puzzles (and I dont say that a lot); medium skip Good hint system, needed to use it a few times A good amount of seek and find More adventure than HOG Nice length: 5.5 hours casual
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object game LOVED IT!!!great graphics. characters very authentic. storyline great. good game for all. thanks BIG FISH.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decapitation I really like this game but I wish you could skip all the decapitations.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good Halloween game This is a good game to play at Halloween. The graphics and sound were good. The storyline was good. You have to find the headless horseman. I was able to get through the demo. I enjoyed playing it very much. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman Amazing game, fun hidden objects, has recharging hints, cool music.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Great game, good storyline, challenging but not difficult. Loved everything about it.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great little game! I liked everything about this game.....graphics were good, music not intrusive but the perfect background music for a game in my opinion...characters were well presented..and story line while not new was interesting. I look forward to seeing more games like this from this developer!
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 32-35 HOPS - Misty Countryside in 1799... Available at BFG since 2013. Review based on completed game. Gently paced and set in the middle of the night. Nice atmospheric graphics. Game only gets better as the story progresses. Heavy on HOPS, but they are very pleasant, enjoyable and well done. If you're not into HOPS, then this won't be for you. The only thing I wasn't keen on, was people's head getting lopped off ! Although you don't directly see this, but you often see a before and after, and sometimes a mad dash is involved. It was a bit disturbing, but there's no blood or agony involved. Everything gets explained toward the end of the game. You can easily play this game over several sessions without losing the plot. STORY - Not as straightforward as you initially think, there is more to the story than you think. Although there are 5 Chapters, they are divided up into 3 main area. The three areas are 3 distinct phases of the game and you can't wander freely back and forth. GRAPHICS - Great, clear. Widescreen / Fullscreen HOPS – 32-35 HOPS. Clear. Pictures of items, or word lists. PUZZLES: All skippable. Mainly short and easy. Plenty. SOUNDS: – with only 2 adjustments. Music and cursor –effects. Sadly no ambient sounds like weather or water, however, luckily the music was gorgeous and haunting. MAP: NONE! JOURNAL: Yes, notes etc DIFFICULTY SETTINGS – 2 -NOT interchangeable once you've begun. HINT: Guides and leads. 45 seconds to recharge in Casual, longer in Expert, roughly 90 seconds. In both levels, the hint WONT show you which item to use from your inventory, but it will just show you the place you need to use something. The hint will remain available without having to recharge, if you just use it to show you which room/area to go, and then just take an educated guess. INVENTORY – Remains visible at all times. CHARACTERS: Minimal interaction. The characters are mainly ghosts. You play as a male investigator, with a very nice voice.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite to my list of favorites Great game to play , enjoyed it to the end .
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I really enjoyed playing this game.
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good HO game lots of HO scenes that you have to solve a puzzle to get to. i played casual and had some low sound. the sound is the same as expected for this type of game. hints hand-hold you. graphics were good. HO scenes were a little crowded but with the good graphics items were seen most most of the time. no map but there is a journal.
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pure fun this game was relatively easy and short but just fun. I don't know who thinks of these things but wow this one they got right, to bring back the headless horseman and help him find his head and save the town in the process. creative and fun. I can't rate sound since I don't use it but the games were good, not too dark so you can actually find things. no map but a good hint button so knowing where to go is easy as well. I really enjoyed this game.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIDDEN OBJECT GAMES I found it fun plus challenging wanted it to go on and on.sound exactly what I would have expected, graphic and color excellent would recommend it.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining I felt entertained throughout the trial period so i plan on buying this game.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game This is a very fun game to play. I would recommened this game to anyone
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game!!!! This game has everything: * HOS that are not too easy plus a variety instead of just the usual item list. I also found that I needed to use the hint button now and then to find objects, which I love, hate when its too easy. * Horseshoes that aren't too easy to find * Scenes, art and music that fit the story * Played the SE version and it was way longer than I expected The only problem I found was that there are so many tasks that it actually detracts from the actual story. Also the ending with the horseman was really an anticlimax, I thought there would be more interaction. All in all a really enjoyable game.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleepy Hollow, the Headless Horseman, and yes, Ichabod Crane also. New York, 1799, Constable Crane is sent to Sleepy Hollow to investigate a series of 5 murders that has the local area in an state of panic. Rumor has it that they were caused by the Headless Horseman seeking revenge. During your investigation, you meet various people and ghosts of those killed who all want you to help them with something. As the story unfolds, you discover that there has been a new will made and a secret marriage performed that is somehow related to the murders. You have to find out how which leads you to why the Headless Horseman is here. You also find scrolls throughout the game that provides the legend of the Headless Horseman and it is recorded in a part of the journal. There is no map but one is not needed as each chapter usually blocks areas finished so you only have the new areas to visit and items are usually found and used within a few locations so there is little backtracking. There are some items that need to be combined with other items to get the finished item that will be used. There are a lot of intricate steps and items used for some of the action spots. Graphics and voiceovers are well done as are the ambient sounds in the background. The HOS are well done with all items visible although some may be somewhat faded or at an odd angle. Each is used twice once for a list and the second time to locate objects by silhouette. After you find them you then need to find one more special item which will go in your inventory. There are golden horseshoes in all the locations and in the HOS that can be collected and used to buy trophies if you are into that sort of thing. Many are easily seen but about a fourth are so well hidden that they were only found by running the cursor over the entire scene. One thing I liked was that tombstones of the victims appear at the title screen where you press play after you discover their murder. Just added an extra touch to the game. One thing I disliked was when you tried an item to see if it was needed at a action spot you received the phrase "Hmmm I need to think about this." I found this very annoying and wish they would have just told me that something else was needed here. The ending was abrupt but did seem to answer the questions that brought Ichabod here in the first place.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I’m Head Over Heels BASED ON COMPLETED GAME What a treat this game is! Not at all difficult, it nevertheless kept my interest over the 4-5 hours it took to play. It’s quite a LENGTHY game. It is also an ATTRACTIVE, WELL-BALANCED & INVOLVING HOPA. The first thing to attract me to this game was the STORY - it's a CLASSIC. As Ichabod Crane, you are asked to investigate 5 murders using your new-fangled scientific detection methods of LOGIC & EVIDENCE. The locals, however, are convinced the killer is not a man, but a DAEMON. The legend of the Headless Horseman is revealed to you as you progress and find scraps of information, meanwhile you are quickly having to change your tune, when confronted by a series of ghosts – the victims of the Horseman. The HORSEMAN is a BRILLIANT piece of ART, both the graphics and the animation. I intend to upgrade to the CE, just to get a copy of him. The GRAPHICS throughout the game are also of a VERY HIGH STANDARD. Despite being DARK often, and sometimes a bit MONOCHROMATIC, they are really nice to look at. The HO SCENES are excellent. They are a bit HARDER than most, and I found myself having to ask for HINT occasionally. They are each visited TWICE, once with an INTERACTIVE LIST, and once with FULL COLOUR PIX of the items. I must say, no attempt was made to keep the objects suited to the time period (phonographs in C17th, I think not!). PUZZLES are EASY, and mostly FAMILIAR. There are just the right amount of them, and balance nicely with the point and click ADVENTURE component of the game. Nothing is illogical here, no thinking outside the box, so your NEXT MOVE is usually CLEAR. If you need help, HINT is DIRECTIONAL. There is NO MAP, but the game cuts off COMPLETED AREAS, so it’s not really needed. The JOURNAL holds CLUES and the pages about the Horseman legend that you find. There are GOLDEN HORSESHOES to COLLECT, and they can be found in the HOS as well as the main game. They can be used to buy “TROPHIES” – they are actually more like SOUVENIRS with which to decorate your office. Dog, pet goldfish, books, telescope, that sort of thing. I had a really good time with this one and hope it is the start of a Cursed Fate series.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thoroughly enjoyed the game This game might have gotten 5 stars if it weren't for some of the HOS objects being totally obscured. I really appreciate when HOS objects are hidden cleverly but putting things in pitch black areas is poor form. Other than that, I enjoyed the storyline, the characters, the voice-overs and even the music (which I usually turn off). What really saved the game for me was the Hint System; it is helpful in the game as well as the HOS and it recharges quickly. I'm usually a huge fan of "transporter" maps. This game doesn't have any kind of map ... but it doesn't need one. Each chapter is small geographically and progress through them is fairly logical. There is some "back & forthing" but I found it tolerable. Fun game.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Headless Horseman strikes again! This is an entertaining game that is fun to play. Although it's not a fantastic game, it has some nice features. The graphics are good, they have done a nice job of keeping the items of the 1700 period. The voices are dialog boxes that simply shows the character's face and you click to continue so you can move through it at your own pace. The HO's are a mixture of list items, slightly interactive (click on a vase to spill out contents) and showing you the picture of the item you need. The puzzles are pretty simple and you can skip them after a little while without penalities. Another feature that I personally love are collectable golden horseshoes throughout the adventure and SPOILER ALERT: they are also hidden in the HO scenes! No map, no achievements, a journal that logs minimal clues and notes and most of the items you find are used within a couple of scenes.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not hard and different in play Not a bad game. Has good voice over and the graphics are also good. The hint button works good if needed. The HOS are different but fun. Have to really look good for some. Have to find horse shoes and you get rewards for not using hint button and finding things fast. My biggest complaint is that you are going back and forth all the time to find items to use to keep going.
Date published: 2013-03-25
  • y_2020, m_2, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_17309, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cursed Fates: The Headless Horseman

A terrible legend has become reality. The legend of a terrifying creature returned from hell.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.