European Mystery: Scent of Desire Collector’s Edition
Exclusive

European Mystery: Scent of Desire Collector’s Edition

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(393.59 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Stop a maniac’s murderous trail of fragrance and deception in European Mystery: Scent of Desire! You’ve barely settled into your retirement in the peaceful French countryside, when you receive an urgent request from Paris. Young women are disappearing in broad daylight, the authorities are baffled, and the person responsible is still on the loose! How could any able-bodied detective refuse such a case? Stay on scent of the murderer in this intriguing Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus game that takes you to London!
  • Gorgeous wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • An integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1130 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

European Mystery: Scent of Desire Collector’s Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(393.59 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
European Mystery: Scent of Desire Collector’s Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 110.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIMPLY GORGEOUS IN EVERY WAY Incredible artwork. Skillful story. Logical gameplay. Really fun game. Interactive HOS are beautiful. One negative is that there is occasionally a black screen between scene changes - which shouldn't be the case these days. The graphics make you smell the scents - oh, sorry, that's my potpourri.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game but still has flaws. The game play is good, I love that we have so many different places to explore and the scent catcher is a nice new game item. The music is okay but the only real problem I have with the game is the story. At the first half of the game we get that women are being kidnapped and killed (though still not sure how exactly their killed) and we have to find the culprit and their motive. As soon as you get sight of the bad guy you know who it is so no mystery there (sadly) and the rest of the plot is never fully explained. Your just supposed to go along with whatever is said and hope it makes sense. Also those who don't get the CE version are going to be mistaken about a plot for a second game which is taken care of in the bonus game. That isn't fair to the people who only get the SE and miss out on part of the story.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Number Of Hours Entertainment I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Nice and long, great graphics and sound ... and a neat story line. The extra chapter in the CE is worth playing for a bit more enjoyment, but the SE version would end on a good note anyway. The only downer for me is the over American styling of the voice overs which gave rise to some passionless pronunciation of the intended period style of both the French & English ... If you have some credits spare, or perhaps find this game on special then buy the CE.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing game with ruined black bar tips This is THE game! Smart, engaging with a solid plot. Everything is A+ but black bar tips. I played in hard mode and "I can use something here" tips simply drove me nuts. I have been complaining about it for a long time but BLAM Studios just don't listen. Given a pretty hard gameplay "I can use something here" makes you feel annoyed. Also, I found the number of scents you have to collect is something that was a bit too much making me feel not completing the bonus chapter but I did anyway. The game is outstanding but try walking in my shoes when it comes to hard mode. I can use something here. Thanks you. A--
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAS IT ALL Upon starting this game you would swear it is ERS... BUT lucky for us it's not ! You play as a detective chasing a madman who is killing people to gather their scents. The colors are rich and bright, HO scenes are crisp, the locations stunning and very detailed. And it has achievements to achieve and collectibles to collect. You also collect scents and make potions throughout the game. Very enjoyable. I played in advanced and they had taken out the black line hints also which definately made it tougher. I could have done without the coughing, hacking people in the background and it might have been nice if the people in France had French accents instead of British or North American but no matter. You do need to play the bonus chapter to finish the story and although I rarely do, I did play it in this game. Mostly because the game was so good I didn't want it to end. This should definately be on the list for top games of this year. Great job Blam games. Impressive.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth a lot of "scents". I just completed the main game and bonus ones. This was pure pleasure! Loved the transporter map, hint button was great and I used it rarely, graphics were beautiful, HOS interactive and fun, and rich story line. The game was not especially difficult nor were the mini ones. My day playing this was a pleasurable one and I look forward to playing the game again in the near future. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game in 2013 No Contest I almost never give 5 stars, probably only about every 20 games I play but I enjoyed every moment of this game, even the HOS because they were so attractive, story seemed fresh and original, graphics were visually very pleasing, the locations were interesting and not just the tedium of find a key and move on. This was a breath of fresh air (now catch that and bottle it!) Even the acting was better than most which are usually awful. AND I loved the bonus content...yes I am saying DO buy the collectors edition, which almost always is a mistake but I think this time I would recommend that. This is very amusing game and long enough to not feel ripped off.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different concept Based loosely upon the book and movie "Perfume", the storyline is about catching a killer of young women in Paris, while collecting scents, creating fragrances that are used in the game, and of course, hidden object scenes and mini-puzzles. Even though the storyline is morbid, as are many games of this genre, so many are dark and gloomy. This game is bright and colorful...and also addictive, because once I started playing it, I kept going in my spare time until I finished it. The hidden object scenes are easy, and the hint button, which recharges quickly is useful in navigation. I didn't use the Strategy Guide too much, but I did like the interactive map, which tells you where there are things to do. A nice lengthy and interesting game and bonus chapter as well.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a Masterpiece! I would like to give it 6 stars! Simply fantastic..Intriguing and unique storyline, gorgeous graphics, great sound, charming settings in Paris and London, many beautiful locations to admire and explore..Very engaging game, with funny interactives HOS and challenging puzzles...Amazing the idea to collect scents to create elixirs! Interesting achievements to get, fleur de lys to collect and a very good bonus chapter, completely in new areas...Full game, bonus included, for more then 5 hours of complete fun! A game you really cannot miss in your collection, expecially with the offer of the weekend CE half price! We wait for the next one!
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game for those who love HO/Puzzles I won't go into describing the details of the game as the reviewers before me have done an excellent job. I love HO/Puzzle games so this game was a buy for me after playing the demo. Great graphics and music. Good storyline that actually plays out nicely. I play on Advanced and found HO's were pretty good. Some easy, some harder, but that just depended on the items on the list. They were also the kind that had one or two objects that required an extra step to find. A couple of those were a little unclear even after I found them, but most were well done. Puzzles overall were a good challenge. As with most games some easier, some harder. I found them to be a good mix. There were a couple of the kinds I don't like so I just skipped them. You do look for special hidden objects throughout the game. Some were a challenge to find which was good. The strategy guide is helpful if you need it. I needed it once because I just wasn't looking close enough in the scene for an item. I have no negatives, but just a comment that there were a couple of places in the game that what you do next or how to do is was not clear at all. I know that figuring things out is part of the challenge of the game, but they didn't really make much sense the way they played out. However, that was two things in a long game of many, many things to do and it's just my opinion. I definitely would recommend to anyone who likes HO/Puzzle games.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This review is based on completing the main game and bonus chapter. This game really surprised me, the graphics were well done, with beautiful scenes of Paris and London. I usually don't want to replay games, at least not right away, but I will definitely replay this one. It was from a dev that I was not familiar with, and was a switch from the usual... who done it, spooky mystery HOG we all know and love. You have a villain who is wrecking havoc on Paris as if Cholera is not bad enough, now lovely young women are being done away with in a most unusual way. Along the way you gather fragrances to aid in developing potions that you use in various ways, loved that part of it. There are collectibles and achievements to earn as you go, there is a map that allows you to jump which was helpful and I used most of the time, and a book of notes to help if needed but I found I didn't need to check that, as the game follows along nicely and there isn't a lot of jumping around. the games were not especially challenging, but fun and you can replay them as extras. Loved this game, highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scent of Mystery The first thing I look for in games is the graphics. In game graphics are on top. Especially want to note as exquisite and tastefully done map - all traced to the smallest detail. The storyline in the game are fresh and interesting. Perfect atmosphere of Paris and London. Really felt, that we play in the European mystery. As for the gameplay - the mini-games are diverse and interesting. I especially liked to create own potions and collect fragrances. Game turned beautiful and original, every detail is thought out and developed.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everthing you want in a game Pretty good game and fun to play. Really not a hard game either. Graphics are good and has voice over. The HOS are like most of the others and easy. The puzzles are not all that hard either. Has a map which works ok and the hint button works good. You do have to go back and forth but all the games are doing that now. Has a good flow.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be prepared to have a great time!!! :) Just laid back after finishing yesterday’s „Dreamscapes-The Sandman“, which I really enjoyed and found myself twiddling my thumbs, waiting for this one…. It’s good to know, that there are other devs, than ERS and Elephant Games out there, who are able to create great games!!! Graphics are enormously clear and detailed, characters and cutscenes are very well animated. Story takes you to Paris in cholera-times, where you have to stop a women murderer. Very thrilling!! 3 modes to choose from and you have the choice whether locations of interest should be indicated on the map or not. Map is interactive, allowing you to jump. We have a detailed journal and a hint, which shows you the direction where to go next. And what makes a CE worth a buy for me: Lots of achievments to earn and 35 collectables (fleur-de-lis) to find. And a welldone bonus-chapter, which takes you to London. (I don't care about wallpapers, screensavers, music...) It’s not only that we have to stop the masked murderer, we also have to create different fragrances for different purposes: We’ll get an alchemist’s box together with a scent catcher (attached to the inventory). And we will find recipes during the game to create those fragrances… Loved that!! Good balanced amount of slightly interactive hidden object scenes (list) and interesting, new minigames/ puzzles, not too challenging. This is a game which may satisfy experts (as it is just a lot of fun), aswell as beginners (as it is not too difficult)!! Happy gaming!!! :)
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the game, wish it were longer in length though I really enjoyed this game. Usually I dont go for this type of game (games set far back in the past), but this one was very good. This masked man is going around killing people (mostly women) and kidnapping two women for some elixer he is making during the the time the cholera break out was in Europe. The masked man is an alchemist. In the bonus play, you have to stop the masked man from do something else (he escapped in the main game). Graphics were very good as well as the scenes. The scenes were actually good, not boring. The HOS were more on the ok side, not the best. There were quite a few items that required more than one item to get to (some 3-4 items). There werent very many HOS either, about 1 in each scene (some scenes didnt have any), and only some HOS were done twice. The puzzles were challenging and some were pretty easy. Was able to complete all. Making the potions was very easy too. Another plus was there was a map! The map made it so much easier to get back to certain locations.
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HEAVEN "SCENT"........ This is a game that I knew I would buy after 5 minutes of playing. The graphics are lovely, and I had plenty of time to admire each scene while I tore my hair out looking for the 'hidden items'!!! Beware - many of them are *extremely* well concealed; however, I prefer hidden to mean 'hidden', rather than some games where you can find them in seconds. The plot - you are a detective assigned to find the killer of a number of seemingly random young women - may not seem anything particularly new. However, I enjoyed collecting the scents as I went along, and mixing different 'perfumes' to assist me in certain tasks. That was a novelty. There is much to explore in each scene, but a very handy jump map is there to help you when needed. The map shows where you are, and areas where there is something still to be done. I tend not to rely heavily on the jump map to get me through the entire game, but it's certainly useful when the "little grey cells" fail me temporarily! I didn't need to use the Hint button at all during the demo game, because I either knew what I had to do, or could check the map. There is also an in-built Strategy Guide, which shows only the 2 chapters of the demo, but I'd imagine most people won't need to refer to it much. Puzzles, again, are nothing particularly new, and they're not head-scratchingly difficult either #at least, not the ones in the demo#, more just a matter of "fiddling" until you get the right result. The Hidden Object Scenes were clear and the objects well-sized - not the microscopic, halfway-off-the-screen, eyestrain-inducing things you come across in some games. Overall, I found this to be a fabulous, fun game that I look forward to playing in its entirety. Other devs had better watch out, because this particular developer has really created a game that is "up there" with the best!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Young women killed...lovely fragrances everywhere...who kills ? Played 45 minutes, casual - 3 modes casual, advanced, hardcore - Integrated SG which only shows 2 chapters - Notebook - Interactive map - You get achievements throughout the game, no hint in H0, no skip in mini games, etc - 35 hidden symbols to be found - Soon after starting the game you get a scent catcher to create new fragrances of perfumes - Interactive H0 - Good mini games - Hint very useful outside H0 - Very good graphics - Good music that fits well the game Young women are killed and there are fragrances of perfumes all over the place. Up to you to catch the murderer. This reminds me strongly of Patrick Suskind's book, The Perfume. For me the book was a masterpiece, I just hope the game will be too as it's a straight buy !!! (crush)
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great! One of my favorite novels is Perfume and I love that this story slightly resembles it. A Serial Killer is on the loose in Paris and he targets beautiful women. His weapon of choice is a fatal perfume that apparently dehydrates the human body, leaving behind a withered corpse. As a hired Detective, it is our role to catch this madman and find the missing daughter of our benefactor. We soon find ourselves emersed in a very entertaining Hidden Object Puzzle and Adventure Game that offers eye-pleasing graphics, beautiful musical score and voice-overs along with three play modes to choose from. You also have the option to turn on your interactive map that does allow you to jump to areas of interest. Extras also include collectables that were easy to find but then got trickier as you moved on. There are achievements that are game oriented, so not very challenging and there is the scent collector. An engaging storyline, very good graphics that could have been sharper but it seems that the washed out look is becoming somewhat fashionable, great game mechanics, game features that are fun. A very well rounded game that earnes s stars from me and has a very pleasing smell to it. (I just couldn't resist)
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hmmm, What IsThat Scent? European Mystery: Scent of Desire is the story of a detective (you of course) who is trying to solve a rash of deaths of women who have been killed by dehydration. I’m finding the story quite interesting and enjoy the things I need to do in order to solve the mystery. Can you sniff out the killer? Although some have commented on the “foggy” appearance of the graphics, I think that only some scenes appear that way and most of the game has crisp, clear graphics. I like a game that is colorful, and this one certainly fits the bill for me. As a note, I found moving from scene to scene to be seamless with no time delay whatsoever. The person who commented that this was a problem may have issues related to their computer rather than the game. Along with a very nice musical score, we also have good voice-overs. The HOS are mildly challenging but not frustrating. Most of the puzzles are very enjoyable but I found one that just drove me nuts and I finally hit the skip button. The CE edition of the game has achievements and some bonus hidden objects to be found. Pay attention, because some of them are very well hidden. After reading some of the early reviews, I purchased the game outright and I am happy with that decision. I find Scent of Desire to be a game well-worth adding to my collection and am sure that I will play it more than once. As a final note, I think we should all look for future games from this developer because recently they have presented some very nice games, and I think they will only get better. Kudos for a very nice, entertaining game.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SCENT OF DESIRE Awesome game. This one has it all, great graphics, good tunes, achievements, a map for traveling as well as a fluer-de-lis icon for tasks available and a hint system that you'll probably not have to use. The mini games such as selecting two weights at the same time and rearranging to have 4 alike weights on both sides, although not new they are fairly easy and you get achievements for finishing the games as well as not using the hint system in the HOS. You will also recieve an alchemist box with a scent catcher and when you find a perfume recipe you get to invent a new perfume and you get an achievement for that as well. Scent of desire has a good storyline about a rogue perfume apprentace who is killing woman with toxins in a cholera plagued town, is it for the scent of death?
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Game The story begins with you, a retired detective, receiving a message about some mysterious deaths, all of them seemingly random. You decide that you can't pass up the opportunity to solve this puzzle, so off you go! Pros: + Great graphics. Some are a little foggy/hazy in places, but for the most part everything looks crisp and bright to me. + Voiceovers are pretty good. Music is fine. + Collectibles are fun to find. + Three game modes to choose from, and you can decide whether or not you want the map to have help indicators. + Puzzles are twists on the usual puzzles. I haven't seen anything terribly new, but they're still fun. + Hidden Object scenes have interactive parts, which I like. + Achievements! (Even though none seem too hard to get, and some are automatic.) + Wallpapers and whatnot are unlocked when you buy the game, if you enjoy using them. + There's a chemistry kit where you get to mix perfumes, and a bottle that helps you to collect various scents around the game. + No lag between scenes here for me. Cons: - The story isn't very inventive, but I'm glad it's in such a nice setting. - The "bad guy" is a little weird because he keeps popping up out of nowhere! All in all, this is a really nice game. It's nothing groundbreaking, but still quite enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very satisfying game Oh yes, this is one of my absolut favorite games now. I love everything about it. So much to do, graphics are crisp and beautiful. Story keeps me interested. It is also plenty long, which I love even more. These devs did not just create a game they kept it interesting and not just end it abruptly. It is like going out for a burger, but you end up with a steak. Finding the fleur de lis wasn't always easy. Well hidden. Hog's are not too hard and minigames are fun to play. I enjoyed finding the scents and creating potions that you need to go on. How neat. Map is nicely done. Well everything good has already been mentioned. I'm totally impressed with this one. Who knew these dev's are able to come up with this. Please bring more
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do I smell something fishy here? I don't think I've ever played a game where scent is so important. Makes me wish for, the as yet uninvented, smell-a-game. I'm downloading the full game now. The strategy guide is helpful, as are the hints, which in casual mode recharge quickly enough so one does not get frustrated. The graphics are crisp, unless covered in smoke, which is as it should be. The music unabtrusive, the other sounds fit well into the game. The VO's are clear, understandable, and have useful information.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a buy for me!! I played the "try me" as I always do and this is a really fun, well drawn game. It is very well drawn and the sound is pleasant. The games are not terribly difficult but they have a slight twist to some of them which I like. The way the game flows from one part to the other is what made me decide to buy this game. The hint button will point you in the right direction and tell you what you need to know. The story line is compelling and keeps you interested. I don't buy CE but will certainly buy this when it switches to SE. I will enjoy playing it and I hope you will too.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ITS A BLAM GRAND SLAM!!!!! TO PLAY TWO BLAM GAMES IN A WEEK IS LIKE WINNING THE LOTTERY!!! EVERYTHING I WANT IN A GAME SUCH DETAIL!! I JUST SIT AND STARE AT THE HOS SCENES TO WATCH THE ANIMALS SWIM AND MOVE AND BLINK AND WONDER HOW YOU DO IT!! WONDERFULL STORY AND COLOR AND MUSIC THE BONUS CHAPTER WRAPS IT UP PERFECTLY!! I AM SO AMAZED AT WHAT YOU CREATE FOR US AND THANK YOU BIG FISH FOR BRINGING SUCH WONDERS FOR US TO ENJOY!!!
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Completed Review When I first started this game I thought oh no this is going to be a boring, lame game, but after about 5 minutes I was hooked. It was fun finding those little secret places for collecting that special item. Loved mixing formulas that was really cleaver. The story line was pretty good just normal find the bad guy but this one is with a twist. I liked it so much I played it twice before reviewing. Good Luck Fishes you will love this one! ;)
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from European Mystery: Scent of Desire CE - A True GEM!! Yayyyyy!! My favourite type of graphics and the story line is unique and fabulous....have not even played the whole "free" portion and know this is a DEFINITE buy for me! Now I just have to wait for the money. lol So excited by this game, let's hope the rest is as amazing as the first 1/2 hour. No glitches...whatsoever! okay, that's quite enough gushing.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally something new There are three modes to play in. I prefer hard core. No help at all. There is a stradegy guide for those times you get stuck though. Also hidden symbols to find throughout. Great story, graphics are wonderful. My only complant would be that the HOS are a bit too easy, and so are the puzzles for my taste.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from European Mystery Scent of Desire Brilliant I love this game, the music, the graphics, and the storyline, you have 3 modes in which to play the game, the hint button fills quickley, the map is good to get you where you want to go. You have slightly interactive HOs's . You have collectables, the vo's are good, there is so much for you to do in this game, catch the killer, who is killing women with fragrance and deception, I think it would be a good challenge for beginners as well as experts, no complaints with this game enjoy.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hauntingly Beautiful Hidden Object Adventure Based on the Demo The soundtrack for this game is superb, hauntingly beautiful. The voiceovers are very well done. The graphics and visuals are beautiful, amazing. The storyline is interesting: young women are disappearing all over the countryside, bodies are turning up completely dehydrated. There is a story within a story because there is a plague in addition to the strange disappearances. The Detective is called in to solve the mysteries. The hidden object scenes are not too easy, not too hard, very entertaining and interactive. The mini puzzles are great. They are all interesting and a lot of fun ranging from easy to moderately hard. You get an interactive map that is very handy, a journal, and a scent catcher you use to find scents and make perfumes from them. It is a very interesting multi faceted game. It was an immediate buy for me.
Date published: 2014-02-02
  • y_2020, m_11, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_110
  • loc_en_US, sid_17551, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

European Mystery: Scent of Desire Collector’s Edition

Several young women have gone missing in Paris. Now only you can stop a maniac’s murderous trail of fragrance and deception!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.