Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.58 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The gates to another world will open soon! You can stop the impending disaster - if you track down the stolen runes! Vanessa is the only heiress of Abraham Van Helsinga, a member of the secret order of light guarding world peace. And now she has to find the stolen runes that were sealed inside the gate, behind which lurks an ancient evil.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • An exciting bonus game
  • An integrated, step-by-step strategy guide
  • Concept art
  • Downloadable wallpapers
  • More than 200 objects to find!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 845 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.58 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Liked this I found this game quite involving. The story is good. The backgrounds detailed. There is a good map and experienced player won't need hints. The puzzles aren't much you won't have seen before but they are well done. The bonus game is also very good and quite long. Now the bad, you can't lock off the inventory bar, something I find annoying. And there is no mini game if you get board of HO scenes. Also some of the game play is a bit samey, find the key, find the lever, find the shovel etc etc. You expect that in HO games but this is repeated over and over in this game.
Date published: 2013-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What else is there to say. . . I've just scratched the surface with this one but so far this game is just as the other reviewers have raved. This is a very high quality, story intensive HOPA. The puzzles are just the right challenge and are varied enough in type that you don't get bored. The FMVs are nicely done and many will get your heart racing. Very nice.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some nice twists in a decent storyline This is more an adventure game than a HO game. There are plenty of HOS but they do not dominate things. The winner in this game is the storyline for sure. There are plenty of twists and one of them was so unexpected that it made me go "Wow! I didn't expect THAT!" Also there is a "whodunnit" running through the story and you don't know until at least 3/4 the way through who for sure it is. Up to that point it could have been one of 5 people. I think the extra chapter is needed because the SE ends at the point where, okay, it's logical, but without a chance at actually closing the story. But even the end of the CE leaves the door open for another game later on. The gameplay is much on the same format as the 1000 Doors and Sacre Terra stories, that is you get keys at various stages to take you into other dimensions in order to fulfill your tasks. There is a set of 15 scrolls to collect on the way, and believe me you will have to hunt for them, especially if you are on the "expert" level withouth sparkles. They are not essential to the story, but they are nice to get for that something extra and they are story-related. It's not often I have anything good to say about music in games, but I do this time. Some of the music is like the sound track to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, that kind eerie ethereal feeling. Music doesn't play all the time, sometimes you get sound effects like thunder and rain. This is one of the few games where I did not turn the music way down. The cut scenes are good. Okay, the animation is nothing too special, but the interactions are okay. The scenery is excellently rendered and in some of the scenes I took screenshots just for my own pleasure. Any down-sides? Only one and it may not bother others at all. The objects one has to find in the HOS are sometimes very small and hard to see. I am not a dedicated HO fan, I play them because 90% of games made these days are HO, and so scenes where I have to squint and peer at the screen and look for tiny things which often are unrecognisable is annoying. But!....there were not that many HOS and it was not enough to spoil my enjoyment overall. Would certainly recommend this one.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! One of my favorites now!!! This game was just about perfect for me. Not too hard, I didn't have to use hints or strategy guide much at all. I absolutely love the map- it tells you where an activity is that you can currently do - that way I didn't have to search around because the game covers a lot of ground. With portal keys you travel to different worlds, which adds such a variety to the game. The HOS are interactive, plus in some you find the hidden objects and some you place back into the scene. The bonus level is quite long and as intriquing as the rest of the game. I highly recommend the game!!
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful!! When I first tried this game, it reminds me so much of a certain game developer which I love, the cursor, the interface, the map, everything about it is so familiar, so I love this game immediately. The game length is long, nice story, although not excellent, but nice enough to keep me entertained. The puzzles are one of the easiest and it's just enough for me, since I don't really like mini games. The map is useful since it keeps all areas in one big screen. Without the map we will probably completely lost, since there are many backtracking involved. With the helpful map, I don't really use the SG. The graphic of the game is very nice, but the character graphic is not very much. The name of the character. Van Helsing, is kind of funny, But this time, she is not a daughter of vampire hunter. Anyway, I really enjoy this game, the ending of the bonus chapter leaves question for next game, which I like. I hope to see more of this developer.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from portal of evil stolenrunes excellent...very well done...its great to find a game that challenges you...you don't find these very often enjoy
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game!!!! Wow! I don't know where to start. I loved everything about this game! Your grandfather has summoned you to a cathedral in Italy, but you are clueless as to why until you do some snooping and find notes from him planted in various places. This game was exciting and intriging. The artwork was excellent, as well as the music which totally fit the game. The music reminded me of the music played in the movie "The Divinci Code. The main game was a good length, and the bonus game fit right in continuing the story. The only thing I felt a bit left down about was at the end, but I won't give that away. I can only speculate that there will be a sequel based on the way it ended. The hint system worked perfectly, and honestly I had to refer to the strategy guide very little. I loved the hos, and they were varied which made them more fun to do. You will get your money's worth with this game.
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant fun, great videos to absorb you into adventure This is the first game (of dozens) which has tempted me to write a review, mainly because I see lesser games have somehow undeservedly got the 5 stars which Stolen Runes deserves. The videos draw you in and dovetail beautifully with the excellent graphics - I had to stop many times just to admire settings and detail. The sound enhances the various different scenarios - and there are many. I prefer games such as this which have multiple settings/ worlds, travelled here through the portals of the missing runes. Hidden object scenes give useful tools and complement rather than distract from the storyline. This game could easily replace a film, but is far more worthwhile than hiring one as it gives far longer gameplay and engages your mind and imagination. There are three key people who could be the villain - nice twists. I was slightly disappointed with the CE Bonus Chapter ending but happy if it leads to a sequel. Also, the CE extra content does include all the games if you wish to replay them and become more expert.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my fave HO so far in 2013! It seems this game is a love it or hate it. Well I loved it. I did the demo a few months back and couldn't wait for it to come out. I like the graphics, but understand they aren't to everyone's liking. The storyline drew me in and I wanted to follow it. I really enjoyed visiting different worlds. It certainly keeps the game from getting boring. You never know where you will be next. There are few HO's, which for me is good. The puzzles are a good mix of difficulty. There's a jump map for those who like the convenience. I played on hardest difficulty and this game was very long for me. I did complete all the puzzles on my own so this helped it go on for a long time. Only downside which I think others have mentioned is that you MUST play bonus game to get an ending. This really isn't fair. Don't know how they will sell as SE without proper finish. However, those who love a moderately difficult, long game with few HO's should love this.
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this game I loved this game. Good story line. Terrific graphics, everything is crisp and clear. I found the sounds and music very relaxing. Lots of places to visit. Two kinds of HOS, regular and "replace" object scene. Puzzles are fun and average difficulty. There is a travel map eventually provided that indicates active tasks. I would have liked to have seen collectibles, such as morphing objects, in the CE but it does have a Bonus chapter plus the other extras, wallpaper etc. I really enjoyed playing this one. Becoming one of my favorite developers. Looking forward to their next one.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game This one had me hooked from beginning to end. Interesting story, puzzles which made you think and a variety of HOs evenly spaced......Fab!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game I loved this game. The map was wonderful--so easy to use. Graphics and story were good. Recommend! There must be a future sequel.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Excellent by all standards. Congratulations to the creators.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED THIS GAME !!!! Bought the CE over the Mother's Day weekend at a discount but would have bought it at full price. I dragged it out for three days. My one little negative would be the bonus chapter, ended rather abruptly. Made me think there could be a continuation in the future ????
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holy frijoles it's AWESOME!!! All of this game is entirely great. The graphic will conquer you, definitely one of the best parts of this hidden object game. I loved that this game involved Italy and its culture/environment, and also had done a twist to the typical battle between good and evil. In every game I buy, I play attention to the soundtracks, that add a plus sign on the review. Here the music is wonderful and it suits the environment. Good job! But I thought the story would have been more precise. The ending of the main game is short cut, and you have so many questions, resolved in part by the bonus chapter. And the relationship between the protagonist and one of the characters (I'm not saying who XD) could have been more developed. Anyway, buy this game. It really left me speechless. In a good way.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No frills but still enjoyable Stunning graphics, voice-overs and cut-scenes. Just look past the cross-eyed characters. Hidden object games and puzzles were a tad on the easy side. Both traditional and reverse hidden object games. You had a map with which to jump scenes - something that was essential otherwise you would get well and truly lost. No bonus objects - although there is the grandfathers notes to collect, and no achievements to earn. Storyline was like most of these games - it existed but was weak and full of holes. I think the most striking part of this game was the imagination that must have gone into it. You have to collect seals from other worlds, each of which is unique and detailed. Bonus chapter was more of the same. However, if you like your stories to finish on a rounded note, then with this game the bonus chapter is an essential. Because of this, I recommend the CE version and consider it worth the extra.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! This game was awesome! I started with the hour demo and was blown away by the graphics alone. The scenery is stunning and realistic, crystal clear and even the characters movements are impressive. The story line sucks you in and for the first time in a while I played the entire hour and didn't reach the end of the "demo" version. That prompted me to purchase this game. I was not disappointed in the full version! Lots of things to do in the game and I was never bored. The story line keeps you interested and there is not an overabundance of HOs. It is a mixture of hidden object and putting objects back into the scene so it doesn't get monotonous. The puzzles are great, some are challenging but most are ones I have seen before but are done well enough that they "feel" new. Such a wonderful game!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME IN ALL WAYS Hi gamers. After my disappointment with the last game "legacy tales:mercy of the gallows etc." I was ready to play something better and this game was great! I loved everything about it. The story line was very inventive, the graphics are wonderful and the voiceovers, music, mini games...well I told you I loved it. :) I have played hmm 300 games plus or minus and this one is up there with the best I have played. Worth the buy in my book. Happy gaming
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb! Not heard of these developers before but this game is stunning. Great visual effects beautiful graphics with breath-taking scenes.Music was reminiscenmt of Lord of the Rings.Ok the characters mouths were not absolutely in sync with the words but that did not really put me off. The HOS's were interactive and not all the same some were putting things back into the scene.The map is fully interactive which I really needed in this game as there is a small amount of going back to beginning scenes. The storyline was not unique but I really enjoyed the way it was done. The cut scenes were again extremely well done. Good hint button and convincing extra play which made this well worth the CE price.If I have a gripe it was that some of the HO were very small. Overall a good buy!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portal of Evil Amazing graphics. Entertaining and fun to play. I left four other games to play this one as I found it just more interesting. This seems to be set up for a sequel, I hope so.
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Action packed adventure! This was a fun game all round! I prefer the easier mode in all my games. I loved the artistry in HO scenes, the music was wonderful. It reminded of the Lord of the Rings music. Voice quality was good and the characters looked almost real. Had fun going to different places. Got stuck once but it was my fault. Enjoy.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting I have not bought any games in a while and I usually get a few each month. There just wasn't anything to catch my interest. I started playing this one and had to have it!!! Graphics are outstanding and sound and voiceovers are very well done. Story is extremely captivating and I just have to help the main character. You have to get through these portals to find the seals in each " world ". Minigames are a lot of fun and you don't get bombarded with HOGs just to make the game longer. The actions you have to take make sense and that keeps the game flowing. It is of pretty good length too, which I love. You also have to collect the scrolls. Now this was highly enjoyable to play. I wish there were more games like this that hold your interest, with a great story, detailed graphics and great sound effects. Characters look very real, not drawn. Wonderful game. Thank you devs
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consider this one for sure!!! I have been playing now for 5 days. So you can see members, how long it is. I haven't gotten to, the bonus chapter yet. Long games like this are worth, our hard earned money. Developers, give us more right members.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Billiant Game This game plays like a film in fact the cut scenes are about the best I have seen in years . The real surprise is the game flows to and from these cut scenes and doesn't disappoint . The story reminds me of a Dan Brown story but better as other reviewers have already said the game draws you in . Summond to Italy to discuss her grandfathers disapearance a number of weeks before Vanessa has already been having strange dreams .As she approaches St Peters Cathederal she starts to have visions .On her arrival she learns of a secret order her grandfather belongs to .Her job is to find him andsome missing runes that will help stop the world being taken over by evil forces. The game is a close as you can now get to a large file NEW game the HO's are not too frequent and some just involve placing an object. There is an interactive map and a hint button that sends you in the right direction . some of the mini games are quite easy but that is not a bad thing less experienced players will not be put off It is a definate buy for me I am downloading as I type
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun game to play This is a fun game to play. I liked the graphics and the sound. I could figure out what to without using the hint to much. The object is to find your grandfather. The game takes place in Italy. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five Stars On Every Factor! This game is just beautiful, graphics are top notch, I was immersed for the hour demo. I will be buying this game! The Collectors edition has tons of things to look through and save, love wallpapers. The scenery in Italy is Gorgeous on this game, I was stunned at the beauty, I even sat here and just looked at it and thought wow if only I could be there. Bravo to the creators!!! Hidden Object scenes were superb, the cut scenes were perfect and realistic, excellent voice overs too! I give this a 5 stars on all!!!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game!! One of the best games I’ve recently played Graphics are remarkable, really good cut-scenes and excellent animation, good voice overs Music is well chosen, suits perfectly Storyline is little bit of everything: ancient battle between good and evil, artifacts, mystery in one word- good adventure 2 modes of game: casual and expert Strategy guide is available Also there are extras- bonus chapter, mini games You have a map that allows travel and a journal Hidden object scenes are quite fun, not too many of them. There are two types of HOS, with listed objects and those where you must place given objects in their right place Puzzles are absolutely perfect, satisfying level of challenge, there are some new ones, and of course if you get stuck you can always skip them All in all I had fantastic time, and I definitely recommend this game!!
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secret society scenario, but who is on which side? Reminds me of a recently popular movie and book, which I thoroughly enjoyed. When I found the ultra violet light that was used to reveal a secret message on a piece of art, I was hooked. The demo went by quickly and the game is on my purchase list. The graphics, sound, animation, cutscenes and music are all excellent and, while the storyline is familiar, it is immersive and intriguing. With the standard features of a HOPA, the gameplay need not be described again, except to mention a new function of the "hint" system. In any location, clicking hint will either point you to an adjacent location or take you directly to the map, circle the location you need to visit, and then transport you there. A small change, but one that makes an already useful transporter map even more effective. I liked that. If you are in the mood to delve into the mysteries and machinations of a secret society to save the world from unspeakable evil, don't miss this one. As for me, I have to find out if the kindly old Archbishop innocently needs our heroine's help or is a actually part of a nefarious plot!
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vanessa saves the day! This story is intriguing and grabs your interest. It is similar to Sacre Terra - Kiss of Death, in that it is a battle between good and evil, and portals hold the seals that puts evil away. The graphics are excellent, particularly the scenes of Italy and the cut scenes throughout. You are Vanessa, summoned by Father Benedict to find the stolen seals using 15 messages left by your grandfather, who was the seals guardian and is also missing. What I like best is, although it is a "dark" story, the scenes are full of light that I don't have to stand up to search a HOS on my large monitor -- the top of the screen is as bright as the rest. The mini-puzzles are not necessarily unique, but the art is. The HOS are in list form or in "place the object in the scene" form. You can actually read the journal and see what you need to see. The map is interactive, the hint button refills immediately and the story is good. A definite buy!
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IMPENDING DISASTER! This is a great game with a good storyline, good graphics, with a spooky and eerie vibe, that allows for travel to otherworlds via portals. A woman has been called to St. Peters Cathedral in Italy by the pope to help find stolen seals when her grandfather goes missing. There aren't too many HOS but they are interactive and a mixture of finding the listed items and returning inventory items back into their correct place in the scene. There are however a lot of mini game puzzles and some of them are frustrating such as matching diagrams in a web pattern but when you move one stone they all move so it really gets tricky. There are 2 modes of difficulty casual and advanced and the CE has wallpapers, bonus play and mini games to play. I think this is an awesome game. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-09
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_18110, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

The gates to another world will open soon! You can stop the impending disaster - if you track down the stolen runes!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.