Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under the everlasting night of the Dark Forest, protected only by the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman becoming him, believing she has the answers to saving the town. As he goes to investigate, the lighthouse erupts into fire. Was it sabotaged from inside the town or a darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1186 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 200.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CONGRATULATIONS A great game An awesome game with amazing graphics, a creepy forest,different types of HOS.There is a lot to do and that keeps you entertained.Some puzzles 2or3 were difficult for me and I skipped them.As I see all reviews are positive so there is no need to write more. I strongly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game I really like the NeverTales game and after playing that I had to give this one a try. At times it was a little confusing about where to go or what to do but overall I have to say that the graphics and story were well worth it.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best ever!! Best game I have ever played!!! hope there is a sequel..and soon!!
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Game Is A Winner!! I recently played Nevertales and absolutely LOVED it. Upon reading other reviews, someone recommended this game as it is by the same maker. I had played the other Rite of Passage game already. This one was more like Nevertales and I thoroughly enjoyed it. These games leave all others in the dust. MadHead needs to hurry and release some more!
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game, with knobs on This would be a great game, even without all the bells and whistles that are on this CE. Many have been before me, so I won't bother going into the story, but I thoughi it definitely had originality, which is tricky with all the games that are being made now. It also kept my interest throughout the game, and kept the game moving at just the right pace. Also, the cut scene numbers are just right, not too many to interfere with the fluidity of the game, but enough to keep the tale rolling along. The graphics are lovely hand drawn story book style, and along with the gentle music, makes for the perfect atmosphere for the story.The hidden object scenes are clear, I did find myself having to really look for a few items, but managed quite well without any hints. The puzzles and mini games are innovative and fun, mainly of a middling difficulty for me, and again I managed without skipping any. There are instructions if you need them, and the strategy guide if you need more help. The strategy guide is thorough and well presented, and stays where you leave it during game play. Some of them have a definite 'end of level boss' feel about them, where you have to keep your wits about you and defeat some foe or another. There are 2 difficulty levels, plus a custom level, which was the one I chose, and set to almost the hardest, but showing inventory items which needed something doing to them. You can access this through options during game play. Some inventory items need to be combined with others, some require looking at more closely. There is also a jump map, which shows areas which still require actions to be completed. I found this to be enough to keep me on track, without needing the guide. There are plenty of collectibles of different types throughout the game, and you receive achievements for getting them all. The achievement list is extensive, and they have to be earned, rather than just appearing when you progress through the game. I managed to get only 70%, so the game has replay value just for that, although I would have come back to this game anyway, even if I had got them all. The extras are a little different here, and much better in my eyes. The concept art actually talks you through the development of the game, and the reasons things were done as they were. I also really enjoyed the hidden object replay challenge available on the main menu, in which you need to have great speed and accuracy, this is another achievement. You can also replay the mini games, once you have passed them in the main game. The bonus level was a great addition, not required to wrap the main story up, but a great addition and definitely worth the CE in my opinion. There is also another optional area to be revisited when you have completed the main game, which is an additional challenge. This game is a very good length, as is the bonus, and I really do recommend that you give it a go. It's well balanced all round, offers decent challenge, and actually worthy of being a CE. There are nods to the previous game, and a nod to the next one, I just hope it comes out soon.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from blows out all other game with similar genre cant say enough on how great this game is the gameplay the minigame the story the animations the sounds all are very well done and well thought !! totally recommended
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY UNIQUE FEATURES - LOVED IT With so many reviews, probably no one will read this, but here it is. SUMMARY: There was a lot to do and see; gameplay was not linear. Much of it was unique and will likely become more common in the future. The main game is fairly length. This is a game I heartily recommend and I am very happy that I bought it. Music was spooky and sung by a child at the beginning, but he just disappeared suddenly. It set the tone for the entire game. There are quite a few dark and foreboding dark spots, which you need to clear with your magic amulet. If you were, for example, in the woods, it would become brilliant after using your amulet. Your inventory will eventually include a hamster who helps out in tight places. I won’t go into detail of the story since others have already done so. Some HOS were list based and there was always something under the objects which was used for the last object. Other HOS were unique. I’d like to see other games with this type. You are given silhouettes which represent categories instead of specific objects and you usually have to find 2 of each. So, if the silhouette is a beetle, you may need to find a bug and a caterpillar (this one took some thinking when I saw no more bugs anywhere). Or you are shown a silhouette of a candy, which you find, but the category is sweets, so the other object is a cupcake. MINIGAMES were fantastic and a lot of fun. I especially liked the game with the paper cannon. There were lots of pieces to it – much like putting a miniplay together. The cutscenes or minishows were very unique and I loved them. They told a story in storyboard fashion and you had to put 4 misplaced items in the scene where they belonged as the story unfolded. It sure was a lot of fun. In the CE, you get to replay them. CE: Bonus game has new locations: lady’s house (which was locked in game) and stables. I think it took about an hour (I spent 2 ½ hours replaying a few HOS and puzzles and didn’t break down the time spent on the game and the replayables).
Date published: 2013-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite game so far! I am immersed in this game. I love the numerous boss fights and the new way you could tinker with your items.
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finished Review Generally liked the game. It had some stumping places even for a avid player like myself. Enjoy Fishes
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure HOG I enjoyed playing this game. I rarely write a review, but after playing this game I had to let everyone know that I thought thus was an entertaining game. I always play the games at the hardest level to give myself a challenge. I found myself using the strategy guide on a few occasions. I would encourage all to buy this game. I played this game twice and I rarely do that.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different twist to a hidden object game at last Finally something a little different to other HO games. Thoroughly enjoyed this and was disappointed when it ended. A small bit of advice, make sure you find the hidden acorns in each of the scenes, whilst they're not necessary to complete the game, you will want them for later :) Enjoy.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New and Different!! I must admit that this wasn't the most difficult game I've ever played, but it certainly was the most fun!!! It seems that many of the games are in the same rut, with the same mini-games and the same ole' hidden object scenes. This one has such a variety, and also has games within a game and new approaches to the old ones. Thank you Mad Head Games!!
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do NOT let the file size fool you! There is more activity to this game than most adventures. Players will get their money's worth. The plot is so thick it goes beyond most stories here.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 out of 10... This game was a joy to play, right down to the bonus game... I did not want it to end. The game play was creative, colorful, and I can not say enough good things about this game. Achievements, wallpapers, no screensaver though. It is worth the $$$. Plz don't 4get 2 post ur fav. game after u write ur review, so that others can chk it out as I do. ty game on gamers,,,
Date published: 2013-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ton of fun CE version-good story, graphics nice and crisp. Fun side game and achievements. Loved the jump map. Hints clear. Puzzles not too hard. HO games really fun, they mixed them with different styles which I liked a LOT and didn't have too many of them. Good value for the money, lots of game time! Bought the other Rite of Passage game before I even finished this one! Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best EVER! I wasn't expecting anything other than a nice quiet HOG. What I got was an adventure! The graphics are amazing. The music was gorgeous and well planned to go with whatever scene was being played out. The voice overs were excellent. The action (YES, ACTION) was heart-pumping. The HOGs were different and challenging. The puzzles were different, but not so hard that I couldn't do them. There were extras to find, plus magic change items. Also some hidden stuff that I honestly didn't understand, but I managed to find a few of them. The CE is worth the extra because the storyline continues. Please don't hesitate to get this one!
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New and creative!!! I am not quite finished with this game yet, but just had to leave a review. I am loving it. Creative new games and mini puzzles. Darling little hamster you even get to name. Long play time. I am playing the CE and it has an amazing array of possible rewards. Very different. I am so happy not to see the same old thing because frankly I was getting pretty tired of HO and Adventure games. Not only are there 3 different play level, but now they have created a 4th. A custom level. I love it. I was able to turn off the sparkles, which I HATE, but still leave some of the potential helpful hints available. Amazing play control. Take your time and play this one slowly. Don't keep hitting the hint button. Enjoy it. Have fun.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from congratulations for the work done review based game completed: it is not easy mixing minigame, HO, graphics, plot, a good balance In this game there are successful, I can say that is close to small work of art, I exaggerate? no, even video games you can talk about art work. the narration is done through minishow who are also minigame, that black and white with a touch of poetry, plot is nice (not sure if fairytale already exists) the graphics are well done, my eyes are not tired. some puzzles are complicated than others, positive that there are no pop ups for collecting acorns (I hate pop up in games). the game is long there is much to do, and the bonus chapter is worth new scenes open our eyes with different beautiful colors. recommend taking CE worth it.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Game I just loved this game, beautifully designed, fun to play,Puzzles are interesting and intriguing not too difficult. Simple navigation and great fun exploring. Background music is beautiful, I don't want it stop. You'll love this game enough to play it again and again. It's a real treasure. Credit goes to the creative people who designed it.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! This is an amazing game, keeping this one to play over and over again. Great sound effects, graphics are AMAZING, loved the interaction with animals, and in this case" " not gonna give it away, but something you won't expect, but done so well. I play on expert mode and this won really fit the bill..Made me really think and really wanna get all the extra side games.. I just loved it. Game play was really long, alot for your money, you won't regret buying this one! I wish I could say a negative thing about it, but I can't. Hope there is more to this story down the line, just awesome!
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the top games of big fish!! This is in my top 5 games, i must say after drawn, i did not think i would find a game that is so well designed and created as this one, i have a lot of games that have quality but this is a real topper!! this
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game! This is a great game! It is so interesting that it keeps you going to the end. And the hidden object scenes and mini-games are more original and a lot of fun. Also, it wasn't overly hard. I really enjoyed this game and highly recommend it! :)
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this game! This game has a great storyline to follow and there were 3 different kind of hidden object scenes. The puzzles were just challenging enough to keep it interesting. I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb HO game!!! I bought this "site unseen" because of the reactions of other people:) They were not wrong:) I cannot stop playing this. Just when you think you think the game will come to an end, it doesn't....and carries on in another world, so to speak:) The music is light, which is a bonus for me:) There are lots of HO games, and they aren't all the same kind...there are lots of DIFFERENT ones...which I really like, plus puzzles inside of puzzles... it makes for an excellent game...:)
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Fun and yet different from other games. I really enjoyed this game. It is not very often I rate a game 5 stars. The storyline was very good. You are trying to find your boyfriend Alan (or husband??) in the dark woods. Your boyfriend is somehow indirectly part of the reason a young boy named Ethan disappeared in the dark woods several years before when Alan was a child. The graphics are excellent. Very sharp graphics. The scenes were also very good, plenty of creepy scenes. The music was good for the game, there was a scene where the Ethan sings a poem or something, which was nice, I wish it was with the soundtracks so I could hear it again. The puzzles where pretty challenging, not too easy like other games. There were many puzzles that were actually different than other games, which was a plus. Not the same old type puzzles. The skip button fills up very quickly if you need it. The HOS were very easy. There were different types, which I usually dont like, but in this game it was good and easy. The hint button refills very quickly in HOS as well as rest of game. One of the best parts to the game was the fact that there was a map that allows you to jump from one area to another. That was extremelly helpful. Didnt have to back track so much like other games played. The bonus chapter was pretty good. Good length, although the ending could have been different. The bonus content has much to offer. It has wallpapers, some scenes you can replay, HOS, soundtracks, and other things. There are acorns you can collect throughout main game. There are morphing objects you can collect in bonus chapter. Main game time for me: approx 4-4.5 hours Bonus chapter: approx 1-1.5 hours
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I'm glad I tried this one. It was a great game, with lots of different mini games, hidden objects, and I like the fact I didn't feel like I was spending most of my time going backwards to solve a puzzle. The graphics were beautiful and the hidden objects were clear.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend this game This is one of the best games I have played in a very long time. The Collector's Edition is worth the money. I keep buying more adventure games after playing this one and so far I can't find one as good. It was nice and long and had nice additional content in the CE so I really feel I got my money's worth with this one. I look forward to more from Mad Head Games. Yes, I liked it so much I checked who made it and have searched to see if they have more games. I'm downloading their first game, Rite of Passage: The Perfect Show Collector's Edition right now. I didn't realize this one was the sequel. What a great game. If you only get one game of this genre to try them out, make it this one for sure.
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever This is the game by which all others should be judged. Everything about this game is fun, challenging and just a little bit different. It is only the second game I will play again. Loved it.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from supercalifragilisticexpealidosus If ya liked DireGrove and Ravenhurst, buy this game. Need I say more?
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game! Highly recommended! This is the best game I have ever played! It even tops the Ravenhearst series games, which were my previous favorites. It really has everything to keep your attention. It has elements of Drawn, where you have to place items back into drawn scenes, there are several different types of hidden object scenes: shadow objects, interactive, and putting objects together. In addition, the CE is way, way worth the extra price! There are so many achievements and hidden achievements, you will want to keep playing this game over and over, just to get all of them. I have played it through once and am looking forward to getting all of the achievements. In addition, the Strategy Guide actually tells you how to get them all, so you don't have to get frustrated. Buy this game! You will not regret it!
Date published: 2013-06-03
  • y_2019, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_200
  • loc_en_US, sid_18153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.