Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under the everlasting night of the Dark Forest, protected only by the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman becoming him, believing she has the answers to saving the town. As he goes to investigate, the lighthouse erupts into fire. Was it sabotaged from inside the town or a darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1186 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(494.94 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 203.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absobloominlutly Fabulous What a marvelous game. I cannot find one thing about it that I do not like. The HOS are different and with a variety, lists, sillouettes, pictures and with interactive elements. The mini games are fun, quite easy, but fun. It has everything I look for in a CE these days. Achievements, collectibles (although I keep forgetting to look for the acorns :) and an interactive map. If I could give 10/10 I would. totally 100% recommend.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... But A Real Short Bonus Level ... Stunning Graphics, Visuals, Voice Scenes, Music & Story ... This Game Really Hits The Mark. Nice Long Game, But Sadly The Bonus Level Was Extremely Short ... Not Worth CE Money, So Get It On A Deal At About SE Price ...
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Somehow I made it through the main game. Yes I know it is a strange title - but that is what I felt after I beat the last boss - which did have me scratching my head because I has having trouble understanding what I was suppose to be doing. (But that was just my dyslexia acting up - I even looked at the strategy guide several times reading and re-reading the instructions before it clicked what I was to do. Again that was more due to my dyslexia then a failure of the instructions not being clear enough.) This game has a lot going for it - there is LOTS of things to do some of which isn't all that clear - like just making note of all the house numbers on the buildings by just clicking on it - it is one of the achievements believe it or not. Unlike some games that pop up little windows saying "achievement errand" you have to actually click on the little red box at the bottom right corner of the screen to for it to access the achievements which allows you to see all the possible achievements that can be - including the stray fruit that pop up every now and then. This game offers a lot - stuff you should probably have to actually play the game to really get the grasp of. The demo just isn't enough - and in very few games have the demo ever put me off to the point I wanted to uninstall the game and never want to speak of ever playing the game again. But with this game - the demo just barely gives you an idea on what is ahead. In the end all I can say is give it a try - don't let the uniqueness of the game put you off or go looking for things to gripe about - it is a good game one of the best I have seen - and actually played through the main game - in a very long time. Of course I am a fan of the Wild Arms series for the Playstation - so I like unique and daring to be different games. Which I think is what a lot of us want - we've played so a lot of games that seem the same-o-same-o that some of us get a little scared of something totally new that comes down the line every so often. It is perfect - no but then again there is no such thing as perfection - this game has a lot of strong points and if you look hard enough you can find faults. In the end - just try the game see for your self if you like it or not. It is worth the CE price? Yes - for me it is - some may want to wait for the SE. (And good luck to those who do wait for the SE - I just don't have that kind of patience.)
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I WAS TRULY SORRY IT WAS OVER!!! this game has EVERYTHING! ... great story line, beautiful graphics ... the continuity in the gameplay is exceptional! ... and i just LOVE the variety of puzzles!!!!! especially the inclusion of the the "targets" and the missing pieces ... will be continuing on in the bonus play, but just had to stop to give this review ... this is one of those games that i will come back to and play again ... you go mad head games! ... i will remember you!!!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW....what a really fun game!!! I've played LOTS of demos waiting for a game worth buying and this one is a definite must have. Talk about real FUN!! I haven't been this interested or had this much fun with a HO game in a long time. It's not dark and "scary" like many of the games and talk about interaction! There are acorns to collect in almost every scene, an interactive map you can click on to go to another location, and you will interact with this game all the way through. I LOVE this game!! You definitely won't get bored, it makes you think, but is not so hard as to take the fun out of it. It has EVERYTHING!! Hint button refreshes quickly, skip button does too....I can't say enough good things about this very fun game. You won't be disappointed with this one.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest - Great game! I've been on the lookout for this game and was very happy as I heard that it's out now. The storyline is very different from other games. It's not only a story about bad dreams or ghosts. It's very complex and great done. I love it. The graphics are ok, but they could be better. The atmosphere is great, but I love more detailed graphics. And the characters could be better too. But the fantasy world of the game is great done with These graphics. The music and all the sounds are perfect for the game. I love them. The game is not easy. The puzzles are challenging and different from all other games. I played many, many games, but I never played puzzles like these before. There are voiceovers, achievements, collectibles, character profiles, a bonus game and a little bonus game called "The old lady". The achievements are splitted into three different groupes. Bronze achievements, silver achievements and gold achievements. A great idea! Overall this game is the best for me in 2013 until yet. The devs did a nice job!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the most versatile HO game yet! This game was so much fun! As you begin the game, you are able to customize the challenge of the game by choosing from several choices, such as how long for a hint recharge. The game play itself had so much variety. There were at LEAST four different types of HO scenarios offered at any given time, as well as several collections to gather along the way. I hope to see a lot more of these types of games. So much fun!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Game Deserves Every Single Bit of Praise it Gets!!! I played the first Rite of Passage, and this is 10 times better! I loved every single second of the demo. Can’t wait to purchase! The storyline is brilliantly creepy, centering around the town of Willow Ridge. The story involves amulets, evil trees, a guardian lighthouse and a creepy forest… The way Mad Head has developed this game makes the story outstanding. The demo ends on a very creepy cutscene. Speaking of cutscenes, each cutscene was great and I didn’t skip one. The story just makes you want to play on until you finish the game. I loved the HOS for two reasons: One, every single one is different, meaning, you have to find the objects to assemble something different, or open something etc. and two, they were very unique. This type of HOS can only be seen in this game. The HOS themselves were a perfect mix of easy and hard, and I really enjoyed playing them. The puzzles were relatively simple; nothing was too hard, which I enjoyed. Puzzles include tic tac toe, place the missing objects, and guide the ship. If I got stuck on a puzzle though, the strategy guide would be a great help. I really liked the graphics. The artwork and animations are very well done, and the graphics are modern, not outdated by a year or two as we’ve seen in other games. The voice-overs were really good too, and weren’t just used for cutscenes, but for everything, which I enjoyed. FEATURES - 4 levels of difficulty: Casual, Experienced, Advanced & Custom (I picked custom. In custom, you can change the hint and skip times as well as other things. Min. time is 15 sec, max. is 90 sec) - Hint & Skip- as I mentioned, you can change these through custom mode to suit your desires. I set the hint to 15 seconds and the skip to 45 seconds. - Diary to keep track of events - Map is interactive, and lets you know if you have completed a location. - A little while in to the demo, you acquire a hamster that is useful for many things (you also get to name it) - 34 Collectable acorns. (CE Exclusive) - Built in Strategy Guide (CE Exclusive) - Posters (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Bonus Game (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Gallery. This is replaying HOS and Puzzles (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Wallpapers (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Something called “Old Lady” which I don’t know anything about. (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) There are a lot of CE Extras, which definitely makes this a CE worth purchasing. This is a cracker of a game, which goes in to contention for the best game of 2013, and I don’t know if I can wait a month for the SE! This is a relatively new developer (this is their second game) and if they’re producing this brilliant material this early, I can’t wait for more! 100% recommend the CE!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raising the bar for ALL ADVENTURE & HOGS!!! TOP GAME of ALL TIME! Incredibly amazing wonderful game!! There is nothing to compare it to, it is a mixture of different HOG themes and several new and never seen before (at least not by me - in my almost 3 years of continuous play) methods of game play! FANTASTIC! Graphics are colorful, crisp and clear, story is unprecedented in theme. Puzzles and HOGS are fresh and new and of course at points repetitive but then they pick it up again at the end....I haven't finished this game and in fact am in the last chapter, and have been playing now 5 1/2 hours and that's before the bonus section AND I've skipped quite a few puzzles as I couldn't figure them out. NO GLITCHES!! woot, woot!! and Finally a game that is LONG ENOUGH TO SATISFY CE standards!!!!! I would give a 10 star rating if I could! I cannot GUSH enough about this game...I will be keeping my eye on these developers in the future...they have OUTDONE the competition!! BRAVO!!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY!!! SOMETHING DIFFERENT!!!!! The dev did a fantastic job with this one. Not only was it gorgeous, but the storyline, characters, and cutscenes kept you glued to the screen! Out of the 300 or more Bigfish games I own, I will have to say that this by far has been one of my favorites! I finished in in 4 hours, and did the bonus chapter which was just as enthralling. The bonus chapters also contained morphing objects which I thought was alot of fun. All the little extras make this game top notch!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW Great Game This is a fantastic game! Not a normal doom and gloom HOG game. Great artwork, music, storyline and narration....total package. Not a easy game, you will need the strategy guide. A must buy for me after 30 minutes of play.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Really Fun I don't write reviews so this short and I want to get back to the game :# Wow, this is fun and that is largely due to this developer using and taking the gameplay to #finally!# a new level. HOS's aren't typical, interaction is actually interactive :) and it is challenging. I'm not just running through it, I want to take my time. I love this game - it was worth the big download #for a slower connection) So far very enjoyable!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's about time!! Yes, I am also getting bored with the same old HOGs and was excited about this game after reading the reviews. Good or bad reviews, I always try the game for myself. I must say, exceptional graphics and game play. Four levels of game play to choose from, which is an excellent change. HOGs are fun and I like the way they change up from just a straight HOG. Games are not difficult, but some take a little thought. I didn't care for the fact that when I click off the custom cursor, it stays custom. Minor detail, but still bugs me anyway. When you put a lot of time and effort in a really nice game, this shouldn't happen. Nice SG (not marked as such, but in lower left corner above "menu"), helpful hint (didn't have to use it but a couple of times), nice voice overs (even if the mouth doesn't move). I like the fact that you can click through the dialogue..very nice for people who read faster than they talk. Very little music and nice sound FX. Anyway, the demo went too fast for me. Even though I am not buying CE games until I use up my credits, I find the need to get this one and see where it goes. Definite buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. I think this game will appeal to all levels of players. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAD A BLAST - PROGRESSIVE FEATURES! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME + BONUS CHAPTER IN "CUSTOM", 4TH OF 4 MODES (Sparkles on HOS only, Black Bar Hints). SUMMARY: Thoroughly Enjoyed beginning to end! Mad Head Games has turned out another winner. - The implementation of features such as "scene complete" and custom game mode is intuitive and polished. The same can be said of the thought and creativity that went into design and implementation of the collectibles, achievements, and the variety of iHOS (details below). DETAILS ------------------------------------------- STORY/THEME: A curse has lured the children into the dark forest never to return, so off we go with amulet & perky side-kick to dispel evil and return the children no harm done. The bonus chapter is "what might have been" had the curse been prevented. It is interesting but quickly completed and doesn't add much. The best part of the story for me - creepy little Ethan & his even creepier song early on. Those cut-scenes aside, ambiance stays light, tongue in cheek, and fun, with a touch of the mysterious and sinister. ARTWORK/GRAPHICS: This drawn world is beautiful, rich in detail, and well executed. There is a lot to see which is good because there is also a lot to find. GAME MODES: Terrific variety of options - what does/doesn't sparkle, black bar hints on/off, recharge time, etc.. AREA COMPLETE: Love this feature & the ways it works in this game. Mouse-over to the right edge of the inventory bar and "scene complete" or "scene not complete" will show. TOOLS: --Journal. Back story and most of what is needed for mini-puzzles. It constantly beckoned to be re-opened with yellow sparkles on the right bottom screen. Sigh. --Jump Map. Concise, well done. Depending on mode selected, active areas are shown, along with areas complete, areas available. --Sassy Side-Kick. Pops up in first chapter. Player even gets to name the little guy. He comes in handy a few times. --Amulet. Best defense against "the darkness". Used frequently. The player is responsible for finding, charging, and fixing. Meh. MUSIC/SOUND EFFECTS: Not intrusive, distracting, or annoying, but pleasingly blended with context of scene. I thoroughly enjoyed and did not turn down. COLLECTIBLES: Several types - most not mentioned in SG or Tutorial so I won't mention either. Lots of fun with these but as always a few escaped my notice so no cigar-I mean award! Drat. ACHIEVEMENTS: Three levels with achievements "padlocked" so players only find out what was achieved after the fact. --No distracting pop ups trumpeting every move through the game either. NICE! IHOS: These were a blast. Several types throughout game. Items were ornate, detailed, and had variety. MINI-GAMES: A couple pretty cool. The rest cleverly packaged and fun. Some we've seen/some a new spin. A number of them relied on matching pairs, fun with Runes, doing things in the correct order which got a little old. ADVENTURE: As mentioned there are a lot of collectibles to "discover" and lots to find. Inventory items may need to be combined or additional actions required. -It's easy to miss items. Some, like the Oar, are very cleverly constructed making me laugh. ---------------------------------------- ONLY A COUPLE OF NIT-PIKS ENDING: To wind up the game we are left with a series of Rune-Themed mini-games to battle the evil. For example, slow response in matching Runes results in ever increasing screen-flashing tantrums from the opponent. On this one I might be alone but I felt badgered reducing the fun-factor. VARIETY in MINI-GAME: Too many relied on matching pairs, turning things on in the correct order, and Runes, Runes, Runes. A couple of the puzzles were truly original and fun so it was a bummer to run into the same type over and over. For me this is the weakest part of the game. BONUS CHAPTER: Didn't really add much meaning that if I were to purchase solely on merits of the bonus chapter, I would wait for the SE. Fortunately the myriad collectible and other bells and whistles make it well worth the CE price. ----------------------
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never Been So Excited About A New Game! BASED ON ONE HOUR DEMO This game is awesome! I'll let the other reviewers go into the details of the mechanics, how many difficulty levels etc. (3 + custom btw), let me tell you about the playing of this one. First, everything is gorgeous. The GRAPHICS, the MUSIC, the CUTSCENES. FABULOUS. Intro is really good. VOs are used sparingly but are WELL DONE. There are acorns to COLLECT, and you actually have a tree to put them in as you go along. And ACHIEVEMENTS, accessible from the game. What's got me so excited, though, is the HO SCENES & INVENTORY PUZZLES. They come in different types. I encountered a FRAGMENTED HOS. And 3 of LIST types. The LISTS are EXTREMELY INTERACTIVE, with about half the items requiring extra steps to find them. When found, an item does not disappear, it moves so you can pick up the piece of puzzle hiding behind it. At the end, you must solve the puzzle (simple jigsaws so far) to complete the scene. I LOVE IT! Outside HOS, items you pick up may go into your INVENTORY showing a PLUS SIGN. This MAY mean they need to be combined, but just as likely, you will need to PERFORM more ACTIONS with it before it is USEFUL. For example, a wire coat hanger will need straightening. Another very cool idea. There are also cute critters in this one, but the one that won me was a hamster, who takes off when you open its cage, and leads you into a HO SCENE, in which it keeps popping up! Again, a wonderful idea. There were a few PUZZLES, in the GAME and in the HOS, none of which presented even PUZZLE DUNCE me with any trouble. If you encounter a problem, there is an INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP, DIRECTIONAL HINT, & of course, the STRATEGY GUIDE. HINT & SKIP are very QUICK. All sorts of options on the options menu too. BONUS CONTENT includes: BONUS GAME REPLAYABLE HOS & PUZZLES WALLPAPERS, CONCEPT ART, MUSIC TROPHY ROOM Another GAME Called OLD LADY about which I know nothing. POSTERS of the characters, which you need to piece together from a simple jigsaw. I absolutely LOVE this game!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest CE = A GREAT game! If you're looking for fun and unique, this game has it ALL! I'm thrilled to be playing a game that isn't the same old, same old... I do get tired of the same "formula" that seems to be the usual for Hidden Object/Puzzle/Adventure games: the scary, sometimes supernatural monster, that captures the main character's daughter/spouse/mother/dog, and as the MC one has to go thru the usual obstacles to rescue her/him. While playing this game [just played the 1 hr. demo - but I'm writing while downloading the entire game], so far I've learned that I'm in a town surrounded by a menacing forest full of mad [-crazy & -angry!] trees, and must use the power of light [literal] to repel them. So, IMHO, seems like a different storyline right there. I won't go into details more than that re: the story, so you can learn yourself... However, I will say that as far as the "mechanics" of the game, the Hidden Object scenes are different from any I've played before, EVER - and HOPAs are what fill up my Game Mgr. - so this is awesome to me! You're still finding objects, but what you do with them or what they do on their own, is unique - hooray for creativity! One hour along in the game, the puzzles have been different, too - not too challenging, rather, they're actually FUN, and not just something I have to get through to progress in the game - which is how I usually view most puzzles in other games [How long until I can skip this one? or will that penalize me somehow??] There are achievements [quite a few!], including picking up acorns along the way. Another neat and actually helpful feature regarding the acorns, there's a little chart in the lower lefthand of the screen, where you can tap your acorn and it will fly up to a tree, which if you hover your cursor over the spot it goes to, tells you what scene it came from, and which scenes you can still find them! You don't have to find out this info if you don't want to... These are just a couple of the great aspects of the game, and some of the reasons I felt like I HAD to purchase this game, without waiting for the SE version to come out to compare it with - I hate spending that extra $$$ for wallpapers and concept art [bleech! I could care less - sorry, Devs!] I almost forgot, one of the best things in setting up your game: you have 4 options of difficulty!! Yep, FOUR - the fourth one is CUSTOM, which I've never seen before in ANY other game I've EVER played! WooHoo and Hooray! Thanks so much Developers and BFG, for a truly great and fun game! "You just gotta try it!!"
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect Game! Our story picks up from where we left off in the town Willow Ridge twhere people have lived under the threat of the everlasting night of the Dark Forest. Their only source of protection is the Great Lighthouse that keeps the menacing trees at bay. Your husband Alan has gone gone off to search for answers and it has something to do with the dreams he has been having of a ghostly woman becoming him. Suddenly the lighthouse erupts into fire and it is now up to you to uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite. Once again the developers have really done an execellant job with graphics, visuals and artwork. The voice overs are well done as is the haunting music in the backgroug adding tension to the game. Along with three options of gameplay, you can also choose to customize your settings which I actually prefer. Equiped with a journal, you also have a list of objectives along with a map that will also allow you to travel and indicate tasks if selected. There is an amulate that needs to be reassembled that will hold off the trees. A exceptional HOPA, this game offers challenge, entertainment and all of my other favorite extras like achievements, collecting acorns and morphing objects. Looking at the list of achievements, there seems to be many that involve gameplay which will definitely make tis game more interesting and challenging. Packed with adventure, the Hidden object scenes are interactive and vary from the ones we are use to.Mini-games are also very well conceptualized and fun to play. Main menu also offer bonus games and other goodies that tell me that the developers went all out on this sequel. Kudos to the developers for this definite 5 star game that will most probably make the list of my top 10 games for 2013.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOOD YOU JUST LEAF US ALONE! I couldn't resist the play on words. Wow, what a game, those horrible trees are encroaching on our town because the only thing keeping the evil trees at bay are light and our lighthouse has caught on fire and the door is locked from the inside! To make matters worse, the lighthouse keeper has gone into the forest to try and break the enchantment spell cast on these malicious trees. You will earn lot's of achievements during this game as well as acorn collectables and forest fruits, the acorns you find will be displayed on a large oak tree. There are a ton of new and fun mini games such as steering a boat through treacherous waters trying to avoid rocks, storms and sea monsters, if you run into the rocks etc. you crash and have to start over! The HOS are different as well, the items you find move out of the way to reveal notes or puzzle pieces that you put together to reveal the clue and there is a lot of interactive play as well as achievements to earn in the HOS. At the beginning of the game you can choose from three levels of difficulty OR you can customize the game with or without sparkles, map indicators or even how fast the hint button recharges, cool huh? This is a well produced game that is fun to play with great graphics and a great story, I suggest this one for purchase, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return to Ravenhearst now has a challenger as best game ever!! I did something I had never done before and that is buy a game without doing even 1 minute of a trial. Based solely on the glowing reviews of others I decided to take a flyer and get this gem during the outstanding sale of one CE at regular cost and another at $2.99. The devs deserve a standing ovation for creating the best game in quite a few years, hence my review title. Many other reviewers have explained the storyline so I won't bore anyone with repeated comments. There are so many unique elements to Rite of Passage. I love that the hidden object scenes involve in each found item a small part of another item to be put together. The hamster ( and naming it to boot ) is really neat. The map to maneuver thru the forest is a great idea. The puzzles in sepia coloration which develop part of the story is very clever. I have seen 2 so far and hope there is more. I have played about 2 hours of the game and had to come here and put in my 2 cents worth about this 10 star game. I have not been this excited about a new entry in the HOPA genre since RTR and we all know how old that beauty is. I'd bet that even players who normally eschew HO games will marvel at this one. Child of the Forest is easily the best so far in 2013 and it will take one heck of an achievement to top it. I guess readers of this review will surmise that I LOVE THIS GAME!! I usually advise players to judge a game based on their own play. This time take my word for it. R of P: C of the F is the FINEST GAME IN YEARS.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dear Devs; I give you my first born... Many others have reviewed this game in detail so I won't repeat or duplicate - just scroll up and read the great reviews on this great game. I played the trial, reluctantly, because like others here I am just tired, burnt out and "eh" about hidden object games these days. I have bought hundreds here and thought well, I was just getting to know the 'formula" so well that I find myself clicking the hidden object scenes randomly like mad and skipping puzzles just to get the thing over with. Occasionally a game would come along that would make me smile and go "wow, this is cool! Finally!" but I have not had the wonder and awe about them that I had in the beginning. The car in the accident in the rain, the whining child, black bars that say things like "Oh! however do I open this rotting gate?! I must find a key!" yet you are in front of the gate with dynamite, a chainsaw and backloader. Nope, need the key which is in the usual mailbox with the usual vines over it. Yawn. I downloaded this one expecting much of the same. I said to my sister recently that I would give my first born for a decent game with a creative plot and voice overs that didn't talk to you like you were a 3 year old. So, if I had a first born he/she/it would be all yours. This is one great game. You have thought of everything and then some. The graphics are incredible, the many extra touches are amazing and yes!....the hidden object scenes are creatively different. You have the jump map, the dock that locks, customizable everything. I haven't even turned off the music or voiceovers, which I do out of self defense in every game. A big thank you!!! for this wonderful creative effort and listening to what we wish for, complain about, get bored with and would like in a game. I hope the $13.99 I spent is an even trade to you for the first born I don't have to give you. :)
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gold Medal Game Speaking of gold metal medals....if you like achievements as a measure of how you play, you'll love this: this game has three levels of achievement: gold, silver and bronze, each with 10 different accomplishments. This is not central to the progress of the game on its own, but it does give you something to work toward and is a measure of how you're doing in general. For those who are concerned that my PERFECT score of this game belies a reviewer who loves everything, my average score is 3.9. So, while generally positive, not everything is a slam dunk for me. What is a slam dunk about this game? a) Fun factor: there are so many different levels on which the game is played, so many little facets of the game, each of which contributes to the whole, that this game either rises or falls on these facets. And the facets are all Diamond. Because of the challenge, because of the beauty of the visual graphics (what I call "set design,") because of the basic but well-explored storyline, this game is uber-fun. b) Visual/Sound Quality: honestly, each of the last several games I've reviewed I've referred to the exceptional visual quality. I think we're seeing a new standard of acceptable performance when it comes to visuals. This game is many cuts above the average. Many good games are, recently. This game is special, I think. The graphics-set design is spectacular. Characters and objects are drawn with such a level of visual acuity as to make this game seem much more live-action flick than animation. The sound is good, but I don't think it's generations ahead of other good games and I don't consider it a central aspect of the game. One aspect that could be improved upon to make the sound devices as good as the rest of the game: the cut scene monologues are trying to match up lip movement with the words you hear (and read below) and this misses pretty dramatically. In the next version/upgrade of the game they could improve this. While it doesn't detract from the game, it would add to the game if it were done well. This isn't a big complaint: in a game that's nearly perfect, this is how you go from 9.95 to 10.0. c) Level of Challenge: Here's where I include puzzles and HOGs and the general difficulty of playing, Mind you, hard to play, if high quality=good to me. Hard to play because the graphics suck or the progress makes no sense isn't quality. That's a game that's hard to play because it's poorly designed. This is not that. This game is hard. It's not a walk in the park. BUT I promise, you WILL enjoy the difficulty. You will be tested but you'll feel like you've accomplished something special when you've succeeded. The HOGs are puzzle-like: you don't just find things. You may find things and need to place them in appropriate places so they can be used later on. You may enter what you THINK is a cut-scene, only to find it's actually an HOG...but the most creative and different HOG you've ever played. Here's an example: One game begins as a cut scene, telling background on why we are where we are....and then the story turns into an HOG where you need to find missing objects that complete the "story boards" visually, which tell the story. There are many different types of HOGs and you're going to have a lot of fun discovering them. The puzzles are the most creative I have ever seen. And what I especially love is that they aren't just good, but, it's not the same thing over and over. Like any great chef does, you leave wanting more. You're satisfied, but you want the next Rite of Passage game ASAP. Well, I know I do. Level of Challenge/just playing the game: It's not hard for the sake of being hard. There's a purpose to every test and they're not all easy. Sure, there's some "clicking around" trying to find something, but, mainly, you're trying to accomplish things and you have to work for em. Storyline: It's a simple, straightforward storyline and, as every good game does, all the aspects of the game contribute toward reaching your final goal. I know I haven't given you many specifics. That's on purpose. I don't think the TOPIC is so important to be kept secret, but you need to wait for the different games/challenges until you play the game. I'm not going to ruin the surprises...and there are surprises aplenty. Is there anything I'd like to improve? Nearly every game is from the perspective of a woman. I'm tired of that and think the developers should figure out a way to make the perspective choose-able. I HIGHLY recommend this game. If you don't like it, you're looking for a wholly different type of game OR you're an HOS only player...all of which is fine. But, trust me, please. This game is exceptional.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as good as the other Fun and exciting game to play. Has good music and graphics. Good voice over and the game play is pretty good. There is running around to do (they all do now) but has pretty good flow. The HOS are good and not that hard. The puzzles are fun. Some are easy ans some not to me. There are tings to find that gives the game a different aspect and makes it fun. Just as good as the other game they made. Good story and a good game to buy.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Game Well Done! The graphics in this game are very good; the music is ok. There are four modes of game play to choose from; casual, experienced, masterful, and the ability to customize all game difficulty options to your own personal preference (I like the option of being able to set your hint/skip recharge time for 15 to 90 seconds in duration). After gathering several pieces of a map and assembling them, you are provided with a jump map. You have the ability to change whether or not certain information is listed on the map (from your customizable game settings menu). There are a lot of extras in this game- find 34 acorns that you come across throughout the game, 5 Forest Fruit, 11 morphing objects... and an additional 30 achievements. The puzzles that I have encountered (if you can call them that) are fun but not especially difficult. The game is interactive (and not just in HO scenes) with respect to what you do with objects that you find and what you do with the objects... which makes for an interesting game. All in all this game is a definite winner.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Stunning!!! Just finished the game and all i can say is wow!! This game incorporates whimsical and eerie in a way that is magical and captivating. Absolutely stunning!!! the story was incredible and kept your attention while the scenes just swept you away in awe and made you stop and just take it all in. I have never seen a game carry itself in every way soo well as this one did. Toward the end it was late and i was up alone and when the character said..who dares enter!!..i just sat in my chair and looked behind me and back at the computer screen uneasy and whispered to myself...me I think?. Little did i know the jeepers creepers that awaited me ahead still. It really pulls you in. It's a game that offers both easy and challenging aspects to the gameplay which i really liked and appreciated. Whether one area was easy or challenging..it was creatively different and that made it fun and interesting. Being able to sustain a story the way they did without it withering and losing it's magic was indeed impressive..especially for me as i tend to lose interest half way through a game because the story loses it's wow factor..not this one! i only continued to become more fascinated and didn't want it to end...almost cried when it did. The main game itself was worth way more then the price of a CE hands down. In the CE you can replay the minivideos, puzzles, games and HOS's and it shows you how well you did and offers to let you raise you score by replaying...and the clip art they actually took the time to explain what they were thinking and wanted to achieve in creating the scenes..it was almost poetic reading the devs thoughts as they brought us into their little world in creating it. The CE offers the music sound track which in this case actually was worth it to me for the first time because i loved both the beautiful and errie choices of music they used for the game. The choice of wallpapers were carefully chosen to be of the best selections..something most devs are sloppy about when doing. There is also additonal play in the poster section and the posters have to be pieced back together. The bonus game was short but still good if you want to back track on the story and enjoy morphing objects which the bonus game included as a special touch. But there is also an additional game after the bonus game to be played for those of you who enjoy collectibles and collected them all in the main game...all those acorns were not collected in vain..yes there is a extra short game dedicated to putting those to use. These devs take pride in their work no doubt and have a very special gift that comes from the heart in what they do. I paid full price for this game and i am glad i did because it's devs like this i wanna support and see more of. This game stays in my heart and will be played time and time again as i can never imagine being bored with it because it's so rich and captivating in every way possible. I will gladly open my pocketbook for these devs games and like others all i can say is MORE MORE!!!...they rock! Thank you Devs for gifting us with such an outstanding game!!!
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't normally review games...but... I had to comment on this one! I'm a huge fan of this type of game, but I don't review them because to be honest the'yre pretty much all the same and once you've played one...well...you get the picture; but NOT THIS TIME! Not only is it visually stunning, but the originality and sheer genius and creativity that went into the story line, mini games, and even the HOGs is unsurpassed. Smooth linear flow without too much hand-holding, and "jump to" map made this a truly enjoyable experience! Do NOT miss your chance!
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is beautifully done, I loved it! This team did a superior job with this game. The voice actors were exceptional. This game to me surpassed a 10/10 rating. I base this on the beta version. Story: As the game starts, you see your hubby walking into the woods, and as you follow him he tells you to stay back. Of course you don't listen and follow him. He does have a dream of a woman becoming him, and a short time passes and the lighthouse blows up. She has to get the lighthouse back working again, or otherwise the evil trees of the forest will devour the town. Then she has to look for her husband. Graphics: Absolutely gorgeous. This team has a top notched art team. Music: Fits the game beautifully. I loved it. H0G scenes: They are fun. Each item you find gives you a piece of the item that will end up in your inventory. I did run into one FROG, so I don't know if there will be more. Mini games: Fun. Not to hard or easy just right. Still like to know how they did that movie mini game. The mini games are totally original. Kudos to this team for a fantastic job well done. I am so looking forward to playing the full version. Thank you.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAD HEAD GAMES, YOU ROCK What an absolutely brilliant game and I loved every second of it. You have: * Casual, Experienced, Masterful and Custom modes of play; * Achievements Boards - Bronze, Silver and Gold; * Interactive map; * Journal; * Voiceovers. You also have to find: ~ 34 Acorns (throughout the game but not the Bonus); ~ 5 Forest Fruit (throughout the game and Bonus); ~ 11 morphing objects (just the Bonus). I played on Masterful mode throughout the game and bonus and I didn't skip or hint any HOS or mini-games. The game and bonus took me 8 and half hours to play all up. The graphics are beautiful and very colourful. There are no blurry or dark places anywhere. Sound is excellent and the music is delightful - mostly piano. The HOS were mostly interactive and quite challenging and I took my time playing them. There were lots of mini-games and all were good fun. Some were quite challenging and others quite easy. The hardest mini-games were at the end of the game and bonus when you had to defeat the tree and the ghostly witch. They took quite a while to do. Even though I played all HOS and mini-games, found all the acorns, forest fruit, etc, I still only got 46% out of 100% in achievements. There are a lot of achievements to get - you know the ones - 5 objects in 5 seconds, make no mistakes in HOS games, etc. So I'll leave the game for 6 months or so and then play it again. So overall, a fantastic game and definitely recommend that you play it. It really is worth its weight in gold.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Secrets Lie Deep Within the Forest? You live in the town of Willow Ridge that is held captive by a dark and foreboding forest, and the town’s lighthouse is the only thing that keeps the forest from consuming the town and its inhabitants. Well, you’ve guessed it, calamity strikes and there is a disaster at the lighthouse. Your husband has gone into the forest in an attempt to put an end to the forest’s hold over the town and you have followed against his wishes. The game has a very interesting story that gets better as you move along. It took me a bit of time to get going but once I did, I just had to continue because the game really gets good and I didn’t want to quit playing. There are 4 modes of gameplay – casual, experienced, masterful and custom. The game opened automatically in widescreen on my Windows8 laptop but there is a button for aspect correction if needed. The graphics are very colorful and crisp even though they are a bit darker. Thankfully, they are not the horrible brown palette we have been seeing lately. The game has voiceovers and the music is very fitting for the style of the game and adds to the eerie nature of the story. During the game you can earn ten achievements for either a bronze, silver or gold star ranking. You also hunt for acorns throughout the game that will be used later. There is a jumpable map that shows areas where something needs to be done. The HO scenes are very interactive and very nicely done. I found that most items were not too difficult to find. What I really enjoyed in the HO scenes was the clever interaction required to find all items. There are mini puzzles that are a bit different and interesting. Some require a bit of dexterity to accomplish, and since I tend to be a mouse klutz, they were challenging but fun. IMHO, this is an excellent game with a creative story and much better than some that we have seen recently. In fact the game is so interesting, I don't want to wait for the SE to be released. This game is such a welcome change after several weeks of mediocrity, and I am guessing that most of us will be really happy with this game.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inventive!! Some new twists on the traditional HO game! Based on one hour demo, but buying today! What fun! The devs have put twists on the old HO game formula and come up with a winner. The HOSs are very interactive with storyline and mini-puzzles included. There are numerous achievements to garner and acorns to find. Even the storyline is good. Love the graphics! Well done devs. The puzzles and mini-puzzles involve multiple steps and are creative and new. Early in the game you have to free a hamster, then follow him to an HOS, play the HOS, then take the hamster to another scene and interact with another puzzle with the hamster! C'mon, that's great!! Fun, fun, fun. You also have four game playing options from which to choose: casual, normal, expert and custom. Nice to see this creative game. We only hope the rest of the game is as wonderful.
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! This Game has it All!! I totally loved this game in all aspects. It has everything in it that a good game should. It was stepping into a new era of games in this genre that is well over due. I love the vibrant 3D graphics that jump out of the screen and feel like they are touching you. The soundtrack is very complimenting, with the HOP having really soothing music to concentrate with rather than turning the volume off. There are four game play difficulties which is a new concept. Hidden acorns to find and collect throughout the main game play. Then they go onto a tree lock, that is in the lower screen to tap on them to place them on the tree. You gain a pet hamster that is added to your inventory, you then give him a name and he will perform tasks throughout the game. The map is excellent. You can hover over a location, then click it to be transported to that scene. It highlights where tasks need to be done. The diary is really done well with illustrations and text & it has a to do list featured in it. There are many achievements to be earned. That you can tap on the icon to see where your at with them. In the bonus chapter there are morphing objects to be found. The Big Bads at the end of the main game and the bonus chapters are really challenging and fun. I also liked the mini movies that are also puzzles in the game there where several of them. This is a new twist I haven't come across before. Great mini puzzles. The HOP where different than the usual too. They had tasks to perform in them, and I'm not talking like picking up an umbrella handle to complete the umbrella, they where great! The inventory had many tasks to put items together to create another etc. Storyline was excellent, & the CE was more than just wallpapers and pics. There is a scene called 'The Old Lady' where you need to collect all the acorns in the main game to create a lock. Then you click on it to find another bonus chapter. I missed out on one acorn so it was locked. But when replay it I will get them all!! Please get this CE game now. I guarantee you will love it as I do. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2021, m_12, d_6, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_203
  • loc_en_US, sid_18153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.