Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.23 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Strange things happen in and around the dark castle at the Dutch coast. Find out how William van der Decken, famous for his battles against pirates, and his lovely wife Isabelle vanished. What happened to her and why was the captain found dead, dressed as a pirate? Follow the trail of clues to solve this untold story in Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows. Meet the ghost of a sad, young woman who needs your help and start this pirate adventure! Go inside the castle, find your way to the mighty battleship, the Batavia, and unravel the mystery!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 3.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 671 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(315.23 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game very good game play friends...
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed it I think this is a great game. It's the first time I've finished a HOG in one sitting. It has a walkthrough, but I didn't need it. The hint button gives good advice when needed.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have coins will travel! I am giving this a five-star because of the cleverness, the multitude of things to do, and they only way one could move on was to collect those gold coins and insert them into each coin chest, plus all the other things you had to deal with. Lots to do, my goodness! In artwork was great except for some areas were it was rather grainy and that wasn't due to my monitor either. And trying to find those gold coins at times was pretty tricky and difficult. As a matter of fact, at the end of the game I had 4 extra coins leftover. Sometimes the coins would be right in front of your face and other times lodged in walls or shelves or whatever. But the storyline was excellent. The puzzles were a mix of easy and hard I thought. The developers outdid themselves on this one. Worth buying. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Story, intuitive game play I read all these reviews that said the game was slow - but I didn't find it slow at all. An interesting story combined with awesome graphics made this a top game to play. Pros: Coins in every room makes each room a little challenging and interesting, Graphics are lovely to look at and small details in each room are worth checking out.The game never breaks character (no oddly modern stuff) and each task makes sense in a logical way. The story unfolds by chapters and invites the player into the drama. Clicking on items around the room gives even more of the story. Map takes you back and forth easily. Cons: some coins blend in with the environment so well they are hard to see.Toward then end it started getting "room after room after room."
Date published: 2013-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Wonderful graphics and lots of different locations to visit. Not too much going back and forth. I play the easy mode and the game was fun.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i really liked this game!!!!!! hint/skip charged fairly fast. hint a little faster than skip i think. interactive map. journal/diary. graphics were good. you have to collect coins to open treasure chests to get items so that you can proceed in the game, but the map shows you where you need to go and it is divided up in the different levels. it shows where the coins are. the hints help with locating them. they are not always hard to find. they are mostly out in the open. a great game. you are solving the mystery of isabella and who she was.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best I've played in awhile! I just completed the SE and it was really fun. The graphics were really sharp, the storyline was refreshing, and there was a nice mix of HO and adventure. I'd say it took me at least 6 hours to complete the game on the Normal setting. Thanks to the developers for a really nice game that rises above the rest! The only downside is that I had to turn the music off after awhile because it had a repeating "haunting" voice track that just got annoying.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All of the feels I'm a sucker for a good story and this is definitely one of my new favorites. The narratives you get every so often as you progress through puzzles only deepens the mystery and intrigue surrounding what happened to Isabelle and her beloved William. I will admit to having shed a tear or two (because I'm that much of a sap) from such an enthralling and engrossing story. As far as gameplay goes it's pretty straightforward; you've mostly got to find useful items to help you explore more of the areas, with a few hidden object scenes in between. The amount of HO's wasn't off-putting either though a handful items were somewhat hard to see and I admit to having used the hint a fair amount of times. The Hint recharges quickly though so this is a plus and the map seems to work pretty well, even telling you such things as if there is still something yet to do in a room, and if there are still coins located somewhere there. Yes, coins! That's a bonus; throughout the game you'll need to unlock treasure chests with helpful items in them, and to do that, you need coins. There are several coins hidden in almost every scene for you to find, and some are a doozy to locate! But I wouldn't go so far as to say that they were frustrating to find. The graphics were very nice and the sound and music, fitting. The voices were far from grating too. I liked playing in fullscreen better than in windowed mode. Some scenes looked a little squished if I didn't. Give this one a go. The gameplay isn't out of this world, but those of you into this genre will have a fun time and the story, while somewhat cliche, I found to be told rather well. In fact, I wish I had bought the Collector's Edition!
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this one right to the end... I say I enjoyed this game right to the end because with so many I get to the point where they get so far-fetched that I lose interest either out of frustration or boredom and can't wait to finish. This game is very well done and a pleasure to play. Each scene is nicely done with things to do, yet not so much that it's hard to remember what's where. I liked that each location has a name, i.e., smithy, dungeon, wheelhouse, passage... It's hard to keep notes when they are unlabeled. I won't go into detail about points other reviewers have already covered. I really want to compliment the developers on the map and journal. Both were very helpful indeed! The map design is not only easy to use and interactive, it indicates where something still needs to be done and where coins are still missing. The hint directs the player to the map location to be used next without giving too much away or saying the annoying "nothing else to do here." This journal tells the story and also lists each task and checks it off when completed, saving the player from keeping copious, detailed notes. I find it a waste of time to use a journal when it merely repeats what I've already read. These two features are probably the best I've seen in all my games. It made the game fun and interesting to play rather than a frustrating back and forth trek trying to make progress. I hope to see more like it.
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet old fashion pirates'love story game Really enjoyed this game. I played the CE but I guess the main game it's the same. Storyline short enough (a letter from time to time- no need to skip) Interactive map, 3 kinds of hidden objets game, coins to find to fill a chest and be able to get clues. music is fine (and it's not often in most of the games)
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Story Have always enjoyed the graphics style of Youda Games. Drawn, and drawn well. They write a good tale,too. When searching out the coins along the way, the chest closes when you've found them all in a scene so you aren't aimlessly looking. And they play hard but fair in hiding them. It's relaxing and intriguing. Looking forward to their next!
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a fun game! Bought after only doing half of the demo. This a very enjoyable game. It has a map that lets you jump from place to place. You collect gold coins to open the various chests.(kinda hard to find) When you access upstairs, turn the music down as it is very repetitive. It really made you think where you were, but the map really is helpful.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than you think Don't let the cartoonish graphic put you off. This is a solid, really good game. Totally enjoyed playing it. No complaints at all. More of these, please.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aarrghhh Matey! Beautiful Graphics Excellent sound effects, music and voice overs Map that shows the location of the player, areas of interest and hidden coins Hint button will show locations of coins or give a tip Challenging puzzles and HOS that are interesting to explore with periods objects Intriguing storyline and bonus history content
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Different game style, I loved it! Chalenging, with comes and goes between spots and good puzzles. I loved it.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected!!!! I read the review but on the CE which, I tried. I was on the fence on it. I did have a free game, so picked this one. One member said it starts off not great. I continued and it did not disappoint. I am playing now, just took some time to write this review.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing storyline, wish there were more in this genre I know this is an older game, however, it was so totally refreshing to have a story line without all of the supernatural/stolen artifacts/monsters from the deep and so on. The story pulled me in right away, the music and voice overs were tastefully done and I did not find the coin search tedious at all. The map was interactive and helpful I would highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Relaxing Play and Interesting Unfolding Story Puzzles for this one flow nicely with the unfolding story of lost love. Visually appealing as well, mysterious without being creepy or overly scary. Nice length of play. I found some of the HOGs a bit redundant after awhile. Had lots of fun spotting the coins and I like the feature of the collected objects necessary to unlock treasure chests.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent story with a different hidden object approach Reading the negative reviews, I was a little hesitant to try this game. Admittedly, the portraits of William and wife are cartoonish, but the rest of the artwork is exceptionally good. Someone complained about having to find all the coins, and they found this too difficult, but you can return to any of the rooms to look for coins and if you can't find them the hint button will show you where they are. The puzzles are not too difficult, and the hidden object scenes are challenging but doable. Over all, this is one of the better games I have played lately. The only thing I didn't care for is the music, which consists mostly of a woman crooning something sad, incessantly. I suppose it fits the story, but I didn't like it. And this week this game is on sale for $2.99, so it's a win-win. Try it for yourself.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great atmosphere, definitely worth trying Short version: This is an enjoyable atmospheric game that is let down a little by an abrupt ending. Its realistic art style is somewhat unique, so I'd recommend playing the demo before buying, but I think it's definitely worth a try for HOG fans. Mercy of the Gallows has an extremely realistic art style, to the point that I wondered if the scenes were artistically processed photographs. There's nothing fairy-tale or gothic about the rainy, ghostly castle, with its photorealistic 19th century rooms. Some parts of the scenery were obviously computer-generated with that slightly blocky Myst feel to them. Still, I found it effective at setting a mood with its subdued color scheme and well-chosen ambient sound. In contrast, the story was told with illustrations done in an almost cartoon style, which I also liked. The story is good, though it's unfortunate that some of the ads associated with the game give away one of the major plot elements. The tale incorporates true, macabre facts about how pirates were punished. With a title like "Mercy of the Gallows" I guess you know you're in for something kind of grim... On Casual setting, I think the puzzles are mostly very easy and the hidden object scenes are about average in difficulty. An interesting game mechanic has you keeping an eye out for coins in nearly every scene, which you collect to unlock trunks containing clues along the way. At first these coins are hidden around the scenes in interesting ways, but as the game goes on, more and more of the coins are found simply laying on the floor. I expected that aspect to get more challenging, not less. The very abrupt ending was a bit of a letdown. After a visually romantic and lovely concluding event begins, some text appears and informs you of the bare facts which you had already uncovered through the course of the game-- and then the game just cuts off and suddenly ends. I was ready to watch the characters figuratively "ride off into the sunset" but instead I was just retold the story in a few brisk sentences and ushered out of the game. I still enjoyed it and feel it's a nicely moody game that I'd recommend.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really enjoyed playing this game Graphics are very good - colors pleasing to the eye - challenging games - once you start playing you don't want to stop - mesmerizing hidden object pictures overall rating I give it a 4.5
Date published: 2013-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleasant surprise Even though I don't enjoy wandering around, back and forth, relentlessly finding and using inventory items, this game incorporated enough hidden object scenes and fun creativity to make it very enjoyable for me. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Telegraphs the end This is a different story line. I see many reviewers are saying it is not as dark as many new games, although I am not sure what is "not dark" about plague. I agree plague is not occult. The characters are cartoon-y, but not unbearably so. The settings and HO scenes are nicely realistic #except the characters' portraits#. I personally had a problem with the story which I can only describe with a spoiler; I will try to put it far enough down that readers will have to click "show more" to see it. - - - - - - - - - SPOILER ALERT It seemed to me the dullest player would have picked up by the end of the first quarter of the game that Isabelle was a pirate, and once that is established, there is no more story to discover, only details. I much prefer suspense and even distraction #shifting evidence back and forth# before the resolution at the end.
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Good Hidden Obect Adventure Game I had a lot of fun on this one. The graphics were great. The storyline was really good. The game gets you involved pretty quickly. It has a great map and navigation is good. The hint button is mildly aggravating though. When you click on it there are sparkles that fly slowly to the top and then spread outward slowly to tell you what you might do next. Ugh, but it was helpful in most cases. The puzzles were fun and most of them made sense. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 were the amount of HOS. One in every room. That is bad enough but some of them had many multiple items...like one had 6 brushes and 7 rings to find and that doesn't count the other 2 and 3 item multiples that were there. The HOS were crammed full of stuff so it was a challenge to find some things. A little of sensory overload going on. That aside it was a game worth playing and I am glad I bought it.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Hidden object game of Youdagames Very nice graphics and good soundtrack for this hidden object game. And the storyline was not good and not bad at all, I think there some of the scene was delaying and having so many flaws, But I really liked this game !
Date published: 2013-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Time I had the privilege of previewing this game some time ago. I bought it to see what changes they made and I am so glad I did. It was worth the price. They created the most exasperating, fun, confusing, exciting frustrating, wonderful love story I've seen in a long time. Again, I'm not a big fan of CE games, so I waited for this one to come out. It is a hidden object game plain and simple. There is some adventure to it, but mostly hidden object scenes and mini games. The graphics were really good. I know you are going to be busy looking for something in each scene, but take a few minutes as you go through the game and look at what the designers produced. It is worth your time. The sound, well, as pretty as the song is, I have to admit it did start getting on my nerves during the HOS, but even with that, the quality of the sound was really good. The level of challenge in not necessarily doing the hidden objects or even the mini games. It is finding those blessed coins they spread in each scene. And of course you have to have them to proceed. One of the reviewers said they, "hid them well." That is an understatement. I spent a lot more time looking for coins than I did in the hidden objects, but that is what made it fun. The story of a pirate and the, don't want to give it away, but it is a love story that is well told and woven into the past of two people. Good one even with an ending. I think you will enjoy this game and I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a ghostly love story! First, my overall impression of the game: the storyline was wonderful - I love games that have lovers to reunite and treasures to find and this game had both of those things. There is just enough mystery about how the characters came to be together in the first place to keep a person interested in continuing the game. It's not a sickly sweet love story. I don't care for those, but it is a love story, with hidden object scenes and puzzles to unravel on the way to helping the two main characters reunite. The graphics were fine - some a bit dark, but, overall, they were just fine. I think the developers got a bit lazy, though, when doing the hidden object scenes, as many have you finding several of one item - 4 swords, 3 scrolls, 7 rings, that kind of thing, and it occurs in several of the hidden object scenes, and it's done more than once in a hidden object scene. Many scenes had you find multiple items several times. That is probably clear as mud..lol. While going through the game, there are gold coins to find that you need to use to open treasure chests that have items within that aid in completion of the game. I read several reviews from people who thought that finding the coins in each area was difficult. I didn't find it so. Go through each scene carefully..bit by bit..and just wait until a little white hand shows up and, voila, there's a coin. I didn't think that finding the coins was difficult at all, and I appreciated that the coins actually served a purpose, instead of just being something extra to find. There is a map that lets you jump and indicates which areas have stuff to be done and it also shows you where coins are. It doesn't show specific areas - just lets you know that a coin or coins are available to find, so if you find yourself low on gold coins, you can consult the map to see areas you may have missed. The hint system worked well in and out of the hidden object scenes and filled quickly on the casual mode I played. It doesn't give stuff away - just tells you where you need to look. Between the hint system and the helpful map, I didn't get bogged down at all during the entire game. I was looking forward to the SE of this game, as I demoed the game when the CE was released. I'm glad I waited, as there is plenty to do without the little CE extras. The puzzles were cleverly done and very doable. The skip button is available if you get frustrated and it fills in a couple of minutes after you start the puzzle. The puzzle instructions were adequate. All in all, it was fun. I got three evenings of play out of it and, for me, that is adequate length. Folks who play more quickly than I will probably finish it in a couple of evenings. Give the game a try - the story is nice, the graphics are good, music and sound are good, puzzles and hidden object scenes are just challenging enough, and it's a neat love story.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality like Collector´s Edition! Fantastic and proper storyline! Small and big challenges that makes the game more exciting and not too easy! And what graphics, really realistic! I really like the sound as well. Thank you for such a well-done game!
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REALLY NICE ADVENTURE GAME I don't usually even try adventure games. Glad I tried this one - I really like it. It is a sad story and has sad music to set the ambience to match. I like that you can adjust the brightness as there are plenty of games which are dark on some computers, but not on others - so the adjustment can take care of that problem. You should find coins in the scenes, which are used later in the game to open chests you find. The graphics and locations are nicely done. There is a lot to do. Since game isn't linear, you can choose to go in several directions. Never at a loss of what possibilities exist - keeps the game moving at a good pace. I really like this game so far and want to find out what happens to the 2 main characters. Think I'll use a coupon since I've not played an entire adventure game of this sort - just in case my good thoughts don't last. Oh dear! If I continue to like it to the end, then that makes 3 kinds of games I have to buy.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A 2nd Look Confirms It, Solid SE BASED ON DEMO & SG I was a little outvoted on my review of the CE of this game. The consensus seems to be that it is lovely, well drawn, good story. Definitely CE material. I am still not convinced. I think it is GOOD as a SE, and falls short of the mark as a CE. I like the STORY, like everyone else, and the best thing about this game is the way that it is TOLD. A romantic tragedy, with overtones of MYSTERY & INTRIGUE, and we’ve got those ever-favourites, PIRATES. Cartoon-style movies give us back story, and we have a sad ghost who leads us onwards in her quest. The GRAPHICS still show up as DARK on my computer, even INSIDE the castle. From the SG, I see that the STYLE (not a favourite of mine) remains the same throughout. Even the lighter HOS are MONOCHROMATIC. So to my mind, I don’t consider this a ‘pretty’ game. What makes this game INTERESTING (as an SE) is some NEW IDEAS in the HO SCENES. They are your usual (not very) INTERACTIVE LIST, but in one scene, finding the items on the list entails opening cabinet doors, which in turn opens and closes others, so your items are constantly being REVEALED then HIDDEN. Cool. Later in the game, there is also an HOS where you must find the items in SEQUENTIAL ORDER. I found the PUZZLES quite EASY, and the ADVENTURE quite STRAIGHTFORWARD. For help there is an INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP and HELPFUL HINT. It really is not a challenging game – which is not a criticism, I like relaxing games. There is another NEW IDEA I like in this game. You must COLLECT COINS in order to open TREASURE CHESTS in which you find ITEMS you need to progress in the game. A little extra fun. So. A GOOD GAME, as a SE, without the CE price tag.
Date published: 2013-06-09
  • y_2020, m_11, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_18555, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

Solve this maritime mystery to reunite a pirate with his lost love.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.