Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(451.30 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

End the witch's evil reign at last! Explore the twists and turns of a mysterious world as you travel through a strange, cursed kingdom, where the characters have been robbed of their beauty and talents by a cruel sorceress. Tests your wits as you gather the missing amulets, restore the lives of the cursed characters – and open the portal to return home!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Chapter
  • Concept Art
  • Bonus Mini Games
  • Strategy Guide
  • Collectables

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1020 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(451.30 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed more people aren't engrossed in this game! I don't review often, as I usually pretty much agree with the general overview, but I am surprised by how much negative feedback this game is getting. It's great. Who wouldn't like a guy made out of exploding paint, paintings coming to life, helping out at a doll's tea party or rescuing a guinea pig and a nest of baby hamster's from a demonic girl ?! That's not to mention the restoring of virtue to a snivelling knight, creating various chemical experiments, the fantastic restoration object scenes and much, much more. Do at least play the first hour, I think you'll be unable to stop....
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am so in love with this game....and so in trouble My daughter wanted to buy me to CEs because it's BOGO weekend and I tried to convince her to wait until these 2 new games that just came out and I hadn't tried yet. But, against my better judgment I emailed her 2 CE's from my growing list. Unfortunately, I was like ARGH NO when this free trial was over and NO, I have to stop her - I want this game. It is so much fun. Never mind the dog you have to rescue and take back to the blind boy, but there are sooooo many cool extras in this game, it''s unbelievable and I don't even know where to start. Storyline - wicked witch destroys the amulet that will take you home into pieces and you have to find it. The few HOGs that were in the free trial were easy to do - the items easy to find, even when you had to interact with them. The Hint button - incredible - does it even have to recharge or is it always at the ready - i can't tell because it recharges in like a nanosecond. I only played one or two mini-games which were totally easy. And the hint mirror not only directs you where to go but literally pinpoints where and in what room and, of course, you can fly there in the interactive map. The extra bells and whistles include the strategy guide, achievements for those who care (not me), wallpaper, but what intrigued me was the Book of Spells and bonus game where you explore the witches' domain and meet the ship's crew. Grant their wishes and they will help you return home. I hope I can catch my daughter before she buys the 2 games I emailed her. It will be hard to give one up but this game is just too good to pass up on a BOGO! This Glam-ma says try it if you must - then before the BOGO weekend is over - BUY IT!
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much More Spooky Than The Others!! I really liked this installment, and here is why.... 1. The storyline is much more spooky than the other games 2. The HOG are interactive, and change from "list", to replacing objects my personal fav 3. There is a map, and yes its interactive...if you choose in the beginning. 4. The hint and skip works well, though I didn't need them due to the ease of the game. not too easy 5. The graphics are great! 6. I love how you are in a different setting, and help very creepy characters! 7. The length of the game is worth the CE price if you ask me 8. Bonus chapter, great! 9. Last but certainly not least....The inventory is Lockable!! a must for me! Get the game, and see for your self. Even though the wicked witch is no more, I still hope there is another in the series!! Happy gaming gamers!!
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great sequel! What a beautiful, crisp, clear and colorful sequel. The voiceovers were excellent but the characters did not move their mouths, which was okay. The music was classical style and was very appropriate for the game. There was so much to do and so much to see that you had to focus on what you were doing and what was needed where. The hint button told you exactly were you needed to go outside the hos which varied between lists and finding a number of items and were interactive. There were three modes of play, regular, advanced and expert. There were also a number of achievements and collectibles, but not sure what the collectibles were except the 15 bottles to open the spellbook. The extras included the strategy guide, the bonus adventure, concept art and mini games. There was no way of finding out how long as I only played the demo which showed general tips and chapter 1. You are in current day and walk into a book shop that is displaying a book of spells. Another girl comes in and she is wearing an amulet that matches the design on the book and suddenly you are drawn back into the past. The young girl is enveloped in a black mist and becomes a dark witch and she has shut the portal to get home. You have to find the amulets to place on the book to reopen the portal. I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline and recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed by the Quality of the Game I haven't played any of the previous games in this series and didn't know what to expect. The artwork is impressive and I really enjoyed the opening movie sequence. The music looped pretty quickly and was often overly dramatic for the scene I was in, so I turned it off soon after the game started. A surprising innovation puts the inventory on the top of the screen instead of the bottom. Finally, I can go backwards without opening the inventory by mistake! It took awhile to get used to it being at the top, but it's a nice convenience. The mini games were challenging - I played at advanced level - and I was pleasantly surprised at having to work at them a bit. I really liked the demo and might try some of the previous games as well.
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something just a little different... I liked the graphics in this game very much & it was one of the few that I *didn't* shut the music off to play. Overall, very enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game I've Played in Years!!! My New Favorite! My friend actually bought this game and lent it to me. I've been a Fishie for years now and have played almost every HOG that has come out, especially Collector's Editions... but this one is by far THE BEST HOG that I've ever played! The hidden object puzzles themselves were even fun and interactive! All the other "Echoes of the Past" games have HOP's that are interactive, such as putting items back instead of finding them, but this went even a step further.. they had regular HOP's (which can get boring after years of doing them on normal mode), but most HOP's could be visited 3 different times throughout the game... once as a normal mode, once as a "put the items back" mode, and a 3rd time as a more interactive mode. For example, you would use inventory items on parts of the puzzle.. things like that. It made what can get to be boring hidden object scenes much more fun to play!! There also weren't tons of them, like some games which have them in almost every scene, so the rest of the game play was actual game play of all types! The puzzles themselves WERE many, but they were fantastic! Almost all were different (maybe one or two repeats of the same puzzle type) and a lot of them were either puzzles that you don't see that often or brand new ones that I'd never played before! It made for a really refreshing, new twist on an old favorite, but still similar enough to be a "standard" HOG. The Collector's Edition was also worth every penny (I will definitely be buying this game for myself!). The extras were fantastic... excellent bonus chapter, not too many boring "fluff" stuff like music and wallpaper. There were a few, like concept art, but not so many that you just quickly skim through and don't really bother even looking at them. There were plenty of achievements... some very easy, some more challenging, but none out of reach or insanely hard. There wasn't any of this "complete on easy mode, hard mode, and expert mode" in order to complete all achievements. The most fun achievement was to find all 15 hidden potion bottles throughout the game (which weren't too hard to find... no sweating every scene, checking every nook and cranny praying that you didn't miss one and mess up the whole achievement! lol). Finding the potions opens up a special potion recipe book in the "Extras" that you can access and use immediately after finding the very first potion. There are 15 pages with pictures and 15 labeled potions (or however many you've found so far) above the book. You then get to match the potion to the picture that best suits it. For example: (*SPOILER ALERT!!*) Once you've found the potion labeled "gives wings", you pour it on the page with the sketch of a horse and you watch it magically sparkle, turn into a colored picture and transform into a Pegasus before your eyes! Not the most challenging thing, obviously, in the game.. but definitely a VERY fun and original extra! And once you've found all the potions (which you get an achievement for), you can finish the entire Potion Recipe Book for an additional unlisted bonus achievement! Kind of like an Easter Egg! :D Lastly, the game was really long.. lots of game play, but never boring. I can usually finish an HOG in a day (sometimes within 5 or 6 hours, especially if there's an achievement for doing so), but this game took me a little over 2 days to finish... not bad for your buck! It would've taken 3 games to fill the time it took me to complete just this one! That's a lot of money saved and it never got old... you know when a game is so good that you don't want it to end? It felt like it was never going to end.. but in a GOOD way... NEVER boring.. I wish I was STILL playing it! Even the bonus chapter was long, but like the main game, fun and interesting enough to keep you hooked so it never felt drawn out! I'll be replaying this game happily over the next few years and probably never get bored of it since it has so many interesting qualities and there's just so much to do, it's not going to be one of those games where I pick something up and immediately remember where or how I'm supposed to use it. This game, even though a "standard" HOG, has really raised the bar for HOG's! I can't say enough good things about it and I can't recommend it enough!!! Buy this right away if you haven't already... you'll be more than satisfied with it... you'll be praising it as much as I am now!
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game ! The trial was over before I knew it , that is a good sign with me , I have all the others in the series ...this one will be a definite buy to add to my collection !
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to the Echoes series! Really enjoyed this one! The main game is long and full of things to do. The graphics and VOs are quite good and the storyline is engaging, although the witch could have made a few more appearances - aside from her initial threats and the spells she casts on the NPCs, she's not a particularly active opponent. The HOS weren't that difficult, but I enjoyed the variations - sometimes finding unique objects, sometimes placing objects into a scene, sometimes collecting groups of objects to use elsewhere, etc. I also liked that some objects and tasks carry over between chapters, which adds a little extra challenge. The interactive map cuts down on travel time, but with the hub-style layout, there's not that much running around anyway. The puzzles are also good - most take a few minutes to figure out and only one or two were tedious enough to skip. The only things I wasn't too thrilled about were the inventory at the top of the screen instead of the bottom and the slowness when new items are found, both of which have been mentioned by other reviewers. These aren't game-killers by any means, but details that I wish Orneon would adjust in the next installment. CE vs SE - The CE contains free-play variations of some of the in-game puzzles, some collectables/achievements, and a bonus chapter that is completely unrelated to the main story. These are all decent additions, but the SE alone is an excellent game and probably the better value.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best game ever for puzzles I play hundreds of bfg games and this one by far is the best for adventure games, lots of puzzles lots and lots of puzzles, hog are varied so nice change. its long and makes sense when you look for things not disjointed like so many of these kind of games..... I have played 3 of the 5 echo games and am going to play the other two but so far this is the best.... I wish other games would take a page from this...
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game Another super offering in the "Echoes of The Past" series. Each one is better than the last. (Don't know how they do it.) I had no trouble with this game. Great storyline, graphics, music and gameplay. Many of the puzzles were a little too hard for me, but I gave them my best shot before giving up! And some of the puzzles were incredibly inventive. Thought the C.E. was well worth the extra money.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Everything you would expect from a great game. The CC was worth the extra money.
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the games. Loved the games. Newer kind like the traps were very good. Graphics were very good as well. HOPs as related to the games such as collecting insects or labels, I liked.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best I've enjoyed this game very much.All the games in this series are great but this one is certainly the best.I love everything about it. I hope we see more of these games.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HO game ! I have only played the hour trial & The only problems I had were using things from my inventory & them hanging too long in the middle of the screen when i found them & going back to the inventory when i went to use them, that made the game drag a little. But besides that, I really liked playing this game & am going to purchase this one.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 star game!! What a bunch of fun! The storyline was great, the graphics were good and the music was nice. HOS scenes were fun and some were different...good different. The mini puzzles were unique and challenging, but fun because, for the most part, they were different. Developer Orneo, a home run, you hit this one outta the park! By the way it's June bug...not May Bug :)
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game This was a good game. Just the right amount of back and forth, but not too easy.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent follow up game in series I love these Echo games. Beautiful graphics.
Date published: 2013-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Echoes of the Past The Kingdom of despair Great game from start to finish. Puzzles challenging but do able.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! This game is excellent! There is such good quality! I don't know what all the other people are on about when it is turned done but I thought it was excellent (as you may have guessed by now)
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series ... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... Everything Seemed Pretty Consistent With Previous Games In The Series Which Adds A Nice Continuity ... The Game Play Was Very Long, And The Bonus Chapter Simply Followed Straight In At The End ... I Got My Game On A Two For One Deal ... But This Game Is Almost Worth Full Price For The Amount Of Game Play Provided ...
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DRIPPING WITH DESPAIR WELL DONE DEMO ONLY, WILL SHARE WITH YOU THAT SOME MAY FIND IT MORE DISTURBING THAN OTHERS HOWEVER I ENJOYED THE OVERALL STORYLINE ETC.FOR US DIE HARD HIDDEN OBJECT FANS I FEEL YOU WILL LOVE IT. WILL TAKE THIS ONE. HAVE A GREAT GAME DAY!
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Top Game I have only played the demo. Gorgeous colourful graphics and very good storyline. Pleasant music and nicely. I think better than the last Echoes of the Past game
Date published: 2013-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bonus chapter worth the money! And who can resist this weekend's 2 for 1 sale? I was honored to be able to beta test this game a long time ago and have been waiting patiently for it to come out. Loved everything about the game since challenge and gameplay is my main objective with a heck of a lot of fun along the way. Thank goodness I didn't wait for the SE as was suggested by some because the bonus chapter was LONG and once again really entertaining. Developers can keep their "collectibles", morphing objs., etc as far as I'm concerned b/c what I look for is length and entertainment and I certainly got both here! I hope I get to beta the next Echoes game, too!
Date published: 2013-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Highly recommended for HO/Adventure enthusiasts.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of my favorite games I purchased this game years ago and I still enjoy playing it. This is fun, the graphics are real good and the story line is fun as well.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all time favorite I found this game to be just the right level of difficulty for me. I am a die hard HO player and not since Ravenhurst have I enjoyed a game so much. My skill level and knowledge of HOs has matured a bit so I usually get bored or impatient with all the repetition that's out there. I found this game to be refreshing. Plenty of mini games but not a lot of HOs. But that was ok. I enjoyed the change up. Think I will check out the rest of the series to see if it holds up.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great 'Echoes of the Past ' game i loved this game, so glad I got the CE version. I have played all the games in this series., but I like this the one the best so far. lots and lots of mini game puzzles - which are not so hard that your pulling your hair out, but there are definitely some scratch you head ones . The map is very useful for getting back and forth quickly. The Ho's are not boring. I would definitely recommend this game to Puzzle fans.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun, never boring. I had a great time with this game. I like a fast, relaxing game that doesn't have too many obscure hidden object scenes. The puzzles were fun but not too challenging.
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, wow, wow! A perfect game! Great length, fun story, great bonus chapter, amazing puzzles. I play games for the puzzles, and this one has plenty and some quite hard, which I love. This game is up there with my favourites, Ravenhearst series and 13th Skull. If you like puzzles, you`ll love this one. Applause for Orneon.
Date published: 2014-09-07
  • y_2022, m_5, d_27, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_19088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair Collector's Edition

Release the characters from the witch's curse and find the portal home!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.