Nearwood

Nearwood

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.52 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Can a young woman single-handedly change the fate of a magical kingdom? Set out on a voyage with Jane Lockwood into a mysterious world of danger and adventure, into a whirlwind of magic and wonder! As you encounter a host of unusual and amusing creatures and help them in their troubles, you will inch closer and closer to your final goal – finding Jane's long-lost parents, all the while freeing the great and wise Time Keepers from the grip of oblivion. Find out why time came to a standstill, and drive the ancient evil out of Nearwood once and for all! Bring back peace and quiet to the land! Save Nearwood!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 812 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nearwood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.52 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nearwood is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 95.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Adventure game Lots of fun puzzles and some hidden object games.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent opening cutscene and play I originally played the demo version and found it to be a fun, but not too challenging game. The story is the typical person saves a world genre and the characters can get a little wordy, but still worth it. It went on sale and I bought it and glad I did. This is a long game but not boring or repetitive and the mini games are varied and not just HO. You get to a few spots in the game where you think, "OK, this is the end" but, lo and behold, another part of the 'world' becomes available and you go on. The graphics are great for an inexpensive game and rival some of the so called "collectors edition" games to the point they are put to shame. Another plus is it is not a dark game. Plenty of color and colorful characters. One recommendation I have is watch the opening cutscene all the way through. Looks like a video but it is all computer generated and amazing. Only about 2 minutes and is on a loop but worth it. Buy this game and have FUN!!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serious Eye Candy! This is a truly visually stunning game! I felt like I had my money's worth during the opening tour. I have not noticed the publisher Magicindie Softworks but I will be looking for them now! Glamor aside, the game itself had quite a complex board but the map was more than adequate. There were perhaps a few too many puzzles for my taste, but that is good news to puzzle fans. The HO scenes were good and often built something. The story was unlikely, but it's fantasy and it was kept interesting through a fairly long game. All in all, I am only giving this one five stars because there is not six star rating available.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Magical. I want to go there! I have not even finished this game yet and absolutely love it. Despite the glitchy and out-of-sync voiceovers (didn't always match the text) which I experienced, I have still given this game five stars, although this problem impeded my full enjoyment of the game. Nevertheless, the game is whimsical, graphics were stunning, colours vibrant, storyline kept my interest, and the minigames were challenging. I also adore the flyover at the beginning - albeit delayed and glitchy as well - but I could look at that for ages without getting tired, and no plane ticked required! The game is a test of memory, as you do have to go back and forth to the same locations a lot of times in order to complete the puzzles and gather more clues, which was sometimes tiresome, and I had to use the hint button regularly. So my review is mixed, but I still rate it highly overall as the effort put into the scenery, the puzzles, and the story overrides the negative experiences. And I love the fact that there are hardly any hidden object scenes! Do consider getting this - hopefully there won't be technical problems for you, so maybe try the demo first, but it's well worth the purchase.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best music I've heard This is the first game I've played where the music is seamless from scene to scene, suits the mood of the game, and is not repetitious. I usually turn off the sound, but not this time. More, more, please
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fairytale twist?? A game by Magicindie Softworks I thought this game will be similar to Awakening series with lots of cutesy characters and animals, turn out it wasn't really. Yes, this game also is full of cute things, but this one surely delivers better. I don't know why, but it less fairytale than Awakening games. You are going to Nearwood to find out what happened to your father. There are 3 levels of difficulties. Nice graphics (pastel colors) and VO. There are lots of cutscenes in this game, with movies or simply just talking. It can get draggish. HO scenes are not the usual finding objects, so I like it. The puzzles are also pretty easy. Map is helpful and clear. Overall a nice game, no dark theme of some sort, a good game to play on a nice Sunday or with family.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It Great story and visuals to go with a fun game
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful game with some drawbacks Based on the completed game: This is one of the most beautiful games I've played, with gorgeous graphics. It might be a bit cutesy for some, but I much prefer a bit of that to constant dark, gloom and crud. I usually turn off the music within a few minutes, but turned low this music was delightful and unobtrusive. While the plot line wasn't exactly unique, I don't think unique plots are necessary anyway, so that doesn't bother me. My only complaint about the plot line was that it was a little incoherent in expression and often not all that well related to the HO searches. The searches weren't linear and I usually had too many objects to seek/carried objects to use who-knew-where, so wound up using the Hint button much more than I normally do. The map didn't help a whole lot either; even if I could visualize the needed scene, the map's pictures didn't help me much in finding it, so I still wandered around a lot or went to the Hint. Also I too object to the map being subject to a timer. Related to that, I have a general beef, not just about this game but all the HO games. Timers ought to be optional! I love HO games, but heartily dislike most mini-games/puzzles and would like to skip them immediately instead of tapping my fingers in irritation for what seems like forever to be able to skip. Also I'd like to play more challenging modes but won't if it forces me to wait forever for a skip or to play mini-games that I detest. That said, the mini-games in Nearwood mostly aren't bad, and are beautifully done. A few I actually enjoyed, and most of the rest I didn't mind dinking around with until the Skip timer ran out. The HO scenes were also beautifully done, mostly partial HO's, some with silhouettes, some not. They weren't very challenging but were relaxing and fun anyway. All in all, this is a gorgeous, fun, relaxing and replayable game that I'm glad I bought.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Loved it!!! Definitely, worked my nerves. Hardcore: NO MAP!! Worked me to death, going from one place to another. AND THERE ARE MANY PLACES TO GO!! Everything was great; puzzles are excellent; makes you work!! Graphics are beautiful, good adventure, no horror,or fright! HOs are good, different from regular. Really enjoyable!
Date published: 2014-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favourite game I love games that take me several days to finish. This game is so intricate and unpredictable. Whoever made this game put a lot of thought and creativity in it. I found out the maker is Magicindie Softwork and I am off to play more of their games.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I loved this game, played it more than once - I wish I had purchased the collectors edition - I could have saved some of the scenery! The HOG are unique and there was significant challange in the minigames which I've not played some of these type before. There were some that were simular to others like collecting and mixing ingrediants but overall the mini's were unique. Play the demo at the very least before deciding to dismiss this game!
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Loved it especially the opening graphics
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would Love More Games Like This One This game was a real enjoyment for me. The graphics were beautiful and the voice-overs were excellent. The game was a little wordy, but this was necessary for the complex storyline. Loved the HOS's, something a little different for a change.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nearwood is pure adventure, lots of puzzles, few HOps I suspect there are many gamers who will not care for this game because there is no horror, gore or dark crypts. It is pure light-hearted fantasy with bright, almost ethereal scenes, each almost enchantingly breathtaking, and while there is a plot, they joy is in the journey, as they say. There are lots of puzzles, most of them a bit unique (at least to me) and none of them too terribly difficult. The one drawback, which to me was minor once I realized it, was that when switching from one scene to another, there was a few seconds delay. And the map was helpful and did transport - it will not, however, let you jump from scene to scene. It takes a minute to recharge. Probably the young and impatient would consider this a major flaw, but that is the reason that patience is considered a virtue....it doesn't come naturally! I purchased the SE, and the CE would have been helpful several times, because figuring out the puzzles was very time-consuming for me - but maybe I'm slow. And, again, patience is the issue. For me, this was a wonderful game, and one I will enjoy many times, not just once. It is done by the same developers as "The Fool," which I also thoroughly enjoy.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game It is a nice fairy tale game, with good narrative flow, and HOS and puzzles which are intersting but not too time wasting. Great visuals, and storyline is intriguing.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of Finished Game There's very few of my games that I would play again, this is one of them. Stunningly beautiful, with jewel tones. The gameplay and storyline were okay, but combined with the sheer beauty of this game makes it a 5 star for me. There's a transporter map which needs to recharge between uses, that didn't bother me because nothing was too far away and I wanted to walk just to keep looking at the scenery. More puzzles than HOs, which I prefer, and the HOs were different types, not your normal ones. I loved every minute of the game and wish I had the CE, it had to have some fantastic wallpapers.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty fun Fun! nice graphics & sound....
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Adventure! A really great 'non-spooky' adventure. Loved the storyline and the graphics. Can't wait for more!!
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Graphics; Beautiful Music; Fun Puzzles Enjoyed this one a lot. It may seem childlike to some, but it's a "feel good" game that takes you away from the stresses of everyday life. Lots of fun puzzles that make you think. The music is beautiful and very relaxing. The graphics couldn't be much better. Everything is beautiful in this game!
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Forget Hogwarts, I want to move to Nearwood!! After playing many many HOG/Adventure games, I will have to rate this one of the top three games I have ever played. The graphics alone are absolutely stunning and so visually creative, it makes the actual plot pale in comparison. Even the mini puzzles were so gorgeous that I would just sit and look at them for minutes before I started in. My favorite was a mini game that had a mossy stone turtle with a teeming miniature reef suspended on its back instead of a shell. Even the tiniest of details were beautiful. Snails scooting by on the ground with tiny palm trees and little island on their shells...just enjoyable and awesome to stare at. And the games were done with little twists that made them refreshing to play. The plot was reuniting a family, helping a crumbling magical kingdom. I thought my guide would annoy me but I actually like his little facial expressions and comments. No lags, a bit short in length for me (I wanted more!) but so many places to go and creatures to meet and help. I rarely, if ever, play games more than twice but I will be playing this game over and over again, and waiting impatiently for a sequel.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely graphics! This was a fun game with really colorful graphics. Mini games were nice but not extremely challenging. Storyline was quite immersing too. Well done to the developers.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice game Nice game with many stages. I enjoyed it very much.
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure! Love all games by Elephant: this one is so visually outstanding; the music is wonderful and fits the scenes well; the puzzles vary from difficult (for me) to reasonably easy, which I like, because it makes it more fun to be able to figure out some of them without hints or skipping. The map is very helpful; Not traditional hos, but entertaining. The sound effects are great too. It was pretty long playing for the regular version...all in all, enjoyed it very much.
Date published: 2013-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some of the most beautiful graphics The challenge level is not very high but the graphics and colors are so beautiful, I enjoyed it more than some other more witty games. Simply lovely.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a really great game played casual mostly no sound. hint/skip charge in about 30 seconds. there is an interactive map that shows areas of interest but if you transport it has to recharge. that is ok, because the hints will get you there by showing you where to go. you are the daughter whose mother has died and your aunt raised you with your dad who is no longer here now either. your aunt (who i guess is no longer here, either) sends you a letter with a key to your old house where you lived as a child and you go there and the story begins. you meet a gnome who helps you throughout the game. you need to start the clock that has frozen time and allowed the evil to escape and this is your journey. graphics are clear. sequel....yes!!!!
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 STARS ALL THE WAY !!! This is a fun and imaginative game. Very whimsical !! You are searching for your parents in the land of Nearwood and you are helped along by a wise old Elf ( or is he a Dwarf). You visit one enchanting scene after another and help various people as you go. Long Playing time Many many places to visit Nice music Interactive map Hint button and skip take average amount of time to charge Quite a bit of backtracking so the map comes in handy I loved everything about this game and will play it again.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I just loved this game. It had an engaging story, cute characters and wonderful cut scenes. The length was good and not too hard. There were a variety of different puzzles and HOGs. All in all, great game!
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, Enjoyable Game Was really nice playing this game. Not your usual HOGs - some were fairly easy - some rather hard as you tried to find whatever the shape was in the list you had to find. so much more enjoyable this way. - Mini-games were either easy or hard or I just didn't want to finish so I hit Skip - like the ropes - I never did like that game. - But no matter what - the scenes were Beautiful with Beautiful Graphics. That alone makes everything fun - even when you had to go back to scenes to get something. - there was evil but it mainly came in shadows that flew around or kept you from going forward - not ugly goblins/witches, etc. -- This was basically a simple game yet complicated also. I truly enjoyed playing this bright & beautiful game & the imagination to create these graphics was wonderful. thank you for making such a beautiful fun game for all ages. - (I will admit that I don't usually listen to the audio so I can't comment on that.)
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enchanting! I play a lot of HOGs and this one by far is wonderful! It was challenging, great storyline, beautiful graphics, and moved at a steady pace. I usually get bored 1/2 hour into a game, but this one kept me glued to my computer!
Date published: 2013-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I have been playing on big fish now for three years and never felt the need to write, till now. I would have paid the $6.99 just for the intro. I have now played it( the intro) three times all the way through. The attention to detail is beyond compare. I found it to be a very fun, relaxing and visually stimulating game. I think this game was worth every penny!
Date published: 2013-09-18
  • y_2019, m_4, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_19364, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nearwood

The fate of the magical world is in your hands – free it from evil!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.