Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat
Exclusive

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(413.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From the creators of the Dark Parables series!


For more than a century, girls of a certain age have been mysteriously vanishing, never to be seen again. Some say they were taken by the Crooked Man, who always travels with a strange little black cat at his side. Now he’s kidnapped your very own sister! You’ve got to unravel the riddles in the Cursery and find out who's the mastermind behind this whole evil plot.

Save your sister, as well as his other kidnap victims… Defeat the Crooked Man and his servant… Uncover the story behind the Crooked Man’s actions… Reveal the mystery of the cursed nursery rhymes, the Cursery…

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 683 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(413.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't like FROGs but... Based on full SE play... I really really love this game...and for all intents and purposes,I shouldn't !! !st- It's a FROG(fragmented object game) and I don't like those?? But after playing this,I must say,I'm going to give them another look !! 2nd- It's a Fairy Tale sort of game and in the past I've played soooo many,that I've tired of the happy,happy type fairy tales...But this isn't a happy,happy fairy tale type,it's dark and brooding and I loved it !!!! 3rd-It's puzzle heavy...although I played every puzzle and did fine,no walkthrough or hints...so I'm ok with that too ... It was a great story twist on the fairy tale and the graphics were outstanding !!! As were the voices and music !! The cutscenes were great too !! So my over all thoughts are this is a really good game...and to be honest,I've been tossing it back and forth in my head about buying it and when I saw it as a daily deal for 2.99,I snatched it right up and started playing it !!! I actually played this all in one sitting !!! I don't usually do that,I have several games going at a time and I bounce back and forth between them until I've finished them all...But this one grabbed hold and wouldn't let go,I gobbled it all up at once and kicked myself for not having tried it in the year it's been out until now !! So I say give it a try on demo and see if it's for you,then take advantage of the daily deal and enjoy this dark,dark treat for yourself !! As always,Happy Gaming Everyone !!!
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun. Great Ho scenes and the puzzles were real good. Expert visual and sound. Was one of my favorite games in a long time. Will play it again.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Loved the storyline and the style
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OVER THE TOP!!!! This game reminded of the "Puppet Show" collection of games and I was obsessed with those. This game is beyond them by all means. The graphics are fantastic and the background music and sound effects make the game a real winner! The puzzles were very challenging and a big change from the usual ones that I play. I liked the different hidden object games as well. YOU MUST PLAY THIS GAME!!!!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game great story, good graphics, and enjoyed, dark in places of the story, but highly entertaining all the same.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! A FROG game by Blue Tea Games. --------------------------------------------- A dark game with twists, similar to their Dark Parables series, the story tells about a crooked man with its crooked cat pet who likes to kidnap maidens. Your job is to find out what happens with them and your sister who was also kidnapped. If you are have ever played any of the games from BTG, you will surely know their graphic is very well done, but you will soon realize that their graphic style didn't change at all over the years. I hope that they are more innovative with the graphic design. There are lots of puzzles in this game. They are intricate and everywhere. I am not a fan of puzzles so I skipped every single one of them. As always, their HOG scenes are FROG, and it goes throughout the whole game. I think it will be better if they add some HOG scenes there, for a change. The music is very beautiful, sometimes creepy, really fits the game. The game flows nicely, chapters are marked with time, so it is as if we progress through the day. The ending is unexpected, maybe they continue the story in the bonus chapter, but I am satisfied with just the main story. Great game!
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!!! I COULD'NT STOP PLAYING!!! I HAVEN'T ENJOYED A GAME LIKE THIS IN A WHILE. IT WAS MAGNIFICENT!!! It was such fun. I play 'hardcore', so, no map, journal or hints! Could have used a map, bc there are many places to go and things left over to do. But, the graphics are beautiful and I LOVED the puzzles!! They were great; just enough challenge to make you work. I like the way they were set up and laid out in the game; very clever. I was hoping for a different ending, but I was surprised!! All in all, fabulous!!!!!
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Loved this game. It was nice and long and the graphics were beautiful. The mini games were somewhat challenging, but I just used the skip button.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I loved this game!! Wish there were more nursery rhyme games!
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging, beautiful, and exciting I really loved the storyline for this game. It's not so much a hidden object game as an adventure game, although there are a few hidden object mini-puzzles along the way. I think what really blew me away was how beautiful this game was. I hope to play more dark, exciting adventures like this.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Fun! I loooved this game! I enjoyed everything about this game, especially the story line. It kept my interest throughout the game. It was hard to pry myself away at times I'd be so engrossed in trying to find the next clue in order to see what would happen next! Having finished I'm hoping they may continue this Cursery theme!
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I really liked this one for the story and the visuals. Really nice!
Date published: 2014-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites It is a little twisted and freaky at times so i would not recommend this to people who don't like that type of thing, but if you do, i'm sure you'll love this game! The graphics are truly breathtaking and the storyline is unique and cleverly put together. It's definitely worth buying, and it's still exciting to play every time :D
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved Cursery! I loved this game & all of the puzzles! Great story too!
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unusually challenging! Most HOS games take you all the way through a scene or location then move to the next. This one will challenge your memory by not completing some of those earlier scenes until near the end of the game. Some of puzzles exceeded my patience a bit, the HO scenes were well done and the story was good. I really enjoyed this one.
Date published: 2014-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth buying The good: I loved the story line and it left me in tears (I'm too emotional! haha). The graphics were awesome and the puzzles were challenging. It took me only a day to complete, but it was worth it. I love the details and the visuals. Everything is so beautiful and dark at the same time. Not to mention it was interesting to find more and more about the story and get confused while finding out about what is going on. The bad: I wish it were longer and it didn't end so abruptly. The ending made me go, "What? How can it end like that!" There wasn't really anything besides your imagination to tell what really happened or how the story went all together. No flash backs. No telling what happened right after the ending. But I think this was more based on your imagination as well. Also, they didn't have as many hidden object scenes as I liked. It was more puzzle based and remembering to find an item and then go back to unlock/open things. That's just my opinion. Other than that, I did enjoy the game and I leave it with a high review, despite some of the things I didn't like.
Date published: 2013-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Absolutely amazing game. I want there to be more like this!
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game, gorgeous music! I chose this game guided by its overall star rating, but didn't read the reviews until just now, having finished playing the SE. (I can't really afford the CEs, although I'm sure I would love the extra content.) I am surprised at the great difference in our perceptions/impressions! I didn't find the game repetitive during play, although I do agree there were lots of items to be opened with an appropriate "key" - it's a method of controlling the pace and direction of play. They were spaced out very appropriately, I felt, with the "keys" being found pretty much as they were needed, so I wasn't wandering around carrying loads of random objects I didn't know where or how to use (a situation I do find frustrating). My inventory rarely ran to a second page. I did find a couple of glitches - I clicked on a skeleton, and was surprised to get a remark saying, "Was that a ghost?" or something similar, because I hadn't seen any ghost. Shortly afterwards a ghost appeared ... Similarly, in another spot nearby, my character remarked: "That must be the woodcutter," but I hadn't seen any previous mention of a woodcutter. I was left wondering: am I supposed to be familiar with this woodcutter, then? However, those two glitches aside, I felt that the game was extremely polished, the pace was perfect, all the "key" objects were SOOO visually beautiful (I began to mentally compliment the artist on their glorious designs) plus each was carefully appropriate to the relevant container, thus minimising confusion as to what should go where. I really dislike games where I end up totally confused due to the large number of "can't do this yet" scenes, and "key" objects handed out too early, that when I finally find something I can actually use at that stage of the game, I can't remember where it's needed, so am stuck with checking every previous scene repeatedly, or relying on the Hint button - which I hate to do. After all, I'm not exactly playing the game myself if I am forced to keep asking what to do next, and then just following the instructions. Where's the fun in that? Not the case with this one, though. My one tiny whinge was with the Hidden Object scenes, but only because I prefer to search for whole objects, not fragments of things. But that's just me. At least there were no "interactive" bits in the HO scenes - I loathe those! I liked all the minigames, particularly those on the style of the "Guide the lambs home" which I felt were original, and great fun. I didn't think any of the games were especially difficult (I actually dislike too much difficulty), but generally they were great fun to play. I play for relaxation and entertainment, not frustration ... I absolutely LOVED the music - and a good musical soundtrack is something which I find massively increases my enjoyment of these games. The voice-overs weren't too bad - one or two a little shaky or squeaky - but bearable, so I wasn't moved to turn them off (a frequent occurrence for me with this type of game). Any lack there was totally forgiven for the beautiful music! I didn't find the storyline too dark, and it certainly wasn't gory. I would happily have let my daughter play a game like this aged 6 or 7 (and she was a sensitive child). I would have thought only the most thoroughly sheltered and unworldly of souls would have a problem with this one! However, I should imagine that this game is chiefly designed for adult players. Do many young children play these games? I'm granny to a one-year-old, and my own youngsters are long grown up, so I'm rather out of touch in that respect! The descriptions were quite "wordy", and perhaps just a little over the top, but I did appreciate being guided as to what kind of tool was intended to complete each task. When you play a lot of these games, you find that some expect you to "be creative" in guessing how objects are to be used, and others are much more restrictive; however the bottom line is that it's a game so only the "programmed" item is going to work in every case. I prefer to know what's envisioned rather than waste time looking for something appropriate, only to discover I was supposed to "make do" with something already in my inventory. If you're in that situation, you have to keep trying everything in your inventory in every interactive spot - which just becomes boring, and is the absolute opposite of creative thinking! I have also found in some games that I'm not even sure what is it I'm expected to be trying to do to accomplish a task. Am I building a ladder? Knocking down a wall? Looking for a hidden door? It's nice to understand what it is I'm trying to do, so that I can grasp how the game designer expected me to accomplish it. Top marks to this game for the brief and pertinent explanations! This game also happily avoided the ridiculous situation you sometimes find yourself in, when you are carrying an item which in reality could accomplish the task (a scalpel, say), but it doesn't work in the game because you are expected to find some other object specific to the purpose, such as a letter opener. That gets really irritating ... Still, there were no such scenarios here - all the tools were sensible and appropriate, and recognisable for their purpose when found due to the helpful comments. I would also like to say that, although I have acknowledged that the scene/descriptive comments were perhaps a little wordy in their flowery descriptions, they remained pertinent and appropriate throughout, added much to the atmosphere, and refrained from the kind of silly remarks other games sometimes indulge in. I thought they were nicely phrased and well thought out. I am a fast reader, which helps; but for any that aren't: you never know, the practice might actually be useful in the long run?
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE! The graphics for this game BLEW ME AWAY. The play was challenging without too many needed objects hidden in strange places ("Why is the key I need hidden inside a pomegranate?") or puzzles that require a Ph.D in math. But the biggest surprise was the Bonus Chapter that was down right MAXIMUM CREEPY. The Crooked Man was strange and weird, but never chilling or scary. The Bonus Chapter caused me to have NIGHTMARES! Awesome on Awesome Toast!
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Tea Games rules Another great Blue Tea game to play and I hope they are going to do another one to connect to this.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo! Brava! What a great game! Loved the graphics, the story line, the puzzles...pretty much everything. More, please! Many more! Another one that will stay in the "play again" folder, to be enjoyed again.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it This game surely deserves to be here
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cursery: A Big YES to the Game, but CE or SE? Which is right for you? Game Review based on completing the game. First off, this is a dark game, not meant kids and not meant for you if you're searching for light-hearted fun. This is great game overall. At first I wasn't so sure. Initially, I thought it was challenging in a way that wasn't fun at all. Everything seemed very crowded and difficult to identify. The more I played the more I understood that the challenge is what makes this game great (duh). Playing this is very much like reading something really dense (think of William Faulkner's description of a forest). If you like the depth of hyper-descriptive storytelling you'll love this. If you don't, then you'll think it's overkill. I love Crooked. The visuals are incredibly detailed and full of color and depth, and once I played it for a bit, established a rhythm and got comfortable the game was a big treat. Along with the visuals, the sound quality is great as well. There seem to be fewer HOS than usual and, to me they are very difficult. There is lots of "stuff" but still it's not a mess, just really well-drawn objects that also disappeared into the background as happens in a good, challenging HOS. (I just went back and counted the HOS. Based on the the Strategy guide, there are 10 in the regular game and 5 in the bonus). If there are fewer than normal HOS, then there are lots of games to make up for it. The very first game made no sense to me. It was incomprehensible. I don't know what I was doing but I kept doing it and eventually succeeded in defeating the first mini-game and moved forward with the story. After this the games got easier to understand. The quality of the games, though, left a little to be desired. So: now I've told you that there aren't many HOS and that the puzzles/games aren't so great, but that the game is. My conclusion is this: I think this is a great story and if you enjoy a great story/storyline, with beautiful visuals, you will love this game. The lack of HOS and good puzzles will be a big negative for many gamers. But, again, and I can't emphasize this enough, the story line and story-telling are so great, I consider this game a must have. SE versus CE: The SE has a map and 3 difficulty modes. For a lot more money, the CE provides: a. Bonus chapter (not related to the game, IMO, not really strong). b. Strategy Guide. c. Additional Puzzles. d. Achievements. e. Morphing Objects. In this game there's value to finding the morphing objects because they speed up the hint re-charge (and at the beginning I needed the hints A LOT). f. Re-playable Cut scenes (a really great feature in this case). g. The "who cares assortment": Soundtrack, Wallpaper, Concept Art, Screen Saver. While I recommend this game I strongly urge you to take advantage of the free hour of play to see if you'll like it as well. If, after an hour, you like the game and don't mind spending the extra money, I think the the morphing objects and the strategy guide made this game a lot more fun for me and are worth the price of admission to CE. Also, even though the bonus chapter isn't related and wasn't the best, it was still fun (and maybe it's a preview of things to come). On the other hand, if you're playing with house money and have a coupon sitting around that's going to expire, don't hesitate to use it instead of buying a CE. I hope this review helps you. If you like the standard HOS and the idea of VERY FEW HOS concerns you, then I think you will NOT like this game. Bear that in mind when you make any decision to acquire the game.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Excellent FROG Adventure Game! As the story begins you and your sister are traveling through the forest in a coach and she is telling you that several young women who are her age have been kidnapped while traveling on this very same road. Suddenly a wild cat attacks the carriage and your sister is kidnapped. As you seek to find your sister you come upon a lamb trapped in brambles and once you free the lamb Marianne appears to tell you the story of the crooked man. In order to save your sister, you must defeat the crooked man and this is where your exciting adventure begins. The graphics are exceptional as we would expect from Blue Tea Games. The artwork is stunning and gorgeous AND not as glaringly busy as they were in one previous game from this developer. The sound package is also another plus and I found it to be top-notch in every way. I was hooked on the Blue Tea's games years ago and have found that their games are consistently good. Shortly after beginning the game and as a reward for saving her little lamb, Marianne will appear and give you a magical, interactive map. Apparently, there are certain times that the map will not allow you to transport but that is intentional and the SG explains why this happens. One of the things I noticed early on in the game is that there seem to be fewer FROGs and far more puzzles which is something I love. The puzzles are great and seem a bit different than the standard fare we have come to expect. Some of the puzzles are more difficult than I expected and I found the first one to be a challenge. In my experience, games generally start out with the puzzles being simple and progress in difficulty as the game moves forward, but with Cursery we get a tricky puzzle minutes into the game which is something that I really liked. Cursery: The Crooked Man and The Crooked Cat is an outstanding game, and in the beginning the game reminded me of the Red Riding Hood Sisters – one of my favorite games from Blue Tea. The CE version of this game was an instant purchase for me and I loved it and I am certain that the SE will be very good but without some of the bling factor of the CE. I thoroughly enjoyed this game but recommend that you try it to see if you agree. Congratulations to the team at Blue Tea Games for another exceptional game.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAIR MAIDENS BEWARE! A long, long time ago a young Noble fell deeply in love with a beautiful and fair maiden. But fate can be cruel and the Nobel man's heart would forever be broken for you see, the beautiful maiden's life was far too short! The Noble became insane with grief and his beliefs that someday his fair maiden would be reincarnated. Now he relentlessly searches for his love, kidnapping innocent women of the same age, with hopes of finding the right one, but this time it's your sister who is the Crooked Man's victim! Similar to the Dark Parables style you will find stunningly crisp yet dark graphics charming fairy tale music and the famous fragmented hidden object scenes where you must find several fragmented pieces of a single object. There are lot's of mini games, more so than HOS and most are new and have a fairy tale twist. I enjoyed the three blind mice game where you had to interact with the scene to guide the mice through obstacles and into their home. I purchased the CE because of the extras and because I love this game and was too impatient to wait. I know you'll enjoy this game as well.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Errie, good vs Evil Hidden object A Excellent Hidden object game!
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INCREDIBLY ADVENTUROUS AND CHALLENGING Incredibly beautiful landscapes and creative, unique and very challenging puzzles and mini-games. Instructions are generally in the form of riddles and require thought on how to interpret the instructions. The many, many puzzles are a lot of fun even though, as a very experienced gamer, I had to play around with them quite a bit through trial and error. Not that easy to solve. Very light on the HOS, which are very detailed and lovely FRAGs. Music is lively and apropros to the scenes, but I think they could have played "The Crooked Little Man and his Crooked Little Cat" song somewhere. Voice overs are extremely pleasant to listen to. Scenes are very busy with a lot of activity to do. Map helps and the hint button works well, though I didn't use them much. Instead, I clicked on everything and read the descriptions and comments at the top of the screen because your clues will be from those descriptions (unless you want to use the SG). Game is very well-thought out and gameplay can become quite complicated. Should be several hours of play for most people. I can't even imagine the fast clickers playing it in a very short time. An enchanting game and a must-buy within 5 minutes.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not complex but fun this is a nice little hidden object game, with lovely backgrounds that were not so dark you had to really ensure you could see the objects on the screen. that is a something on many of the hidden object games are fond of but it makes playing less enjoyable for me,( just my thought) to have truly hunt for the pieces in the dark screen as well as the well disguised places. i normally cut off the sound when i play as i prefer no distractions. It was a bit awkward for me using the buttons for the mini-games for information and skip etc. but that is a minor. the ending was rather anticlimactic in my opinion, i didn't even see the resolution coming that quickly and would like to have seen a little more and a reduction of the cinematic scenes laced through the game. it is a nice little game over all though!
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SE or CE version? Loved everything, including the storyline, the visual, the music, the voiceovers, and especially the wallpapers and concept art. However, the mini games are very repetitive. The bonus game was interesting but short. Also, I don't remember any collectables or achievements. Therefore, although I bought the CE version and enjoyed it, I would actually recommend the SE version instead.
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from There is a crooked man, he walks a crooked mile. Long ago, a shy, artistic nobleman fell in love with a common girl. However, something went awry an the girl lost her life. Years later, a strange man with a crooked hat and a crooked cat starts abducting traveling women, and they are never heard of again. You play the sibling of one such woman, who is taken before your eyes. As you rush to save her, you uncover the secrets behind the death that occurred long ago, and you learn all of the dark secrets that trail the crooked man. Visually, this game is very pretty. The voice acting is above average for this type of game, and the music—while not too memorable—is not repetitive. The puzzles are fairly easy, but at least they’re mostly intuitive. For the most part every item makes sense, and I never felt the need to randomly drag items across the screen in a vain attempt to figure out where they were supposed to go. The story is really interesting, and you’re allowed to piece it together a little bit at a time before the big reveal. The length is decent. I’m pretty partial to long games, so while I think this one could have been longer its length is average for most games of this genre. The ending did feel a little bit unrewarding. I had been hoping that the collector’s edition would solve that problem, but the bonus game really didn’t continue the plot of this game. That having been said, the bonus game isn't bad, but it just wasn't as relevant as it could have been. Overall I think this is a nice entry in what will hopefully be the first in a new series by Blue Tea Games. As much as I’ve enjoyed the Dark Parables series, I’ve found some of the recent entries to be a little bit rushed and repetitive, and I think the Cursery games could serve as a nice break between Dark Parable releases.
Date published: 2015-04-15
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_20139, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat

These nursery rhymes are cursed, and your sister’s been taken by the Crooked Man!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.