Dream Catchers: The Beginning

Dream Catchers: The Beginning

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(158.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Since your sister Mia took a teaching job at a private boarding school for girls she has kept in touch by sending hand written letters. When months go by without any contact you decide that it's time to visit her. While approaching the school grounds a dark figure suddenly obstructs the road and in an attempt to avoid the figure you find yourself plummeting into a ravine. You awake to find the dark figure standing in front you for only an instant before it disappears.

To save Mia, you'll have to explore the school grounds and learn to use a mysterious amulet that allows you to enter the dreams of the residents. But why are they all sleeping? When entering another's dreams, you'll have to play by a different set of rules. Use the tools at your disposal to traverse dream worlds and save your sister!

  • Experience the mysteries of the dream world
  • Enter other's dreams to save your sister
  • Solve the mystery of the sleeping residents

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 446 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dream Catchers: The Beginning

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(158.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dream Catchers: The Beginning is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Two and a half stars. I almost got board. The game did not flow real smoothly. I am not sure I would buy this one. Graphics were nice. Characters were good. Compass was good to have. Puzzle were okay.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i didn't really enjoy this game there is a hint system that takes about 45 seconds to re-charge. i don't think the skip is as long. the map only shows your choices of where to go from where you are by displaying arrows on the scene. your sister is teaching at a girl's school and keeps in touch but it has been awhile since you have heard from her and decide to go there. the people there are asleep and they don't wake up. you find an amulet and some instructions and you enter the dream of the person in the coma. like i said i wasn't impressed with this game. some of the HO scenes are crowded and dark and hard to find items needed the mini-games were beyond me for the most part. it looks as if there may be a sequel..........others may like this game. i didn't care for it. i finished it so this review is based on the whole SE game. i will recommend it because not everyone has the same taste. try it first in my opinion. of course i did and still got it.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing great but i've seen worse Graphics & Sound were OK, But Nothing fancy, to me it was worth a try
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Graphics & Sound OK, But Nothing Flash ... A Basic HOG Adventure With A Much Repeated Concept ... Enjoyable Enough On A Rainy Day And Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Game that HAD Potential ........................... then it flopped. Big time. If you read the game description on it's download/buy page, it sounds intriguing. Mysterious. But, get into the actual game and it's more confusing than anything. What I Liked: The graphics were good. The scenery was very pretty. What I Disliked: The story had no flow, no consistency and made no sense once you got 2 minutes into the game. Just as the game description says, you haven't heard from your sister in months and have gone to her school to find out what's happened to her. The characters you meet talk AT you. There is no conversation. It is all one-sided so you really have to guess what it is you're asking or saying. Weirdest thing I've ever seen. You end up in strange places without any idea how you've gotten there. Why? How? Nothing is explained. Things just happen for no apparent reason - and not in a good way. There may be 2 or 3 (if you're lucky) places to "investigate (where the magnifying glass shows up) in each location. And, always, the items you need are never in that location so there's a lot of back and forthing. Also, when you DO "look" at something, the magnifying glass is a decent size but the area - how can I explain this - if you're supposed to be looking at a flower at the bottom of a tree - the magnifying glass will not only show up at the bottom of the tree but the middle, top and sides just to show the same location. Ridiculous. There is no sense of direction as to where you go next or what you need to do so you use the hint button a lot - I dislike that. The compass which you think is a map just shows you the various directions that are available for you to go in. There's a journal/diary in the lower right side of the screen. The tutorial doesn't mention it. It contains a lot of info, story info, etc. It doesn't light up, sparkle or go "boo" when something new is added (sarcasm with the "boo"). When I finally discovered it there were over 6 pages to catch up on. What is the point of this game? You pass out as soon as you enter your sister's room - why? What's the use of the amulet? It's not explained - it just sits there in your inventory for the longest time. There was a dreamcatcher in one of the HOGs. Is that significant? Dreamcatcher is in the title of the game, how cool it would have been to have collectible dreamcatchers. Devs missed a good one there. Why is the dark mist called a "demon" by everyone and what is it's significance to ANYTHING? These are all questions that should be answered or alluded to in the beginning moments of a game so you have some idea what you're doing and why. This game gives you nothing (and not in a good way) and goes nowhere fast. Oh, yeah, forget that - it goes downhill extremely fast. This game had a lot of potential if only the developers would have given it some thought. High School students could have put together a better game than this. I (capital and stressing sounds) could have put together a better game than this and I'm computer illiterate. It's a no-brainer that this game is not for me. Nor do I recommend anyone else waste their precious time on it.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Dreamin' Here... Hi all. Well, I was looking forward to a nice SE for a change, but... This one has pretty good graphics, for a cartoon like picture. Looks sort of like there were two separate drawings that were just placed over each other for a complete picture. Does that make sense? Graphics are clear and clean. Colors are very bright...almost too bright, which makes it very tiring on the eyes very quickly. Game play was good, no problems. There are no voice overs, which this one could have used, and a lot of reading. It does have nice sound FX. Music wasn't too bad, but got annoying after a while. HOPs were straight forward and quite simple. Items were easy to find. HOPs were very quiet in that there was no ding, ring, snap, jingle or click when you find something. The item just fades away, so if you don't pay attention, you may not realize you found an it. Puzzles were very simple and nothing new. At first, this seemed like an old game, but did not have the click penalty that the old ones had. There is a compass, which is no help at all. All it does it point directions you can take and often points to multiple locations...choose one. Hint is far more helpful, but does take a while to recharge. The story and game didn't feel like it flowed well. There was no reason why things happened. One minute you walk into a room, faint and wake up somewhere else. Okay, why? This might, and I say might, be an okay game for a beginner, but definitely is a no for me. There was nothing that kept my interest or made me want more, so no buy today. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Hairbrush is not a Comb! The basic story for "Dream Catchers: The Beginning" involves you rescuing your sister from a dream-like state she has fallen into at the school where she teaches. The game has three levels of play, various types of HOPs, sleep-inducing music, no VOs, average mini-games, and a glacial pace. The artwork is beautifully colored and very pretty. Problems reared their ugly heads from the get go. The first HO scene directed you to pick up the comb - only it was a hairbrush - at least they both pertain to hair. A "master key" was a lock pick. A long handled spoon was a scoop, which you are to use to "scoop" water out of a jar onto a parquet floor to get a rock. More bad moves: You leave the shed with the burning oil lamp to go out and get a splinter of wood. You light the splinter on a candle in the house and go back to the shed, where you use the splinter to light the burner a few feet away from the burning oil lamp. You walk through the woods picking up random large pieces of statuary, jump in a small boat with only one oar, and go across a lake to find broken statues. Somewhere along the way surely someone pointed out the problems in this game. The storyline needed a LOT of work. If it wasn't for the synopsis from BFG, I would have been totally lost. Game play has to contain at least a few shreds of logic. Even in a dream world I expect to use two oars to row across the lake. And if there is a fire to be put out in the woods, a burning campfire, and a burning oil lamp, there is no reason I should be looking for tree bark splinters to set ablaze too. I just couldn't take any more. I really appreciate the free game trials more and more. Try this one for yourself. Perhaps you'll see something I didn't.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great quality game I only played the free trial. I didn't even do the full hour. Comparing this game to other HO, this one stinks. Not much to it. If I was just starting out, maybe I would enjoy it, but not a game I would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dullsville Man Dullsville I must preface with I COULDN'T finish the demo. Certainly I have no right to complain but if a game doesn't grab-ya in the beginning well odds are it won't grab-ya at any point. The HOs were ridiculously easy. I just cannot give this game a thumbs-up on ANY level. Play the demo....save your money!!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LET ME OFF THE MERRY-GO-ROUND I haven't run into my pet peeve in a game for awhile, but it still ruins a game for me. I actually stopped playing the game before I finished it. This game seriously needs a map; there is way too much going and coming, back and forth among the same locations over and over again. Too time-consuming and frustrating for me to waste my time moving from place to place. I can spend that time with a game that I can play instead of just move from place to place and back again. I need to be more careful about buying before trying games that don't have 4 or more stars.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from dream catchers are not boring rename this sleep Not only is this boring but it is dark and my eyes hurt after ten minutes of dragging myself through it ( I could not use the word play to describe this experience). There are a lot of Hidden Obj scenes that are not even interactive and they are small, dark, and strangely colored with too much red and gold with dark lines ouch to the eyes. absolutely not a buy for me.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Really Bad Hidden Object Game! This is the worst game I've ever played here on Big Fish. Didn't like the lack of sound when clicking on an item in the hob's. It's very linear and there is no logic to any of the steps, with the exception of the meat to the hungry dog. When I initially read the synopsis of the game I was intrigued, sounded good...what a disappointment! Too bad too, the graphics are pretty good, the sound fair (except in the cases where they stick in an endless loop. I had to leave the room frequently just to get away from the noise), the story on the other hand is really poor, this game needs a serious rewrite. I wouldn't get or recommend this game even if they gave it away free with a package of bubble gum!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Dream Here I so dislike having to give bad reviews, but this game is so awful, I have no choice. Graphics were nice in the intro, but that ended once you were in the game and there is voice overs were at least attempted. No map, even rooms you thought were completed, if you go back, they now have tasks; this means you have to keep retracking just to try to find something. Story is confusing, in the woods, oops, now your at the school, oops, back in the woods. Very short Demo with set ending, and did not end at a cliffhanger. I guess the end of Summer drought continues with all these bad games.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from unfortunately not for me thought I would like this one but felt much better when I saw others did not care for it as well. gave it two tried but just can't recommend it. story line is boring, hint button works well fortunately but ultimately really did not understand what I was doing or why or what my goal was. unfortunately this one just does not stand up to the usual greatness of big fish games.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why Put This As A Tomorrows Game Today? Sorry, this game is boring, music is boring, story progression is boring, HOS scenes boring with no originality as is with the newer games so, where did this game come from. It's like it was pulled from the archives!!! I lasted 33 minutes in the trial and I was done. With all that is out there today, why waste your time on a game that has no voice overs, no realistic dialogue, a story line with no originality and music that is depressing. How is one supposed to get into the substance of this game, if in fact it has any. Just a huge disappointment and should never have been anything but a daily or weekly deal, even if that. Sorry, I was not impressed, but as per other reviews maybe I missed something. For now it is a definite NO!!
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Fish must be on vacation This game quality is not the caliber of a Big Fish game. Disappointed.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where did they find this one? The trial is already off my computer. I got about 5 minutes into it and that was it for me. This game has got to be 10 years old and if it really is a new game, Big Fish needs to find some new developers. It didn't open wide screen. After you use an object, there's an hourglass going around, I kid you not. An hourglass. The story is old and overdone. The art work was just OK but nothing really special. There just wasn't anything to get me interested enough to overlook the apparent old age of the thing. I need something better than this, even to just use a coupon.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your time This was ridiculous. Was in a small viewing screen and every time you moved or did anything, you got a wait hourglass. I deleted it after 5 minutes.
Date published: 2014-09-13
  • y_2021, m_10, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_21738, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dream Catchers: The Beginning

When entering another's dreams, you'll have to play by a different set of rules.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.