Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.52 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Blue Tea Games, creators of the acclaimed Dark Parables series, comes a brand-new parable for you to enjoy!

You’ve been called to the kingdom of Floralia to track down the source of a mysterious pollen spreading throughout the world. Rumor has it that Princess Rapunzel is somehow involved – the haunting melody she sings appears to summon the pollen… But how did the once-loved princess come to control such a deadly force? And who is the mysterious, shadowy figure always by her side? The secrets you uncover may be darker than you imagined in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • An exciting bonus game!
  • Find collectible items and unlock parables
  • Concept art, wallpapers, movies, and more!
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1263 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(445.52 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 118.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors - no gloomy darkness Even though it has a 'wicked, gloomy' things going on - The screens are never the dark, gloomy scenes that so many games have - & which I don't like playing. The colors are great & I enjoy putting together / finding items that are put together to create a needed larger item. And they are all beautiful. I will admit there was a repetition of the mini game-types that I didn't really care much for - so I just skipped most. But they didn't take away from my enjoying playing. As for the sound, I don't know because I seldom listen - mostly habit because I'm usually in a room with others & is just more considerate. Overall, a very enjoyable, colorful game.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I loved this game! Just finished it. If you like the fairy tale type of game, with gorgeous jewel- encrusted items to find, gorgeous graphics, and interesting storyline, this game is for you. Excellent game. I highly recommend it. :)
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! This is one of the most beautiful games I have ever played! The HO scenes were beautiful to look at, not the simple jumble of objects that you find in some other games. A number of characters from other games in the Dark Parables series make appearances, but this game can stand on its own. I liked the CE extras as well, particularly building the book of parables. The Dark Parable series manages to take fairy tales and retell them in a very very interesting way!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, CE definitely worth it! As a fan of the Dark Parables series, I ended up buying the Collectors' Edition even though the SE was available by the time I got around to it. I was definitely glad I did! The main game itself was charming, as per Parables' usual, and unlike other reviewers, I thought the storyline was great. I do think it was an interesting choice for them to downplay her hair--is it possible to make a Rapunzel game without hair, you ask? Apparently so, and I thought it was an entertaining twist on the original story. There were also a TON of nods to previous series' games, and since I'm familiar with them, it gave the game a real sense of timeline and plot continuity. That said, I can see where this WOULDN'T be a great game to acquire new fans with--I think the storyline might've felt weaker to me had I not already played the other games. However, the real show-stealer for me was the Bonus Content game, unlocked after playing the main story. They hint at the possibility of a new trio, between characters we've met in the main game and/or previous in the series (won't write their names as to avoid spoilers), and now I am DYING to see more of their adventures, hopefully in a full-length game. Please, /please/ make it happen, Blue Tea!
Date published: 2014-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Dark Parables After not being able to play any big fish games due to computer problems I am back. Looked at several "new" games and uninstalled 3 before I stumbled on this. I love the Dark Parable games for their graphics, challenge and fun. Same old story but don't really care because the other qualities make it worthwhile.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fairytale Fun! The Dark Parables' series is one of my favourites and 'The Ballad of Repunzel' goes straight to number one on my hit list. Beautiful graphics, fun games and a good storyline make this a joy to play again and again. There are also many items to collect as well as cursed objects adding an extra dimension of enjoyment. I tend to play these games for relaxation more than anything so played it in casual mode and this was fine for me, but others may find it just lacks a little in problem solving. I also would have liked the game to be longer. However, these are very small points and didn't spoil my enjoyment of this beautiful game. I would recommend 'The Ballad of Repunzel' to anyone who enjoys hidden object games.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game - I recommend it. I really enjoyed playing this Dark Parables game. I've played all of the DPs and this is probably my favorite. The visuals are gorgeous and the music and voices fit nicely. The puzzles are fun and different, though I found them to be a little too easy. I was a little frustrated that many of the items you collect to use later are very similar. They're mostly oval brooch-type objects with lots of flowers and jewels. It gets difficult to determine which ones go where, especially after being away from the game for a day or two. That's definitely not a game stopper, though. As I said, I really enjoyed the game, and I recommend it to others who like a combination of hidden objects, puzzles and adventure.
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific all around! Gorgeous graphics with great detail and vivid colors, lovely music and a good storyline. HO's are mainly putting pieces of objects together, and puzzles are diverse, but not too many of them. Interesting morphing HO's as well. Very long gameplay, for those who like hours of entertainment. Bonus features and lots of extras, in this game, with several levels of difficulty that you can play the games.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from build your own hidden objects I love these games, excellent story line and challenging puzzles. The music is not intrusive, the characters are fairy tale true. Never disappointed.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it I'm still playing the game, my only moan really is, the game comes with a map, but it's not interactive, and previous games have had this, so it's rather annoying, other than that, it's great, you have to find cameos, jewelry, and ornaments, and horrible plants keep getting in your way, and the items you have to collect, help remove these, but they crop up in other places, you do have games to play as well, and these usually lead you through doors, to other places in the castle. I didn't bother with the demo, as I knew I would love the game, I've not been disappointed, great game
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall lovely I absolutely love dark parables, and I loved this game too. My only issue with it is that during the scene in Ross's fire room, when I put the lion medallion into the slot under his statue, the door to the right didn't open like it did in the walkthrough (yes I looked at the walkthrough in order to figure out what was happening). Besides that little glitch, that made it impossible to carry on with my game, the game was wonderful and had a wonderful storyline.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER AMAZING DARK PARABLES I was so excited about the release of another Dark Parables that I bought it immediately but waited until my 4th of July guests to leave to play it. I have never been disappointed with the Dark Parables series. The gorgeous vibrant colors, their signature HO's, the music and storylines are always top notch. My only minor complaint is that the mini games were quite easy. I don't know who comes up with the storylines for this series. All of the stories are so imaginative and add depths to the original tales. I doubt you would be disappointed with this game. If you love it, try other Dark Parables, they all are truly amazing. Happy Gaming
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Adventure I loved the entire game and the Bonus Game was great as well. The Bonus game was well thought and not just a 2 minute deal either. It felt like a standard edition almost, so you really get a lot of play time with the entire CE. The graphics were clear and set to make you feel as though you were a part of the game, playing from within. The sounds and music were fine, relaxing at times even, going along with the scenes and appropriate actions. The entire game is interactive, but not to the point where you become frustrated and it feels more like work than a game (Sorry I play these to relax and work mind mind.) The storyline was like a true fairytale, but you get a choice of 3 endings. I won't spoil it for you. You'll just have to play to find out what happens with each ending. This is truly a game I will play again. The only things that I didn't like were a few of the puzzles were the light connector puzzles and for me were too frustrating. Of course, I also play these games at the end of the day when I'm quite tired. I prefer games with a challenge, but not so much that my Fun Time becomes a Frustration. It all depends on what your skills and preference are. I loved that there seemed to be an almost equal amount of HOS and Puzzles. I felt there were a few more puzzles, but not overwhelming. In the HOS, you may see the same scene, but get different objects. They also do a great job of blending the HO in, so if you like a bit of a challenge with these, this is a perfect game for you. My biggest disappointment was that in the CE there was any Wallpapers and I really would've loved to have a wallpaper of the last scene. It was very surreal and majestic looking. So my fingers are crossed that someday they will add that. Well, I suggest playing the demo to see if this is for you. Good Luck and Have Fun!! ;)
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing addition to the Dark Parables series! I really enjoyed playing this new addition from Blue Tea. The storyline is absolutely fantastic and I always love the little incorporation of the previous games. The gameplay is right along the lines of being just hard enough, and the new puzzles were very exciting as well. I have no complaints other than I wish the game was longer because once I start I can't stop, and the next thing I know, I'm done!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to the Series! This is an excellent game! The Dark Parables Series is my absolute favorite, and I haven't been this happy with a DP episode since The Snow Queen. Dynamite. I've already played it twice! So, of course, BASED ON COMPLETED GAME Graphics, Artwork, Environment, Mood ... all excellent. Highly detailed deep and beautiful imagery. I love the whole Eastern European overly baroque theme that runs through the DP games. The FROGs were awesome as usual. They were really fast to get through (HO scenes aren't my fav) and the objects are always beautiful. Who puts jewels on a hammer? Lol. Sound, Cut Scenes, Voiceovers ... also excellent. The mood was set by wonderful musical scores; the choral music is always effective and it wouldn't be a DP game without the bird cawing in the background of quiet scenes. The voice over acting is decent and actually believable. The least effective voice was Belladonna's but she was supposed to be young. The cut scenes were great with sword-fighting action a la Red Riding Hood Sisters, but I like Ross Red better - only Blue Tea could make a red-headed male cartoon character sexy. Lol! Story: For me, it's all about the plot of the story. I love a good story, and I truly love a good series that builds upon a story and stays true. The plot of TBOR is tight. It makes reference to all of the DPs all the way back to Briar Rose, building on the tales of each one and adding more detail as the story unfolds so that it fills in holes and makes sense of how they're all interconnected. TBOR answers a lot of the questions that were left from The Exiled Prince and The Snow Queen. Some characters that we haven't seen in a while are reintroduced and the bonus chapter opens up the door to the possibility of a whole new series. All-in-all well done! Gameplay: It's a DP. If you've played them before then you know what to expect. It's not too hard, but not too easy either. Puzzles are fun. A couple that repeat, but it's ok. You have to listen closely to the advice given the detective throughout the game. You'll have to make a choice at some point and what you choose determines how the game ends for the characters. Bravo Blue Tea! I wasn't at all happy with The Final Cinderella but this one made up for it in spades.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. Gust another game that leaves me in awe. I loved it. I especially loved how it seemed that they had a little bit of the elements of the movie Tangled in this story. Also once again love how elements of previous games come in, and that there seems to be a way that all these characters in every game connect. Loved it.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Something New I've been a Dark Parables fan since Briar Rose awoke from her slumber in Dark Parables #1, and it's a series that continues to improve with each new release. Others have touched on the story summary, so I won't rehash that. One thing I do notice, however, is how often reviewers post after playing the demo but before playing the game, and that often leaves out the most important parts! I've, however, played this one through twice now, and I can confirm that this episode not only adds to the series in quality and story complexity (not to mention this artist/English teacher's nerdy love of allusions!), but it adds a brand new twist: Three possible endings! When it comes to the showdown scene, you have a choice of using one of three artifacts, and I tried two. The first ended with bittersweet tragedy, the second, bittersweet redemption. I don't know about third yet, but I'm willing to bet it's more on the tragic side. I won't spoil which is which, as the DP games all have replayability, so I want you to find out for yourself. The one thing that did disappoint me a little is some of the shortcuts made with animation (the rest of the artwork is so exquisite that I can't help but notice the drop in precise attention to details in animated sequences), and I do feel a little frustrated that the developers haven't yet made the transition to widescreen (this artwork is made to be seen in detail!), but neither bother me enough to affect my rating. I'm a big follower of PC adventure games, having amassed a collection of over 200 (mostly adventure) games, and this one definitely fits cleanly into one of my top 20, if not 10 (and that's saying something, because there are some spectacular developers on the scene right now!). 4.9 stars out of 5.0, easy. And judging by the hints dropped about the next in the series, I'm going to be just as crazy waiting for Dark Parables 8 as I was for #7! (No, seriously, I scared my dog at 2 a.m. when I saw that this one was finally available. It's a good thing I don't have roommates, to say the least...) ;)
Date published: 2014-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics, nice storyline, a pleasure to play. I enjoy searching for beautiful jewelry and flowers. I own all of the Dark Parable games. They meet my visual preference. This game was a pleasure to play. It was not terribly challenging which is just the way I like it. The extra puzzles were not as pleasurable as the game itself, but they are easy to skip. I also noted the lack of an interactive map. It would have saved many help button requests. Your tasks are to kill a poison pollen plant, and save a special girl. It contains characters from previous games, which adds an air of familiarity. I like the collectors editions because once the game is finished, you can go back and redo all of the beautiful HOS's.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Dark Parables (recommendations at bottom) If you have played any Dark Parables games before, you pretty much know what you're going to get. Here, with a few exceptions, we have more of the same. The exceptions: ~There are a couple of different endings depending on a choice you make at the end. I like feeling like I'm having a real influence on the story, but I also resent having to play through the whole game to try out the different endings. I do think it makes the game more re-playable, so the different endings achieve their likely purpose. ~The interactive element in the FROGs that we saw introduced in Jack and the Sky Kingdom is gone, THANK GOODNESS. That was really annoying. (mac version) ~There are a lot more references to our past adventures as the fairy tale detective. All of the games in the series do this a little bit, but it's never been integral to the story. I've played all of the Dark Parables games multiple times, so I thought it was fun to see where some old friends were. Others might find it annoying. The same: ~FROGs - fragmented object games, instead of HOGs. I love these. ~Everything, yes EVERYTHING, is gilded, bejeweled, and colorful. Even the objects that relate to the game's darker elements are beautiful. The storyline was flower-themed, and the graphics reflect this. ~Morphing objects that make the hint charge faster (CE) ~A clever twist on a familiar fairy tale. Although this time around, I felt like the plot was a little too removed from classic Rapunzel. Except for one very contrived reference to her hair, the Rapunzel character could have been anyone. ~More crests and keys than tools. At any given time, your inventory will probably be at least 75% ornate items that fit into a slot somewhere. ~A bonus game that is separate and complete in itself, rather than a contrived continuation of the main game. This isn't true of all of the Dark Parables games, but it is an emerging trend. (CE) It is fair to say that the series hasn't evolved much, but why on earth would you want it to? Blue Tea fills a niche in the casual gaming world that no other developer even approaches. No one else does FROGs, really. There are original fairy tale games and games that faithfully follow a classic fairy tale story or fable, but no one else does the clever little twists on familiar stories. At least, they don't do it well. I always expect a unique storyline from this series, and I am never disappointed. The ornate graphics have become a trademark of Dark Parables. When I encounter it in other games, it feels referential. Keep it up devs! Don't listen to the haters! So no other games are really going to compare to this game besides the others in the same series, but if you need something to tide you over, you can try some others by Blue Tea: Fabled Legends: The Dark Piper Macabre Mysteries: The Curse of the Nightingale Enchantia: Wrath of the Phoenix Queen Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Enchantia probably resembles Dark Parables the most, so I've included the link at left (er ... right? no. Left.). Also, if you are intrigued by the choose-your-own-adventure ending, I only know of one other game that sort of does this; Spirit Seasons: Little Ghost Story.
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This latest installment may be the best in the series! Look, if you're a citizen in the fairy tale kingdom, we all know there's a lot to be afraid of out there: wolves who don your granny's bonnet and try to devour you, vain snow queens who trap children and turn their hearts to ice, ten ton giants atop beanstalks who hurl planetary chunks at your village. But the worst of all? Flowers. You heard me right. Because what do flowers have that is more heinously torturous than all evils combined? Pollen, buddy. Pollen. Your nose is spasming at the mere thought of it. Now, as the Fairy Tale Detective, your mission investigating the hows and whys of deadly pollen attacks leads you to something darker, tangled even, a little more "feed me, Seymour" in the tale of a girl with really really long hair—Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel. Conveniently, despite a whole cast of characters all trying to save their own hides and those of their loved ones, it's up to you to explore this deceptively gorgeous world, collecting and piecing together artifacts to open chests and doors, until you get to the bottom of the mystery in this hidden object adventure from the artistic creativity of Blue Tea Games. Dark Parables: Ballad of RapunzelIf you've played any of the other Dark Parables games then you know what to expect here: lush visuals, sumptuously colored, all bundled up with the highest of high quality production values. Sometimes sequels are known to let you down but, despite being somewhat predictable and formulaic, there's not much to complain about in Ballad of Rapunzel. The fragmented-style hidden object searches for which Blue Tea Games is known are just as beautifully designed. Players who dislike messy piles of random objects will encounter none of that here, but make no mistake, the crux of the gameplay involves searching out needed items then figuring out where and how to use your inventory in order to carry on the adventure. These richly ornate objects will either open doors to new areas, unlock a piece of the story, or initiate one of the many tactile puzzles to solve. An interactive map will help you keep track of objectives while optional side quests for collectibles and achievements will ensure everyone has lots to do. Altogether, Ballad of Rapunzel is the perfect balance between adventuring, story elements, hidden object scenes and minigames. Dark Parables: Ballad of RapunzelWhile the story is based on a blend of familiar fairy tales, Blue Tea does a good job of taking the familiar, twisting it up and infusing it with original ideas. It does tend toward some campy melodrama but this just adds to the adventuresome feel, keeping action and excitement running throughout the game. It also makes for a decent sized game: depending on the difficulty settings you choose, whether you take your time solving puzzles and enjoying the dialogues and cut scenes, the main chapters in Ballad of Rapunzel should take around five or so hours to complete. It is best to relax and enjoy a slower pace, anyhow, because there is a fair amount of backtracking in some chapters as you return to unlock doors you nearly forgot existed. Besides the fragmented object searches and minigames, there is so much to feast the eyes, so many new plot twists to take in, and plenty of adventure based puzzles to make the whole experience feel epic. With flowers everywhere you look, the looming threat of attacking pollen, it's probably a good idea to keep those allergy tabs nearby, also. You know, since herbicide apparently was banned in Rapunzel's world.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Big Fan of Dark Parables I love the Dark Parable series. I will admit - Jack and the Beanstalk didn't grab me as the others had. I read all the reviews - good and bad for this one prior to playing the demo. As far as I am concerned this one has nailed it. Yes, it looks like a fairy tale - after all, it is! I am good at games but don't like being frustrated trying to get through things. I play on Novice level just because games are a source of relaxation for me. I really enjoy this style of HO and the games have be a mix of easy and challenging. The demo took me 65 minutes to get through and this was with no urgency whatsoever. Yes, I bought this game. I have been saving my credits since nothing has caught my attention like this one in a while.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed this game I think I would wait for the SE as I did not think that the Bonus chapter did anything but detract from the game. The only negative would be the squeaky voices of some characters which is minor. Some of the puzzles were to easy but the overall game was enjoyable. Nothing is perfect and It would have been nice to be able to use the map to jump from one place to another since there was a lot of walking around. Overall I loved the FROGS, they were beautifully drawn as was the entire game.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based off full game Oh my god. This is a good game. You can't really turn your self away and even though it felt like an hour and a half, it took me 3 hours to do. You have Rapunzel, Kai, Gerda(10 years later), Snow White, her brother Ross, and everything. And for those that thought the the kid in the demo was Gothal, big surprise she isn't. The Good: Visual: The most beautiful sernery ever since the last game and Cursery 10/10 Mood: Suspence and minor surprises 10/10 Voice-acting:Big improvement come the Sapranos sentence cuts and it fits the characters really well. 10/10 Story:Takes sometimes to put the pieces together but after a while it becomes less predictable and there are some surprises 10/10 FROGS: Too easy but hard on some of them 9/10 Puzzles: Too easy on some and others I had to go on guid for 9/10 Replayvalue: STOP MAKING US SIGN IN EVERYTIME WE WANT TO PLAY AGAIN!!! It's getting so annoying that now we can't stand it 3/10 Bonus game:Surprise surprise we get the prince from Snow Queen how a full grown man and he's hot. Also we got a true back story on 2 certain stories. Spoiler for one, flying monkies. 16.5/20 That Bad: 1. I'm not a big fan of achievements since they're my pet peeve but next time leave a hint on where we forget to find a shifted object or at least leave that one out and no achievement where we have to find ALL the pop-up notes cause there's going to some we're either going to skip or ignore. -2 2. I'm also not a fan of choice endings and if I do choose one, at least leave the other 2 open so I can see what I could've pick, not rewite myself in and play the WHOLE game again to see the endings. -5 3. Finally fix some of the bugs. There arn't many like last time, maybe 2 or 3, but they're getting a but noticable now here and there. -1.5 Overall, I'm giving this a 93% A-. A great game but in order to be a master you have to replay this a few times in order to get ALL the achievements and to not get lost more often then you should. Oh and before I forget, we got a hint for the next gam,e though we got it a lot early in my opinion. All I'm going to say is I hope you guys, as the detective, can swim.
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope There Is More "Dark Parables" To Come This is a fantastic game. There was not that much hidden object scenes, which was awesome because I hate games that have too much hidden object scenes. Anyways, this Dark Parables, is very amazing and it captures you into the storyline and game. Graphics: Awesome Sound: Good Storyline: Captured Me Plot: Excellent. I recommend this Dark Parables Game to anyone who likes/loves/Looves this game series!
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not dissapointing I have never been dissapointed by this developer and this game fulfilled all my expectations. Everything is what the other dark parables got us used to. Great storyline and crisp beautiful graphics. I personally never had trouble with the HOS, but the puzzles were pretty hard for me, reason why I played it with my husband for some little help. The only difference from the other DP was the ending. It leaves room for me to believe that the story of Rapunzel will be continued in one of the following releases. Can't wait for the next one, little mermaid is one fairytale to look forward to.
Date published: 2014-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save Floralia from Rapunzel's Pollen! I love this series! It took me 89 minutes to finish the demo, because I enjoyed taking my time and solving the wonderful puzzles! This is the sixth game in the Dark Parables series, and they bring back characters from previous series, and throughout the game there are memorabilia from the other games -- an extra treat for those who have kept up with the different games and their fairy tale heroines. You are the detective sent to Floralia to determine the source of the deadly pollen and eliminate it. Unfortunately, it seems every time Rapunzel sings, the pollen spreads and plants grow wild. Luckily, Kai the botanist gives you a book that tells you how to defeat the various plants. Rapunzel seems to be controlled by her evil half-sister Belladonna, whose favorite line is "Sing for me, Rapunzel." Belladonna, like Rapunzel, was locked in a tower. Her mother was Gothel, servant to Rapunzel's mother. Somehow Rapunzel's healing touch, which grew stronger as her hair grew, has turned into a deadly touch of pollen and wicked plants. Gerda, the Golden Child whom you saved from the Snow Queen in a previous game, turns up with Prince Ross to help you in your quest. The game stays with the flower theme of Floralia. The HOS are all FROGs, filled with flowers and jewels. The collectibles are 20 Flowerstones. The mini-games have multiple parts, with lots of flowers as well. The 5 parables help explain the story for you; when you find 4 items, the parable is revealed to you. You can win up to 26 achievements, and there are 20 cursed objects to find that allow your hint meter to fill faster. There are 3 modes of play, along with the normal CE bling and bonus game. The art work and cut scenes are beautiful -- the opening scene of Rapunzel with her hair blowing in the wind is quite realistic. The only blemish on an otherwise perfect game is the map, which doesn't teleport. There are so many places to go, I don't understand why they didn't make a jump map. Take your time and enjoy the 90 minute demo. You don't have to skip the puzzles because of the way the demos now work. I love this game, and cannot wait to buy it!
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toxic Pollen and Singing Rapunzel?! I am in love! What can I possibly say to give this game justice? I nearly jumped out of my seat when I saw that a new "Dark Parables" was released by the great developers "Blue Tea Games". I have been waiting for this release impatiently. In this game journey we will meet a "singing" Rapunzel! That's right folks! We also meet 2 surprise guests from a previous game...wohoo! Talk about an interesting spin on a fairy tale! I immediately purchased the game without hesitating and was not disappointed in the least. When the game started I immediately felt at home on a Dark Parables journey as I have been many times in the past. This time we are exploring Mount Snezka, Chechoslovakia. All of the previous games in this lovely series had exceptional hand drawn graphics, exquisite story-lines, and unbearably beautiful music. I have been compelled to replay these games many times to savor every moment. This game series is not really difficult, and it is very much fairy-tale based; however, it is a series that seems magical to me. It is a perfect escape from real life and to immerse yourself in a stunningly beautiful world with an equally compelling and beautiful story. I will spare you the rest of the details so that you are left surprised, but I highly recommend that you try this CE version, since it has so many extras. This time they even included achievements. I don't remember having them in the last games. There are cursed objects (morphing) to collect as well as flower-stones, and parable notes. I am loving it and highly recommending all of the games by this developer and to play through all Dark Parables Games! They are just magical! Blue Tea Games please keep them coming!
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! Just one thing.. I absolutly love dark parables and can't wait for the little mermaid next!! The only thing I didn't like is that there are multiple endings in this one and in order to watch the little clip of each ending you have to play the game through 3 times one for each the mirror, the sword, and whatever the other one was. The whole game though was so beautiful I loved the graphics and it was a lot of fun!
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rapunzel, Rapunzel, Let Your.....Voice Sing?! Only Dark Parables can put this kind of twist to a classic fairy tale! The once adored Princess Rapunzel is somehow responsible for causing flowers in the kingdom of Floralia to emit a deadly poisonous pollen that disables it's victim. A dark force has been beside her the entire time urging her to sing a beautiful melodic song, "sing for me Rapunzel" Who is this wicked woman? It's time to let your hair down and roll up your sleeves detective, there's a Dark Parables mystery to solve! I loved how they tied this game in with Snow Queen, as soon as I heard the name Kai, I knew the characters were the grown up children captured by the evil Snow Queen (and rescued by you, detective!) In classic Dark Parables style, everything about this adventure is unique. The graphics are beautiful, the story intriguing and the Hidden Object Scenes are actually very well done FROGS. This is where you must find fragmented pieces in three sections and when you find all three sections, the sections will form together to make a single inventory item. Most of the mini games involve interacting with a stage scene, for example the first part of a mini game has you select tokens with different stages of a flowers growth in order. The second part will open and there are three separate puzzles, one with tokens that you rotate to complete a picture, another has you swap tiles to complete a picture and the final puzzle has you guiding tokens on a path until the correct token is in the correct spot with the clues shown. Dark Parables never let's me down, 20 morphing objects are once again available, morphing objects won't necessarily be activated when you first see them, some objects won't morph until a specific action or chapter has been accessed so you may have to backtrack several times before an object morphs. Each time you find a morphing object it will make your hint meter recharge faster as well. Once again you will collect Parables, there are several parable stories and each story requires you to find all parables in a category before you can hear that tale. There are also 20 collectible stone flowers, roses, magnolias, cosmos, tulips etc. This Collectors Edition is a MUST! Do not wait for the Standard Edition, you are going to enjoy all of the bells and whistles Dark Parables has to offer. Puzzles, wallpapers, movie gallery, music, concept art, parable notes, collectibles, morphing objects, a built in strategy guide and of course a bonus chapter! Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Parable is DARK! Oh, how I love the Dark Parables series. I have always adored Grimms' Fairy Tales and these games take all that is delightful, then add a dark shiver which is thrilling. You do not have to have played any of the others, but there are references to them throughout the game, which might pique your curiosity enough to try them. If you have played them, then you will recognise the style immediately. The only thing which has changed is the story, which I am not going to tell you ANYTHING about as it will spoil it for you. I feel that Dark Parable games are very much Marmite games. You either love them or hate them because of their unique features: * Fragmented objects in every HOS. I LOVE these. * Parable pieces to collect and unlock five parables to read. * 20 cursed (morphing) objects to find which gradually speed up your hint refill * A map which shows actions and objectives, but it is not a jump map. I am OK with this as jump maps can make me lazy. An extra bonus to this is the rather yummy Prince Ross (silly name though) who makes an occasional appearance and seems to be very bad tempered! There are lots of puzzles which, though fairly straightforward, are not so easy. As ever with these games, the graphics are detailed and beautiful. The music is soothing and appropriate. So, I highly recommend you try this and, if like me you are already a fan, then I am sure it will go straight on your to-buy list.
Date published: 2014-06-26
  • y_2020, m_7, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_118
  • loc_en_US, sid_21282, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

A strange and deadly pollen is spreading around the world, and you’ve been hired to track down its source. But the secrets you discover in the fabled kingdom of Floralia are much darker than you imagined...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.