Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(404.45 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

An exciting new series from ERS Game Studios, creators of PuppetShow, Grim Façade, and Spirits of Mystery!

The sheriff of Meadows Town has disappeared without a trace, and you've been hired as his replacement. But a recent storm has emptied the town of almost all inhabitants. The streets are boarded up and abandoned, and no one can explain the forces behind the weather... or the terrifying string of murders that has just begun. Only you and your deputy are left to piece together the mystery of mummified bodies and ghostly apparitions. Can an angry spirit really be the cause of the turmoil? Or is there something else afoot in this strangely empty town? Find out in this spooky Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Explore the lands of the gods in the bonus chapter!
  • Locate and decode ancient Viking runes
  • Soundtrack, concept art, and wallpapers
  • A comprehensive Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 914 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(404.45 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look Out For Them Bones!!! Again another winner from ERS!! Imagination with these Developers is just amazing. Story line is great, lots of action, creativity in the characters etc. I was impressed with this game because as a collectors edition it did not have a lot of distractions. Sometimes we are required to find morphing objects, collect items etc., which to me takes away from the involvement of the story and that being said to me detracts from the total enjoyment one should be experiencing. A game's superiority comes from how it captures its audience versus finding all the funky things that CE are famous for. In this game you can focus on what is happening and not worry about the number of collectables you need to find. Visuals are great, puzzles solvable without extreme frustration and creative HOS. In my opinion based solely on the demo, this game rocks!!! My one and only criticism is the silly (to me) voices that say "Yes" every time you accomplish something. This seems to be a speciality of ERS and I am befuddled as to why?? Despite that they remain a fav for me!! Two Thumbs Up, I hope you as well enjoy!
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game I can't explain very much because my english is not so good, but I am very excited that I have purchased that game now and can play it to the end.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vikings and ghosts...OH MY! A couple months ago I got a beta sneak peek of this ERS title in my email, and it just blew my mind! (in a good way). The graphics were like in many ERS games that I bought were fantastic! I especially like the map to it, It's not only jumpable, but I love the legend on it. I usually tend to veer off the more scary creepy Hidden object games, but this game just spoke to me! I can't wait for this weekend sale. A definite Pick up for me!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way to go Big fish ! I really liked this game, a lot of different types of puzzles & the time flew by. I finished the demo well before the 90 minutes as It's not a difficult game, but I found it very enjoyable & will be buying it during the next Big fish sale !
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game. The CC edition is worth the money. Beautiful graphics and story line.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Viking Curse or Cruel Vendetta? You have been sent to Meadows Town to replace Sheriff Anthony Dugan who mysteriously disappeared shortly after turning in his resignation, but nobody told you the town was plagued with ghostly apparitions, a masked murderer, a Viking curse and a turmoilous storm that has prompted an emergency evacuation! Now that you have arrived, there seems to be a trail of dead bodies, first Harry Adams the teacher who was granted permission to excavate Viking tombs, next is Mike Wilson the town coroner who had been examining the teachers unusual cause of death, and even the local bartender. There is a connection, they were all friends, but when you meet an angry ghost who threatens that you're next, you realize that your only theory was wrong, now what? Seems Sheriff Dugan knew about the Viking curse that would throw the town into devastating turmoil if the spirit guarding the Viking treasure was disturbed, he even had a Spirit Detector which allows you to find and collect the energy from ghostly energy and banish that energy from our world and unblock the cursed items. You will also collect 40 different Viking Ruins which will reveal prophecies as you place each of the 5 ruins upon 8 different scrolls. Your Sheriff's badge allows you to go directly to the Evidence board where you will hang up pictures and descriptions of the people you are investigating, and then you need to place items of evidence under the corresponding person. I was a bit disappointed in the fact that there aren't enough Hidden Object Scenes, however they are well done with a new concept. The HO are list finds and you must click on pairs of items such as 2 hats, 2 masks or 2 calculators. There is a really fun game of dominos as an alternative where you use left and right arrows to to place dominos as they are falling down one at a time, the goal is to match at least 3 domino pictures and each match counts as an inventory item found. There aren't too many mini games either but they all seem fairly easy such as placing single fingerprints one at a time onto the matching originals. This Collectors Edition comes with Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, Movies, Music, a Workshop (pics of devs) Hidden Object Games (you can still switch to alternate domino game) Mini Games, a built in strategy Guide and a Bonus game titled Land of the Gods. In my opinion, this is an entertaining game but the Standard Edition appeals to me more, I just don't think the CE has enough substance to woo me, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After a few duds, ERS delivers When I started the demo and learned ERS is the developer, I initially took pause since their games recently have not been up to par with most of its early efforts. My fears are allayed. ERS has once again delivered a good if not great game. The story line is a variation of a very familiar theme. A Viking lady, Valkiris, loses her husband and is disheartened when she cannot visit his remains in Valhalla due to the fact she is not a Viking warrior. So she somehow goes off the deep end and becomes a villianess bent on some kind of revenge and here's how we get to be part of the action. All game makers have a certain style graphically. I feel it's time that ERS perform an update of sorts to remove some of the grainy and unsharp scenery. Other than the story line, these are the game pluses: 1. The ability for the game player to customize game play as to hints, skip time, degree of difficulty etc. 2. A transportation map is always a help. 3. I liked that there is not an overabundance of hidden object scenes ( at least in the demo that took me 50 minutes to complete ) 4. The puzzles do have some originality and those in the demo were are very doable. 5. No cutesy animal helper. There are unfortunately some downers as well and they mostly are in the " are you kidding me " category. Early on in the game we meet a policeman who is to be of assistance in our quest. He at one point hands over a card key and the key slot is right next to him. Why not just open the door himself as he does have the darn key. We must put out a fire and the cop hands over a fire hose yet he is standing next to the hydrant. Some helper !! I for one feel my intelligence being insulted to some degree when these things occur. Our villainess Valkiris is obviously of Nordic origin yet she speaks perfect American English. Should she not have some accent? To me these are examples of developer shortcuts or just not thinking enough to do the right thing. I get the feeling the game length will be in keeping with what gamers want. There are collectible runes which must be placed in certain scrollworks. I do hope these add to the story and the game continues. Overall I personally do not see this as worthy of a CE purchase price. Maybe some other reviewers will change my mind. I do recommend the game as an SE and I am pleased that ERS has at once again lived up to its reputation as a very good game maker. I'd like them to put together a new Puppet Show.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Do like a good ERS game! Hi all. A new ERS game, yay! Okay, first of all, what idiot would speed down a dark slippery road on a rainy night! Now that I got that out of my system... As usual, ERS has come through with really nice graphics and animation. Colors are very clear and we are not slammed with reds and blues. Game play was very good, no problems and the game filled my large screen perfectly. Music was very nice and moved with what was happening at the time. Very nice, realistic sound FX. Voice overs were very good as well and fit the character and what was happening. SG was the usual and had very clear instructions. There were complaints that the HOPs are not listed in the SG, but where is the challenge in that? I primarily use the SG to help me find a collectible, in case I missed one. The hint doesn't help you with that one (wouldn't that be nice), but it will help you in the HOP. HOPs were very clean and clear and items were not difficult to find. I didn't run across very many in the demo, so hoping more show up. Not many puzzles yet either, but what I found was quite fun. The hint system fills quite quickly in this game and is very helpful. Unfortunately, it does not transport you to other locations. The only collectibles I found are the runes, which are pretty well hidden here and there. You collect 40, which are to "reveal ancient prophecies." Not sure what that is all about yet. You also have an orb to collect paranormal energy, which in turn eliminates the dark entity for a while. I think I figured out who the "bad guy" was within the first 5 minutes, but now I have to play out the game to see if I'm right...hate it when that happens. The game wasn't all that challenging, but it kept me interested and moving. Really like the Viking story line in this one. I think this one will appeal to all levels of players. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Catch them spirits! I liked the game, It was quite enjoyable to play. I was a little disappointed that there was nothing to collect except runes which at the end seem to give you a hint of some kind. The story line is you are a sheriff called to investigate some missing persons. In certain locations you have to find 5 spirits energies to get a part of the story. In the CE you get wallpapers, screen savers, movies, concept art, and meet the creators in the workshop. Those things don't really interest me, so not sure I would buy the CE, but I am curious about what the runes give us in the end. It's definitely worth a try. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad! I LOVED LOVED LOVED how many screens there were and that using the items was spread out quite a bit. However, toward the end, I started to feel like the just needed to get the game done. (Deadline maybe) I ant to say again I HATE HATE HATE when games trap you between a few screens and then make you finish them before moving on. I love that there were 4 levels, I just feel things could have been spread out more toward the end. As long as you have a map to help you if you need it, I say SPREAD IT OUT!! Just don't force everything into a few screens at the end. It's so disappointing. Maybe open the whole game to us except just a few doors at the end? Anyhow, the story was okay, the games were cool, I like the challenge of the mini games, I only skipped one I didn't understand. I say bravo! Still looking for that one to knock my socks off!
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ERS seems to be going in a new direction... ERS's Ghosts of the Past, you have been hired to investigate a series of disappearances in the seemingly-abandoned Meadows Town. Not long into the investigation, you're encountered with angry spirits and faced with the mysteries of the Vikings; can you solve this mystery and break this deadly curse? The storyline in Ghosts of the Past is far from original, as can easily be predicted from another 'car-crash' opening. In some parts, the story also does not make sense - the whole Vikings in a North American land just does not seem to make much sense to us. Regardless of that, Ghost of the Past delivers as a solid detective game. Instead of a plain, boring Journal or Diary, we have an Evidence Board. The board is accessible at all times and it can be used to organize your evidences against the victims and suspects - although it is not the first time we have seen this, it is nicely done and is very welcome as an addition. The graphics in Ghosts of the Past are nothing to rave about. They are not bad, they are just a little dull and somewhat grainy. The effects and sounds are fine, neither special nor as spooky as we have expected. Despite that, credits go to the voice-overs which are usually on-point with nice lip-syncing. Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town is entertaining nonetheless, even though it is not very original or overly-exciting; all the game mechanics just fit together very well and flow very smoothly. The game can get a little easy at times, probably due to our Sheriff helper which is far too helpful. Ghosts of the Past focuses very heavily on the adventure and the puzzles, which leaves very little room for the hidden object scenes. Hidden object scenes are few and far between, but each of them is well-made and pretty smart. The puzzles are not particularly interesting, very straightforward and easy. Ghosts of the Past satisfies in terms of length, I ended up finishing the main game in roughly 5 hours. The Bonus Chapter provides an addition 45 minutes or so of a similar-quality gameplay. Other Extras included in the Collector's Edition can be found in the checklist below. I'm not pumped up by Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town or anything, it is a great fun game to play, but nothing to write home about. ERS did most of the things right this time, with here and there to be polished and some originality to be added. Graphics: 3.5/5 Stars Sound: 4/5 Stars Story: 3.5/5 Stars Originality: 3.5/5 Stars Gameplay: 4/5 Stars Puzzles: 3.5/5 Stars Control and Navigation: 4/5 Stars Fun Factor: 4/5 Stars Extras: 4/5 Stars
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great fun lovely graphics. Great fun to play but not really challenging enough for me - finished well within the time limit playing on most difficult. Minigames a little different than usual which were good. Ideal game for a wet afternoon.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Chart Topper from ERS! I loved this game. The gameplay was great and the visuals were excellent. Mini Games were different and most importantly for me, the HO scenes were varied and brightly lit. This group of developers has a formula that sings, "Enjoy the fruits of our labor with just the right amount of difficulty. I'll be purchasing this game a soon as BFG has a great sale!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A GOOD GAME WITH AN UNTAPPED STORYLINE Hi Gamers, I really liked this game. I have played hundreds of games but I don't remember a Viking storyline. Then again I grew up in the 70's so my memory isn't very good. The visuals are good which is the norm for an ER game.A far as level of challenge goes, I played on the most difficult option and I only skipped one mini-game because it was taking entirely too long and I got frustrated. There is another option for the HO's. Instead of playing the HO's they have a new twist. It is a Tetris kind of game. Instead of shapes dropping there are pieces like dominoes with two images and you need to match up 3. It is not easy to play or I am just totally uncoordinated, which may be the case. The bonus game didn't really tie in with the main game. It is a Viking legend but I didn't see the connection. However, it is a lengthy bonus game with several new areas to explore. It took me a couple of hours to complete. So I think the CE here is worth it.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable Great game with good story line a touch of everything. Ghost finder, jump map, and a kitten for a short time. Love the scenery/visual of the game. Plenty to do. Lots of interaction with characters. Like how the did their HO's This game also had custom set up when choosing to play on easy or harder mode. Had a Ruins Room which I forgot to visit while finding Ruins in strategic locations. This game is going on my to buy list.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not enought hidden objects to find I don't want to write a long review. This game just had too few hidden objects for me to find.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stop the Vengeful Viking Spirit Good long game. The hidden objects are finding and replacing objects; the mini-puzzles are good. There are four different ways to play and there is a bonus game.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying this game. Personally I think ERS has taken a step up here. I have been critical of some of their recent efforts but this a step in the right direction IMHO. A buy.
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Start and Finish with an ERS Zany Middle That's really the game in a nutshell. The beginning and ending were interesting. The middle was a long pursuit of finding objects here and there and everywhere to put here and there and everywhere. Too many blue and green, pink and purple colors. A story can be far-fetched and still keep it's integrity which this game started off well, wandered into oblivion and then returned for an abrupt unpredictable ending. Read some of the reviews about how far-fetched the story for Vikings to have been in North America. ERS actually did their research and this is true fact. The Vikings were fierce, world travelers who conquered the land and the seas. One scene for instance, though, is where the Deputy gets abducted by the villain and is whisked away. Next scene, the Deputy is smiling and is saying just feel free to look around, etc. I, for one, was pulling out my hair with the hidden objects in finding an item and having to replace it back into the picture. The absolute faster I can go, the better, but not here. Recommend that the game is good for beginners, younger gamers, gamers who like a lengthy game and don't mind a scattered story line--much like a cartoon. Purchased the CE based on what I thought was a promising beginning that spiraled out of control into the zany world of ERS and then surfaced again to a conclusion. Have purchased and played enough of these types of ERS games. Just don't appreciate what seems to be a demo misrepresentation--a promising game that veers off the mark. It's just the best example to share with other games. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A 2 1/2 star game I shall start off by saying I haven't reviewed a good game in quite some time. I haven't even bothered writing reviews as the games offered of late are so poor. I've never been a fan of ERS games, however, I do give each game a fair demo. This one began to sink at the very beginning of the demo and kept getting worse. First, I'm thinking this is supposed to be spooky. The comments from the detective sent to investigate are flippant (I suppose the developers thought they were funny), and it ruined any atmosphere of spookiness. The Orb catcher was annoying. I don't need gimmicks in my games. I did not care for the HOS, nor did I care for the puzzles. Both were so simplistic it was ridiculous. Kudos though for no sparkles or black bar tips on the hardest mode. The story, for me, was disjointed. It was almost as if they were trying to incorporate two stories together in one game. Again, as always with this developer, the simplicity of the game was ridiculous. There is little to no thinking involved. I give this one a pass. As far as this being offered as a CE, if I were buying it, I would definitely wait for the SE. There really is nothing to warrant this as a CE.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Will Wait for the SE. This review is based on completion of the CE demo in custom mode reducing hint and skip to 5 seconds. I wasn't wowed by this game. The only collectible was rune stones and they were prominently placed. There were no morphing items. One of the reasons I purchase CEs is for the hidden collectibles and morphing items. Basically you are a sheriff who has been called into a northern coastal small town where the previous sheriff has been murdered along with others in the town. Apparently there is a Viking curse who is killing these people or is it? With the custom mode you can reduce the hint and skip to 5 seconds which I love. By the time I want to use either a skip or hint I want to do it right now, not wait for a minute or two. I only saw one HOS in the entire demo which was during 83 minutes of game play. I always hear other reviewers complaining about too many HOS, well here's your game! The one HOS had you match pairs of items. Not very challenging IMHO. There were I think 3 puzzles, one I skipped and the others were simple. The graphics were okay and so was the music. I did turn down the music and ambient noise. There is an evidence board where you place collected evidence. Not impressed. There is also a device you have to use to find "spirits" in the room. The first time was okay but after that I was bored. I think I might buy the SE of this game but not the CE. Play the demo to make up your own mind about this game. For me it's a no buy, but you might like it.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Background noise! I would find this a much better game if I wasn't bombarded by "ghostly" sounds and what sounds like a carnival spook house maniacal laugh constantly interrupting my concentration. The rain is falling, the wind is blowing, and all that is cool, but why the other sounds? For me, the sound effects are more important than the music, which I rarely listen to for very long anyway. So far the puzzles have been fairly good, the art work is typical for this developer, and the story is just okay. Personally, the big bad blond Viking broad is getting on my nerves! And the guy in the skeleton suit! Too, too much.And like another reviewer, Vikings in America? Really? Now Native American ghosts I can see! We don't have to import our angry visitors from the past here in the USA! So i'll wait for a great sale for this one, or until the SE comes out.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Would not purchase Not enough HOPs, just not a very fun game to play.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing new Anoter car comes to halt in an abandoned village. Sounds familiar? Like 50 games alreadty with the same plot. However you play an detective and have to gather clues, so tyhat part is new. Still I found it rather messy.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for a dull weekend The storyline is muddled, what with the player being a sheriff, then the town is falling apart, then skeletons, ghosts and a Viking apparition (why is it that all female apparitions have Barbie doll bodies and luxurious hair) The puzzles are easy, but the Demo was far too short! (And no pink and purple fairies, thank you!) Fun, not fantastic
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as catchy nor fun as expected I only got into the Police station, following the opener, and already unimpressed, alongside numerous game play issues. The poorly operating Hint button; the orb, which glows-but no energy to use it just yet- so that only defeated the purpose. And the Hint button kept redirecting me to the outside fire, but, nothing to extinguish it with just yet ) :( So far, horribly unimpressed. And the factor of no actual morphing objects, nor any HO areas just yet. Will not purchase.
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from STARTED GANGBUSTERS AS I began this game and played for awhile I would have given it a 4 at least. As the game went on it slowly degraded. It is very repetitive as it goes on and you begin to be tempted to go forward in the guide to see if it is worth continuing. Well, I did and it did not improve. It also did not degrade anymore so it is a solid 3. If you want to just hang out and play a lazy game with nice graphics and somewhat interesting story then you might want this game. Other than that, not really worth your time.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Bones" Are Out of Joint In one of the most original openings of a game ever, (sarcasm) you are driving to Meadows Town to investigate the disappearance of the Sheriff when a spirit appears, and your car crashes at the base of the Meadows Town sign. Legend has it that Meadows Town was founded by Vikings, and they also may have buried treasure there. Around the time the sheriff disappeared, strange weather phenomena also began occurring. The artwork utilizes a mix of styles. It is especially color-saturated like fantasy games, and also slightly blurred in appearance. On the other hand, buildings and other structures are realistically drawn. The story likewise has a mix of styles. There are extremely serious adult-themed occurrences like murders and visiting a morgue with dead bodies. However there is also a man in a skeleton costume following you around and causing mayhem, as well as a female spirit warning you that you can't stop her (ha, ha, haa). This part of the game I seemed to be directed toward younger players. Hidden objects - there are not too many- and puzzles were ok if fairly easy. Overall quality of the game is good, voices and sounds included. For me, the bones of the story were disjointed. It seemed that the developers are trying to appeal to both young and old - a noble idea - but the story loses its "fiber" because the two aspects do not "connect" enough to be believable. There is not enough there to hold these bones together.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry But Only 2 Carrots For The Rabbit BASED ON 65 OF 90 MINUTE DEMO. It's been a long time since I've demoed one of the Rabbit's games.For me this developer use to be one of the best if not the best. Due to lack of good games to play as of late as there have been only a few good ones I thought I would see if the Rabbit has improved any. They have a little but not much in my opinion. Game opened in widescreen for me. JOURNAL; NO GPS: (map). I didn't use it but checked it out. This is transporter and it is divided into 4 screens (pages). Shows where you are, things to do, and areas not yet discovered. Sheriff's Badge: Located down at the bottom of the screen. If you click on it, it will take you to an "evidence board." ORB: This is next to the Sheriff's Badge: You use this to scan the areas for paranormal activity about 5 to 6 times to get energy for the orb which is nothing more than ghost woman making threats. VISUAL/SOUND QUALITY: Sorry but I think the graphics are quite poor. Very grainy and way too much blue/grey color. The Rabbit use to have very nice graphics in their games. The voices were OK and lip-sync is right on however I didn't find anything interesting about the characters. I also didn't get any "spooky" vibes as I see from the description of this game it's suppose to be "spooky." LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: 4 play modes that includes a custom mode. I played the Custom Mode. I must say the Rabbit here definitely knows how to do a Custom Mode. Now THIS is what I would call a Custom Mode. There are no black bar tips, no sparkles, hint/skip can have it charge up within 5 seconds though I didn't use them. So a kudos to the Rabbit here. I only came across one HOS - find the matching pairs.This was nicely done. The few puzzles I came across were easy and straightforward. STORY LINE: There is nothing really new here. I just didn't find this story very engaging. Just very farfetched and not making much sense to me.I just found it silly though another to the Rabbit's credit here at least for the demo time I didn't come across any animal helpers that needed to be fed, named, dressed up, or having to find bars of soap to wash their clothes. However this may or may not come past the demo time. FUN FACTOR: Sorry Big Fish and Rabbit but I just didn't find this game very "fun" at all. The story is lame and overall game play boring. While I'm a fan of the HOS, the game doesn't have to be overloaded with HOS however I would of liked to have seen at least a few during the demo since once again according to the description this is suppose to be a Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure. There is nothing in this game that made me feel that this is a "must have" and "buy it now." I also didn't care much for the evidence board having to drag the pieces to their locations. I wasn't too fond of the orb either. I give the Rabbit here 2 carrots (stars) A no buy CE or SE when that is released. Maybe next time. I'll just have to wait and see what the Rabbit here releases. CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide (Shows 3 chapters during demo. However according to a post in the Big Fish forum there are 7 chapters. This also shows the collectibles: Runes) Achievements: NO Morphing Objects: NO Collectibles: YES 40 Runes which are used to decode prophesies on 8 scrolls 9 Wallpapers 10 Concept Art 7 Screen Savers 18 Movies 4 Music Tracks Workshop 18 Mini Games 11 Hidden Objects
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Farfetched to the point of ridiculous The graphics were slightly grainy. The palette is subdued without being drab and the artwork fit the theme of the story. The voice overs were good enough to not be annoying but failed to achieve excellence. The music is fairly unobtrusive with occasional crescendos during appropriate moments of the game. The storyline is farfetched in that it seems to take place in a small American town but claims that this town is under the influence of a Viking curse. To the best of my knowledge there were no Viking towns or colonies on mainland North America so accepting this notion strained my credulity. Why the curse waited hundreds of years to become active in modern times is not explained. Other than these issues, the story is a somewhat typical one. The curse has resulted in severe weather disturbances leading most of the town's population to flee. Those remaining, apparently a small number of men, are being killed off one by one. The sheriff has disappeared and your character has been called in to take his place. You must figure out who is behind the murders while dealing with the supernatural force behind the curse. Game play involves exploring various locations around the small town both by clicking potential sources of inventory items and by using a device that allows you to view supernatural forces. You scroll this device around the screen until you uncover 5 bright lights that charge it up. Then you scroll it over a colored area to trigger a cut scene that explains a little more about the curse. Using this device the first time was mildly interesting. By the third time it had grown tedious. The objectives are clear but the tasks you must perform to achieve them are often silly to the point of being completely ridiculous. For example, you have to look at film using a microscope. Microscopes are not devices used to look at film. The same sort of silliness dogged the inventory items you find. For example you find a syringe filled with acid sticking out of the wall in an office. Who keeps syringes filled with acid sticking out of the wall in their office? Unrealistic things like this scattered throughout the game just ruined any immersion in the story for me. The Hint button is often annoyingly thorough. For example, I clicked it and it took me all the way back to the start of the game because I had failed to pick up one of the collectible runes there. It then took me all the way back to where I had been when I first clicked it to perform an activity that would lead to game progression. This sequence took me from the second page of the map to the first page and then back to the second. Very irritating. I played to the end of the demo and there was only one HOS. It was a list find with no interaction. I'm fine with that kind of HOS but having only a single one in the full demo is simply insufficient in a HOPA game IMO. It was so simple it barely deserves to be called a HOS. There was a single other thing that some people might count which involved dressing some guy that had passed out on a park bench. I don't consider a replace the object scene to be a HOS and even if I did having only two HOS is still insufficient.There were a handful of puzzles none of which was particularly interesting or fun. They were mostly easy. This is a game that relies on it's "adventure" component for fun factor because it has so few HOS or puzzles. Given this reliance on adventure I would have liked to see adventure tasks that made more sense than the ones here. I also would have liked to have inventory items that made a little more sense. Overall, I felt this game was too poorly thought out to be much fun.
Date published: 2014-08-14
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_21441, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

There's a new sheriff in Meadows Town – and it's you! Can you stop a vengeful Viking spirit before she strikes again?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.