Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(404.45 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

An exciting new series from ERS Game Studios, creators of PuppetShow, Grim Façade, and Spirits of Mystery!

The sheriff of Meadows Town has disappeared without a trace, and you've been hired as his replacement. But a recent storm has emptied the town of almost all inhabitants. The streets are boarded up and abandoned, and no one can explain the forces behind the weather... or the terrifying string of murders that has just begun. Only you and your deputy are left to piece together the mystery of mummified bodies and ghostly apparitions. Can an angry spirit really be the cause of the turmoil? Or is there something else afoot in this strangely empty town? Find out in this spooky Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Explore the lands of the gods in the bonus chapter!
  • Locate and decode ancient Viking runes
  • Soundtrack, concept art, and wallpapers
  • A comprehensive Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 914 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(404.45 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not sure what to say Even though I try not to say bad things about the games, I will make an exception. This game is just plain dumb.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ER Games Yuk. !!!!! Besides a few others I do not buy. I played the demo oh no I said that's all. How can we get to Big Fish members they aren't listening. Tried to find out where elephant games and mystery Trackers are these days no answer. Everyday one nightmare after another. We pay these people a lot and this is what we are offered. Fed up big time.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drove me nuts I gave the demo 12 minutes. Noise drove me nuts. Not finding anything to put out fire quickly so stupid. This one not for me, but definitely try demo for yourself.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fun and very different! I liked the idea of the storyline but the rain noise in the background was too distracting for me as a player and they could've added better music . The graphics were great but didn't like the voice over. I didn't like the way the designers made the characters it was too much like you were in a comic book instead of a action game. I like the way the hobs were made with putting things in the right place and the puzzles, some of them were challenging from what I played in the demo. I myself wouldn't purchase this game but I would always recommend that a person should always play the demo to find out for yourself.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from could not get into this one unfortunately I tried this many times hopping to like it and get through it but ultimately had to give up. never new where to go and had to use the hint constantly. then got stuck because the hint kept telling me to us the detector but when I tried using it I kept being told I Didn't have enough energy to use the detector yet was just confusing so ultimately gave up. whish I had not bought this one. don't like to give bad reviews and don't often but this one I can not recommend. I don't use sound so can't rate that anyway.
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Think We May Have A Winner For Worst HOPA of 2014! BASED ON DEMO Wow... Wow... Wow... When you're a developer like ERS, and you keep bringing out game after game after game, you're eventually going to get a bad one. And that bad one is THIS! Holy moly, this game was absolutely terrible! I was so thrilled when the demo ended, I actually let out a squeal of delight. The story is just, for lack of kinder words, moronic. It seemed to be very unorganised and just had stupid, unexplained things in it. Vikings founding a North American town? Evil spirit killing people? The entire town believing bad weather is caused by an evil spirit? No. No. The entire story seemed like something a ten year old would think up of. It also had lots of unbelievable things in it. The coroner died... so why does the coroner have his own death report? The coroner doing a death report on the coroner? Did the killer revive him for about 2 seconds to let him write his own death report? That just drove me mental. There is honestly nothing worse than a story set in a realistic location having unrealistic things happen in it. Ugh... Content wise, the story was just a shocker. The opening was just stupid, and it didn't get better from there. Every supposedly “shocking” moment did not surprise me at all, and ended up looking more stupid. Some guy just randomly pushing over a tree? Balloons appearing out of nowhere? Don't even get me started. There's nothing positive to say about this story. It borders on ridiculous. Even the background story is annoying. Background stories are usually good, but not this time. I am sick to death of the “lover scorned turns in to vengeful spirit” thing. It has been done over and over, and is quite frankly not even of any interest to me. It's time developers in general focused on a new background story for the villain. If there is one positive thing about this game, it is that the HOS are good, even though there was a lack of them. There were two in the demo, which lasted (for me) 45 minutes. The HOS had two different varieties; one was pairing HOS and the other was a “replace the item” HOS. Both were good, which made me wish for more of them. I think there should have been maybe one more in the demo. Despite that, I did think the HOS were spaced out pretty well. I didn't mind the puzzles. They weren't overly challenging, but they weren't too easy either. I had to skip a couple, but I did enjoy attempting them. There was one new puzzle that I can remember, but the rest were all the same we've seen before. Similar to the HOS, the puzzles are spaced out well. There are definitely more puzzles than HOS, which will probably annoy HOS lovers. There are two additional gameplay features here. One of these is the evidence board, which kind of acts in place of a diary. It is where you can store all your evidence and make conclusions and stuff. There is a separate line for evidence. I liked the evidence board, but felt it could have been done a little better. The other gameplay feature is the Spirit Detector, and WOW, was that ANNOYING! It was one of the worst gameplay features I have ever seen, and significantly dragged down the fun factor. Basically, whenever you entered a room haunted by a spirit, the detector would flash. Then you would have to find 5 orbs before the detector was charged enough to get rid of the spirit. What I hated about this feature was that you could not use a hint if you couldn't find the orbs, and you couldn't skip it either. So, I had to get out of the minigame, look at the strategy guide, and go back in. Using the strategy guide makes me feel dumb, and I don't like being made to feel dumb, so this was just a major annoyance for me. This feature could have been executed so much better and actually made this in to a half-decent game, but alas, it was not. The basic gameplay features have been done well for the most part. We have 4 modes of difficulty, as well as a decent map (which is a GPS). But there is NO DIARY! I seem to be saying this a lot lately, but a diary is an essential feature for me, and to not have that, especially from a developer who always gives us a diary, is a huge let-down. Other than that, though, the basic stuff was good. Overall, the gameplay would have been good, had it not been for that annoying additional gameplay feature. The graphics are good. They are the classic ERS; hand drawn with some nice detail. All the scenes are clear and the character designs are quite lifelike. I was impressed to see that lip-synch is back. It appears that ERS have learned from their mistakes, which is nice. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. I was glad to see that the main character was a male for once! FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Custom lets you set the game the way you like; differences in others are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- At 40 seconds, this was a good recharge time for Casual mode. Hint was helpful outside HOS. Map- The map was a GPS one this time, and was helpful. It let you know where there were tasks to perform. Evidence Board- The evidence board was where you stored all your evidence. You could move some of the stuff, but not all of it. There was the ability to click on your badge to transport yourself directly to the board, which was nice. Spirit Detector- I absolutely HATED this feature. That minigame was annoying, especially since there was no option to use a hint. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- Unsure if needed Built-in Strategy Guide- Gives solutions to puzzles and shows collectibles. Collectible runes- I honestly did not understand the point of these at all. They popped up everywhere, and they had their own little scene where you had to do something... but what that was exactly was beyond me. Never in my life have I been more confused by a CE Extra. Wallpapers (9) Screensavers (7) Concept Art Music Replay Movies Replay HOS & Puzzles Workshop- pictures of the development team WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? I would not buy this game if someone paid me, but if anyone is considering it, I would recommend the SE. The CE has very weak Bonus Content, and with lack of achievements, you're looking at next to nothing. So, with a ridiculous, mind-numbingly boring story and sub-par gameplay, I give this game a well-deserved one star rating. The most exciting part of the game for me was deleting it from my computer. This is definitely the worst game this developer has ever made.
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing game I played the demo and then bought the game. At first I couldn't understand why this game got some bad reviews. As I continued playing the game, I wondered why anybody gave it a good review. Talk about a disappointing game that looked so promising at first! The story is disjointed and just plain awful. There are so many bad points about the story that I would need more room to list them all. One striking bad thing is that you gather clues as to who-done-it (sounds interesting, huh), but you never use them. The villain is revealed in short order, which is par for this game since it is short. There are alternate endings for the game, so maybe if you select the one I didn't, you get to use the clues. I'll never know, because I for sure will not repeat the misery of playing this dog to find out. The bonus chapter seemed longer than the main game, but that may be due the torture I felt in playing it. The story here is only remotely connected to the main story if it is connected at all. Terrible! Game play is also bad. There are some fragmented object scenes where you can't pick up all the pieces until you place others where they belong even though they are in plain view. Frustrating to say the least. One towards the end of the bonus chapter had me wanting to quit right there, but I'm too stubborn to do so. This has got to be one of the worst games I have played. I can't imagine anybody giving it a good review.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why is everyone being so kind? This is so bad I don’t know where to begin. Vikings in a Midwestern town? Hot wiring a car using a nail? Tarantulas in a sealed case? Using a game device to repeatedly be threatened? Collecting runes for little storyline help? Every reviewer has been too kind. I’ll just suggest this as the joke of the day. Download it for the amusement value of making fun of it and let it go at that. Please forgive me, but I found No redeeming value here. Not even enough to run over the good (none) and bad (lots) points for you. Ugh.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ERS: Hire a new writer, artist, musician...just hire all new people! Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town CE Review based on completed demo PREFACE… They just can't think outside the box anymore, can they? Remember the early days, when you actually got excited to see a new game by this dev? But it's been the same old, same old for years now. The same graphic style. The same background music. The same puzzles used over and over again. And story lines that just don't engage. ONCE UPON A TIME... There's a new sheriff in town…you. The former sheriff of Meadows Town disappeared without a trace. Your introduction to the seaside community is a car crash caused by a spirit. How original. Nor does the town look at all cheery. Having been the victim of a recent storm, it's virtually abandoned, its buildings boarded up. And every clue to the disappearance of the sheriff leads to a corpse with a strange sigil burned into its chest. What's going on in Meadows Town? PLAY THE GAME... Nothing innovative here, just the usual find and use objects, straight list and replace the item HOs, and retread puzzles. And there's an evidence board to organize the clues you find. Gee, that looks familiar. *cough…Enigmatis…cough* SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are typical of this developer: washed out watercolor for the most part, although there is some detail in the close-ups. Animation is ok, but not the cinematic excellence we've become used to. SOUND WAVES… The music is orchestral and nondescript, not anything I would want to download, although the screeching violins are kept to a minimum, I noticed. Voiceovers are professional. Environmental sounds could have been stepped up a bit, in my opinion. TOOLBOX… The map indicates objectives and transports. You can access the evidence board by clicking the sheriff's badge. And you have a spectral energy detector which, when charged, can unlock things the spirit has guarded with energy. WORKING THINGS THROUGH… Inventory locks open and zoom boxes close automatically. Not much else of note here. EXTRA, EXTRA… Extras include the bonus adventure, collectible runes, the SG, and the developer's portfolio. I don't feel this is sufficient to qualify this game as a CE, personally. THE LAST WORD… Honestly, I think I'm giving up on this developer. I haven't bought one of their games in years because the graphics, music, gameplay, and story line are always the same. It's as if they have a formula and folders full of stock graphics, music, and puzzles. And let's talk a bit about the ridiculousness of this game. Balloons—that are supposed to scare me?—appearing out of nowhere to "block" me from entering a house. A syringe of acid sticking out of a bulletin board…yes, I have one of those in my house, don't you? Looking at camera film through a microscope? And the inconsistencies in the story line drove me nuts. Better games they've done include Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga, Reveries: Sisterly Love, Spirits of Mystery (Amber Maiden and Song of the Phoenix only), and Redemption Cemetery (Grave Testimony and Salvation of the Lost only).
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have a bone to pick with ERS ERS what is going on! I did not make it through the demo! I just could not force myself to see if the game would improve. It was a mess. The story is badly though out. The graphics were ok, but a bit on the cartoonish side for me. This is a Hidden Object game but there were hardly any Hidden Object Scenes. The problem for me was the story itself, it did not make any sense.Things started going downhill for me after the Deputy tells you the current sheriff went missing after he retired. In the very next sentence he tells you the sheriff's wife reported him missing when he did not come home from work at the police station. -Oh Boy, You know you're in trouble, they were not thinking too hard on the story line. The game is about a town in Canada that was founded by Vikings at one point and in myth if anyone steals their hidden treasure an evil spirit will cause storms to punish the thief. Well, you're the new sheriff in town and guess what, there's a storm on way to your new job. Guess somebody found the goods. You will also find rune stones to help you learn old adages, -Like don't rub salt in a wound-but they do not help with the game. You also get a magical devise to find bad energy/spirits. It's kinda boring, just scan over the scene until you find the purple glowing cloud. Not a challenge, disjointed and the extras- like runes and magical devises- just seemed half thought out. Pass
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't even make it through the demo This game looks so good, I couldn't wait to try it. However, I couldn't even get through the demo. It's boring, the storyline doesn't make sense, it's disjointed, it's like playing a comic book, which was a turn off for me from the start. The makers usually do a much better job, maybe they were napping when this one was approved.
Date published: 2014-08-30
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_21441, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghosts of the Past: Bones of Meadows Town Collector's Edition

There's a new sheriff in Meadows Town – and it's you! Can you stop a vengeful Viking spirit before she strikes again?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.