Danse Macabre: Crimson Cabaret Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Danse Macabre: Crimson Cabaret Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(422.21 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Eipix, the studio that brought you Final Cut and Myths of the World, comes a thrilling mystery set deep in the heart of Paris!

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, the world-famous artist, has come to you for help! Who murdered his friend Sophie, the leading lady of La Parisienne cabaret? It’s time to gather up the suspects. Was it the clumsy stagehand? Or maybe it was the jealous Baron… Explore the city of Paris as you gather and examine evidence that will point you to the true killer. But watch your step – a masked figure is watching you from around every corner! Make sure this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure isn’t your last!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Continue exploring La Parisienne in the bonus game!
  • Challenging achievements and replayable mini-games
  • Collectible music, concept art, movies, and more!
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 815 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Danse Macabre: Crimson Cabaret Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(422.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Danse Macabre: Crimson Cabaret Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 63.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game! I have been playing such mediocre games this year, it is nice to finally find one I can recommend. Not the best game of the year, but in the top 5. I am also pleased to get away from castles and broken down cars!
Date published: 2014-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EIPIX has gone one step further, again... It's always good to see that hidden object games are improving every day and Eipix is doing a remarkable work in this regard. This review is done after finishing the CE with both game and bonus chapter. First of all, the demo part would never give you the intelligence that Eipix put into the psychology of the gameplay. The game starts easy (almost too easy) and then gets addictively harder, sophisticated and fast. This has almost become the "formula" Eipix uses to enchant the gamers. It has almost perfect animated scenes, almost perfect voiceovers, a very good storyline, clever and modified hidden object scenes and minigames. Even though I played the game using a huge 27'' screen with 2560*1440 resolution, the details were excellent. The camera angles and its clever moves were powerfully done. The gaming engine that Eipix uses gives the player the opportunity to play the game very fast, therefore "boredom is seldom". The logic behind the gameplay is cleverly crafted thus there are almost no logical "bugs", except for some minor issues, which is immaterial to my opinion. The game cursor is huge and in fast play, the mapping of the scene can make you go back a scene while trying to click an object close to the inventory. This should be looked at. The background music is not annoying and blends with the atmosphere. The smiles and even laughs you give out while playing is seldom in the game, therefore because it is not a horror or thriller HO game, they may have been more to further put the player into the game. As a Collector's Edition, it is quite satisfying. The bonus chapter has new characters, not entirely new but beautifully modified atmosphere, a new story, sufficient extras etc. As a result, the game becomes one of the better games of its genre and gives very promising thoughts about how Eipix may be leading this sector. Clearly recommended. Regards, JC
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Voices, Gorgeous Graphics, Fantastic Game I am enjoying this game very much, it is exceptional in all ways. I get bored with some hidden object screens when they don't have enough interactive actions. I enjoy there are different style hidden object screens plus beautifully done match 3 if we prefer. I enjoy using the forensic bag to test for evidence. I enjoy murder mysteries that keep us guessing. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Hit Best game in a good while, sorry to see the demo end. This has a awesome story line. Keeps you wanting more.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My, what a great game This is one of the best games I have had the pleasure of playing this year. The graphics are very clear and the voices are great. I have not played all of the demo but I had to submit a review of the game because I enjoyed what I have played so far. Really like the hidden objects and mini games. I will definitely purchase this gem of a game.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eipix delivers another stellar adventure : Danse Macabre In Danse Macabre: Moulin Rouge, you've been summoned to solve the murder of a young woman at the legendary concert hall, and though the police think they have their killer, we wouldn't have much of a game if hat were the case. (Shortest game in history. "Oh, our mistake, madame, please go back home and enjoy some pastries." Credits roll.# As you probe deeper, you soon discover there's something seriously weird happening on the streets of Paris, and Sophie, the poor girl who was murdered, is just the tip of the iceberg. Luckily, you've got your forensic kit at your disposal, and despite the sneering of the local police, you're sure this "new science" will reveal the killer. With your own private coach, you'll travel around the city as you put together connections revealing suspect after suspect and discovering their motives, solving puzzles, hidden-object sequences... and maybe even polishing up your bartending skills a little. Looking for a mystery with just the right amount of intrigue and morbidity? Danse Macabre: Moulin Rogue has you covered with its tale of obsession and a lady detective who "just loves firing her mini cannon". Of course, it probably helps that everyone in this game is just thick enough to make your job a lot easier, like the maid who scolds you for coming into the house when her master isn't home and tells you that you have to leave, but has no trouble watching you steal everything that isn't nailed down in front of her. There's just something gleefully zany about the whole thing, like presenting the baron with proof roses came from his garden because they're mangy and riddled with spots and holes, and it gives everything a delightfully off-kilter feel. The whole thing is a bit more Agatha Christie or Miss Marple than it is any serious mystery with its doo-dads and monkeys, but that's part of its charm. Our heroine is never actually shown, but I've been pretending she's a three-foot-tall eighty-year-old lady walking around screaming about how the game is afoot while she waves her mechanical magnifying glass. #Which is just showing off, really.# Eipix has put together a game that looks and sounds gorgeous, with wonderful voice acting to go along with the opulent area design, and everything from the puzzles to the masked antagonists themselves has a wonderful faintly creepy vibe that ties everything together in an engrossing way. Unfortunately, the game also loses some points for some seriously fiddly click detection and UI, that makes manipulating certain items and some hidden-object/forensic scenes far clunkier than they need to be. Chances are most players will find the game a bit too easy to prevent them from flying through it, so it'll be over in a few hours at most. That said, if you've been craving something a bit less oppressively dark and supernatural than most hidden-object adventures tend to be, Danse Macabre: Moulin Rogue is an easy recommendation. It has tons of variety, with clever puzzle presentations and hidden-object twists that keep things fresh, and the skeptical officer jerkface as a nemesis of sorts of a nice touch. Despite the whole murder motif, everything about the game screams "cozy mystery", something you want to sink into and enjoy for an evening. It's campy, it's creative, it's lovely to look at, Danse Macabre: Moulin Rogue is just plain fun with a story that keeps rolling along and all the disgusting hangover cocktails you could want.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Madame Roche is on the case! I love this game hands down! The characters are awesome. Henri's name is longer than he is tall. Love that lil' dude. Madame Roche is the best. One of my fav detectives. The VO's are outstanding. There are collectibles, but not in over abundance, just right. Story: Madame Roche is on the case to find out who killed and why they killed Sophie Dubois. This is an awesome whodunit and enjoying every minute of it. Graphics: Down right gorgeous! Music: Beautiful French style music to fit the theme of the game. Game Play: You pick up items along the way to help you solve the case as well as a forensic kit. When you search for clues on a body, it turns into a match mini game or a mini H0G. H0GS: The H0GS are the best H0GS I've ever played. You get mini H0GS and puzzles within H0G scenes. These I was totally impressed with. Map: Jump map. Has '!' as the indicators. Hint system: Works in and out of H0GS. Outstanding job Eipix! Kudos to the team!
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My, Oh My, Have We Been Spoiled Today! BASED ON DEMO Eipix has seemed to be declining in quality as of late, and add that to the fact that the last Danse Macabre game was terrible, you can see that I wasn't really expecting much of this game. Eipix have redeemed themselves here, because this was pretty good! The story was just my type- a murder mystery- so I was naturally excited, and this one didn't disappoint. It was a little slow, and did take a bit of time to get in to, but once I did, I was engrossed. The story took some great twists and turns, ones that I certainly was not expecting. Kudos to the developers for the creativity! While I did thoroughly enjoy the story, it was not perfect. It had a couple of technical flaws in it: 1) We found the drunk guy in the bar, but why would we leave him passed out for so long? Doesn't really make any sense. Would we not just try to revive him there and then? It would have made more sense to have the hangover remedy ingredients available then and there on the spot. Might have been less fun, but still would have been more logical. 2) The entire scene at the Baron's house was just illogical and flawed. When we entered the Baron's house and the maid told us to leave, we instead stayed around and collected some stuff. Wouldn't the maid have ordered us out? We did eventually leave, but then went to the garden, where we decided to do a little “spring cleaning” and trim the Baron's rosebush for him. The Baron came in and ordered us to leave (which we took and awful long time to do, by the way), but even then we stayed for a bit. Staying on someone's property after they ask you to leave is trespassing and is a criminal offence, so logic says we should have been arrested. But alas, we were not. This took away from the realism of the story and was quite annoying, in my opinion. The developers should have edited this section of the story to make it more real. Other than those flaws, this was a great story and I really enjoyed it. The story may have been good, but the gameplay was even better! I had a lot of fun with this game. The HOS were great. I liked their variety and their overall fun factor. I especially loved the initiative the developers showed when creating them! Each HOS was different, and each HOS was equally fun. My favourite HOS of all, however, was definitely the garden one. It just showed off the developer's talent and creativity, but on top of all that, it was the most fun. The only regret I have is that there weren't more. There were 4 HOS in the demo, which is a good number. They were spaced out evenly too, which is always nice. There is also the option of playing match 3 instead of HOS. I also quite enjoyed the puzzles. Even though they were quite easy, I thought they were well thought out and delivered just the right amount of fun. As far as creativity goes, I didn't see anything new, which is a bit of a shame. But that's just one very small criticism. Like the HOS, there were a decent number of puzzles. I didn't count them, but I can safely say they outnumbered the HOS. They were also spaced out well. There are 2 extra features in this game, and both were pretty cool. One of them was + objects, which are basically standard now. The + objects were used well. They only required one bit of tampering, and there was never more than 2 of them in your inventory at a time, which is great, because that shows it wasn't over-used. There were a decent number of them too. The second feature in this game is the forensics kit. When I first found out there was going to be a forensics kit in this game, I'll admit, I was pretty worried. Last time a forensics kit appeared in an Eipix game, it was an absolute disaster... but that has changed! The forensics kit in this game is wonderful. Each time I used it, it was accompanied by a really fun minigame. It was used twice in the demo, which is good, because nothing ruins a feature more than over-using it. That being said, I hope it appears a lot more after the demo. I really enjoyed this feature. It raised the fun factor significantly. Eipix has done well with the basic features too. There are 4 difficulty modes, a working map and a “diary”. I use quotation marks because the “diary” is not a diary in the old-fashioned sense. It has been tweaked a little, and instead holds all your evidence, information on the characters, and just a few random thoughts to go a long. The map is very helpful too. Overall, I loved the gameplay and thought it was one of the most fun games to come out in recent times, BUT... nothing can be perfect. So here is my one and only criticism when it comes to the gameplay: I was extremely disappointed not to see an interrogation scene. This is a murder mystery, so naturally, we will see some interviews. The interrogation scene was one of the best bits of Dead Reckoning: Silvermoon Isle, so I pose the question... why was it not used here? Instead of the interrogation scene, instead we had to sit through a lot of dialogue while our suspects explained themselves. I wish the interrogation scene had been used here as it would have increased the already tremendously high fun factor by a lot more and probably would have put it up to game of the year status. The graphics, as I have come to expect from Eipix, are great. The scenes are drawn well with some great detail and nice colours. All scenes were clear too, which just goes to show how dedicated the team at Eipix is. The character designs were good too and looked lifelike. There is also lip-synch present, which is always nice. I liked the voice-overs. I think the decision to use French accents in this game was a great one as it fit with the theme. However, I did not like the voice of Ivan. It was an American accent, no doubt about it. It kind of took away from the French feel of the game a bit. Also, what French person would name their dog Skippy? Kind of strange... But overall, good voice-overs, FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Custom lets you set the game the way you like; differences in the other three are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- Both recharged at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. Hint is useful outside HOS. Diary- The diary keeps hold of evidence and character information. It takes a bit of getting used to, but it's still nice. Map- The map is interactive and very helpful. It lets you know where there are tasks to complete. + objects- These are items you have to interact with to complete. There is also an indication of when they can be used. Forensics kit- Very good feature. A minigame always accompanies its usage, which adds to the fun. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- I did not need to use this, but it shows locations of collectibles. It does not show HOS solutions. Achievements Collectible Windmills- one in every scene, hopefully in the bonus chapter too! Bonus HOS Souvenir Room Making of- a nice little video that is worth watching. Match 3 levels Codex- apparently the people in the game actually existed. This is some information on them. Wallpapers (10) Cast pictures Replay HOS & Puzzles Replay Cutscenes Music WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Look, I'm not really fussed with collectibles and stuff, so I'm going with the SE. But the CE does have some good value in it, so I would say the CE is worth the purchase. MY PROGRESS I finished the demo with 47 minutes to spare. There are deux (2) chapters in the SG. (sorry, I had to use that pun!) Overall, there was very little to fault with this game. Everything was wonderfully done, and I enjoyed it immensely, so what other choice do I have than to give it five stars? I'm not the type of person who does the loved it/hated it rating, but this game is crafted so wonderfully that it is deserving of its high rating. This is one of the best games to come out in a while. I will be waiting ever so patiently for the SE of this one. As the French would say... merci beacoup, Eipix!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you Eipix for saving the week To me this week's game offerings have been less than desirable. The good folks at Eipix have delivered once again with a marvelous game. I beta tested the game for BFG a few weeks ago and have anticipated its arrival. The series is becoming one of the better ones available. This followup to The Last Adagio, a terrific game itself, is remarkable in many ways. The scenery in the game is beautiful and this developer never fails to present good looking games. The HOG segments are very well done with a mixture of lists and pictures to match up. There is a forensics kit of sorts and our detective uses it to develop clues pertinent to her case which is to solve the murder of Sophie a well known chanteuse in Paris. She is tasked in this crime detection by none other that the famous French painter Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. There are a few puzzles in the demo which I completed in about one half of the 90 minute limit. All of them were easy to complete. I hope the game gets more challenging since the demo is easy to breeze through. I do have a couple of minor issues with the game, none so glaring as to diminish my appeal for it. The detective is female and given the setting is nineteenth century France, I doubt that any women had detective as an occupation in that era. Supposedly all characters introduced into the game are French as is the detective. They would be speaking French so why give us over the top accents as if they were speaking English. I thought these two elements were a minor detraction. It would have been nice too if the background music were Mussorgsky's Dance Macabre given the game title. As I said, these are small distractions that may only be a small bother and only to me. Overall this game is a very welcome addition to the HOPA genre and is one that I recommend wholeheartedly. For those who like collectibles, there are windmills scattered throughout and an occasional morphing object. Moulin Rouge is certainly one that I will add to my game repertoire. ENJOY!!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Death By Green Paint? Apparently if you sniff too much green paint, A.K.A Paris Green pigment, you will die! Sophie Dubois proved this to be the case when the star of the Moulin Rouge smelled the sweet aroma of a single red rose, tainted with the killer pigment (I've never been fond of green anyway) The local authorities are blaming the janitor which makes no sense so your job as Detective Roche isn't going to be a walk in the park. Who murdered Sophie and why? Grab your forensics bag and start this investigation Madame Roche. Your forensics bag will help you properly investigate crime scenes starting with the examination of Sophie's cold dead body so I hope you aren't virtually squeamish because at one point you will actually turn Sophie's lifeless head to examine the other side for clues. Your kit will contain a magnifying glass and cotton swabs and some basic tools, and you will be able to search for missing items or compare specimens in the form of a mini game. There are achievements to earn as well as 41 hidden windmills, one in each scene and there is an icon available that will indicate if you have found a windmill in that location. Your map serves a dual purpose, obviously you can use the nap to travel to different locations, but you can also travel to a new destination by clicking on the carriage and then handing the driver your desired location, and off you go! Instead of a journal, you have an evidence board, a mechanical tablet that displays evidence, suspects, clues and objectives. Personally the evidence board is getting a little old at this point and it seems that every game is using that concept now. The Hidden Object Puzzles are a mixture of interactive list finds, progressive interactives where you find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape shown and use that item in the scene to obtain the next item, there are also mini HO within zoomed in areas. There is also an option of playing a Match 3 game instead of the HOS but the HOS are very interactive and well done. The mini games are clever, although nothing new, they did put just enough of a twist on them to catch my attention. There were two in particular that I liked, one that required you to slide a chain through a maze from right to left, the twist was that you had to guide the chain to set points in order to open different maze paths! Another game was identifying and matching three different animal parts from a painting that would match a picture of one of three different gargoyle diagrams shown. This Collectors Edition has so many extra features that it makes me wonder how future CE games could compete. Extra Mini games, HOP's, Bonus HOP's, a Souvenir Room, Match 3, Collectible Windmills, Codex, the Making of, Pictures, Movies, Music, Achievements, a Bonus Chapter and of course a built in Strategy Guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Done! More please! This is the most enjoyable game featured on Big Fish in a very long time! After a season of mediocre, dull and boring games, finally one has arrived that is top shelf! More please Eipix! There may be some inconsistent things about the game, such as leaving the poor guy passed out on the floor for a time, but the plot and game play far outweigh any of that. No game is perfect. This one comes close however. Plus, there are no cutesy animal partners!! Others have reviewed the music, art, story line, game play, etc. and I'm not going to do that again since they have done it so well. My review is simply to state that if you want to be absorbed in a good dose of refreshing game play, then play this game because it is totally entertaining!
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, This is my new favorite game This is amazing, the story is so interesting and i love the frecnch accents of the speakes that makes you believe that you are really in PARIS and i love the moulin rouge, that's always the first thing you should see when you go to paris. I LOVE IT.
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game from my Favourite Developers EPix has done it again. This developer never get complaisant with their games. Each one is as good or better than the last and this is no exception. Based on completed game including extra game play I would rate this as my most favourite game this year. Excellent graphics and well represented figures who move naturally instead of so many others like matchstick men. The cut scenes were excellent and the Hidden object scenes had plenty of variety in them. The puzzles were all well thought out and often quite original. The hint button also gave accurate information. I consider it well worth the CE price containing morphing objects and collectibles for those fishies that like that sort of thing. Thank you for this one Big Fish
Date published: 2014-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rouge, French For Murder From the title you know this takes place in Paris. The year is not noted, but these are horse and carriage days. The famous artist Henri Lautrec summons you, detective Madame Roche, to investigate the murder of Sophie, a young and talented entertainer at the famous club. But before you get very far in your investigation, another terrible event occurs. The drawing is beautifully done and the locations are distinct and imaginative. However the artwork is not sharply defined, so there is a slightly fuzzy aspect to each scene. The palette is full of reds (rouge), yellows and browns and scenes are highly detailed. Voice acting was well done with a variety of voices. Did you hear it? There was even a nice, subtle echo effect in one scene where appropriate. However, despite their best efforts I could still detect a background Russian accent in most of the actors. Nevertheless, it was only slight and the characters came to life as they should. A "must have" for any detective is a forensic kit. Yours is rather simple, consisting of cotton swabs (did they have them back then?), gloves, tweezers, and a magnifying glass. Another detective staple is an evidence board, which shows the suspects, their background, and connection to the victim and/or any evidence. Game play is mostly puzzle based with a few hidden objects thrown in. The menu shows there are 25 mini-games and 14 HOPs. This Collector's Edition includes replay of all those plus a bonus HOP. There are also 41 collectible windmills, bonus chapter, and the strategy guide. Other (pseudo) extras are a codex which tells the story of the characters, a making of movie, pictures, movies, music, and souvenir room. There is a map which is a jump map. Typical of recent games it is really just a view showing the different locations, not really a true map. But you will use it frequently. There is also a match 3 option for HOPs which, as you might guess, was not explored by this reviewer. There are three standard difficulty levels, plus a fully customizable fourth level. This has a lot going for it. An interesting story and characters, exotic and intriguing locations, and an abundance of interactive puzzles and games. It's also not too difficult so it should appeal to many levels of players. Four 1/2 rouge roses for Moulin Rouge
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on free trial.... I really got into this game straight away- the hames are fun, the story line interesting so far and I can not wait to play the whole game. I love games that allow me to use a map, and I also like collectibles in every scene to add challenge. Can't wait for the rest
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Toulous Lautrec! Another great game to take us into the weekend! You are Madame Roche, summoned by Toulous Lautrec - it looks just like him! - to investigate the murder of Sophie, one of the performers at the famed Moulin Rouge. You have your trusty forensic kit, your evidence board where you save all your information by character, and a carriage with map to take you wherever you need to go. The HOPs are all interactive "find and use" types. The mini-games are so clever -- match figures on a lock to the Café entry ticket, match the evidence on the roses for the Paris Green poison. You can play a Match 3 game instead of the HOPs. There are 4 modes, including custom, with 25 multi-level achievements to earn, and 41 hidden windmills to collect. Moulin Rouge stands for "Red Mill", hence the windmills -- one of the cool facts you learn by reading the Codex Extra! This developer always includes a bonus Souvenir Room to play, plus the "Making Of" video with the developers interacting with the scenery this time. So much fun! Enjoy.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I don't often give 5 stars nor do I review before I've completed the game but this is an exception. The story is so involving, the atmosphere brilliant, the play smooth, the puzzles and HOs clear and fair. And it's got morphing items which I love! I'll leave the details to others, all I'll say is - marvellous! Buy it!
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't put it down Played the free trial..bought it and couldn't stop until I was finished with both the game and the bonus chapter...ahhhh..time for bed
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eipix saves the day! I am going to keep it fairly brief today (since I'm not feeling well) and say that I absolutely love this game!!! The last Danse Macabre was fabulous and this one promises to be even better. Overall, I have been disappointed with the game choices as of late. I don't personally prefer a ton of gimmicks to stretch a game and prefer quality content. I respect that there are those that do like them. Eipix totally delivered here with fun and imaginative story-line, HOS's and puzzles. My only personal peeve is this metallic sound that happens every single time you hover over anything and there is no way to turn it off without turning all sound off. I suggest giving us an option to turn it off in future games. This was a definite buy for me and I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like it.....BUT why say 90 minutes and give much less?? I think I really like this game. The graphics are great, fun level great....all about it is great. But WHY do they say we have 90 minutes on the trial and it's up in less than 30? I don't get that. I'd rather them go back to saying 60 minutes and GIVE 60 minutes. Not sure I'll buy it just because of that. Don't try and fool me!! I may still buy it, but I'll wait for a sale. Less than 30 minutes is not enough for me to see if I like the whole game.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ahhh, Paris! We Have a Winner and Possibly the Best Game This Year In this second game in the Danse Macabre series we will need to unravel the mystery behind the death of one of the most famous stars of the Moulin Rouge, Sophie. After you are hired by the famous artist and patron of the Moulin Rouge Toulouse-Lautrec you are off to find out who murdered his dear friend. Along the way you will encounter more than a few suspects and very interesting characters. For those of us who are very familiar with the HOPA genre I only need to say one word when referring to the technical aspects of the game – EIPIX. For those of you who are new to the genre, you are in for a treat as this developer always presents us with some of the best HOPA games to be found. From the modes of gameplay, to the graphics, to the sound, this developer is hard to beat when it comes to excellence. Rather than having a diary, you have an evidence board where information about various characters (suspects or not) is stored. Very early in the game you receive a map of Paris that will help you navigate to the various locations you need to investigate. You also have a carriage at your disposal and will need to use certain items at times to move to a different location. You also have a forensic kit that will be used from time to time to collect information that will prove helpful to your investigation. Some of the HOPS are silhouette type and very interactive with multi-levels, while others are the list type, but even those have some interaction required. The puzzles are interesting and I did give up on one during the demo since I didn’t want to spend time solving it. When I purchase the full version, I will take my time and enjoy each and every puzzle that comes my way. There are achievements to earn (of course) and 41 collectibles to find. There are also 14 morphing objects throughout the game so keep your eyes open. The game has lots of bonus content so it is definitely worth the CE price. When I see a game from EIPIX, I can’t wait to get my hands on it so I never wait for the SE to be released. In the end, the only thing I can say about this game is that it is wonderful and one of the best to come along in months. IMHO, it is a top contender for game of the year because of the gameplay, graphics and sound that all create an immersive gaming experience. When I see a game of this caliber, it is sad that I can only give it five-stars – every one of them well-deserved. I am sure many of you will agree with me and love the game as well but, as always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this game is for you.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Drought! I have been wondering where the game quality has been and almost thought the trend was towards easy, short, and rather nondescript games. Well, Eipix, where have you been!? I thoroughly enjoyed the demo and plan to buy this game. It has been a long time since I have felt like buying a game at full price. I liked the interactive quality of the HOPs. The voiceovers, the color, the artwork, the time period; it all appealed to me. If there is one critique, I'm not fond of the daintiness of the cursor, but it does fit, none-the-less. Guys, put your pretty button up shoes on. This game held my interest throughout the demo. Everything is there from the Strategy Guide to the Collecting. Have fun and enjoy the game!
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful game!! This is the way every CE should be! First off the story is great...you are Madame Roche, and you are helping Toulouse-Latrec solve a case of murder at the Moulin Rouge. The music, voice overs and graphics are wonderful and evoke the period perfectly! The puzzles and HO scenes are fun and original, and the game is loaded with extras, including achievements, 3 sets of collectables and a lot of extra games to play after the bonus chapter. The difficulty level can be customised and one thing I really like is that when a character is "talking" to you, it waits for you to click before the dialogue continues. No more missing important info when the phone rings!! This is worth the CE price in my opinion. Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moulin Roge collector's edition outstanding !!! could play this over and over again .. lets hope more game dealing with Moulin rouge comes out
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Waited for this game to come out soooo looooong! This is the best game eveeeeeer!!! btw congrats for 20th game... GG Eipix ;)
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "THE BEST GAME IN YEARS AND TOP 2 EVERY"! This game goes beyond beautiful and stunning. It has more than you ever could expect or want in a game. Beyond magnificent! I'll leave all the details to those reviewers who have done and will do a great job! And I have to say this first...I APPRECIATE EVERYONE'S REVIEW! No matter how short or long or with one line or one Emoticons! Rather Pro or Con...Everyone's review is valuable and important and much needed & appreciated! This is one of the Best games I've seen in years! The quality of the animations & graphics are beyond what we usually get! The extras are more than we've ever been offered in a game. This game is a dream come true! It is ART personified! Bold/Challenging/Beautiful/Surprising/and is Awe Inspiring!! This is a Buy with out doubt! IMO Be sure to read the Codex in the Extras...it gives you the real History of this fantastic story and truth! I highly Recommend this game. Bravo to the Developers on a job that exceeds expectation and desire! Thank you Big Fish for giving us a much needed quality game! I give this game my Best Rating: “DIVINE FINE SWINE” “These are my terms for Hogs, I Hogs, frogs & Adventure games. “DIVINE FINE SWINE” The absolute best of the best! It has everything you want in a game and things you didn’t know you wanted in a game. It is a rare beauty and a must have! Beyond expectations! I really love it! “FINE SWINE” Great game! Best graphics and storyline. All the bells and whistles! The best and greatest of games! I love it! “PIGLET” Good game. I like these little gems! This game is for true lovers of these types of games. “PORK BELLY” May be a likable game for some, but not for everyone. “TROTTERS” Don't run away with this pig’s foot. “PIG DOWN” Rolling in the mud! Don’t go near it or you'll get soiled. ‘ ‘ (o)
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who Murdered Poor Sophie???? So many questions, and so far, no answers. The popular, beautiful and talented Star of the Moulin Rouge, Sophie, was murdered. And, by her death, secrets long buried are now exposed. But, what are those secrets? And who can they harm? And how? I was very impressed with this game. The graphics were amazing, the music beautiful and the voice overs perfect with lip syncing (thank you DEVS). There are 4 difficulty modes (casual, challenging, expert and, yes, CUSTOM). Be sure to check each item in the "Custom" setting as there may be items you want to "uncheck". Objectives pop up in a box telling you what your next objective is and when an objective has been achieved. There is an Achievements (25) button near your Inventory. It seems that's the new "thing" - to put Achievements where you can go view them when you choose. Plus items will be in your inventory a LOT. The optional "tutorial" was annoying to me. Usually, after reading whatever instruction it gives you, you can click the "x" button or anywhere outside the instructions and it will go away. Not so here. Until you perform THAT instruction, it will stay like an annoying little flying insect around your head (maybe not the best analogy. I wanted to use KUDZO but I wasn't sure if everyone would know what that is - lol). Eventually, you will find a "journal". However, when you hover your mouse over it, it's titled an "Evidence Board". Blooper? Upon opening it, you will see pictures of interested parties of the case. Click on the picture and see a dossier of that person. As you play the game, an Exclamation Point (!) will appear on it, Open it. Another (!) will appear on 1 or more of the pictures. Click on the picture and move the arrows on the right side up or down to see what new "evidence" has been found. There is also an "Objectives" and "Task" tab at the top. Also eventually, you will receive a map. There are "Task" and "Objectives" tabs at the top. Task and Objectives are indicated on the map using very tiny icons. Truthfully, so small I almost missed them completely. However, if you follow the game, you'll know where you need to go. You will also receive, during the game, location cards to give the driver of your carriage. There is no legend for "this is where you need to be", etc. The HOGs (hidden object games were vary interactive and there are a variety of ways to play. In the list items type, there is an alternative match 3 game you can play. Very easy. And, sometimes there are mini games IN the HOGs. Way cool! As for the mini games. I found there were more available than HOGs. At least in the demo. Fun, some new things we've not seen before. Some require patience (a virtue) and perseverance. I believe I skipped one to get back to the game play but WHEN I own the game I will figure THAT one out - guar-an-teed! Your character is Madam Roche and you have been hired by the renowned and talented artist, Lautrec, to find out the truth behind Sophie's murder. CE Bling: NOW I'm impressed - lol. Besides the usual fare of wallpapers, music, etc. we have: Achievements - 25 - viewable whenever you choose. BONUS HOP (in addition to the replayable HOPs) Souvenir Room Collectibles (I did not find ONE collectible during the demo, but that doesn't mean anything as I was REALLY into the game). Sorry. Codex - love it! There are 8 pages available and it gives great info. Making Of: LOVE LOVE LOVE this. You HAVE to watch it. Who murdered Sophie and why? Why don't the Police believe it was murder? There was poison near the body and on one of the roses at the crime scene. What does this signify? Why is Lautrec so interested in Sophie's death? Yes, they were close friends but his interest is ...... almost ..... obsessive? And what happened to the close friendship between Sophie and Odette? Does Odette believe the Janitor murdered Sophie? Who is behind the mask character always showing up - everywhere you go? Man or female? Friend or foe? So many, many questions and more questions and suspects come up during the game. But, WHAT really happened? All will be answered when you play this amazing adventure and mystery game. Enjoy! I thoroughly enjoyed this newest installment of the Danse Macabre series. IMO it's the best one yet. Mystery, adventure, a history of the time period and the people involved. So much to offer. I couldn't get enough and was devastated when it was over. So, it's a DEFINITE purchase for me. Not only the game intrigued me but the CE offers were enough to convince me to get the CE version - I think. I'm terribly wishy-washy! Sorry. LOL. I believe this game would be great for beginners to experts, depending on the difficulty level you choose. I always play "casual" in the demo offerings so I can get a better idea of what the game has to offer those who choose that setting. I do hope this encourages you to try the demo. Come, join me in finding out the mystery behind the death of Sophie. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Leap Forward IN BRIEF (based on full game) Well I enjoyed the first Danse Macabre enough to give it 5 stars, so I am out of stars to express just how much I enjoyed this second game. It took it to a whole new level. The things I liked best about it include: The HOPs were not only varied in their design, they were also quite challenging. And not in the way that some games ‘cheat’, with shading and size distortions These ones are just well drawn into the scene. Love having morphing objects in the HOPs, but I always forget to look for them. I also like the alternative offered, a beautiful match 3 game. The puzzles varied – nicely for me. I am never going to get the “solve all puzzles” achievement, but I could at least do most of them. And I love that, where I skipped and one solution only was possible, it was shown as if I had completed it, giving me a better idea of the way to go for the next time – and there will be a next time. The way you get about in the map is by carriage, a very Cadenza-like feel. At casual level, it offers as much of a hint as ‘hint’. The story managed to hold me right to the finish of the main game in one sitting, and concluded satisfactorily. The bonus chapter was simple and of a lighter weight, but fun all the same. I love the extras content of this (or any Eipix) series. As well as being able to replay the HOPs from the game, there are bonus ones! And, of course, the puzzles and the match 3 game too. My favourites are the famous Souvenir Room, the chance to catch those little windmills you missed, and the wallpapers. And the fun Making Of. But there is heaps more. Well worth the extra cost.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Secret of the Masked Killer Too much of a Paris Green pigment can be fatal. Sophie, our victim, learned that the hard way when she was given roses covered in the stuff. We our soon hired to investigate this murder and bring her killer to justice. Or will this masked killer strike again? We had an... inspector, I believe, tell us at the beginning that he'd caught the culprit. I was sitting there annoyed that he's not bothering to investigate, but hey, I guess that's our job. The forensic kit we have was interesting to use. It made me feel like a true detective, in a sense. The CE has morphing objects and the windmill collectible, as well as souvenirs that you can collect during and even after completing the game. The bonus chapter is set after the events of the main game, and made me a bit annoyed/confused at the culprit. (I'm surprised they have an achievement for doing nothing in a hidden object scene for 5 minutes). The main game's story was very interesting. After a while playing, I believed I knew who the killer was, and the game still goes and tries to make me change my mind. (*bonus: I was right about the culprit!) I had a lot of fun playing this game. The puzzles were not too difficult. If the skip button charged before I was finished, I mostly ignored it. The visuals and sound were lovely. The voice actors in this game were fantastic. This is easily my favorite game in the series. I do wish they expanded on certain areas of the story, but it doesn't take away from the game at all. I did get a bit annoyed trying to beat the last bit of the puzzle before arresting the culprit, but I ended up doing it without the skip button. #NoRageQuit If you're a fan of the Danse Macabre series, or just a fan of mystery games, I think you will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great introduction to this Macabre series This helping from BFG brings together excellent value for money, with literally hours of game play, and superb production. It is definately worth paying for the CE, there are the HOP to challenge yourself with - one of my favourites and the light hearted " making of " film. Go on take a trip to Paris and discover more of the Crimson Cabaret.
Date published: 2016-02-29
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_21717, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Danse Macabre: Crimson Cabaret Collector's Edition

Tragedy strikes a popular Parisian cabaret when their star dancer is murdered! Gather the suspects and unmask the killer.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.