Runaway Express Mystery

Runaway Express Mystery

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(212.22 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

While a young mother attends a train exhibition with her children, something strange happens. The monumental Runaway Express starts moving with her children on board! With no one to help, the frightened mother jumps on the train before it starts to speed away. While on board, she finds that it is occupied by unexpected travelers - ghosts of people who died on board during those 50 years the train was operating between Paris and Istanbul.

Every death, every person, every ghost holds some mystery that has yet to be investigated. Now, these haunted souls rule the train and it is no longer suitable for the living. The young mother finds that the only way to save her children is to investigate the haunted past and bring some resolution to these lost souls.

Will it break the curse? Will uncovering each mystery free every soul? Why do the passengers fear the masked Engineer? Unveil the mysteries to find out how to defeat him, but beware, doing so comes at a price.

  • Explore many unique locations
  • Uncover the mysteries of the cursed train
  • Enjoy beautiful Hidden Object sceneries
  • Solve puzzling minigames

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1086 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Runaway Express Mystery

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(212.22 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Runaway Express Mystery is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER! I think I downloaded this game just to see what the negative reviews were all about. And after the demo was over I HAD to buy the game! What I found was a well put together "mystery" with wonderful graphics, hidden objects games (which are different for a change) and a story line that got my attention right from the start. I really like how the main character was so natural sounding when she was trying to find her kids. She sounded "desperate" to find her kids and frustrated when thinks were going crazy. This game is not hard and is very easy to follow. Everything you do in the game is for one purpose. . . "FIND YOUR KIDS". I just had to keep playing until I had discovered the truth to the Runaway Express. Great Game!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game!! I truly enjoyed this game. It was a mystery to solve and the HOG's were a little different. It lasted a descent amount of time and for being an SE even better!!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds, Voice & Video Bits ... This Is A Great Adventure That Feels Big Right From The Beginning ... Saving Souls Is Nothing New, But The Style Of This Game Put A Nice New Spin On It ... Great Value For A Standard Edition Only Game ...
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely SE! Sharp graphics, good lip-synch and challenging hidden object scenes make this a "must have" in any HO collection! You are a young mum at a rail exhibition with your two young children when the train moves off with your babes aboard....of course you MUST jump on! As the train barrels towards its "final destination" you must solve the mysteries of the other passengers as you race to rescue your children.
Date published: 2014-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Mystery This is very fun mystery. You get to help a bunch of ghosts which is always fun. I loved the unique way the HOs were handled. It also had both a journal and a map which is always a big plus as some of the ones I have been playing lately have been missing the journal. A very fun and engaging story. I really enjoyed this game.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runaway Express Mystery What a great game!!!! Keeps you guessing the whole game through. Fun HOs, terrific art work. Loved it! Keep up the good work Big Fish.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Surprisingly Good Game! Very enjoyable game - excellent story line and voice overs - sounded like real characters - not monotone or off tone. I didn't need a walkthrough, although there were a few times, I did go into you tube to help me out. This game had real mystery, suspense and a sense of urgency to it ... to find those kids before the train stopped! Or else! Have fun with this one.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally addictive game! Great graphics, convincing lip-synch and challenging HOS make this a "must have" in any HO collection! You are a young mum at a rail exhibition with your two young children when the train moves off with your babes aboard....of course you MUST jump on! As the train barrels towards its "final destination" you must solve the mysteries of the other passengers as you race to rescue your children. With a handy map to jump from location to location and a nifty evidence board to display the clues, you finally get to the end.....with a twist. I played this game from start to finish in one go and might just go back and do it again! I thoroughly recommend this game!
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A challenging detective game This is a game that does not hold your hand like some do but its not too difficult,you just have to be logical to solve some things to do.You can use the help if you need so don't worry. This is better than a lot of CE games re length.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The kids were taken by a scary looking dude! Really challenging for an SE game. I will buy this game for an additional game to play.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly enjoyable game I enjoyed playing this game. It's very logically laid out so that you need to do certain things at certain times in order to solve several mysteries. As you find clues, they are placed on a board so that you have an organized way to solve each case. Basically, you are on a runaway train, your children are being kept somewhere on the train, and you need to solve the mysteries in order to find your children. Each mystery involves someone who was killed on the train. You meet each person's ghost and talk to them in order to get clues. You also find many areas where you find clever HO scenes, and you need to use many tools to help you find the items and the answers. I played the game at the easiest level, so there was plenty of help when I couldn't figure out what to do next. The artwork for this game was excellent and it really added to the playing enjoyment. I really liked the logic and being able to look at the clues to solve the mysteries. The only reason I didn't give this game 5 stars was because of the dark theme. I'm very tired of the angry ghosts and evil creatures who are central to a large number of games that are available. Use all your artistic creativity to come up with a more realistic theme!
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from solve the mystery of the runaway train a mother takes her two kids to a train expedition and when the train starts up her kids are on it. she has to jump on the train and finds dead people on board. they tell her if she wants her kids back she has to stop the train before it gets to it's destination. she is told that the engineer is the one that has taken her kids and run with them so she then starts the chase for the kids. there is an interactive map and custom level. you have 4 cases to solve to find out who has killed these four people before you can get the kids back and then it still is not so simple. sequel...maybe.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun game but requires attention to details On my first time through the game, I got stuck about half-way. This was because I failed to notice 2 objects which I needed to pick up. There was a 3rd item - a note, which I read - but I failed to add it to my evidence folder. The game was convinced I had all the evidence, which I didn't, and would not "hint" me to go back and get the missing items. Very enjoyable, but take your time, pay attention to details and don't do things out-of-order.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Game With Some Reservations Amanda Walters packs up the youngins, Peggy and Jimmy and heads for the Train Exhibition that the kids are so anxious to see. Somehow Amanda (AKA) mom loses track of the kids and the next thing you know they are screaming for their mom from inside of the exhibitions main attraction Train # 1802, an old Railway Express Mail train. Fortunately you are supermom and you quickly jump onto the back of a fast moving train and bust your way into the train compartment. Every time you get close to the kids, a man dressed in a creepy welders suit grabs them and they're gone again. Something about the passengers aboard this train isn't right, they all seem, well dead, but nobody else seems to be concerned with their appearance but you! This game certainly has a fresh storyline, one that definitely interests me, but I do have a few complaints starting with the very bland graphics that at times seem a bit blurry. I also found the mechanics of this game to be clunky and sluggish, and too many tasks were mundane such as placing a newspaper under the door, pushing the key through the lock, pulling out the newspaper using the key on the lock and turning the handle, or using a hammer about 40 times to break a window (by this time my thoughts are that I seem young enough to simply call this rescue mission a loss and perhaps adopting a few more kids). Because the story is really intriguing I'm willing to work through my frustrations. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied from progressive silhouetted shape matches where you find and fix items and use those items within the scene in order to expose another item. I really liked the HOS where I had to use special tools such as a flashlight, a fingerprint duster, a luminous to expose blood stains and a magnifying glass to find items that matched the silhouetted shapes of which some items required multiples, and this wasn't an easy task. The mini games are actually entertaining as well. Some games required you to rotate hexagons until all shapes and colors matched, and one of my favorites was placing a gem anywhere on a board in order to move the medallion along paths, but you had to travel all of the paths without overlapping lines. All in all this is a decent game, not a phenomenal game, but decent enough to play all the way through and be somewhat entertained, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clever Combination Of Gameplay Features BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Nice opening, with the cut scenes just a little bit too basic for comfort, but a wonderful voiceover actress and a unique story. There is certainly the expectation that this is going to be interesting. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Barring the cut scenes, the graphics are good – clear, sufficiently detailed, attractive. Most importantly the HOP scenes are bright and clean. They are tricky enough in their own right, they don’t need questionable graphics! The voice actors throughout, while not perfect, do a fine job of clear diction and appropriate emotions. I particularly liked that the dialogues between our character and those she meets are ‘real’. They are the normal reactions of a distraught mother to petty officialdom and are the most convincing I’ve ever seen/heard. You also have dialogue options in some cases. The music and ambient sounds are present and comfortable, but not intrusive. There is, of course, the constant train noise. WHAT’S HAPPENING? At an expo of locomotives, your children climb aboard the famous Runaway Express, are grabbed by the Engineer (?), and the train takes off. You barely manage to grab onto the caboose. Breaking into the train and moving forward through the carriages is about as difficult as you’d expect it to be, and then things get worse! Eventually, you reach other people, but the one person who may be able to help is weird and ill-looking, and not as helpful as you think he could be. Somehow, you are roped into solving his problem – a total lack of recall about himself and what he is doing on this train. This is your first ‘case’, and your first step towards rescuing your children. This is one aspect of the game that is a bit careless. We somehow morph from concerned mother to deft detective, complete with the analytical skills and tools required. It is a leap not supported by the story. GAMEPLAY The gameplay is an intriguing mix of things we’ve seen elsewhere, used in new ways. The HOPs are progressive silhouettes (find and use), at least, some items are. Others are simply ‘find and they disappear’. The search list is on the right side of the monitor, which changes your thinking about it more than you’d think. On the left side, you have the tools of the detective trade that you found in a Paris alley (yeah, I know, weird, right?). You can use the magnifier, fingerprint kit, luminol and flashlight to find handprints and blood stains, as well as the standard items. The first time confronted with this array of tools, I was at a complete loss as to where they could be most profitably used. I mean, we surely weren’t going to dust the whole scene for prints, right? Right! Where to use the tools is, in this first scene, indicated by an array of hints, if you can decipher them. After that you are on your own. – and in the harder two of three difficulty levels, there is a misclick penalty. I know people will scream, but I can see it makes sense here. The result is a very difficult series of HOP scenes which while doing nothing we have not seen before, are rendered unique in combination. The puzzles are again not especially new, but they bring their own degree of difficulty with them. Still, not as complex as the HOPs. The adventure is intuitive and I had no trouble following the logic of the actions, and there is a notebook, task list, interactive jump map, and directional hint. You can also expect inventory items that need additional steps or parts, or closer examination. That is not all that this game requires you to master. As well, we have an evidence board (don’t ask me how), and as we acquire evidentiary items we must place them in one of the three columns on the board – motive, crime scene, suspect – and draw conclusions from it. This is made too easy (at least in the easiest level of difficulty) by having pale silhouettes of the items in the correct columns. Still, it is very satisfying to see the case all come together, and watch the inescapable conclusion become obvious. COMBINED IMPACT The game could have used a little tweeking on the story, but I am very impressed, particularly when I discovered the only previous pc game this developer has made (Lost Civilisation aka NiBiRu rip-off), was neither original nor clever, and caused a major furore at its release. They obviously learned from the last effort, and I am always happy to see a developer come back with obvious improvements. Well done Devs!
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally an SE Game worthy of playing!! It's been awhile, not since the Houdini SE game, where you really are glad you got it and if you lucky enough to have a coupon after filling your punch card. You aren't wasting it on either a weird game or it's too childish for words. So thank you for making this game!!! Let's hope more game makers will concentrate on the SE's as much as they do the CE's. I have MANY games I've purchased through BigFish and it would be nice to have my coupons put to good use or purchased. I assure I will not stop getting the CE's if the caliber of the SE's is good as well. Thank you!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kudos to the Outstanding Voice Overs! Based on completion of the SE in casual mode (there are 2 higher modes which can be changed at any time. It's about a woman and her two children when they visit the Runaway Express train. Of course the children get separated (kidnapped) from their mother and she sets out to get them back. It takes place mostly on the train but you'll visit Paris and Budapest as well. The story line is pretty good and the voice overs are superb IMHO. It has a great interactive map but there are points where the map stops showing where to go next I ended up stumbling around or using the directional hint to find where I should go next. I didn't particularly like the HOS. Some were straight lists, which I prefer but others made use of several types of crime scene items like dust for finger prints or luminal spay for blood splatter, and then there were silhouettes. You also collect evidence and have to place it on an evidence board. To me this is just a waste of time and really distracts from the story. I had rather the information just be recorded in a diary. Having to do this really irritated me. There is no walk through, which would have helped me when I got lost, but obviously I figured it out. I liked most of the game and wanted to give it a 3.5 but generously bumped it up to 4. Play the demo and read some reviews to make an informed decision. Thank you for reading mine. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runaway Success The year is 1996. You and your two children are enjoying a train exhibition. They are off exploring when suddenly the "exhibition" train begins to move! Uh-oh! Children! "Mommy, mommy!" Too late you realize that this is no ordinary train. I'll stop there as I don't want to include spoilers. But this is not really a missing children story as much as it is a murder mystery. And the story does not take place in 1996. Your detective work involves collecting evidence and sorting it on your evidence board. There are more puzzles than hidden object scenes based on the trial time. There is also a journal - and that's good because there are many facts to remember. There is an old-school feel to the game because of the drawing style and that the scenes have few interactive areas. So it is somewhat stiff. On the flip side, the hidden object scenes have a lot of interaction. They are progressive style, and you'll sometimes need your evidence kit to find items. Puzzles are also innovative in design, interesting and challenging though they won't WOW you from a technical standpoint. Voices are pleasant to hear and well acted, though the french accents are a little forced. Sounds are good. This may be a first: they actually have a tinkling sound for the old "key dropping on the newspaper" trick. On the minus side, you still have to click on keys to turn them. Seems like an interesting and satisfying game, especially if you are a fan of murder mysteries. Rescue your kids, solve a murder and don't miss the Runaway Express. Four choo-choos
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Choo Choo Whoo Whoo Fairly good game. Game was a little awkward at times and one of those game ware the side extend the window frame so at times I can tell I will have to down size it a play with a magnifying glass. Other than that it is a easy breezy game with a good story to it. I Like the characters and voice overs. Cut scenes were good enough.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this game surprize me.. I was surprise how much I love the game.visual and sound was the highest quality.you have to buy a collection game for this quality.love the storeline.finding mystery behind ghosts story to get your kids back.you will enjoy this.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runaway Express Mystery No Walkthrough and poor Hints.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SAVE JIMMY AND PEGGY REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME If you like being a detective and to solve crimes, then this is the game for you. There are three different stories involved, which are to help Lord Parkinson, Evelyn Somerset and William Hewitt. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advance and Expert modes of play; * Diary; * Interactive map; * Evidence Board. The graphics are quite good. Everywhere is easy to see and to find all items you need. The characters looked a bit cartoony but the train and surrounding areas are well defined. Sound is good. I really didn't notice the music. The hidden object games are quite different and are all silhouette. To find some items there is a fingerprint kit, magnifier, blood detection kit and a flashlight to the left of your screen . You will need to use two or more of these to find the items you need. To use the fingerprint and blood detection kits, just click on them, hold your mouse and wave it all over the screen and these will pop up. At first I was just clicking randomly around, but that didn't work, so its best to hold the mouse and wave it around the screen. I enjoyed doing these and haven't come across these in a game before. The mini-games are easy to do and I was able to get back to the game quickly. Some took me a while to do in get in the right order, etc, but nothing I haven't seen before. There is an evidence board to complete and you will find items that need to be put on it to help complete the story and to find out what happened. This is easy to do. All up the game took me about 5 hours or so. The only thing that kind of irked me was that there was too much talking to the characters. Yes I know, you have to find as much information as possible to move on, but I got a bit bored and just wanted to get on with the game. Overall, its quite a good game and I know that a lot of fishies love their detective games. Its kind of a hit or miss game really and is better to trial it before you buy to see if it is for you.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, bad execution There are two good things in this game: the developers' splash screen and the story. Everything else is bad. Too many locations with little to nothing to do, clumsy graphics and sloppy animation and puzzles, narration slip-ups, unconvincing dialogues and on top of it - absolutely terrible hidden object scenes. The game is designed for wide screen only, so for those unlucky ones who don't have a wide screen monitor - like myself, - the sides simply get cut off. That is, the silhouettes of the objects-to-find get cut off - which not only adds challenge to the game, but also raises frustration. I would say that from the technical point of view this is the worst game I have played in years. Too bad, because the story really had potential, and maybe some other developer would have turned it in a true gem. Alas, this is not the case.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrated and can't finish I've learned that if you don't do tasks in a specific order, you're stuck. It lets you do them though, but then you're out of sync and stuck. The graphics are amazing, and the storyline (there's sort of one) is good. But both my daughter and I are stuck at different points because we have items in the inventory, but using the Hint button it just swirls around the inventory panel. If you miss what the characters said in the first place, you're out of luck. And no walkthrough available.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Runaway Train has Runaway with Your Children! Hmmmm. I really don't know how to go about this review. I'll just start typing and see where it goes. The storyline. Something we've definitely seen before. Train running away with a loved one on board. This time, it's your character's children. While visiting a train exhibit in 1996, you somehow lost track of your children while on the "key" exhibit. Suddenly, you spot them with a man in a mask? No. More like a helmet of some kind. The train starts to leave the exhibit/station and, screaming, you manage to JUST jump aboard the back car. The door is locked, of course, and your adventure begins. The graphics are pretty good. The voice overs were great. I love any game that has lip syncing. The music was highly annoying. Didn't seem appropriate at all and I turned it down or tuned it out - whatever - it worked. Your apparent goal is to meet creepy passengers who are ghosts and, you guessed it, figure out what happened to them. Then, again apparently, they will help you find your children. Deja Vu. There are 3 modes of difficulty. Shields in bronze, silver and gold. You immediately have a journal/diary to keep notes in - not very useful, and a "jump map" map that shows where you are and where something needs to be done. During the game, you acquire investigative equipment and a magnifying glass that takes you to an evidence board. The HOGS, while extremely interactive, posed no challenge whatsoever. Neither did the mini games. I never used the "hint" button once during the entire demo. This game seems to have a lot going on. Help the ghosts by conducting investigations in every station you stop. The first being Paris. Then, you have the investigative tools more suited to a P.I. or police officer. An evidence board, again, more suited to a P.I. or the police. It just seems you're jumping everywhere at once, not really accomplishing anything and nothing really flows well. It just didn't "grab" me the way I thought it would initially. And the bloopers! Doesn't anyone check these games before they're marketed? A shovel next to a inventory item. But, when you need the shovel it's in a different place entirely, even though you KNEW you needed a shovel when you picked up the initial item - but you couldn't pick it up. The elevator that takes you immediately to the floor (and door) you need to access without pressing any buttons. Hanging off the OUTSIDE of the train, with a hammer in your hand to break a window, frightened out of your wits but, by God, you manage to hold on - sorry, I would have totally lost my grip and fallen to my death. And those are just the most glaring ones. This game just has too many issues and not enough "umph" for me. It's definitely not a buy. But, I do encourage everyone, especially beginners (the tutorial NEVER stops) to try the demo for yourselves. Experts? Not sure this game would be for you. IMO, there are much better mysteries and adventures involving trains on the BFG site.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOTHING SPECIAL I just spent a lot of time writing a long review of this game, but it vanished before I got it submitted. I don't feel like taking all that time to redo it, so this will be short and sweet. I played the whole hour of the demo on the easiest mode. I didn't find anything particularly compelling about the game. The meat of the game revolves around solving mysteries connected to dead passengers of the ghost train. The search for the kidnapped children seems to be ancillary to these investigations. A clue board is used for posting evidence until each mystery is solved. I might purchase it with a coupon if my curiosity about the passenger mysteries gets to me. Otherwise, the demo was enough for me.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK but nothing special The voices are all poor with no emotional content coming through. Some of the HOG items are pretty small and many are placed without reasonable perspective of sizes. Finding items with tools is a little clever at first but then the repetition gets annoying. Keys after keys to open doors got boring. The story line is not bad, but somewhat strange here and there without a logical progression. Help is good, but seemed to be needed too often to get around lack of logic.
Date published: 2014-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game so far, but..... I actually liked this game but gave it only 3 stars for one reason only. Even on the expert mode of play, hidden object scenes have sparkles!!! I hate sparkles. Despite indicating no sparkles on the expert mode, there they are. Still on the fence if I'm going to buy.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i like these kind of games it ia a good game this the kind of games that keep me busy
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from train ride I didn't particularly care for the game but I wont give it a bad review as it wasn't horrible, it was a decent game, just prefer something a little different, I would suggest this for newbies or someone who doesn't want to think a lot.
Date published: 2014-10-10
  • y_2020, m_2, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_21797, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Runaway Express Mystery

When her children are kidnapped by a mysterious conductor, a mother jumps on an antique train and finds herself surrounded by unusual passengers.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.