Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Dire Grove has been plunged into a record-defying cold, and wild animals threaten at every turn! You've been called in to uncover the source of the town's troubles. But you quickly find yourself in the middle of a feud between the local hunters and the mysterious Mistwalkers who live in the woods. Can you prevent an all-out war? Pick your gender and use an innovative deduction mechanic as you try to discover the secret behind Dire Grove's curse!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were outstanding and I like the more challenging puzzles. The hints were excellent. Overall, this is the best MCF yet!" – Georgia, Beta Tester

"MCF has hit it out of the park with this one! I cannot wait for the game to come out!" – Morgan, Beta Tester

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Delve deeper into Dire Grove's secrets in the bonus game!
  • An alternate ending with an exciting twist
  • Collect and display Dire Grove landmarks
  • Bonus collection puzzles that unlock special screensavers
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2109 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 263.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery case files fan Absolutely brilliant.I think this is the best MCF game yet.Enjoyed every minute of it.Well done.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!!! Best game from Mystery Case Files ever!!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mystery case files:dire grove,sacred grove collection's edition mymystery case files:dire grove,sacred grove collection's edition a deadly secret lurk's in the wood of dire grove
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The alternate ending is better Gorgeous game, very entertaining and pleasing to be played across a period of time. It is long enough and seductive enough. I have enjoyed the Bonus game much more than the regular one (I would be a little displeased just with the standard version) and the alternate ending made my day (I preferred the second version of ending). My overall impression it is great. Recommendations: 1. More of this kind of alternate endings for other games, too. Is nice to have the opportunity to play both possible endings of the game. 2. Games should be kept long enough in both regular and collector editions to be satisfying. 3. The story with the baby deer was somehow overlooked and with not enough focus on them. The deer and the baby deer theme detailed further would have been created more success and sales for this game and also for this series. The game lacks sweetness and grace and femininty, due to a fragile presentation of the children of the forest (the deer, the baby deer and their story, also the bear and the wolf).
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great squeal, but doesn't have the atmosphere of the original I loved the original Dire Grove, especially for the atmosphere and the soundtrack. I was really looking forward to this sequel. In some ways, I loved the features of this game. A voice for the master Detective? Great! Great interface! Dialog options \ o / Cool characters! But this game fell flat on atmosphere. I won't sat it's bad, but the original Dire Grove had a sense of loneliness and cold. You could feel the blizzard coming in, trapping you, and the threat of the banshee was present and almost terrifying. The music score, especially Returning Memories by Erik Haddad, really set the mood. Compare to this one. There is a soundtrack, but it's very limited and feel a bit generic. It's not that memorable, and doesn't set the mood. A lot of times, there's no music at all. At the end of the game, there's a scene with a doe in the forest by a frozen tree. It was a perfect place for a haunting score. Instead, you get the generic frantic track when you enter and that's it. Silence. This isn't an issue for this game exclusively, though. I think it's been a thing for awhile. I also miss the casefile. It seems BFG's trying to reintroduce it in the form of the deductions panel - which I loved, BTW. AMAZING to hear the MD narrating the case, but I miss the little book that gave his thoughts as he went along. I would suggest for the next MCF, they do a combination deductions panel and case book. One more point would be the HO scenes. The were too few and too easy this game. Overall, though, I recommend this game. As I mentioned, a lot of the things they they tried in this game, like narration, are great. The bonus content was fun. If the devs keep this formula and read the casefile and have better music in the next game, it would be amazing.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from little disappointed I was hoping that this game would've been as good or better than Carnival, but it wasn't. The bonus chapter was almost necessary to the story. Would've felt ripped off if I played the SE. Fours stars.....too bad. 2014
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Game was good, but the storyline was very weak This was a good game but didn't really fit the Mystery Case File standards. It isn't scary and the storyline is pretty weak. It gives you a few new features like being able to choose your character's gender. However it doesn't have the entertainment I am used to getting from MCF.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I waited all year for If it were any other game, this would be a solid effort. But we wait all year for MCF because it's supposed go beyond the usual HOPA fare. MCF is supposed to be special. Unfortunately, the things that make define MCF are sorely lacking. The creepy ambient sounds, the attention to detail, the well-developed characters -- none of those are here. Instead, we get a run-of-the-mill story that is completely unrelated and contradictory to the fist (much beloved) Dire Grove. Rather than running with the theme of Irish folklore, we're suddenly introduced to forest-dwelling people closely resemble uncomfortable North American Native Peoples stereotypes. And then we get Madame Fate and Alistair Dalimar wedged in for absolutely no reason. So why four stars? Because if you ignore the crushing disappointment of this being an MCF game, it's entertaining enough. I also liked that the mini games were challenging and the amount of extras in the CE. Not only do you get a bonus chapter, but you can also go back and replay the last part of the main game with an alternate ending. I enjoyed looking for the morphing objects & collecting puzzle pieces. TL;DR: It's far below what I expect from MCF, but on it's own merits as a game, I feel like I got my money's worth.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF Returns but is it all as it seems? So when i saw MCF had another game i bought straight away. Didnt play the demo just straight in there. So you are the famous detective returning to Dire Grove after being summoned there to investigate the cause of a curse which has turned the entire town into an arctic wilderness. Now the concept of the game was interesting. Graphics etc top notch. You even got to choose if you wanted to be a male or female detective. (Not that it really matters in my opinion). But it was a little annoying to play to say the least. It starts off relatively simple and you open new areas but you are back and forth all over the place. Picking up items and then you cant remember for the life of you where it was supposed to go so you go back to each individual location to see if you can remember. There was no real flow at all to the game. I found the HOG relatively easy compared to the last MCF games and they didnt really provide a challenge. I gave the game four stars as in fairness the graphics etc were top notch but im actually left thinking maybe i should have waited until the standard game came out before i bought it. Overall having been a huge MCF fan and having all the games im left a little disappointed by the game. I only hope the producers take note of game flow and hopefully the next game will be a massive improvement.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's better than the last few MCS I was so excited that a new Mystery Case Files Collector's Edition game was available. I bought it immediately. I played the game 2x before I decided to write my review. Here goes: First off, the graphics are the same as Dire Grove's previous game. That was nice. I wish we could have gone through more of the house and beyond the garage like in the former game. Second: The morphing objects were pretty lame this time. 9 'houses' that you have to find in the game AND in the bonus feature. Third: Lots of repetition.There is lots of walking back and forth over the same spots over and over and over. I suggest you use the map to save a few minutes. Fourth: My biggest annoyance were the puzzles that you had to figure out. Some of the things that you had to do were not logical, IMO. Too many of them were just you poking around at anything on the screen in the hopes that something, anything would happen. I would suggest that IF you buy the game make sure it's the collector's edition. Overall, I liked the game. I would give it 4 stars, at most. The frustration level made it hard for me to like this game as much as I loved Madame Fate, Dire Grove and 13th Skull and Ravenhearst 1. I wish the game company would update these older games so we could still play them. They are my favorites and I am no longer able to use them on my Mac. They are outdated. boo
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from on the fence 3.5 maybe? You know if you just took this as any other game it was pretty good as games go. But MCF quality it was not. I sort of went back and forth with this one. What I liked well it was relatively long you could choose to play as male or female no one went missing or was kidnapped I enjoyed the full screen puzzles although I did find a few of them had no rhyme or reason the morphing houses and collectible puzzles pieces the clue collecting and deducting the HO puzzles were standard elephant games there was a jump map that used flags to mark locations you could interact with characters by asking them questions my character actually spoke there were achievements to achieve the bonus chapter had a squirrel helper What I didn't like the graphics the graphics the graphics! They were all brown and purple. Dull and kind of fuzzy in parts. Gone are the crisp bright locations of the first Dire grove. In other MCF games you felt like you were there. This one felt more like it was drawn and then poorly colored. the characters- they have divided themselves into two groups the "mistwalkers" who protect the forest and the hunters who...well we're not sure. For me there was way too much testosterone here. Or perhaps anger management issues. Everyone seemed to be on a quest for vengeance. I will avenge this death for my family name blah blah blah. And although the extra chapter did some to explain why.. I just couldn't get into it. Combine that with them all wearing fox heads, animal pelts and deer masks and it made for some really odd stuff. I did find the plot a bit muddled. It did get cleared up in the end but it ended with the old mwah ha ha the evil whoever is going to perform a ritual for eternal life. the attempt to connect the game near the end to the characters from madame fate and ravenhearst just came off as kind of lame and that too little too late feeling. I remember the cut scenes at the end of R2R just blew me away. The quality and the detail. And I have always liked the use of real people especially in the pirate one. But this one had none of that. Nothing that blew me away, no real people, kind of a weird plot, a run of the mill ending. I dunno. Like I said in the beginning I am on the fence. If you just bought this as an elephant game.. it had a lot of work put into it and was a pretty good game as any standard CE version game. But if you are expecting the MCF graphics, innovation and story.. meh not so much. I would like it if they would just do a new game and not try to always tie it in to the others. I did play the extra chapter but just did not care enough to play the alternative ending so I cannot comment on that. This one was decent if not overly exciting. Didn't like the graphics or color palette but appreciated the huge amount of work that went in. Play it as a good elephant game.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's good, but it's missing the MCF factor Contains spoilers. Like many others I have all the MCF games and I bought this one outright as I really enjoyed the first Dire Grove. I've played the entire game and I think it's good, but not quite up there with the original Dire Grove, or indeed the first two Ravenshearst games, which are my favourite. So the good things first: I liked there were many recognisable scenes from the previous game, and I loved revisiting the same locations but I also liked the new locations. The story was interesting, although it was quite obvious who the culprit was long before you get to that stage! The HO scenes were reassuringly MCF style (no morphing!), and the puzzles were really challenging. These are possible the best part of the game. I always like collecting extras, and there were some morphing objects and photo pieces to be assembled. The not-so-good things: I missed the 'snarky' comments, and didn't really get anything from being able to choose female/ male detective. There were too many scenes talking to the characters with really obvious questions and the cut scenes were very 'cartoony'; there were too many of them. There was a lot of travelling from one scene to another and back again, just to find one object, particularly towards the end which got a bit boring. I didn't like using the map at all, which I thought was really basic and did nothing for the game (Fate's Carnival's map was much better). And I won't reveal what happens in the Bonus chapter but introducing that particular character was really not necessary - I think that bird has flown. Pun intended. Overall, I think this is not a bad addition and it fits much better in the MCF canon than Shadow Lake, which I bought, played and then deleted. I hope that any future games retain the feel of the existing games and don't become too generic like other games.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the Best I am a big fan of the MCF games and have them all. This one is ok, but not as fun as the others. I don't know why, it just is. Maybe not enough hidden object scenes? The art is beautiful. I still think it's worth your time to play.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, But Not Great, Thanks to Poor Execution BASED ON DEMO Big Fish have started their own Thanksgiving tradition, and it is one that I always look forward to: the release of a new MCF. Most likely the first HO series ever created, and is responsible for some of the best HOPA games ever created. While this is far from the best game in the series, this latest installment has proved itself worthy to carry the name. If I'm brutally honest, I wasn't really fussed on the story. It seemed to me like it was just another of those “evil spirit unleashes a curse, go stop them” type story. This story has been done over and over, so when a developer takes it on, it has to be something fantastic, and this one was average. Don't get me wrong, it is a good story in its own right, but in comparison to previous MCF and Elephant games, it pales. Even still, there were elements of this story that I enjoyed. For example, I really liked that we could choose the gender of our detective; it gave the player control, something which I really like to see in a game. I also enjoyed the interviews, and the fact that we the player got to pick which question was asked first. The interviews were great as they made the story feel like a true detective story. As far as twists go, this game didn't have the “shock-a-minute, leap out of your chair” type twists, but rather, their twists revealed a lot of detail about the story. The twists were revealed by collecting evidence, and each evidence piece made the story that little bit more interesting. However, despite that, this story still lacked the exciting factor which would have differentiated it from any other spirit story. My demo was interrupted by getting stuck, and once I'd found the solution and started replaying from where I left off, I just did not get back in to it. I'll review the SE to see if my opinion differs, but as it stands, I found this story quite average. With every MCF game, I've come to expect great gameplay, and this installment certainly did not disappoint. I enjoyed the gameplay a lot more than the story and it is the reason this one gets four stars instead of three. I really enjoyed the HOS: they were that jazzed up junkpile that I have grown to love. They weren't overly interactive or long, either, which was great. Each HOS was jazzed up in a different way, and thus, had a different level of challenge, which I really enjoyed. Every HOS breezed by in a flash and I couldn't wait to play another one. Unfortunately, the quantity lacks a tad: I played 2 HOS in the demo, which was extremely disappointing. I believe the minimum for a demo is 3. Anything less is just annoying, and doesn't really classify as a HOPA game to me. I mentioned getting stuck in the game, and this happened with the second HOS. In this one, every few items I collected revealed a piece of a wooden disc, which was required to open the cage to retrieve the inventory item. The object was then to spin the disc around to properly attach the pieces. Now, my problem: those pieces were INCREDIBLY small. Given my vision is not the best (I wear prescription glasses), I had trouble locating these pieces. When I saw one missing from the disc, I was convinced I had not yet collected one. I searched all over for the piece and couldn't find it. I used the hint. It didn't help. And with the diminishing quality of Strategy Guides, I was well and truly STUCK. I went back in to the game and discovered that I had indeed collected the final piece and it was sitting on the disk; I just had to rotate the disc and place it and I would be done. This made me feel like more of an idiot than I had ever felt in my life. I put it down to the size of the pieces, which, as I said, were way too small. Developers, not everyone who plays these games has perfect vision. I left this trial suspended at halfway through for 2 days while I tried to figure out my problem (reading forum posts/watching videos, etc.), and to find out I didn't even have a problem and I'd wasted my time was a slap in the face. Take this in to consideration for your next game, please. I liked some of the puzzles, but not all of them. Something I loved from the previous MCF game, the super-long puzzles, has returned. These puzzles were great for adding challenge and fun to Fate's Carnival and I was overjoyed to seem them here. While the challenge was great, and they were fun to play, I will concede they were not as fun as the previous game. However, those long puzzles only accounted for 2 of the demo's 6. The others were fairly linear, quite boring and did not offer much in the way of challenge. Developers, if you are going to resort to linear after bringing out the unique stuff, at least make it fun. I felt the developer could have done a much better job on puzzles. I liked the prominence of the adventure component. It definitely appeared a lot more than in other games from this developer. I also liked the level of challenge; it was not too easy, but it was not overly-hard either. I have been calling for more challenge in games for a while now, so it is nice to see this game has delivered. However, what I didn't really like about the adventure part of this game was the mountain of backtracking and jumping all over the place. It seemed that, whenever I collected something, it would need to be used two or three locations away. Whenever I used that item and collected another, that needed to be used two or three locations away. This was tolerable at first but eventually became quite frustrating. Excessive backtracking is one of the biggest fun killers in a HOPA game and these developers need to learn that. This game really does not have much in the way of extra features, but I don't mind. There are only two here: the + objects and the evidence board. The + objects are pretty basic, but done well. They are not over-used, which is good. There is an indication of when the object is ready to be toyed with, which I did not need, but it is still good to have there for those who are just starting out. The other feature was the evidence board, but sadly, this was not executed very well. Throughout the game, our character collects evidence, and when we have finished collecting all the pieces of evidence related to that clue, we go to the evidence board. From there, we click “deduction”. What I was expecting was a minigame, where we piece the evidence together ourselves. What I got instead was a laborious and quite boring cutscene in which our main character explained all the conclusions they had come to based on the collected evidence. This was a really poor move. There should have been a minigame for us to do it ourselves. It would have made the game a lot more fun and may have convinced me to purchase. The cutscene just takes all the interactivity and control away from the game, and this was really annoying. The basic features have been done well, save for the fact that there is no diary. I have gone on about this for long enough, so I will not continue. But developers must know that the diary is the most important of the basic features, especially for a detective game. Focusing on what the game does have, there is a map, FIVE modes of difficulty (one of which even has TIME LIMITS) and a working hint. The map's layout was really good and simple to use, which was good. Overall, good gameplay, much better than the story. The graphics are typical Elephant; drawn with nice colours and lots of detail. The scenes are done so well I thought I might have been a part of the game for a second. All the scenes are clear and the character designs are great. There is lip-synch too, so the characters feel more realistic. The voice-overs are standard. As I said, I liked how we could pick between a male and female main character, I'm glad Elephant went to that extra work to please everyone. FEATURES 5 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Extra Hard and Timed. I really liked the varying levels of difficulty: it meant the player could choose how hard they wanted the game to be. This is perfect for those who are missing the challenge in games. Differences in the first three are standard. Extra Hard offers NO HELP at all, and Timed is self explanatory. I played Casual because it was my first time playing. Hint/Skip- Both recharged at a decent speed for the selected difficulty and the hint is useful outside HOS, sometimes acting as a teleporter. Map- The map is interactive and is quite helpful. It lets you know where you have tasks to perform. + Objects- These are done well, but basic. There is an indication of when they can be interacted with. Evidence Board- Executed quite poorly. There should have been a minigame instead of a cutscene, CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Alternative Ending- This is a really good move. I am hoping whichever ending is played is based on the actions a character performs in the game. Built-in Strategy Guide- disappointingly, this does not show HOS solutions. If it had, I would not have been stuck. Achievements Collectible puzzle pieces (84) Collectible Dire Grove figurines- these are morphing objects. Wallpapers (15) Concept Art (12) Replay cutscenes Soundtrack WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? The CE has some really good value in it, especially with the amount of collectibles and the alternative ending. I would opt for the CE if I were to buy this game. MY PROGRESS I completed the demo trial in 47 minutes. There are 2 chapters in the demo. This indicates to me this game will be of standard length. This was a decent game, but the story was lacking. It had the potential to be the best game this year, but sadly, poor execution means it remains at just good. It was definitely worth the trial, and I highly advise you give it a spin.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad for a MCF It really doesn't have a connection to any previous games other than the title, and it doesn't have any of the snark that was been prevalent in years past, but it's a decent game. The big question in our family is "Why must it always SNOW???" I almost expect to see Elsa pop out singing, "Let It Go".
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, not perfect We recommend the game and we enjoyed it; but minus 1 star for bringing Alister Dalimar back. What's next? Charles in Huntsville? I would love to see a new antagonist in the 14th edition. Seriously, minus 1 for some of the games - way too easy to be called a puzzle. Otherwise, good to play!
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Bit of a Let-Down There's no denying that MCF games are among the best of their kind. However, the original Dire Grove is one of few games that made excellent use of live actors, and I have to admit that I was disappointed to see the game swap them out for drawn characters. I've also noticed a trend with newer games--including Dire Grove, Sacred Grove--where there are things you need to click that aren't very much fun. (Example: In a different game, you had to click to pick up a telephone receiver, and then click on the buttons to dial a number.) I call these "mousebreakers." DGSG incorporates these tactics. The level of challenge in the puzzles and minigames is strangely skewed. Some activities could have easily been given a bit of a challenge, but instead were made ridiculously simple. On the other hand, those puzzles where you had to interact in a particular order had no sense of logic to them and couldn't be solved without asking for puzzle hints. Again, more fairly random clicking! To sum up my disappointment, the game seems to cater to people who simply like to click their mouse and ignores people who like to use their brain to solve puzzles. And I played on the hardest level. Still, it's better than most of the games out there in this genre.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good..... Just like everyone else, I was so excited to finally get a new MCF. It is a great game, and I'm having a wonderful time with it. But....it seems to be more of another Elephant game. Now, don't get me wrong, Elephant games are one of my favorites. I just don't expect to see the same common, bland, recurring "problems"--ie, having to find a zipper pull, in a MCF. Such "issues" are found in nearly every game developed these days. No, I expect MCF to be new and innovative, not run-of-the-mill. Although I haven't finished the whole game, I'm not seeing, or feeling, any of the humor/fun usually associated with this series. The story and interactions are serious, maybe a bit too serious. The atmosphere just isn't quite right. Who can forget the "Smash the Groundhog" #or whatever# in the original RTR? And the scare factor of pulling back a shower curtain and finding a mannequin hanging there. Those made me laugh; I haven't laughed in this game--yet. Having said all this, I absolutely love the puzzles which make absolutely no sense at all which is part of the fun of solving them. Overall, a very good game; I'm having a good time. It just isn't the same.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great I loved the game and the story line behind it, but it lacked the level of detail that other Mystery Case File games did. They even stopped using real people to play as the characters, which was a let down. Especially when they used real people in the first Dire Grove, The Return to Ravenhearst, Shadow lake and the 13th Skull.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The magic vanished Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove is a good hidden objects game, but it is no longer what I am waiting from a MCF game.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF Series Goes "Sacred" sa·cred - adjective 1. worthy of religious worship : very holy Setting: you are a detective this time. You've been summoned back to Dire Grove because a severe chill has descended, as well as the occurrence of wolf and bear attacks. Mystical druid "Mistwalkers" roam the woods. What is the cause of these events? Well that's why you're here. I am usually a somewhat hard "grader" when it comes to these games. And besides, this is a MCF (*may it live forever*) game. Yes, I have a higher standard for MCF (*may it live forever*) games because this series is the one by which all others are measured. Having said all that, I liked the the trial. It was fun to play. Is this a five star game? No, in my opinion, but only because it is a MCF (*may it live forever*) game. The story is simply too derivative for this to be a five star game, and we cannot forgive derivative in this series (the one by which all others are measured). Especially because this is back at Dire Grove, the location of one of the better games in this series (*may it be...etc). Naturally, the artwork is great. The sounds and music are good. Hidden objects are very interactive but not difficult. The puzzles are good to great. You will have to think about these puzzles - they are similar to the "Ravenhurst" type, but not quite as clever. The voices are good. So everything is good - except the story is just OK. That makes it not quite "Dire Grove -worthy," but fortunately neither is it "Shadow Lake -like." You will also gather sets of clues. When you have completed each set, you will make a "deduction" and more of the story will be revealed. There are five (5) difficulty levels, the last of which is timed. And there is a jump map which is an actual map (yay!) This CE has 84 collectible jigsaw puzzle pieces, morphing objects (buildings), a bonus level, strategy guide and the other usual pseudo-extras. Sacred Grove falls short of being "worthy of worship" but it is a solid entry. Rating: four cold beers...I mean bears.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another reason for some Thanksgiving I love the MCF series and was excited to see this newest addition. The Artwork is beautiful, the wind seems to freeze you even inside your warm home. There is lurking terror in the otherwise silent forest as you feel the eyes upon you. There is all the CE bling you expect including an extra level of game difficulty only available after you finish the game the first time. There are lots of puzzles, mini-games, and HOPs. The story line suggests that the locals have somehow angered the Mistwalkers, protectors of the Sacred Forest around Dire Grove. There seems to be some connection to the sad story of the local leader of the hunters' two sons. But, and I can hear the groaning, I am totally frustrated by a mini-game with instructions to start changing the elements of the game around and see what happens. Is this the best direction you can give me? Seriously aggravating is my only conclusion. So I waited for SKIP..... But I hated to do it. So, yes, I will be adding this MCF to my collection, but I am not as thankful for it as I wish I was. Have a good Holiday.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dire Intrigue Last year's Elephant Game addition to the sacrosanct Mystery Files roster fizzled in my opinion. Over the last several seasons Thanksgiving brought something brand new to be grateful for: the daring, innovative and ingenious Big Fish MCF games. I've only played 80 minutes (and bought this latest entry) because it displays more of the amplitude I seek out in MCF games. Naturally I haven't completed it, but in addition to competent dialogue and graphics, there are some new wrinkles that are very pleasing. The puzzles I've encountered so far are challenging without being impossible to solve and contain charming and witty surprises.. If the rest of the game holds up to this standard, I will indeed feel that Thanksgiving--via Mystery Case Files--provides the means to express more gratitude than the bountiful feast day itself. Bravo!
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just me well i like it because they put a choice female or male which is cool anyway .that's all but i was not sure of the ALTERNATE ENDING so after all it was COOL to me.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove (Collector's) It was a good game. It kind of made me laugh when all the mistwalkers in their furs and horns spoke like they all had college degrees from Harvard. Like Harvard professors talking about sacrifices LOL. The best two games I've found are both MCS games, Return to Ravenhurst and the original Dire Grove games. Nothing yet has been better.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Mini Games, Tedious Dialogue Love Mystery Case Files, they always have fun, interesting and challenging mini games (some may say they are stupid, etc., but I love to be challenged in this way) and in this they didn't disappoint. The story line was interested and connected to their other games. However, the back and forth Q&A dialogue was both annoying and pointless. Too bad there isn't an 'off' mode for the dialogue; I would have given this a 5 star rating then.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i liked it a lot!!!! this was a very good MCF game. i liked the music and all. it has a diary and an interactive map. no custom level, though. i have enjoyed the others a tad bit more but would still recommend it. you have been called back to dire grove because they are experiencing record-breaking cold and wild animals are attacking so most everyone was evacuated and just a few remain. they want to know what is going on. i finished the game and then played the bonus content and the alternate ending. the game froze a few times. i have just updated everything so i don't think it was my computer. i did a complete scan yesterday and did the recommended updates there as well. sequel........of course there will be another MCF of some kind. there was a feather left behind at the end of the alternate ending so i guess that is to signify a continuation.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Up To A Very High Bar A wonderful game and a fun revisit to some old territory. Graphics top-notch as one might expect. Superb game play, nice mix of HOs in different styles and of course, the absolutely glorious MCF puzzles! I savored these - one of them took me a nice, leisurely hour. Excellent bonus time, and the alternate ending was worth the price of admission (and superior to the "real" ending, I think). Just loved the thing. So why four stars? It was the writing. The inclusion of a certain old enemy in order to provide series continuity was unnecessary and seemed very contrived, and wisely was kept pretty much to the bonus content. But without him (and the original Dire Grove didn't have him) the game would have worked fine but lost that extra something we have come to expect from this stellar series. It simply wasn't as tightly written as the standard-setting series from Return to Ravenhearst through Madame Fate to Dire Grove. The subsequent two entries were, regrettably, not up to that standard and will be mercifully disregarded. It is a lot to ask for the entire story arc to be smooth but this was, I think, a little disjointed. Things I really liked: nearly everything else. The choice to provide an alternate male POV (and narrator) was deeply appreciated and long overdue. And the puzzles, my gracious, the puzzles were superb! Overall a great effort by Elephant to live up to a very high standard indeed.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertainig! I have all the MCF games and love every one of them. So when this one came out, I just bought it without playing the demo. I was not disappointed. I like going back to Dire Grove. The HOS's are fun and I like the different ones where you find the objects from the shadow outline. The only thing I miss is the morphing objects. I also wish they had stuck closer to the original storyline instead of taking it in another direction. Those are the only 2 things I would change, but I really enjoyed this game and would recommend it to other MCF fans.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't Want It to End This game has gorgeous artwork, good voice-overs, an interesting story (something I don't usually care about). I really like the kind of puzzle used, where you click all over a complex scene and gradually figure out the sequence of steps. Less skilful designers could make this type of puzzle a confusing mess, but these ones are well organized. HO scenes are attractive and it's not too tough to find the stuff.
Date published: 2014-12-04
  • y_2022, m_1, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_263
  • loc_en_US, sid_21780, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

A deadly secret lurks in the woods of Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.