Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Dire Grove has been plunged into a record-defying cold, and wild animals threaten at every turn! You've been called in to uncover the source of the town's troubles. But you quickly find yourself in the middle of a feud between the local hunters and the mysterious Mistwalkers who live in the woods. Can you prevent an all-out war? Pick your gender and use an innovative deduction mechanic as you try to discover the secret behind Dire Grove's curse!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were outstanding and I like the more challenging puzzles. The hints were excellent. Overall, this is the best MCF yet!" – Georgia, Beta Tester

"MCF has hit it out of the park with this one! I cannot wait for the game to come out!" – Morgan, Beta Tester

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Delve deeper into Dire Grove's secrets in the bonus game!
  • An alternate ending with an exciting twist
  • Collect and display Dire Grove landmarks
  • Bonus collection puzzles that unlock special screensavers
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2109 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(486.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 263.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it! It's hard to please everyone. Yes, this game is not exactly the same as the other MCF games. You can see a diference. I personally don't like when they come out with real people in the games, so I enjoyed much more this game due to that. I really liked the new kind of puzzles, different from always finding hidden objects. At some parts the sound/music was a little annoying. I liked the alternative ending. We didn't had that on previous games. The story could be a little more exciting. From the sequels, I did prefered Return to Ravenhearst than this one.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE BEST MCF! i don't care what anybody says ... this one is worth the price ... i love the mini games ... and the adventure ... the quality is MUCH IMPROVED over the past games ... dire grove was one of my favorites, and this continuation of the game is really impressive ... almost 5 stars ... really great job guys! ... am thoroughly enjoying this one!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better then the first Dire grove I enjoyed it. I would like to see more of the same. Thank you
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from collectors edition dire,grove,scared grove collectors
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but could be better Compared to last years fate carnival they seemed to have dumbed it down. For example when you have to enter a combination the combination is written right in plain view. The "big" puzzles were by far excellent but getting to them just seemed like a "to do" with just busy work and no thought needed. It was fun but just not as challenging as many of the older versions.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a fan I have not played any other of the MCF games, so I cannot compare this to them. I found this story to be disjointed. The graphics were nice, nice choice of options in the menu. However, the large area, and the back and forth, back and forth, etc etc, drove me crazy. There is a map that will transport you if you so desire, but that takes the fun out of the whole game. I give this a pass. I couldn't wait for the demo to be over. The HOS were infantile. The puzzles were either too difficult for me to understand, or utterly ridiculous.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing for MCF MCF is hands down my favorite puzzle / HOG & I look forward to it every November, but 2014 was not their finest year. Game was too short & didn't have the finesse that MCF usually has. Seems like they just threw together 2 quick games this year sacrificing quality in both. Hope they go back to releasing 1 a year with the quality of their usual high standard. Game just too easy & short. CE not worth extra either, no extra level to solve in bonus content. Would not recommend for anyone familiar with MCF.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just like any other game.. Could not wait for the next Mystery Case Files game... This is no where near the quality of the prior games. Just another hog. I love how they put 'real people' in the other games! Just an average game here though. Not amused.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove My first game from BFG was Madame Fate. Over the years I have looked forward anxiously to new MCF games from BFG. This game was a disappointment. The communication between characters, the decision board and the story line IMO were not up to par with the previous MCF games. The one thing I did find that carried over from previous games were the challenging puzzles where one part of the puzzle interacted with other parts of the puzzle. It took time and thought to solve the puzzles which were challenging. Although I usually enjoy Elephant Games I was disappointed in this last installment of Mystery Case Files. I hope BFG reads the reviews of gamers that have played the previous versions of MCF games such as Madame Fate, Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst and return to what made MCF games creepy, challenging and fun to play. Please if possible return the MCF games to the original development team.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dire Grove NOT Revisited Mention Dire Grove and those icy figures of the farmer, hunter and others appear. Where in the original Dire Grove did these animals come from and were they animals? Needlessly to say I was a little disappointed in this "sequel". Not that the play was not good, and it was quite lenghty, but was all that dialogue necessary? Even if you choose question #2, you still had to deal #1 and to skip the dialogue would not continue the flow of the story line. I'm sitting here still wondering what the connection between the two games is....however if you did not play the original Dire Grove this game is good. Loads to do, places to seek & find. Loved the puzzles, very innovative. So I would recommend it but folks its not like the orginal, that one was unique.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointing again !!! have always loved MCF games, and wait and wait till they come out, last year with Madame Fate reappearing I had hoped that MCF was back to its best as I loved that, but this year, again disappointing, too easy, storyline didn't work as it was just a nod to Dire Grove, you can do better, your games used to be of such high quality , where have you gone wrong ??? disappointed. ho hum
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but generic While this is generally an enjoyable game, it is basically just another generic "dark" HO. The distinctive style of the earlier MCF games is completely missing. There's nothing remarkable here. It's the same graphics style, storyline and puzzles you can find in at least a couple dozen other games here. MCF was what originally got me into HO games, and it's disappointing to see it jump the shark like this. That said, if you're not a big MCF fan, and you like generic dark HO's, you'll enjoy this nicely. The graphics and sound are decent. The voiceovers aren't too bad, but there are so many of them that they got annoying. The devs make an effort to replicate the Rube-Goldberg-machine style of puzzles found in the Ravenhearst and Madame Fate games, although they fall a little flat. You can pick your character's gender, which is nice, but the only thing that changes is which voiceover you get. They could have saved some disk space and left the gender undetermined, like in previous games. It wouldn't have mattered. MCF fans probably won't like the bonus chapter. They try to shoehorn in a connection with the previous games in a way that makes no real sense. That alone irked me enough to make me knock a star off the rating.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What makes a sequel? O.K. so they used the same basic sets, that ends the similarity to Dire Grove. There were no live actors as in the original which was a mistake in my opinion. Why the addition of those irritating puzzles that were not able to be solved by most people without a hint? I dislike them so much that I found myself hitting the skip button, which is something I never do. Oddly enough, I began my membership with BF when I played Dire Grove and I am considering ending it with the Dire Grove sequel. There was nothing special about the bonus chapter at all.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Mystery Case Files game I did not like all the conversations in this game and there is no way to skip them. Not enough hidden objects scenes. I did like the map to help you get around. Puzzles were to difficult without enough hints.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was pretty disappointed with the storyline compared to all the rest of the MCF games I've bought (all of them) to this one. I did love the mini games,music and it was a fun-ish game to play. A message to BFG-please use more imagination and reality in your next MCF,not a load of make believe kids stuff.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best Mystery Case Files I didn't like the format of this game (character interaction) and wanted more hidden object scenes.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Like the Other Games in this Series This game wasn't bad, it just wasn't what I was expecting. I've got all the MCF games and this one just doesn't fit. I missed the creep factor that the original Dire Grove, Return to Ravenhurst, 13th Skull, etc., had. Those had characters that intrigued me; this one basically had cardboard cutouts with a story that didn't make a lot of sense. I do like the minigames, although they drive me crazy and I always have to peek at the hints, but that part was the only recognizable thing amongst all the MCF games. I think I prefer the live characters, although a lot of people don't, because it makes the story more realistic. All in all, a little disappointing but still better than a lot of other games.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Read This Review!!! I normally am very lenient with reviews cuz I usually enjoy all MCF games. I thought Return to Ravenhearst, Dire Grove and Escape from Ravenhearst were brilliant, especially EFR! I even liked Shadow Lake. Really disliked last years MCF game, Fates Carnival, and couldn't wait for it to end. That is not the case with this years game though. Although my husband and I are enjoying the game (we always play these together) I must say, it certainly isn't anything special. And I usually expect something special if it's MCF. This is just your average Elephant game and I was disappointed to see that they did another MCF game again this year. Big Fish, aren't you doing your own games anymore? They were always so good! Please bring them back again. In my opinion, about the only thing that makes this game close to being different are the "Madam Fate" style puzzles where you have to do one thing to trigger something else. We spent 2 hours trying to figure out one of those puzzles. I have been reading reviews of last years and this years MCF and it is the opinion of some that the MCF series may be on it's way out. I fear this may be true, although I will keep on buying them no matter what cuz I am a die hard fan. But please guys, go back to doing your own games again. Alot of us really miss them. Do it before it's too late and you lose the support of your fans!!
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics, dumb storyline... I was very anxious to get this game so when it came out, I just went ahead and ordered it and then started playing...immediately I was saddened to see that it was going a different direction and that weird characters were going to be the story. It had nothing to do with the last Dire Grove which the ending there was, well corny as well, but I really was saddened but did enjoy the puzzles, the hidden object scenes (there needed to be more by the way) and the bonus game was good. Hopefully next years game will have more puzzles, more mind games, more hidden objects scenes. I realize that some of the storylines on BFG are pretty much the same, but it would be nice to have the Ravenhearst approach to where there isn't characters, just lots of creepy scenery, creepy puzzles and cool places to go. How about a creepy Toy Store, with creepy toys and dolls...creepy houses, forests...? Keep characters out of it, just do creepy. Thanks for doing your best. Better next year, okay?
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is this Mystery Trackers or Mystery Case Files? The game itself is pretty good. It's not very challenging, however. Also, it has lost the original creativity and look, feel of that the Mystery Case Files games evolved into from the first Ravenhearst up until Shadow Lake. With Madame Fate's Carnival, and even more so with Dire Grove, Sacred Grove, the game has become a little too similar to Mystery Trackers. The narration, the music, the animals that crawl into spaces even the "hermit"'s costume- are all a little too similar and feel "borrowed from" Elephant Games other series Mystery Trackers. The game is OK, but not worth waiting a whole year for, and certainly not worth the hype when games so similar to it are released throughout the year. I hope MCF returns to the path it veered off of- more live action, more darkness; and build games that actually give me the chills again.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Say Goodbye Toto What happened to MCF? Every year I can't wait to play the new MCF game - I practically build my holiday season around knowing that another MCF game is ready to come out. No Live Actors??? Live actors were one of the things I loved the most - it made you feel like you were actually in the game! No cool and fun rooms to explore - everything is so beautifully drawn that it is no longer scary (in a fun way) it's more like looking at a painting instead of being inside the painting. PLEASE bring back the "old - cool" stuff. I know I'm not alone in this and I'm sure that less and less people are buying the new MCF games - go back to the "old" way and Big Fish will once more find their sales will go back up again!
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i miss the old mcf Bought this straight away as the annual MCF had arrived. Yippee! Strangely I did not take as much enjoyment out of this game as I thought I would - and I wondered why. I have all the other MCF from the very beginning and they have been magnificent. There was TOO much talking and too many cutscenes and where are the morphing objects ? much missed i think. Also frankly without the map I really do not think I could remember where everything belonged as there was an awful lot of tooing and fro-ing which became a bit of a bore. The storyline was weak and not that interesting. Gameplay was good in that the multi-puzzles were really challenging and the HOPs too. Graphics were great. I think I will have another play at Dire Grove cos that was so good. Where have the original devs gone?. Elephant are great at what they do but they cannot be all things to all games or catch the special element of these great past MCF games.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HARDLY A SEQUEL TO A MASTERPIECE. I'm a great fan of MCF games, the old and original ones in particular, and therefore I feel myself entitled to freely express my disappointment in this installment, Dire Grove Sacred Grove. This installment is in fact nothing but an average game, dull and tiresome and with no merits to claim to be a "sequel" to DIRE GROVE. It is very regrettable that seemingly the team who created for us the original MCF classics some years ago is no longer on the job. What a pity.. The general outlook is a poor copy of the masterpiece, The meager scenery is completely devoid of the original ambience. It is lacking the small details and care composing the awesome atmosphere of the original game both in drawing and in sounds. And here, where is the excitement and animation that was so capturing in the first game? In my opinion old masterpieces should not have sequels because they are unique and unequaled. In Dire Grove Sacred Grove the cooperation with a current producer has been unfortunate. Either bring back the original team, which apparently may not be possible, or please leave the masterpieces alone.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MCF is one of the best series ever made... hands down! ... which is why I was both riveted and frustrated by some of the choices made by the developer in Sacred Grove, the second installment of the "Grove" series. But then again, it had a LOT to live up to as both a MCF game AND a sequel to Dire Grove; a HO classic with cut scenes that have been virtually unsurpassed to this day. Will we ever forget the VCR tapes found all over the Grove revealing bits and pieces of a brilliant plot about an eery Celtic legend come to life (a wonderful play on cultural superstition) repleat with our characters journey to DG. Or, the chilling moments when our characters were finally found by the Master Detective. What about the ritual ending (always a good choice in a thriller). And let's hear it for our portable video player, one of my favorite special features of all time. The nostalgia for Dire Grove was overwhelming... but this is about Sacred Grove; which for the exception of the familiar sets felt like an entirely new series. So let's start with the the game's positives: 1) Visually flawless - you will not see find or see better animation in an adventure/HO game. Basically, the excellence we expect from a MCF games remains intact. 2) Addition of gender choice (historically, MCF games are trend setters and I imagine other games under the "Big Fish" umbrella will soon follow suit 3) Morphing objects that replicate the town of Dire Grove which can be accessed throughout the game and bonus features 4) Collectable puzzle pieces which make for visually stunning scenes depicting characters within the storyline 5) Great Evidence collection and deduction feature which introduces us to our characters, expains their role in the storyline, and sets the stage for a cut scenes driving and summarizing the plot 6) Interactive dialogue with the characters (you get to pick the sequence of questions asked... so while you choose the order, ALL will be asked and answered at times redundantly. 7) Great location devise given to you by the only female mistwalker in the game (unfortunately used in a very small portion of the game) 8) Fantastic navigational map with connections to achievements, puzzles and found evidence 9) Amazing HO scenes that were creative, varied and most importantly beautiful and clear All in all, a stunningly beautiful 5 star worthy game if not for the nagging frustrations which plagued me throughout this game (which needless to say are subjective): So without further adieu... 1) I may actually be in the minority here, but I can't tell you how much I dislike the "rubic" games (there's nothing mini about them). Introduced in an earlier installment of MCF, I hoped to never see one again and I found myself groaning every time I came across another one in this game. Reasons? HUGE disruption of game flow (they take a VERY long time to figure out, if you can do it at all). I personally do not use hints or strategy guides but you almost need step by step instructions to get throught these monstrosities. It was difficult to understand the logic behind some of the games and how they were interconnected. Personally, I find them very frustrating and demotivating which does not fare well in these kind of games where engagement is everything. SUGGESTION: Please add this to the "gender" category and give us a choice of whether we want the "rubic" or mini-game option where instructions are clearly stated. I'm an avid gamer and purchase nearly every new HO/Adventure release, but you guys lost me here. When a game starts feeling like a chore, I pick up a good book and boy did I ever catch up on my reading. 2) What happened to the eery, suspenseful tradition set by the original Dire Grove? I bought this long awaited sequel the second it was released, sans demo or reviews. My thoughts were, Wow, if they produced Dire Grove with just the minimum of the special features, think about the potential and possibilities for this game given all the innovations and special effects available in today's game world. I wanted a super duper thriller in the Dire Grove tradition and got an environmentally correct storyline between the "Hunters" and "Mistwalkers" who protect the Sacred land in the Grove... but here's the question: Is it Dire Grove material? As an environmentalist, I KNOW the importance of sustaining and preserving our environment and ensuring the protection of animal species. This is a really serious and significant issue in today's world. But this is Dire Grove... and I was just looking for a romping good time. I couldn't help but think that this was a missed opportunity to take suspense in gaming to an entirely new level. I'm just sorry it was not realized in Sacred Grove. 3) Dire Grove is notorious for it's cinematic realism. This was achieved by good acting and cinema verite or hand held camera ("Blair Witch") style which created a feeling of suspense, urgency and at times terror. While, I appreciate the virtues of character animation, it felt like the wrong choice for a Dire Grove installment. Actually, if it weren't for the very familiar sets, it could be any new (well produced) game. 4) Likewise, the storyline did not feel like it was MCF, Master Detective, ... not to mention Dire Grove material (I know... sore spot). Come to think of it, none of the MCF sequels have had the WOW factor found in the originals... and Sacred Grove is no exception. But see for yourself... The virtues in this game are many... If not for the sylistic choices and storyline, this is undoubtedly a 5 star game in terms of game quality alone. You can see the attention, time and artistry put into this game. But is it a Dire Grove installment? For me, the answer was a resounding no. But I can always hope there will be a true and worthy successor in the future. (!!!)
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I was disappointed Storyline didn't flow very well. After the game was over I felt like I had just wasted my time playing it. Nothing that was really fun to do throughout the entire game. Was a lame game for me.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not an MCF Game Beautiful game, but it's not an MCF game, it's an Elephant Game. I feel like I'm playing an Elephant remake of an MCF game because that's exactly what it is. I appreciate the developers giving us Madame Fate last year and returning to Dire Grove this year, but the games just aren't the same for me. I will recommend this game, but only because I can't pick a neutral type of recommendation.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Big MCF Fan letdown I usually don't post reviews, but I was so looking forward to MCF hitting one out of the ball park that I felt I needed to share my opinion. I loved the original Dire Grove-so what happened with this one? Where are the hidden object scenes that make the games so much fun? No, I don't think matching 6 hidden objects counts as the same thing; it reminded me of playing the game "memory". MCF tried to put in more of a story line with this game, but there was a lot of dialogue. I wasn't very interested in the whole plot and skipped a good deal of it. The mini-puzzles, which I normally enjoy, were very convoluted. Usually, I can figure my way through them, these I had to use hints and even some of the hints weren't helpful enough. I wouldn't skip this game, but I wouldn't call it their best either. Too overdone; sometimes, less is more.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's GOOD. Not the showstopper Mystery Case Files used to be. Although I have always enjoyed Elephant Games, a great developer, this game does not even come close to 2009's Dire Grove. Mystery Case Files is a yearly event, many look forward to! In year's past, these games have taken all that technology had to offer, used it, along with creativity thru the roof. The original Dire Grove had real actors, coupled with unbelievable graphics, finely detailed story-line, a stand-out experience. This is an ordinary Elephant Game with a Mystery Case banner is all. It's GOOD, but NOT the showstopper Mystery Case once was. Buy it for the tradition, but you won't be wowed by this game.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where has MCF gone??? I am disappointed again! I guess the developers of the real MCF games have moved on. This game is an Elephant game please take the MCF off and put Mystery Trackers on it! I may buy, really haven't decided yet. I haven't even played the full 90 minute trial yet. The challenge of the puzzles is poor, I mean what's the point of waiting a whole year for just another ho hum game. You can't fool a real MCF fan! I don't like all the guns and the characters are not developed enough to care about them. I have said enough, I really wanted to love the game and I really miss my MCF games.
Date published: 2014-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from an hour into the game I'm afraid I'm going to sound a right misery! I have followed the MCF games since they first came out, and own all of the previous games, and I don't even bother to do the hour's free play. I was so excited about this annual new release, but so far, I'm not that impressed, and I really wanted to be. I loved Dire Grove, but so far the storyline in this sequel isn't that captivating, and the snarky humour of the originals is missing. This game seems a bit run of the mill so far, and I wonder whether there is actually any tie in with the original Dire Grove. I think I expect so much of MCF games, and maybe if I had purchased this game as an 'ordinary' game, then my expectations would have been lower. The mistwalkers all have American accents, despite the setting of Dire Grove being here in the UK (nothing wrong with American accents but I just don't get it). It seems to be taking itself a bit too seriously and I'm missing the quirly characters ( e.g. 13th skull, Ravenhearst, Madame Fate etc). Enough moaning - I'll go and have a cup of tea, do some work and come back to the game later. I will certainly revise my grumpy review if it gets any better. Hope others are enjoying it more than I am...
Date published: 2014-11-25
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_263
  • loc_en_US, sid_21780, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove, Sacred Grove Collector's Edition

A deadly secret lurks in the woods of Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.