The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus

The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(786.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Breaking news – Casey's father has gone missing on a remote island that carries a curse!

Overcoming considerable obstacles Casey arrives on the island to discover, not only has her father disappeared but his entire team has also gone missing! Word quickly spreads that Stromberg, one of the team members, attempted to invoke the spirit Baragus using a mysterious and ancient artifact.

Uncover the mystery of the disappearance in this incredible adventure. Explore the ancient city that is full of secrets and wonders. A captivating journey awaits you!

  • Win awards as part of your adventure!
  • Experience a rich and diverse setting
  • Play challenging mini-games
  • Solve adventure puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1078 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(786.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cursed Island The. OK this is knot the best game on Big fish. I fund it a bit dark to see thinks. as some one said its a bit dated for 2014 games. the graphics and sound are fine for this game dose have speech wish is a bit like Russian there is a lot of H.O in this game they are mostly listed items. like me if you have game credit that has one day to go this is is worth it. Its a nice wee game to have most Mondays you get a game that looks like a C.E but turns out to be a Standard game this is one of these games.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent game but flawed... I like challenging puzzles, but there were two or three in this game that did not appear to be solvable and one that did not work according to the puzzle's own instructions. A walkthrough would have been extremely helpful but there isn't one. After perusing the forum, I found that a lot of people ran into game-ending bugs. I did manage to play through to the end but had to skip two puzzles, which I hate to do. There are significant translation errors in the dialog and the voiceovers of some characters were very poor--obviously just read aloud. In spite of the problems, it was a fairly entertaining game and quite long. I'd like to see more from this developer, but with a little more polish.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good game but confusing this was a good game but i think it wan't very well done by the developers. It was confusing as to what to do next and the puzzles were hard. I skipped most of them because they were too challenging. The translations were fine in the beginning but the further you went in the game the worse they got!! You had a map to play with but i had to use the hint button a lot to see where to go next.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game, but.... The main thing this game has going for it is that it is a very long and complex game - lots of different locations. There are also collectibles and achievements for those who like that sort of thing (I don't). Game play along the way is average to good. There is a jump map and good HINT button. The bad things about this game are, number 1, bugs. The ones I found correct themselves if I exited the game and started again. The English is poor in many cases with comical VOs. The artwork is just OK. The story is lame and is almost comical in it's telling. The heroine wears a good suit and heels in her adventures, for example. If you kind of close your eyes and forget the bad stuff, the game is enjoyable.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good story, but OK game. This game has a decent storyline, but the time frame was extremely confusing. The character you play dresses like she's from the 1950s or 60s. However, throughout the game, you see "ghosts" that are dressed more modern, and there are newspaper articles that you will find that are dated from 1965 up until 2013. So, I'm not sure when this game takes place. The game itself wasn't too exciting and eventually I was waiting for it to end. One thing that many will like is that there isn't a whole lot of backtracking and there is a jump map. The map you see is related only to a few scenes and once you move on, you don't need to go back. There weren't too many HO scenes, which I personally like, but the ones that they do have were OK. The mini puzzles range from easy to challenging, but they can be skipped. I only used the hint a couple of times, but it wasn't extremely helpful. While the graphics were great on my laptop, the voice acting was okay at best. However, what really got my goat were all the grammatical errors in both the verbal dialog and in the diary. Even the voice actors who read their lines verbatim read the errors as well. All in all, it was a decent game, but I can't see myself replaying it any time soon.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus could have been a winner I enjoyed this game, but my enjoyment was greatly diminished by the atrocious use of English. I'm used to games from foreign publishers sometimes featuring idiosyncratic or incorrect English text or voice acting, but this game is over the top in that regard. Sometimes it was impossible to understand what the game was trying to say. Really, can't they find someone who knows how to write English?
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OLD SCHOOL BUT STILL ENJOYABLE Review of completed game. I got this game, not expecting much, however I was quite pleasantly surprised. There is: * Voiceovers; * Casual, Challenging and Extreme modes of play; * Journal; * Interactive map; * Achievements chest (20 of them); * Find 30 scarabs/rare beetles; * Find 6 rare plants; and * Use special stones to help you. I decided to play on Extreme mode which I found to be a good challenge. Please note that once you start the game you cannot change your mode of play. Also, in Extreme mode the hints are turned off. However, you can skip games if you don't want to play them. Okay I must admit that the graphics were very old school - something I would have played a good 8-10 years ago. However, because the story was really good and it was a full on adventure game with plenty of tasks to do and lots of puzzles and hidden object games to play, that I forgave the developers and just got stuck into the game. And yes it really is a decent game. Sound was good. There were a few different pieces of music which I hardly noticed. The accents of the characters were very strong but there is dialogue with it as well if you don't wish to listen to it. You also collect along the way 6 bones which you will use a fair bit. These are: Light, Air, Water, Ground, Life and Fire. These are in the right hand corner, so if you get stuck along the way, try these out. There were many hidden object games to play - about 30 I think. Some of them were a jumbled mess but I had no trouble finding any of the items and each one only took a couple of minutes. I really enjoyed the mini-games. There were a huge variety of different ones to play - from sliding tiles, memory games, getting the ball into the hole, etc. I've seen them all before but I still had fun playing them. You can skip them if you want, but I relish challenging mini-games and that is why I joined Big Fish to play these sorts of games. The interactive map also tells you where you still have tasks to do - this will come in handy if you get stuck anywhere. The scarabs/rare beetles and rare plants are easy to see and grab so not much of a challenge there. All up the game took me about 6 hours to play - so good value for money. It is possible to get most of the achievements, so that is feel good moment. Definitely recommended for all fishes. Happy playing.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice little adventure OK, not the best and doesn't have all the bells and whistles, but it is a decent game with a nice adventure to solve. Graphics are not on the high end, but they are still nicely done and did have voiceovers and not just text. Puzzles were quite difficult and HOs are only list, but the story is what I find interesting as it's been awhile since we went on an expedition to rid evil spirits released by the greedy. I have free game codes to use, and this will occupy me on a chilly day.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better Than 3 Stars Would Suggest! Evil force, bad scientist under it's control, Dad missing, save the world. This may be an older game or it may just be rough around the edges because it was originally made in a language other than English. (This is evident in the stilted VOs and stiff translations.) But the HOPs are OK, the mini-games are better, and there are collectibles and achievements in an SE. Yes, it is somewhat old school, but I liked some of the other elements of the story and with a free coupon, and the extra stamp Monday, I'm going for it! Give this demo a chance and see if its a hidden rhinestone for you, too.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting some of the puzzles were challenging. I enjoyed playing it. The ho scenes were relatively easy
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a waste of time One of the scenes had a newspaper article with the date of 2013. Are you sure they didn't mean 1813? Poor quality lighting, poor quality movement of figures, hated the printed dialogue along with the corny voice-overs. Don't need both. If it's not necessary to the game why let us click on an item then tell us we don't have time to be doing that. I don't have time to be doing an item-by-item search in every single scene. Figure movement was very stilted, with other figures suddenly appearing out of nowhere when you have completed something. Didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for some of the actions. I certainly will not be buying this game. I have many more interesting games that I could spend my hard-earned money (or credits) if I wanted to. This is not among those.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Oof! Sorry, I broke a heel. Okay, it starts out that our heroine hears that her father is missing on an expedition to a jungle-covered island, so she quickly heads out the door to search for him. She travels light. She doesn't take anything with her but her keys and her purse. When she gets to the harbor she decides to travel even lighter. She leaves her purse in the car but takes the keys with her. Maybe she thinks they'll come in handy if she needs to stab someone with them. Why she leaves her purse in an unlocked car with the door standing wide open, we aren't told. So anyway, she lets this drunken sailor friend of her father take her out to the island in his fishing boat, but the fog is too thick, so he tells her she'll have to row herself to the island, which she does. I guess she still has her keys with her. Or maybe she gave them to the drunken sailor, trusting that he would lock up her car with her purse still inside. Dunno. So while she's rowing, some kind of cyclone thing does something to her and she passes out in the boat. This is when we realize that not only did she rush out taking only her purse and her keys, but she is clad in black kid gloves, a straight skirt and high heels!! Thankfully, at least the shoes aren't stilettos! When she gets to the island, she miraculously recovers from her swoon and tramps around the jungle in her high heels, picking up this, that, and some other things that she thinks she might need, and solving puzzles and mini-games. Clever, right? Can't you just picture Claudette Colbert in this role? Anyway, after about the umpteenth mini-game, I gave up, leaving her on the island to search and solve by herself. We can only hope she'll find a pair of boots and some snake repellent.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why are so many apparently old games being released? The developer is one that was prevalent a few years ago but hasn't been seen for a long time. The look of the game tells me it was more than likely created 4-5 years ago. The characters all very wooden, their movements are terribly clunky and the voiceovers are straight out of Eastern Europe. So many games are developed in Russia, Poland and other countries in that part of the world. Some are excellent. Not so this Mask of Baragus. We truly have landed on a "cursed " island. The HO segments are run of the mill and so are the puzzles. BFG has given us too many games lately that are not at all new. This one certainly had some cobwebs lifted before being offered as the new game of the day. It might have had some appeal a few years ago. Given that games have reached a much higher level of sophistication, Cursed Island just cannot fill the bill. New players to the genre might find it OK, but I can't fathom that any veteran HOG /HOPA player could ever want to spend good money for this mess. Avoid it!!
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring! I used a credit to get this game having read the other reviews. I wish I hadn't bothered. I found it really dull. Graphics gave me a headache, the HOs were very boring and the puzzles not much better. I deleted it after 20 minutes and only played that long cos I thought it might get better...
Date published: 2014-12-04
  • y_2019, m_10, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_22069, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Cursed Island: Mask of Baragus

Breaking news – Casey's father has gone missing on a remote island that carries a curse! Help Casey overcome the obstacles and solve this mystery!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.