Silent Nights: Children's Orchestra Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Silent Nights: Children's Orchestra Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(472.66 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Dark Blue Games, creators of Silent Nights: The Pianist, comes another unique and thrilling musical tale!

You rose from the ashes of a family tragedy to become a famous French soprano. Now your daughters are following in your musical footsteps, and you couldn't be more proud. But on the night of a prestigious concert in Italy, a fire breaks out, and a mysterious masked man leads your children away! Follow a trail of secrets and deception to find the masked man and save your daughters before they fall victim to a dangerous experiment. You'll need all your talent to decipher clues and solve complex puzzles in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Learn the secret of your family's violin in the bonus game!
  • Wallpapers, concept art, and more!
  • Gorgeous music tracks from the game
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 970 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Silent Nights: Children's Orchestra Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(472.66 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Silent Nights: Children's Orchestra Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eventually I Liked It. I will admit that after 15 minutes into playing the demo I did not like it, the graphics were grainy and the game play far too easy. After the fire on the stage the mother (who did not sound distraught over the loss of her 2 children) picked up an object from her handbag saying something along the lines of "I never leave home without my tuning fork"! She then used it once in the same scene and we never saw it again! That's when I thought "Oh please, are you for real"! However I like to give a game the benefit of doubt and continued playing the demo, the graphics became better, I did not experience a 10 second blackout when changing scenes as others have said, and the game opened in widescreen for me. BTW - in the main menu there is a box you can tick to get widescreen although I didn't have to as the game started in widescreen. We all have different systems so we all get different start-up systems. For me it pays to have 9 grand-monsters with an age range of 4 to 18 years who help me work it out #a little tip for any Grandmas out there, the 10-12 year olds are the best to ask#. Levels: Casual, Advanced, Hard - no Custom. I chose to play in Casual as I wasn't in the mood for Hard. Chapters: There are 6 chapters and a Bonus Game, as I haven't finished the game the 3 chapters I played were of a decent length. HOS - all were interactive. Mini-Games and Puzzles - There are a lot of them which is something I really like no matter how hard they are - I have spent hours doing some puzzles as I do not like being beaten! However I would say these ones were fairly easy but some took a bit of time #5 minutes#. If you hate mini games or puzzles this might not be the game for you, but check it out first. Game Play - logical but there are a few scenes that are a bit obscure. Collectibles - There are dragon emblems to collect and they are pretty much "in your face" usually when you have completed a mini-puzzle/game, once you have clollected three you are automatically shown a page with a story about the family or the evil Draco! In my opinion - this was a fairly relaxing game and exciting in places, although it had it's moments of confusion but then it could have been me as I was meant to be working so rushed through it. Please do not dismiss a game after only 15-20 minutes of play, finish the demo and then think about it.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from eyecandy!! exellent grafic!! great puzzles!! easy access to needed items!! sceptic at first very spoiled when it comes to grafic and music!! both great!!! love different puzzles and actions and that i dont have to run all over the place back and forth!! not very patient in some actions so love the fast hint and skip mode!! all in all a must have!!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally enchanting I just started this game and I must confess that I am the one who always seek for a perfect game. I think I almost found it. This game is enchanting. Love it - must hurry back to the game - I want to find out what happens next.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds & So On ... A Sinister Game With Plenty Of Twists & Turns ... Deserves A Few More Positive Reviews ... A Bit Too Much Back-Tracking ... A Great Value Game On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Of Completed Game This is the second game for the Silent Nights. The first is The Pianist. I played and reviewed that back in March 2012. I didn't much care for that one. This current game Children's Orchestra is definitely an improvement for me and stands alone. 6 Chapters plus bonus game 3 play modes that can be changed at any time during the game. I played most of the game in advanced mode. The hardest mode. I had no sparkles. Most of the black bar tips were replaced with a "Hmmm" comment however even though it said ALL are disabled I still had a few. I didn't use the hint at all but the skip is painfully slow. I just switched over to casual mode to skip a few of the puzzles. I thought the skip was slow in that mode as well. There is a transporter map. GAME PLAY: I thought this was pretty linear for the most part that is the "adventure" side (back/forth) however more into the game there is some back/forth and going back as far as the beginning of the game. This also seemed to be more puzzles than HOS. Throughout the game you also find dragons (21 total) for decryption to create music. When you find 3 of them a "secret file" will unlock. The "secret files" are done in black and white cut scenes and will tell you the history of the Deux family and why the children are in danger. You can also replay the cut scenes if you wish. There are 5 secret files in main game (15 dragons) and 2 secret files in bonus game (6 dragons) The "dragons" are NOT CE extras. These are just part of the game. HOS: These are found in several ways: Standard word list and silhouette with some interaction, find & use, and misplaced items where you place the objects back into the scene. I quite enjoyed these. I had no problem here but then I usually do enjoy these cause I'm a fan of them. PUZZLES: Most the usual run of the mill but some did have a different twist/take on them. Some I haven't seen before. All can be skipped. Some have a reset button. These varied in challenge for me. I did skip a few of these. As for CE extras: Bonus Game Strategy Guide 24 Achievements 10 Wallpapers 24 Concept Art 8 Music Overall Impression: I thought the graphics just great and very fitting to the game. I also really liked how it changed from day to night and traveling back/forth in the jeep across the lake. The only part that was grainy for me were the cut scenes. It didn't bother me one bit. I quite liked them. The characters and voices a well done though I wish my character playing the mom had a voice. There was just text to read there. Oh and the masked man could of been just a bit more frightening. The music is also fitting and appropriate to the game since this is "orchestra." With the exception of a bit too many puzzles for me and the snail slow skip button which I hope to see a CUSTOM mode from this developer their next game offering I enjoyed the game play while on the easy side for the most part and the story. The main game does have a conclusion however since I've played the bonus game this is were the true ending is. I was surprised by the bonus chapter. I enjoyed this as well. The main game was 6 hours for me and the bonus was an hour. . I also found all the dragons which weren't hard to locate and earned 22 out of the 24 achievements. I had no tech issues or slow loading between scenes. Overall 4 stars from me. Thanks Dark Blue Games and Big Fish for a very good game.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY AND ENJOYABLE Silent Nights is a good game for casual easy play and probably not ideal if you are looking to be challenged. Yet, there are times when lulling around hits just the right note (sorry... I couldn't resist. After several hours of musical puns it starts to wear off). And music is most definitely at the heart of the storyline and puzzles. The story unfolds by finding amulets throughout the game revealing a history of scientific experiments designed to heal people through music The catch... it must be played by a a very talented musician who is drained of their life force when attempting to heal others. So when 2 child prodegies are kidnapped as retribution for a scientific experiment gone awry, their mother, another virtuoso, comes to the rescue. The graphics are clear and crisp, the HO scenes are interactive and standard fare as are the mini-games which are comprised mostly of puzzles (putting mosaics back together or completing a sequence of events all calling for basic logic). There is an interactive map which is a very useful timesaver as well as task organizer. Although there are no real surprises, the game is well-paced. The music, in my opinion, was suprisingly mediocre for a game with a musical plot, but again I recognize that this is very subjective. But I will admit to lowering the music volume several times which I rarely do. I think this is a good game to relax with and perfect for people who are essentially new to adventure games. I would absolutely recommend buying the SE and (if necessary) buying the guide seperately although the play is actually quite standard across the board.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good storyline! This is the 2nd of the silent nights I have played and I like this storyline and it stays in harmony with the first one. I think the writers did a good job. I hate when stories take on the super natural in the middle of the regular storyline and it didn't happen in this game. The graphics and sound are really good, movie like in appearance. The level of challenge is good its not a very easy game which no one should want to play and its not too difficult where its frustrating...its definitely worth the time spent playing. My only complaints was that I started the game and went far and exited to continue and finish today, but it erased my progress...not cool, and so I had to start again. The first game never had that issue. Also it takes a while to get back to some objectives, it wouldve been nice if you could portal or jump back but I guess thats a part of the challenge. ' I enjoyed and recommend the game!
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Silent Nights- Lots to do. Lenghtly Game This game may not have the "blings" lots of gamers like but the puzzles are really different and fun to play. Lots of things to do alittle running around but the map was really handy to do this. Graphics may not be so great (old style) but I saw through this and really enjoyed the game. I was hesitant at first but with the buy one and get one free I bought it and dont regret it. The game took me alittle over 6 hours to play with a few breaks in between. I really didnt miss the morphs, collectables etc because I really liked the length of the game and all there was to do. I thought the dev did well inventing different puzzles to do, some needed the strategy guilde to see what the pictures looked like in a few of the puzzles. Well anyway I really enjoyed it. I dont do many reviews but I had to on this one just because there were no "blings" and a few reviewers stated it was not CE worthy. To me it was, like I said because of the length and the many things to do. The bonus game ended the main story. You needed this to find out the story of the violin. The part where you had to write a music score to do a puzzle was something I have never seen done in a game. Hats off to these devs most of us have never heard of.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Breath of Fresh Air! BASED ON DEMO FULL RATING: 4 1/2 STARS This developer has only one other title under their belt, and I didn't play said title, so I wasn't really familiar with them. This is a sequel to their only other title. I must say, this game is really good! Quite a good change from the games we've been getting lately! I really enjoyed the story. From my understanding, this story follows the same character as the previous game, which is nice. The story began well. I thought the opening was a little confusing at first, but then it was explained later on, so it made sense. As far as drama goes, this isn't your high-octane shock-a-minute type story. It builds up the suspense through small events and a great backstory. So there wasn't really much to go on when judging with twists and turns, but what there was, it was great. The twists that happened were quite unexpected, and it really kept me interested in the story and the game. The demo ended on a really good note, too. (no pun intended!) Part of the story's suspense was delivered through the backstory, which was told through various secret files. The secret files could be listened to by collecting three figurines per file. Each file told part of a backstory which was very relevant to the game. It added excitement to the story and made me enjoy it a lot more than I already was. Overall, this is a really good story. I can't wait to see how it ends. With HOPA games these days, we're all accustomed to seeing fantastic features and jazzed up, super long, super interactive HOS. Well, this game didn't have that, but that's what made it so fun! The HOS are by no means jazzed up. They are pretty much the HOS you used to find before developers started going crazy with them, and that's what I most enjoyed about it. I really appreciated the simplicity and variety of HOS. The HOS came in many different forms: Junkpile, progressive silhouette and replace the item. Just because they were simple doesn't mean they were cinch; I actually struggled with them a couple of times! In terms of quantity, the developers have done a good job here. There are 4 HOS in the demo, which is just right for me. The HOS are well-spaced out too. I enjoyed the puzzles too. They were a welcome change from the repetitive bore we've been seeing lately. I was able to solve the majority of them, but I needed to skip one. The puzzles, too, varied in challenge from easy to a little challenging, which I appreciated. No matter how tough they were, I enjoyed playing them, and they actually made me want to solve them, which doesn't happen too often! Similar to the HOS, the puzzles were of a good quantity (5 in the demo) and well spaced out. Just because there are HOS and Puzzles doesn't mean the adventure component has been forgotten. I actually found it to be present a lot more than usual. I hate it when developers pile on HOS & Puzzles and forget about the adventure part, but that wasn't the case here. About half the demo was taken up with the adventure side of things, which is very good. As far as extra features go, this game hit it just right. It wasn't filled to the brim with extra stuff, but rather, had only a singular feature that fit in very well with the game. You won't find any animal helpers or + objects here. Instead we have the music sheets. These music sheets can be used to record melodies, which are found at various points in the game. Recording the melodies is actually needed for the game to progress. The melodies are answers to various codes throughout the game. I thought tying in the feature with the game's theme was a really smart move. I really enjoyed this feature and hope it will be used a lot more as the game progresses. The game's basics have been done pretty well too. The map works really well and is different to most. There are three modes of difficulty and the hint works well. However, I was dismayed to see that, once again, there was no diary. I don't know how many times I'll have to say this for the developers to get it through their heads. DIARIES ARE IMPORTANT! They actually help me to remember early parts of the story, and I just like to read the entries. Developers... BRING BACK THE DIARY! The graphics were good. They weren't the best I've ever seen, but they were still done pretty well. The scenes are done with detail, and I liked how the game progressed from dusk to nightfall as it would in real life. Good job to the developers on this. I also liked how every scene was clear and the character designs were life-like. There is also lip-synch in the game, which is always a good sign. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Hard and Advanced. Differences are standard. The hardest mode is good because there are no black bar tips and the hint is still active. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- Both recharge at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected, so there was no hand holding, but it wasn't slow either. Hint is useful outside HOS. Map- The map is interactive and is helpful. It lets you know where there are tasks to complete. It works different to most; you have to click on the area you want to go, then move your mouse over the picture of that area and click. This was a nice change, Music Sheets- This was a great feature as it tied in with the game's theme. Also quite fun. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions Achievements- some story based, some gameplay based. Story based ones are in question marks (???) to begin with so there are no spoilers as to what will happen. Wallpapers Concept Art Music WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Hands down, the SE. The CE doesn't even come close to being worth it. The developers were really stingy on the bonus content, much to my disappointment. There aren't even any collectibles, which are, in my opinion, a necessary CE Extra. The developers need to do a much better job of making their games CE worthy, because it will lose them a lot of money. MY PROGRESS There are 2 chapters in the demo. I finished the two chapters with 36 minutes left on my demo, which equates to me finishing the demo in 54 minutes. This is longer than most demos and gives me the hope that this will be a lengthy game. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It felt nice to take a step back from the overly interactive stuff and play a HOPA like the way it used to be. I will definitely be buying the SE to continue the adventure. It may look old-fashioned, but this is one of my most favourite games to come out in recent times.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Variation with the HO scenes, and cinematic window scenes! Fun. Based only on the demo..... I liked how interactive this game was. I LOVED how they took the small window game play and turned them cinematic. This was also done in FRIGHT and I love the way this looks! This was done when you need to collect a wooden doll for a puzzle but it falls off the balcony. Later you come back for it with a gaff. They storyline what was lacking in this game. The bad guy is running around with a stupid mask and trys to scare the main character by playing his violin.....ok. not. scary.... But other than that, I will buy the standard version of this game, the collectors edition is lacking as well. Another lure for me is games that SEGMENT game play into different short storys, if you'd had us save 4 different children (in various distress and the bonus play a 5th child to save, it ALWAYS sells games, such as in Redemption Cemetary, Reinicarnations, and Mysteries of the Mind Coma, House of 1000 doors.... PLEASE DEVELOPERS.... I WILL ALMOST ALWAYS BUY A GAME THAT OFFERS SCREENSAVERS.... wallpapers and behind the scenes how the game was made....again, see Fright.) but stop trying to lure us with concept art and music tracks.... who cares, whenever I read these coll ed reviews it seems NONE OF WE MEMBERS CARES FOR CONCEPT ART OR MUSIC TRACKS!
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT "NOTE"WORTHY ENOUGH TO MAKE IT A MASTERPIECE CE I like this game but am not blown away by its awesomeness. It is a nice little elevator "muzac" SE to play on a boring day as opposed to a heart pounding work of art which we expect in a CE., THIS IS SHORT OF BEING CE WORTHY. It may be longer than other games; however, I prefer "quality over quantity." There is no ability to customize the game. The graphics are old school and the inventory is not interactive. The puzzles are not challenging. However, the storyline is intriguing to me. Since I like certain parts of this game, it has been hard for me to assess this game, especially after last week's "spooktacular" offerings. LEVELS: There are three levels with the hardest level not allowing the skipping of puzzles. There is no customized version. GRAPHICS: The only thing I disliked about the game. The graphics appear grainy and blurry on my computer. SOUND OF/AND "MUZAC" - Operatic and symphonic overtones abound in this game. INVENTORY, HOP SCENES, PUZZLES: The inventory is NOT interactive. The HOP scenes are puzzle-like and well-done. They consist of junk piles, silhouettes, and placement of items into the scenes. The puzzles are fairly elementary. EXTRA GOODIES: You must collect buttons for decryption to create music which unlocks episodes of the history of the Deux family. A map is provided at the beginning of the game. You have a music translation device which writes down music for the various musical sounds you hear throughout the game. You use this encryption to open locks.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bland Recital "Sparks" A Hot Pursuit The setting: You are at the North Italy Music Festival listening to your daughters, Amelie and Bernadette, play in the children's orchestra. Suddenly a fire breaks out in the theater and your children are led away by a mysterious masked man. I do not want to give away too much, but this all has to do with "the healing power of music." (Note: this is the second in the series, the first tile is The Pianist which I have not played) In somewhat of a paradox, even though you play the girls' mother (she is also a musician), you perform a lot of non-musical, non-feminine tasks in this game. One thing that you do musically is transcribe music into written form. You'll do this over and over you help you to progress. However, you'll also shoot machine guns, repair tractors and other mechanical things. Throughout the game there are small symbols to collect which, when you have the set of three, which will unlock a "secret file." These files fill in the back story about why your children are in danger. Other than these, there are no other collectibles or morphing objects. There is a jump map - or rather a display of locations - and a journal. Hidden objects scenes are infrequent as this game presents more puzzles than HO's Types encountered were simple list with interaction, put back in place, and progressive. Puzzles and mini-games were a nice twist, none were very difficult but every one fit nicely into the arts and music theme of the story. The drawing was a little grainy, but I did not mind. This is a dark story, so bright, shiny and clear would not be appropriate. A nice touch by the developers has a scene change from day to night as time passes. There's plenty of detail in the surroundings, but I though it was somewhat lacking in the appearance of the other game characters. Voices were mostly good except for the masked man's who was not frightening enough for my tastes. This Collector's Edition has a strategy guide (two chapters in demo) and the usual pseudo extras. I had to consult the strategy guide only because the instructions for a mini game were unclear. It does remember your last page. I enjoyed playing the demo, I liked the puzzles and was interested in the story, but is it worth the price of a CE? Lacking any useful extras, the SE seems to be a better way to conduct this orchestra.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you don't know about music... Was all set to buy this game. Then, came to the music sheet part. I know zero about music, and there is no skip or reset button. In other words, BEFORE you start this, if you are like me, check the SG. Don't know if there are a lot of these sheets, but it turned me off.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Save your Children from Draco and the Master! This game has an interesting premise, but one that we've seen before. Talented artists, in this case your children, are kidnapped and force to play their musical instruments until they are drained, in order to heal someone. You are Yvette Deux, whose virtuoso children Amelie and Bernadette have been taken in order to play their music. The story is a good one, but rather easy to follow. The HOS are varied -- a list, "find and use" silhouettes, or replace misplaced objects. The mini-games almost all have a musical theme involving manipulating various musical items. One of my favorites - not musical - involves guiding a villager to his house while using items within the scene to overcome obstacles. None of the mini-games are difficult. An interesting twist is you must record and transcribe music you hear, in order to get the code to open various gates or other items. You also have 5 stories to decrypt by finding the items needed to play the story, which gives background information to move the story along. You have a nice teleporting map, and the lips move during the voice-overs. There are three game modes, including an option for Extra Brightness. The reason this is four stars instead of five, is the CE bling only includes the standard stuff and a bonus game. No collectibles, or souvenir rooms or extra puzzles to solve. I like this game, but it is more of an SE than a CE.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the usual whay it's done. I don't recognize the developer. One of the greats could have done it better. HO'S very good I love that. I guess it's called the graphs not to my liking some are fair and some alright. I was enjoying the game trail was up. I just wish it was done by another.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from simple and old fashioned I have only done the demo but this seems very old fashioned to me like one of the games I might have played 5 or 6 years ago. Yes that long !! Maybe I have played too many of them but there was nothing in this to make me want to go on further. I seem to remember liking the previous The Pianist very much. The most annoying thing to begin with is that there are only three difficulty levels. I chose the middle one because I cannot bear having to wait for 2 or 3 minutes to skip or hint. Frankly at this stage in the adventure gaming world there should be a custom mode. The very basic tutorial came on all the time which you could not delete. Irritating.. The graphics were pretty stiff and, well, old fashioned. Maybe I am jaded but with all the fabulous games out there from other devs this is a poor offering.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Notes to keep Fairly good game. Nice an easy. Not too hard and plenty to do. Nice jump map for all the back and forth. For a collector I wish it had collectables and a bit more types of HO's.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lame Story/Game The devs have suspended reality with this storyline. Your children are playing in a concert & the stage starts on fire. Instead of trying to save the children, the audience runs out of the building...huh! Why weren't the police/fire dept called immediately??? Graphics are ok. Your character does not speak but everyone else does. Characters look a little cartoonish but have some mouth & body movements. The music was ok. I turn it down so that it is not intrusive. Didn't try the map. The hint/skip buttons fill s l o w l y. HOS/Puzzles were interesting/interactive but not terribly challenging. Game plodded along & I didn't find it to be a terribly engaging game. Give the demo a try & decide what you think about the game.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing Special I found this game kind of Ho-Hum and not one I would purchase, especially as a CE, but may consider the SE. Graphics were OK, not crisp or excellent. Level of Challenge was just so-so; too many puzzles but were fairly simple, and HOs were mixed types and were OK. Storyline is nothing new, but could be interesting as the story proceeds. I was not really impressed but would do in a pinch if I was really bored.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AVERAGE GAME I played the complete hour of free play in casual mode and did not see anything that sets this game apart from any other comparable games out there. And there were a couple of things that were annoying enough for me to give it a lower rating. First, the hint button was almost completely useless outside the HOS, often giving only the very annoying phrase of "Nothing more to do in this location". At other times, it would light up an area in the scene or an arrow to leave the current scene to continue. This lack of standardization in the way the hint button works is unbelieveable in this level of a game. There were times when the map also failed. At one point, when I went to the map to find the next active location, it showed all locations locked and no location with an active objective. Yet when I left the map, I was able to move out of the current location into a supposedly locked location to continue play. With the hint button virtually useless and the map not always correct, that leaves the strategy guide to find out where to proceed. This is not something that I like to be forced to do. Going to the strategy guide completely breaks the flow of the game. Plus, I don't like to use the strategy guide unless I am completely stumped, which isn't often. I play games for relaxation and fun. Not being able to progress through the game because I don't know where the next active location is takes all the fun out of a game for me and makes me grind my teeth. I also play the casual level for the same reasons. The HOS were average and did not contain very many items to find. They were interactive so you had to often use some item to find another. As far as the game went, I did not find any truly challenging puzzles/mini games. I also had part of the plot figured out already. And since good has to conquer evil, the ending of the game is pretty obvious. There are achievements to obtain and collectibles. Whenever I start a new game I always check the extra items first because there are often collectibles that are never mentioned when you first start playing. That is the only way I knew there were books to be collected somewhere during the game. There were a couple of other things to do during game play. Collecting 3 of a specific item opened a chapter of the story that was both verbal and written. There is also another button that records music found at various scenes and these notes are used to open various locks. Because this game has a musical theme, I did play the music, but I put it down really low, yet it still started to annoy me by the end of the hour. As usual, the music is repetitive which increases its annoyance factor. I did like the fact that I could shut off everything but the voiceovers, which were OK. As I said, I played the whole hour and during that time, the task never changed; find a blank sheet of music. I don't think this game is worth the money, even on sale.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hidden Object I found that there was too much running around. I was not impressed with game; what a waste.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Family Violin I'm not a hard person to please, but I found little or no entertainment value, and nothing in the extras worthy of a Collectors Edition. There has only been one other game in this series, The Pianist, which was released in March of 2012, with similar review ratings suggesting that after two years they still didn't get it right. This game is centered around the Deux family and a prized violin that has been in the family for years. Of course the mystery part comes into play when a cloaked masked figure sets fire to the stage where the Deux children, Amelie, and Bernadette were performing, and has the children follow him while everyone in the audience flees in panic. You calmly follow after this man trying to get your children back, but he's always one step ahead of you. I say let him go at this point because it doesn't improve. Because you are a Deux, you are able to write down the notes of any melody you hear, birds whistling, music playing etc. This is actually part of the game, when you hear music you push a button to bring up a blank music sheet and the notes are automatically added. Then when you come across locked compartments scattered about you will turn the combination dial until the notes on the lock match the notes on the paper, the locks become progressively harder each time. There is also a feature that decrypts a short story each time you find the missing symbols, I'm assuming the stories will eventually tie together to solve the mystery at hand. The Hidden Object Scenes weren't bad, with progressive interactive silhouetted shape finds, interactive list finds and even replacing items back into the scene, it would seem that theres bound to be HO to please almost everyone. The Mini games were at times difficult, but very creative (the reason i gave this game two stars was because of the mini games) my favorite was placing arches in various places on a maze so that a ball would float it's way through the maze as you raised and lowered the water levels, very cool twist to the labyrinth game. This Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, Concept Art, Music (naturally) 24 Achievements, a Bonus Chapter and a built in Strategy Guide. Either I missed a whole lot of extras or this is just not up to CE standards.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Same Game Different Title. Based on 30 minutes of the 90 minute demo. It was so bad I couldn't eve finish the demo. It's about 2 little girls who are very promising musicians. While at a school recital with other children, a fire breaks out on stage and the 2 girls are kidnapped. The mother sets out to find them. It's really unbelievable that no one but the girls mother stuck around to put out the fire. You never see what happens to the other children -- were they also abducted? And using a tuning fork to turn on water to the fire hose? Please. Besides this being boring, there are long delays changing between every scene you touch on. The screen goes black for about 10 seconds. This is unforgivable. Lastly, there is nothing I can see that makes this a CE. Please play the demo to make up your mind. For me this is a looser (IMHO) and I don't recommend it.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from what is with the opera music i cant even get started with this game because of the constant opera howling in the background. i have to turn the sound off. its really strange to me that the people who design these games think that the majority of people what to listen to scales in opera for hours on end while they play a game.just ruins it for me... thumbs down on this..too bad i would have liked to try it but just to distracting and irritating to me
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring snoring! This storyline has been done to death, and much better. This is not a CE game. The graphics were poor and the map and hint button not much better. Its annoying to have to collect the music sheets, and put the codes in all the time. Disappointed, always look forward to thursdays game but couldnt even finish the demo.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looking For Lost IQ Points Once more you are rescuing your child/children. Once more the badies take them for obscure reasons. Once more a parent acts like a complete imbecile - and since I had to be that dolt, I'm looking for the intelligence I lost playing this game. You are a famous soprano with two musically gifted daughters who are performing in a concert at their music school. A fire breaks out and the adults save themselves while a strange masked man conducts the kids away from the fire. The fire department is MIA, so you put out the fire and set off in pursuit of the masked man and the child musicians, including your daughters. Along the way you stop to do a variety of tasks that demonstrate just how uninterested you are in getting them back. You spend time reviving the head mistress who soon locks you out of the building on a balcony. You run back and forth incessantly while the villain wanders the area and taunts you, leaving clues to the story line and leading you NEXT door, where he has cleverly "hidden" your two children, after loosing all the other kids. After seeing the girls through the front door of the house, you set out to change a tractor tire! This storyline is beyond bad. The game itself has some interesting puzzles, interactive and varied HOPs, some acting, and decent artwork. There are three levels of play. Darkness can be adjusted in the Options menu. Toward the end of the demo, night falls. I took a hint and escaped with some small semblance of my brain intact!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not play like a CE I paid for a collectors addition and got a so so SE. The story was trite, a mother rescuing her kidnapped daughters. The mini games were repetitive and not challenging. Obstacles were overcome with simple one step solutions; with objects needed usually in close proximity. I at least expected a bonus game, but there was not even that.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Been there...done that Yet another story about the kids getting taken...snore! Combined with a tedious story are really corny voice overs (the villain sounds like he is channeling Lon Chaney), poor artwork and mind numbingly simple puzzles. Add in having to find music sheets and then transcribing the notes to get codes to open things. Really annoying (plus the puzzle to enter the code is extremely easy each time...makes you wonder why they even bothered). Also, the transcribing part has the worst scritchy noise! Liken it to nails on the chalkboard....beyond horrible. Once you get moving there are WAY too many interruptions for dialogue; totally unnecessary and completely ruins the flow. The cursor is clumsy and you need to click on things more than once to pick them up from your inventory...always bugs me! There is a transporting map that tells you there are things to do, which is about the only good thing. I didn't find any extras, so I'm not sure why this is a CE, but then again maybe I missed them, as I really wanted the demo to be over. Yuck!
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Darker than I like but that was not the worst The worst part of this game was that it was dull. I prefer games that are not hard to see due to being dark grainy and with glaring colors...this one was on the verge of being all those visual impeding aspects, but what really turned me off was how lackluster most of the ongoing game mechanics were. Over and over we had to write some music notes and then get them to show up in some puzzle lock that had no real challenge to it. The game demo ends on a cliff hanger in hopes of intriguing us to find out about the strange torture that was being inflicted on the children. I do not believe things will improve and am not buying.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from AWFUL AND VERY OUTDATED!! This is based on demo only. This game looked really fun from the snapshots but was not the case!! The game is very outdated and very boring. The HOS are simple and the puzzles are very easy. Story line was the norm and graphics are just dull. I really wanted to like this game as I was looking for something good to play on this cold day. Great for a beginner but would not pay $13.99 for the CE or $6.99 for the standard and probably would not use a GCC either...Sorry BF this game was a big strike out IMO....
Date published: 2014-10-30
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_21849, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Silent Nights: Children's Orchestra Collector's Edition

A fire breaks out during a concert, and now your daughters are both missing. Hurry to track them down – their music may hold the key to life and death!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.