Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(600.94 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

This holiday season, Elephant Games invites you to enjoy another installment of the best-selling Christmas Stories brand!

Bundle up and prepare for an exciting adventure this holiday season! After receiving a desperate letter from your old nut-cracking friend, Albert, you rush to help him. When you arrive, you learn that the Rat King's evil wand has fallen into the hands of a vengeful baron, and now three innocent people – including Albert – have been turned into toys! Team up with the Nutcracker and your new friend, the Tin Soldier, to fight trolls and destroy the Baron's curse in this delightful Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Two bonus games featuring everyone's favorite cast of cats!
  • Three extra puzzles that unlock animated screensavers
  • Collectible presents with surprises inside
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, and concept art
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1515 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(600.94 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition I was kind of disappointed in this game. I liked the others better. That being said I don't regret buying it. I wish they would let you go back to find the missing puzzle pieces or any cat boxes you might have missed. I wish there had been a little more fun and different stuff in this game. I feel like game makers are all doing the same not coming up with anything different. I love elephant games,but hope they step up their game
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Forget all you know about the story! Another year and another saccharine Christmas fairy tale game, from these developers. This is 3rd in the ‘Christmas Story’ series and is a good feel-good festive game, which is in my opinion far superior to last year’s effort. I make no apologies for my slight negativity towards the Americans ‘sugar-coating’ of the proceedings but this was not done to the nth degree as I feel last year’s game was. This is a very loose sequel to the 2012 game that these developers released based on The Nutcracker Suite. I say loose because after a brief mention about rescuing Mary from the King Rat in the original no other mention was given (certainly not in the 90 minute sample version this review is based upon). Not only is it a very loose sequel it is also a very loosely based on the ballet as well. No names are the same as the character list of the ballet, yes they both have a ‘Tin Soldier’ but the names have been changed and characters have been invented, there is no party at the beginning of the game (which was how the scene was set in the ballet), indeed the programmers have in effect made a whole new story based loosely on The Nutcracker Suite. If you can forgive this massive artistic licence and take the game for what it is – a feel good Christmas game – then there is a lot to enjoy about the game. This game is based upon the Hans Christian Hansen (HCA) story of ‘The Tin Solider’ which is loosely based on ‘The Nutcracker Suite’ by Tchaikovsky. The game has deviated a lot from the original story, indeed it is possibly bordering on copyright infringement with regards to the developers interpretation of the story and the actual story. There is a slight mention to the 2012 game from the developers in the fact that as the ‘Tin Solider’ (Charlie) rescued Mary from the King Rat then maybe he can help again. The story separation from this game to the original story is so deep that even the beginning of the story has ‘inaccuracies’, for a start the HCA version festivities was a Birthday and not Christmas, the ‘Tin Solider’ did not lose his leg through war but because he was the last of the 25 to be cast from the same mould and there was no mention of ‘trolls’ which were prominent in the game. The soldiers did go off to war, though but the solider did not lose his leg because of the war, there was no mention of names either for the ‘Tin Soldier’ or the ballerina but again names were assigned in the game, though I suppose this was plausible in order for the game to have a bit of ‘realism’ about it. The trolls were prominent in the game, indeed they ‘helped’ the ‘Tin Solider’ with his injuries and early on in the game you were tasked with having to rebuild the soldier, from a mould, thus not enough silver thus the one leg, here was a similarity but under different circumstances. The game was as a whole a series of contradictions and loose connections with the actual story. There was no ‘Jonah and the Whale’ moment in the game, indeed that fairly major bit of the story was ‘glossed over’ by an interactive story puzzle. I won’t go on as I think I have made my point with regards to the very loose tie-in with the story. Gameplay The gameplay is good the mouse movements are intuitive, and there is no harsh penalties for not being able to click exactly when it comes to the HO scenes, some games are I find so finicky with regards to clicking, that it is almost a ‘given’ that you are going to get penalised owing to the object being obscured and the game programing dictates that you have to be super accurate in pointing, this as I say is not the case here and even on ‘hard’ mode, there was a lot of forgiveness with regards to penalties during HO scenes. The scenes themselves were a variety in that sometimes it was a ‘regular’ HO scene where as other variations were to match pairs. This made it fun and the variety helped to not only pique interest but showed that the developers had put thought into the game. The backdrops were interactive also, in most HO games the backgrounds are static and usually when you press things nothing happens, indeed in some you may get ‘penalised’ for ‘random clicking’ where as in this game it was almost encouraged to interact with the background, as objects would ‘light-up’ or ‘pop-open’ making the whole game more immersive and a pleasure to play. The Voice-overs were as ever good and voice synching was as good as ever from these developers, what made me smile though was how the developers represented the English (England) accent, it never ceases to amaze me how the Americans like to ‘hear’ their version of the English accent, take it from me only about 2% of the population sound like that. The music was of course taken from the ballet, whilst this was good and obviously representative of the theme, because it was classical music, it sometimes lulled me a bit so I sometimes ‘drifted’ and briefly lost concentration when I was trying to complete parts of the game. This was not necessarily a bad thing it is just that in other HO games the music tends to ‘react’ to the game-play and adds dramatic music when appropriate, the music in this game however was just the ‘tinkling’ of the ‘Sugar Plum Fairy’ and other scores from the ballet. Whilst I have nothing against classical music and can obviously see that this was appropriate, I thought the developers may have introduced other music at times of ‘high drama’ so that the gameplay and the music ‘married’ better. This is just my opinion and others may feel that the whole music was entirely appropriate. Overall If you can forgive the fact that the game was only very loosely based on both the HCA classic and the Tchaikovsky ballet, then it is actually a very enjoyable game and one I would despite the seemingly negativity in the review recommend. If you are only wanting one ‘Christmas’ themed game, then I would certainly download this and the 2012 game as both had good and bad parts, the 2012 did follow more closely the theme of the Nutcracker, whilst this was a more loose interpretation of the ‘Steadfast Solider’. I personally would bypass last years ‘Christmas story’ as IMHO the developers ‘over saccharined’ the grittiness of the Christmas Carol and changed it to an American saccharine interpretation of what was actually a gritty, grim town in ye olde London town. I know this is a long review and may even be a bit ‘confused’ in places, but I feel that I wanted to give people a ‘heads-up’ in the fact that if they thought they were going to play game closely following the HCA story, then I felt it was only right to say that this was actually not to be the case. I would however recommend the game or at least download the trial, because I do think that this is ‘The’ Christmas game to get of the 2014 season.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A change for me.!!!! I enjoyed it. I was not a girl for tales of this kind. Mystery was my cup of tea. But it's the holiday's so I did this one. I love the snow and the hidden objects I love them they put one in that when you find one another appears love that. Now back to the mysteries. More like this are good as well. How about Cinderella and her wicket step sisters. Make it long real long.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too short It took me less than 5 hours to complete the game in beginner.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Gold, not Silver, not even Bronze, just plain Tin Although the story was very promising after playing the demo, I felt let down by the game, especially in comparison to other great Christmas stories. The game itself was good enough, although there were times when what was required was obscure, but it was way too short for a Collector's edition and the Bonus content was very poor. The Bonus chapter had nothing to do with the story, was childish and short. Anyone considering buying this game, wait for the SE (if there is one issued) and keep your credits for true CE games.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but poor value for money This was a good game, progress is rapid and there is just the right amount of running between scenes. the pics are lush and the soldier friend is good. however it is SHORT, only about three hours, and the extras on for collectors edition are poor. I did not get all the jigsaw pieces or miniatures so missed out on two games, there should be an opportunity to get them all before signing out. also the mini games are mostly annoying, I couldn't be bothered with them so skipped and again I missed out getting achievements because of this. so for gameplay and graphics top marks, but for cheating the player I mark this game down. it was not worth £10.80 at all.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I just loved the last two of the Nutcracker series and was so looking forward to this one. But it fell far short of the first two. Graphics etc as usual excellent but the game was very short and hardly a challenge even playing in the hardest mode. There was a couple of games that were different and fun to do but apart from that very disappointed.
Date published: 2014-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Follow up to Previous 2 Games I loved the two previous games and purchased this as soon as it was released. I am very disappointed. Apart from the bright visuals & Nutcracker music, this was not a Christmas story. Length seems to be OK, but maybe that is because I am really not enjoying it much and am hoping it is over soon. I had to go to the forum to get past the first conversation with Ole in the toy shop. Between hints and an SG I should not have to do that. I think the Elephant is churning out too many games and needs to slow down.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth it It plays as a slapped-together for the holidays. Not up to the usual standard of ERS
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly A Melted Tin Soldier I played the entire regular game...though stopped several times due to boredom from the "back-in-forth" maneuvering and predictability of the game...and somewhat very obvious "what to do next!" Started to play the bonus game, but was just plain bored! Also, was unhappy with the new Elephant Games dialog segments of selecting discussion...what a waste of time. Last year's game was very good; the previous year's game was excellent...thus, the Christmas series is going downhill, in my opinion!!! This game is definitely still an above average game, but just a disappointment from the last two games. The game still has the beautiful, vibrantly clear and colorful scenery of the Christmas series, and the music is still classical and delightfully Christmasy. HOS were good, though am tired of the matching items that are hidden beneath items...another new Elephant Games theme. Would have liked finding morphing objects (if there were some, I totally missed them).
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from played better Not my favorite a little slow and dull to me. Like more action.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Christmas game This game is almost perfect except is much to short. If I had paid full price, I would have been very disappointed. The bonus game is also very short but cute. Story is great, artwork is beautiful, characters are cute, fun with great voices and the music is wonderful. Just wish it was longer and more challenging.
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The series keeps going downhill Too gimmicky for my taste with weak puzzles. Played about 20 minutes and just could not help but feel like there was no challenge...just marching through way too obvious steps. The Nutcracker was great; Christmas carol okay but I doubt I'll buy this one even in SE. Probably wouldn't even use a coupon on it. Sure could use a good game but stunning graphics just isn't enough.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DISAPPOINTING I was looking forward to this and even considered buying it without playing the demo. Frankly, I'm a bit disappointed. There's a lot of narration from the soldier, about his being a POW and losing his leg, which went on far too long. OK, I did play in Casual mode, but it seemed too easy - pretty much kids' stuff. Nothing exciting or new, I'd hoped more from Elephant. Maybe I'll buy it - but only because I've got a couple of credits in my account.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring Boring and short. The first two Christmas Stories were excellent .This one fell way short. Felt like it was made especially for children. Visually it is great.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I thought it would be good for kids....was I ever wrong !! When the Nutcracker came out last year I found it quite charming and innocent. I bought it and had a wonderful time playing it with a 7 year old grandson. He thoroughly enjoyed the game. I don't feel as though this game is appropriate for anyone under teenage status. I do not want to involve a youngster with a game that has as part of its focus a war, getting a main character shot and losing a leg as a result. There is time enough when kids get older to be introduced to the trials and tribulations of the real world. So for me the Tin Soldier surely does not work on that level. As an adult, I found the story somewhat preposterous. I realize there must be a degree of poetic license in developing games that have an actual tale to work from. In this case, the Hans Christian Anderson fable is stretched almost beyond recognition. Therefore the story totally fails to garner my attention. The game does have some pluses. Visually it is stunning. The game has some very interesting puzzles and some of them need lots of thought to successfully complete. There are collectible jigsaw pieces and some other items that I fail to recall what they are since the game did not grab me enough to ever care what they were. I'm not a big fan of games that are limited to a particular holiday. A game must be highly interesting of its own accord for me to consider a purchase. Tin Soldier doesn't cut it. As the Christmas season gets nearer, I'll probably revisit the Nutcracker game which is quite good. I give this installment 3 stars because it is not a totally bad game, yet it is one that i cannot recommend primarily due to the story line. This is a season of joy and hope for better things to come. A story that includes war, severe injury and kidnapping is far from joy and hope. Too bad, this might have been fun were it more pleasant in the story.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Put Me To Sleep I am finding this game quite boring and cannot wait to get to the end. The graphics are beautiful but the music is irritating. Put me right off the Nutcracker Suite and in some areas was just a whine. Turned the sound off in the end. Very disappointed as I loved the previous games and this one looked good. The HOPs are good and the mini games interesting but this whole thing is just not ringing my bells.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Piece Of Coal At the Bottom Of The Stocking Title sums up my feelings. You get all excited, it's Christmas morning, the stocking looks full to bursting, but when you get down to that last mystery in the toe, it's just lump of coal. Great smaltzy graphics, so surgery it hurts your teeth and nothing of substance. And very short. I'm beginning to develop an aversion to the Pachyderm games. It's a shame because the overall concept is good, "let's put out a Christmas game that ticks all the boxes when it comes to cliche'ed imagery" to put people in a good, over sentimental mood. I can go for that, it's Christmas. But why do everything else so badly? Storyline, challenge, logic, interest are all missing. The bonus games are not worth bothering with.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Game slow I played the free trial of this game and loved it. However, when I purchased the rest of the game, and installed it, the game is now slow and I cannot play it at all, since everything is too slow. I don't understand why the free trial would play smoothly and the actual full game would have a different effect. I am very disappointed that I spent money to purchase this game and now cannot play. I don't have this problem with any of the hundreds of games I have bought on Big Fish.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointment! Very short game for two game credits!
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I have never been so disappointed that I wished I had not bought a game before, The story did not hold together and had no continuity. The puzzles were not challenging even once, I found them tedious and boring. The game play was rather linear. I felt that the game was rushed and unfinished and certainly did not live up to my expectations. To be totally honest, I gave up on BDG about 2 years ago when policies started changing and I no longer had a community. I decided to give it one more shot to see if I was wrong, This game was not the answer, To me, it lacked everything that drew me to HOG game play. not near enough of the traditional and nothing new worth sharing. Better luck next time developers.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tin Soldier Rings Hollow I liked the original Nutcracker game quite a bit. Visually the two games are remarkably similar. In fact, in that respect this one surpasses the first. However, not only did I not like this game, I actually disliked playing it and that is quite rare. I did not connect with any of the characters. As some have noted, the story line deals with some mature themes which is fine, yet the game play itself seemed to be aimed towards children. There are plenty of things to do and find: cats, puzzle pieces, etc. though I found nearly half the 36 puzzle pieces by the end of the demo. The drawing and cut scenes are excellently done and there is an immersive atmosphere. But the characters and game play I found to be just too silly - even for a fantasy style adventure. And the puzzles were beyond tedious, particularly the one where you mix a potion. That seemed to be designed only to take as long as possible. I won't be buying this as a CE or even SE. There are plenty of things in real life that can be annoying without purchasing one more. Sorry Tin Soldier, you're on your own this time.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All that glitters is not gold.... Using pretty, stylized Christmas graphics, throwing in snow & decorations does not a Christmas tale make. The first narrator was good, the balance of the voice acting I didn't care for especially the main character's voice. As for visuals, they were were excellent, overall sound was in keeping with the game, yet there was no 'Christmas" tale here IMHO, Hans Christian or otherwise. It felt more as though I was more watching a cartoon rather than playing a "Christmas" themed game as it had literally no 'substance' that would deem it in that category and, in addition, what storyline was there was lost in too much busy kookiness. I'll pass.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring really enjoyed the first one this didnt feel chrismassy at all and is very short.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a letdown! I bought and played this game based on how much I liked the previous ones: Nutcracker and Christmas Carol. This game was so below par!!! It was extremely short, the bonus games (2) were less than 10 minutes each, the challenge and enjoyment was completely absent. The only good thing, I got it on sale. I cannot recommend this game unless you get the SE w/ a PCC, otherwise don't bother!
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Really? I paid the full CE price for that? I thought it was a pretty short game for the price, but I haven't played the bonus portion yet - Maybe afterwards, I'll feel like I got my money's worth? The graphics were nice and the mini games challenging enough - I was just shocked when it ended. I also opted to purchase The Christmas Carol on special when purchasing this one. Maybe that one is better - but it was cheap. I'd recommend this game when/if it goes on sale.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A lump of coal I don't feel this game is anywhere near the quality of the first two of the Christmas Stories. I found it boring and didn't finish the trial version. Explanations of mini games were vague and I skipped most, since I wasn't interested enough to try to figure them out. Despite the graphics, the plot didn't seem to fit the Christmas theme.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I am basing this solely on the CE trial edition. I played the trial in two different installments. I found it frustrating on multiple levels. The hint didn't work at times. Was not helpful at other times. The game was frustrating overall and wasn't even enjoyable. What made it worse was the lack of help, no walkthrough. Most disappointing! :((
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Watching paint dry. As others have said, this was a very short game; thank goodness for that, it saved me from being bored all afternoon. The first two in this series were fun, entertaining and provided good play. This, however, seemed like something that has been churned out because it was Christmas and the developer felt obliged to produce something for the festive market. Game play was tedious in the extreme with no real logic to what path should be followed. Puzzles were boring with useless instructions, so much so that I skipped some of them because I couldn't be mithered - always a bad sign. I finished the entire game and bonus and shan't be repeating it in a hurry if indeed I bother at all.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A new take on Christmas I tried twice to find a reason to finish the demo and failed both times. Somehow, this is one of the more depressing games purporting to be meant for holiday entertainment. They should have dropped all pretense and simply made it a Christmas FPS! Ho Ho Ho? nah! Bah Humbug to the pachyderm!
Date published: 2014-12-04
  • y_2022, m_1, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_21870, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Christmas Stories: Hans Christian Andersen's Tin Soldier Collector's Edition

The Rat King's wand has fallen into the hands of a vengeful baron. Team up with your new friend, the Tin Soldier, to stop him!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.