Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.49 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Hot off the presses! EleFun Games, creators of the best-selling Witches’ Legacy series, invites you to check out a thrilling new issue of Fear for Sale!

The owners of the Hotel Berkeley are desperate – something has been scaring off their guests, and it could very well be a ghost! As an experienced journalist in the field of paranormal phenomena, they’ve called you in to figure out what’s happening. All you have to do is spend the night in a haunted room… But the mystery you start to unravel once the haunting begins is even stranger than you imagined. Will you be able to solve the mystery before morning? Find out in this chilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Discover the Berkeley family's demonic history in the bonus game!
  • Find collectibles and morphing objects
  • Earn special Achievements
  • Get wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art
  • Use the available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1068 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.49 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW WHAT A GREAT GAME This is my first review of a game, but I loved this game so much I had to say so. I have completed the CE game and the additional bonus chapter, and was sorry it had to end. ( I never play the additional chapter) because by the end of the game I'm ready to go on to the next one. I liked that the puzzles were not too hard, because I like to relax when I play after all that's what I play the games for. I thought it was really cute when you clicked on a flower and it bloomed, then click again and it withered. I love the morphing objects and finding the collectables. The map was very helpful and I didn't need a walkthrough. I never even used the strategy guide. I liked this game more than any I have played in a long time. Give it a try. I'm going to play it again and see if I can get all of the achievements this time.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another thrilling Horror adventure in the series!!! Hotel Berkley is haunted, though I don't know what you'd expect from a place with more menacing statuary than rooms and peeling wallpaper, exposed wiring, and spiderwebs abound. While the guests have been fleeing in fear from apparitions and nightmares, including one woman whose husband is trapped inside when she bravely runs off to leave him to fend off the green ghostly stink fog himself, the hotel owner seems more mildly annoyed by it than anything else. Luckily, she's called you in, a journalist who knows that a leaf blower is the best answer to unruly spooks, and your uncanny ability to notice that the really obvious mechanisms around you might be worth fiddling with. Elefun Games' hidden-object adventure Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys might be more unintentionally funny than freaky as its characters react in really put-upon ways to the cosmic horrors after them, but is still a fun romp for fans of campy horror. As you soon discover, there's a reason for all the passive-aggressive haunting going on, and maybe that whiny hotel keeper knows a bit more than she's letting on. Maybe a good night's sleep will shed some light on things? Either that or pull you into a series of bizarre, distorted nightmares through the machinations of some creepy "hey gurl" looking specter who peeps in through windows at you wearing a top hat. Whichever. This is your standard point-and-click puzzle/hidden-object hybrid, with a few variations to the way the latter is presented to keep it from turning into a simple list-and-scavenger-hunt. There are a lot of minor objects to collect for achievements if that's your bag, and Though the game has the sort of weirdo "why would this item be here of all places" point-and-click object useage, it actually feels a little less egregious here, simply because within the context of the plot you can accept a poltergeist mucking around to lead you to clues about the story. However, it really can't be overstated how much the attitude of some of the characters hampers the atmosphere by making the game funny. When the hotel owner is rebuked from opening the door trapping her guest by a mysterious, menacing green fog, she clucks her tongue and makes the same sort of mildly disappointed, sort of annoyed sound I do when I realize I forgot to buy coffee creamer. It's a little disappointing because the game is trying to be spooky, and winds up coming across as, well, spoopy instead due to inconsistent tone. Oddly enough, however, that winds up being part of the game's charm. The over-the-top weirdness gives it a great sense of character more straight-laced games often lack, and there's enough variety to the story and the puzzles you'll encounter to keep things interesting. It might be a little on the easy side for most players, though even if you find yourself zipping through the puzzles it's of a satisfying enough length to make for an evening's play. The story actually makes for the best parts of the game, largely due to the way it feels like a classic Tales from the Crypt episode with its themes of desperate deals and opportunistic entities, and its flamboyant area design makes for exploring a lot of fun. While Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys might not have the complexity to make it unforgettable, it has a genuine feeling of energy in its concept and design that's compelling all on its own, and is something fans of more fantastical than genuinely ghoulish horror should definitely check out.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta stop starting these games late at night! Well once again I figured I would check the trial out at midnight. Got hooked immediately and had to purchase it. Well now the sun is rising but I finished the game. This is one of those games that, like a good book, you can't put down but are so bummed when it's finished. Well, goodnight all...or should I say Good morning?
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never Disappointed with FFS Ever since FFS started, the game has to keep getting better and better. From McInroy Manor to Sunnyvale, Nightmare Cinema, Phantom Tide and now the 13 Keys, I have never failed to enjoy the storyline. Elefun Games, please don't stop making these FFS games. I love FFS <3
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YOU BETTER NOT FALL ASLEEP ON THIS JOB. A "PHANTASMIC" GAME WHICH HOLDS THE "KEY" TO MY GAMING HEART There is not a ghost's chance I would NOT play this game! I played the demo and LOVED this game and purchased it immediately! To me, this one of the BEST games from the "Fun Elephant." The background is "creepy" involving some strange Hotel owners. Let's put it this way - I would never want to stay at this hotel - EVER! The storyline is excellent and keeps you engaged in the game. There is plenty of action in this game Just seeing the owner, Caroline (who has a strange taste in jewelry - Geesh is that key necklace big enough?) gave me an eerie feeling that this would be an awesome creepy, mysterious game. The hidden object scenes and puzzles are well-crafted. The inventory is interactive. Instead of HOP scenes you can play a jigsaw puzzle instead. The HOP scenes are well-done. They are interactive and puzzle-like. Some are sequential where you must complete one action to before proceeding in the scene. The puzzles are not terribly difficult but more challenging than we have had in some time. I encountered an equal amount of puzzles and HOP scenes. For those who love them - there are myriad of "goodies" in this game. You receive a MAP after you begin playing the game. You receive points within the game for activities. You collect a variety of items - Venetian masks, Gamers, Tourist attractions, and Sweet Tooth items. There are 10 achievements for you to collect. There are also morphing objects. There are also some "Easter eggs" in this game. For example, if you click the picture in the bedroom - it changes into a storm scene. For a foreign developer, I was surprised to see American outlets! I RATE THIS GAME 14 KEYS OUT OF THE 13 KEYS. THE EXTRA "KEY" IS TO HELP YOU FIGURE OUT THE MYSTERY BEHIND THIS GAME,
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Deal's A Deal No Matter What The Price! Staying in room 13 is never a good idea, especially at the Hotel Berkley, where something very paranormal seems to have taken up residence and has no plans to vacate! Out of frustration the Hotel's current owner, Caroline has asked Emma Roberts an investigative journalist to spend the night in room 13 to discover who or what has been haunting this room! Emma is much braver than I am, she turns out the lights (can we at least leave the door open?) and prepares to meet her maker. This is going to be a long night so pack your bags and check into the Hotel Berkley, destination....ROOM THIRTEEN...dun dun dun. Just when you think Fear For Sale couldn't possible get any better, they release The 13 Keys...with even better graphics than the last (still think the water manipulations were top notch) and where do they get the music soundtracks from, is there an orchestra corporation out there that specializes in creepy haunted themes with a touch of demented? Trust me folks there aren't any fuzzy teddy bears or firebreathing dragons along for the ride in this game (well actually there is a fuzzy kitten but she doesn't get a free ride) nope the only thing you get here is Fear, this Fear is for Sale, and this ghost want's paid, "a deals a deal no matter what the price!" I must admit, I'm over the top excited with all the extras this game has crammed into this Collectors Edition. There are plus sign indicators on some of the inventory items that indicate that you will need to interact with that item before using such as opening the package or combining that item with another inventory item. There are lot's of very interesting achievements to earn such as the Exorcist, Ghost Buster, # 1 Fan and the Keymaster, I always recommend reading through the achievements before starting the game, you may want to change the way you play the game in order to earn all available achievements. As I mentioned before, this game is crammed full of extras and they didn't skimp on the Collectibles either, every scene (except HOS) have collectibles. There are 6 Venetian masks to collect, 6 Gamer collectibles, 6 Attraction, 6 Sweet Tooth and 6 Headwear collectibles as well. My favorite feature however, is the Morphing Objects, there are 33 morphing objects to find in every scene except for in the Hidden Object Scenes. You can customize the mode of difficulty and you can choose not to have a tutorial and you can choose to just be shown the special features which I for one really appreciate. The Hidden Object Scenes are well done, some are interactive list finds, and some require you to find several fragmented pieces, however most of the HOS are interactive progressive silhouettes where you find the first object and use that object back into the scene to uncover the next item. If you aren't a fan of HOS you can choose the optional jigsaw puzzle offered. I was really impressed with the mini games which were clever and entertaining but certainly not frustrating. There is a lockpick puzzle where you use directional arrows, up, down, left and right to guide a ball from the left side to the right without hitting the column obstacles. Some columns are stationary, others move either up or down as indicated, but if the ball hits one of these columns it's game over and you have to start over from the beginning (suggest to write down the correct direction as you make it through each column) This Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, Music, 30 Collectibles, 10 different Achievements, a Bonus Chapter, a built in Strategy Guide and a unique point system. You will earn points in several different categories, 250 points for each morph and achievement and 500 points for each Hidden Object Game and Mini Game solved, enjoy your stay, if you dare!
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel? You are Emma Roberts, reporter and paranormal investigator, who is summoned to the Hotel Berkeley by one of the owners, Caroline. Caroline and Sam inherited the hotel from Sam's parents, but Sam is now confined to a wheelchair while Caroline runs the show. There are lots of ghosts and abnormal activities, including the ghost of Sam's father! The atmosphere of the game is great. Emma stays overnight in Room 13, and it transforms into a spooky, decrepit room complete with a one-armed doll and an eye blocking the cupboard. Quite a clever transformation! There is a lot to do in this game, with 5 collections of 5 objects each, plus one morphing object per scene. Your teleporting map not only keeps up with what actions are available where, but which rooms still have objects to be found -- something I definitely need! The graphics and special effects are realistic, along with voice-overs with the character's lips moving. The puzzles are interesting and varied. No two HOS are alike, from completely interactive silhouettes to changing channels on the TV to find more items. There are also the instant "floating piece" puzzles to assemble as well. If you don't like the HOS, you can choose to play a Jigsaw puzzle instead. The mini-games are clever and add to the atmosphere. There are four modes of play, including custom. Just when you think you have rescued Caroline, she captures you instead. Your nightmare will evidently fuel the 13th key to cure Sam. And the demo ends! This game is a lot of fun -- try it yourself and see!
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Spooky Game to Set the Stage for Halloween Ahhh, just in time to ring in Halloween, we have a great spooky ghost story. You play the game as a journalist, Emma Roberts, and you have been invited to investigate a possible haunting. What could be more fun as we count down the days to what some of us consider our favorite holiday? I love this developer who always gives us excellent graphics with top-notch clarity and crispness. The game has superb, lip-synced voiceovers and a sound track that is sure to please those looking for just the right atmosphere in a haunted game. In 13 Keys the map seems to be the only tool we have since I couldn’t find a journal or diary. The map is the interactive transporter type and, if you don’t turn it off in options, will show where you have tasks available and will also indicate when you have found all of the collectibles and morphing objects. Many of you will be pleased to know that there will be no cute furry pet helpers to accompany us on our journey. This review is based only on the game's demo so this might change later in the game but I doubt it as this developer doesn't seem to rely on the furry pet helper to sell its games. Something I appreciate in games from this developer is that they include a wonderful mix of HOPs. We will find the standard list type as well as the progressive silhouette. The list type HOPs always have that special something extra included as we search to claim our prize. Along with the great variety of HOPs we can also look forward to puzzles that are not as mindless as those easy-peasy obligatory puzzles that other developers seem so fond of including in their games. The puzzles in The 13 Keys are excellent and include some thought-provoking challenge. Not all of the puzzles are designed for MENSA members but they are a bit more difficult than the norm. We have morphing objects, finally. Lately they seem to have fallen by the wayside in the recent CE games and some of us love the extra challenge of finding each and every one of them. Just for good measure, along with the morphing objects we also have several different collectible collections hidden throughout the game. The remainder of the CE content is fairly standard. I love games from this developer and for me they seem to have everything I look for in a good game: a great storyline, wonderful graphics, fun HOPs, intriguing puzzles, and most importantly excellent gameplay. Since playing the beta several months ago this game has been one I have been waiting for so it was an instant purchase for me. Even though the game is one I know that I will enjoy, as always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ghosts and Room 13! I have just played the demo only, took around 50 minutes but it seems there is quite a bit more to come. I found myself immersed in the game play and the characters, and by the end of the demo had a fair idea of the background to the scary but confused ghost. Love this developer - clear graphics, good sound and fairly standard HOGS at this point. Puzzles interesting but not too difficult which is why I have downgraded the level of challenge. I kept the music on in the background as it added atmosphere to the story. And no fluffy helpers, none needed. There is a fourth custom level, although the options on this were not many, it has to be said. Still it suited my gameplay although I will use a more difficult level when I start the game again. Will be buying the CE version of the game. The bling, which got me, includes loads of collectables (not sure why yet) and a bonus game. Kept me engrossed, give it a try. At least download the demo version.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to stop.!!! I had to stop since it just may be a buy for me. Sure did not want to. Was happy to see hidden objects for sure. Just hope game is long since I do go through them fast.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4.5 Stars if possible Very good game. I liked it very much. I must have given it 4.5 stars if it was possible
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Top notch storyline, graphics, and music. Too easy gameplay. REVIEW BASED ON completed CE version + bonus chapter + extras I CURRENTLY OWN 491 games ONCE UPON A TIME - 5 stars Sam and Caroline, owners of the Hotel Berkeley, call you to investigate some eerie events that are scaring off their guests. You decide to spend the night in the allegedly haunted room—Room 13, of course! Sure enough, halfway through the night, your room morphs into a nightmare version of itself, and the ghost makes its appearance. But things aren’t as cut and dried as a simple haunting. There’s a multi-layered plot across two dimensions that needs to be unraveled, as well as a curse to be laid to rest…if you survive the night, that is. I found the storyline well-written and developed, with plot twists that were completely unexpected. The bonus chapter nicely tied up the loose ends, explaining how the villain came to be. PLAY THE GAME - 2.5 stars Gameplay was fair to middling with the challenge level ranging from much too easy to about medium difficulty, and the fun factor ranging from tedious to satisfying. There was a LOT of running around to repair things that were broken or missing parts which invariably opened up secret caches. Devs really need to think up new ways of advancing gameplay. HO scenes presented little variation, being mostly interactive list. There was, sadly, only one sequential find-and-use, which is my personal favorite. Two presented a bit of a challenge, as the objects were on two different channels on a TV. Some of the interactive list HOs began with finding four items to unlock the four panels, while others had each object on the list hiding part of the final object. Lastly, there were a number of zoom area FROGS where the fragments are hidden outside the zoom area. The majority of the puzzles were retreads and too easy. Two versions of pipes, one with rotating triangles, the other with swapping hexagons. Several versions of the dreaded simple jigsaw puzzle. A number of puzzles requiring sliding tokens around until each was in its proper place. Untangle the ropes. A bunch of mazes of different types. And several “interact with the elements in the scene” which were quite simple. Overall challenge level = 2 stars Overall fun factor = 3 stars I do wish that devs would abandon these childish puzzles and mini-games. No one plays them in real life because they’re neither challenging nor fun, so why would we want to play digital versions? SIGHTSEEING - 5 stars Stunning graphics, especially the textures. The ground cover next to the fountain looks like a photo, as does the surface of the stone. Wood grains were gorgeously lush, while metals were rich and reflective. Backgrounds made excellent use of forced perspective and depth of field to create scenes with dimension and interest. NPCs were well-drawn and moved in a lifelike manner, and the lip synching was decent. Animation was smooth. SOUNDBOARD - 5 stars Loved the soundtrack with its incredible variety: • “Some Water” created a zen-like ambience with muted organ and piano. • “Trust Me” got the blood flowing with stirring arpeggios on strings. • “Evil Inside” surprised me with a Coen Brothers-inspired driving, distorted, electric guitar rhythm. More, please! Really, one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard. Environmental sounds were done well, as were game sounds. Voiceovers were hit or miss. I thought Jack’s voice was acted well, but Caroline’s lacked affect. She just sounded apathetic about everything. However, I’m completely overlooking it because the soundtrack is so awesome. TOOLBOX - 5 stars Inventory locks open and plus items are indicated. The map shows available actions and collectibles, and transports. I don’t recall whether there was a journal; clearly, it wasn’t necessary. Thankfully, there were no annoying helpers or irritating gimmicks. BUGS & BOTHERS No technical difficulties with Mac OS 10.11.6. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY - 3 stars Help Sam and Caroline escape the Hotel Berkeley in the bonus chapter, as well as learning the history of the villain. Make use of the SG. Find 30 collectibles in five categories, as well as a morphing object in each scene. Earn ten performance achievements. Download 7 music tracks, 9 wallpapers, 3 screensavers, and 11 concept art. You can’t replay HO scenes or puzzles (minus one star), and you can’t go back and find any of the collectibles you missed (minus one star). CONCLUSION - Overall Rating: (5 + 2.5 + 5 + 5 + 5 + 3) ÷ 6 = 4.25 stars Unless you’re a music junkie like me, I recommend the SE over the CE. The bonus chapter wasn’t all that long and it isn’t necessary to the story, and you can’t replay HO scenes and puzzles or complete your collections. While this isn’t a challenging game, it is definitely eye and ear candy, and the storyline is excellent, so I recommend it for when you feel like a relaxing game. Enjoy, fishies!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Above the average... This game is not scary at all but good fun. There is only one thing that I really disliked: the Russian-faced male characters. That is so stupid and discredited.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fear can be fun I thought the game was fun, but like I said in my review of "fear for sale phantom tide" the game was good it just wasn't as good as "fear for sale nightmare cinema".
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I heard that Hotel Berkeley was bought by a man called Bates? Any fan of Hitchcock may have an conditioned response to the notion of a haunted hotel, and I for one am no exception. Elefun brings much enjoyment to the latest installment of Fear for Sale; The 13 Keys with great animation, fantastic voiceovers, incredible sound effects, varied and creative HOS and mini games that we have all come to expect from Big Fish games which has become synonymous with overall excellence and innovation. Although FFS is for all intensive purposes a 5 star game, there have been some games released in 2013 and 2014 that have raised the bar to such an extent that they've opened up a 5th category of rating... "the WOW factor!" (or WF! for short). And although FFS does come up a bit short of the WF!, this classic series is more than worthy of a place in the top ten. and fans of FFS will be delighted with the 13 Keys. Recommendation based on CE play.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Good Bit Of Gaming With All The New Stuff In The HOG's That Everyone Else Seems To Be Doing Already, So It Doesn't Feel Very Unique ... The Bonus Game Is Worth Having, So Get Yours On Special If You Can ...
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fear You Hold My Key Another great Fear game. I have most of them and will add this to my list. Great spooky story with nice ambiance to match. Love the mix of the HO's or you can choose to do a puzzle. Morphing objects and some collectable. I found a piece of candy and not sure if the items change or just all candy. Can we say Trick or Treat. Great easy game and perfect balance of everything.
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing new but they tried at least ! I got into it and liked it. They tried hard, some novelties in the HO, it is a long game, it kept me going, I was interested, good graphics, not creepy enough ,but these days it seems no one can make a good creepy game ! Anyway it's an OK game, they worked hard !
Date published: 2014-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME The only two criticisms I have about this game is: The black bar tips stating what to do playing the custom mode which I wish all developers would address this in their games and I think the game could of been just a bit more creepy/spooky. Other than these two things I thorough enjoyed the 5 hours (4 hours main game - 1 hour bonus) I spent playing this game. I also really appreciated the choice of taking a full tutorial or just for special features only. I found this to be a very nice feature as I just took the "special feature" tutorial. The graphics are just great. I really liked them. Very fitting to the game. I also liked the characters. The voices and music a well done. What I really enjoyed was the game play especially the HOS as there is a variety of ways to finding the objects. The puzzles/mini games while not really being a fan of these I had no problem here. They all can be skipped and there is a reset button for some of them. There is also a map however I didn't even look at it as I didn't use it at all for the game. The main game comes to conclusion. The bonus chapter isn't needed for that. It is only needed if you want to know the "Berkeley history" as stated on the main page for this game. While it's not needed I did enjoy it. The collectibles, morphing objects and achievements also carry over to the bonus chapter. CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide: 8 Chapters. This also shows where the collectibles and morphing objects are located. 9 Wallpapers 11 Concept Art 3 Screensavers 7 Music Tracks 5 Collections: A total of 25 collectibles 33 Morphing Objects 10 Achievements Thanks Elefun and Big Fish for a very good game. I sure look forward to Elefun's next game. 4 stars from me.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining game. I played the demo, and found it good enough to buy. Not the best game ever, and I found the "poor lady" in the taxi had an alarming habit of disappearing, then reappearing, and disappearing again as I moved between scenes. It has a map, of a sort, a reset button for puzzles, achievements, strategy guide. Bought it as part of a "bundle sale" and should keep me amused for a couple of hours!
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good adventure game I liked this game but have to say that I like this type of game. It was a good adventure game. Good challenge.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What EXACTLY is going on at Hotel Belvedere?? Your character is Emma Roberts (NOT the Emma Roberts related to Julia Roberts of Pretty Woman fame). You have been asked to investigate the goings on at Hotel Berkeley. It seems guests are leaving in droves! Why? GHOSTIES and things that go bump in the NIGHT! ooooooooooooo. Graphics were great. Finally, a DEV who knows how to color the night without using the magic blue crayon too much. THANK YOU! Sound was great as well. Voiceovers perfect. Lip syncing - check. Sound effects couldn't have been better, even the sound of the swinging gate at the opening scene. Love, love, love. There are 4 difficulty modes: Casual, Normal, Hard and .... yes .... "CUSTOM"! In the "custom" mode, you can turn on/off a lot of aspects of the game. For instance, check out what you can allow (or not) on the map. COOL BEANS! I didn't see a diary/journal but you get the coolest map. Again, check the "custom" mode because you can set it up to not only show where you are, where the objectives/tasks are but also where the collectibles and ............... MORPHING OBJECTS are! wooo-hooooo! The HOGs (hidden object games) varied from silhouettes to list. In the list type, there was an alternative game you could play. I didn't so can't comment on that. The mini-games were fun and I didn't find them altogether difficult. Time-consuming and needing some thought, but not particularly difficult. IMO the ratio of HOGs to Mini Games was fairly even. CE Bling: Besides the usual music, wallpaper, strategy guide and bonus game, there are: Collectibles: 5x5. Five sets of 5 different items. I'd list them but you can just go to the "Extras" section yourself and find out what they are. Morphing Objects: YAY! Haven't seen those in forever and a DAY! There are 33 of them. Good luck because they are NOT always so obvious. I think this game has some length although the map was half-way gone through when the demo ended. You do go back and forth to the same locations quite a bit. Thank goodness for the transportable map. And, I can't believe the DEVS would let the story plot "out of the bag", so to speak, so early in the game. Caroline and Sam inherited the hotel, Sam is sick, Caroline is using Emma as the last of the 13 keys to make him well. Noooooo. This is a "Fear for Sale" game. There has to be more to the plot than that. And, THAT'S why I am purchasing this game. CE version and all. They had me at the morphing objects. Why then did I only give 4 stars? Because the whole ghosts in a hotel has been done and I got a sense of deja vu. So, for that reason I went down one star. Otherwise, this is a great game and I recommend it for everyone. Go ahead .... go.... the ghosts at the Hotel Berkeley await. Enjoy!
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice addition to the series... Hi all. That one had me confused too. Yep, you guessed it, I have the other 4 in this series. Why is there always a special on something I already have? Nice graphics and animation. Colors are clean and true. No game play problems and the game fit my large screen perfectly. As far as music goes, there wasn't much at all, just now and then when needed. I like that. Often the music distracts from the game play. Voice overs were nice, although not many, and seemed to fit the characters. Not a lot of "emotion" or "acting" in them, but still nice. Not a lot of sound FX, but they are there when needed and are fairly well done. There is a map that is quite helpful and is well marked with identifying where there are objectives. The map does not transport you to any location, so you have quite a lot of running around in this one. This is where the jump map comes in handy. The stars had me confused for a bit, but I read that they mean you have found the collectible in that location. I spent a lot of time looking for something when I didn't need to. HOPs are fun and somewhat different. You have straight HOPs, IHOPs and find this place it there, which keeps a game interesting, or you can switch to a jigsaw puzzle. Some of the items were a bit small, so when I got tired of looking for them, I just switched to the jigsaw to finish it out. Some HOPs seem a bit junk pile, but they aren't really. Items aren't that difficult to find. Puzzles are the standard and not difficult, but some take a bit of thought and time to complete. The only collectibles I found are 33 morphing objects #I love these#, which are not really hard to spot either. There are also "unique" collectibles, e.g., 6 of each, gamer #puzzle pieces#; venetian masks; attractions #buildings#; sweet tooth #self explanatory#. These you have to look for in, around and under things...this is the challenge to this game. I really like the interaction in the game, e.g., touch a flower and it blooms, wilts and dies; touch the leaves and they fall off the tree, etc. This was not a terribly challenging or exciting game, but I like it. There is enough going on to keep me moving and interested and I have the need to play it out and see where it goes. I think this game will appeal to all levels of players. The CE is a definite buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Found 1 Key & Just 12 More To Go Not a bad game. Storyline good but not a new concept. Graphics were better than usual. VO hit the mark but no mouth movement. I turned the music down so it didn't become intrusive. HOS were the usual, very messy junk piles with some interaction. Puzzles were just ok and some of the instructions could have been clearer. Didn't try the jig saw puzzle as I only do them when I can actually feel the puzzle pieces. Tried the map once & it seemed like it would be an ok feature. Lots of morphing & other things to collect. Still waiting for the devs to come up with some over the top games. Most of games we've been getting are the usual, rehashed storylines. Come on devs, put on you CREATIVE thinking caps!!!
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Fear for sale game The 13 Keys Collectors Edition has got a lot going for it great game to play, you have to fine all sorts of thing like morphing item. the graphics and sound are very good,if you have the other parts to this game you must get this one if you don't have any of them well your in luck as you can buy this one you get the others at a special price.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is REALLY a Three and a Half!! This review is based on playing the main game but not yet the Bonus Chapter on a Macbook Pro Operating system 10.9.5. First off, I think this is a GREAT game. The reason it receives 3.5 stars is because I think the Collector's Edition is unnecessary. The SE will get 4.5 stars. I've been complaining a lot lately in my reviews about developers' lack of attention to detail. Absolutely NOT the case with this game. I don't think a single opportunity to make a good scene great just with little (but important) tweaks to the environment/scene. This is so well done it pains me to give this game less than 4 stars no matter what edition I'm reviewing. Alas, I must be fair in my evaluation and honest for you who'll read it. Fun Factor: 4 stars easily. It would be five if it were a bit more challenging. Nonetheless, this is a very well designed game that puts a chill in the air while playing. Visual/Sound Quality To me, not just excellent but EXCEPTIONAL. Visually, this game is stunning. The details that weren't missed also include great art work. Characters and objects were so well drawn at times you'll think they aren't drawings but pictures. Aurally I'm over-the-top excited about the voice acting. To a person it was great. These are actors who read the entire "book" before delivering their lines. I'm not sure if the protagonist, the investigative reporter Emma Roberts, has been played by the same person in previous iterations of Fear For Sale (the name of the magazine for which she works) but the actor really inhabits the character nicely. The music is a perfect accompaniment to the game and story, always ringing true to the mood of the moment. The sound effects are just as stunning as every other artistic aspect of this game. LEVEL OF CHALLENGE Before I go more deeply into the games and HOS I want to make a point about one feature that's really impressive. You know how in some games an HOS or a mini-puzzle just pops up out of nowhere? Not in 13 Keys. The HOS and mini-puzzles are so well integrated into the game that rather than an interruption they are a punctuation mark...in every case an exclamation point! Now comes the weakness of the game: The HOS are creative without a doubt. Difficult they are not. They are really simple list finds that add a couple of interactive objects but the difficulty factor is about 3 of 10. The same is true of the mini-games. Although there are some interesting twists in the games, that alone doesn't make them challenging. I don't think the games need to be different. They just need to be a lot tougher. Finally, in terms of challenge: there are morphing items and collectibles. Your cursor will change to a hand when hovering over a morphing item so, clearly, there is no challenge there. As for the collectibles: either your cursor changes to hand OR you absolutely can't miss the collectible item because you acquire it just in the normal course of the game. I played the game on the most difficult level and still had these little "helper" features that rob the game of the head-scratching challenge I wish it were. If that cursor change were able to be avoided in the hardest level I'd have easily given the game a higher rating. Storyline: Just as all the elements of the game play are well and logically integrated, so is the story logical. All the games and HOS support the main theme of the story, that a Hotel is plagued by a ghost and the reporter, an expert in the phenomena is there to find out who and why the ghost is scaring away hotel guests. OVERALL I think this has the makings of one of the best games I've ever played but the lack of challenge undermines its greatness. As for purchasing this as a Collector's Edition? I recommend against it. I haven't played the bonus chapter yet. It might be so good (it appears to be lengthy-ish) it's a reason to buy the CE. For right now I'm going to say that the SE is sufficient. Since the morphing items and collectibles present zero challenge they are also not worth paying for. If you can get this game on coupon or one of the many great deep discounts offered by BFG, then go for it...you'll get the bonus chapter. Here's another bit of info which might move you off the idea of the CE altogether: I played the hourlong trial of the SE (and you should too) and I found it to be a much more smoothly flowing game. Despite the great integration and logical progression of the game, the reality is that the morphs and collectible are interruptions rather than challenges. I'm going to recommend this game, but with a big asterisk. As great as I think it is, I think the SE is better for the reasons I just stated. Still, three cheers to Elefun. This is one great game. My challenge to them is to challenge me. Make the game harder.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK I love the previous Fear For Sale games. This one, however, did not live up to my expectations. While the HOS and puzzles were good, and the graphics were good, the story fell flat. The voice of the reporter was spoken in a way that was not believable. The owner of the hotel spoke in an upbeat monotone while she was being taken away by ghosts. Game play was very simplistic. I need a good story to go with a game. This one failed. I was actually glad to be done with the demo. Pass for me.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from average HOPA When I first started this game I was excited. You are at a hotel and everything you touch animates. The orange leaves float gently to the ground, click the sign and the windows behind light up and a ghost rushed by, the letters on the word taxi sparkle. Wow I thought, morphing collectibles and this? This should be fun! But it only lasted until the lobby and then this game settled into being rather average. Lots of mini games although some of them old school. Sliding tiles and turning pipes for example. HO scenes were lists. It's locked, it's missing, back, forth. Save the souls from the evil whatever. Found all the morphing and collectibles pretty easily. Nice that the map has a star for each location where these are completed. Earned all the achievements pretty easily. Overall a decent, rather average but not bad HOPA. It was solid if not overly exciting.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Started off well! Played the demo and decided to buy the game which seemed quite spooky and intriguing. The more I played the more I lost interest. I don't like too many Hos in a game and they seemed to get more and more frequent as the game progressed. The puzzles were easy and I became quite annoyed with the characters....I wanted to slap them rather than help them! The bonus game again started off well and then I couldn't complete it...so hey ho...quite disappointed and disillusioned with most of the games at the mo.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh so short I liked the game and it had some interesting HOS and puzzles BUT it started well and you thought there was quite a bit of play to come however it rushed to a conclusion well before it should have, almost like the developer got bored. I have notice over the years that games are becoming shorter and less satisfying not to mention predictable. Oh for the days when a game like the Mystery trackers kept you occupied for a week or so. Id rather pay more for a really good long engaging game than what is currently being served up. Come on Big fish, you need to demand more from your developers. I recommend the game with reservation
Date published: 2014-10-29
  • y_2019, m_4, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_21873, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear for Sale: The 13 Keys Collector's Edition

You are the key to solving a chilling supernatural mystery!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.