Awakening: The Golden Age Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Awakening: The Golden Age Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(300.03 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Before Queen Sophia was born, the Human Kingdom lived in an age of glory: the golden age. However, this age too had its dark times. Beneath a veneer of peace, war has come with minotaurs invading human villages. But there is more to this war than meets the eye, and you must uncover it. The minotaurs claim that humans have been starving them, but how could this be true? Escape your village, investigate the truth, and journey to the ends of the kingdom and into its castles, meeting allies with unique abilities that can help you. Uncover the secrets behind the war, or the kingdom of your birth will be destroyed!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A dark, new story set in the Awakening world
  • Meet characters that explore the world along with you
  • Lushly detailed and unique landscapes to discover
  • Discover the secrets that lie in the Human Kingdom
  • Use your unique magical ability to solve puzzles and uncover clues

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 553 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Awakening: The Golden Age Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(300.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Awakening: The Golden Age Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good story, easy gameplay, mediocre characters (except for the minotaurs) Awakening: The Golden Age CE Review based on completed demo PREFACE… Awakening was once a charming series that eventually devolved into shorter and shorter variations on a theme. The first two games (The Dreamless Castle and Moonfell Wood) remain the best, and I still replay them occasionally. The Golden Age is a departure from the original storyline, although still set in the same universe. It is a prequel. ONCE UPON A TIME... ...long before the saga of Sophia, humans lived in the Golden Age. Each had a magical talent (shades of Xanth) and all were encouraged to use their talents. One day, for reasons unknown, the minotaurs invaded a human village, shattering the previously peaceful alliance between the two kingdoms. As villager Sasha, it's up to you to investigate the minotaurs' claims that the humans are starving them and the prince's claim of innocence, before the kingdoms go to war. PLAY THE GAME... Adventure mode is typical for this series, although this episode seems to include fewer finding multiples of one item in order to continue. HO scenes include interactive list, lists with puzzles, lists where each object hides part of a fragmented object, and straight up FROGs. Mini-games are all exceedingly simple. SIGHTSEEING… I disagree with several reviewers that the graphics have improved. They are merely different, being darker and, perhaps, a touch more painterly. I don't find them more detailed or dimensional. The animation is a bit better. SOUND WAVES… The music is familiar, reminiscent of a fairy tale movie soundtrack. I didn't care for the voiceovers, except for the minotaurs, which were excellent. The human voices either lacked affect or were melodramatic. Additionally, I felt that more environmental sounds could have been present. TOOLBOX… You earn your map after playing a mini-game, and there is a journal. Also, you have a magic pendant that allows you to see hidden things (use it when you see the eye icon onscreen). Your hint/helper is a bird which you hatch and name. I'm uncertain whether he's annoying or not. EXTRA, EXTRA… Extras include a bonus chapter, the SG, collectible fairies, performance achievements (yawn), and the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds. Unless the bonus chapter is quite long, which I doubt since the download wasn't large, I don't find this to be CE-worthy. THE LAST WORD… The story line does develop rather slowly at the beginning. It was just starting to pick up when the demo ended. I'll probably pick this up when it goes on sale, but I'm not foaming at the mouth to have it now. I recommend the first two games in the Awakening series over this installment.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very limited in mb How can a collector's edition be only 491.55 mb? At least this one I can get for 60% off but if I couldn't, then I certainly wouldn't buy it. I love the Awakening series but I think this is ridiculous. I don't recommend this game for anyone who likes a long and interesting playing time
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The game was okay, but it is nothing special I got this game due to the quarantine promotion, so I basically got it free, which is the main reason why I completed it. I wouldn't say it has been a boring experience, but I was expecting something more. The graphic was decent, nor good nor bad, and the atmosphere, as well as the music, was well set up. The storyline wasn't that bad, even though it is anything really new. The minotaurs were the only exception to this. Apart from them I didn't notice anything particular and the characters were kind of badly developed. The H.O. scenes and the minigames were quite easy, but not boring, even though some hidden object scenes were so close one to the other that it felt a little repetitive. The major problem was that the game wasn't really able to make me get interested in the story or in the gameplay, which is the reason why it took me so long to play it till the end. In conclusion, I'd say the game was okay, but I wouldn't recommend it, if it hadn't been free I probably wouldn't have bought it.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy Filler Game For The Series I've played all of the Awakening games and have always found them very enjoyable. Though never very hard, it seems like this game took little to no effort to solve the puzzles. I never got stuck on a minigame nor did I really even feel like I was putting in any effort. I enjoy a game with a bit more of a challenge that makes me think. As far as story goes, it just felt like a way to extend the series. It isn't necessary to the plot of princess Sofia nor does it give you any interesting insight into the game's world. I would suggest skipping this one if you're a fan of the series and waiting until they come out with the next edition. If you are looking for an easy game that doesn't make you think this is a good way to spend an hour or two. So all in all enjoyable but not something I'd play again.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Very disappointing, considering how wonderful the games in this series can be. This latest offering is hardly worth playing.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrating and infuriating game very difficult to understand how the mini games should be played vague instructions and poor actions, the mouse had to be clicked many times to find out what it meant and used the guide all the way through as even the hidden object games were difficult to fathom, not challenging more frustrating when actions didn't work properly.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Harumph! I purchased the game outright due to everyone's excitement about how good this game is. If I had paid attention, I wouldn't have bought it at all. This game is less than 500 mg. I hate paying $13.99 for such a small game. It's my fault for not checking first, but, geez . . .
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lets Just ZAP This BOOM For Good I Beta tested this game awhile back & as Queen Victoria might have said, "We are NOT impressed"!!! This is not the first game by this dev that I have not liked. Childish fantasy game with rehashed story of bullies attacking a village. B O R I N G HOS/Puzzles are simple, tedious, boring & there are LOTS of them. I did not find them clever or entertaining. Same old graphics that were not crisp or sharp & I found the drawings a bit crude. Never did see any of the collectible fairies which is ok because finding the silly things can become quite distracting. Hint button ok as it also transported you to the next location. I did like the hint "Hoopee". I named mine Birdie! Never used the SG as it didn't seem worth the effort. VO ok except that Caity sounded like a woman trying to sound like a child. There were no mouth movements. Characters were the usual lifeless wooden ones. Music was more of the usual. Can't we please just have some original stories with great graphics & characterizations????
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for Me This game plods along, and about five minutes into the demo I'd had enough. Too much dialogue, too much bouncing from place to place. It's a "busy" game, which has you taking too many steps to achieve a simple task. It has the feel of an older game that came out after its time. No-buy for me!
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slow and not "interest" catching Pretty scenes but slow moving. I found very unexciting and with far too many tedious mini games and not enough hidden object pursuits. Apparently a number of players prefer this type of game. Just not for me.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A New Saga... But There's Nothing New About This. BASED ON DEMO Is it a sequel? Is it a prequel? Either way, my hatred of this series has not been subdued. I was hoping that a new saga would equal better games, but as it turns out, this was not the case. The story was fantasy. As you should know pretty well by now, fantasy is not my forte, but I can tolerate a fantasy story if it's good. But this one, sadly, was not. I was hoping for something unique, but this is basically all the typical fantasy stuff rolled in to one. The basic storyline involves the human kingdom under attack by minotaurs. The plot seemed cheesy, but I thought I would give it a go, and to my surprise it started out well. I was intrigued by the opening cutscene, and the events that followed were good, but then the story started going downhill. Everything about seemed like a carbon copy of all fantasy games before it; we saw minotaur kingdoms, dragons and even an animal called a squabbit (squirrelXrabbit)... please. Adding to my frustrations, there does not seem to be a villain, which really took away from the suspense of the story. Villains are absolutely essential to any story, fantasy or spooky. To not see one here was strange. It was hinted during the demo that there may have been a villain, but who the villain is should definitely be clear by the end of the demo, which it was not. I think this story had potential, but it needed to be executed a lot better than it was. When a story isn't so great, the gameplay has to be pretty good and unfortunately, the gameplay here wasn't. There was nothing unique about it, which disappointed me, because I know Boomzap is capable of creativity. The HOS, for instance, were all the same seen before and thus, offered no challenge. That being said, I still found them quite enjoyable. I looked forward to each new HOS that came around. The HOS were pretty much all jazzed-up junkpile. Different types of junkpile included images instead of words, and finding fragments of one large objects to take in to your inventory. There was also a story HOS, which was probably the most innovative of the lot. In terms of challenge, the only one I found remotely challenging was the images one, but once I learned what to do, I was happy. Quantity is no problem; there are 6 HOS in the demo. This, in my opinion, is bordering on too much. Aside from the lack of challenge, I have one more problem. The first HOS included not one, but TWO puzzles. This is one of my most hated things in a HOPA game, so naturally, this drove me bezerk. It is my opinion that HOS & Puzzles should NEVER be mixed together. The puzzles were okay, but weren't the best I've seen. Some of them were okay and some were not. Unlike their previous game, however, they varied in challenge, which is always a positive. Like the HOS, they were nothing I haven't seen before. On the plus side, the puzzles did have hints in them, which was something I've been calling for for a long time. Also like the HOS, I did have a couple of problems with the puzzles: 1) One of the puzzles was unable to be skipped. The layout of this particular puzzle was confusing, so I wasn't sure what to do. Thus, this drove down the fun factor significantly. I ended up using hint after hint for it. 2) One of my pet peeves in a game is solving a puzzle to go straight in to another one. This happened in this game and was also a contribution to the decreased fun factor. In terms of quantity, there is once again no problem. Excluding minigames found in HOS, there were 6 puzzles in the demo. Including them would bring the total to 8. So puzzle lovers will enjoy the amount here. As a consequence of the excessive puzzles/HOS, the adventure component is extremely light. I barely got any adventure parts in before I was thrown in to another puzzle or HOS. Once again, this was also a contributer to the decreased fun factor for me. I love the adventure component of a HOPA, and here it is almost nonexistent. This has become a problem with Boomzap lately, and I hope it is fixed incredibly soon. It is called a HOPA for a reason; there has to be ADVENTURE in there. Walking around from scene to scene and collecting one or two items does not classify as adventure. In terms of extra gameplay features, it was hit and miss for Boomzap. Some of the features I liked, some I did not. There were a total of three features here. One of these was + objects, which are becoming standard now. I liked how Boomzap have done these objects. Their + objects consisted of unwrapping pouches and putting things back together rather than having the one item linger in your inventory for ages. I also liked how there weren't many of them. Nothing is worse than overusing a feature, so to see that was not the case was a good thing. Another feature was the pendant. This was my favourite feature of the game, partly because it tied in with the story. Every member of the kingdom has a magic and this was our character's. But aside from that, the pendant just made things more fun. The final feature was the bird. I thought that it was going to be our animal helper, as there had been helpers in every other game, and my excitement added when we got to name it. But unfortunately, my hopes were shattered. All the bird does is sit there and act as your hint, rendering it totally useless. I wish the developers had actually created a use for the bird, rather than having it sit there and do nothing. It shouldn't even be in the game if all it does is be your hint. The basic features were good. There were 3 modes of difficulty and a working hint. The map was also quite good. Unfortunately, there was no diary, which I think is a necessity to HOPA games. The diary seems to have faded in to nonexistence nowadays, which I think is quite sad. It helps me remember the details of the story and I quite like reading the entries. Graphics-wise, Boomzap have done a good job. They were drawn with some nice details and good colours. Every scene was clear and character desings were good. However, there was no lip-synch, which I found very disappointing, especially in this day and age with all the technology available. I didn't like the voice-overs. Cedric's voice sounded sarcastic and, at times, very pushy and demanding. Also, the voice for Caity was very annoying. It sounded like either someone had taken a shot of helium or they had gotten a prepubescent boy to voice her. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hard. Differences are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. Hint works well outside HOS. Map- The map is quite helpful. It lets you know where there are tasks to perform. + Objects- These items have been done quite well. I really enjoyed them. Pendant- Awesome feature. Made the game more fun. Can be used when an eye symbol is shown. Bird- USELESS. All it does is sit there. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- Shows collectibles, but not HOS solutions. Achievements Collectible fairies- one in every scene Replay Puzzles Music Wallpapers Concept Art Replay Cutscenes WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Absolutely the SE. The CE is very weak on bonus content and offers nothing of interest to me whatsoever. Save your money. MY PROGRESS There are two chapters in the demo. The game has 6 chapters in total. I finished the two chapters in 50 minutes. Overall, this game proves to me why I made the right choice in not even demoing the previous Awakening game. It has once again failed to deliver. With a new saga, I was hoping this would be good, but it looks like Awakening will be doomed to drift in to one of those never-ending series that gets worse with every game.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great game for younger players This is probably my favorite developer. This time I kept thinking this would likely appeal to younger gamers. The story line seems good. The mini games and HOs were way too easy. So the two stars was for how I liked the game but I don't think I was the target audience.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from MILKING THE "SOPHIE SAGA," THIS SERIES IS WELL PAST THE EXPIRATION DATE We have another game in the "eternal" Sophie saga.This series has run its course and should be allowed to die gracefully. Now that every stage of Sophie's life has been bled dry, we now return to an era before Sophie was born. This game is a children's game or for those who love sugary delights with a "strong male prince figure on his steed coming to rescue the weak, brainless damsel in distress." I was put off by this sexist theme of the "damsel in distress." LEVELS: Only three levels of play - Villager, Ranger, and General. The middle level is a "sparkly" delight and sparkles SHOULD NOT be available in the middle level. CUSTOMIZATION BE AVAILABLE IN ALL CE games. PACE: It has a decent pace with a fairy tale adventure story. HOP SCENES, PUZZLES, INVENTORY: The inventory is not interactive. The devs tried to "spice it up" with mini puzzles within the scenes. The puzzles are extremely easy. The HOP scenes are puzzle-like and decent. GRAPHICS: The graphics are the best part of the game. The devs have upped their game on the graphics. They are phenomenal and pretty awesome. EXTRA GOODIES: You receive "Naranja" (must be from Spain - it means orange). You can name a helper "hint" bird if you wish. I named my bird "Pista" (Hint), After you play a puzzle with the map, you receive it. You collect fairies. There are three achievements and you receive and amulet to help you perceive magic. COMMENTS: One thing BF does well is provide gaming for everyone's taste. I found this game sexist with the whole "Prince Charming saving the damsel in distress" scenario. If you like it, play it. This is a pass for me.
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible disappointment This game was a major disappointment. The other games in this series were really good and I play them all occasionally. I was looking forward to this one and bought it without testing the trial. That's a mistake I won't make again. Looks like this series has run it's course and the developers, (one of my favourites) are scraping the bottom of the barrel with this game.
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment :( I've played all of the other Awakening games and loved them all! This one however had a weak storyline and warped/deformed graphics each time there was supposed to be a mini-game/puzzle. Sometimes the mini-game area went black. I had to opt for skipping all the mini-games/puzzles to progress.
Date published: 2016-01-17
  • y_2021, m_12, d_6, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_21894, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Awakening: The Golden Age Collector's Edition

When minotaurs attack, only you can save the day.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.