Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(541.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Elephant Games, the studio that brought you Grim Tales: The Vengeance, comes a thrilling new chapter in the Grim Tales saga!

It wasn't bad enough that your train was running late, but now a mysterious note warns that this Gray family dinner will be the last! Inside the Gray family castle, everything is in chaos, with your family nowhere to be found. The walls are graffitied with the scribbles of a madman as his laughter echoes through the halls. Armed with a magical paint set, you are the only one who can save them. Reunite with previous Grim Tales characters, including Luisa, Elizabeth, James McGray, and even your niece, Jackie! Can you unmask the kidnapper and beat him at his own game? Find out in this mysterious Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Can the past be rewritten? Play the bonus chapter to find out
  • Score soundtracks, screen-savers, and concept art
  • Check out your achievements and collections
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1536 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1236 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(541.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Grim Tales that just hit the BALL RIGHT OUT OF THE PARK! So far I own all of the Grim Tales titles but only played 3 completely. I will be purchasing the CE of this. I've played Bigfish games for yrs and know what all the Developers have to offer by now and it just doesn't get much better than this. I tend to like darker games so this was much darker than Grim Tales 4 Stone Queen (a kingdom complete with Queen tale better fit for a 12 yr old girl., this one was WAY better. # SIMILAR GAMEs: 1. Dark Dimensions City of Fog- The story and graphics almost identical. 2.Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome #if you liked this Grim Tales you will lk. Dorian G.) 3. Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor 4. Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward WELL DONE: Good job DEVELOPERS with the CE part, I almost always buy a CE that offers a screensavr. You could have added "Behind the scenes how this game was made but this CE had alot, PERFECT MUSIC actually worth saving and only 4 Concept art, not a fan of Conc Art but you put the games title on it so it could still be used as wallpaper. GAMEPLAY: I LOVED the "artist option" where every so often you bring a picture to life. The scenes in all gamplay PAN to make a larger room. Really liked it. More 3d. They used creepy scare music if you touched a painting on the wall, and you could touch on items and effect them such as flowers in a vase and switching on lamps. HO SCENES: Some were normal and some were find 5 keys in scene, ulock 4 words and find those, one of the words had an extra thing to do like match dog to dog. Next HO scene had a hidden piece of a mirror behind it so when you find all items you put the mirror together and collect it. I LOVED them. Puzzles: Wow. I have played probably 1000 puzzles in the last few yrs. and this was my favorite, it opens a door. The game FRIGHT also had great puzzles,especially the Coll editon. The puzzle I'm talking about is featured in the games description by Bigfish, 2nd picture in. SO CLEVER! I usually like Elephant games manner of gamplay but this game nailed it. There wern't TOO many collecting odd items to fit them into a gadget to move on. Sometimes thats too much bouncing between areas. There were enough breaks in this to not make it repetative. HINT SYSTEM & MAPS: Perfectly done. If you get lost in this game, then you are just lost in more ways than one. MY ONLY COMPLAINTS: I missed the diary. I have SO many games in my collection that sometimes I don't come back to a game in over a month and can't remember gamplay without it. I also play several games at once. I missed REPLAYABLE CUTSCENES. I need those to remember as well and so much effort goes into them they should always be accessable straight from the inventory the way they were in the game MCF RAINCLIFF. & DEVELOPERS.......There are 2 game developers that gives 7 or 8 SCREENSAVERS AND THAT IS A HUGE LURE FOR ME TO BUY A CE. Especially ones that save in the Screensaver window of the computer itself. Its best to make ones that stay after the game is removed because it is a constant reminder...."Oh, yea...I loved that game, NEED TO BUY THE NEXT!" All in all this was a terrific game and everyone that worked on it should be proud of themselves. Typical to Grimm Tales, the graphics were great. Thankyou Elephant and Bigfish, I really am SUCH A HUGE FAN!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this Game! Loved this game....Beautiful graphics, great storyline, challenging games. Well worth the money. The absolutely BEST!
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME BY ELEPHANT GAMES I absolutely loved this game. One of the best games put out in a long long time. The storyline was good, the length of the game was good and there was lots to do. I loved the bonus and the secret room at the end. Way to go BF thanks for offering a great game!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic in so many ways! The creativity in this is wonderful and I loved the mini games which weren't that mini, when you had many steps to unlock the puzzle didn't want to skip any of the fun. Well thought out. Beautifully put together. Thanks for fun!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Game! Color of Fright is Perfect in Every Way. In a new game in the Grim Tales series, one of my favorite developers has stepped it up a notch and presents a game that is worthy competition to some of my all-time favorites. The Gray family is back, and in Color of Fright we learn more about the family and their hidden secrets. Of course with the game being from a top developer the graphics are excellent. One of the new features included in this game is that we have the ability to “pan” around in most scenes but not all of them so be sure to keep your eyes open for the faint arrows at the top of the scenes when this feature is available. The lip-synced voiceovers are very good and I found the background narration from the culprit excellent with the perfect amount of sarcasm and anger to set the tone for this creepy game. We are offered only three modes of gameplay with no custom option included. I don’t think that this developer usually includes the custom option of gameplay but I wish they did since we do find it available more frequently and I appreciate the ability to set certain features to suit the way I like to play a game. We have a very helpful interactive map that allows us to move freely between scenes and realities. When opened, the map also includes a tab for your diary so you can keep track of pertinent information. There is another interesting new tool but it took me a while to catch on to its use so I am not going to say anything about how it works aside from the fact that it is an interesting inclusion in this game. The HOPs have taken on a new flavor in Color of Fright as well and I am happy to say that our first HOP is not the proverbial suitcase. Not only are some of the HOPs different it looks like the Elephant team is moving in a new direction with some of them, and they have “borrowed” a method or two from another favorite developer of mine and included them in this game. The puzzles are better than what we have seen lately in HOPA games and many had a bit more challenge than usual, although I have to admit that I found some to be very tedious at times since they are not my favorite types of puzzles. We can look forward to lots of collectibles, morphing objects and various achievements so; IMHO, this is a game worthy of the CE designation. It is a matter of personal preference as to whether you would opt for the CE or the SE because I don’t think that aside from the collectibles much else will change. When I first played the beta for the game I found myself a bit confused and frustrated as I was having a great deal of difficulty moving forward. It seemed that using some objects was so far-fetched that it made the game slow at first. That being said, by the time I finished, I had totally changed my opinion and knew that Grim Tales Color of Fright is a must-have game for me and one that I will definitely enjoy. There are lots of challenges, an interesting storyline, and new gameplay features that are sure to keep many of us who are seasoned HOPA gamers very happy. Although the game is a must-have purchase for me, as always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Grim Tales so far The game is spectacular in every detail, so let us start. First of all the story is engaging. We find ourselves encountering the very strange Gray family having been invited to a supposed family reunion. This is where the fun starts. Upon entering the Gray castle ( after completing a few tasks to locate the entrance key ) we soon learn that all is not well within the family. we discover that Thomas Gray, taken in by the Grays, has a special talent as an artist. His paintings come to life. In fact during game play, we get to animate a few things including a butterfly, owl and chipmunk during the demo. Turns out Thomas has a thing for Luisa Gray but he is spurned when Luisa falls instead for John. This drives Thomas off the deep end and he is now bent on some sort of revenge against the Grays. Here is where the story gets more interesting. The Grays, at least some of them, can be transubstantiated into wolves. We don't learn why in the demo and that's a good thing in terms of story development. The developer of Color of Fright does a great job by allowing the story to develop in much the same way as a good book will. This aspect of the game is enough to compel me to want the game in my repertoire. Fortunately there is much more than the story to propel the game into the realm of greatness. Secondly, I enjoy that there is little or no hand holding by the devs. The player is allowed or is the better term forced into thinking his way through the game. This is best illustrated in some clever puzzles, a couple of which were hard enough for me to skip ( during the demo only as I rarely skip ). The HO segments are very well done. I liked the first one wherein the player needed to find keys to open doors to the hidden objects themselves. I wish the keys were a bit harder to find. Third, I have often asked game makers to think outside the box and use some originality. This game certainly delivers on this front. For added pleasures there are morphing objects and some funky little creatures to collect. 2014 for me has not been a banner year as far as my personal game pleasure is concerned. However the year is looking to end in style as there have been some A+ offerings. This Grim Tales "reads" and plays like a first rate occult thriller. It satisfies me on every level that I want in a solid game. The CE is a sure fire winner and Is without a doubt being added to my own collection.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must play This is based on a demo. Another gem from Elephant Games. Just finished the demo and had to buy the full game. This is one of the best series I have played. Game is very interesting and flows nicely. Can't wait to see what's next. I recommend it for anyone.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully done! Wonderful artwork, and all the bonus features one should expect in a CE (I usually settle for the SE unless there are a lot of extras, and this game has them all). The only drawback is the level of challenge could be higher. So far (based on the demo) the mini-games and HOS are very easy to complete but they're still enjoyable.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing the Dance of Joy Here! Yes, I really am. This game has a wonderful storyline that is helped along at every step with drawings, photos, memory books, letters, notes, and sketches. And once you are in that story, there are interactive and varied HOPs, good mini-games, and wonderful locations to explore, along with many collectibles and morphing objects in addition to the usual CE goodies. This may be the best of this series of games. And it's definitely a contender for game of the year. If you think I'm gushing, I'll stop and go back to the dance of joy!
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not hit the BUY button fast enough Loved this series but this is the best one yet. So much detail and the music keeps up with the story. The game is intense and fast paced. Others have filled you in on the details of play. Just know that you have many things to do and collect but the main story will keep you busy. All I can tell you is BUY THIS ONE !!!! Have fun, I sure will.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PACHYDERM REVERTS BACK TO A HOWLING SUCCESS WOW! WHAT A GREAT GAME! PACHYDERM HAS UPPED THEIR GAME WITH THIS MASTERPIECE. Bravo! Bravo! Pachyderm. Once in a "blue" moon we have a game which appeals to the art lovers in the pond. A big standing ovation for a fantastic game. I hope you do not turn "red" from all the praise lauded on game. This game should appeal to our "artsy" friends on the site LEVELS: 3 levels - Casual, Advanced, Hardcore(no hints and skips). No ability to customize the game. GRAPHICS: Realistic and lifelike providing the ability to move the screen multidirectionally with arrows. MAP - Provided at the beginning. Changes between "drawn city map" and "real world map." Indicates and transport to areas in which activities need to be performed. HOP SCENES: Very innovative and puzzle-like. Keys open up the HOP scenes. As you finish sections of the HOP scenes you are given fragments of an inventory piece. There are also the standard object search but the scenes are subject related. PUZZLES: Varied throughout and not difficult. Matching symbols. Slider puzzles. The HOP scenes are puzzle-like. There is a sequencing puzzle in which you must perform an action to continue in solving the puzzle. In at least one of the puzzles you can choose between the settings of Hardcore and Casual. I found an equal amount of puzzles and HOP scenes. INVENTORY: It is interactive and well done. EXTRA GOODIES : Morphing objects 24 Collectible monsters representing the four elements, - air, fire, earth and water Family Heirloom Hidden Collectible items 18 Achievements like "Fish are Friends" - and right they are! Our BF pond fish are the best. Elementary dot-to-dot drawn animals followed by painting them with a paint-by-numbers sequence after which the animals "spring" to life to be used in the game.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Animations, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... Another Great Game In The Series, But Never Quite Big Enough ... So Wait For The Deals ... I Hope We Can Look Forward To Another Grim Tales ...
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game - cannot understand some comments here! This is more a comment, than a review, as there are many reviews here already. I think it is a really good sequence of Grim Tales and tells a further chapter of the Grays' story. I think the atmosphere is just right for the story and even though there are no replayable puzzles or HOGs it is a very good CE!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of things to do Somebody wrote that there were a lot of things to find ( collectibles, morphings objects, etc) and to do...Well that's the kind of game that is worht a CE and the one that I always want to play..lots of everything, so I can have a lot of time playing this game than the ones that doesn't have anything and they will go fast and for the same price...We need more of these with a lot of things to do...Thumbs up.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bar has been raised Elephant games have just raised the bar for other developers of hidden object games! New and innovative HOP scenes. While this is a addition to the Gray family series, it brings new elements to both challenge and excite the seasoned player. Excellent graphics, music is subtle and unobtrusive. Voice overs on cut scenes appropriate to the characters. Interactive map lets you go from one scene to another. I played the CE but hardly used the Strategy Guide. Puzzles range from fairly easy to, I'll admit I used the skip button. If I had any complaint at all it would be that sometimes your mouse has to be in exactly the right position to collect an item.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER!!!!!!!!!! This game is what we have all been looking for from BFG! The music, the graphics, the story.........it is the hit of the year!!! Thanks for bringing this game to us..........BRAVO! BRAVO!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME!!! This game was one of the best...the scenes were beautiful, games were fun and different...another great one from Elephant Games..
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color of Fright might just be the best in the series... This is an amazing HOPA. Your Adopted brother Thomas is an artist gone insane who is determined to seek revenge on the entire Gray family. This edition of Grim Tales is everything you want in an epic adventure. Elephant dev's really raised the bar with voice, graphics, 3D screen panning and interaction gameplay. This is an adult game not for children. There are other adventure's from Elephant that are more challenging, but this was brilliantly executed. I highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COLOR OF FRIGHT ! WOW! SAVING THE GRAYS,IS ONLY THE BEGINNING! THIS SHOULD BE THE NUMBER 1 GAME OF THE YEAR! THANKS BIG FISH AND,ELEPHANT! YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY IT, VERY UNIQUE FEATURES, SURE YAH WILL AGREE.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Enjoying this game immensely! Great graphics and story line! Well done!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game ! Great developer, never disappoints. The CC editions was worth the money and it had lots of special features.
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object games are fun! XD i just like searching things! love love love
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not given lightly.!!!! I don't give five stars often and now you see it. Still games not long enough for me especially good ones. Since I have bought every one they have except a few. Can any of us do what they do for doing great games. Give me more and more. Please do.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition Another great game in the series
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from revenge I quite liked this one. The revenge of an adopted child who after showing some serious mental health issues is sent to a clinic for help. I loved all the morphing objects, the collectible creatures and the collectible objects left over from other games in the series. There was a new addition of a palette that included draw by numbers and then paint by symbols. That object would them come to life and you could use it in the main game. That addition was fun to use. It was beautifully drawn although the color palette was a bit dark. I always notice little extras like the pond that sprays up when you click it. how the lamps turn on and off or how the pages float gracefully into the diary. This game was a reasonable length with a rather predictable outcome. You must rescue each set of people. The extra chapter was good and I always prefer that the morphing objects etc. carry over as it gives me more incentive to play it. The addition of the full page puzzles (think MCF) were fun.. I chose the little train one as my fave. It had a good teleporting map also. I liked the extra extra game where you are timed to find a series of morphing objects before the bomb exploded. FUN I do though have a couple of things that were not so great. The SG was on the main page rather than being accessible through the map so while trying to keep track of 3 different collectible I was having to leave and come back often. I try to make sure my number 20 matches theirs for example to make sure I don't miss any and having to close the game and go back to the main page each time was well Not fun. Also while there were 3 things to collect, there was not an achievement for completing any of them. Kind of disappointing. But overall this was a good addition to the series. I enjoyed playing and would recommend it.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rating Based on Demo - Pretty Good! I've played demos for all the Grim Tales games and I've liked them all very much so I was pretty excited when I found out that there was going to another game in the series! The demo was just long enough for me and the story line was pretty good, a good story line is kind of important to me! The only thing I wasn't sure about was the visual quality, it didn't quite seem in the same league as the other games in the series. Other than than that I liked it a lot and I really hope to own it someday!
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Love Elephant, But I Never Knew They Were This Good! BASED ON DEMO FULL RATING IS 4 1/2 STARS To put things simply, I'm amazed. I had no idea Elephant were this good! I have criticised them lately for having gameplay that is too run-of-the-mill, but there is absolutely NOTHING run-of-the-mill about this game! This is a tremendous improvement on past games. If I'm honest, the I have mixed feelings about the story. The opening cutscene and the start of it were great. It really built up my excitement and did a great job of managing a good level of suspense. But towards the end of the first chapter, I just got the feeling the story was getting choppy. Cutscenes were thrown in at the most random of places. There would be a new cutscene out of nowhere sometimes. It left me confused, which is something that should never happen in a HOPA game. It seemed like I was just getting new information thrown at me before I'd had time to process the last bit. Lucky for me though, the confusion cleared up by the start of chapter 2, where I'd finally processed everything. From there, the story became interesting again and the demo ended on an exciting note, making me wonder what was going to happen next. On a side note, I really liked the fact that this story follows the same characters, and how the developers made references to every other Grim Tales game. So overall, an interesting, albeit slightly choppy story. I was absolutely astounded as to how much Elephant has improved on their gameplay. I have criticised them as of late for run-of-the-mill gameplay and lack of innovation. It looks like Elephant have taken those criticisms on board, because everything about their gameplay here is absolutely brilliant. Let me start with the HOS: Elephant have now put behind them the days of just plain junkpile behind them. In this game they really have jazzed up their junkpile scenes. This made them a lot more fun and made me eager to play the next one as soon as one finished. Methods of jazzing up included finding keys to unlock the list, as well as assembling and repairing an item to add to your inventory. I was pleased to see that Elephant put so much effort in to their HOS, because it really has paid off. Perhaps, then, it is because I loved them so much that I am slightly disappointed with their quantity. There were only three of them during the demo. I would have loved to see one or two more. I can only hope their numbers will increase as the game goes on. I also loved the puzzles. I loved how they were unique and incredibly fun. They varied a lot too: We even had a whack-a-mole game in there! That took me back to my childhood. But what I really loved about the puzzles in this game was the return of those multi-step puzzles from one of my favourite games, MCF: Fate's Carnival. I was so excited to see it return here that I actually applauded (which caused my family to give me a strange look). Those puzzles are my favourite of all time. There was only one of them in the demo, so I hope there are a lot more. In terms of quantity, the developers have done quite a good job. There are 6 puzzles, which is a good number for me. As the game wears on, I hope to see more fun and unique puzzles like the ones we had in the demo. I was also quite pleased with the adventure component. Elephant have also done something unique here. There is the ability to pan around by clicking arrows at the top of the scene, which made the game a little more challenging. I sometimes found it difficult to keep track of all the locations, but that's what made it more fun! Other than that, the tasks are fairly straightforward. I enjoyed the mix of challenging and easy here. As far as extra gameplay features go, the developers have done really well here. There are two extras here, one of which ties in really well with the game's storyline, and both of which I really enjoyed. One of these features was + objects, which are pretty much the standard these days. This feature was done well, because there were never too many + objects at one time. The only bad thing I would say is that there is no indication of when the item can be toyed with. I didn't need it, but for those who do, this will be disappointing. The other feature was the artist's kit. I really enjoyed this feature because it was incredibly fun, as well as tying in with the theme of the game. The artist's kit served a purpose, because everything you drew came to life and helped you in the game. There were many different minigames, such as connecting the dots to finish the sketch, or painting the pictures. This feature was used fairly often and was executed quite well. As far as basic features go, Elephant have done a great job. There are three modes of difficulty, and a working map. Better yet, there is a DIARY! WOOHOOOOO! I have been BEGGING for this to return for a long time, and to see it back was amazing. My only criticism is that it is too hidden. It should have its own section, not be hidden in with the map. I barely use the map, so if I hadn't used it this demo, I would not have seen the diary, and that would have been a shame. Overall, brilliant gameplay. These developers have not put a foot wrong. As one would come to expect with an Elephant game, the graphics are great. They are drawn with some nice detail and great colours to match the atmosphere of the game. I also liked the character designs, and the appearance of lip-synch in the game. It made the characters feel more lifelike. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hard. Differences are standard. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- Both recharged at a decent rate for the difficulty I selected. Hint is useful outside HOS. Diary- Great for keeping track of events. Loved reading the entries. In my opinion, should have been separate from the map though. Map- The map is useful. It is interactive and lets you know where you have tasks to perform. + Objects- These are items you need to interact with to complete. There are a good number of them, but not too many at the one time, which is good. Artist's Kit- This was a fantastic feature. It tied in well with the game and was generally very fun to use. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions Achievements Collectible monsters Morphing Objects Gray Family collectibles ' Concept Art Wallpapers Music Screensaver Secret Room WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Elephant have really stepped it up with CE Extras here, so I would say the CE is good value for money, but I will be going with the SE, as collectibles don't really fuss me. But if you are someone who loves collectibles, absolutely go with the CE. You will have a blast. MY PROGRESS There were 2 chapters in the demo. There are 6 chapters overall. My demo time went for 52 minutes on the easiest mode. :) Before this game, I was under the impression that Elephant's best days were behind them, but after playing this one, I couldn't have been more wrong. This is not only the best game of the Grim Tales series, but one of Elephant's best in a long time. This will probably become one of the best games of the year. It earns a well-deserved four and a half from me, with the only reason it's not getting a five being my issues with the story.
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome addition to this series! Hi all. I am a lovin' this game, and I haven't said that in a very long time! Yep, you guessed it, I have the other 6 in this series and they are all very nice games. This one seems to have almost everything you want in a really good game. Graphics are excellent. Game play is almost perfect...a little lag time between scenes, but no problems at all and the game filled my large screen. Colors are very clear, clean and true. Music is very nice and somewhat soothing, until it needs to put you on the edge of your seat. Voice overs were good, but Thomas could have used a little deeper and more sinister voice. I don't care much for the scrolling screen, but it works well and seems to fit this game. HOPs are extremely well done and quite fun. Items are not difficult to find and there are no junk piles. Puzzles were also very fun and a little different. Not all that challenging, but well done. There were not a lot of HOPs or puzzles in the demo, almost not enough. Hint system is quite helpful, fills at a nice rate, and does transport, which is a good thing, since you transport long distances in most cases. I did not find the need to use the SG except to see how many chapters there are, but it is well done and easy to follow. The collectibles are challenging...morphing objects that are not as easy to find as you may think; 24 little monsters that are easy to miss if you aren't looking for them. There are numerous achievements and some are a little different than what we have been used to seeing in these games. I really like how they included paintings as part of the game play. This is quite simple, but it is something different. I think one of the things I liked the most, was how they used the family album to incorporate all of the other games in this series into this one. It brings you up to speed and reminds you of what has happened...very well done. I do not give 5 stars easily and the only reason I am not on this one is because you cannot "skip" through or hurry up the cut scenes, for those of use who read faster than they speak. The game has enough challenge and intrigue to keep you interested, moving and wanting more. I think this game will appeal to all levels of players and yes, I am definitely going to get this one for my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games you may not care for this one at all. I would be surprised if you didn't. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solid game Though I admit I am getting tired of Detective Gray and her family, I am fascinated by Thomas. The connect the dots and paint by number portions were repetitive though I liked the animals that came from the tedium. There must be a better way to achieve that end without such childish tasks. I truly liked the game, The bonus game was not as good but was enjoyable. The secret room however was a waste of time.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great graphics and music, not so great story. Its a decent game but pretty much the same as the other games in this series, top notch graphics and soundtrack but with a mediocre story filled with deux ex machinas
Date published: 2015-06-06
  • y_2020, m_2, d_23, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_21980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

A shadow from the Gray family's past has returned for revenge. Can you save your family from their worst nightmares?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.