Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(541.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Elephant Games, the studio that brought you Grim Tales: The Vengeance, comes a thrilling new chapter in the Grim Tales saga!

It wasn't bad enough that your train was running late, but now a mysterious note warns that this Gray family dinner will be the last! Inside the Gray family castle, everything is in chaos, with your family nowhere to be found. The walls are graffitied with the scribbles of a madman as his laughter echoes through the halls. Armed with a magical paint set, you are the only one who can save them. Reunite with previous Grim Tales characters, including Luisa, Elizabeth, James McGray, and even your niece, Jackie! Can you unmask the kidnapper and beat him at his own game? Find out in this mysterious Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Can the past be rewritten? Play the bonus chapter to find out
  • Score soundtracks, screen-savers, and concept art
  • Check out your achievements and collections
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1536 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1236 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(541.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Animations, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... Another Great Game In The Series, But Never Quite Big Enough ... So Wait For The Deals ... I Hope We Can Look Forward To Another Grim Tales ...
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully done! Wonderful artwork, and all the bonus features one should expect in a CE (I usually settle for the SE unless there are a lot of extras, and this game has them all). The only drawback is the level of challenge could be higher. So far (based on the demo) the mini-games and HOS are very easy to complete but they're still enjoyable.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME BY ELEPHANT GAMES I absolutely loved this game. One of the best games put out in a long long time. The storyline was good, the length of the game was good and there was lots to do. I loved the bonus and the secret room at the end. Way to go BF thanks for offering a great game!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game - cannot understand some comments here! This is more a comment, than a review, as there are many reviews here already. I think it is a really good sequence of Grim Tales and tells a further chapter of the Grays' story. I think the atmosphere is just right for the story and even though there are no replayable puzzles or HOGs it is a very good CE!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object games are fun! XD i just like searching things! love love love
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic in so many ways! The creativity in this is wonderful and I loved the mini games which weren't that mini, when you had many steps to unlock the puzzle didn't want to skip any of the fun. Well thought out. Beautifully put together. Thanks for fun!
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Enjoying this game immensely! Great graphics and story line! Well done!
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A SPECTACULAR GAME and A WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE!! If you are a fan of Grim Tales then you will absolutely LOVE Color of Fright. This game is perhaps one of the promos for a series I've ever seen as it combines and re-enacts the cumulative saga and storyline of the Gray family into one action packed adventure game . The plot is quite sinister and unexpected as we are introduced to Thomas, stepbrother to Luisa and our Grim Tales heroine "Aunt Gray". Thomas has fallen obssesively and quite madly in love with his stepsister Luisa from the moment he meets her as a child, to the moment she announces her engagement to the "wolfishly" handsome gazzilionare John Gray and his sociopathic tendencies are triggered. When the Gray family realizes Thomas is a shrine building-fatal attraction-stalker, they unanimously decide to admit him into a posh psychiatric facility. Feeling betrayed and "pitied," Thomas begins to plot the demise of his adopted family by recreating their personal "nightmares" on canvas which come to life acting as portals of his vengeance. Armed with your own magical set of canvas and paints, Aunt Gray must now "design" the safety of each family member by beating Thomas at his own twisted game. The paint feature is hands down the best I have played. Tasked with drawing, painting, and combining colors on your pallate this wonderfully creative feature is activated automatically. By extension, the graphics are a visual feast... clear, vivid and vibrant. Screen shots are often extended to the right and left by arrows revealing important features and literally expanding your depth of field and play space. HOS and mini-games are equally creative and innovative combining many of the latest features introduced in cutting edge games (which you will find on the best rated games on the Big Fish site) as well as old favorites such as morphing objects. There is a great bonus feature in the CE called the "Secret Room" which is dedicated to finding morphing paint supplies throughout the castle in a span of 8 minutes (and believe me you're really going to want to beat Thomas). Other finds include Gray family collectibles which are very familiar as they relate to each character's personal story and game in the GT series, particularly GT: The Legacy, The Vengence, and Bloody Mary installments. The last collectable are a series of animated "monsters" for every mood which is plain fun and hilarious. As a fan of the Grim Tales series, I bought COF immediately ,sans demo, from "tomorrow's game today" without reservation and with much excitement. Elephant and Big Fish are constantly raising the bar of excellence in the adventure game genre and I expect they will continue to lead the industry by exploring and expanding the boundries of imagination and discovery. Congratulations on a yet another spectacular release... your work is much appreciated!!
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a stupendous gameplay ! I played the entire game bonus chapter included and I dont't inderstand the reviews with one or two stars... ??? You can think that a game is too challenging for you or not your kind of game but not say that it is a bad game ? I play games since the beginning of BFG, there were plenty of TM games at this time :). The french BFG site was not created. Then came the hidden object games : I have plenty of them in my purchase history ! But now I want originality and a solid gameplay, this game has it all !!! The cinematics and graphisms are fantastic. You can go to the left or the right with your cursor in some scenes of the game and I liked that !! For those who don't like that, this is'nt in all the game. You have a lot to do, this game is not boring at all. It is the first game for a long time that I was sad to finish. You have collectibles, morphing objects, little monsters to find. It was very fun and not too hard to seek them. It is not important not to find them all. The HOS are interactive with lists of objects , match pairs, silhouettes to find. There are easy mini games and more difficult, logical but fun puzzles to do. There are fun details like to feed fishes at the beginning of the game or a deer which is crossing the road away... You have a palette at the bottom right of your screen to draw little animals, then paint them. They can help you in the game. I You must find sketches to draw them. I liked that very much ! The only complaint I have is for the colors : always purple, blue, pink colors. Yes it is a creepy game, Thomas is mad and creepy, but there is no need to use always such colors ! I have a wallpaper of this game on my computer : the two wolves are pink ! The last Awakening was also blue purple... It's a shame, real colors are so beautiful and can also be creepy... I remember now, you have a secret room after the bonus, it's a secret room so I don't say anithing about it ! A little more fun in the game :) So, try it and if it is your kind of game, buy it and have fun !!! It was so a great pleasure for me !!! Have a good time !
Date published: 2014-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of things to do Somebody wrote that there were a lot of things to find ( collectibles, morphings objects, etc) and to do...Well that's the kind of game that is worht a CE and the one that I always want to play..lots of everything, so I can have a lot of time playing this game than the ones that doesn't have anything and they will go fast and for the same price...We need more of these with a lot of things to do...Thumbs up.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Grim Tales that just hit the BALL RIGHT OUT OF THE PARK! So far I own all of the Grim Tales titles but only played 3 completely. I will be purchasing the CE of this. I've played Bigfish games for yrs and know what all the Developers have to offer by now and it just doesn't get much better than this. I tend to like darker games so this was much darker than Grim Tales 4 Stone Queen (a kingdom complete with Queen tale better fit for a 12 yr old girl., this one was WAY better. # SIMILAR GAMEs: 1. Dark Dimensions City of Fog- The story and graphics almost identical. 2.Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome #if you liked this Grim Tales you will lk. Dorian G.) 3. Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor 4. Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward WELL DONE: Good job DEVELOPERS with the CE part, I almost always buy a CE that offers a screensavr. You could have added "Behind the scenes how this game was made but this CE had alot, PERFECT MUSIC actually worth saving and only 4 Concept art, not a fan of Conc Art but you put the games title on it so it could still be used as wallpaper. GAMEPLAY: I LOVED the "artist option" where every so often you bring a picture to life. The scenes in all gamplay PAN to make a larger room. Really liked it. More 3d. They used creepy scare music if you touched a painting on the wall, and you could touch on items and effect them such as flowers in a vase and switching on lamps. HO SCENES: Some were normal and some were find 5 keys in scene, ulock 4 words and find those, one of the words had an extra thing to do like match dog to dog. Next HO scene had a hidden piece of a mirror behind it so when you find all items you put the mirror together and collect it. I LOVED them. Puzzles: Wow. I have played probably 1000 puzzles in the last few yrs. and this was my favorite, it opens a door. The game FRIGHT also had great puzzles,especially the Coll editon. The puzzle I'm talking about is featured in the games description by Bigfish, 2nd picture in. SO CLEVER! I usually like Elephant games manner of gamplay but this game nailed it. There wern't TOO many collecting odd items to fit them into a gadget to move on. Sometimes thats too much bouncing between areas. There were enough breaks in this to not make it repetative. HINT SYSTEM & MAPS: Perfectly done. If you get lost in this game, then you are just lost in more ways than one. MY ONLY COMPLAINTS: I missed the diary. I have SO many games in my collection that sometimes I don't come back to a game in over a month and can't remember gamplay without it. I also play several games at once. I missed REPLAYABLE CUTSCENES. I need those to remember as well and so much effort goes into them they should always be accessable straight from the inventory the way they were in the game MCF RAINCLIFF. & DEVELOPERS.......There are 2 game developers that gives 7 or 8 SCREENSAVERS AND THAT IS A HUGE LURE FOR ME TO BUY A CE. Especially ones that save in the Screensaver window of the computer itself. Its best to make ones that stay after the game is removed because it is a constant reminder...."Oh, yea...I loved that game, NEED TO BUY THE NEXT!" All in all this was a terrific game and everyone that worked on it should be proud of themselves. Typical to Grimm Tales, the graphics were great. Thankyou Elephant and Bigfish, I really am SUCH A HUGE FAN!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color of Fright might just be the best in the series... This is an amazing HOPA. Your Adopted brother Thomas is an artist gone insane who is determined to seek revenge on the entire Gray family. This edition of Grim Tales is everything you want in an epic adventure. Elephant dev's really raised the bar with voice, graphics, 3D screen panning and interaction gameplay. This is an adult game not for children. There are other adventure's from Elephant that are more challenging, but this was brilliantly executed. I highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not given lightly.!!!! I don't give five stars often and now you see it. Still games not long enough for me especially good ones. Since I have bought every one they have except a few. Can any of us do what they do for doing great games. Give me more and more. Please do.
Date published: 2014-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing the Dance of Joy Here! Yes, I really am. This game has a wonderful storyline that is helped along at every step with drawings, photos, memory books, letters, notes, and sketches. And once you are in that story, there are interactive and varied HOPs, good mini-games, and wonderful locations to explore, along with many collectibles and morphing objects in addition to the usual CE goodies. This may be the best of this series of games. And it's definitely a contender for game of the year. If you think I'm gushing, I'll stop and go back to the dance of joy!
Date published: 2014-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bar has been raised Elephant games have just raised the bar for other developers of hidden object games! New and innovative HOP scenes. While this is a addition to the Gray family series, it brings new elements to both challenge and excite the seasoned player. Excellent graphics, music is subtle and unobtrusive. Voice overs on cut scenes appropriate to the characters. Interactive map lets you go from one scene to another. I played the CE but hardly used the Strategy Guide. Puzzles range from fairly easy to, I'll admit I used the skip button. If I had any complaint at all it would be that sometimes your mouse has to be in exactly the right position to collect an item.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family Secrets Always Return To Haunt You This is one family reunion you do not want to miss! Aunt Gray's train delay caused her to be late to the Gray Family Reunion, instead of bright smiles from familiar family members she is welcomed by an empty house and threatening graffiti pointing out each families weakness and dark family secrets! Little sister Lusia, along with her husband John were once cursed and turned into werewolves (those were such good times) their son Brandon has also had his fair share of turmoil, (Snow Queen) but he's all grown up and on a business trip in Germany. For now Brandon seems safe but the graffiti clearly states that Brandon will be the next victim! Then there's Jackie, your sweet, innocent niece who has been afraid of mirrors ever since Bloody Mary traumatized her and her classmates at the boarding school (gotta admit that one sent shivers down my spine) Let's not forget about Elizabeth and James McGray and how your ability to travel back in time provided proof that James wasn't guilty of murdering Elizabeth. My, my, my, this family seems doomed, and it seems that your adopted brother Thomas has some family secrets of his own, what does he want to prove to this close knit family, and why now? Fanflippingtastic is the only word I can think of to describe this epic adventure. Superior graphics seems to be the norm with this series and they have added a new feature lately that puts this game on top. I think you will agree that allowing the player to scan to the right and left of each scene, seamlessly, gives the game more of a 3D vibe and helps make the player feel more involved, almost as if you and Aunt Gray are one and you are actually there! As if the camera panning wasn't enough, you get to interact with the surroundings, touch the fountain and watch the water dance, sprinkle fish food into the pond and watch the goldfish gobble up the floating pellets and if it's dark, try turning on the lamp that's exactly what you would do if you were actually there, these devs have really outdone themselves and it hasn't gone unnoticed! The special features keep coming, some items have plus sign indicators which mean that the item requires further interaction such as sharpening a knife or placing a handle onto an axe head, before you are able to use that item. You find a hidden artist kit that once belonged to Thomas, he never told anyone that his beautiful paintings came to life, and apparently your paintings will come to life as well once you complete a painting in the form of paint by numbers. There are several different hidden Collections throughout the game which will have a brief description about the meaning of that collection and you can view the collections anytime. There are also Morphing Objects (my favorite all time feature) and Hidden Monsters that I thought was unnecessary but oh well. The Hidden Object scenes are becoming a standard with this series where you must first find color coded keys to unlock the lists, some of the listed items require some type of interaction such as placing a single butterfly with two other butterflies, once each section of items are located you will acquire mirror fragments that will be reassembled into a completed mirror which will then become an inventory item. The mini games are super entertaining, my favorite was a lengthy puzzle where you need to interact with several different components to solve. First you find a missing moon symbol, place the moon where it belongs and then repeat the sequence of`twinkling stars which spins a wheel and a dog appears, that dog needs placed next to Elizabeth so that he can scare away the evil entity in her life and expose a torch which is used to light a lantern for Jackie to scare away Bloody Mary exposing mirror fragments and so forth until you find several gears which is the final piece of this extremely interactive mini game. This Collectors Edition has Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, Music, Achievements, Collectibles, Little Monsters, Morphing Objects, a Secret Room, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER!!!!!!!!!! This game is what we have all been looking for from BFG! The music, the graphics, the story.........it is the hit of the year!!! Thanks for bringing this game to us..........BRAVO! BRAVO!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome back to Gray's Castle! The poor Gray family have certainly had their ups and downs in the Grim Tales' games! You are once again Aunt Gray who returns to Gray's Castle for the traditional family dinner but finds your relatives all gone, with some challenging notes left for you. You quickly figure out the crazy adopted brother Thomas has escaped from the mental institution, taken the family and turned Luisa - his love - and her husband John back into wolves. Thomas is a painter, and you find his magic painting set that lets you connect the dots to finish the drawing, and then paint it, so it comes to life and helps you. A new concept with this game that takes a bit getting used to, is the left and right panning that makes each scene into a kind of panorama. Every time I got stuck, it was because I forgot to pan to find some new clues. There are also some nice touches with objects like fish food and fountains that will bring a smile to your face, even if they aren't necessary to the game! The HOPs are quite clever and multi-faceted. Find some keys to open up the lists, then find the items in the list to make yet another item you need. The mini-games are unique -- you open up a contraption that you have to figure out what to do next to bring up the next item you need. Luckily, there are hints within the mini-game so if you get stuck, you don't have to skip, you can use a hint instead. This developer certainly gives us our CE bling. There's the secret room, 24 Monsters with cute names to fine, collectible treasures - so far relating to Luisa's wedding - plus morphing objects. There are 18 achievements, almost all time/hint/skip related. There are only 3 modes of play, but there is a gamma option to lighten up the screen -- one I use because my large screen gets darker near the top. Try this one -- and the previous ones if you haven't played them!
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just fab game... Been a lot of hum drum games lately, but this game is anything but! Elephant games are mainly excellent, and this didn't disappoint. 3 play modes (although do wish we'd get a custom mode too to do away with black bar tips), plenty of collectables including morphing objects, map, hint system excellent and takes you to a scene with an objective. Amazing graphics, music in keeping, not too many cut scenes and not too many HOPs. The HOPs were really good, and for once I looked forwards to them. A good variety of them too. Puzzles interesting. A few along the lines of the MCF games, but not as complex (thankfully). The bonus chapter was ok. Short as is the norm it seems, although at the end you could enter the secret room and search for a selection of morphing objects. Really enjoyed this game and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great HOAG.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not hit the BUY button fast enough Loved this series but this is the best one yet. So much detail and the music keeps up with the story. The game is intense and fast paced. Others have filled you in on the details of play. Just know that you have many things to do and collect but the main story will keep you busy. All I can tell you is BUY THIS ONE !!!! Have fun, I sure will.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PACHYDERM REVERTS BACK TO A HOWLING SUCCESS WOW! WHAT A GREAT GAME! PACHYDERM HAS UPPED THEIR GAME WITH THIS MASTERPIECE. Bravo! Bravo! Pachyderm. Once in a "blue" moon we have a game which appeals to the art lovers in the pond. A big standing ovation for a fantastic game. I hope you do not turn "red" from all the praise lauded on game. This game should appeal to our "artsy" friends on the site LEVELS: 3 levels - Casual, Advanced, Hardcore(no hints and skips). No ability to customize the game. GRAPHICS: Realistic and lifelike providing the ability to move the screen multidirectionally with arrows. MAP - Provided at the beginning. Changes between "drawn city map" and "real world map." Indicates and transport to areas in which activities need to be performed. HOP SCENES: Very innovative and puzzle-like. Keys open up the HOP scenes. As you finish sections of the HOP scenes you are given fragments of an inventory piece. There are also the standard object search but the scenes are subject related. PUZZLES: Varied throughout and not difficult. Matching symbols. Slider puzzles. The HOP scenes are puzzle-like. There is a sequencing puzzle in which you must perform an action to continue in solving the puzzle. In at least one of the puzzles you can choose between the settings of Hardcore and Casual. I found an equal amount of puzzles and HOP scenes. INVENTORY: It is interactive and well done. EXTRA GOODIES : Morphing objects 24 Collectible monsters representing the four elements, - air, fire, earth and water Family Heirloom Hidden Collectible items 18 Achievements like "Fish are Friends" - and right they are! Our BF pond fish are the best. Elementary dot-to-dot drawn animals followed by painting them with a paint-by-numbers sequence after which the animals "spring" to life to be used in the game.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COLOR OF FRIGHT ! WOW! SAVING THE GRAYS,IS ONLY THE BEGINNING! THIS SHOULD BE THE NUMBER 1 GAME OF THE YEAR! THANKS BIG FISH AND,ELEPHANT! YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY IT, VERY UNIQUE FEATURES, SURE YAH WILL AGREE.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Game! Color of Fright is Perfect in Every Way. In a new game in the Grim Tales series, one of my favorite developers has stepped it up a notch and presents a game that is worthy competition to some of my all-time favorites. The Gray family is back, and in Color of Fright we learn more about the family and their hidden secrets. Of course with the game being from a top developer the graphics are excellent. One of the new features included in this game is that we have the ability to “pan” around in most scenes but not all of them so be sure to keep your eyes open for the faint arrows at the top of the scenes when this feature is available. The lip-synced voiceovers are very good and I found the background narration from the culprit excellent with the perfect amount of sarcasm and anger to set the tone for this creepy game. We are offered only three modes of gameplay with no custom option included. I don’t think that this developer usually includes the custom option of gameplay but I wish they did since we do find it available more frequently and I appreciate the ability to set certain features to suit the way I like to play a game. We have a very helpful interactive map that allows us to move freely between scenes and realities. When opened, the map also includes a tab for your diary so you can keep track of pertinent information. There is another interesting new tool but it took me a while to catch on to its use so I am not going to say anything about how it works aside from the fact that it is an interesting inclusion in this game. The HOPs have taken on a new flavor in Color of Fright as well and I am happy to say that our first HOP is not the proverbial suitcase. Not only are some of the HOPs different it looks like the Elephant team is moving in a new direction with some of them, and they have “borrowed” a method or two from another favorite developer of mine and included them in this game. The puzzles are better than what we have seen lately in HOPA games and many had a bit more challenge than usual, although I have to admit that I found some to be very tedious at times since they are not my favorite types of puzzles. We can look forward to lots of collectibles, morphing objects and various achievements so; IMHO, this is a game worthy of the CE designation. It is a matter of personal preference as to whether you would opt for the CE or the SE because I don’t think that aside from the collectibles much else will change. When I first played the beta for the game I found myself a bit confused and frustrated as I was having a great deal of difficulty moving forward. It seemed that using some objects was so far-fetched that it made the game slow at first. That being said, by the time I finished, I had totally changed my opinion and knew that Grim Tales Color of Fright is a must-have game for me and one that I will definitely enjoy. There are lots of challenges, an interesting storyline, and new gameplay features that are sure to keep many of us who are seasoned HOPA gamers very happy. Although the game is a must-have purchase for me, as always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Grim Tales so far The game is spectacular in every detail, so let us start. First of all the story is engaging. We find ourselves encountering the very strange Gray family having been invited to a supposed family reunion. This is where the fun starts. Upon entering the Gray castle ( after completing a few tasks to locate the entrance key ) we soon learn that all is not well within the family. we discover that Thomas Gray, taken in by the Grays, has a special talent as an artist. His paintings come to life. In fact during game play, we get to animate a few things including a butterfly, owl and chipmunk during the demo. Turns out Thomas has a thing for Luisa Gray but he is spurned when Luisa falls instead for John. This drives Thomas off the deep end and he is now bent on some sort of revenge against the Grays. Here is where the story gets more interesting. The Grays, at least some of them, can be transubstantiated into wolves. We don't learn why in the demo and that's a good thing in terms of story development. The developer of Color of Fright does a great job by allowing the story to develop in much the same way as a good book will. This aspect of the game is enough to compel me to want the game in my repertoire. Fortunately there is much more than the story to propel the game into the realm of greatness. Secondly, I enjoy that there is little or no hand holding by the devs. The player is allowed or is the better term forced into thinking his way through the game. This is best illustrated in some clever puzzles, a couple of which were hard enough for me to skip ( during the demo only as I rarely skip ). The HO segments are very well done. I liked the first one wherein the player needed to find keys to open doors to the hidden objects themselves. I wish the keys were a bit harder to find. Third, I have often asked game makers to think outside the box and use some originality. This game certainly delivers on this front. For added pleasures there are morphing objects and some funky little creatures to collect. 2014 for me has not been a banner year as far as my personal game pleasure is concerned. However the year is looking to end in style as there have been some A+ offerings. This Grim Tales "reads" and plays like a first rate occult thriller. It satisfies me on every level that I want in a solid game. The CE is a sure fire winner and Is without a doubt being added to my own collection.
Date published: 2014-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great graphics and music, not so great story. Its a decent game but pretty much the same as the other games in this series, top notch graphics and soundtrack but with a mediocre story filled with deux ex machinas
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from revenge I quite liked this one. The revenge of an adopted child who after showing some serious mental health issues is sent to a clinic for help. I loved all the morphing objects, the collectible creatures and the collectible objects left over from other games in the series. There was a new addition of a palette that included draw by numbers and then paint by symbols. That object would them come to life and you could use it in the main game. That addition was fun to use. It was beautifully drawn although the color palette was a bit dark. I always notice little extras like the pond that sprays up when you click it. how the lamps turn on and off or how the pages float gracefully into the diary. This game was a reasonable length with a rather predictable outcome. You must rescue each set of people. The extra chapter was good and I always prefer that the morphing objects etc. carry over as it gives me more incentive to play it. The addition of the full page puzzles (think MCF) were fun.. I chose the little train one as my fave. It had a good teleporting map also. I liked the extra extra game where you are timed to find a series of morphing objects before the bomb exploded. FUN I do though have a couple of things that were not so great. The SG was on the main page rather than being accessible through the map so while trying to keep track of 3 different collectible I was having to leave and come back often. I try to make sure my number 20 matches theirs for example to make sure I don't miss any and having to close the game and go back to the main page each time was well Not fun. Also while there were 3 things to collect, there was not an achievement for completing any of them. Kind of disappointing. But overall this was a good addition to the series. I enjoyed playing and would recommend it.
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rating Based on Demo - Pretty Good! I've played demos for all the Grim Tales games and I've liked them all very much so I was pretty excited when I found out that there was going to another game in the series! The demo was just long enough for me and the story line was pretty good, a good story line is kind of important to me! The only thing I wasn't sure about was the visual quality, it didn't quite seem in the same league as the other games in the series. Other than than that I liked it a lot and I really hope to own it someday!
Date published: 2014-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A MEMORY ALBUM OF THE PAST I really liked this game. If any of you have played the "Grim Tales" before,, this one brings them all together. It is another "painting" game, a genre I thought stopped a while ago. But, it is a very good one.Some of the mini games are the best I have played in a long time. I would play a whole game of them, hmm are you listening BF. there were no difficult miini's or HO's. I played on the toughest mode and didn't need the strategy guide. The bonus content wasn't that great. Not much to do and really not necessary regarding the story. I also love the collectibles. Happy Gaming
Date published: 2014-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from INFERNAL CUT SCENES decent hop, but, is drug down with endless cut scenes, and a minimum of puzzles and hop.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solid game Though I admit I am getting tired of Detective Gray and her family, I am fascinated by Thomas. The connect the dots and paint by number portions were repetitive though I liked the animals that came from the tedium. There must be a better way to achieve that end without such childish tasks. I truly liked the game, The bonus game was not as good but was enjoyable. The secret room however was a waste of time.
Date published: 2014-11-11
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_21980, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: Color of Fright Collector's Edition

A shadow from the Gray family's past has returned for revenge. Can you save your family from their worst nightmares?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.