Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

The bestselling Dark Parable series continues with The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide! Follow the clues as they take you to an underwater kingdom in this exciting hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

You've been called to investigate a strange purple tide. And that's when the mermaid shows up...

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I love the Dark Parables games and this one is no exception.  I love the beauty and explosion of color that these games offer. ”  - Kathy, Beta Tester

“I thoroughly enjoyed the trial.  The graphics are beautifully drawn and I can't wait until it becomes available for purchase!!”  - Sid, Beta Tester


This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A variety of hidden-object scenes, including fractured objects!
  • The bonus game unlocks the secrets of Prasino's mad king
  • Achievements
  • Available Strategy Guide
  • Wallpapers and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 862 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(423.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 154.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The magic of Dark Parables is gone. I own every Dark Parable and at least 2 other Blue Tea games. I have absolutly loved them all. But this one lacks the magic and wonder of all the other Blue Tea and Dark Parable games. The Animation was more on the level of the first, with Briar Rose. It was a big step back from the last game. It also felt like the story was not as deep and did not really have a connection with any of the others besides a few frog statues and a Red Riding Hood reference. It just seemed like it was disconnected, not as thought through and the story was not as strong as the others. The cursed objects were removed. The cut scenes seemed of a much lower quality and the beautiful animation of the past characters when they talked was missing completely. I did not like the speech boxes over watching the person talk to me in the stunning way they were in other games. The backgrounds and Hidden Object scenes seemed to be missing something that made them so very stunning in past games. I do not know if it was detail or quality but there seemed to be fewer of them and they lacked something. The way the pieces came together to form the complete object seemed jerky and odd. To me this was a big step back in the Dark Parable games, not any kind of step forward. The animation scenes seemed pixelated and rough by comparison to the last games. The graphics in the regular game were so much better than those in the animated scenes. If anything that should be reversed. There was little movement in some cut scenes and they lacked the seamless and soft beauty that used to be there. It just felt like much lower quality of animation work. Something that I feel they had nailed and I loved in their other games! This was a backward slide. It felt like it should have been either the first in the series, and done years ago, or not a Blue Tea game at all. I hope this was a one-time slip for Blue Tea and Dark Parables. If this is the quality and what we will expect from the rest of Blue Tea games I will be playing the trial before to see if the game is worth the cost. I have bought every Dark Parable game since the Frog Prince as soon as they came out, no trial needed, because I KNEW they would be amazing. And because of that I wanted to support them so they could keep making the amazing games I have come to love and crave. This is the first one that I am not sure playing the trial would have convinced me to buy it. And only because I have come to expect so much MORE from Blue Tea games than any others because of the quality, stunning beauty and gameplay from past games they have put out. There were on a diffrent level that other Hidden Object games. This one feels like any other game out there. Not bad! But just another in a long list of hidden object games and thus could be lost among them all. Over all it is not a bad game. But it does not feel like it was made by Blue Tea and it did not feel like a Dark Parable game at all.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much fun Dark Parables has been a favorite series for me. I have all of them and I have played them more than once! This one, however, will likely be my last. I was seriously disappointed. Yes, it's a beautiful game. The graphics are very appealing, but I'd rather the graphics were a bit less than that the story should suffer, and the story-line DID suffer. There was no interesting development in this story, and the old fairy tale about the Little mermaid was sure perverted in this game. I didn't feel as if there was a story at all and the ending was abrupt and made it feel incomplete. I'm also sick of the snarky Dev comments. Leave your humor out of it please. It doesn't add a thing to cover up a poorly written and executed story. I know lots like the extras of finding little hidden moons or stars or fairies or whatever, but that shouldn't be implemented at the cost of a decent story. Bottomline is I was very disappointed, and I won't be purchasing another one of these games without trying it first.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is not Dark Parables... I love the Dark Parables series and I always look forward to a new game in the series but this is the first time I was disappointed. It is a nice game if you haven't played any of the other games, but if you have, it's easy to see the difference. It's just not as atmospheric as the other ones, you don't have the same feeling of entering a magic world. The graphics are not as magnificent and detailed as they used to be, the music does not carry you away, the mystery of the story does not unfold in the beautiful way it used to. Even the wallpapers available are not as nice. Maybe it's because this time Blue Tea cooperated with another Dev to make the game. Whatever it is, it's not the same. And I miss the Dark Parables...
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh the agony Eagerly I waited for the latest installment of the Dark Parables. Day after day I checked to see if it had been released. Finally that day came and I purchased it straightaway. Alas, my joy and excitement were short lived. Disappointed is how I feel after completing the game. First, the story was fragmented. It didn't flow like past DP games. And who was the Little Mermaid? Was the story really about her, or the goddess, or maybe it was the wacko father, or maybe it was about the giant eel. Who knows. I would have preferred they delayed the release to get it right rather than rushing it and doing a mediocre job. Second, the puzzles were too easy and some of the hidden objects were so tiny I had to use hints which I hate to do. And i will admit, I miss the morphs. Finally, the graphics were ok but not what I'd come to expect from a Blue Tea Dark Parable. In the Blue Tea games, there's this feeling that you've been transported to this otherworld. The scenes were dreamy and inviting even though you know that any second you could be attacked by wolves, man eating plants or evil puppet masters. i hope the next installment is better or I'll have to find a new series to obsess over.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why have Blue Tea done it? I always look forward to seeing a Dark Parables game and was going to buy this one without doing the demo. So glad I didnt. Why have Blue Tea teamed with Eipix, who have so many games of their own coming out its almost too much. This game seemed to be about finding stuff, picking it up and then putting it down in a different place. None of the magic of the other Blue Tea games. What a shame.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Whats happened to the Graphics!!! I have just finished playing the demo of this game and am really disappointed with the graphics. Love the Greek and Mermaid theme for a change but the graphics are well below Blue Tea standards. Having just recently replayed Dark Parables: The Snow Queen there is no comparison Scenery wise. Its a shame, go alone next time Blue Tea and regain your beautiful and perfect graphics.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened? I suppose if I had not played all the other Dark Parable games, I would not be so disappointed with this one. The magic is just NOT there. The game flows differently than in the previous DP's. I learned to be a fan of FROG's playing Blue Tea Games. This game gave me the feeling that I had gone to my favorite restaurant for my favorite meal cooked by a great chef. Then I was served a meal prepared by the cook at the diner down the street. The end credits said it all. There were only EIPIX folks and their goofy comments listed...Steven Zhao of Blue Tea wasn't even mentioned.
Date published: 2014-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing! I never thought I could be disappointed by a Dark Parables game, but this proved me wrong. The whole thing felt rushed. Voiceovers were slapped together in a text box rather than animated, a lot of the puzzles were repeated, the regular morphing items in each scene were replaced with the special item (the Eipix symbol, bleh), and the ending was unsatisfying, to say the least. I'm not sure why Blue Tea felt the need to team up with Eipix on this one (I fear they aren't being bought out), but it was a terrible mistake. While I like Eipix games on their own, they've never been even remotely close to the quality Blue Tea produces. I'd much rather wait 6+ months between games than get something that seems so rushed.
Date published: 2014-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just okay Was so disappointed that the game was not true Blue Tea. Have waited forever for a new one to come out! That being said, I think it is an o.k., miss the morphing objects. The scenery was well done and beautiful. Not sure if I will purchase this game. Blue Tea, you need to stand on your own, that is what made us such great fans.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Very Odd Dark Parable I love Dark Parables; I have them all. So, to my delight - another one. But something odd has happened - an unholy alliance of Eirix and Blue Tea Games. And the quality has suffered - I am so sorry to say. The framework is all there: the amazing HOS; the spoken lines; the story line; but ... I cannot pinpoint exactly what is missing - but the MAGIC has disappeared - so sorry. However, I will still play it.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from dissabointed.. :( bad too easy too short boring mini games tiffiguld story good beautiful music and art liked the mermaid theme i am blue tea games fan and was so dissabointed of this game. good, beautiful music and art i am sorry but this game was bad :( i am blue tea games fan and was so dissabointed of this. i waited this game so long and this was it.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just too much colour... Whilst I know this series of games is popular, I find the game play tedious and boring. Love the fact there's a customised mode, always an A+ in my book. Great graphics, music, jump map and helpful hint system. Collectables abound plus there is a crescent moon to find in each scene. I like FROGs, but there's way too many and it gave me a headache searching for weird shapes coloured to blend into the background. Puzzles in the hour trial were quite easy, and beautifully put together. My main dislike is the fact that many items are the same colour, and the only way to distinguish them is by shape. There were also some interactive inventory items in the game. I buy most CEs, but not this one. It didn't float my boat, hold my interest and it's all been done before. Nothing much sets it apart. I'm sure it'll be popular with many, but I got bored with it. My eyes were strained far too much hunting for fragments of who knows what!
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from dont like this kind of hogs they are so colorfull and mixed up you cant tell one thing from the other, just too frustrating to be fun, too bad looked like a good game
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Graphics Poor Graphics ...stopped playing after 10 min
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I love Blue Tea Games but I found this particular game to be disappointing. I do not feel that the graphics are as crisp or the game play is as imaginative as the previous Dark Parables games. For me, this game was just "ok".
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh This was a very disappointing effort from the makers of such brilliant games in the past. Was going to buy it outright before I trialed it and thank goodness I didn't do that. I was so completely bored that by the time the hour was up I was relieved that the experience was over. I say this as someone who loved playing all of the other dark parables games, this just does not measure up.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointed Finding this episode of Dark Parables a bit lame and only for the fact I could play it in windowed mode, I probably wouldn't have bought it. So far, I have only encountered fractured objects HOP which tedious, although the puzzles are quite good. Lost in terms of storyline even though I followed intro.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another extremely easy game This review is based on the (supposedly) 90 minute demo, which I finished in 50 minutes (average difficulty) without rushing. There were not many puzzles/HOS, mostly just "put this shaped object here" and "pick this up" tasks. The HO scenes were all picture based, collecting parts of items. All of the HOS and puzzles were extremely easy (required little thought). I don't own any of the previous games in the series, so I can't really compare this to them. This game does not compel me to go try them out though.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mermaids Instead of Fairies Same old same old, even down to the voices (please, get someone else for the male voices!) I'll wait for the cheap version (finding extras is just tedious) The best part is the rampaging giant eel!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing This installment of the Dark Parables was very disappointing. The previous installments are much better. Not a big fan of the morphing objects being the parable pieces. The story wasn't that great; still trying to figure out where the purple tide was in all of this. Was expecting much much more from Blue Tea games.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from epix is not helping I really love this series and for the time being I will keep playing new instalments. However I do not like the style that epix has imposed on the game, it no longer has that living painting look that is part of what I really liked about the games. The story itself seemed somewhat less complex than earlier games, the unique way that the fairy tales were tied together was a big selling point to me. I also feel that the hidden object screens are not as good as they used to be, I hate when games just use photos of objects that don't belong in the world of the story and I am worried that this might be in the future. I really hope they bring back the painted style and the more complex stories!!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard core Parable players may find this one lacking While the difficulty for the series varies and sometimes varies a lot with in a game (eg. Briar Rose was simple for most part with some MENSA moments while Riding Hood was quite imposing) this game had some tough moments but wasn't very challenging but at the same time was the first game where I didn't get all the stories collected either. Being someone who likes redheads and is Greek I thought this would be good but it is a short game and leaves a couple parts of the story unfinished. There is no bonus chapter either. If it is your first Dark Parable game you will be dazzled enough to try the rest hopefully but if you have played them all you likely will be left feeling bleh. I recommend if you get it as a good deal or part of some package. Does EIPIX being involved now maybe have something to do with it? Their games play on the short side but do have good visuals and sound.
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What Story Line? If there was a true story line I missed it. And I never figured out what the purple tide was. Graphics were lovely once you got into the game. But you could see the square pixels in the mermaids hair on the menu screen. HOP scenes were very easy. Just click on anything that looks out of place. Puzzles were also fairly easy. And I did get tired of creating ornate keys. I agree with all the other reviewers that feel mixing Epix and Blue Tea was a mistake. Next DP game I will wait for the SE and use a coupon.
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the usual Parable The first thing I noticed about this game compared to the previous two was the intro mention a different company. I have completed the CE game, and I felt that a few things were lacking. Another reviewer mentioned morphing objects not being there. I agree, those were better that the odd object you just stumble across and add to the parables. I don't mean to sound harsh, and hopefully the next collaboration will be better, but the soundtrack didn't feel up to quality. Also, some of the graphics were quite pixelated, especially the "film" segments. The HOSs also had a different feel. I don't remember objects trembling when they come together. It seemed like a wasted effect. The whole game did not have the same feel as the rest of the series.
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from froze I really liked the game until I tried to put the staff and crown on the princess it would work just froze hence the lower rating I would have given it a 5 star but not with it malfunction like this. fix it and you'll have a winner.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden Object Game I did try the sample download. This game was okay. The puzzles need to be a lot harder for me to purchase as a Collectors Edition.
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dark Parables Disappointment This is my first attempt at a review and hope it helps others in their decision whether or not to purchase this game. I was pleasantly surprised when I found the Dark Parables games and they quickly became my favorites. I would take note of the endings to see what the following story might be and kept my eye out for the next installment. This is the first one in which I was so disappointed that I can only say - To those new to the series, do not let "The Little Mermaid" discourage you from trying out the others in the collection. I agree that it was boring and the story line was lacking direction or explanation. I am also really sorry that Dark Parables screen shots of the HOPs solutions have been done away with. Here's hoping that the next Dark Parable returns to it's roots. With regret, I cannot recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dark Parable dud Like the others, I have played the Dark Parable collections and enjoyed them. No more. This one stinks. The graphics are bad, the storyline is bad, the games are bad...just a bad game. I quit after about 30 minutes which is extremely rare for me to do. My advice would be to play the demo before buying this. You might just save yourself a little money.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NO Happily Ever After This is a late review so I don't know if anyone will even read it. But I feel that I have to join with so many others to express my disappointment. Dark Parables have been, without exception, my favorite games. When I saw a Dark Parable game, I bought it. When I saw Eipix, I started worrying. And my worries were justified. The game is extremely short compared to other DP games. The music has deteriorated to the point where it is absolutely annoying. The music has always been a high point for me. I almost muted it. Where are the collections? Where are the morphing objects? This game is simply "pick up items, deposit items, repeat". There is no real interaction, there is no beauty, and there is no soul. The fairy tale is over unless Blue Tea takes back control over the Dark Parable series. If and when the next game appears I will demo it first. And if it is not up to Blue Tea standards, I am not going to purchase it.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as the other Dark Parables I greatly enjoy the Dark Parables games so I thought I would enjoy this one. This game was tedious as it makes the computer lag. The cursor was floating around the screen and slow to move. Part of the fun of these games is the stories that can be unlocked and read. I don't know what was being used to unlock the stories but I didn't open a single one. I didn't even bother to finish the game.
Date published: 2014-12-18
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_21981, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide Collector's Edition

You've been called to investigate a strange purple tide. And that's when the mermaid shows up...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.