Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir

Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(563.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

It has been two years since Laura has awoken from a coma but she is still haunted by the promise of the Sandman's revenge. To distract Laura from her heavy thoughts, Tim decides to take them to a ski resort.

There, on the edge of the world, misfortune befalls Laura. In a fit of lunacy, Tim runs out of the house and falls off a cliff. He survives the fall but is now in a coma. It is not hard to guess that the fall off the cliff and coma was caused by the Sandman's doing. Laura has two choices now: watch her beloved slowly die in the hospital, or enlist in the help of an old friend who once helped her when she was in a coma.

The Sandman continues to operate under his old schemes: by sending nightmares, he suppresses the will of the victim to resist. Can you help save Tim before the Sandman turns him into his heir?

  • Explore more than 40 locations
  • Play over 10 mini-games
  • More than 30 3D videos and cut-scenes
  • Unlock achievements!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 691 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(563.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LAURA TO THE RESCUE AGAIN TO HELP TIM Review of completed game. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Regular, Advanced and Expert modes of play; * 10 Achievements; * Find 100 beholders; * Find parts for Tim's clock; and * Find pages for Tim's diary. The graphics are good with plenty of colour and crisp to the eye. Sound was good. There was just one piece of music which I turned down after a while because it was too repetitive. The hidden objects games are slightly interactive and very easy to play. Items are clear to find and don't take long to do. The mini-games are also very easy, however I enjoyed them. None of them were too frustrating or boring and you can get on with the game fairly quickly. There are 100 beholders to find - mainly between 2 and 4 in each scene. Some of them are well hidden, so just keep an eye out for them. There is a caption that comes up with how many to find and then will let you know that you have found them all in each scene, so you don't have to keep looking for something that's not there. You will also be looking for pages from Tim's diary and parts to his clock throughout the game. All up the game took me about 5 hours to play. I wasn't playing fast and just doing a bit each night. Overall, I enjoyed the game. There is plenty to do and lots to find. Definitely comes recommended.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For an Adventure Lover, This Game Is Perfect! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME I really enjoyed the first Dreamscapes, so was overjoyed when I saw the sequel. I played the trial and decided to use a free coupon to purchase. While this was not as good as the original, this still provided me with a great few hours of entertainment. I really enjoyed the story, and part of the reason for that was its similarities to the first. This time, instead of Laura, we help Tim. We must go rescue Tim from each of his nightmares before the Sandman can claim his body and return to the living world. I liked how this game followed the same characters, making it a true sequel. This story had a thrilling start, one that got me sucked in to the game immediately. The opening cutscene was fantastic in doing this. If the aim of the beginning was to get me to buy the game, it worked. I liked how, even though this was a serious game, there was still a touch of humour involved. That little creature who helps us along the way was extremely amusing and actually made me laugh a few times. I was glad that it played such a pivotal role in the game. Each nightmare world added excitement to the story .It allowed me to get inside the mind of Tim and really get to know him, so I didn't feel like I was just saving a random citizen for no reason; it actually made me want to save Tim. Each of Tim's nightmares was quite creative and interesting, so I applaud the developers for that. However, there was a part of me that thought each world didn't tie together very well. That is always the risk with setting a story in multiple worlds and sadly, that risk came in to fruition for a bit. I think the developers could have done a better job linking the worlds together. It would have made the story more exciting, because it did die down for a bit. I think, in a game like this, there has to be a decisive plot and not six or seven mini-plots to do with each world. Also, I felt like the story was a little rushed towards the end. We raced through the last few worlds in about half an hour, which didn't give me much time to take in the story and also meant less focusing on why Tim was having this nightmare. I feel this story could have been executed a little better. What this story did really well on though was the antagonist. I absolutely loved the character of the Sandman. Each encounter with him made the story so much more exciting, adding that little spark which would keep my interest. His whole reasons for returning have been done well too. Again, I give kudos to the developer for the way they've done the villain. While the story itself was interesting for the most part, I can't help but feel a little disappointed with the ending. I was expecting a dramatic confrontation, a “final battle” with the Sandman, but instead it was just “place this, game over.” The final cutscene was very short, but still conclusive. However I still think the developers could have done a better job. Overall, a good story, even if the connections between each world weren't very strong. The thing I loved most about the first Dreamscapes game was the fact that it was that no HOS were present, meaning the adventure component was quite heavy. While there are HOS in this game, they are still enjoyable. They are also sporadic, which means the quantity of the adventure component was not compromised in any way. The HOS all come in the form of extra-step junkpile, with a couple of extra-step objects per scene. While they were not overly challenging, they provided fun for me. As I said, they were sporadic; there were 8 HOS in the entire game, which is a very good number considering its predecessor did not have HOS. I noticed that they grew more and more frequent as the game wore on: I played 4 in the last hour or so I think. In the beginning they were few and far between, so the influx of HOS towards the end was strange. I found the HOS to be creative too; there was a HOS in black and white, as well as underwater with a torch. It just goes to show this developer was really aiming to show off their creative side. I liked the puzzles too. They were nothing I haven't seen before but still very fun to play. I found them to be the easiest part of the game. They did not require much thinking at all. Of all the puzzles, I think I skipped one. The only one I really found challenging was that cave drawing one, and that was only because I was confused. I did really enjoy the puzzles, but I think these developers should make them a tad harder. Similar to the HOS, the puzzles had a good quantity and were quite sporadic. There were a total of 7 puzzles in the game, which meant that there was a lot more adventure component than usual, which was great. In contrast, the puzzles featured more frequently at the beginning of the game and seemed to fade out as the game went on. In the last hour or so I only played one puzzle, which was quite strange to me. In the beginning of the game I seemed to be playing quite a few. What I loved most about this game was it's extremely prominent adventure component. This game was very heavy on the adventure side of things, which is absolutely fantastic. There were lots of things to do and plenty of places to explore. It made the HOS and Puzzles feel like a thing to do on the side, and made the game so much more fun. I also liked how this game was a lot more challenging than I expected. I was using the hint a lot more than I care to admit, which is great, because it means I was actually being challenged by the game. There was no map either, which made the game all the more challenging. I have not actually been challenged by a game in quite some time, so this was a very welcome change. The tasks were a little difficult in some areas, but as the game wore on I noticed it began to get easier and easier, which was a little disappointing. I was expecting the high level of challenge to be maintained for the entire game. The basic features have been done well. There are three modes of difficulty, and I was thrilled that even Casual did not give much help. There is a misclick penalty, and there are NO SPARKLES AT ALL! You receive pretty much no help on Casual, save for the hint. There are also special hints, where you can drag an item on to the hint button to learn exactly what to do with it. Before you can do this, you have to solve a minigame. As I mentioned before, there is no map. People have complained about this, but I don't mind. Actually, I quite liked the game that way. It made it harder. There is a diary, but it is not to keep track of events. You collect diary pages written by Tim about his dreams. Overall, I thought the gameplay was quite good, and I especially loved the adventure component. The graphics are absolutely BRILLIANT! I have never seen better in my life. The graphics are drawn with such amazing detail and great colours, making them look incredibly lifelike. The scenes have stunning clarity. Not one part of the game had grainy graphics, which was great. The character desings were also brilliant and looked amazingly lifelike. It was as if I was looking at real people. There was lip-synch too, which just made them feel all the more real. I cannot praise the developers' efforts on the graphics highly enough. Never before in my life have I seen graphics so good. Developers: WELL DONE! The voice-overs are standard. I liked the Sandman's voice. It really helped with making him feel evil. The others were the usual. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Hard. I liked how even Casual had a difficulty to it. There was a misclick penalty in HOS and there were NO SPARKLES AT ALL! Hint/Skip- both recharged at a decent speed for the difficulty I selected. Hint is useful outside HOS. The hint also has the ability to perform “special” hints, where you could drag an inventory item over to the hint button to learn exactly what to do with it. Before you could use it you had to solve a minigame. This was a great idea. Diary- Does not keep track of story events. Instead you find pages of Tim's diary that he has kept over the years. It fully explains his fears and his journey. Achievements- there is a nice array of achievements here, such as “find x collectibles” instead of “find all collectibles” (although there is still an achievement for that), and “find x chapters of the diary”. I quite liked the achievements Collectible beholders (100)- there are multiple in every scene. I quite enjoyed them in the last game, but this time, not so much. They were incredibly hard to spot, and in the end, became more of a distraction than a gameplay enhancer, which is what I'm guessing they were meant to be. In some cases I would stay in a certain spot for five minutes or more just looking for the beholders. They became easier to spot as the game wore on, but I still wish they had been a little more visible. ON THE GAME LENGTH This game was a good length for me. I'd say it was about 2.5 hours. I would have liked to have stayed in some of the worlds for a bit longer and done a bit more exploring, but that's my opinion only. Overall, while falling short of its predecessor, this game is still quite good in its own right. It was a great use of a coupon and a great time passer. I enjoyed the game very much and will be bound to play it again sooner rather than later. This earns a solid four stars from me.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good SE I enjoyed this game. The hint system is not very helpful but it was not needed often either. Also loved the visuals but found the characters teeth distracting. This game was worth the purchase.
Date published: 2015-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like mamy games I Play Not sure why the two reviews were so bad. I found the game like all the other HOGs the hint works ok there are arrows for directions, how to play in the beginning standard game things for me, I like this game yes there is some back an forth but for a reason, everything is clear, HOs were not cluttered everything there, voice overs good and the story is contuined from the first dreamscapes adventure, you don't have to play the first game this one can hold its own. I liked the game an purchased it.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dreamscapes Overall was a good experience. The only problem I came across was the placement for some of the 'watchers eyes'. Some of them were placed a bit too close to the control areas, especially the 'back' arrow. Couldn't click on them, got taken back to the previous scene when I tried, so would not be able to collect all of them. Maybe someone should try to move them to a more accessible placement? Otherwise, if there were no other problems I may be tempted to purchase. Have already got the 'Dreamscapes : The Sandman' which I enjoyed.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, too short! Enjoyed the game, wasn't sure what the little creature had to do with it since I didn't play the first game. Loved the graphics but it didn't take long after the free demo to finish the game so I felt like it wasn't worth purchasing it.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hello Sandman! (or goodbye?) This is based on approx. 30 minutes of the demo. I found it to be fun. Reviewers mentioned no map, but ND games never have maps, and they are far more difficult (and sometimes tedious) to navigate. I have a free game to use, so I won't lose anything in case I change my mind. Try it and see what you think!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad game but... I hate to say that the only reason I didn't buy this game is because it didn't have a map, it held my attention and was decent enough to buy at $2.99 but I just don't like playing a game without a map, try It before you buy it. Happy playing!
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3.5 stars review of completed game: hard to do a pro a con on this game the graphics are dated and a bit grainy hos are not hard puzzles are medium challenge vos fit the characters dialogue is a bit corny the beholders are very difficult to get all of them some just seem to be missing and there are 2 no way can you get them they are where the arrow takes you out of the scene. *personal thoughts* i enjoyed the game for the most part although it was very frustrating finding the beholder eyes. and the game is very short maybe an hour and a half or 2 depending on how long it takes for the puzzles to be solved you might be able to stretch it to 3 hours tops. all in all i recommend it for a nice rainy day or a boredom day. not really worth the 6.99 tho on sale or a pcc :)
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Map I dislike games that have no map. I have no sense of direction and need it always. Also, there is no way to lock your inventory and I need to see what I have at all times or I forget to use it. Between the constant 'fanning out' of the inventory (what was that all about anyway?? Lol) and the back and forth stumbling around with no map I did not find this game enjoyable. A simple map would give this a better score.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh... Another Game Chapter Two of Laura's adventures with the Sandman has arrived. There are three levels of game play, HOPs, mini-games, cartoon artwork, and lots of potential. Whether the potential is ever realized, I will never know. I was far too frustrated by the lack of logic and stilted hint button. Laura is back, married to Tim, and still afraid of the Sandman's promise of revenge. Her husband falls under the Sandman's power and into a coma. I have to help get him out of his nightmares and back to reality. First nightmare is Tim trapped in a car crash. Don't worry, Tim, I'll save you! I found a rope outside a cave, but can not touch it. I went into the cave and lit a fire with two random stones and oil and a dead bush. Then I lean out and used a bone to get a climber's loop out of the rocks to take the rope looped through it back to a car crash site. I am wandering around while Tim is trapped in a burning car. Sure I am. Somewhere in here I lost any desire to help Tim. My single thought was to save my own sanity. Please take advantage of the free trial. You may enjoy this. The HOPs and mini-games were fine - I just disliked the story and saw no reason to continue it. I was torn between two and three stars, but erred on the side of kindness to the Devs for the holiday season.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NO HELPFUL MAP As a retired old forgetful cartographer, I need a map. I do not enjoy the constant to-and fro and resent using the HINT. This game would have gotten a better score with a map. I did purchase the first game (punch). This is much the same. There are 100 "beholders" (creepy eyeball bugs) and you are told how many in each scene. The items you collect for your inventory in most cases make no logical sense. Graphics were OK; HOS were OK. Just an OK game.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does not live up to expectations It's OK, I got it because Ioooooved the first one and played it over and over.....This one was released too fast, it does not have the depth of the first one. The first one was way more creepy. Do those guys know what creepy really means ?????? I doubt it. So played this one and got really bored fast, kept pressing the hint button. I tossed it. Don't want to play it.....
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This game was just okay I really did not like this game at all I thought it was just okay nothing really special about it the ending was like huh? What happened to the sandman was he stopped or not it made no sense.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dreamscaping I found the game to be an ok version. The graphics were ok and the storyline was mediocre at best. I gave it three stars because I was a little disappointed in the game. It is a good game for beginners and is worth the money for them, but it wasn't for me because I breezed right through it. An A for effort though.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yeah, this was a nightmare. Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir Review based on completed game PREFACE… Dreamscapes: The Sandman remains one of my favorite games, and I've been waiting for this sequel for what seems like forever. Unfortunately, I didn't find myself immersed. Laura, our familiar heroine, was merely a narrator and almost helpless. It was difficult to identify with Tim, or to figure out what his fears were. The story line wasn't fleshed out enough. Gameplay suffered in both design and mechanics. And more... ONCE UPON A TIME... Previously, Laura had been stalked by the evil Sandman who wanted her powers for his own. This time around, he causes her husband Tim to walk off a cliff. Now, Tim is in a coma and the Sandman is stalking him...through Tim's fears. Enter Tim's nightmares and save him before the Sandman possesses him. PLAY THE GAME... Adventure mode was much less intuitive in Nightmare's Heir than in The Sandman. Often, actions were nonsensical. HO scenes are all interactive lists. Puzzles are few and far between and simple. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are done well, lots of color and texture. Honestly, though, it could have been more surreal considering it was a nightmare world. Animation was decent, even the posers. SOUND WAVES… I had to turn off the music because it was extremely repetitive. Voiceovers were ok, a bit melodramatic. Environmental sounds could have been stepped up to make Tim's nightmares creepier. It was too quiet. TOOLBOX… There's no map, which is more of an issue in this chapter than the last, as the areas you explore are larger. Instead, there's a completely unnecessary journal. In addition to the standard hint button, there's a directional button that shows you all the exits from each area. WORKING THINGS THROUGH… (new category about game mechanics) The inventory does NOT lock open, and the visible area includes only five items. Quite annoying. Nor does it scroll. Each click of the arrows only reveals one additional item in that direction. Also, the cursor is quite picky. Frequently, I had to click several times on an item in both adventure mode and HO mode before the game recognized I'd done so. Make sure you get all the beholders in each location AND zoom box BEFORE doing anything else. A couple of times, I was whisked out of an area or zoom box before I could get all the beholders, because I'd done everything else necessary there. That really made me angry, as I had no opportunity to go back and get them. EXTRA, EXTRA… Collect all the beholders. THE LAST WORD… I'd wait for a DD to pick this up, if you must have it for your collection. Otherwise, you're not missing much. The Sandman was a much better game. Other notable games by this dev include Namariel Legends: Iron Lord and Fall of the New Age.
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ESCAPE THE NIGHTMARE OF THIS GAME All wrapped with a BIG "RED" bow for Christmas is TO ME, one of the worst games in some time. I absolutely abhor this game from storyline to graphics. Luckily we can all rest easy the Sandman is never going to return again and Laura and Tim can go back to whatever they do. Laura has asked for your help as her husband has become a disciple of the Sandman and his future successor. I really should help Laura save Tim so this nauseating series will now end. Here is my breakdown of the game: LEVELS: 3 Regular, Advanced, Expert GRAPHICS: I have a gaming computer and the graphics are horrible. The scenes are blurry and the action sequences are choppy. I will debate the "awesome" graphics with anyone. SOUND OF/AND MUZAC: Annoying. Moans and groans abound as you play the game. At least you can turn it off however; you are not so fortunate in turning off the storyline in this absurd game. INVENTORY: It can be locked. It is not interactive HOP SCENES: They are interactive junk piles PUZZLES: Puzzles I encountered during the demo were a sequencing puzzle. EXTRA GOODIES: The flying eyes - AKA beholders are back. Collect 100 beholders in the scenes. You collect the diary as you play the game. I believe there are 12 achievements. I counted them but was not certain. COMMENTS: First, this is my opinion. You may love this game, and good for you. However, I just do not like anything about this game and here is why I dislike this game. The storyline is bizarre. The acting sequences are very poor. The oohing and aahing of the background "muzac was irritating. The setting is bizarre and one-dimensional. The HOP scenes are somewhat interactive but repetitious and junk piles. The "red scare" has finally arrived with pink and purple now replaced by in-your-face red. Seeing Laura's fast food colored red hair made me want to go out and get some French fries with catsup. And what is an "oxygenous pillow?" we have a language barrier again with words which make absolutely no sense.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Frustrated By Hint Button-Didn't Buy I liked the first game in this series & hoped to like this one also. The story-line looked promising. Visual & sound quality not up tp my standards, but that doesn't usually effect my decision to buy. I liked the feature of being able to check an inventory item with the hint button, but otherwise the hint was very frustrating. Click & it would send you in one direction, find nothing obvious to do there, click again & it would send you back to where you started or tell you there is nothing to do here. No map to help-so after 15 mnutes of being sent back & forth I gave up and uninstalled the Trial, I suggest you do the Free Trial before deciding to buy. I hope you have better luck than I did.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What might have been! I don't have any complaints about the music or the art work, or the story line. I don't even mind the fact that there is no map. But I do mind that when I click on an object I have to do so several times in order to pick it up. The game is sloppy in how it interacts with the user. I couldn't even get 20 minutes into the trial before I gave up. I felt like I was wasting my time. I expect that when it says clock and I click on the only clock in to scene that I will be able to pick it up, but noooooooooo. Very frustrating. It could have been a pretty good game.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not good no map, some beholders way to hard or missing, outdated
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Clunkers Just Keep Coming!!!!! What a SILLY game. The scenes in the hospital had me laughing out loud. Dr Phillips had a nurses cap, which looked more like something a waitress would wear, and RED High Heeled shoes!!! She asked what his "specialization" was. The correct word would be "specialty". Oxygenous??bag. I been an RN since 1966 & have never heard or seen such a thing. Down & dirty review: rehashed story line, VO ok but lip sync was just plain awful, Lisa looked like she had "vampire" teeth, usual murky graphics, HOS/Puzzles are of the ordinary variety, same with the music, no map which means a LOT of to & fro, & lastly a bouncing inventory which I guess can be locked. Definitely NOT a 5 Star game. What did they see that the rest of us missed???
Date published: 2014-12-02
  • y_2021, m_6, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_22184, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dreamscapes: Nightmare's Heir

The Sandman is back for revenge! This time his victim is Tim, Laura's husband. Will you succeed in pulling him out of this nightmare?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.