Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(480.26 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You're no stranger to paranormal visitors showing up at Midnight, but when a suspicious character drops a threat in your mailbox, you're drawn into the timeless struggle of good versus evil. The fictional characters of classical literature are coming to life, and not all of them are happy with the way their stories ended! Use books to travel through space and time, as you join Charles Dickens and Washington Irving on an exciting adventure through their most famous books. Can you unmask the villain in time, or will the world's most beloved classical literature be rewritten?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Shepherd’s Monument mystery in the bonus adventure
  • Achievement awards for your excellent game play
  • Bonus extras including concept art, cutscenes and wallpaper
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1029 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(480.26 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last a good game to play Recently I have been very disappointed in the Adventure and HO games offered, especially the very dismal Dire Grove, but this has restored my faith that there are good makers still out there. Could have been more challenging but overall well worth playing
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The flow of the game puts"you in the game" Let others describe the game. This is my first time purchasing a game before it's release, and my first review after purchasing over 100 games. I have severe memory problems (therefore I play the games). Just one comment. This is the most pleasant and fulfilling game that I have had the pleasure to purchase and play.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun this one would be perfect for a beginner...it was fun, and easy.............nice to play an easy one from time to time.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Game! I've played the other Midnight Mysteries games but this one is the best one. Great storyline, hidden object scenes and puzzles. Game Forest has done a fantastic game with this game!
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A WELCOMED ADDITION ................................ TO A GREAT SERIES OF GAMES!!!!
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a fun game I just finished with the demo. And I found it to be a lot of fun. I will be buying the full game. I do not write technical reviews, I just say what I think about a game, and this game is a lot of fun. The colors are clear and the mini games are not to hard. I did get a little confused a few times, but when I thought about it for a min, I was able to figure out what to do next. I think if you want a game that is fun and maybe not extremely hard this game will fit .
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from midnight Mysteries ghostwriter brilliant I knew as soon as I watched the demo that I would have to buy this game, the music is great, graphics great , animation great what more can you say, collectable shamrocks, just so well done, pace a bit slow , but who is in a rush, this is a definite purchase well done BF, I recommend this game for intermediate and expert, but I think a good beginner would enjoy the challenge.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER WINNER FROM "MIDNIGHT MYSTERIES" This will make my 6th Midnight Mysteries CE game that I have purchased and played. My favorite to date has been Witches of Abraham. This new game, Ghostwriting, continues in the same excellent vein. My review is based on playing the one hour demo in the casual mode. Washington Irving is being haunted by the evil characters he has created in his writings. He has made a fortress of his home and is a virtual prisoner. He has called upon his friend, Charles Dickens, who has the same problem, for help. Together, they set off to Sleepy Hollow to try to find a way to take control of these evil characters. This storyline has immense possibilities, reacquainting us with Irving's writings and characters. The HO sometimes changed within the same scene from a list type to a silhouette type to an interactive type, keeping you on your toes. There are 4-leaf clovers to collect in every scene, including some of the HOS, so you have to keep your eyes open. The minigames are well integrated into the storyline and are non-repetitive and original. I needed to refer to the strategy guide a couple of times to get a boost on how to solve them. I did not have to use any hints during the one hour of play. This was thanks in large part to the very helpful, interactive map that shows the active areas and allows you to jump to those areas. A good map, for me, always brings a game up to a 5 star. There is the usual crow along for the ride, to help you accomplish some of the tasks. He even has his own room that you can decorate with coins you collect during gameplay. There are also achievements to be won. This game has it all and them some. I purchased it immediately after I ended the demo, and I even got it on sale! Don't miss this one.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. MCF Who? Midnight Mysteries Sets The Standard. Except For The Singing. Finally. This game series became everything that MCF used to be. This installment finds us having to help the daughter of Charles Dickens after a mysterious stranger pays us an unwanted and frankly nasty visit in our home - the nerve! We travel to Washington Irving's home to start our adventure and the demo ends on a fairly dramatic note. I purchased immediately and played through. Now, this deviates slightly from previous entries in the series..... NO ravens to collect for hints - your raven is a helper for tasks and such There is singing -*shudder* NOTE TO DEVELOPER -SINGING IS NEVER NECESSARY. NEVER. What is the same is the overall quality you expect from MM series. The crispness and vibrant colors are there, the story is interesting. There are achievements to earn and a great little bonus chapter that I enjoyed. There are however, 56 clovers to collect, and *SPOILER* some in the hidden object scenes. This was a fantastic buy and a great way to spend a few hours on a rainy Saturday. Completely worth the $13.99 and lives up the MM standard. 4.8/5 Stars Small deduction for the singing ;)
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow-paced but very well developed game I have a couple of Midnight Mysteries games and this, by far, is the best. Storyline is gripping. Except when the statue burst out in a song, this is truly an enjoyable game.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unhappy Endings Ever read a book that was so captivating, it felt like you were actually there? They say the classics never die, but are they ever rewritten? Crazy things happen at the stroke of midnight, ghostly visitations frequently occur, as they seek your help righting the wrongs they have endured in the afterlife. This time it's different, this time it's evil. Washington Irving was a famous writer, a ghostwriter who wrote several classics under a different name. Several characters from his books began to pay him a visit, his imagination had come to life, but not everyone was happy with their characters demise! Surely his good friend Charles Dickens, was experiencing similar situations, so he asked Charles for his help...and was never seen since! It is Charles' young daughter who is seeking your paranormal services to find out what happened to her father that fateful night. Enter the scenes of these classic literature adventures, page by page, as you search for clues written by the authors themselves, and stop this evil character before the classics are forever rewritten! The Midnight Mysteries series are classics themselves, some diehard fans were a bit disappointed with the changes the new devs made in the last MM. Personally, I see a huge difference in the quality of the graphics, for the better, crisp, clear and more detailed than before. This game has had yet another tweak, that I wasn't thrilled about, the Ravens! The two features I loved most, within the MM's, were the hidden four leafed clovers (56 in this Collectors Edition) and the hidden Ravens you had to find to receive additional hints. The hidden Ravens are GONE! Instead, you collect 45 Raven Coins, that are impossible to miss as they glitter and shine so brightly you practically have to wear sunglasses! Why would you change a feature that has been iconic in a successful series???? With that complaint out of the way (doesn't affect the game's story or mechanics either way) this game also has a pet Raven that waits patiently for your command to fly to unreachable locations and retrieve those objects that mysteriously got there in the first place. Some of the inventory items require some type of interaction before you can use that item such as combining two inventory items together. The Hidden Object Scenes range from interactive list finds to progressive silhouetted shapes where you find the first item and use that item to uncover the next item and so forth until all items have been found. The mini games are nice, rearranging books on two different bookshelves, the first row requires you to match symbols on the binders so that the last symbol on the first book matches up to the first symbol on the second book etc. The second shelf has books with sections of a picture that you arrange to complete a picture. My favorite game was using several tetris shaped tiles to fill in all empty spaces around an existing shape in the middle of the board without leaving any gaps. This Collectors Edition has Before And After sketches, which was awesome to see the original rough draft sketch of a scene in the game, then the same sketch in color and finally the computer generated picture! There are Achievements to earn, Cutscenes, Music, the Backstory, Characters, Wallpapers, Tic-Tac-Toe raven games, 56 hidden Clovers, 45 (not so) hidden Raven Coins, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter. Both editions allow you to choose which mode of difficulty you want to play the game, as well as a Custom setting where you choose which features you want, I thought it was clever that they used a new hatchling raven for Beginner, a young raven for Advanced, and a mature and wise raven for Expert, the Custom setting just had gears and a raven skull (what's that mean?) Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new very enjoyable Midnight Mysteries game Midnight Mysteries by MumboJumbo is one of the most anticipated HOPA franchises here at BFG. With Hot Lava Games (Co workers of MJ) taking over the series there weren't much big changes, but now GameForest, the makers of Gummy Drop developed this 6th game in the franchise, what surprised me since the BETA was a Hot Lava Game, but anyway the developer change brought some fresh elements into the game. The storyline starts like in every Midnight Mysteries game, what is great. The Raven looks at the terrible events which are happening. This time Charles Dickens and Washington Irving are in danger, because someone sent them threats and their fictional characters come to life. As the suspicius person drops a package at your home you start to discover the mystery of the Ghostwriters. Travel to Sleepy Hollow and try to save them. Overall the story is great done and events are well explained. The graphics are good, sometimes a little blurred but they are atmospheric. Especially in Sleepy Hollow they sometimes gave me chills. The soundtrack is nice and fits together with the graphic. Together music and scenes create a great gaming atmosphere. The game features some all new puzzles and has many new elements in the MM series. New and innovative HO's and a different interface bring new wind into the series. Mostly the puzzles are quite easy, but some puzzles are created harder, because you'll earn achievements if you solve them without skipping. There are gold, silver and bronze achievements and to get them all is not easy. The gameplay is ok, but sometimes a little slow, because my curser got stuck several times for a few seconds. There are 56 collectible clovers and around 45 collectible Raven coins. The Collectibles unlock extra content, if you find them all. Afterall this is the best game in the Midnight Mysteries series yet in my opinion and after the let down of the fifth game a nice surprise. Well done GameForest team!
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from midnight mysteries: Ghostwriting C/E Bought this game without playing demo first, always risky but this game delivers on everything for me, much improved on the last game in this series. Only stoppped playing to give this review (my first ever although I have many games). The graphics, music, storyline etc are really good, thank you Big Fish !
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2015 starting off with a BANG!! The Midnight Mysteries series is one of the better collection of HOPA style games that have come along over the years. I particularly enjoy that real life people are involved. Prior games include Mark Twain, Harry Houdini, Edgar Allan Poe and Abraham Lincoln as main characters. From there the developer takes lots of twists and turns in the stories and the game player must realize from the outset that there is a fair degree of "poetic license " utilized along with story development bordering on the occult. The Midnight Mysteries do not deviate in maintaining this theme. Some players might get turned off by the strange events in these tales. I find them utterly fascinating. In the latest version,Ghostwriting involves famous authors. During the demo the player encounters Charles Dickens who via a letter from Washington Irving is teleported to New York in order to save his friend Irving who has been captured for some unknown reason by a masked man who is obviously the villain of the piece. Finding items via the usual hidden object segments and picking up others randomly lying around and using them furthers the game action. Some interesting puzzles need completion as well. As in the prior MM games, we have our friendly raven as a gatherer of out of the reach items. I generally dislike animal helpers but in this game the bird fits in fine. There are 56 clovers to find as collectibles and there are coins to be amassed to purchase things to adorn a room created primarily for our raven friend. I found no morphings in the game. The demo ends with the player learning the Dickens novel Oliver Twist becomes the second phase of the journey. The graphics of Ghostwriting are clear, the story development is crisp and the game play is fantastic. As long as the player is committed to suspending belief as is the norm with the MM series, a fine time is at hand. There are many such series which have stood the test of time ( Awakening, Dark Parables, MCF to name a few ) and Midnight Mysteries is among the best. For me personally, the last couple of months offered very little entertainment in BFG offerings. Ghostwriting is I hope a harbinger of better things to come in 2015. I overwhelmingly endorse this game.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this series I like Midnight Mysteries series in general and this one was no different. Based on trial I really liked fine details such as what they have done with typewriter on the Main Menu and Raven pet and coins, it was fine addition to interesting story and nice but sometimes slow game play. Other aspects of quality were all right but what happened as always with this series is that at one point I can not wait to see where the story goes and that will be reason for me to play to the final resolution!
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit of a departure... Having played the rest of the series, I will say that this one is obviously done by a different dev than the others. But that's not to say it's a Bad thing; just Different. The game mechanics are a bit different from the originals but still pretty easy to get used to. And while this is Ostensibly a HOG, it has less to do with the old search-through-the-junk-piles and more to do with puzzling through things. There were more puzzles and you-have-to-think-about-its than many of its elder siblings in the series. Which was nice. The music and graphics were just as lush (& goth) as the originals. The voice acting was a little odd in spots... Not sure What accent the villain was trying for... Could have been going for Italian, maybe Scottish or...??? I have to say this, and it may seem out of the blue, but it definitely had a Les Misérables feel to it at times. (One character even Sings in what can only be described as theatric opera.) But it's all good. I honestly can't say there was anything Wrong with it. Yes it was fairly easy. Yes it was fairly quick. But having played the CE, and having gotten it on sale... Was worth the less-than-ten dollars I spent on it.
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some of our most famous authors ..... in a .... musical? Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting CE Based on CE Only. Well. Hmmm. I guess I just need to ruminate on this further. In the early 19th century, as your character is going through his mail, he comes across a missive from his good friend, Washington Irving, pleading for help. He fears for his very life. When setting up your profile on the "menu" page, your name doesn't quite come up in lights, but having it typed on the typewriter is pretty cool too. lol The music was very haunting. Orchestral. Beautiful. Graphics were done very well. Voice overs were good - lip syncing matched the words, great accents. 4 Difficulties: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Custom. Casual seemed a better option than "custom". IMO. You are armed with a diary/journal to hold notes, and a transportable map. The "hint" button does not transport you. You DO have a "helper" in the form of a Raven who just sits there, unobtrusive (you almost forget it's even there until you need it), just ... being a raven. HOGs (hidden object games) - list and silhouette type that are slightly interactive. Mini Games ranged from easy to a bit difficult. But, who can resist a good challenge??? CE Bling: In addition to the customary fare, we have the following: * Back Story - You CAN unlock it prior to playing the main game, but are warned that the plot could be disclosed. * Tic Tac Toe - 50 (???) * Find 56 four-leaf clovers. They are in the HOGs as well as the game. * Raven coins - used to purchase items for your Raven helper's abode. While an interesting story line ...... ghosts traveling through books, authors disliking their endings (but WHICH ending? the stories or theirs? ) and all sorts of mischief that doesn't seem to tie into the story at all.... I'm just ..... not ...... sure ..... if it's for me! I'm missing that "WOW" factor. That "NO! THE DEMO CAN'T BE OVER!" factor. Even so, 'something' pulls me towards purchasing at least the SE. Join me in the ghostly escapades of some of fiction's greatest authors! (smile) Oh, and let's NOT forget ..... who would want to miss Ghostwriting: The Musical? lol Yes, at least 1 character .............. sings! lol ENJOY!
Date published: 2015-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Burning the Midnight Oil Playing Ghostwriting! Not the best Midnight Mysteries, however, enjoyed playing this relaxing sequel. Unique story line with puzzles that were fairly easy and puzzles that were challenging so there was a good mix. After a ridiculously long work day, looked forward to relaxing with a good book--I mean a good game--and this one fit the bill. Some parts were a bit gruesome so that surprised me a little. Best part was that I could easily pick back up in the game the next day after signing off for the night. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strange game but interesting Maybe that there are games that intuitively suit you and some don't, nevertheless how interesting they are? I could not solve - i guess - any of the minigames in this game... mostly i was looking astonishedly at the solution when i used the skipbutton - perhaps it was just me or it wasn't explained well or it wasn't painted well (with the candle-game)... i am very astonished most of the time when i play this game.. it has turnarounds, which i didn't suspect (you always come into a new surrounding as you try to get hold of the villain)... it has tasks to be done which i would never do with this special tool... a bellow to clean a painting? Nevertheless the story is interesting and keeps you going as you want to know when this mirror in the mirror in the mirror-like wandering through different books ends and whether you will be able to catch the villain and solve the mystery. It is an interesting game, but for me it has real strange ways to follow and strange things to do:-)...
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Puzzles and Story I liked the different classic story settings where you jumped into a book and relived each tale. I did have one problem with some hidden object scenes however, or I would have given this a full 5 stars. Some of the little objects that you need to find in the puzzles are too small to be seen. Even with my glasses on and the laptop right in front of me, a few of the items to find are just too teeny tiny. Other than that, I really liked this game.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Swish, Bang, Sizzle Great start up on this game. Like their set up/Home page before game play. The Characters were great, music ok, and Pretty good HO's. I really like the story like and the graphics were very good. I hated all the back and forth, but the jump map helped. I got bored even though I liked the story. I would still buy it and it goes on the bottom of my to buy list.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Midnight Mysteries Ghost writing "Collectors edition" I liked this game but too short.I was only getting into the story after playing the 4th chapter,I loved the description of the game and although it was not long enough it did not disappoint.I learned a bit more on Charles Dickens and Irving washington,interesting that although the Atlantic ocean was between them,they were indeed very good friends and lovers of each others literature.I also loved the Edgar Allen poe games.It would be class if they could produce a really long game with all types of Authors from different countries and somehow link them together.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far, a pretty good game I love games with either real historical figures or references to works of literature, so grabbed the demo of this game right away. This is a very enjoyable, relaxing game built around the author Washington Irving and the haunting characters he created. Excellent graphics, enjoyable HOGS with a variety of aspects (fragmented objects, silhouettes etc.) to keep it interesting. You get a raven to help you this time, so there aren't collectible ravens. Instead, you instead collect coins and four leaf clovers. All told, this is a pleasant game within a standard format - nothing new here, but it's an enjoyable way to pass a few cold winter evenings. I'm enjoying the demo and will probably purchase this game.
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Missing Tower I live a couple of miles from Sunnyside ,Washington Irving's house, the first setting of this game and enjoyed the visit to a fantasy version of my own immediate world. The Hudson is brought up right to the door, it is not so near though can look so in photos no doubt used by developers. Indeed Irving made a waterfall and pond but not the niagara in the back yard we are given, a fall of a foot or so from a small pond it is. And the Spanish tower adding a fantastic element to an already imaginative house is missing. though added later than Dickens' historic visit, it would have been a good place to have in a story. Well...other reviewers have said it all about the mechanics of the game and the visuals --they are normal and more or less state of the art (though one has to be a little precise in moving the cursor to get recognition of placed things). But the plot over-reaches, and leaves Washington Irving behind early on (though he makes a cameo appearance in the bonus chapter and again is left behind) and we move on in several directions suggested by Dickens career, none of which seem particularly well handled to me. It is said that when Irving met Dickens for the first time during the English writers American visit he found a buffet and Dickens asking 'would you prefer a julep or a gin cocktail?' The developers have attempted to give us both here and more and in the end it seems to me one or the other would have worked better. I should choose the Washington Irving theme ,with Dickens as a visitor and the two friends collaborating, and the secret in the mysterious Spanish Tower in Irving's future ... and the later alienation of the two sometime friends (though continued mutual admiration) could be drawn from their adventure ... well ,as a developer, you may say to me "Don't quit your day job!" But I give the game four stars and recommend it for reaching towards a fascinating story but maybe over-reaching and in doing at once too much and too little.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Why oh why does a game have to be spoiled by just one tiny factor? I can't take the staples out of the roof in the train set game in the orphanage. It just won't work :( I took note of other players saying that the curser is 'sticky' and have been extra careful to play with a very light finger on it, but no, I've fallen by the wayside by a stupid staple :( Maybe other will have better luck. I will keep trying, but not right now. Midnight Mysteries is by far my favourite series of games, and I will give them another chance and then another :)
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This on the whole is a well thought out game with an engaging storyline and clear graphics. The HO scenes are a mix of lists and silhouette, and the games are interesting and mostly doable, with the option to skip. The bonus chapter provides a neat wrap to the story. It would have been a nice finishing touch to have been able to complete the collection of clovers, either by indicating on the map where there were still clovers/coins to be found, or by designing a post game search. Developers please note!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Ideal Game... So Why Am I Not Buying It? BASED ON DEMO Downloading this game, I was a bit skeptical because of the change in developers. While the change in developers did not have that big an impact on the series, I will not be purchasing this one. My reason for not purchasing this game is its story. I found it to be quite boring, which is a shame because time travel is one of my favourite storylines in HOPAs. The story had a good opening and started well, so I was really looking forward to seeing how this would pan out. My excitement was short-lived, however, as the story soon faded away in to nothingness. After the first portal was entered, the story became uneventful and boring, with no twists or developments to go on, only backstory (which I knew most of by that point anyway). It got to the point where the creep factor was the only thing keeping me going. And even though that was good in the beginning, even that was gone after a while (I'm guessing it started with that unnecessary singing!). So in the end I was just left biding my time until the end of the demo. To its credit, though, the demo ended well. It was the only twist and the highlight of the demo period. Sadly though, even the best demo twist in the world wouldn't have convinced me to buy this game after the lackluster performance this story gave. The story (or lack thereof) is enough to turn me off buying this game. The gameplay was actually pretty good. I absolutely loved the HOS. They were fun, creative and came in a good variety. The HOS came in the from of extra-step junkpile, interactive junkpile (facing a normal scene- not zoomed in for HOS- and having to find the items around you) and progressive silhouette. I really enjoyed all these HOS and looked forward to each time I got to play them. The thing I enjoyed most was the creativity. The first HOS, for instance, required the player to assemble the inventory item to collect it. One HOS was a book scene in which players had to find things and put them back in the book. All of these ideas paid off and I applaud the developer for thinking outside the box to deviate from the boring norm without sacrificing the fun. The puzzles were the exact opposite to the HOS. They were not creative at all. Instead, they were the same old stuff we see time and time again. I believe it was because of that I found them extremely easy. While I did enjoy attempting them, I would have liked to see the same creativity I saw in the HOS, and maybe a bit more difficulty. The quantity was good though. There were 6 puzzles in the demo and they were well spaced out. I'm pleased about the adventure component. It was very prominent and did not seem secondary to HOS & Puzzles, as seems to be the norm these days. In fact, I noticed that the adventure component seemed to be dominant to HOS & puzzles, which I was really pleased about. However, prominent or not, the adventure part of this game was quite basic and did not offer much in the challenge department. Developers, it's all well and good to have a prominent adventure component, but all that means nothing if the game is too easy. Even on custom difficulty (in which I turned map indicators & sparkles off) I found the game to be a breeze. Maybe it's to do with the fact that I am almost entering 3 years of playing HOPA games, maybe the developers can't think outside the box when it comes to adventure... I don't know. But what I do know is that this game really needed a bit more difficulty. The additional features have been done well. The developers have added everything I want in a game. There are two features: + objects and a helper. These are my two favourite features, so I was pleased to seem them here. The + objects were done well. They only required one item to be added and there was never more than two in your inventory at a time. I also liked how they stayed in your inventory for a while, instead of being picked up and gone in about two minutes, like some other games. The + objects were also of a good number, too. The other feature is an animal helper. I know some will cringe when they see this, but fear not: you do not have to dress it up in a fuzzy pink tutu or dote over it. In fact, that's only a CE extra. The helper in this game is a raven, as with the other games. It is used realistically, and there is an indicator of when it can be used, which is fantastic. My only gripe is that it's not used enough. I think I used it twice during the demo period. If the demo was 30 minutes long, that would be passable. But seeing as it was much longer than that, there is an issue. I would have liked the raven to be used a fair bit more for the time period. The basic features have been done really well. There is a DIARY (WOOHOO!) which is fantastic for keeping track of events. I also really liked reading the entries. There is a map too, which is interactive and does its job well in the lower difficulties. The hint works well outside HOS too. There are even four modes of difficulty, including custom. Unfortunately though, I had to switch to custom rather than advanced, as advanced still shows map indicators. I did like the amount you could customise though. The graphics are good, but definitely a decline from past games in the series. There was not as much detail in previous games, although I did notice the character designs and scenes were very clear. There is still some good detail here though, just not as much as before. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Differences were standard. Unfortunately I had to switch to custom due to advanced having map indicators. Custom difficulty was good. Hint/Skip- hint works well outside HOS. Diary- Great for keeping track of events. Map- Does its job well; it is interactive and gives great help on lower difficulties. + objects- Never too many at the one time and not used too quickly. There is an indication for when it can be used. Helper- Our helper is a raven and it is used realistically. It is not used enough for the demo period, IMHO. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- shows locations of collectibles, but not HOS solutions. Achievements Collectible shamrocks (50)- collecting all 50 allows you to play tic-tac-toe with the raven. Collectible raven coins- can be spent to buy things for the raven. Backstory Concept Art Wallpapers Soundtrack Characters Replay cutscenes Raven Shop- Here you can buy things for your raven. WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? The CE has some quite interesting stuff. I especially like that there is a reward for collecting all shamrocks. If I were to buy this game, I would be going with the CE because it has some good value and appealing extras. MY PROGRESS The demo has 2 chapters, which I finished in 60 minutes. There are 7 chapters in the main game. This game has absolutely everything I want in a game- + objects, story about time travel, animal helper, nice extras- but unfortunately the uneventful story has turned me off buying it. If the story were better, I would definitely be buying this one and giving it five stars. As it stands, I am giving it four stars because I liked the demo.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, worth buying! I have enjoyed this game immensely, still have the Bonus content to play but found it quite fascinating, a real twist on what you thought the storyline was going to be! I found the game ran a little static all too often, even though I have the latest and greatest laptop, and agree with another review that trying to use/place objects had to often be exact. I even "cheated" as I just didn't know what to do and read to put something, somewhere, which I had done over and over again, but didn't work. So went back and persevered as I knew it was I had to do to move on. When that happens in games, it really is irritating and can be off-putting, so DEV's, please take note! This personally, is not one of my favourite games but well done, well thought-out storyline, well worth purchasing but be aware of little glitches such as occasional static movements and persevere with objects to use as you are probably right but need to get it in the exact place! I recommend this game, this DEV always produces good, quality games and even if you don't purchase CE games, well worth the cost of an SE game.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MM returns to cheers I love the Midnight Mysteries series, so a new installment is a real New Years' treat. I could quibble about several points, but I wouldn't discourage anyone for the world. As with the other games, there are collectibles, engaging storyline, beautiful locations, lots of mini-games, HOPs, and four levels of game play. There is something strange going on and you will have to figure out where two famous writers have disappeared to and, hopefully, rescue them. Some evil force is trying to thwart your investigation but you press onward, in spite of the danger. Relax, enjoy this as a holiday present, and be glad to start the New Year with a good game!
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game but.... There were some glitches that were very annoying. In some scenes you had to use one object to get another and if you didn't use the first object in exactly the right spot you couldn't accomplish the task. In one HO scene in Oliver Twist it took many attempts to remove the last clip needed to obtain the train engine. Other than that this was a good game
Date published: 2015-01-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_22084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Midnight Mysteries: Ghostwriting Collector's Edition

Characters from classical literature are coming to life!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.