Grim Tales: Color of Fright
Exclusive

Grim Tales: Color of Fright

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(472.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

From Elephant Games, the studio that brought you Grim Tales: The Vengeance, comes a thrilling new chapter in the Grim Tales saga!

It wasn't bad enough that your train was running late, but now a mysterious note warns that this Gray family dinner will be the last! Inside the Gray family castle, everything is in chaos, with your family nowhere to be found. The walls are graffitied with the scribbles of a madman as his laughter echoes through the halls. Armed with a magical paint set, you are the only one who can save them. Reunite with previous Grim Tales characters, including Luisa, Elizabeth, James McGray, and even your niece, Jackie! Can you unmask the kidnapper and beat him at his own game? Find out in this mysterious Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1536 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1033 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: Color of Fright

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(472.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: Color of Fright is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining I enjoyed most of this game...... but for the record yellow and light brown do not make orange. but once you figure out the right color combos, your pictures can come to life to lend you a hand.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Talk about holding grudges!!! Intriquing game! I'm nearing the end of the SE version of Grim Tales: Color of Fright. There are no levels of play in this game; no sparkles as some games will have, although in other games if the option is there I usually customize my games w/o the sparkles. There is a good but not perfect map--some items that I know were active in other areas were not marked as such. You have a good hint button if needed. The only thing is this is not a game for people who like order. Your tasks are scattered all over the place. You need to be patient; pay attention; read the texts, notes, and diary. Go to your map! In some scenes you will be moving virtually from left to center to right and back again via an arrow. This game is very thought-provoking and can be overwhelming at times but it is most challenging, too. Very innovative tasks to complete! I loved that! You will have some items in your inventory that won't be used for a while.There should be no distractions while playing this game. It's not your cutesy, kick your shoes off, casual kind of game either. In my opinion, it's not really difficult but very detailed oriented. The mini-games are awesome; the HOS are interactions within interactions! Then you have your color palette tasks--connect the dots; paint by symbols with your color palette, etc. From that game you will have formed a very useful object/figure that can be used elsewhere. Graphics were amazing; voiceovers, save but a couple, were great! Grim Tales is a great series and the Elephant Game developers deserve high praise on this one. I would have given this game a 5-star but there are some quirks such as there is no rhyme to some of the tasks' meaning. One character along the way needs DIRE saving but she has a key to give you to open an object to save yet another character. I thought, 'Hey, lady, I'll take care of him after I save you first! Such is not the case here; that's where my frustration comes in to play as I want to save the one who needs it the most especially when you're being prompted to save her/him ASAP! I give this game 4 1/2 stars out of 5 but there is no rating system at Big Fish for 1/2 stars. Anyway, kudos to Elephant Games on this one! I very much recommend this game!
Date published: 2015-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best Grim Tales game but it's a good game! I did not like this one as much as some of the other Grim Tales games out there but it's still worth to play it, the visuals are superb, but i had a bit less fun playing this one...
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice game nothing special about the game but it was fun and killed an afternoon while snowbound. 2015
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a pretty good game no "custom" level. there is an interactive map and diary. you are trying to save your family. you are late for a family reunion and when you get there they are gone. it looks like they were taken without a struggle. when you realize who it is you discover all kinds of strange things going on with the culprit. hints and skips charge fairly fast in the casual mode. sequel....i feel sure.
Date published: 2015-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Quite Great But Close! This is another really good game by Elephant. In some ways I liked this better than Dire Grove, Sacred Grove. I guess I liked this story better. Vivid graphics, great sound, fun mini-games. I'm liking the Rube Goldberg puzzles more and more. Cons: I wish all games would follow Dire Grove's example and allow you to choose your gender. I know this is an Aunt Gray story, but it's more fun when you can jump into the character's skin and solve the mystery. I'm more Sherlock Holmes than Miss Marple. The ending was abrupt, as most of these games are. I wish they would spend a little more time wrapping them up in a satisfying way. The bonus chapter was the same. However, my disappointment was mitigated by the extra game at the end. That was a lot of fun! The story was well done and the voiceovers were pretty good this time, with the exception of Thomas. Some were downright scary, which is a good thing. Overall, an almost great story. Elephant consistently does very good to great games, so you can't go wrong with this one. Recommended.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Invite your friends to grimtales it was a great game it is a game you want to get to the plot
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You can skip this installment (it's short and weird) I bought this after playing the trial because the graphics and visual quality seemed better than other Grim Tales games. But I wish I hadn't spent the money on this one. It's very short, and very weird. Mostly a quick "flashback" game of previous GT stories, with the typical Elephant puzzles whose instructions are so totally useless that you can't even figure out how to play the puzzle. Otherwise, pretty typical GT game - very easy puzzles and HOP interspersed with wildly bizarre, unfathomable puzzles whose rules are impossible to figure out. I like the Grim Tales series but you can skip this one.
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok...but not ok Okay i was really excited about this game. Saw many good reviews. Everything was good when i started the game but it became very boring as soon as i finished first part of the game. Story line is very boring and typical. Nothing interesting. Bonus part was more boring. -_-
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from And Back to the Gray's Misfortunes I have played all the games in this series, so the game made as much sense to me as any of the others. This has always been a confusing storyline for me. The artwork is not always in sync with the era, which throws me off. Then the whole supernatural thing seems silly because it's taken in stride. Ho hum, my sister has become a werewolf along with her husband, but our crazy brother is the one that gets locked up. The Gray family certainly has more than it's share of problems! But the good parts IMO are the length and difficulty and uniqueness of the puzzles and HOPs, which were very good in this particular game. There were some lame letters and notes that took extra time to uncover (only to find they were just lame notes saying the same thing over and over). OK, we get it, your poor crazy brother has escaped and is seeking revenge. I'm recommending this game for the gaming factor only.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grim Tales: Color of Fright I really liked the game. I love having a map to take you places. The color was good and the story line is good. On all games I just wish they would tell you approximately how long the game is. Because in this game I think it will be over shortly and I don't want to buy it or spend a free game play on it if it is just going to be over shortly. But it is a good game.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Monotonous, unoriginal, and uninteresting. I found the game bogged down almost immediately and became tedious and boring, with one easy puzzle after another and few HOS. However, the HOS were also extremely easy. The cut scenes -- intermittent "dream states" -- were confusing. Was it the dream of the insane brother or the aunt's (the part you play) psychic vision? Apparently sometimes one or the other, but it was difficult to sort out which was which. To add to the confusion, the brother is an artist whose paintings come to life!! So is this just another part of his hallucinatory dream? Apparently not, since you are required to complete his sketches by connecting dots and filling in blank spaces marked with symbols that tell you what color to use. And lo! They do come to life! And perform helpful things for you! Overall, I found this game to be monotonous, unoriginal, and uninteresting.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VERY SLOW I WANTED TO GET THIS GAME TODAY! BUT AFTER I PLAY FOR AN HOUR I DECIDED NOT TOO!!! FOR TOO MANY REASONS, IT'S ON SLOW MOTION, DON'T KNOW MAYBE IT'S MY COMPUTER BUT GRRRRRRRRRRR!!! I WANT TO SCREAM!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T LIKE THE IDEA OF HAVING TO MOVE LEFT TO RIGHT, VERY FRUSTRATING, AFTER AN HOUR OF GAME YOU ARE ALREADY ON CHAPTER THREE, I CAN TELL THAT THIS IS A VERY SHORT GAME
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Grim tales out of site: out of mind The developers obviously went through much detail to make this an outstanding game. Unfortunately, it is too detailed and therefore complicated, and overdone. And when that happens, the game is not fun. You get three screens in one so to speak. Do you go to the left, stay in the middle, go to the right, go back, or go forward??? It's aggravating. The first puzzle had me puzzled as to what I was looking for. I can't recommend this game even though I am sure there are some that will find it a challenge, to me it is frustrating.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Grim Tales; Color of Fright Beautiful color, music and graphic. Story line has a fun twist. Mini games easy enough to allow you to move on with the game. Did not like the map, 1) I prefer them on my left and 2) at first it didn't allow me to jump from one location to another.
Date published: 2014-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Be Warned: Seems Some Games Are Renamed This is the 2nd time I have come across a game that I have already bought and played but I am told I do not own it. That is because it is under a different title. The game I played worked fine but this one is very sluggish. Not made for newer computers. It is obviously an old game and I'd bet it has been remade and updated for newer computers which is the one I originally played. I think it's a great idea to remake them for newer computers, however I am not in agreement that they change the title. This makes it so we can end up buying the game twice. Different title but the same game. I wish I could remember the title of the game I did play, but I have too many games to keep track of all the titles. The original game was OK. It wan't a bad game but this version sucks big time. Fine if you are using an old computer. This game doesn't work well on my computer which is weird since my computer is 4 years old and this game is also 4 years old. Bet this game was made for Windows 7. I am on Windows 8.1.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tedious! Continually having to pan left & right on the screen gets VERY irksome after about the first 60 seconds. It goes downhill rapidly after that. And if that isn't enough to get your teeth grinding, the constant pause in the action while the barrage of cut screen videos play every time you look at something will have you wanting to throw your computer through a window in about 5 minutes flat! The puzzles are about as predictable as it gets. The only challenge in solving them is the boredom of waiting for the game to catch up to you & allow you to complete the puzzle. I held out for about 10 minutes of play before I quit & deleted this game. I'd like to have that 10 minutes of my like back!
Date published: 2015-11-10
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_22199, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: Color of Fright

A shadow from the Gray family's past has returned for revenge. Can you save your family from their worst nightmares?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.