Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian™ Castle Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian™ Castle Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

From Eipix, in partnership with Big Fish and the Smithsonian Institution, comes the epic continuation of the Hidden Expedition series! Your old buddy and H.E.L.P. operative Sam calls you in to investigate a strange anomaly at the Smithsonian Castle. You soon learn there’s more to this anomaly than meets the eye, and H.E.L.P’s reach stretches back to the Smithsonian’s historic founding. Unlock the secrets of time travel as you follow the clues into the Smithsonian Castle’s Civil War past.

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"Brilliant game! Fun and educational. This will be purchased the second it is offered. I loved everything about it." – Cynthia, Beta Tester

"I was so engrossed in the story line I did not realize how long I was playing. Thoroughly enjoyed it." – Miles, Beta Tester

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Race H.E.L.P. agents to Helen’s time machine!
  • Collect Fact Cards to learn about the Smithsonian’s history
  • Unlock new puzzles and replay mini-games and HOPs
  • Collect original music, wallpapers, and videos
  • Access the comprehensive Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 896 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian™ Castle Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian™ Castle Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 78.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a way to spend the Day. When I saw the title Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle was by Epic game; I thought I might as well give it a try. I was not expecting what I found inside this game. The graphics are amazing. The details are extraordinary. I love that you can customised the option like HINT time as well as SKIP time. Brilliant options. The storyline has it's twists and turns. I won't go into much details as I don't want to spoil anything for others. I was so engrossed in the story line that when the demo ended I just purchase the game! I love that the game is both fun and educational. I love the Fact Cards about the Smithsonian’s. Epic has done an excellent job balancing the two.The music fits perfectly into the game. The Strategy Guide is very comprehensive. If you need to use it. I found that I didn't require it as the HINT option works well if you happen to get stuck. The puzzles,mini-games and HOPs are nicely done. Some are easier then others but since this is the collector's edition you do have the guide that help plus you have the SKIP button. I really enjoy playing Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle Collector's Edition! Education and fun all in one very exciting game. Surely worth the download, playing time and purchase. Well Epic! You surely have a winner with Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle Collector's Edition. I not have to check out the other "Hidden Expedition" games. .
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Science, facts, and time travel! Each Smithsonian adventure cleverly combines some historical facts with science yet continues to come up with believable stories. This time it involves time travel! You are once again an agent of H.E.L.P. called up by the Smithsonian to investigate an electrical outage and a security breach. Using a facial recognition progam with the security camera footage - a mini-game - you identify the employee. Turns out Sarah Jackson is sending information "across time" to Eli Pike, a lab assistant in 1862 who is also researching time travel! When you try to chase Sarah, you wind up back in 1862 yourself! The game starts out a bit slow, but once you arrive back in time, it is quite fun to see the Smithsonian as it existed back then. You even run into your partner Sam's ancestor! The HOS in the game are silhouettes to find, or objects represented by two objects you need to interpret. Once you arrive in 1862, you have a FROG to assemble. The mini-games are pretty easy, but fun -- you have to solve four puzzles to enter a door. The usual FACT cards are here, with nice tidbits about the Smithsonian and its founder. The CE bling includes one of my favorites, the Souvenir Room, but they've left out my other favorite, the "Making Of" video. There are collectibles in each scene, with an icon to let you know if you've found one there or not. Plus the HOS/FROG also have morphing items, with an icon for that as well. The story is fun, and somehow ties into the intro which shows a little girl disappearing into a portal back in the 1800s or so. To find out more, you have to buy it! Try it and see.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return to the Smithsonian! Now a full field agent for H*E*L*P, you are again teamed up with agent Sam, who hands you a case that would challenge any detective. During the night, the Smithsonian's security system shows there was several minutes where the cameras failed to work. Your primary search shows a Smithsonian employee on the museum's roof, where she suddenly vanishes into thin air!! During your first case with H*E*L*P*, Agent Sam assisted you in uncovering the truth. Now you find yourself not just investigating solo, and 150 years into the past!!! In an effort to stop the employee from making a second trip, you too are thrown backward in time, with only on chance of getting home. Now a victim of a time travel device, you race against time itself, in order to restore the balance of time,all the while facing H*E*L*P agents of the past and your future, who are willing to do anything to prevent you succeeding. This in one of the finest HOP games I have ever played, where there are not just some of the old HOP's but new ones. What I really enjoyed was the panning features and having to move from one floor, or room, to another, 3-4 times in order to finalize a clue or activate a HOP. It kept me glued to my PC, all the while challenging me to improve my own gaming ability.
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is worth every penny. I'm a fan of the Hidden Expedition line of games but this one takes the cake. I love the graphics, the games, the storyline (hello, time travel and history?#. The challenge was not over the top, but I'm okay with that. I enjoyed the storyline so much that a very complex game would have frustrated me. I wanted to move to the next thing. I bought the CE for bonus chapter and the collectibles. Those are always fun for me. IMO, the bonus chapter alone is worth the CE price on this game. The game has the usual FROGs and collectible fact cards and such. Mini games were things seen before, nothing over the top. I loved that there was no darkness in this game. The villain was greedy and selfish, not evil #like most of the bad guys in our lives). I did know where the story was going before it got there, but I still wanted to know HOW they were going to get to that point. I have completed this game and could give it no less than 5 stars. The bonus chapter made it worth the CE.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game This is a top-notch game in every respect. The production is outstanding with what seems to be an authentic rendition of the Smithsonian except maybe the hidden elevator. There are many extras such as the interesting fact cards, collectibles, souvenir room, and the usual other stuff. Game play includes innovative HOS and puzzles, custom settings, and a jump map. Very well done. The story is interesting and is well told. The bonus chapter is just OK, but it does continue the story. This is one of the best games available. .
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Animations, Effects, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... An All Round Excellent Game, Very Quick & Progressive Game Play That Made You Feel Like You Were Part Of A Journey ... No Map Required ... The Bonus Chapter Was Very Enjoyable And A Nice Finishing Touch To The Main Story ...
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very innovative You have to search through time for your friend...and while doing so, you use technology to do facial scan recognition, use a computer to find things, and the h obj are very different...in one, things are a kind of rebus and you find what matches, in another you have to find pieces and while that is not so different, there was a magnifying glass to get a closer look, There is a wall blocks to push and while most of those are random this one is not as there is a clue to solving it. there is a maze to unlock...in fact throughout doors have very different locks. This is a game with all kinds of new ways to puzzle out what is needed. It is not difficult and I like my puzzles a bit harder, but the newness had us intrigued and enjoying. There are collectibles and morphing things...People you meet let you know aspects of your objectives. There is a bit of running about...and the hint is happy to let you know where to go without it costing time once told. I am fairly well sold on getting this as a CE...so let's have one of those sales please Big Fish...I managed to miss the last one.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on demo only.... Time travel, a love story, morphing objects - what's not to love?! I have really enjoyed the past installments of the series and this one looks to be just as good, if not better than the rest. Sure, the level of challenge isn't really for the hard core gamer - the puzzles are fairly easy but enjoyable and just right for this casual gamer. The achievements (which are really important to me) are challenging but attainable and I like the style of the HOPs. I love the historical/educational aspects, e.g. the fact cards and the real people involved in the story but I realize that this probably isn't for everyone. (I'm a librarian who loves history). All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the demo and plan to buy the full version! Thanks devs, for another great game!
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was thoroughly entertained. Great educational learning experience along with a game that has innovative puzzles along with inventive HOGS and FROGS. Well drawn map, good voice acting - yup, I'm impressed. I'm sure by now plenty have written about all the nuances of the game, so I won't bore you with that, definitely worth a demo, but I'm going to buy it.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smithsonian Castle C.E This is part 3 of the Smithsonian series so it is hard too make it different all the time. I did try it and found it was a good game. all games could be better given more time. there a lot of hidden objects and other stuff like morphing objects and thinks to find to make it better. the graphics could of been a lot better in this game and the sound was fine. they where a lot of facts about the Smithsonian one of the oldest Museums in the world in the game it takes you through the civil war past. If you like Hidden Objects and history then this is a first class game even it you don't it still worth the 1.30 hour trial. I hope you found this helpful please try the game for your self. we are all different and have different taste in games. me I love Hidden object game and will be buying this game at some point. I will wait till big fish gives me a special offer because I found 2 C.E Games I like I also have the last two parts of the Smithsonian they where good just like the third part.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Better Smithsonian Expeditions I thought the hidden object scenes were done well, not too tedious and the puzzles were not too hard. Good story line and fun facts with really good graphics!
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Lots of variety in this game, always doing something different with the exception of a few boring hops. Puzzles were fun. Game was long, bonus game not so long. The only reason I buy the CE is for the bonus game and extras in game play not the extras like movies, wallpaper blah blah, who cares! I just want a nice long bonus game since the price is almost double, come on! Anyhow, the game as a whole was great! Excellent story and fun. Definitely recommend the game, but I don't think the CE is worth the extra dough so I have to not recommend this CE version.
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!! Nice long game with lots of extras!! I just completed the whole entire CE version even the bonus game. I loved it!! So much fun!! Lots of extra stuff!! You get a souvenir room when you complete the bonus game and it lets you go back to each room to collect a new hidden item!! You collect a hidden item throughout the game, well I missed a couple and it let me go back to the specific room to find it, I really liked that feature!!! There are morphing items, but they are only in the HOP scenes, but its ok because it has a thing that tells you if there is one in the scene and lets you know when you find it and how many more there are left to find in the game!! You also earn achievements throughout the game, that makes it fun, you can play a certain way to earn an achievement!! The graphics were really great!! The sounds were good (I ALWAYS turn the music off, first thing when I start ANY game) So I cannot really comment on how the music was. The game ran really well with no hiccups at all!! I could sit here and tell you a million more things I love about this game and there a lot more features that I have not mentioned, so I think if you like HOP/S - adventure games...get this one!! This game makes me want to take a trip to the Smithsonian Castle and check it out my self!! I kind of feel like I have already been there through this game!! Oh yea one last thing....this is NOT A GHOST STORY!! The story line is very refreshing, I was wanting to play something that was not about something haunted and ghosts and all that stuff that so many games are about. Just one more reason this game is AWESOME!!
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Expedition Smithsonian Castle Another Winner Not too heavy on the educational side with puzzles that were fairly easy. Game had a good length and was worth the CE price--on a good BFG sale--of course! So relieved and pleased to play a game different from the rest--all with practically the same story. Yes, story! Smithsonian Castle has a great story that evolves and unfolds and brings the gamer to a reasonable conclusion where every loose end is tied neatly together. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't Quit Playing! I earned all but two achievements on this one. No glitches or other problems. Great graphics, voiceovers, music, and puzzles, although the puzzles were on the easy side. I didn't skip any. It could have been just a little more challenging but the fun factor made it a 5-star game for me. I pretty much played this one straight through. Had a hard time stopping to eat! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this game.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "History Buff's Favorite" Being a History Buff, I loved it Hope to see more Smithsonian Games.Could be used in History Classes at Schools.
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relaxing and intriguing I love spacious old buildings, which have ornate detailing. Whether they’re castles, manor houses or old museums, I find them all to be full of charm and mystery. The time travel portion of this HOPA story fits well into the setting, bringing the history of the building and what it contains a bit closer. I found the story and the characters likeable and done well. I felt like I was on a mission. I wasn’t on the edge of my seat, but I was intrigued by what was to be discovered behind the next door, down the next hall or through the next encounter. I loved all the rooms and hallways with their high ceilings, refined and antique furnishings and their various shelves and cabinets of collections. The outdoors is brought indoors to you through numerous large, arched, latticed-windows. You’ll get glimpses of clouds and trees, and sometimes hear birdsong. The overall effect is of spaciousness, symmetry and beauty. This HOPA game had the right balance of HO scenes for me (not too many) and I enjoyed the puzzles. The quality of the graphics and the artwork, were both topnotch. In the Collector’s Edition that I played, the collectibles and morphing objects were fun to find. I like to play a mix of games, and after playing some fantasy games with great outdoor scenes and landscapes and then a couple of more spooky games recently, I was definitely ready for a change and found myself totally immersed in this one. I am currently playing the bonus game.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you for a great Christmas present! This game is intelligent and just right for adults. No cute animals, fairies, or dragons. Well crafted and beautifully drawn with interesting HOS, each different than the last. The puzzles are just right, and I am delighted! A great game to find on Christmas day! Time travel, fact finding,exploring the Smithsonian? Oh yes, and so much more.. A must buy for me, I only review either very bad games or very good games now, This is a very good game.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting and fun! This one deals with time travel, and whilst there are limitless possibilities, the Hidden Expeditions games will always end cheerfully--no dystopian disasters will occur! The puzzles are not difficult, but they are charming, and the visuals, sound effects, and voice acting are first-rate. I've only played the demo, but I'm sure I will enjoy the full collector's as much as the others I've played. There are also morphing objects, collectible symbols and cards, and other bonus features in the Collector's edition. Try it out! You will have a good time!
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game as always from this series Was really fun to play. Very good story. Had hours full of joy. But see for yourself.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time paradox This game is just what I have been waiting for! Another Smithsonian Hidden Expedition! I think it is great and i recommend it to everyone. Definitely a buy for this years holiday :)
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Say How Much I Love This Series! No ghosts, no kidnapped siblings, no saving the world- just fascinating American history with a bit of artistic license. I adore this series- the graphics are bar none astoundingly good, story line sold and engrossing. This hold's a special place in my heart as my great great uncle's uniform hangs in the Smithsonian. He was a captain with Teddy Roosevelt's Rough riders and the first to die on San Juan Hill. His horse was shot out from under him and he carried on the charge on foot with only a pistol- his rifle was still saddled to his dead horse. His Name was Allyn K. Capron in case you want to look it up. President Roosevelt wrote of him in his memoirs. Great game, Eipix and Big Fish- brings a tear to my eye.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED!!! This is my favorite game of all time and I've played plenty. Developers, please take note of all the positive reviews!! Why are they positive? SUPERIOR graphics, sound and story. I get tired of all the dark gloom and doom HOGS and need a change. This game has beautiful ambient light that simply transports you into each and every room. You want to linger on every detail but you can't wait to see what's behind the next door! More games like this please.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Hidden Expedition so far I like all the Hidden Expedition games, but this one is my favorite thus far. The graphics are top-notch, the mini-games are interesting (though some of them could be more challenging), and the HOPs are varied enough to be interesting (and there aren't too many of them). The storyline is also a bit different, like most of the previous HE games--there is a disappearance at the beginning, but as it turns out, finding the missing person is *not* your goal! Of course, there are lots of great Smithsonian facts included in the game and the extras, which is fun for a museum geek like me. And even the closing credits are fun to read! I love it when I find a game so meticulously and lovingly designed. As I say, it could be a bit more challenging in places, but that's my only (small) complaint. I hope I can get this one on my iPad at some point!
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventurous Chase For Diamonds This was very exciting to play. Game play was extremely fun, I literally couldn't wait for the next puzzle and HOPA scene so I could win more achievements. Entire game was more than fun, scenes are beautifully done. I must admit that I finished playing the whole game in less time than I thought it'd take me to get to the final scene. Keep making these amazing games!
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the last 3 in Series I really enjoy these games. Excellent graphics, I like all the achievements you can collect and the story line. Also educational at the same time with the fact cards that are optional reading but worth it. I recommend the last 3 in this series. Great entertainment and relaxing fun.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! Really well done all around. The art work was great, the story line interesting from beginning to end. There was something to learn every time I turned around (and that is really worth something - loved it!). I tend to get a little tired of HOP - my issue, not the game devs - they did a great job keeping it interesting and clever. I was leaning toward a 4 star rating and then I got to the credits. Don't cheat yourself, watch them all the way through, they're worth it.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle Collector's Edition That's was a good one! A lot clue.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another great one My favorite series doesn't disappoint. Unique puzzles. Intriguing story. Sumptuous setting.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent piece of work Artwork fantastic. Game play intuitive. Storyline predictable though. Love the map feature to skip to places. Love that games aim to teach us something about history or being educational.
Date published: 2014-12-27
  • y_2021, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_78
  • loc_en_US, sid_22210, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian™ Castle Collector's Edition

The Smithsonian Castle’s secrets lie in a Civil War past.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.