Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(403.98 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

It's been too long since you've seen your best friend Kira, so of course you jumped at the chance to visit after she invites you to scenic Baumholder for the weekend. You've barely arrived and met her new husband Victor when a freak blizzard sets in, ruining a perfect summer day. When a dark tower of ice rises from the city square, ice giants rain down on the streets, freezing everyone and everything in their path. Who is controlling them and what do they want? Work together with Victor to save Kira and survive the deadly cold.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Save those you love in the bonus game!
  • Collect lushly illustrated wallpapers and concept art
  • Gain access to the detailed strategy guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 973 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(403.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from casual Loved this game! Fun and exciting, can't wait to play more from this maker.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I wish more games were as good as this one, i liked everything about this game,
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ok...Ok...I like it!! I admit I wasnt drawn to this game at first, but it was on sale so I thought I would give it a go, .....and....I love it!!!! The last thing I wanted to play was another "frozen" themed game, I mean after all we are freezing in "real Life" why cant we play something more "sunny"!! But I am really having fun with this game, the graphics are really well done!! The game play is smooth and relaxing!! Yea Kira is annoying (I think in a humorous way) and Victor IS 7 foot tall, but hey he has his reasons!! (I cant reveal too much!!) There are lots of collectables in the CE and bonus game play. So overall give it a try!! You know you will love it!!
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit different I played the demo and then purchased the game. I liked the graphics very much, and the dialog is just enough to help with game play. I agree with other reviewers that the story line is silly, but hey, this is a game, and most of the story lines are silly. It's the play itself that matters, and this game moves along pretty well with the area to be covered not too daunting. There is quite a bit of interactivity in both the hidden object scenes and the game play itself. The HOS are out of the ordinary, and most of the puzzles are fun, a bit different, and just about the right amount of challenging. I have played a lot of HOGs and usually when I play a demo, I think to myself "same-o, same-o," but this game held my attention.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deadly Cold Doesn't Disappoint! Great, fun game! I was hooked from the first chapter and was sorry when I completed the game and the bonus chapter...I wanted more and more. It's been awhile since I played a game that was entertaining.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT!!! - based on the one hour trial - Mariaglorum is a developer, who really works himself into my heart!!! I do love every game of them, not only because of the great graphics, but also because the great effort they put into the stories of their games and their neatness in making the gameplay smooth. I do know what i have to do and i know where to go, all comes so naturally, i just love when a game is able to achieve this, because it means the developer really put their whole heart into the work. When the story starts we are immediately in the action and worse things take place... blizzard, ice-tower rises up, ice-army is chasing your friend and her husband, all is in complete disorder... it is your job to follow your friends and help them... hint recharges within short time, skip also, but i did not have to use it up to now.. minigames are very entertaining i find and for all the action is really interesting and you don't do jobs because it is a game, but because it helps the story... all said, this is a must-buy!!! I feel so thankful when developers take so much effort - a smooth gameplay is so difficult to achieve and such a heartfelt pleasure, if one can play such a game.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a good one , for once !!!!! It is a good game, lots of stuff to do, it kept me interested, the art work is good, HO very inventive, puzzles challenging and I had a good time, what else can I ask for ? Yes I could ask for a really creepy game.... There has been so many bad ones lately, I am happy when a good one passes by....They worked hard on this game and it shows !
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Battle Against the Winter Giant My city was covered with the snow today, so this game was just what I needed to turn the bad weather into a fantasy adventure. As a player you're put into a role of Kira's best friend and the fun begins when a frozen castle appears in the sky and brings down a savage snow storm. Suddenly you're fighting an ice monster and you're trying to help your injured friend. The objective is...well you'll have to play and see, cause I won't spoil all for you. All of the hidden object were great, mini games were challenging without being hard to solve.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deadly cold that catches your Soul Okay this one is a runner up for The game of the year award. It has just about everything. Love the characters, graphics were great, Cut scenes were very good, Music was good. Play of game was excellent. The HO's were very good also. Love collecting the rabbits and characters, I never had to use the hint button once. The game had a very nice pace to it. I could go on and on. Goes on my must buy list.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Mystery Here - Just a Winner Let's welcome a really good game to the BFG fold. You'll find a good story - An old friend invites you to visit and meet her new husband. Just as you arrive, so does a monumental blizzard in the middle of summer. You manage to help your friend and her husband, only to find there is way more going on than either you of your old friend could have imagined. There are four levels of play, collectibles, good mini-games, and HOPs that run the gambit from interlocked items to find, to shadows of objects, to objects to collect to open the list. The artwork was appropriately cold - I finished the demo in a heavy sweater - but not overly dark. There were a lot of different scenes in the demo and a giant ice tower/castle still to explore in the game. I think I'll need a hot beverage and blanket for the next scenes! Even if you are snow bound, you'll enjoy this new offering from BFG.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Snow and ice and blizzard, oh my! This is the fourth in the series and is pretty good. Your BFF Kira summons you to Baumholder and you arrive right when the mother of all winter storms hits -- in the middle of summer. Plus a huge ice castle grows out of the middle of town! Kira is married to super-hunk Victor, who is 7 feet tall and all muscles. Seems he also wrote a book called the Winter King, which makes it seem like Victor is the son of the King causing all the icy stress in town. The graphics are great -- every so often a bolt of ice hits and spreads convincingly over the pond or land or whatever it aimed at. The HOS are all varied -- find silhouette items, collect snowflakes, find items in the story book. The mini-games are pretty easy, but fun enough to do. There are 6 statues to collect, 25 hidden hares - all variable sizes and shapes - plus 20 puzzle pieces that you don't even know you are collecting -- what's with that? This is a good game with a good storyline, even though we've had lots of freezes before. Can you save Kira and Victor and the town from the Winter King?
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ice Monsters Are Here! I have the rest in the series so had to play this one too and I liked it, apart from Kira’s voice which was far too shrill and made me wince every time I heard it. All is not lost though as she’s now been carted off by an ice monster and probably won’t make another appearance until the end of the game when she’s rescued, and I sincerely hope I have found a pair of ear muffs by then! Levels - Casual, Advanced, Expert and Custom. Achievements - there are 8 in total. 6 of them have 3 levels each, i.e. finish 3, 7 or 10 puzzles without a hint. If you watch the credits you get another achievement. The final one is to collect all 20 mural parts (jigsaw pieces). Personally I cannot remember collecting a single one but when the demo finished I found that I already had 7 of them. Extras - the usual Concept Art, Wallpapers and Music Inventory - lockable. Map - jumpable, it also shows which areas have active tasks to complete. Sights & Sounds - Good lip sync good graphics and the music wasn’t boring or repetitive.. Length - 7 chapters plus the Bonus Game. HOS - Interactive and varied. Puzzles - none are mind bending nor mind numbing, most are relatively easy to complete with one or two requiring a little more strategy but none were impossible. Collectable Goodies - 6 statuettes of the characters. 25 hares to collect and they do not look exactly the same, some are quite large and others blend in very well with the background. To confuse us even more at one stage you do have to find another 2 hares that are used in a mini-game so don’t count them as part of the 25 needed. Bonus Chapter - I haven’t played it yet but after a flick through the Strategy Guide it looks a decent length I did like this little touch that was inserted into a HOS but not part of it, there was a little bird sitting in a bush and every few seconds it pulled its head in and shivered - very appropriate given the game is called Deadly Cold. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINNER WINNER BIG FISH DINNER Yes, this is better than the other ones by far and it is fun!!!!
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is spring but I still feel the cold.. ... thanks by playing this game. I own the previous Mystery of the Ancient Games and they never failed to disappoint and this time, too. The story is not so strong but the gameplay is rather easy, with easy puzzles and HOG so it's perfect for me. The VO is good too. The monsters remind me of one of those in Disney Hercules, they are not so scary looking but they add to more suspense of the game. The extras however is very few. If you just want to enjoy the game, I suggest purchasing the SE. It is a good game and probably will be good to play in hot summer days :)
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mystery of Several Different Ancients Mixed Together Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold CE Review based on completed game + bonus chapter PREFACE… I'm not sure to which ancients these mysteries belong. Ice giants hearken back to Norse mythology, but there was Celtic knotwork throughout this game, and the town's name is Germanic. Hope you like keys and ornate medallions, bas reliefs, and things used as keys, because this game is chock full of them. ONCE UPON A TIME... You arrive to visit your BF Kira and her new husband Victor in the midst of a mid-summer blizzard warning. Suddenly, an icy castle rises from the mists and ice giants rain from the sky, freezing everything in their paths. What do the denizens of the castle want? And how can you save the world from being frozen? PLAY THE GAME... The HO scenes are where this game really shines. Amazing variety, including sequential action, multiples, rebus lists, and more. Puzzles ran the gamut from simple to frustrating, mostly familiar. You will find an infinite number of shaped items to be used as keys, often unlocking boxes or cabinets containing still more shaped items. This trend has been done to the death, and I'm tired of it. SIGHTSEEING… The cutscene and close-up animation are state-of-the-art, complete with moving shadows and highlights, realistic textures, and smooth movement. Graphics are detailed, colorful, and clear. SOUND WAVES… The music is lovely, orchestral and ambient, and provides an excellent soundscape for the game. Voiceovers are professional, although Kira's was somewhat grating. Environmental sounds are done well. TOOLBOX... The map transports, shows your location, and shows available actions. There's an unnecessary question mark icon which shows you your current objective. EXTRA, EXTRA… In the bonus chapter, you must work to restore your own memories. There's also the SG, which has no table of contents, so you have to page endlessly until you get where you need to be. There are 25 collectible hares which provide pieces to a jigsaw puzzle, and 6 collectible game figurines. Additionally, there are performance achievements and the developer's portfolio of downloable eye and ear candy. Replayable mini-games would have been nice. THE LAST WORD… If you can deal with the myriad rooms, chests, and things that need to be unlocked with similar looking Celtic knotwork medallions, bas reliefs of mythological creatures, and heraldry symbols, then this is a decent game. The back story was well thought out and presented, and I mostly enjoyed playing it. Other games in this series include (from the beginning) Lockwood Manor, Curse of the Black Water, and Three Guardians.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good But Short The full version did not last very long after playing the trial version.
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A COLD GAME IN ONE OF THE MOST BRUTAL OF WINTERS... YIKES! I won't lie... I wanted to go to Fiji while I played this game or as close to the equator as humanly possible. It's cold in New York and this game aptly represents how I feel like when I go outside every day... a human popsicle. Burrrrr!!!!! Like the first Mystery of the Ancients, the male protagonist is keeping a secret. A pretty big one. His wife and BFF, our heroine, have no idea of his true identity as an Ice Prince and his now delusional father (it was just too cold to remain sane any longer) wants him back in his clutches at any cost. So our herioine not only has to save her BFF but she has to put the pieces of this terribly cold puzzle together and rescue everyone in the process including the deluded King who at heart is a swell guy. The game itself has all the elements of a 5 star game, good graphics, fun special effects, varied and creative HOS and Mini-Games, yet it does not have that magical quality inherent in those break out games that have an undeniable WOW factor. But as far as a new release, it's absolutely worth playing. But by all means, be the judge yourself.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT ICE MONSTERS Enjoyed this game very, very much. Victor bored me a bit, but the rest of the game made up for it. Thought the Strategy Guide was a bit confusing here and there, but not a big downer. Good gamer and enjoyed my time playing it and would recommend the CE. Enjoy...
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost left me cold, but... When I first played the demo, didn't really care for it. However, after the Presidents' Day sale, where you got 241, I figured there was nothing to lose. Glad I did. The game has some really good puzzles which make you think. It's a fairly long game. I did, like others, find the BFF annoying, but she was ok once you blocked her out (not easy). All in all, a somewhat different, enjoyable game.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chase away the winter blues, and save the world while you're at it! After playing the free trial I decided to purchase this game as I was blown away by how beautiful it was and the 2 for 1 sale was tempting me... In short, you are off to visit your friend Kira to meet her new hunky husband. Somehow she is not suspicious that his surname is Snow (c'mon!) and the town is suddenly struck by a blizzard accompanied by giant ice monsters who make Baumholder their playground, causing all kinds of mayhem and destruction. As always, it's your job to save the day and uncover why the magical storm happened. I was definitely not disappointed by any aspect of the game, although I will say the main storyline is a bit hit and miss and I enjoyed the additional gameplay a little more. The characters are a bit cliché and sometimes feel like an afterthought, especially poor Kira who seems to spend most of the latter half of the story kidnapped off-screen! It doesn't detract from the fun at all though as I really loved the style of the HOPs, and the combination of beautiful scenery and music really immerse you in the winter wonderland. After completing the game at a leisurely pace the first time, my second attempt took me just under 2 hours to complete the main storyline and collect all the achievements, and another 30 minutes or so to complete the bonus section. It was maybe a little too short in my opinion and the story ends rather abruptly without the bonus gameplay, so I would've liked for it to have been longer to accommodate for a neater ending. All in all it's a very pretty game despite being nothing special and I'd recommend it to anyone who fancies something fun yet relaxing, especially when joined by some hot chocolate!
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the Usual Suspects--Grab a Blanket & A Cup of Hot Tea! Deadly Cold is far from the previous Mystery of the Ancients series wherein a true mystery unfolded with character development. Lots of bright colors and scary ice monsters breathing down my neck brought a real chill and caused me to turn up the thermostat. Puzzles although mediocre for veteran gamers, they are perfect for amateur gamers. For the younger audiences, I must admit as the story line ricocheted every which way and played out much like a cartoon. So, am recommending this game for the younger set! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Icy HO game Another tale of saving friends set in an icy kingdom. The story was fair enough, nothing groundbreaking. Graphics are clear, HO scenes and minigames enjoyable, though the dialogue wasn't easy on the ear. There are collectibles in the form of hares, and also figures of the main characters. It isn't possible to go back and find any collectibles you may have missed on completing the game unfortunately, developers please note and amend.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LIKED THE OTHERS, LIKED THIS ONE TOO! Bases on full game and bonus. I liked it. Kept with the series, much like the guardian's. I can see myself playing multiple times to get all achievements without hints or the SG. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the story line was pretty hokey. Didn't make much sense from a common sense point of view, but it is a game, and I liked the game play. I read other reviews where Kira's voice was annoying, I found the glasses much more distracting! Collectables, understandable achievements if you've played guardian's ( the jig saw puzzle pieces are present again!). Length was decent, mini games not too difficult but made me think a bit, nothing really new, but nothing horrible either. Hidden object scenes were a little varied which is nice and the extra book finds are fun. I recommend you try it and judge for yourself. I also recommend playing the guardian's it got me addicted!
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... A Very Enjoyable Game With Lots Of Thought Put Into Keeping Up With New Innovations, But Nothing New And Innovating In It's Own Right ... The Bonus Chapter Was OK ... And Worth Waiting For A Special Deal For This Edition ...
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fantastic Follow-Up To One Of My Favourite Games BASED ON DEMO MariaGlorum's last game (League of Light: Wicked Harvest) was one of my favourites of 2014, so this next game obviously had some high expectations to meet. Well, I can gladly say, this game has met those expectations! The story was good, but not the best I've seen. The opening, which is meant to drag you in to the game, was unexciting and the story took a while to get in to, but I stuck with it. Relatively speaking, the story was largely uneventful for the demo. It was slow progressing and had a lack of twists in the early goings. What kept me interested in this story was the suspense. There was the beginning of a backstory. I began to want more, demand answers, which is what a story should be doing. I also liked that the developers did not reveal the villain straightaway, which was a part of the suspense, and made me keep playing on to find out who they were and what their motive was. The real twist during the demo period came right at the end and, after all the suspense, I was hoping it would be good... and it was! It was totally unexpected, and got me really excited. I just had to know what happened next! Demo's are always meant to end on cliffhangers, and the developers have totally nailed it here! The main reason I loved this game was not the story, but the gameplay. The HOS were very fun and I absolutely loved them. They were mainly progressive silhouette scenes, with only the one being normal junkpile. At first I thought that the scenes would be a breeze, but looks can be deceiving! To the developers' credit, they tried to make their scenes as hard as possible. Some objects were hidden quite well, and I had to use the hint quite a few times! The quantity of HOS was also good; there were 4 in the demo and they were well spaced out. The thing I loved most about the last game by this developer was how fun the puzzles were. They turned my most hated thing in to my most loved, so I was eager to see what the puzzles would be like in this game. I am happy to say, the puzzles are just as fun! They are different from the norm and, although they are quite easy, they are incredibly fun! I absolutely loved each time I got to play them, and I made sure I completed every single one! They were some of the best puzzles I've seen in the game. It's because of that that I've got no misgivings about the quantity. Usually I would say 7 puzzles in a demo is WAY too much, but this time, I don't mind! In fact, I hope to see a lot more of them as the game goes on. The adventure component was quite minimal and basic, but for some reason it was extremely fun. I had a blast playing it and just wanted to play for hours. If I had to pick one fault with the gameplay, I would say it was that the adventure component was exceptionally easy. There was no thinking required- I always knew what I had to do next. However, I also believe that if the game had been harder, I would not have had as much fun as I did. With the easiness of the gameplay, I was able to focus more on having fun than anything else. The biggest problem I found with the gameplay was the difficulty levels. Advanced mode still had map indicators on, so of course, I customised and turned them off. However, as I played the game and went to use the map, THERE WERE STILL MAP INDICATORS THERE! I don't know if this is a glitch, or if the map indicators appear after you use a hint, but they still shouldn't be present at all if I've turned them off. This was basically the low point of otherwise perfect gameplay. If I turn map indicators off, they need to remain OFF, whether I use a hint or not. The only additional gameplay feature was + objects. They were done well. I liked how there weren't too many at once and there was also an indication of when they could be used (although this could be turned off). I would have liked to see another additional feature... maybe a helper? Or maybe something specific to that game. Basic features have been done well, save for map problems. The hint and skip recharge at decent speeds, but I was disappointed with the fact that there was no diary, especially since it was present in the last game. Diaries are definitely an important feature, so I have no idea why developers are leaving them out. The graphics were absolutely brilliant. They were exceptionally clear, drawn with some great, lifelike detail and had great colours. Not once were they hazy. The character designs are also very lifelike. Unlike most people, I had no problem with Kira's voice, nor any of the voice-overs. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Expert and Custom. I ran in to some problems with these difficulties. I customised to turn map indicators off, but they still appeared. I played in advanced mode with indicators off. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a decent speed for advanced mode and the hint is helpful outside HOS. Map- The map is interactive and does its job on lower difficulties. + Objects- These were done well. There is an indication of when they can be used and there weren't too many at once. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS Solutions Achievements Collectible figurines- I took a peek at the bonus content and saw that there were only 6 figurines in there, which was quite disappointing. Wallpapers Concept Art Soundtrack WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? There is absolutely nothing in the CE that makes it remotely worth buying. It would be a waste of money, in my opinion, to get the CE. I strongly advise you to wait for the SE. MY PROGRESS I finished the demo in 47 minutes. There were 2 chapters in the demo. This developer has followed up extremely well from their previous game. This is one of the best games to come out so far this year and I can't wait to see how it ends. It earns a well deserved four star rating from me.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How Many Times Do I Have To Save My BFF? Kira has fallen head over heel in love, and has invited her BFF to Baumholder to meet her new husband, Victor Allen, A.K.A Victor Snow. I must admit, for a game character, he's very cute and very muscular (although he struggled with that light pole way too long) and he's also apparently 7 foot tall according to his ID card! I have to agree with one of my favorite reviewers, LogieBaby, Kira's voice is extremely annoying, but they totally nailed the nerdy character she was portraying. It appears that Victor has been keeping his true identity from Kira, which has caused a wickedly cold assault upon Baumholder as Icy Giants invade this newlywed couples honeymoon and turn everything into a freezing tundra....in the middle of summer! There are 25 Hidden Hares and 6 Collectible Character Figurines throughout this adventure, and plenty of Achievements to make you proud of yourself for not using the hint button and muddling through that frustrating puzzle! Some of the inventory items have plus signs indicating that something needs to be done to that item before it can be used such as putting pieces together or combining that item with another inventory item. The Hidden Object Scenes are well done, most are progressive silhouetted shape finds where you find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape, and use that item in the scene which will then expose the next item and so forth. One HOP had silhouetted shapes that required you to find two of the same type, the first item found would only fill in the shape 1/2 way. The Mini Games were very entertaining, some easy, some a little more frustrating such as clicking on frozen ice patches in a specific order or more ice patches would form. This Collectors Edition has Achievements, Concept Art, Wallpapers, Music, 25 Hidden Hares, 6 Collectible Figurines, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Aptly named game for this time of year Another in the Mystery of the Ancients series. I have liked the previous ones. The game has you going to see your BFF Kira on a warm day, when a blizzard is forecast. As soon as you get there, ice begins to cover everything and ice giants run rampant. Familiar theme as we have seen this in other games. Kira's husband runs off for help and you and Kira put together a mysterious amulet that her husband left for her. Alas, an ice giant carries her off too. Turns out her husband's father (your father-in-law, who presumably you've never met) is the king of the ice world or some such thing. Anyway.... the HOS are fun. They are puzzles within puzzles. The mini games are unique and also fun. I had absolutely no trouble with them, which means they are super super easy Game play is extremely linear and easy. There are a few collectible statues, and some hares to find, and usual in-game achievements. I don't think this merits a CE standing. Kira's voice is the most grating voice I've heard in a game in a long time. I'd say meant for beginners or someone who wants a very very easy game. However, the HOS and puzzles are fun. I'd recommend the SE unless the bonus chapter is something wonderful. I would have preferred a sunny setting with a nice tropical climate, as the game looks like what I've been seeing outside my window, however, no such luck. I did not run into any glitches or problems playing on Windows 7. Enjoy and wear your winter gear
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since it's been so cold and snowy where I live, another ice game is apt We recently got about 2 feet of snow and another foot is predicted over the weekend so Deadly Cold is consistent with current weather patterns. I'd rather have seen a new game set in the tropics to warm me up a bit. The story is nothing new as there have been a goodly number of games in frozen worlds that have been better presented. One of the Dark Parables comes immediately to mind. This game is OK but nothing in it ( demo only ) gets my attention to the point that I must have it. Our heroine is contacted by her BFF Kira to visit her and her new husband Victor. Upon arrival, bizarre weather events in the form of a summertime blizzard befalls the trio. Victor is apparently abducted by an ice golem, Kira is stuck under a broken streetlamp and its up to us to save everyone. Via HO segments, none with traditional word lists during the demo, and way too easy puzzles, the player makes progress. Did everyone note that VIctor's driver's license lists him as being 7 foot tall. Kira must be really tall also since she is only about a head shorter. At any rate we soon learn that Victor is more than we anticipated even though Kira is totally in the dark as to his background and what will be his involvement in this escapade as the game continues. The demo ends with the introduction of Vic's dad who is the ruler of some otherworld bound by snow and ice. The father is rather ticked off at his son that he married a human so he has one of his ice monsters take Kira captive once again and our quest continues should we elect to buy the game. There isn't enough in Deadly Cold to warrant a CE purchase. The story is old hat, the game play is too easy and there is a minimum of collectible items. At some future date I might use a free game credit but I will probably need to twist my own arm to do so. For me Deadly Cold is merely lukewarm. I give it a mild thumbs up.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BUNDLE UP AND COVER UP YOUR EARS WHILE PLAYING THIS DEADLY COLD GAME Battling through a blizzard with ice and snow perpetrated by an ice monster, we have a new game from Glorious Maria, Our Lady of Gaming. To me, this is a fairly decent, but not spectacular CE. The story flows well; it is cartoon-like and puzzle- intense. I love the puzzles and the inventory and HOP scenes are puzzle-like as well. I would have "loved" this game more if not for "my BFF," , Kira, a "ditzy," overly talkative nerd with her irritating, nasal pitched voice. I guess I could have "silenced" her by muting the sound. So annoying! This game is definitely not "best experienced with sound." BFF? This girl? Seriously? No way! HERE ARE THE DETAILS: Your "BFF," Kira, has just gotten married to Viktor As you arrive in the town of Baumholder, a summer blizzard develops enveloping the whole town in ice and snow. An ice tower appears out of nowhere bringing a bone-chilling blizzard with it. From this castle, a giant ice monster appears terrorizing the village. In an attempt to save both you and Kira, Victor leaves with the ice monster in pursuit. While Victor is away, the ice monster kidnaps your friend, taking her to his tower. You need to rescue her and help Victor defeat this monster. Somehow this story is tied to a novel "The Snow King" by Victor Snow. What secrets lie in this town and how is Victor tied into this whole dilemma? LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Customized. You have the option to customize all the levels. Rather cool. GRAPHICS: Cartoon-like. The colors are muted . Kira's nasal toned voice and incessant babbling and whining grated on my nerves. HOP SCENES: Well done. Puzzle-like. In the demo I encountered A. Silhouette. One was sequential - locating and using items to uncover additional HOP items. Another required searching for a number of the same item. A third HOP scene requires you to find items silhouetted on a frozen window. Very awesome! B. Locating a number of same type items to complete a needed inventory item INVENTORY: Interactive Very puzzle-like and well-done. PUZZLES: Very unique and not terribly difficult. In the demo I encountered the following puzzles: A. Fix a gate key B. Fairy tale book with various puzzles - jig saw, mini HOP scenes, locating differences, C. Fix an amulet D. Remove boards sequentially E. . Arrange colored stones in a certain order F. A new game - linking hands. So awesome and cool as well. G. Mathematical puzzle in weighing items H. . Interconnecting crystals to same color EXTRA GOODIES You receive the map as you play the game. Collect 6 statues of the game characters. 20 Achievements. Collect 25 Hare medallions I RATE THIS GAME 4 ICE MONSTERS OUT OF 5 ICE MONSTERS. HOPEFULLY THE EXTRA ICE MONSTER WILL TAKE AWAY MY NEW "BFF" - FOREVER
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DEFEAT ARZAK, KING OF THE ICE KINGDOM REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I liked the game and thought the story line was good, but found the game just too easy. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Expet and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * Find 6 collectibles (in main game only); * Find 25 hares (in main game only); * 10 Achievements (6 with 3 circles each). The graphics are gorgeous and very well defined with plenty of colour. Sound is good and the music is orchestral and very nice to listen to. The HOPs are highly interactive straightforward, silhouette and spot the difference. Most of these you find one item to use to find another, etc. These are very easy to do as items are clear to see and use. The mini-games are all incredibly easy, except for the last mini-game in the bonus where you have to get the gold soldiers to their safe place. That one took me a while to do. There are 25 hares to find in the main game. These are all very easy to spot and you get an achievement when you have found them all. The 6 collections are also easy to spot as well. Make sure you grab these first in each scene because you can't look for any you missed after the game has finished. If you play in Expert of Custom modes, then you can turn off Skip and Hint, which I love. All up the game and bonus took me about 4 hours to play. As I say, I liked the characters to the story and the locations I visited, but found the game way too easy. However, this would be perfect for casual gamers or beginners, so I recommend this game for them.
Date published: 2019-04-24
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_22390, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold Collector's Edition

Ice giants are attacking citizens as a deadly blizzard arrives.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.