Dangerous Games: Illusionist Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dangerous Games: Illusionist Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(347.14 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Blam!, creators of Punished Talents: Seven Muses and the European Mystery series.

The first annual Championship of Illusionists ended in tragedy. Twenty years later, the event is back, and you've been asked to write a story about it. It promises to be entertaining news... but things go straight to the front page when a mysterious red-masked man appears out of thin air to abduct the first contestant! Stranger still, the hotel owner claims the man died during the previous competition! Who is the mysterious Red Mask, and what does he want? You'll have to unravel a series of strange and mysterious illusions to find out. Just be careful – nothing is as it seems in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Challenge a familiar enemy in the bonus game!
  • Collect tricks of the trade
  • Earn achievements
  • Enjoy concept art, music, mini-games, and more!
  • A comprehensive Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1128 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dangerous Games: Illusionist Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(347.14 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dangerous Games: Illusionist Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Loved it..... new and fun mini-games and puzzles which I like a lot. Really enjoyed the story, and nice crisp graphics. Not enough in the CE for me to buy, so I think will wait for the SE.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly fun!!! What a great game! It is a good game with lots of fun twists in it. It has several different levels of challenge to choose from so everyone can play! Truly enjoyed this game and recommend it to all who play BFGs.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THE PSYCHO MAGICIAN! It's like Houdini on acid or your average every day incredibly insane illusionist. The result... a great game where just about anything goes and does. After all, who can predict what a narcisstic illusionist with a god complex will do next? And this quickly becomes the driving force of the game. What peril must you escape next? The graphics are vivid and vibrant. The mini-games and HO scenes are varied are also great fun. Had a great time... Thanks developers for another great game!
Date published: 2015-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Word Amazing.!!!! What can you say but perfection. The HO'S are just what I absolutely love. Shapes maybe one scene or two that is all no more. Give me more and I will stay a member not the usual junk.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of places to explore I was amazed at how in this game you go from the Magicians stage to places all over like the ocean, an orphanage to a jungle, so many places. I enjoyed that journey through the Magicians past. Great HOS-morphing ones which can be harder but a great challenge. Mini games were fun and some unique. Nice voice actors, crisp scenes, smooth gameplay. I recommend this in the standard edition only.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game. Not sure why I didn't love this game. It's long and the bonus game has all new scenes. Its a little dark and the theme was not my favorite, maybe that was why it didn't make the cut for me. I will still recommend it.
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very entertaining!! This one really had a bit of everything. First the use of color and the graphics were top notch. The scenes were really detailed and quite beautiful. This, in my opinion was ten fold better than the last game in this series. Although we are still chasing the illusive illusionist, making the storyline a bit same old, there was nothing same old about the rest of the game and some good length meant you could really get into this one. Lots of HO scenes with interaction, some of which were none too easy. yayy. I loved the one where what you were looking for morphed into other things. Made it trickier to find. Some silhouettes also. There was a nice mix here. But the best part for me was the mini games. Such a selection.. it was wonderful. Everything from creating shapes with cards, guiding a needle of a record through a maze, connect the circles with lines and my personal fave.. guiding a person through a maze as they get pelted with arrows, melted and sliced in half by a sword. Very inventive and fun fun fun. Some good achievements to strive for and collectible cards that also morph kept this one entertaining. I love it when devs put little extra details in their games. This one had a lot of them like lizards that run across the screen, chickens that jump and lay eggs and blocks that spell out the word fear when you click on them. For me this shows the care and attention to detail that I look for when playing a really good game. Overall I thought this one was really well done with as much care and attention in the extra chapter as the main game. All games have sort of he same with the inventory objects, HO scenes and the it's locked, it's missing thing. So for me.. where they get to shine are storyline, mini games and extras or special effects. This one did a really good job of offering a large selection of mini games and great graphics with some extras making it really fun. Enjoy.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Suspenseful! Although there are many magicians game out there this game is probably a winner. I love how much magic tricks there are from the beginning to the end. There are tricks card to collect. Puzzles and HOG are moderate, not too difficult but not too easy either. Especially love how clear the graphics are. The VO is good too. Those who like suspense games but not a game too dark,this game is truly recommended!
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice game...magic! Hi all. Been out of town, so catching up now. I usually save this until the end of my review, but I like this game. It had a great opening scene that drew you into the world of magic right away. I like magic, so this is a good one for me. Graphics are excellent and colors are true and clear for a change. Game play was very good, no problems at all. The only thing I didn't care for was the long lag between scenes. Music was nice, but could have been better without much work. Sound FX are very good. I loved the voice overs, very realistic and sinister when needed. They fit the characters very well. HOPs were a combination of silhouettes, interactive, straight lists, and storybook so far. I like the change up. HOPs were very clean and items were not difficult to find. Puzzles were not all that difficult, but some do take some time and thought to complete. SG is very easy to follow, but I seldom look at it anyway. Jump map is set up very nicely, very clear and easy to follow. SG and hint buttons are way too close..too easy to hit the wrong one. Good thing the hint refills at a fairly fast rate and is quite helpful. So far, all the collectibles I have found are morphing cards that show different magic tricks. Not sure what they do for you, if anything, but I haven't found anything else in the demo. This was a bit disappointing. Just an FYI, there are some things that jump out at you and yes, there was one clown that I saw so far. If these things bother you, be on the lookout for them. I really like this game and the story line, even if it isn't anything new. I was drawn in quite quickly and the short demo left me wanting more. Yes, a definite buy for me. I think all levels of players will find this one fun. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! Tremendous Improvement By Blam! BASED ON DEMO After their last game was a complete disaster, and recent games from Blam being mediocre, I wasn't expecting an awful lot from this game. However, it has totally passed my expectations! I thoroughly enjoyed the demo. I thought the story was fantastic. It had a very exciting, unique concept and was executed wonderfully. The opening was very well done and drew me in immediately. It was followed up by very dramatic cutscenes, with excellently written dialogue and great encounters with the villain. The character of the villain has been done exceptionally well. The story was very intriguing from the get go; I immediately wanted to know what was going to happen next and what the story of our villain was. There were also some great twists in the demo, which were unexpected, and kept me on the edge of my seat. The story had a high level of excitement and has been executed to perfection. I give huge kudos to the developers for their efforts. I am eager to find out what happens next. In their last few games, I was extremely critical of Blam for having linear, boring gameplay. It appears Blam have finally taken that criticism on board, because the gameplay was quite fun! Blam has definitely progressed beyond the boring standard word-list junkpile. The HOS came in a great variety: silhouette junkpile, interactive junkpile, story HOS and assemble the item. I loved each and every single HOS I came across! The HOS are a little close together, but I didn't care, as I loved them so much. There was a fantastic number of HOS (5) in the demo too. The HOS were my favouriite part of the game, gameplay wise. Fantastic job to the developers on these. The worst part of the game for me was definitely the puzzles. Contrary to the rest of the game, I found them to be unoriginal and quite boring. I think I enjoyed one of the 5 that appeared in the demo. I definitely think the puzzles could have used some work. Whether they are too hard or too easy doesn't matter; I like to attempt puzzles and enjoy doing so, and I really didn't in this game. I hope the developers fix this up for their next game. On the plus side, though, I did find that the puzzles were well spaced out. I wouldn't exactly call the adventure component prominent. I felt it took a backseat role to the HOS & Puzzles. There wasn't very much to do in the locations at all, and what there was, was quite basic. Because of the minimal adventure and basic design, I found the gameplay to be quite easy. However, that being said, I also found what there was of the adventure component to be quite fun. I liked the laid-back approach it took and how it didn't try to over-complicate things to take away from the story. I felt that would've happened if the game had been harder. For their next game, I'd like to see a bit more adventure. The game does really well on additional features. There are two here: + objects and Magician's Tricks. The + objects were done well. There were never too many at once and there was an indicator of when they could be used. Most, if not all, of the + objects, were simply just pulling one item away from another. I would have liked to add items on to some of them. It would have made the feature much better. The other feature was the Magician's Items. These were magic items that only had a couple of uses each, but almost as soon as the magic item was gone, it was replaced by another. This was a lovely, unique feature, which raised the fun factor tremendously. I uncovered 2 in the demo, and I am sincerely hoping there are more to come. I have a little issue with the difficulty levels. That is, once again, the black bar tips. I started out on advanced but customised due to this problem. The black bar tip's purpose is to give you a hint what to do. On advanced that didn't happen. I wouldn't have minded if there were no black bar tips at all on advanced, but instead, every time I clicked on something, the game would tell me I was wrong, and I wasn't even doing anything. This frustrated the living daylights out of me. I personally felt it was a bit insulting, a bit of a put down to me as a player to say I was wrong just for clicking on something. I switched to Casual and found that this annoying feature was only on advanced, so I was forced to customise the gameplay. This really shouldn't happen and I hope the Blam fixes this. Another issue I have is with map indicators. Even on advanced mode, they appeared. I believe that, if someone picks advanced mode, they are well past the need for indicators, and developers should respect that. This was another reason I had to customise. The graphics were quite good. In particular I loved the awesome colours the developer used. They really attracted my attention and were visually appealing. The scenes were done in great detail and were very clear. The cutscenes looked very realistic. I also liked how there was lip-synch for the characters. The voice-overs were standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. I started out on advanced mode but had to customise, due to AWFUL black bar tips and map indicators being present. Customisation was limited. Hint/Skip- Hint is useful outside HOS. Map- The map is interactive and quite useful, but there shouldn't have been map indicators on advanced mode. + Objects- These were mostly just interacting with items to remove something from them instead of adding things on to items. I would've liked a mix of both. Magician's Items- These were incredibly fun and raised my enjoyment levels tremendously. There were 2 in the demo and I am hoping they are present throughout the whole game and not a CE Extra. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Built-in Strategy Guide- does not show HOS solutions Achievements Collectible “Magician's Tricks”- I did not notice them, nor attempt to. I collected one by accident. Wallpapers Concept Art Soundtrack Replay Cutscenes Replay Puzzles WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? My recommendation is to absolutely, 100%, DEFINITELY go with the SE. The CE bonus content is unapealling, quite basic and definitely not worth the extra money. I can tell Blam haven't put much effort in. MY PROGRESS For one chapter, the demo was quite long. I finished it in 36 minutes. This is definitely the best story this year so far, and one of the most all-round enjoyable games to come out this year. Blam has finally taken it up a notch with their gameplay, and it has most certainly been worth the wait. This game earns a very well deserved four and a half star rating from me, with the only reason it's missing out on a five being the puzzles.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dangerous Games 2 gets 4.5 stars.... This edition is definitely CE worthy, I just think Dangerous Games: Prisoners of Destiny is a difficult act to follow. I love this developer and urge everyone to demo. I played Illusionist until the end and enjoyed every moment.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Completed Game (Enjoyed it) It's very difficult for developers to hook you in sometimes on the demo alone, but I appreciate the reviewers who only after doing the demo, take a chance and give an opinion so that I can decide whether to even try a game. This one was surprisingly better than I thought it would be based on early reviews. I totally agree that the best part of the experience was the varied and intricate HOS. I am not a fan of junk piles and because there were so many in the bonus game (to stretch out playing time) I only gave it 4 stars. I had to skip 3 puzzles because of the challenge and that is unusual for me. I thought the storyline was decent, voice-overs believable and graphics very good. (Terrible synchronization though). I enjoy games taking place in the present with more realism rather than fairy tales and ancient Incan ruins. The premise was pretty good except for the fact that the antagonist disappeared for 20 years after having been "dead" in a fire. The possibilities were endless and could have been so much scarier and more interesting, however. The idea of a modern day magic show run by a crazy illusionist who traps the audience in his magical delusions sounds intriguing, but because devs aren't hiring professional screenwriters, we get a bit shortchanged. PROS: Custom difficulty, teleporting map. great HOS, voices minigames replayable, not as predictable as most games out there CONS: bad lip-synching, Skip button so close to gameplay, I skipped a puzzle unintentionally. bonus game just OK. I'm pretty hard on games I think, but I've played quite a few, and enjoyed this one much better than the latest EIPIX game that was way too predictable.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Bit Disillusioned… It is often difficult not to compare the second in a series to its predecessor. Alas, I was a bit disappointed. This entry does not hold the complexity of adventure or challenges of game play that was had in "Prisoners of Destiny". That said, I come away from the demo, on the whole, quite enjoying the game's presentation. The graphics are painterly, but seem to fit the mood. The story quickly takes an unexpected twist. As the main character, the mystery is mine alone to solve; I do not know what is real and what is fake, or how to escape the situation I am in. As the player, I am intrigued. The hidden object scenes are interactive and varied, the puzzles require some deductive reasoning. I even want to find all those morphing cards. In this instance I am willing to say "Challenge be damned!" I was having fun. Bravo to Blam! This game is a good time. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Ghost ..... or ..... An Illusion???? The storyline is definitely different than the usual drivel we've come to expect. 20 years ago, the Samuel-Taylor Hotel hosted the First Illusionist Championship. Unfortunately, a HUGE fire destroyed the Hotel, killing only ONE person ..... the WINNER of the Championship. Now, 20 years later, the 2nd Illusionist Championship is being held in the same hotel ..... newly refurbished and you've been personally invited to cover it. The graphics are amazing. All the little nuances of magic are clearly visible ...... when they are supposed to be .... lol. The voice overs were good, as well. The music was neither loud nor intrusive to the game play, which I appreciated. There are 4 levels of difficulty, including "custom" - but READ each item to be "unchecked/checked" in this mode VERY carefully. For instance, do you want a repeated click penalty????? There is a transportable map, although the "hint" button will transport you as well. You will ultimately find "truth" goggles which will reveal secrets passages and hidden tricks, but have never had a chance to be tried out ... by the inventor. The HOGs (hidden object games) seem to be both silhouette AND quite interactive so they do keep you busy. The mini games seemed to equal the HOGs, IMO, and did not seem overly difficult .... although some could take patience and perseverance. Patience is NOT a virtue I possess - sigh. Before the first contestant even has a chance to perform, the red-masked man (the "ghost"?) appears and .... chaos ensues!!! The guests are even trapped by a now-bricked up exit!!!! OH NO!!!!! The game play has some interesting features. For instance, you can interact/talk to characters who are NOT necessarily main characters in the game ... pretty cool. You get to perform some magic tricks yourself - WAY COOL! Included in the CE Bling besides the Bonus Game are 20 Morphing Trick Cards .... not always easy to spot. MORPHING CARDS!!!! Ok ... I am ALMOST sold on getting the CE now - lol. Oh, yeah, the usual wallpapers, music, etc. is also included with a strategy guide - those things just aren't important to .... moi. Is this truly the work of an angry ghost? (Wouldn't that be a poltergeist?) or is it all something more sinister and all an illusion??? Or, perhaps even a combination of both??? I tend to over-think things. lol I highly recommend this for everyone ..... yes it is a fairly easy game .... but the entertainment value is PERFECT for any age or experience. Join me in attempting to discover the TRUE magic behind the magician's illusions in this game. ENJOY!
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Little Disappointed. Based on completion of the main and bonus game, I was a little disappointed because this game was not nearly as good as its predecessor -- mainly the visuals were mediocre. This game isn't very easy and I used the strategy guide often as well as the hint. The strategy guide wasn't as detailed as its predecessor either but it was useful. There were several different types of HOS -- silhouette, lists, and one list of morphing items, which I liked. The hint button works well inside and out the of the HOS. There seemed to be more puzzles than HOS and I skipped half of them. I don't think the puzzle descriptions were very clear which is the major reason for skipping them. There are 20 morphing cards, but not in every scene, so you really have to be on the lookout. This is the only collectible in the game. The cards are interesting in that they tell how a magic trick is done. Whether or not these are legitimate I'm not sure. There are credible voice overs and a very good transporting map. Obviously I liked the game enough to buy it, but that was partly based on how lovely the predecessor was. I wish I had waited for the SG, but it was a 2 for 1 sale so... Please play the demo and I also suggest playing the predecessor, Danger Games: Prisoners of Destiny CE.
Date published: 2015-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked the Demo... But I finished in less than half the 90 minutes. Does this mean a short game? You are a reporter invited to view a new competition for the greatest illusionist and interview the owner of the hotel (and contest sponsor) where the contest is to occur. The show barely starts when the announcer disappears and everyone is trapped in the hotel. You, of course, set out to get to the bottom of things. There were constant puzzles and mini-games, HOPs with shadow lists and interactive elements, collectibles, great artwork and animation, unobtrusive music, and the usual CE bling. There are four levels of game-play. What's not to like? And I did like it. I do question the sanity of my character for chasing this loony without backup, equipment, or any defense, except her high heels. Also I question the length of the game. This is one time when including a full index in the Strategy Guide would have been helpful. And scene loading lagged. I really enjoyed the last Dangerous Games, so I'll probably go for this one. Check it out while the sale is on this weekend!
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So so Hidden Object game Not bad, visual and sound very good. Puzzles a little elementary, hidden object scenes a little obtuse in that some of the items were hidden behind other items and not easy to pick out. It was ok but not great.
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Well Put Together Game And Up To Speed With Newer HOG & Puzzle Concepts ... Bonus Chapter OK Too ... And Suggests More May Follow ... Well Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dangerously Good Good paced game with nice puzzles and active HO's. The map not so good. It looked like it was suppose to tell me where activity is but it never indicated and all the rooms were cloudy unless I was just being shown the new section where I had not entered into those area yet. So I could not even tell you if it was a jump map. Game was a good game though.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's okay but have played better games This game started out rather slow but did pick up in the middle. I find the story could have been a bit better and I feel one should get the Collector's Edition in order for the game to be completed. The music was okay, voice over could have been better. And I enjoyed getting the achievements for once. I really would like to know if the explanation trick card are for real? I found them to be interesting. There were some beautiful scenes to see and wished I could have taken a screenshot and used it as wallpaper. I found that the mini games could have been explained more in detail. Other than that I did enjoy the game and would recommend it.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hedging I liked it, puzzles were fun like finding shapes that made a presented shape when put together. HOs were really good had extra challenges to put things together. I have not bought it yet because the Demo was so short, I wonder if the game is too. That is what I am hedging about. I would have given 5 stars if the quality continues and the game is a good length. I'll be watching reviews to hear from some other brave fish who loves it enough to jump into this pond not knowing its depth uh length LOL
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game The game was good, but some of the puzzles were too difficult and lack of explanatory, also the graphics could be better, else the game is nice.
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty run of the mill game I personally like a game with a lot going on. This had one thing going on during the game and even it wasn't all that great. The puzzles were good, pretty much standard with all games. Storyline was a bit different but not enough to throw it into a favorite game. Visuals were good and fairly bright. I don't like drab and dreary games. Probably would play again if I wanted a nice easy predictable game.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, but Many Small Annoyances Pros: good story (not great) fun to play Cons: You had to go back and forth to different locations, which I normally like, but it was so much that I ended up using the map for the last half. There were a lot of times when I didn't use the tool near enough to the goal and it reject my attempt. A lot of times. But still, very enjoyable.
Date published: 2015-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SE recommended Good game. Nice graphics and places to investigate. Interesting story. Enjoyable HOGS and puzzles.Somehow I expected more to be wowed though. It was a sad story, and just lacked a certain pizazz. The collectable cards weren’t all that interesting. I would definitely recommend this as an SE.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why only three stars? I rated the game based on the Demo only and was undecided as to whether to buy this game or not. The plot/storyline is quite good and intriguing- 4 stars- demo was over quite quickly though. Gameplay - yes, it is quite fun and challenging - unusual scenarios emerge as you progress - 4 stars for challenge and fun. visual and sound - strangley I rather liked the incidental music, it takes all sorts to make a world, right? Bright and sharp without being too in your face. 4 stars So why only three stars overall... well, There appears to be something missing - Is this really worth the price of a CE? Extras are bonus game play and collectible card tricks (these seem to do nothing but end up in a book of tricks - wow!!!) and achievements. I could be wrong but there seems to be no reason to buy the CE - the same gameplay (less the bonus game) is available in the SE I guess. Concept art, musics, screenshots - really??? Still offered as exciting extras for more money? The only reason for getting the CE is you get to play the game now instead of waiting for the SE (and a bonus game). I reviewed this game as a pre-release beta version and recommended it but somehow it seems to have lost something ... although I will definitely get the SE version!
Date published: 2015-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This Illusionist Could Use a Ventriloquist Setting: You are a reporter covering the World Illusionist Championship held at the Samuel Taylor Hotel in New York City. Twenty years ago, the winner of the championship tragically died in a fire at the same hotel. Now, (the 1920's) the hotel is restored and the competition renewed. All of a sudden the opening act is interrupted when... well, I hate spoilers so you'll have to play the demo to find out more. There are no illusions regarding color, as there is an over abundance of it. No dominant colors emerge, the full spectrum is used and mostly the brighter shades. The scenes tend to be narrow in scope, though panning is needed at one point. In some scene details, if you look carefully your profile name appears. Voice acting is not too convincing. Most voices, especially the chief protagonist's, are over dramatic to the point of being either comical or irritating. The hidden object scenes were cluttered but intersting, though not too original. One scene had a storybook puzzle within. Without giving anything away, they also have an illusionist factor built in. I found the puzzles interesting and playable, and yet I would not consider them difficult. The HO's and puzzles were, I felt, the strongest feature of this game. There are four difficulty settings including Custom, with Hint and Skip refresh times being adjustable from 15 - 90 seconds. CE features: morphing Trick Cards (20), Strategy Guide (one chapter in trial) bonus level, and the usual array of pseudo-extras. The trial is short. I reached the end with 47 minutes remaining with no skipping. Creating a new profile, I was able to play to the end a second time with still 21 minutes left. Coupled with the fact that there are only 20 collectibles, it raises a concern about this being sufficiently long for my tastes. While the story did not really catch my interest, nevertheless I liked it enough to play through the trial twice - which is rare. I enjoyed the HO's and puzzles that much. But the trick cards were not a challenge to find and did not reveal any magician's secrets. With the CE content being a bit of an Illusion, I'll rate it as 3 stars and wait for the SE to magically appear.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for beginners, but run-of-the-mill otherwise This is based on the demo. The good bits: the graphics are well done, the music is good and overall it looks well executed. I very much liked the HOS, a combination of finding objects which are outlined in black below, assembling items and old fashioned HOS. The not-so-good bits: the story is not that engaging. This type of story has been done to death (evil baddie takes revenge), and it could do with a bit more background and better developed characters. The illusionist is just a by-the-book baddie, very predictable and I found the voice-overs very annoying. The puzzles are not bad but they are quite easy, and the overall objective is rather obvious. The CE extras are not great, for instance, you have to find hidden cards, which are too easy to spot. Also I finished the demo very quickly, and I didn't feel it was enough to decide to buy it. If you are new to this type of game, it's good to try it out but I suspect that regular Big Fish customers might want something more challenging.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better Another ordinary game, with ordinary puzzles and hidden objects scenes. Another ordinary evil doer kidnapping the innocent. Another ordinary journalist investigating. Ordinary predictable objectives. Really... who didn't expect a get a scrapper when they saw that poster had something under it? Lots of HOS. Various types from FROGs to put-objects-in-their-places storybook, lists, silhouettes, find so many ofs... A few junk-piles and nothing outstanding in the interactive area. Lots of puzzles what weren't very puzzling. Arrange cards to match the suits shown in the corners. Use magical "goggles" to recreate geometric patterns. Put tokens on a clock to match the other clock's bird life cycle (?). Perfect opportunities for puzzles were missed, like a target with throwing knives. That would have been fun! I got tired of the evil magician's constant threats. They became humorous after a while, they are so over the top. He even tells us, at the end of the demo time, "I tire of this game." Speaking of demo time, this was the shortest I have ever had. I know... I know... if you buy a game in a box at a store there is no demo. But, on BFG we have come to expect an hour demo time. I would have given the game 2 stars, but I didn't actually "dislike" it, so much as found it boring. If you are on the fence, I suggest you wait a bit to see if the other illusionist game (by a different developer) is released soon. It's much more fun!
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK The Illusion is that this game premiered as a CE! I found this game to be flat, fairly easy, and a little boring. The demo was extremely short and didn't take you far enough into the adventure to determine if it's a keeper or not. The story, being not new, could be interesting if the play was more interesting. The HOs were varied and I did like them and seemed there were as many HOs as puzzles, which is great for me as I don't care for the puzzles. I think I will need to pass on this one as it wasn't challenging and the story didn't hold my interest. I'll remain neutral on the recommendation as I wouldn't buy, but it's not a definite no buy for you who find the story of a risen Illusionist interesting.
Date published: 2015-02-14
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_22396, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dangerous Games: Illusionist Collector's Edition

You've been asked to cover a highly anticipated competition in New York City when something goes terribly wrong. Can you escape the world of illusions?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.