The Travels of Marco Polo

The Travels of Marco Polo

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(131.43 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Experience the Travels of Marco Polo - a historical Point & click Adventure for the whole family!

Genoa, 1298. Author Rustichello da Pisa shared his cell with a Venetian captain who spoke of a thousand and one fabulous lands. As a writer, Rustichello could not remain indifferent to the snippets of fabulous stories told by his new friend. He managed to convince him to tell his life story. And that is how Marco Polo, back from 25 years of traveling, began recounting his adventures. From his Genoa prison, the Venetian explorer remembers his travels: Venice, Acre, Jerusalem, Armenia, the Himalayas, all the way to the palace of great Kublai Khan.

  • Solve riddles and meet historical figures
  • Historical anecdotes about Marco Polo’s travels
  • Enjoy original music from Pierre Estève

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 494 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Travels of Marco Polo

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(131.43 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Travels of Marco Polo is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Very Nice Graphics & Sound With Very Fine Detail Without All The Glitz Of Special Effects ... The Game Is Very Enjoyable, Lots Of Text To Read (Or Skip) With A Nice Narrative ... A Few Odd Ones (Looking For Silver When Asked For Gold & Looking For Rosemary When Asked For Thyme) ... Well Worth The Voucher I Parted With ...
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE CONQUERS ALL This game held my interest the whole time I played it. It was worth the effort to find a walkthrough so I could get past the harder parts in order to finish the game. Marco Polo is in prison in Venice and the man in the cell next door records Marco's memories of his many world travels and exploits. To get the full impact of the game, a familiarity with Marco Polo's is helpful but not essential. The game moves all over the world with excellent graphics depicting the exotic locations Marco visited. In the game, during his many travels, Marco meets several women who play a big part in his life. His relationship with the great Kublai Khan is cemented when he finds a love potion that allows a beautiful princess to love the Khan instead of Marco. Another rescues him and his friend from the Venetian prison. I played without sound as usual. This was an issue with the game, as the sound would not stay off. The audio controls in the game did not work and I had to turn off the sound on my computer. I kept coming back to the game over a period of several days but it still let me with the feeling that it is not that long a game. Having to completely exit the game to access the walkthrough was also annoying. I found the game to be a nice little gem in all the other cookie-cutter games currently available. But always try before you buy.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from striking artwork, but tedious I like the puzzles, but it is hard to work without a hint. I have an interest in the subject matter, and the sound is good, but it is so tedious having to bail the gondola and then the water comes back. Over and over. And you have to drag things out of the inventory instead of just clicking them. My elderly elbow hurts. This is aggravated by the fact that, on the Mac version that just came out today, the cursor is draggy and not properly responsive. I might get it with a coupon some day after my elbow recovers. But it bothers me that I have all the items needed to fix the gondola, nails, rag, board, hammer, and bailer, and I cannot figure out how to do it. I'm usually not that slow.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short Historic Tale, Not For Everyone The game works a bit differently to other HOs in that it is simpler in detail and more straight forward. The player will learn a little bit about Marco Polo's travels and will be given a touch of information about the things Polo found. This game would suit a younger player (pre-teen). The game is a short game and would take less than a couple of hours to finish. The developers could've made it longer but chose not to. This game won't be for everyone but it's different enough to have an appeal and the storyline content for those who like history would be interesting. The artwork is nice, the dialogue and voice-acting is sound and overall "It was OK" shouldn't be taken as a bad review. Certainly play the demo first to find out if you like the style.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Travels of Marco Polo When you get stuck, such as, how to water the camels, there are no hints that help you. I don't see a hints section in Big Fish for this game. Getting frustrated, but think the game could be improved to better help the player.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HAPPY ST. PATRICK'S DAY - ITALIAN STYLE! Happy St. Patrick's Day - Italian style! Put a little bada bing - bada boom into your St. Paddy Day Parade! Put a few of corned beef meatball s on your spaghetti. Actually, supposedly, Marco Polo brought the idea of spaghetti back from the Orient. However, I am certain the Vikings arrived there first! Anything in the field of seafaring - the Vikings did it first and BETTER! Adding to the international intrigue - we have an adventure game produced by a French dev! I would like to thank the French National Center of Cinematography for putting a stamp of approval on this game. LOL Actually, I thought the graphics were good. There are no voiceovers but this is a "first run" SE game. What d'ya expect? Huh? You cannot change the screen size which I hate when I am reviewing a game. The inventory is interactive. I gave up with I could not find the locking mechanism for the vise in the shop. I searched Venice high and low and could not find a way to saw a board to fix the gondola. So - what did I do -I gave up! Guess I'm not off to China! I guess no "lo mein" Italian style for me tonight. I did encounter a slider puzzle to open a lock. There are no hints in this game. The "hint" system consists of tasks to do. I have no idea if there were any HOP scenes. I got stuck in the canals of Venice and that is one place in which I want to be waterlogged. Well - off I go like a little leprechaun with a little bag full of gold to purchase some much needed "cheer" to celebrate the "wearin" of the green" and to listen to some old Irish ditties sung by Tony Bennett. LOL Boy - like I so need a life and a vacation!
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but.... I bought the game based on the demo and I must say that the real content didn't altogether match the expectations of the demo; I have now finished the game and this is my review: - the game was so short I thought my PC was playing tricks on me, I felt a bit cheated on the value for money! - in the options it would be nice to be able to play on window mode - I do not play with the sound so I cannot comment - I enjoyed the puzzles they were good and a bit challenging so it kept me interested - the storyline was different from the usual so it made a nice change Will suit beginners and/or intermediates better than advanced
Date published: 2015-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bottom Of The Barrel I grew weary of this archaic point and click game in less than 15 minutes. Niccolo Polo has forbidden his son Marco to join him on his latest voyage to Asia, but Marco, being the adventurer he is, manages to sneak aboard his father's ship anyways. The graphics are dark, and basically consist of lot's and lot's of woodgrain. There are no voiceovers within the game itself and the Hint system is annoying, which gives several clues but doesn't explain where to go or how to find items needed to finish a task. Inventory items can be combined by clicking and dragging one item to the other but there is no indication as to which items have this capability. I consider myself an expert at Mini Games, yet had to skip the first puzzle because I didn't understand the instructions or lack thereof. The second puzzle was a very simple game of blocks and I never made it to the third puzzle. The mechanics are clunky and sluggish and I became very frustrated when the cursor would barely move. I cannot even recommend this game for a credit.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish I could have played this storyline I was intrigued to find a storyline that did not include psychos in mental institutions. I was looking forward to playing this game...even buying it. But when I reached the prison I was unable to do the simplest thing - put the picture together. These parts should not be so frustrating. I'm fairly good at games - but gave up at this part. Why could I not move the 2 pieces of photos?? There were other parts that were strangely difficult - I like a challenge but not frustrations.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Older style game I couldn't finish this game. It is of an older style type. The objects you find are tiny and hard to see, and the controls are rather clunky. Also, it just didn't grab me as very interesting. I really didn't care for it, though I have enjoyed some games that are older.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ummmm. Where IS Marco Polo???? There definitely wasn't much of a travelogue, mystery or anything else straight from the beginning of this mess of a game. The graphics were ok ..... at best. There was no real music .... or perhaps it was drowned out by all the sound fx ..... so many birds. I realize it was the docks but seriously???? It sounded like a bird convention and they were all "talking" at once! There was no tutorial even though I chose to use one. The puzzles i came across had no real instructions which kept me in the dark. There were also no difficulty levels and "options" consisted on changing the sound of everything, and not individually either. The storyline was weak. There was no way to play the game. When I finally figured out how to pick up items and that I was supposed to look for them in specific areas, I couldn't figure out how to use most of the items in my Inventory. For instance, I used the "bailer" on the water in the little skiff but after 10 minutes .... not a drop seemed to have left the boat. I wouldn't recommend this for beginners. Experts? Maybe. It's a shame because following the story of Marco Polo would have been a great game. For the above reasons and many more, this is not a purchase for me. I do not recommend it to anyone. This was a brainteaser from the very beginning.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another bust.!!!! And I do mean bust. I played the trial. What a frustrating game to say the list. The hint button does not show nothing only a few times. I don't like using it with this game it's impossible not to. Don't waste your money I do have the sense not to for sure.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from frustrating and boring Move the screwdriver to unscrew each screw from the inventory. Repair the gondola and then get in it...no don't get in it, just magically appear there after being told to get in it. Find a mattress that one can not see. I play games to have fun and tease my brain, this is just annoying in the extreme. Try it and you will see what I am talking about. Just do not buy it without trying it and see if it is your cup of poison.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Outdated Game I could only play for a few minutes. Reminds me of games I purchased in 2009. I really don't like a lot of conversation back and forth when I have to read the conversation rather than the characters speaking.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ouch! You are a teenaged Marco Polo. Father has locked you in your room as he does not want you to accompany him on his latest voyage. He leaves at dawn and you intend to join him regardless of his wishes. The artwork is the almost realistic type that leaves me in awe of the artist. Everything else is just painful. I slogged my way through a couple of mini-games and managed to get the gondola repaired, without the help of good instructions or a hint button. However you had to bail out the gondola with a tiny scoop-type bailer. Each time you picked it up, a tiny bit of water would leave, only to return while you went back to the inventory to get the bailer again. After spending way too much time on that task, I too gave up on this game as so many gamers have before me. The mini-game instructions are nonexistent, every task is made incredibly difficult - i.e. I have to pick up and use the screw driver on each individual screw. Almost every object I needed to pick up for inventory, on my giant monitor, was microscopic. I wish the game had run smoothly, with a hint button, and clear mini-game instructions, as I love historical fiction. Pass.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst game from bf this game has no walkthrough so im batting blind which is good at times, unfortunately items in my inventory just disappeared!!! then kept stating the inventory was full, I ended up uninstalling it and even creating 3 profiles, each time having to start from the beginning, only to get to the same hurdle and the same problem. I went on the forum the guys on there were a great help but no bigfish not this game
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Travels of Marco Polo This is one of the worst hidden object games that I have played since that useless castle game. There was no hint so I was stuck with a useless gondola that needed to be repaired
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did not make it through 5 minutes of play not my kind of hidden object more like a puzzle, searching for what to do next instead of finding objects
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uninstalled I uninstalled this game as soon as I began playing it. No hints and that just doesn't do it for me. I think it would have been a good story and a pleasant game to play, but having to spend so much time trying to just get out of the first room without any hint is not good.
Date published: 2016-03-21
  • y_2022, m_1, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_22673, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Travels of Marco Polo

Experience the Travels of Marco Polo - a historical Point & click Adventure for the whole family!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.