Riddles of the Past

Riddles of the Past

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(490.48 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

10 years ago, Emily Hanson lost her memory. Now she’s unable to remember anything that happened to her before her twentieth birthday. However a chance discovery awakens her vague memories and Emily travels to the mysterious town of Riverside to search for her past.
Unravel a tangled web of love, jealousy and crimes committed by a mad genius! Venture into Riverside, a town abandoned by humans and now populated by the unusual creations of the mad genius. Uncover the truth about the past and shed light on the reasons as to why all of the humans fled the small town in panic.
Discover the secrets of Riverside, the abandoned town without memory. Save your love and avert the catastrophe facing the doomed town!

  • Explore 50+ beautiful locations!
  • Interactive map to help move around quickly
  • Unusual gameplay elements available!
  • Discovered memories can be replayed at any time

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1397 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Riddles of the Past

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(490.48 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Riddles of the Past is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever! Love this game. All the games were fun and different. I look forward to replaying another round soon. Wish I could find more games like this one.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden object game without the piles of junk to sort through The reviews on this game are confusing so I played the demo, and I'm pretty sure I have played/own this game before. 1- this is a hidden object game. The only difference is you will not encounter scenes with a pile of junk to find objects in a list. 2- the hidden objects you need to find are blended in with the scenes you encounter as the character in the story. You will come across an item and when you click on it, it pops up 3-5 items in a bubble that you need to find either at that spot or elsewhere to accomplish a certain task or object to move on. 3- graphics are pretty good and similar to Marvel comic books, but basic and lack the snazzy special effects seen with newer HOGs on offer these days. There are no cinematic effects. 4- puzzles and mini games in between are the kind you see in standard HOGs. 5- No strategy guide or BFG walkthrough, but you can use the Hint button or consult the journal at bottom of screen to give you clues of what you need to do or need to know. Yes, I would recommend this game. Length of game depends on how you play (with or without hints) and how long it takes you to solve puzzles. I don't think it's nearly as long as the file size listed suggests, but this may be due to my playing the demo and not full game.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A welcome Change So refreshing to find a different kind of game. I am tired of beautiful, but boring fairy tales which can be done with very little thought involved, since the games in this genre seem to have become so cookie cutter. I agree with others who enjoy the level of challenge in this game -- not too easy and not too hard, but enough to give me a sense of accomplishment. I also liked the way hidden objects were acquired (fragmented rather than picked out of a big messy scene) Would love to have more SEs and CEs with the originality and interactive quality this game has.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Routine Story Line but Welll Done No sweeping vistas or grandiose background music, but an interesting story line even if it has been done before, and the small town looks like an American small town, rather than a village in Bavaria. I'm using a free game on it. Recommended for people who like to think, not emote.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the norm I enjoyed this game because it was different from the average game today. The puzzles were not to easy or but not so complicated either. It was nice having to actually search for things in the scenes without everything being given to me. If I found myself 'stuck I used the hint to find out what to do next or where to go. It has a map which is a plus for me. Plus it isn't all dark and sinister as most games today are. The story and graphics are ok. .This is a good game for those who want a relaxed game but also not to difficult but that has a good story. I recommend for any level for a light fun game
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, relaxing and nice story! I enjoyed this game because it was different from the gaming trend at this time.The story and graphics are good. I found the puzzles not to easy or to complicated either. It was nice having to actually search for things in the scenes without everything being given to me. If I found myself 'stuck' I used the hint to find out what to do next or where to go. I recommend this game to those who want a relaxed but not over easy or over hard game that has a good story.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good way to fill some time This is based on part of demo. Seems to be an interesting game; although a bit childish regarding graphics. Can't say much more than other reviewers. Am using a free game code, so nothing to lose. A good way to while away some time. Mostly wrote this review to give it a better rating. We need more SE's for people to make use of free games. One strange thing to me, was it took her 10 years to find out about her past, when she knew her name! (must have been before the internet).
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Nice Graphics, Sounds, Effects & So On ... It Has Been A While Since A Game Of This Style Has Been Released And I Had Almost Forgotten How Enjoyable & Relaxing A Style Of Game It Is ... Not A Single HOG In Sight ... Just A Shame It Had To End ... And Was Well Worth The Voucher I Used Up To Purchase It ...
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am very satisfied. An impression was different from the free trial in a good meaning. Because there is a pretty dog in the lower right, there may be a person thinking that it is childish contents. But the story was elaborate very interestingly. The ruins of an amusement park and the arcade game came out, too and were oneself preference very much. A visual drawn finely is very clean, and BGM to sometimes drift to invites nostalgia.
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game I like all the grim tales and played them all ,Was looking for something else to play the game was good ,but endinging was a big let down
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BOBBLE HEAD DOG DROVE ME CRAZY I liked this game; it has a lot of great features, like a jump map, unusual in SE games. It is a fragmented HOG, with some of the pieces in the same scene and others having to be found in other scenes and used from inventory to complete the match. This was a little confusing at first. The dog attached to the hint button had a bobble head that actually gave me a headache and made me slightly nauseous, kind of like motion sickness. His head never stopped moving, except when the hint was recharging or I was in a scene that didn't have a hint option. The constant motion out of the corner of my eye almost made me stop playing the demo a very short way into the game. But I decided to continue and played the complete hour. I was hoping that I would get used to the constantly-moving head and it wouldn't bother me. And I did, sort of, but not enough to make this a sure buy for me. I still have the headache and, although I enjoyed the game and thought it was well done, I'm not into pain when I play games. It would have been better if the head moved while charging and then stopped moving the rest of the time. Try it and see if the dog bothers you as much as it did me. Hopefully not.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still a Riddle to Me This is posted after playing the entire game. The riddle to this is why did I buy it. I made a mistake when I purchased it and thought I was getting something else. My bad. However, it was an okay game and with the sale it wasn't a total loss. The game was... okay. Not the best I have played, but not the worse either. It was middle of the road in fun. I did get bored and quit once, but when I came back I kind of got into the game. To say it was fun would be an exaggeration. The sound was good, voice overs were well done, but the music seemed to be on a loop and didn't have a lot to do with what was going on. Graphics were good and the colors were pleasant. Hidden objects in this game were the point and get pictures of what you needed either there at the time on later to come back and finish. It's different than the list silhouette we usually get. Mini games were the hardest I have ever played and I did try to play them, but in most instances ended up just skipping them. If you like mind benders, you'll love these. Story wise, again it was okay. It was consistent, but all engrossing as some. The way it ended there will probably be a sequel. Pretty predictable and not hard to figure out. As I said it was an okay game. Give the demo a try and see what you think.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Picking Up The Pieces Of The Past Emily Hanson (ever wonder why everyone's name is Emily in these games) moved to the town of Stokesville ten years ago with no memory of her past, her name is the only memory she retained. When she comes across a torn photo from her past, she decides to return to Riverside, where the photo was taken to search for answers. I'm not a fan of the Bubble Search type games where the areas of interest pop up several Bubbles with pictures of the items you need to find to complete the task. Once you find an item shown in the bubble, you click and drag that item to the correct bubble. It's not bad the first few times, but then it get's old and boring after a while. The Mini Games I will admit are clever and most of them require you to figure out the solution with the clues given. The one I enjoyed the most was figuring out the numbers that were assigned to each typewriter key letter, for example, A=5, B=A-3 and so forth. My least favorite was the Cash Register puzzle where you had to enter in $10.50 by figuring out which buttons (with numbers like 36/12/9) would total that sum. The graphics are very plain Jane but doable, the storyline had me hooked at first, but once I finally made my way into Riverside, the story did a 180 and lost my interest. The plot should have thickened at that point with a Riverside conspiracy or maybe Emily's memory loss was an experiment and the "homecoming" was part of the plan. Instead, they gave us transformers! To make the game less credible, the hint system has a cartoon hound dog with googly eyes, who simply cannot sit still. It's a no go for me.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is an ok game. It is an ok game for something to do. I would use an earned credit to purchase. Finding items to complete tasks, map is good, no selection on challenge level except expert and casual. I did find a few items were off to the side of the screen so not easy to see. The police car was called a salon, so that seems misnamed. Story line is ok, won't give anything away here. I do not listen to sound so I can't rate that portion. I found, to me, some of the games were not intuitive but could figure them out.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Undecided I quite enjoy this game and it may do as a stop gap until something better comes along. Its a little different, though personally I don't like the storyboard concept, but that's not what irritates me...if they could get rid of the bouncing dog which serves no purpose, other than make me want to stop playing, and offer some HOPs to break up the monotony of the finding items thing. The mini games are ok...generally its 'ok' just not sure if I'll buy it :/
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3.5*......RELAXING & very silly, amusing story… Would’ve definitely been a 4* or even 5* if it weren’t for the “bubbled" collection and use of items, which led to a severe lack of challenge (see HOPS below). Gorgeous GRAPHICS, and what I mean by that, is the old crumbly plaster in the old, deserted garage, with the light filtering through, casting a shine on the old 1930’s (perhaps, I have no idea!)) automobiles, is AWESOME. It is a happy, old, rusty, dusty, nice. The beginning ½ is especially atmospheric with the pharmacy, the garage, the diner, then moving onto the library, town, and the football stadium, photographers, printers, home and factory. Everything is old and worn. I loved the fact that you can walk into the diner and once you’ve got everything set up, listen to a whole record on the juke-box! The question is…what has happened to your memories? Why are there robots stomping around? What happened to the town? Mostly very easy PUZZLES, but some not so easy. HOPS: Not your typical HOPS. There aren’t any!! You basically don’t have to think much, just wait for your cursor to morph into the indicating magnifying glass, and suddenly bubbles appear that show you which items you need to find. You then find those items in your environment, like in any other game, they go into your inventory, and then you place them in the appropriate bubble. Unfortunately, that part was ZERO challenge, and no fun.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok Just played the first hour. Considering I usually only play CE, this wasn't bad. Kept you guessing on how to get things to open and you really had to look for the items. Instructions on area where not real clear so it took me a while. Overall it was just ok.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from That hint dog!!! This was an okay game. I played it through because I bought it. This game has my very first epileptic hint button dog. How annoying!
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The artwork is gritty/amazing The story is not impressive, the game play is pretty easy (and I like the bubbles) but the artwork is worth the price of the game. If I go back to this game it will be to experience the artwork of the town again.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All downhill from here, Folks! Emily Hansen receives a letter from a doctor. It leads her to look more closely at an old photo album, the only thing she has from a life she forgot ten years ago. Now she is finally drawn to investigate her own past and learn what she has forgotten. I know that at some point, someone worked very hard on this game, putting in hours of toil trying to get it right. I sincerely wish I could say they got it right. I can't. Taken as graphic novel type art, the visuals are OK. The music is unoffensive and the VOs fair. But the story goes to pot quickly after Emily returns to her hometown. The game-play has only two levels, the mini-games are OK, and everything else pretty much involves putting parts into little bubbles to make what you need. Some parts are there in that scene. Others take a good bit of effort and multiple mini-games and locations to find all the pieces. Eventually it is just too much bother with too little story. If it took Emily ten years to look into her own past, why am I worried about it? Oops, I'm not. No Sale.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm glad this game is in my past. I found the whole thing very slow. I don't mind the bubble search but it was too easy. Game didn't really make a lot of sense. The people that still remained had a mechanical voice. The most frustrating was the glitch when I tried to take items out of inventory. I wanted to like this game but can't say I do.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The hint dog ruined it for me I could only play perhaps half of the demo. I probably would have purchased the game, as it was the daily special, but that hint dog! It would look left, right, then sniff the ground, repeat. It was in a perpetual 5-second loop. When I began to suspect the dog would cause me to form a nervous tic, I uninstalled it. :P
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from riddles of the past game flawed does not show many scenes and you cannot see item at all. must do hint to fine them if can find at all.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Freezes Seems like a great game- but the game keeps freezing. I have a new computer- not sure why it keeps freezing. I would love to play the game.
Date published: 2021-09-01
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_23123, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Riddles of the Past

Discover the secrets of Riverside, the abandoned town without memory. Save your love and avert the catastrophe facing the doomed town!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.