Surface: Alone in the Mist
Exclusive

Surface: Alone in the Mist

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(214.64 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

All the adults have vanished. Is it a child's dream, or nightmare? You wake on the morning of your birthday to find that things aren't at all the way you pictured for your sweet 16. Can you find out what's happened overnight to turn your world upside down? From Elephant Games comes the continuation of the popular and edgy Surface series. Unlock the Secret Room, where you'll find more hidden-object and mini-game play. But be careful what you wish for...

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 953 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Alone in the Mist

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(214.64 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Surface: Alone in the Mist is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the adults are gone!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is a custom level and an interactive map. you wake up on your 16th birthday and your parents are gone!!!! then your friend comes over and says all the adults have disappeared. you can't imagine what has happened but you go searching for them. the HO scenes are not crowded. good story line. you encounter other kids but no adults. one child is "other worldly" and the other kids say she rules now. these kids are associated with an orphanage and you just can't seem to understand any of it but keep going to find your parents. sequel.......i feel sure. this is just another one in the series
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Surface Hit This was a really fun game. The mini games and HOS were unique and fun, although not difficult. The story line was creepy, but not too creepy. The music got annoying, but you can turn that off. There is 4 levels of game play that you can switch. The only down side is that it was really short. It only took me a few hours to complete.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We Hope This Is Not Your Typical Birthday, Carol! As Carol, you awake from a nightmare on your sixteenth birthday to find your parents and all the other adults in town gone. The evidence suggests a sudden, possibly violent, departure. Carol sets out to investigate the clues, including an apparent link to the recent disappearance of a teacher at the local orphanage. Is there a connection between the newly vanished adults, the missing teacher, and a very disturbing/disturbed orphan named Allie? Strangely, Allie was in that nightmare you awoke from today. You will have four game-play levels, HOPs, mini-games, a mystery to solve, and a camera for pictures of clues. This game is a nice way to while away an afternoon. Give it a try.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Enough Playing Time I finished this in a couple of hours with no hints. Also, the puzzles were ridiculously easy. The game isn't long enough, and not enough of a challenge. Could have been so much better. Elephant used to be one of my favorite developers, but no longer. I much prefer Eipix and ERS. I'm recommending it because beginners may like it.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not the best Surface game I second that...beware of the "top reviewers" that give every new game five stars. This isn't a five game. It was short, I only played for about three hours on super hard level. I am a big fan of Surface but this one fell short. I purchased it without playing the demo.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way too short I'm glad I only paid $4.99 for this game. Way too short.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in Standard version I tried the CE trial version but thought I would just get the standard version.....big mistake!! The standard version didn't have any collectables or anything and personally I am convinced the graphics/visuals were not up to anything like the CE standard. The storyline was really good and I'm sure that if I had bought the CE then this review wouldn't have given anything but praise. in a nutshell I would highly recommend the CE version but not the standard version.
Date published: 2015-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from coming up for air???? wow this is terrible. i got all excited to see a new surface game the other were so awesome. sat ready to really get into it. what a disappointment. the hos were babyish, and the whole thing reeked no time spent with imagination. sorry.and it's been months since i reviewed a game. this one being so bad when i expected phenomenal i had to review.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Aggravating but beautiful. Worth playing the SE, not sure about the CE. I agree with others who have said to buy the SE, not the CE. Since that is the information I am often looking for by the time the SE comes out because I have not yet bought either, I put this review here. My recommendation: Buy this game, not the CE. I bought the CE because: 1) I needed another CE on a 2 for 1 sale, 2) I thought the first three scenes had beautiful artwork, 3) the concept sounded neat, like the “Grups” episode of Star Trek, and 4) I read 9otters review that the said you get to play some (not all) of the mini games from the bonus menu after finishing the main game. Let’s take that last point first. Now, one feature I really like, which can make me buy a CE as opposed to an SE, is where you can play all the mini games over from the bonus menu. So I picked this game as my 2fer as opposed to a game with no ability to play any games at all. But I can’t report on this feature because I got aggravated with the game, and so have not gotten that far. Also, apparently, in the CE, there’s a bonus chapter. But you can’t tell that from looking at the game itself. The CEs “Bonus” menu won’t let you see what games are there, including the Bonus chapter and what mini games you get to play over. It just says “Game Play.” The menu item has a bronze lock thing on the left side of it and will not let me even look at what is available. Nor does it say “Finish the game first” when you click on it. Hopefully, it will unlock after I finish the main game!! I think developers should let you see what you are getting, so bad, bad developers! Though sometimes cluttered, the graphics are gorgeous and the little scene setting videos are good, too. Beautiful art is one of my soft spots because I just love walking around and looking at scenery. The main theme music sounds, in spots, as if it is based on the theme from the Harry Potter movies with notes changed. My mind could not adjust to it, so I turned the music off. But I often turn off music, so you decide. Mini games are fun so far, but simple, so I have not skipped any. HOs are just normal HOs. I really dislike the “question and answer” type of character interaction. I like it even less where, as here, you don’t get to find out where all the conversational threads would have gone. When the friend comes to the door in the second scene, be aware, she’s going to say something to you, and then you are going to have your choice of two questions to ask her. But you are not going to get to ask both of them. The friend will answer the one you picked, then leave. Therefore, you will never know what the answer to your second choice would have been. So I conclude that either 1) none of the information in the exchange is important to the game after the friend’s initial statement (what a waste of my time), or 2) I could be missing an important clue by not choosing the right response to the friend’s initial statement. I suspect #1 is true, but why bother, then? Also, I don’t usually care about lip syncing, but this friend was in a close up, and there was no syncing at all. Ugh. This game makes you be awfully exact in your clicking. Coloring in “Carol” with the colored pencils was well nigh impossible, for example. Strangely, despite all these things, I will play this game sometime soon because the mini games seem fun (if simple), and because it’s beautiful. These are my favorite things about a game. But I can’t rate the SE very high even though I recommend it over the CE. To sum up. It looks beautiful. I love that. But it is aggravating for all the reasons stated above. I say, try the SE and see how much it aggravates you, then decide between the CE and SE. Because I think it is worth playing. Just know it is not one of those games where you are playing along and suddenly it is three in the morning. The game play is not smooth enough for that.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had potential but fell short of expectations I just finished the CE, but am assuming that the SE release is the same without the Bonus Chapter and the bling. At first I was impressed with the graphics, but overall I can't rate them very high. Closeups were nice and crisp and detailed, and most of the animation was not bad, but the distant views were muddy and the goofy-looking characters were so unrealistic that it really spoiled the game atmosphere for me. The Wishmaster was ugly and stupid. I am getting weary of these games that feature powerful, evil characters who take the time to talk to me and give me chances to thwart them. That seems silly. HO scenes were okay but not fun. Some of the mini games were okay. Most were pretty simple. Definitely not "delightful" or memorable. The music and sound effects were pretty good, but not good enough to make up for the bad visuals. Bonus chapter was fairly long but not very exciting. I would definitely not recommend buying the CE. I wish I had paid more attention to the negative reviews. Beware the 5 star reviews. The same people (professional reviewers?) keep giving 5 stars to every new game. Trust me and the other HONEST reviewers -- this game does not improve after the demo ends.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KIDS WOULD LOVE THIS GAME REVIEW FROM COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I did not like this game very much and thought it was too easy and childish. You play a teenager, Caroline Evans, who has to find out what happened to all the parents who have gone missing. There is: * Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Notebook/Journal. The graphics are okay - very colourful and quite cluttered. However, you can see most scenes fairly clearly. The hidden object games are interactive silhouette (where you find one item to use to find another item, etc), straightforward and answering questions by finding items. These were incredibly easy and took no time at all. The mini-games were also very easy and I was able to do all of them in under a minute. There was no need to use the interactive map at all as you are only moving a couple of steps forward or backward, so it was pointless using it. All up the game and bonus took me about 4 hours to play. So not a long game. So, do you get the CE or the SE? In the bonus game you play Andy which took place 10 years earlier. You also have approximately 120 flowers to find and a Secret Room where you can replay the HOS and mini-games again to get to 100%. Boring. I didn't want to replay HOS or mini-games - I wanted something different to get my teeth into. Overall, I think the game is perfect for kids of between the ages of say 10-15 years, but too young for adults. So I recommend this game on their behalf. For the rest of us, I would give it a wide berth. However, in saying that, I thought the Bonus game was better than the main game. The main game started off just okay but went steadily downhill after that. Definitely recommend that you trial this game first before buying.
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the normal quality of a "Surface" game I own all the Surface games but wish I had saved the money on this one. Played on "easy" mode as it was the only mode that gave sparkle hints. Most games were very simple and I often felt that completing the game was based more on how many times I tried something rather than my solving the game correctly....think several times I "won" without actually completing the game....it was weird. Really short game and ended abruptly...didn't even return the missing adults........ Odd. Don't usually play with music but I did with this game so it must be okay. Nice graphics. Nice sound just too much of it....as someone else said..."too much yapping". I agree. Hope you all enjoy it more than I did!!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT for an avid 'Surface" follower When I started playing the demo I thought, "what a creepy game!" After THAT I thought ... well .... what can I say? By the end of the demo I thought "was this done by a different DEV?" It is SO off the mark of what I expect in a "Surface" game. What happened to the "Soaring City" and "The Noise" type of games?????? EVERYTHING about this game was just off the mark. I don't even know how to do a proper review so I'll just do it like this: What I Disliked: * The storyline was too ordinary to be a 'Surface' game. * Some of the clues were so small I couldn't read them. There was no 'zooming' in when the little sheet of paper was put above ..... something you had to do. What I Liked: * The music was creepy. I'm glad I read the reviews AFTER playing the demo. I can certainly see why avid 'Surface' game players disliked this game. It's NOT a purchase for me in either the CE or SE. I can't even honestly recommend it for anyone. It's just such a disappointment.
Date published: 2015-07-11
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_23227, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Alone in the Mist

All the adults have vanished. Is this a child's dream, or nightmare?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.