Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case

Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(462.65 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Alison Ester has been asked to work on the renovation site of a former asylum. She must find what forced workers to stop the renovation. They're frightened by this "haunted" place. She didn't know there would be an even more frightening discovery...

Explore the ruins of the building in search of information. Make your way through the debris. Move forward in the asylum's basements, and discover disturbing locals.

Be careful where you put your feet! Go through rooms with collapsed floors, reveal secret messages, decipher clues, and separate the paranormal from the rational in Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case!

  • A plot somewhere between reality and the supernatural
  • An ending that you'll never forget
  • Solve mysteries and riddles that block your way
  • Explore a disturbing, oppressive, and fascinating universe

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 536 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(462.65 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case is rated 1.9 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What a disappointment This could so easily have been quite a fun game - but sadly not. The game-play mechanics are hopelessly old-fashioned - having to drag items where they're needed. The hidden object scenes are so cluttered and difficult to make out that quite often I found myself accidentally clicking a correct item without even realising what it was. The music (I use the term loosely) is a maddeningly over-repetitive loop - notwithstanding that this is set in a lunatic asylum! The plot is flimsy to the point of being non-existent and the ending is, frankly, incomprehensible and ludicrous. Sadly, this was one copper-bottomed, 24-carat waste of a voucher. Pity - it looked so promising.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's Designed To Be Retro And It's Not That Bad First of all this is an old school "click and drag" game. After reading the reviews it sound as though reviewers weren't aware of this feature which allows you to scroll your mouse to zoom into any area and then click and drag the scene around. With this feature, the items to find aren't tiny. Another feature not mentioned is that whenever you click on a "ghostly apparition" a pop up window appears to tell you a factoid about other haunted facilities , many of which have been featured on a popular ghost show, some debunked, some with no explanations. (yes I love the paranormal) Contrary to what the others have stated, the graphics are lifelike and decent. In fact, I bet the devs devoted much of their budget to the graphics. I do agree however, that the feet and eye bubbles are unnecessary and bothersome. Whenever you click on the scene, bubbles will appear to show you which directions are available, where there is an available puzzle, or a HOS. There are no voiceovers, and you will have to read dialog boxes to understand the plot, but there isn't a ton of reading, just a few sentences at a time. Basically, Alison Carter has been sent by the insurance company to investigate the Medford Asylum. Workers restoring the asylum that had a deadly fire 15 years ago, have refused to work there because they believe the building is haunted. There are an overabundance of Hidden Object Scenes, and almost every time you revisit a location, there will be another available HOP in the same place. This is a feature I do not like because it's too easy a second time and too boring. Again, the scenes can be scrolled into to zoom and you can then drag the scene around to search for smaller items, and the factoid ghosts. The Mini Games are far and few between, and they are a bit lame, such as putting together a torn stencil or changing all the lights from white to blue. This game is mostly about searching for the needed items in a HOP and then using that item to progress. I'm not saying this game is great, but some gamers will enjoy this type of adventure.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game could drive you nuts! I agree with the other reviewers. One interesting thing about this game (maybe the only one), is if you clicked on a certain area, it would tell you about abandoned asylums in other parts of the world. Way too many HOS and the same scene over and over.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very bad!!! To much interference with the game play and to much info on whereto go next. Not for people that like a challenging game.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Any rating over two stars is generous All of this developer's games, and I do mean ALL of their 'adventure' games, have amazingly intriguing titles. So much so that you can't wait to get the game installed and start playing it. I give five stars to their creative marketing department. But that's where the creativity ends. As with all their games, Medford Asylum starts out with a cool opening cutscene that appears to set the tone of the game. Notice the word 'appears' -- because after that swell cutscene, it's all downhill from there. First, there are no voice overs because they couldn't put voices to all the silly dialogue that takes place between characters. I don't mind reading clue-giving conversations, but there's just too much extra chitchat between characters that doesn't matter. Making this worse is the fact that you can't skip it. That alone was enough to make me stop playing, but when you add the clunky game interface, the dull flat 2D graphics and the teeny tiny objects in the HO scenes to the mix, I just couldn't continue on. Yes, there IS a zoom feature so you can hone in to tiny objects, but for me it wasn't worth the added step. Anytime you see the name of this developer at the beginning of an adventure HO game, steer clear of it and move on.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Game Despite Promising Premise Unfortunately, this game is pretty bad. The premise is good, but the execution is lacking. Seemingly endless (and useless) captioned discussions take up a great deal of time to no purpose. I looked for a “skip” button on these long “dialogue” scenes, but to no avail. When I realized I had to click numerous times just to escape a scene, I began to doubt the game’s promise. Each HO and direction to move are indicated, taking away any possible challenge that exploring might provide. The game offers no choice of difficulty level, so we’re stuck with little bubbles telling us where to go, where to look, etc. Again, a waste of time to no good end. The visuals are simply photographs so, for me, I find no artistry to the game. Others may like this approach. I normally love HO scenes, but even these were boring and repetitive. After some of the beautiful games we’ve had in the past few years, this just feels like a very old game. Some good points: the music is appropriately creepy and the sound effects are pretty good. Other than that, I wouldn’t even use a free coupon on this game. To give it a fair shot, I played for about 30 minutes, but saw no improvement and gave up. I cannot recommend this game to anyone. Hope the developers will try again, taking suggestions offered by BFG reviewers.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Clunky and repetitive Not a big fan of HOG but after 10 minutes just had to exit and delete. I had done 4 search for objects and not a lot else. No puzzles or anything to at least think it was worth while to give it a full hour
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Isn't The Hotel California. You Can Leave. Because of the scary looking poster introducing the game, I downloaded it fully confident that I'd be buying it. 18 minutes later I left Medford Asylum never to return. Others will list the HOS and games for you. I can't because it wasn't worth my time to stick around. I wanted to play a game, not read a book. 1. SOUND TRACK: Motionless characters are posted on the side of your screen as a dialogue box types out line after line of text. Not just a little text, but a LOT! Someone pulled this game out of the "way back machine." I did award two bars for Visual/Sound quality: Great background music. Unfortunately, it wasn't accompanying any action. 2. NAVIGATING: The ambience IS certainly scary-ish with dark and dank scenes befitting all sorts of mayhem. Sadly, getting from one location to another requires clicking in the center of a round disc filled with two shuffling feet. At a few points these discs will populate your screen and and you'll think you're watching the intro to Fred MacMurray and My Three Sons. 3. INVENTORY: To access your inventory, first click on the non-locking inventory "sign," That's right. Not only does your collection of inventory not lock open, it must be clicked on, not just hovered over, to open. Selecting an inventory item to use requires a continuous left click. Let go and the item returns to the inventory bar. (I'm a dope and it took several tries for me to figure this out...I kept clicking on an inventory item and it wouldn't move). 4. STORYLINE: According to the teaser, there's an unbelievable end to the story. I believe it is unbelievable. I also believe few, if any, will ever know the ending. 5. GREAT PROMISE: If this game were the inchoate beginnings of a scary tale, you'd believe it is going to be something great. Instead, however, it is presented to us "as is" in its final form, for purchase. WHAT A SHAME. This has all the makings of a 5-star game. The story boards are there. The developers need to hire actors and animators to make it come to life. Until then, this one is DOA. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME WITHOUT FIRST USING THE TRIAL. If you like it, GREAT!! I'll be very surprised if you do. One positive: you will not spend an entire hour playing. I realize now that I've spent more time writing this review than playing the game. Rats. One final note: If you don't know what I'm referencing with "My Three Sons," play this game for...18 minutes...then go to You Tube and search "My Three Sons Intro." You'll get a kick out of it...so to speak.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Talk about a trip back in time And I don't mean the storyline. The way the game plays is something from the 1990's and subtitles all the way. Maybe I've become spoiled over the years but these days I like voice overs and mouths that move, the game play apart from these issues wasn't up to much either. Of course this is just my opinion and other people might be more forgiving.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'd give it zero if I could... This game is out of the ark! Sparkles everywhere, no mode options, huge eyes and feet to tell you to look here, or move there. HOPs puzzles with items way too small to find, and zero interaction. Graphics humdrum, and no moving mouths so just text to read. It's a basic 1990s HOG trying to be something else. I couldn't stand more than 30 minutes, and I only kept going to see if it improved...it didn't! The spelling mistakes were numerous. Seems like something BFG found in a vault having been stored there for 3 decades, and dusted it off and gave it an airing. I wouldn't even waste bandwidth d/l it...
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This one must have been pulled from a time capsule buried in 2000. Archaic gameplay. I hit two HO scenes in the first 5 minutes, both straight-up list with no interactions, and both junk piles. You can zoom in using your mouse's scroll, then click and drag the scene around to search for tiny things like thumbtacks and paperclips. And there are collectible ghosts that, when clicked on, prompt a pop-up box containing a factoid about hauntings and such. Plus, there are often more than one object on the list present in the scene, so you don't know if you're clicking in the wrong place or on the wrong object. No voiceovers, just dialogue boxes that reveal their contents one letter at a time while the speaking character stands there motionless. Ugh. You can click on the screen to move through them more quickly. Lots of misspellings. Unless you like old-school games with a non-interactive HO scene every 10 seconds, don't bother.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Everything About This Game - MIA Seriously, I'm not kidding. The opening"movie" a series of old blurry pictures shown to the sound of a tinny music box playing "Green Sleeves" tells us NOTHING about the story, characters, or the asylum. You, as Alison Carter, see the owner and operations foreman, both of whom tell you to be careful and then leave you alone. True gentlemen. Then the game starts. There are no adjustments to sound or music levels, just on or off. (I'm not sure it matters if you turn off the sound as the music stopped after the opening and there was only moaning wind and creaking after that.) Each dark and dreary scene needs to be loaded, dialogue read, and large bubbles direct you to locations, HOPs, and areas to investigate. Those HOPs are list type with a zoom feature controlled by your mouse wheel. Game-play is archaic, and, with the nonexistent story, I bailed after nosing around the asylum a bit. There was no fun, nothing to interest me, and no point to continuing. I usually suggest trying the Demo for yourself, but this time I suggest a good book!
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A COLOSSAL FAILURE Good grief, this must be housecleaning week at BFG. Some of these old HOPA games must have been sitting on a shelf in a back closet for years. They were probably not good enough for release eons ago and certainly not now. Did someone think they would improve with age or magically morph into something better? Okay off my rant now. The technology used in this game is very old school. There are no voiceovers just dialogue that must be read. Okay, I still read dialogue in the better games but at least the voiceovers make it interesting. The graphics certainly leave much to be desired and I am not sure who had the brilliant idea to include these huge circles in the game. I do know how to move from one room to another in a game without arrows, circles or other directional clues. I found the circles so distracting that it was difficult to play the game. The storyline seems like it would be interesting. You play the game as Alison and investigator who has been called in to find out what might be lurking in the abandoned asylum. Seems that there was a fire in the asylum years ago and many of the residents were killed. Now the place seems haunted – at least that is what the terrified workers think. The new property owner is on a deadline to get the building cleaned up but he won’t meet that if he can’t keep workers so here you are ready to help figure out what is going on. Unfortunately the technical aspects of the game are so bad that I couldn’t continue playing. The game has possibilities but really needs a lot of work to make it playable. I might suggest that the dev goes back and removes all of those circles with eyes and feet as a start. That would be a huge improvement and maybe many of us would try to tough it out and play the game. Very poor execution and a waste of time. I generally recommend that you try the demo but in this case, I don’t want you to waste your time on this game.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This game has it ALL! Are you looking for all the worst features in a game? This is your baby then: - one level of difficulty with constantly flashing directional indicators you can't turn off! - repeat visits to junky hidden object scenes where not only are items mis-named, they reappear the second time you visit the scene! - required DirectX install for absolutely no apparent reason, because the games seems to draw on zero DirectX functionality! Seriously - this is one awful game. Also, seriously, BigFish?
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old School This would have been a great game 20 years ago. Sadly, it looks dated, is slow, lacks entertainment and flows like yesterday's cement. Old school HO, everything hidden in trash piles and then there is just more HO scenes. On the plus side it was genuinely creepy in places. However, it looks like something Big Fish found at the back of the wardrobe.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't think so. I am genuinely surprised that the excellent Big Fish site would offer this game as the selection of the day. Not only does it seem like a game pulled out of the archives from many years ago, but it wouldn't have been a good game even back in those days. I am very open to all styles of games and don't require them to have collectibles and morphing and so on to get my approval. But this game, first of all, did not allow you to skip the tutorial. Even when you ignore it and it finally asks if you want to skip it - and you say yes - the tutorial continues to appear. Secondly, there are no choices of level of gameplay at all. Third, there was no storyline to speak of outside of the basic premise that you are an insurance investigator who has to check out the ruins of an abandoned asylum that burned down 15 years ago. That's it. You have a (long) conversation with the construction crew foreman and grounds director and then you are in a HOG that makes no sense - some kind of storage closet - before you have even begun your investigation. Fourth, the "game play" is extremely linear, forcing you to do one specific thing after the other. No chance to explore a scene, look around, find out what's what, before it begins nagging you to walk where it wants you to and pick up this item right now. I couldn't stand more than about 15 minutes of the demo before I quit - and this is an extremely rare reaction for me. I'm usually happy to try all kinds and styles of game. I will say one positive thing for this game - the graphics are stunningly beautiful and haunting, especially the cut scenes but all of the artwork, generally. I'm sorry to see such gorgeous work by the artists gone to waste in such a mind-deadening game; it's a shame. Sorry, Big Fish, but this one doesn't make it.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A bad click penalty was what made me give up in disgust. OK, so less than 5 minutes. I liked the little intro movie, but then yak yak yak from the main character and two others? Reading, not sound. And then, after I accidentally went back outside I saw there was an HOP. And there was a BAD click penalty. Except for the widescreen presentation and the clarity of the dingy looking art, this game is obviously from 2009. No way. Deleted.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No, no, no, no! I am usually forgiving of a less than high-tech, full-on bells and whistles game, but this one deserves no consideration at all. No, it is not fun to play. No, the visual/sound quality does nothing to enhance the game experience. No, there really is no challenge —except to hang on a few more minutes and stave off the strong desire to quit and delete the game. Don't bother with this one, it's a total waste of time.
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What is it wow I was so excited to see a paranormal game but boy what a disappointment spelling errors,big bubbles for waliking an eyes for HOS scenes I mean really this is so very bad that the developers shouldnt have even bothered an BF should not have offered it after 5 minutes I removed it from my puter I would not recommend this game to any1 I had to rate it a 1 because that was the lowest option they had but I would say its -10 on the scale its that bad
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sigh! Here We Go Again - Based On Demo Well this will be a very short right to the point. I will also say that I usually don't do this and that is play very little of the demo time however I knew once I saw the developer's name come up and got into the game I knew it was a no go for me and unfortunately my review will be harsh because this developer has been around for a long time and should know better. As my review title says: Sigh! Here we go again. What could of been a great game is absolutely ruined by: No game options: Sound/music is either on/off. No choice of play modes: Way too much hand holding with the icons appearing on the screen showing where to go, black bar tip overload, and sparkles showing active areas. No voice overs: Yes I can read just fine but some really well done voice overs would of added so much to this game. No way to lock the inventory. It stays down until you click on it. I'm one who likes to see what's in the inventory at all times. Also have to click and drag it. The only two good things I have to say about this game is the graphics and music. Sorry but this is definitely a no buy for me. Truth be told I wouldn't finish this for free. As always give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck I quit this one after a few minutes. Old school is not good school now, we have come along way in gaming, keep moving forward not backward. Really hate it to since it is a paranormal case game.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BOTTOM OF THE HEAP THIS IS JUST PLAIN BAD. IT WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money! This is the worst game I have ever encountered. i WANT A REFUND!!!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Painfully bad Don't even bother. Everything is old and boring and slow and lazy and I am OLD and boring and slow and lazy myself - so if it old to me - it's ancient. If you're old enough to remember the first portable phones that weighed like four pounds - go back ten more years. If you like the asylum background - try "Abandoned Chestnut Lodge asylum"
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is a joke, right??? This so called game...( and I use the word, game, loosely) ....this must be a crewel joke for Halloween's sake, right??? How did this (game?) get on the air??? I would NOT recommend this game to my worst enemy! I gave it 20 minutes to see if it would improve....NOPE! I would NOT play this game if it were for free... In fact, one star is way too much of a rating for this...if I could give it, MINUS 5 stars I would...
Date published: 2016-10-17
  • y_2019, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_23794, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Medford Asylum: Paranormal Case

Alison Ester, insurance investigator, is responsible for leading the investigation in a dilapidated asylum with a grave and mysterious past.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.