The Fog

The Fog

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(328.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A cloaked figure drags road spikes across a dark highway, causing a mother to crash. When she regains consciousness, her young daughter is gone from the seat beside her. As the mother searches the adjoining woods, she comes to an abandoned house containing evidence of a mysterious tragedy that struck the family that lived there, and details about a strange fog that crept out of a nearby military base.

What macabre threads tie these seemingly unrelated events into a single, terrifying story? To find out, play The Fog, a captivating hidden object game with more than a few surprises lurking along its misty paths. As you search the corridors of an empty hospital and the decayed remnants of a demolished military base, you'll search for useful items, solve cleverly designed puzzles, and play mini-games unlike any you have encountered. When fear threatens to overcome you, and you want to turn back, remember: the answer to the mystery lies within the haze.

  • Captivating storyline
  • Mind-blowing cinematics
  • Challenging HOG scenes
  • Cleverly designed puzzles
  • Atmospheric locations

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 439 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Fog

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(328.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Fog is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great SE Nice to see a nicely done SE. MY ONLY NEG thing is: Why is it so hard for the SEs to have a locking inventory bar... gosh I hate it going up and down... thats my only thing that drives me nuts the most on SEs Music fits very well and is not overwhelming Very nice graphics Smooth game play - a bit of back and forth but not far.. Im in expert and a good challenge but no hint button used yet. Bought game and played maybe 40mins and enjoying it a lot... Why others gave such a horrible rating I do not know... Ive seen some pretty sorry looking/sounding etc SEs in my day... I used a credit but still worth the buy too... :) Deb
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fog! A HOPA Classic Game! Mother and daughter are on a road trip and their car has an accident. Mother awakens and discovers daughter is gone! You must search the surrounding foreboding area to untangle a web of mysterious, bazaar and frightening events. The Fog is lengthy and keeps gamer's interest throughout gameplay and will be around for a long, long time as an all-time great classic pc game! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome game!!! dark, creepy, eery! Wonderful! Aaaah! Finally a game like I love 'em! Dark, desolated, disturbing scenes, full of junk, mess, rust, blood and yuckiness! It's not an asylum, but isn't very far from it. As the game moves on, you'll know why... Definitly not a game for the faint harted or people that don't like blood and gore. The storyline is not new but very, very engaging. If you have trouble following it, check the diary regularly. The chapter in there about the characters helps a lot to explain things. This game comes via a great developer ala war. You know it's going to be good! There are no voiceovers, but the cutscenes tell the story without words. They are long and very perfectly done with lots of attention to detail and give you the creeps! Some very nice effects here and there that'll make you jump! Music and sound-effects are very good and contribute to the creepiness of the game. Some tunes I have heard before though. There is a map in the diary, no jump-map, but it shows where there is action and which areas are completed, a very good feature in my opinion. I've been playing a little bit over 2 hours now, had to stop and tell you about this great gaming experience, and according to the map I have reached about a third of the game now, what promises another nice length of gaming fun! Some good old-school running around, but not the kind that bothers you! You also get a nice feature, a kind of surprise box. Sometimes you find an item that needs to be put in and you get something else, a hidden object (pun intended#, in return. If you ever find yourself desperatly seeking everywhere for something you really need to get on with the game, check your box! The hint-button works really good, points you to the right direction and active areas. If it directs you to an active area where you think you've done everything, look again! Somewhere in some unseen corner sits something you'll need. The game looks simpler then it actually is and can be really challenging. Some other reviewer wrote this is a game for beginners, but I don't think so. It's way to detailled for that, it caught me by surprise several times and I have played a whole lot of games! The HOS are challenging, some stuff is hidden really well, without being too small. A little bit of interactivity. Nice puzzles, not too challenging, but very fun. Ok, it's not over-elaborated, cute, sweet, beautiful and you get no cute furry helper, but oh boy, so good! Some good old school running around, but not the kind that bothers you! If you like the older #and newer!) asylum and haunted manor game types this game is absolutely for you! And do not forget, this is "only" an SE!! Give it a shot and enjoy!! I'm off to have more fun!
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LENGTHY AND SPOOKY ADVENTURE You can enable or disable hints, so that should appeal to those who like and those who dislike hints, which do recharge fairly fast. There are a lot (!!lots!!) of locations and this is a pretty long game. Graphics are well-done (though there were spots where they could have been crisper) and the story as others have said is quite good and spooky. The HOS are mildly cluttered, but there are spots where objects are crowded together. Items are nicely spaced out, though, so you should have no trouble finding objects. When you play the HOS a second time, objects are back in their original location. Nice variety of puzzles with varying degrees of difficulty. For some, you have to uncover quite a few pieces of the puzzle before tackling it. Besides the creepy atmosphere, there are several startling moments, not only in what is presented in the game, but also in sounds in surprising places. I jumped a couple times because it was completely unexpected. Guess I don't want to play on a stormy night with the lights out. Well put together production.
Date published: 2013-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Game! This game by far was very amazing. I loved the mysterious plot line; it really created suspense. The Fog is a game I highly recommend if you love creepy,eerie, riveting games. I wish they made books like this plot! Really great game!!!
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I HAVE to tell you about this game... I love scary games, scary movies, scary books....well, you get the point. This game, by far, gave me the creeps. I have been a BigFish player for 7+ years, and this one was definitely creepy. I always felt like something was behind me, just ready to jump out. Excellent graphics. Dark, spooky music that builds volume just at the right points. The opening scene really got me hooked into the game. A+
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old Style Adventure with a smattering of HOGs Remember the days of Kings Quest, Grim Fandango and Myst? Well it's reminiscent of the oldest of these graphic adventures with an upgrade. It does have some Hidden object games that reward you with several inventory items, but I came across maybe only about 5 or so in the hour demo, and it does have a map, but it's not for navigation, only for you to know about an area that needs more exploring and the all forgiving hint button is available. Oh, and the HOG "butterflies" are able to be disabled in the game. It's all about the story, the vast inventory of items, and finding ways to progress in the game. If you are not used to the games of old, this may not be your cup of tea. No HOGs every 5 minutes No morphing objects No hyperlinking map No cute animals and LOTS and LOTS of back and forth I gave it 5 stars #was leaning toward 4# to counteract some of the negative press, but in all fairness, I did love it, and it's not a collector's item. Fairly dry adventure for those of us who enjoy that type of thing like a bit more of a challenge.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ollybobs This is the first time I have reviewed. Loved the game - no funny bunnies or fairies!! Played in hardest mode - a good challenge - can we have more of the same please.
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY, a CREEPY game. If you like games that have something all of the sudden appear out of nowhere..... or the screen kind of jumps when you go into a certain area....... or when you click on something, that item animates and makes noises, then here's your game. This has a creepy factor to it that I love. Click everywhere cause some things have movements and or sounds. Actually, I think I just had to hover my mouse over the items in the game, like a rocking chair on the porch. I wont say anything else so I dont ruin what certain things do. No penalty for wrong clicking, Map in your book that tells you where an action can be performed and where you are, pretty sure there is no Map teleporting, but thats ok.. I like games that make you jump every now and again from seeing something suddenly appear, or clicking something and a sudden action happens, and this game does it. Just pay attention to your surroundings, and click what you can.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY PERFETC!!!! I Love this game..Played twice..crazy me, but I have to:) and i will play it again
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lost in the fog loved the game One of the best I have played and I play a lot
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game A good traditional style hidden object game. The old nature of it does make some things hard to see, and some puzzles didn't make sense. It's a shame there is no walk through to confirm correct solutions. Overall it has a good atmosphere about it and I was happy to play right through to the end
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eery game This game provides lots of locations. Graphics are ok but for older eyes a little dark, sorry I love playing these games. A little creepy but not too bad. Lots of things to solve and puzzles are good. Nice game for the creepy of heart. .
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked this game! I rarely do reviews, but this game would be easy to pass up. The story line began as downright scary, it continued eerily in a seemingly unrelated creepy trail. For a SE this game had a lot of scenes to explore with trap doors, chest and secret rooms. The HOS were good and the puzzles OK. The game kept me busy. My only complaint is that I have become spoiled to an interactive map and there was a lot of back and forth. I would recommend giving this game a try if you are in the mood for something different.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game This game was nice and long and you interacted in many different scenes. It was a little dark and the hidden objects were a bit difficult to see.
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it Wow, what a refreshing change to play a game like this! Interesting story, great graphics and sound, music is wonderful, light on HOs. I tried this game based on reading the favorite reviews of a BF contributor. I bought it after 15 minutes of play. It's a very long game. It has help my attention so far
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from At Last! A Grown Up Game! Our story is not original but who cares, its dark and its a mystery and that is really what I need right now after a long stint with sugar-coated games. Now it GROWN-UP time folks so put the kids to bed and get ready for some creep time. Finally, a game that is dark that will definitely be keeping me awake tonight. There are NO enchanting setting, NO cute animals and NO fairytale characters in this game. You have dark graphics, great opening scene by the way and really spooky background music with the occasional ambient sounds that will send shivers up your back. Like I said, not an original story, child is missing, Mother finds her self caught up withwhat can be called a military experiment gone bad. Yes we have fog and we havd it so many times before, but who cares, at this point I will settle for anything fromthe dark side. There are no bells and whistles to this game, no extra features and no bonuses. You have two modes of difficulty, one journal and a map that is totally useless. There is a mystery box that needs you to collect spare parts but I really dont know what it is for. No SG to help you so you are basically on your own and let me tell you, I really welcom the challenge of just wandering thru a game and figuring things out for myself. HO scenes are dark and slightly junk-piled and there is minimal interactions. Mini-games are basic, what we have all seen before but I really enjoyed the adventure aspect of the game. Not much hand holding here and already I will be needing that walk-through . It s been a while since we have seen something from these developers, yes the game is old-school, yes it is dark and yes we have seen many similar games with this theme but it is such a relief to just get down to basics with a touch of malice and a cool Sci-Fi story involving fog.A definite buy for me!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love foggy nights Oh happy day !!! An adult game with a spooky creepy undertone. You are driving along with your daughter and some madman puts nails across the road, causing you to crash your car. When you wake up, your daughter is gone. So far, that's the gist of the story. It is creepy. It is spooky. It is lacking any fluff, bells, and whistles. No collectibles (gasp), no jump map, nothing but you and the game. Yes, the sound is barely existent. Yes, the graphics are crudely done. However, it is a great game. HOS are fairly simple. Puzzles that I've encountered during the demo were fairly easy. However, it is more of an adventure game where you must figure out what to do, all by yourself without the developer putting hints in everywhere you turn. There is no "gee here is a crowbar and look, right next to the crowbar is a box with nails to be pried out". That is what I liked about the game. I've been itching for a great spooky dark game and here it is. It is a lengthy game and great for a long cold night. Enjoy :)
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good adventure game What a relief it was to find a game that wasn't a fairy tale. Am I the only adult who plays BF games? I would have given the game five stars except for some lack of attention to details on the part of the developers. - So called black bar tips did not always work even in easy mode. - The HOS are all IA, and it isn't always easy to find the two parts needed, again in easy mode. The story leaves a little to be desired, too. The plot is interesting, but the telling is poor. It starts off looking like it will be good, with a journal, but lags later and the ending is abrupt. There is some gore that some might not like, but it was welcome to me versus cute little creatures to help you. There is a map, but it is virtually useless. The HINT button works well, pointing in the right direction and charging fast. I wish other developers would give us games like this.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a good, solid SE offering! i knew 15 minutes into this game that i would be buying it. the second level of difficulty is fine for me... still have a hint if i need it, but no sparkles, not even on HOS. there is a map, but it is not a jump map, which i actually prefer! it does tell you where there is something to be done and it also tells you when you have finished all activities in a particular scene. there is a journal, but it records only the story, not hints you find in various scenes, so pencil and paper is necessary for me and i LOVE that! there is a "secret box" that has items in it when you find the keys, that's fun, too. puzzles i met were not difficult, but were fun and HOS are slightly interactive. nicely done! the music and ambient sounds are very spooky and add to the mystery and creepiness. love them! the graphics are old style, but if i have all the rest of the above, i don't care. graphics are less important to me than the storyline, the lack of cutesy [stuff] and fairytales. i'm SO done with fairytales and cute, fluffy animal helpers. this game is a breath of fresh air after my near-drowning in treacle. the best part? no animal helpers at all, cute or otherwise... and no bells and whistles, but i don't need or want them. the only helpers are just your brain, a map, a journal and a secret box. i will enjoy figuring it out for myself! i did find an apparent glitch in one HOS that others have complained about in the game forum's tech thread, so i am taking a star off for that. won't stop me from buying the game, though! but, this game may not be for those who love the cute fairytales, so be sure to demo first to see what you think of it. i LOVED it but you might not.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All Is Certainly Not Clear BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS The intro was okay, no more. Once again we are seeing a low budget stand-alone standard edition game where you cannot expect to see all the fancy stuff. This game deserves a chance, because it is well made and intriguing. SIGHTS & SOUNDS While not quite what I call “20th Century Dumpster”, the locations are abandoned, rusty, dirty and dark. Everything. The graphics are good, nicely crisp and clear. The HOs are easier to see than a lot of fancier games. No voiceovers, but the music is pleasant and the ambient sounds are creepy ‘night in the forest’ sounds creating an eerie atmosphere . Which is further enhanced by the total lack of people or animals to interact with. This is one game where you really feel alone. WARNING: If you don’t like graphic depictions of the uglier side of life, perhaps you should just skip this one altogether, while those who do like it can expect some ugly stuff but nothing in the league of “Escape From Ravenhearst”. WHAT’S HAPPENING That is still very much a mystery even an hour into the game. Someone is out to get you, and after the accident they caused, you wake up and your daughter is gone. In a strange abandoned house, you try to put the pieces together and sort out the connections between you and this place. Someone wanted you here, but who? And why? MAKING PROGRESS Plenty of HOPs in this one, but not so many as to become boring, I think, and are only visited once, so far anyway. The puzzles I remember are easy, and with only 2 levels of difficulty, this game may also not be of interest to expert players either. It has a map which shows roughly 40 locations, tells you where you are and where there are immediate actions to take, but it is not a jump map. There is a directional hint. Which I used way too much. There's a neat little magic box you get to keep near the inventory bar that produces needed items. To get them you must first find an object that fits in one of the dioramas. It flashes when you have something to use there. MY TAKE ON IT The game’s adventure aspect is tough, and having to use the hint feature to get around is not my idea of a good time, so it seems this one may not for me. But it is much better quality than most stand-alone SE’s, and is a break from all the ‘sweet’ games for those who feel they need it!
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice surprise! I wasn't sure about this game after reading some of the bad reviews. One review said it was from a developer they'd never heard of but thankfully I decided to try it anyway and was pleasantly surprised to see that the developer is well known and one of my favorites. The graphics are great and the music is very creepy. Not too many HOS and the ones that are there are easy and not tedious. It's a worthwhile game without a CE price tag! I enjoyed the demo and just bought it!
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked Fog Great fun and the trial turned into a purchase for me. Both my husband and I enjoy this one.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good good over all, i like the fact there is lots to do, but is not spread over a large map
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Fog Really dark - as in spooky but really challenging too. Not for the faint-hearted or the fairytaler at all. I found it quite a challenge - but I don't like easy.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Anticlimatic Ending The Game overall is a good game however the ending leaves a lot to be desired and is a let down. HOG's were great as were the puzzels.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not as bad as some of the reviews I actually enjoyed this game,This is a SE game that will give you hours of enjoyable play. Yes some of the hidden objects are hard to find but that is what makes the game a challenge.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Fog swallowed the storyline, unfortunately. The Fog, Standard Edition Review based on completed game PREFACE… Having just finished this game, I'm quite bemused. I loved the gameplay, graphics, and music, but the storyline failed to develop fully, and ended so abruptly that I was left with the sensation I'd forgotten to finish things. ONCE UPON A TIME... You and your daughter are traveling far too fast for the cliffside road you're on. A faceless figure places a spike strip across the road, causing you to lose control and crash. When you awaken, your daughter is missing, and you are outside a seemingly abandoned hospital. Apparently, you've stumbled upon a secret military experiment. How this connects to your daughter is a chilling mystery you must solve if you're to save her. PLAY THE GAME... There were a few refreshing things about the gameplay. One, you acquired a few items from each HO scene, all of which were interactive. Two, you got to keep many items in your inventory and use them multiple times. Three, the gameplay, for the most part, was intuitive. That having been said, I did run across two puzzles that were unsolvable. In one, you were given a spoked wheel containing pairs of numbers, with alternating spokes either adding or subtracting the numbers. Each spoke had to total eight, and you had to switch numbers until you solved it. The problem was that you were given two zeroes and no eights. My math skills aren't terrific, but I'm pretty sure that you can't add or subtract anything else except eight with zero to get eight. The second one was a grid of lights. Each square contained a number and you had to light up the corners of each square based on the number inside. The problem arose in the upper right corner where the arrangement was such that there was no way to correctly light up one square. Unsolvable. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics rode that perfect line between realism and art. Both background scenes and close-up objects were beautifully rendered, although I did find some scenes a bit dark. The close-up animation was well done, but I found the cutscene animation to be blurry and difficult to follow. SOUND WAVES… The music was done well, moody and ambient. There were no voiceovers, and this game would have benefitted from them in that it would have added to the creep factor. Environmental sounds were appropriate. TOOLBOX… The map was less than useless, I'm afraid to say. It was badly drawn to the point that you couldn't really tell where you were or where active areas were. Nor did it transport. And it was inside the journal and required two clicks to access. Ugh. Inventory did not lock, which I found irritating as you accessed it often. The journal tracked the story, gave character profiles, and kept track of clues you found. You also had a special suitcase with individually locked cubbies, the keys to which you found periodically throughout the game. THE LAST WORD… I did enjoy playing this game, but I'm quite disappointed that the storyline was not more detailed. It was impossible to identify with the protagonist because of the sparse storyline and lack of voiceovers. There was really no sense of urgency to save the daughter or solve the enigma. Which is unfortunate, because this could have been a five-star game. As it stands, I can only give it three stars. I'll straddle the fence regarding recommending it. Instead, I'll recommend that you try the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2014-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Enough Fun Based on completing the Demo, I will not be buying this game. The story is OK and the settings are suitably creepy for the game to be interesting. BUT, the HOS are too fuzzy and tiny for my old eyes to be able to see well. But that's the least of this game's problems. If this were all I would be OK with it. Here's why I won't buy: (1) Very large setting and the map is NOT interactive. There is WAY too much back and forth from one distant location to another to obtain a single item and then go back (and forth). (2) The game is not particularly intuitive. I had to use the hint many times to get direction to the next location. (3) The inventory does not lock open. Again a failing for an old person, who can't remember what's in there, so lots of unnecessary clicking to look at the inventory. (4) And then there's this "Case" tool - that is just silly. All that extra clicking makes this game a no go for me. (But I wish I could find out what happened in the end.)
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from some technical improvements would make this a great game I agree with most of the other reviewers: it's a good, creepy game, and lengthy to boot. My only niggles are: the inventory bar doesn't have a lock function, and I could have done with a location map. Some of the scenes looked a little similar, and I'm the sort of person that gets lost walking to my letterbox, so I used the hint button lots to figure out where to go (hence the request for a map!) Without spoiling the plot, I was disappointed by the end. There was a lot of potential for a show-down with the enemy - (the buildup to the climax was awesome) but if you blink, you'll miss it.
Date published: 2014-01-15
  • y_2020, m_5, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_20137, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Fog

Don't be afraid of The Fog. Fear what lies within it!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.