Botanica: Earthbound Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Botanica: Earthbound Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(326.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Play as two characters in this gripping hidden object puzzle adventure! Terror strikes the land of Botanica as a volcano erupts, threatening to destroy everything in its path. Play as Ellie Wright, a botanist looking for her father who disappeared 20 years ago. And play as Ian Garrett, a scientist who is trying to get back to his daughter on Earth. Follow their journey as they try to find their way back to Earth, a move that leads them straight into the volcano's path. Can you save everyone and get back home before it's too late? Find out in Botanica: Earthbound!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play as Queen Kassandra in the bonus game
  • Collectible items and achievements
  • Gorgeous wallpapers and concept art
  • Integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 663 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Botanica: Earthbound Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(326.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Botanica: Earthbound Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Botanica Earthbound I loved this game and so did my husband. There was so much to do, see and following the story line was super fun.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Botanica Earthbound! a very unique and impressive game! the graphics are cool and the puzzles are fun!
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hidden Object Game Totally Addicting! Awesome Graphics, Totally Addicted to this game!
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from from the demo I'd give it 10 stars This is the best game, I can not believe anyone would give it less than the 5 stars we are allowed. It has the most interesting H Obj games and the story line is really interesting. Visually it is very pretty. Some of the puzzles are hard and I skipped them to get further into the game, but I am looking forward to figuring them out as they take logic and planning. However some puzzles were very easy but since everything else was so superior I was not insulted at that. Do try this game and see if you are not delightfully surprised.
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Fun! I love that each HO is different and you have to think what goes with what. The flow of the game is perfect and having to find the little lady bugs along the way was fun. Really nice game length and interesting mini games.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very engaging, We need more of these Not as intensely engaging as Escape from Ravenhurst, but just as intriguing.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strategy Guide Needs Help This is a good game but I have a complaint. The strategy guide needs to be COMPLETE. The only reason I buy a collectors edition is for the integrated strategy guide I admit I'm not a do it yourselfer. I do not want to do the whole darn game blind. If I go to the strategy guide I expect it to give me the answer, not show a picture of what the end result should be. If I'm in the strategy guide I'm about to throw my computer out the window. I don't care if you have to give me fifty steps to run thru I want the answer. And please don't use the excuse the puzzle is randomly generated each time. Yes I could use skip but I don't want to. I'm not on the forums or anything trying to brag about how "good" I am....its just for myself. We each have our own level of comfort. BoomZap has done this to their strategy guides before....it will make me think twice about buying one of their games.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars! Better than the first one! Botanica: Earthbound Developed by BoomZap (Produced by Big Fish Games) Collector's Edition Review based on full game IN THE BEGINNING... Ellie Wright, a botanist who had come to Botanica to search for her father, and Ian Garrett, a scientist trying to return to his daughter on Earth, had finally reached the portal. Unfortunately, Queen Kassandra and Gustav were there waiting for them. In an unexpected turn of events, Gustav betrayed his Queen and wounded her…whereupon the portal pulled all four through to a different part of Botanica. A place where a volcano was ready to erupt and destroy all in its path! PLAY THE GAME... Play alternately as Ellie and as Ian, since they end up in two separate locations. (And the bonus adventure has you playing as a considerably humbled Kassandra, saving villagers from the pending eruption.) The HO scenes are magnificently interactive and include gadgets, codes, and puzzles…all within the HO scene. The mini-games, for the most part, require observation to locate clues in order to solve them. As Ellie, you have the botanical kit your father gave you, and a "claw crab" to cut and snip things. As Ian, you have a chemistry kit, and an animal friend to help you out (I don't want to spoil it for you). SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are typical of BoomZap's style, painterly yet detailed with lots of lush colors. Character animation is cartoonish. SOUND WAVES… The music is truly excellent, an ambient soundscape that really helps with immersion and setting the mood. Voiceovers are done fairly well. TOOLBOX… The map indicates active areas and transports, while the journal lists tasks and keeps your "Encyclopedia Botanica." Inventory is lockable and functional. EXTRA, EXTRA… The bonus adventure is lengthy and satisfying. Collectibles consist of red and green ladybugs. There are a number of achievements to be earned, including some that will surprise you. And the usual offerings are available. THE LAST WORD… While the main game does end definitively, the bonus adventure gives a happy ending to the tale of the people of Botanica. Also, the music is download-worthy, IMO. (I, personally, have a playlist of ambient music from computer games that lulls me off to sleep each night, dreaming of alternate worlds.)
Date published: 2013-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Sequel What dismayed me were the graphics. Characters were too cartoonish and voiceovers again were a bit strained and over acted. There was a lack of animation and I just found it all very old-school. Nevertheless once I began to play, the game became more interesting and actually challenging as well. You have game features that include three game modes to choose from, a journal with objectives, clues and films, a map that not only includes actions but also allows you to travel, and your trusty botanical kit that will help you create and analyze ingredients. Gameplay is mostly adventure with excellent HO scenes that are not only interactive but there were mini-games within scenes to solve. I found them both entertaining and not always easy to figure out. Mini-game instructions were a bit vague and I have to say that some Mini-games had me a bit stumped. You also have lots of puzzles and then there is that rather cute snail-like crab creature that helps you with cutting things. Botanica has much to offer which also includes collectables and achievements to be earned but unfortunately the list of achievements are easy and mostly pertaining to actions taken within the game. Botanica offers an interesting storyline and also your very own botanical encyclopedia. Entertaining gameplay and a certain degree of challenge which makes this game a bargain especially as we have a sale on CE games today. I realize that once again I seem to be unpopular with my grading of games, but I just wanted to let you know that for me, a five gold star rating means a game offers more that just sharp graphics, but really stunning animation scenes, high degree of technical innovations, amazing sounds and effects, entertaining gameplay with features that we have come to expect with CE games, and I really don’t mean wall papers or screen savers which I personally have no use for. I also want to be immersed into the story and enter a virtual world of adventure with characters that don’t look like paper cut outs. Botanica is good but hardly great and it just doest have that WOW factor. Regardless, I will take advantage of the sale today because I did enjoy the HO scenes. The story however just did not excite me too much nor did the overall look of the game. Still it is a sequel.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Botanica continues ... I loved the first instalment of Botanica. This is a sequel and I am not disappointed. However, I must admit that I forgotten how slow-page the game is and that you really have to think. The scenery is breathtaking - but not always friendly. I just started this game and it will be slow going for me [I am an old person]- but enjoyable. Go for it!
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This story in this game is a continuation of the previous Botanica, which I played and liked. I think it was good that the developers had flashbacks of the first game for those who have not played it or who are like me and can't remember diddly. Production: The artwork is good but is nothing outstanding in my opinion. The cut scenes and VOs are poorly done with flashes of cartoons. Story: The story is interesting but approaches being a fairy tale with the resulting strange creatures and plants. It is well told via a tablet that has a journal, task list, plant/creature descriptions and a map. Game play: The back and forth is kept to a minimum, phew! The HOS are the most complicated I've seen. There are very few just regular items to find. The others require some IA and solving of puzzles. The skip DOES NOT work for these HOS puzzles! But they are fairly simple. The hint during game play allows you to jump to the location where action is needed without telling you what to do. Very good! It's too bad that, apparently, a virus is going around and infecting game developers - the dreaded "Cute Creature" virus. Sadly, it has gotten to these developers now. A cute, little crab is there for you. This is an enjoyable game and is well designed. I recommend it, but I'll wait for the SE. I don't think the extras are worth the extra cost.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Series But About The Same Botanica series is good and well developed but they are all so similar that you really don't find too much that's new when you play them. The graphics are beautiful to look at and the mini games are good along with the HOS. I was hoping that there would be some things that were new and different about this one. You collect ladybug emblems and earn some achievements which help to make this CE worthy but I'm not sure that this will be enough to pay the price. Nevertheless, I do recommend this game as it is fun to play.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice game... Well, another game from Boomzap. Don't get new ones from them often. I have the first in this series and really enjoyed it. This one picks up where the first one left off (for those who don't know it, the first is Botanica: Into the Unknown#. Poor Ian, he sure does have a lot of bad luck in this one. Graphics are well done #I think most all devs are going to the cartoon like characters these days#, game play is very good. Music isn't bad, but not a lot of it. Very few voice overs and sound FX as well #that's disappointing to me#. The HOGs are a bit different, in that you are also playing a game within the HOG. That was kind of fun. HOGs are pretty clean and you do have to work at finding items, because of the games. Puzzles are not difficult, but take some time and thought to complete. There is a jump map, which has each location clearly identified #thank you!, someone finally listened). You don't return to the same location as much as a lot of other games, but you do use it. SG is standard. Hopefully we don't have to have to go back to the Table of Contents with each chapter, as I did when I read the general instructions...I really don't care for that at all. Should automatically take you to the next chapter. Hint system is very helpful and fills quite quickly. The only collectible I see so far, are the bugs. They are not hard to spot at all. There are other achievements as well. This is not an extremely challenging game, but challenging and interesting enough for me to purchase the CE version. As hard as I try, I just can't seem to get away from these things, but I will keep trying. Need to cut back on the CE's. I think this game will appeal to all levels of players. I do not give 5 stars easily...a game has to be exceptional for that. I downgraded this one because of the lack of sound FX and not much in the way of voice dialoge. Hoping that changes as the game goes on. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall okay and interesting but not the CE for me I will most likely get this game but not the CE. for starters I tried using the CE help for one of the games and the answers it gave me did not work or help, basically the walk through was useless for me and I don't care about extra's anyway so while I found this game interesting I will wait till it comes out as regular not CE. I don't use sound so can't rate that but the hint button also is great, often lets you jump to where you need to go which is great.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good game!! Boomzap is always good! Good continuation story. Beautiful graphics, great voice. Great interactive map. Hos are different, makes you work and the puzzles are very good. Hardcore: no information, no hints; everything has to be figured out. Some of those puzzles were a little tough to figure out! But, I love it!! Achievements and collections. Have fun with Boomzap!!
Date published: 2014-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Think I'll wait for the SE This game is a sequel to Botanica: Into the Unknown; the story of Ellie who, in search of her missing father, has found herself stranded on the strange planet of Botanica. Although the game is an obvious continuation, there are plenty of flashbacks, so it is probably not necessary to have played the first game. However, as a player who DID play the first game in the series, I found the flashbacks intrusive and annoying. And although other developers put out games that are sequels they are mostly stand alone games with different adventures as opposed to continuations requiring flashbacks. Having said that, I found the game quite enjoyable The artwork and music are fairly well done. Plenty of puzzles, but really nothing new List style HOS, interactive and quite challenging 15 achievements 50 ladybugs to collect Apart from that, the CE offers cutscenes, soundtrack and wallpaper. Although I played the CE of the first game, I think I will wait for the SE this time. As always, this is just my opinion. Please play the trial and decide yourself :)
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my cup of tea Don't get me wrong, there are incredible things to do in this game. There are 50 collectible lady bugs, all kinds of achievements, list of tasks to complete, and an encyclopedia of the plants and animals that you can find where ever it is that you have landed. The story begins where the 1st Botanica ended, going through the portal which is hopefully taking you back to Earth. You and Ian have landed together but a blast injures and knocks out Ian and you have to find a way to wake him up. You find a lab that was set up by your father (hos). You explore the ship to find the person you saw and need to rescue him from the fire started by the volcano. Unfortunately, I got bored and didn't finish the demo. This game had a lot going for it and you really need to try it to see if you like it.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Back through the portal I did demo the first installment of Botanica and did not care for it. Therefore, besides for what I learned of the story through the demo the first game, I did not know the full story. This is truly a continuation game where it's really necessary to have played the first one to have even a clue where the second installment is going. Anyway, the CE offers collectibles in the form of lady bugs, achievements that are game related, and the usual nonsense., I'm not sure how long the BC is or what it consists of as I did not play it. The colors and graphics are good but seem cartoonish to me. I didn't care for them. I did like the HOS very much. Puzzles were middle of the road, ie, the usual. Music was nice. Again, I don't care for this story. I was zoning out after about 20 minutes into the demo. I suppose if you enjoyed the first installment, you will like this one. For me, it had no zing, and did not hold my interest.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so much... I am more than a little disappointed in this game. I thoroughly enjoyed Botanica: Into the Unknown, beautiful graphics, wonderful game. This one, not so much. If you are expecting the same quality as the first Botanica, I think you will be disappointed, too. The HO's are too cluttered and the graphics weren't nearly as crisp and clear as the first one. The storyline was kind of strange, the animals that sliced through things were a weird touch and I found myself clicking as quickly as I could through the cutscenes and referring to the strategy guide more than I usually do. It IS a nice, long game with achievements and collectibles so I can't really give it too many bad marks. I'm glad I was able to purchase this with a discount code.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to tell**** To many puzzles for me. I like hidden object with a fantastic story. Like scent of desire. No game like this an others a long time now. Some graphics are fantastic. The games I purchased of late good but dull. I like puzzles but not on every turn. Some trial period are to short really cannot see it short comings.
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it was ok nothing to special about it. It was ok not to hard you have to think but it was pretty good. You would have to make up your mind whether you like this game to me it was ok nothing special I love time management but even those games aren't what big fish use to give
Date published: 2013-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings The music got a little too much for me and the drab scenery held the musics hand. I did like the characters and story line and even like some of the puzzles which were a bit tricky for a intermediate player like me. The story line was great and the HO's were a bit tricky too. Nice hint button. On the fence on liking it so much to give it another star. Rainy day special till I come down off the fence.
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Typical Sequel - Doesn't Compare to the First Good game overall. Unfortunately, like most sequels, it was a let down after the first game. This is one of those games where you have to find pieces in the HO scene, and all those pieces combine to find the item you were actually searching for. However, since EVERY HO scene is this type of HO, it gets old after awhile. Never thought I would long for a standard, old fashioned HO scene, but by the end of this game, I was FED UP with finding fragments. The biggest thing this game had working against it was how good the first game was. I reviewed the first game and related the graphics to the movie Avatar. Anyone who has seen this movie knows it was light years ahead of its time, as was this game when it came out. Unfortunately, by the time this game came out, graphics capabilities were light years ahead of where they were just two years ago. This time the graphics weren't even remotely comparable to the first, because in comparison, the graphics were as good as the first game. BUT since all games are this good now, it just made the graphics in this game MEH... Story was also lacking a bit in this one. The original Botanica game blew me away in all aspects. Everyone knows HO games are pretty much the same story over and over again, the same irrelevant HO scenes over and over again, and the same mini-games and puzzles over and over again, but that game was different with a new story line, a new take on HO scenes, mini-games and puzzles. In comparison, this game was lacking in any originality. Overall this was a good game and I was only so let down by it because the first one was so good and original. However, many people who just want a relaxing, well paced, beautiful game to play on a lazy afternoon would find this game to be more than suitable. In my personal opinion, though a good game, "Mene Mene Tekel Upharsin" sums it up best. It has been weighed on the balances and found wanting.
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Now I know why I don't like botanica This is one of the most useless games I have ever played. For one thing, it's says "Earthbound" in the title but, so far I have been on a ship. Plus the scenes look nothing like the scenes on this description page. The graphics are not good and, of course, they are dark which I dislike greatly. I don't think game developers heed our calls for better games. Characters are way too cheery for the predicaments they get into and that is annoying. HO's are without rhyme or reason and are very confusing. Was doing one and the hint didn't even help. That is when I quit. I do not recommend this one at all.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty flora and fauna but not much else to recommend it Like Vicki, I had just finished A Christmas Carol, and this game is nowhere near as good. I might have given it another star if it had just been the SE, but as a CE, definitely not worth it. And as good as A Christmas Carol was, I wish I had not bought the CE of that one either. The main game was great, the BC was juvenile. I played the earlier Botanica but it was so long ago I couldn't remember much about it except the basic premise of people stuck in a world of fantastic flora and fauna. PROS: Some very nice artwork, but generally only really good in the closeups. Most of the time you are viewing things from a distance, and they are not well defined. This game was very hard on my eyes. A few of the mini games were fun. Others, such as putting together broken pieces of things or matching feathers and such were just plain tedious. The map was pretty good. I used it quite a lot because I was tired and bored and wanted to get through the game. CONS: Characters looked and acted goofy. For me, it is much harder to get into a game when I am playing as some cartoon character rather than experiencing the adventure through my own eyes. The characters weren't very likable, especially Queen Kassandra, a real arrogant you-know-what. The CE Extras weren't worth a dime to me. While the bonus play had some pretty scenery, it was more of the same back and forth, pick up this and that, go back, do a puzzle, get an item, go back again. I mentioned some pretty flora and fauna. Well, I might have wanted something pretty for a wallpaper, but NONE of the wallpapers had the pretty stuff! Every one had a goofy character! Nor did I care about the collectables or achievements. Yawn. Music did not add anything and did not match the scenery and situations. Special effects weren't very special and the animations were pretty ho hum, compared to what we get in most new (and even a lot of the older) games. This game was not mysterious or exciting, two things that are most important to me in a game. Maybe okay for young children. Not my cup of tea. For some really great adventure, try the Weird Park games.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth it! Maybe my rating is because I just finished playing "Christmas Stories - A Christmas Carol", I'm not 100% sure. However, I did not like this game. The graphics were nice but nothing special. The game felt like you were suddenly dropped into the middle of a story you should already know something about but didn't. I gave up after 23 minutes. I had a few problems clicking on items in the HOS scenes.
Date published: 2013-12-16
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_20168, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Botanica: Earthbound Collector's Edition

Play as both Ellie and Ian, two scientists stranded on Botanica. Can you save your friends and find your way home?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.